AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Lisa DAnnolfo Levey, iDavid Schwinghammer, iGisele Vincent-Page, idawn kunda, iKendra Berni, iCarol Fowler, iPeter Oszmann, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Pamela E Wiedenbeck

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Poetry
· Stories
· Blog
· 36 Titles
· 6 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Apr, 2010

Pamela E Wiedenbeck, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Simple Steps to Sentence Sense for Middle School
by Charlene Tess

At last, a middle school version of Simple Steps to Sentence with all new practice exercises, tests, writing connection pages, and answers. Everything you need to teach y..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Pamela E Wiedenbeck

The Tao of Tsau: Low Priorities
6/24/2010 2:38:54 PM
"Never put the low priorities first." Hobbes, Calvin & Hobbes comic strip

I must admit that I am adicted to the Calvin & Hobbes comic strip.  I have several "keepers" that are yellowing in my possession.  Along with the Tao, The Complete Calvin & Hobbes is an essential work for project managers.  Separated in time by thousands of years, the two works zero in on the key elements of life.

One of my favorites has Calvin lamenting that Sundays are no fun because of the stress of all the things that need to be done for Monday.  Hobbes suggests getting all the "bad" stuff out of the way, so that "fun" can be really "fun"  Successive panels show Calvin cleaning his room, doing homework, making his lunch, and taking a bath.  Having finished all the "bad" stuff, Calvin & Hobbes take off all ready for fun.  They run smack into Mom who promptly says "There you are.  It's time for bed!".  As the pair retire, Calvin glowers and says "See if I ever listen to you again" and Hobbes replies "Never put the low priorities first."

There are times in our lives where "having fun" has to be a high priority.  If we are lucky, every time we go to work, we are having fun.  However, face it, there are some days that are anything but fun.  It may be that, as we look at our lists, that we have to promote time with family and friends, recreation, or just plain napping in the sun to a higher priority.  Unless we continuously refresh and renew ourselves, our brains will never be open and creative.  We might just miss that "perfect" solution for our projects which would never enter our tired and fatigued brains.

 



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Pamela E Wiedenbeck
• Life Interrupting Writing - Saturday, March 19, 2011
• NaNoWriMo Day 26: 50025 words - Friday, November 26, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 25: 48776 Words - Thursday, November 25, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 24: 47072 Words - Wednesday, November 24, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 23: 45313 Words - Tuesday, November 23, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 22: 43022 Words - Monday, November 22, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 21: 40973 Words - Sunday, November 21, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 20: 39285 Words - Saturday, November 20, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 19: 37,423 Words - Friday, November 19, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 18: 35478 Words - Thursday, November 18, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 17: 33714 Words - Wednesday, November 17, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 16: 31977 words - Tuesday, November 16, 2010
• NaNoWritMo Day 15: 30109 words - Monday, November 15, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 14: 27162 Words - Sunday, November 14, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 12: 23087 Words - Friday, November 12, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 11: 21941 words - Thursday, November 11, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 10: 20201 Words - Wednesday, November 10, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 9: 18516 words - Tuesday, November 09, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 8: 16883 Words - Monday, November 08, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 7: 15198 words - Sunday, November 07, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 6: 11754 words - Saturday, November 06, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 5: 10122 Words - Friday, November 05, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 4: 7198 Words - Thursday, November 04, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 3: 5471 words - Wednesday, November 03, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 2: 3483 Words - Tuesday, November 02, 2010
• NaNoWriMo Day 1: 1767 Words - Monday, November 01, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Effect of Your Decisions - Monday, August 30, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Sense of Humor - Wednesday, August 18, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau - The Learning Journal - Tuesday, August 17, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Are you on the right bus? - Wednesday, August 11, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Progress - Tuesday, August 10, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Timing - Monday, August 09, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Flexibility - Thursday, August 05, 2010
• The Tau of Tsau: Living - Wednesday, August 04, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Vacation - Friday, July 16, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Knowledge - Wednesday, July 14, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Attitude - Tuesday, July 13, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Urgency - Monday, July 12, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Collaboration - Friday, July 09, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Patience - Thursday, July 08, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Common Sense, The Sequel - Wednesday, July 07, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Deadlines - Tuesday, July 06, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Leaving a Legacy - Friday, July 02, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Status - Thursday, July 01, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Conflict - Wednesday, June 30, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Micromanagement - Tuesday, June 29, 2010
•  The Tao of Tsau: Low Priorities - Thursday, June 24, 2010  
• The Tao of Tsau: Creative Panic - Wednesday, June 23, 2010
• Poetry of Esther Parent Durocher: My Punishment - Tuesday, June 22, 2010
• Poetry of Esther Parent Durocher: The Island of Dreams - Tuesday, June 22, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Listening - Tuesday, June 22, 2010
• Poetry of Esther Parent Durocher: Winter - Monday, June 21, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Are you doing the right thing? - Monday, June 21, 2010
• The Poetry of Esther Parent Durocher: In Memoriam of Lauretta Delisle who died May 16, 1910 - Friday, June 18, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Servant Leadership - Friday, June 18, 2010
• Poetry of Esther Parent Durocher: A Boy's Dream of Thanksgiving - Thursday, June 17, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Business - Thursday, June 17, 2010
• Poetry of Esther Parent Durocher: Farewell to the Brook - Wednesday, June 16, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Surprises - Wednesday, June 16, 2010
• Poetry of Esther Parent Durocher: Forget-Me-Not - Tuesday, June 15, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Common Sense - Tuesday, June 15, 2010
• Poetry of Esther Parent Durocher: A Summer Maid - Monday, June 14, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Ongoing Communications - Monday, June 14, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Scope - Thursday, June 10, 2010
• Poetry of Esther Durocher: Nothing at All - Wednesday, June 09, 2010
• Poetry of Esther Parent Durocher: An Epitaph - Wednesday, June 09, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Satisfaction - Wednesday, June 09, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau -- Tools - Tuesday, June 08, 2010
• Poetry of Esther Parent Durocher: A Kiss - Monday, June 07, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Priorities - Monday, June 07, 2010
• Poetry of Esther Parent Durocher: My Little Man - Friday, June 04, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau -- Second Chances - Friday, June 04, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau -- Knowing - Thursday, June 03, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau -- Commitment - Wednesday, June 02, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau -- On Teamwork - Tuesday, June 01, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau -- The Unexpected - Friday, May 28, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau -- Value of All Work - Thursday, May 27, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau: Consulting Engagements - Wednesday, May 26, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau -- Productivity: Persistence - Friday, May 21, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau -- Productivity: Others - Thursday, May 20, 2010
• The Tao of Tsau - Centering - Wednesday, May 19, 2010


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.