AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Mr. Ed, iBurton Pines, iSusan Lindsley, iBetty Jo Tucker, iBeverly Scott, iDietmar Rothe, iClaire Power Murphy, HonDL, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Grace Elliot

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Books
· Articles
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 3 Titles
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Aug, 2010

Grace Elliot, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Grace Elliot

BUMF! Love it or loathe it, you cant avoid it.
11/24/2010 7:05:17 AM    [ Flag as Inappropriate ]

I love the word BUMF! It rolls off the tongue and is so descriptive for all that junk mail and unsolicited commercial stuff that litters the door mat. But have you ever wondered where the word came from?
Surprising the evolution of the word bumf involves 19th century schoolboys...but to find out how you'll need to follow the link below.

http://graceelliot-author.blogspot.com/p/historical-slang-term-of-week.html



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Grace Elliot
• London Trivia - pavements! - Wednesday, July 25, 2012
• Horse Play - Wednesday, July 18, 2012
• Did you know..? - Wednesday, June 27, 2012
• What would it take to make you break the law? - Wednesday, June 20, 2012
• Mouse-skin Eyebrows - a short history of makeup. - Wednesday, June 06, 2012
• Deathly Pale! - Wednesday, May 30, 2012
• Counterfeiting and Painting - A Short History of Makeup. - Wednesday, May 23, 2012
• Death on the Walls - Wednesday, May 16, 2012
• Doctor Death. - Wednesday, May 02, 2012
• Death in the Pots - Wednesday, April 25, 2012
• Death Clubs - Poison in Victorian Britain. - Wednesday, April 18, 2012
• The Great Seducers - The CHARMER - Wednesday, March 14, 2012
• The Great Seducers - The Coquette - Wednesday, March 07, 2012
• The Great Seducers (#4) - The Dandy. - Wednesday, February 29, 2012
• The Great Seducers (part 3) - The Ideal Lover - Wednesday, February 22, 2012
• The Great Seducers - The Rake. - Wednesday, February 15, 2012
• The Great Seducers- Part 1 - The Siren. - Wednesday, February 08, 2012
• Vandals and Thieves - The Crown Jewels (part 2 of 2) - Thursday, January 26, 2012
• Royal Misdemeanours - The Crown Jewels. - Wednesday, January 18, 2012
• London Bridge Legends. - Wednesday, January 11, 2012
• Reasons To Be Cheerful - January! - Wednesday, January 04, 2012
• Cancel Christmas! - Wednesday, December 21, 2011
• 'Twas The Night Before Christmas. - Wednesday, December 14, 2011
• Excerpt - from Eulogy's Secret. - Sunday, December 11, 2011
• Monumental Vertigo! - Wednesday, December 07, 2011
• Lillie's Love Nest. - Wednesday, November 30, 2011
• Royal Pseudonyms. - Wednesday, November 23, 2011
• Remember, Remember the Fifth of November! - Wednesday, November 02, 2011
• NEW RELEASE! Eulogy's Secret. - Thursday, October 20, 2011
• A Quaint British Custom? - Wednesday, October 19, 2011
• King Henry VIII - Fat or Fiction? - Wednesday, October 12, 2011
• Nude or Prude? Victorian Attitudes to Nudity and Sea-Bathing.. - Sunday, October 09, 2011
• Publish and Be Damned! - Wednesday, October 05, 2011
• Rules Not to be Broken. - Sunday, October 02, 2011
• Murder Tourism - Victorian Style! - Sunday, September 25, 2011
• Did Anne Boleyn Ride Astride? - Sunday, September 18, 2011
• The Sort of MAN a Woman Likes. - Wednesday, September 07, 2011
• What a Man Likes in a Woman. - Wednesday, August 31, 2011
• Walking the Plank - Fact or Fiction? - Sunday, August 21, 2011
• Word Play - Wednesday, August 17, 2011
• More, Bizarre Tudor Deaths + Giveaway! - Monday, August 01, 2011
• What Do These Things Have in Common? - Saturday, July 30, 2011
• Bizarre Tudor Deaths. - Thursday, July 28, 2011
• Welcome! Guest author, Melissa McClone. - Wednesday, July 20, 2011
• The Secrets of Marocco- the horse accused of witchcraft. - Sunday, July 17, 2011
• The Horse Accused of Witchcraft. - Sunday, July 10, 2011
• Bisset's 'Cat Orchestra' and other performing cats. - Sunday, July 03, 2011
• A Victorian Wonder. - Wednesday, June 15, 2011
• Miraculously Improbable - The Crystal Palace. - Monday, June 13, 2011
• Regency Panes. - Wednesday, June 08, 2011
• Breath of Death (part 2) - Sunday, June 05, 2011
• Breath of Death. - Wednesday, June 01, 2011
• The Sin Tax - Sunday, May 22, 2011
• Cat Gut Your Tongue? - Wednesday, May 18, 2011
• Cats or Rats? Facing Phobias. - Sunday, May 15, 2011
• Exit Napoleon Pursued by Rabbits. - Wednesday, May 11, 2011
• Shorter by a Head - Some Guillotine Trivia! - Sunday, May 08, 2011
• How Many Wives did Henry VIII have? - Sunday, May 01, 2011
• Martial Miscellany - historical trivia to do with marriage. - Wednesday, April 27, 2011
• Bayeux Tapestry - a stitch in time. - Sunday, April 24, 2011
• Witch Hunts and Penicillin. - Wednesday, April 20, 2011
• More Smiles. - Sunday, April 17, 2011
• Something to Make You Smile! - Wednesday, April 13, 2011
• Gathered by Virgins - part 2. - Sunday, April 10, 2011
• Gathered by Virgins. - Thursday, April 07, 2011
• Enlightening Thoughts. - Sunday, April 03, 2011
• The Strange History of Urine. - Wednesday, March 30, 2011
• Feeling Flush? - Sunday, March 27, 2011
• A Fashion for Bad Language. - Wednesday, March 23, 2011
• How to Kiss...and Other Musings. - Sunday, March 20, 2011
• Wife Selling in the 18th Century. - Wednesday, March 16, 2011
• Why are black cats considered lucky? - Sunday, March 13, 2011
• Cats in Battle. - Wednesday, March 09, 2011
• The Matter of the Dead. - Wednesday, March 02, 2011
• Whistler's Poodle and the Eminent Surgeon. - Wednesday, February 23, 2011
• Why Do Cats Have Nine Lives. - Sunday, February 20, 2011
• Why is a cute ginger kitty up for sale? - Wednesday, February 16, 2011
• Cat Medicine - Victorian Style. - Sunday, February 13, 2011
• Medicating Cats - Victorian Style. (1 of 2) - Monday, February 07, 2011
• A 17th Century Pedlar, his Dog and a church window. - Sunday, January 30, 2011
• Some Victorian sayings to do with cats. - Wednesday, January 26, 2011
• The Name of the Cat. - Sunday, January 23, 2011
• "Putting the Cart before the Horse." - Wednesday, January 19, 2011
• Devilish Cats - how felines got a bad reputation. - Sunday, January 16, 2011
• Author Interview. - Thursday, January 13, 2011
• Jack the Ripper. - Wednesday, January 12, 2011
• Jack the Ripper. - Wednesday, January 12, 2011
• 5 out of 5 review for 'A Dead Man's Debt' - Tuesday, January 11, 2011
• Joselyn Vaughn interviewed about 'Courting Sparks.' - Sunday, January 09, 2011
• Grace Elliot compared to Georgette Heyer! - Saturday, January 08, 2011
• Guest author Andrea Buginsky - Wednesday, January 05, 2011
• Author donates to ASPCA - Monday, January 03, 2011
• The Cat's Meat Man. (part 1 of 2) - Sunday, January 02, 2011
• The Romance Reviews rate 'A Dead Man's Debt' 5 /5 . - Saturday, January 01, 2011
• Which is the Superior Species - Dog or Cat? - Friday, December 31, 2010
• Victorian Christmas Superstitions. - Wednesday, December 22, 2010
• Sybil Nelson - YA author guest blogs today. - Monday, December 20, 2010
• Dick Whittington - how did Puss make him a fortune? - Sunday, December 19, 2010
• Stir Up Sunday. - Tuesday, December 14, 2010
• Cat pie ! Victorian attitudes to cats. - Sunday, December 12, 2010
• The Ton. - Tuesday, December 07, 2010
• Snow Joke...when you're a cat. - Sunday, December 05, 2010
• Waking in 'Cloud Cuckoo land.' - Tuesday, November 30, 2010
• Victorian Veterinarians - a woeful reputation. - Sunday, November 28, 2010
•  BUMF! Love it or loathe it, you cant avoid it. - Wednesday, November 24, 2010  
• Purr Power. - Sunday, November 21, 2010
• Book Launch Blogathon! Join the fun! - Saturday, November 20, 2010
• 'By Hook or by Crook.' - Tuesday, November 16, 2010
• Feline Fables - Sunday, November 14, 2010
• A 'Cock and Bull' Story. - Tuesday, November 09, 2010
• Familiar Felines - Monday, November 08, 2010
• 'Cook a Hoop!' - Wednesday, November 03, 2010
• Cats and the Possessed - Sunday, October 31, 2010
• 'Shackleton Shot my Cat!' - Sunday, October 24, 2010
• Verna Clay - guest blogger today! - Saturday, October 23, 2010
• Skylarking around. - Wednesday, October 20, 2010
• Cat Armour. - Sunday, October 17, 2010
• Chatter Broth - a word from history. - Tuesday, October 12, 2010
• Are you an Ailurophobe? - Saturday, October 09, 2010
• Daylight Robbery. - Tuesday, October 05, 2010
• The lack of black characters in historical fiction. - Saturday, October 02, 2010
• The word 'Chit' how its meaning changed over time. - Tuesday, September 28, 2010
• 'Trixie' in the Tower of London. - Saturday, September 25, 2010
• Historical Slang - to 'Chivvy along.' - Tuesday, September 21, 2010
• Pet Memorials...and Post Impressionism. - Sunday, September 19, 2010
• Raining Cats and Dogs - the grisly truth - Tuesday, September 14, 2010
• A Short History of the Kitty Door. - Sunday, September 12, 2010
• It's a Dog's Life - Tuesday, September 07, 2010
• Guest blogger at Gemstone Reviews - Sunday, September 05, 2010
• Who invented the kitty door? - Sunday, September 05, 2010
• Sir Isaac Newton and the kitty door. - Sunday, September 05, 2010
• historical slang saying of the week. - Tuesday, August 31, 2010
• Corpse Candles- the scent of death. - Friday, August 27, 2010
• Alexandre Dumas' writing day. - Wednesday, August 25, 2010
• Nude or Prude - Victorian attitudes to sea bathing. - Sunday, August 22, 2010
• Cheryl Cole, malaria and a case from history - Friday, August 20, 2010
• A Guide to the Female Sex... - Wednesday, August 18, 2010
• Cutest ever cat photos! - Wednesday, August 18, 2010
• Grace Elliot - historical romance, trivia and cats! - Tuesday, August 17, 2010


Just Shut Up and Drive by Chynna Laird

One teen, one cranky old man and the open road. What could go wrong?..  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.