AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Jennifer Chase, iJudith Mays, iCarol Fowler, iJackie Miller, iAndrew Feder, iKellee Stone, iThomas Neviaser, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     
George Carroll

· Become a Fan
  Notify me of new titles
  added by this author.

· 827 titles
· 4,592 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Sep, 2003

   Sitemap
   My Blog
   Contact Author
   Read Reviews


Poetry
· The Beauty Of Spring

· Wise At Heart

· Good People

· Praying

· Foolish Words

· Essence Of Prose

· Above

· Tranquil Moments

· Some One Is Waiting

· Plant The Seeds

         More poetry...

George Carroll, click here to update your web pages on AuthorsDen.








Blogs by George Carroll

Exaltation Of The Cross
9/14/2011 4:21:58 AM
Wednesday, September 14, 2011
Exaltation of the Holy Cross



Size: A A

Listen to Audio
Early in the fourth century St. Helena, mother of the Roman Emperor Constantine, went to Jerusalem in search of the holy places of Christ's life. She razed the Temple of Aphrodite, which tradition held was built over the Savior's tomb, and her son built the Basilica of the Holy Sepulcher over the tomb. During the excavation, workers found three crosses. Legend has it that the one on which Jesus died was identified when its touch healed a dying woman.

The cross immediately became an object of veneration. At a Good Friday celebration in Jerusalem toward the end of the fourth century, according to an eyewitness, the wood was taken out of its silver container and placed on a table together with the inscription Pilate ordered placed above Jesus' head: Then "all the people pass through one by one; all of them bow down, touching the cross and the inscription, first with their foreheads, then with their eyes; and, after kissing the cross, they move on."

To this day the Eastern Churches, Catholic and Orthodox alike, celebrate the Exaltation of the Holy Cross on the September anniversary of the basilica's dedication. The feast entered the Western calendar in the seventh century after Emperor Heraclius recovered the cross from the Persians, who had carried it off in 614, 15 years earlier. According to the story, the emperor intended to carry the cross back into Jerusalem himself, but was unable to move forward until he took off his imperial garb and became a barefoot pilgrim.


Comment:

The cross is today the universal image of Christian belief. Countless generations of artists have turned it into a thing of beauty to be carried in procession or worn as jewelry. To the eyes of the first Christians, it had no beauty. It stood outside too many city walls, decorated only with decaying corpses, as a threat to anyone who defied Rome's authority—including Christians who refused sacrifice to Roman gods. Although believers spoke of the cross as the instrument of salvation, it seldom appeared in Christian art unless disguised as an anchor or the Chi-Rho until after Constantine's edict of toleration.

Quote:

"How splendid the cross of Christ! It brings life, not death; light, not darkness; Paradise, not its loss. It is the wood on which the Lord, like a great warrior, was wounded in hands and feet and side, but healed thereby our wounds. A tree has destroyed us, a tree now brought us life" (Theodore of Studios).



Post a Comment

More Blogs by George Carroll
• Daily Meditation - Thursday, April 25, 2013
• Daily Mass - Monday, September 26, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Sunday, September 25, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Sunday, September 25, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, September 25, 2011
• Daily Mass - Saturday, September 24, 2011
• Daily Mass - Friday, September 23, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, September 22, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Wednesday, September 21, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Wednesday, September 21, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, September 21, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Tuesday, September 20, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Tuesday, September 20, 2011
• Daily Mass - Tuesday, September 20, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Monday, September 19, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Monday, September 19, 2011
• Daily Mass - Monday, September 19, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Sunday, September 18, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Sunday, September 18, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, September 18, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Friday, September 16, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Friday, September 16, 2011
• Daily Mass - Friday, September 16, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Thursday, September 15, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Thursday, September 15, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, September 15, 2011
•  Exaltation Of The Cross - Wednesday, September 14, 2011  
• Comments on daily Scripture - Wednesday, September 14, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, September 14, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Tuesday, September 13, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Tuesday, September 13, 2011
• Daily Mass - Tuesday, September 13, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Monday, September 12, 2011
• Daily Mass - Monday, September 12, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Sunday, September 11, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, September 11, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Saturday, September 10, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Saturday, September 10, 2011
• Daily Mass - Saturday, September 10, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Friday, September 09, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Friday, September 09, 2011
• Daily Mass - Friday, September 09, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Wednesday, September 07, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Wednesday, September 07, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, September 07, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Tuesday, September 06, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Tuesday, September 06, 2011
• Daily Mass - Tuesday, September 06, 2011
• Mother Teresa of Calcutta - Monday, September 05, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Monday, September 05, 2011
• Daily Mass - Monday, September 05, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, September 04, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Friday, September 02, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Friday, September 02, 2011
• Daily Mass - Friday, September 02, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Thursday, September 01, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Thursday, September 01, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, September 01, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Wednesday, August 31, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Wednesday, August 31, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, August 31, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Tuesday, August 30, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Tuesday, August 30, 2011
• Daily Mass - Tuesday, August 30, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Monday, August 29, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Monday, August 29, 2011
• Daily Mass - Monday, August 29, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, August 25, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Thursday, August 25, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Thursday, August 25, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, August 25, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Wednesday, August 24, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Wednesday, August 24, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, August 24, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Tuesday, August 23, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Tuesday, August 23, 2011
• Daily Mass - Tuesday, August 23, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Monday, August 22, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Monday, August 22, 2011
• Daily Mass - Monday, August 22, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Sunday, August 21, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Sunday, August 21, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, August 21, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Saturday, August 20, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Saturday, August 20, 2011
• Daily Mass - Saturday, August 20, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Friday, August 19, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Friday, August 19, 2011
• Daily Mass - Friday, August 19, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Thursday, August 18, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, August 18, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Thursday, August 18, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Wednesday, August 17, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, August 17, 2011
• Daily Mass - Tuesday, August 16, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Monday, August 15, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Monday, August 15, 2011
• Daily Mass - Monday, August 15, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Sunday, August 14, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Sunday, August 14, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, August 14, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Friday, August 12, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Friday, August 12, 2011
• Daily Mass - Friday, August 12, 2011
• Daily Mass - Friday, August 12, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Thursday, August 11, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Thursday, August 11, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, August 11, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Wednesday, August 10, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, August 10, 2011
• The Good Thief- Fr. Emil Kapaun - Wednesday, August 10, 2011
• St. Domenic - Monday, August 08, 2011
• Daily Mass - Monday, August 08, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Sunday, August 07, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, August 07, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Saturday, August 06, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Saturday, August 06, 2011
• Daily Mass - Saturday, August 06, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Friday, August 05, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Friday, August 05, 2011
• Daily Mass - Friday, August 05, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Thursday, August 04, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Thursday, August 04, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, August 04, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Wednesday, August 03, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Wednesday, August 03, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, August 03, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Tuesday, August 02, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Tuesday, August 02, 2011
• Daily Mass - Tuesday, August 02, 2011
• Daily Mass - Monday, August 01, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, July 31, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, July 31, 2011
• Saint Of The Day Martha - Friday, July 29, 2011
• Daily Mass - Friday, July 29, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Thursday, July 28, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, July 28, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Wednesday, July 27, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, July 27, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Monday, July 25, 2011
• Daily Mass - Monday, July 25, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, July 24, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Saturday, July 23, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Saturday, July 23, 2011
• Daily Mass - Saturday, July 23, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Friday, July 22, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Friday, July 22, 2011
• Daily Mass - Friday, July 22, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Thursday, July 21, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Thursday, July 21, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, July 21, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Wednesday, July 20, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Wednesday, July 20, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, July 20, 2011
• Daily Mass - Tuesday, July 19, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Monday, July 18, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Monday, July 18, 2011
• Daily Mass - Monday, July 18, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Sunday, July 17, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Sunday, July 17, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, July 17, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Saturday, July 16, 2011
• Daily Mass - Saturday, July 16, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Friday, July 15, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Friday, July 15, 2011
• Daily Mass - Friday, July 15, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Thursday, July 14, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Thursday, July 14, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, July 14, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Wednesday, July 13, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Wednesday, July 13, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, July 13, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Tuesday, July 12, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Tuesday, July 12, 2011
• Daily Mass - Tuesday, July 12, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Monday, July 11, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Monday, July 11, 2011
• Daily Mass - Monday, July 11, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Sunday, July 10, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Sunday, July 10, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, July 10, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Saturday, July 09, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Saturday, July 09, 2011
• Daily Mass - Saturday, July 09, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Friday, July 08, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Friday, July 08, 2011
• Daily Mass - Friday, July 08, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Thursday, July 07, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Thursday, July 07, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, July 07, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Wednesday, July 06, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Wednesday, July 06, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, July 06, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Tuesday, July 05, 2011
• Daily Mass - Tuesday, July 05, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Monday, July 04, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Monday, July 04, 2011
• Daily Mass - Monday, July 04, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Sunday, July 03, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Sunday, July 03, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, July 03, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Saturday, July 02, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Saturday, July 02, 2011
• Daily Mass - Saturday, July 02, 2011
• Daily Mass - Friday, July 01, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Friday, July 01, 2011
• Thje Sacred Heart Of Jesus - Friday, July 01, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Thursday, June 30, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, June 30, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Thursday, June 30, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Wednesday, June 29, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Wednesday, June 29, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, June 29, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Tuesday, June 28, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Tuesday, June 28, 2011
• Daily Mass - Tuesday, June 28, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Monday, June 27, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Monday, June 27, 2011
• Daily Mass - Monday, June 27, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Sunday, June 26, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Sunday, June 26, 2011
• Sunday Mass Corpus Christie - Sunday, June 26, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Saturday, June 25, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Saturday, June 25, 2011
• Daily Mass - Saturday, June 25, 2011
• Daily Mass - Saturday, June 25, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Friday, June 24, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Friday, June 24, 2011
• Daily Mass - Friday, June 24, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Thursday, June 23, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Thursday, June 23, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, June 23, 2011
• Saint Of The Day Thomas More - Wednesday, June 22, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Wednesday, June 22, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, June 22, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, June 22, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Tuesday, June 21, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Tuesday, June 21, 2011
• Daily Mass - Tuesday, June 21, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Monday, June 20, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Monday, June 20, 2011
• Daily Mass - Monday, June 20, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Sunday, June 19, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Sunday, June 19, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, June 19, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Saturday, June 18, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Saturday, June 18, 2011
• Daily Mass - Saturday, June 18, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Friday, June 17, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Friday, June 17, 2011
• Daily Mass - Friday, June 17, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Thursday, June 16, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, June 16, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Wednesday, June 15, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Wednesday, June 15, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, June 15, 2011
• Daily Mass - Tuesday, June 14, 2011
• Daily Mass - Monday, June 13, 2011
• Comments on daily Scripture - Sunday, June 12, 2011
• Pentecost Sunday - Sunday, June 12, 2011
• Meditation - Saturday, June 11, 2011
• Daily Mass - Saturday, June 11, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, June 09, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, June 08, 2011
• Daily Mass - Tuesday, June 07, 2011
• Daily Mass - Monday, June 06, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, June 05, 2011
• Daily Mass - Saturday, June 04, 2011
• Daily Mass - Friday, June 03, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, June 02, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, June 01, 2011
• Daily Mass - Tuesday, May 31, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, May 29, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, May 29, 2011
• Daily Mass - Friday, May 27, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, May 26, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, May 25, 2011
• Daily Mass - Tuesday, May 24, 2011
• Daily Mass - Tuesday, May 24, 2011
• Daily Mass - Monday, May 23, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, May 22, 2011
• Daily Mass - Saturday, May 21, 2011
• Daily Mass - Friday, May 20, 2011
• Saint Of The Day - Thursday, May 19, 2011
• Meditation - Thursday, May 19, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, May 19, 2011
• Meditation - Wednesday, May 18, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, May 18, 2011
• Meditation - Tuesday, May 17, 2011
• Daily Mass - Tuesday, May 17, 2011
• Meditation - Monday, May 16, 2011
• Daily Mass - Monday, May 16, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, May 15, 2011
• Daily Mass - Saturday, May 14, 2011
• Daily Mass - Friday, May 13, 2011
• Daily Mass - Thursday, May 12, 2011
• Daily Mass - Wednesday, May 11, 2011
• Daily Mass - Tuesday, May 10, 2011
• Daily Mass - Monday, May 09, 2011
• Daily Mass - Sunday, May 08, 2011


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.