AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  sandrea mosses, iKalikiano Kalei, iWilliam DeVault, iKarl Morgan, iSara Coslett, iJoan Huffman, iDoug Boren, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Karen Palumbo

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 318 Titles
· 5,132 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Sep, 2006

Karen Palumbo, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Metaphorically Speaking Mostly
by Sharon Lockwood

Metaphorically Speaking Mostly is a book full of metaphoric poetry. Because poetry is an expression of our inner self, many will take away something different in the mean..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Karen Palumbo

On This Day 11/27/1746
11/23/2010 8:52:50 PM

The Chancellor is born


Robert R. (or R.R.) Livingston, later known became known as the "Chancellor", becomes the first of nine children eventually born to Judge Robert Livingston and Margaret Beekman Livingston in their family seat, Clermont, on the Hudson River in upstate New York.

The Livingston family were proprietors of large land claims in the Hudson Valley and their attempt to enforce restrictive leases led to tenant uprisings in 1766, during which tenant farmers threatened to kill the lord of Livingston Manor, Robert Livingston, relative to Robert R. Livingston relative, and destroy his opulent homes.

The British Army suppressed the revolt, saving the Livingston's. In 1777, the British Army burned down Clermont and another of Robert R. Livingston's estates, Belvedere, in retribution for Robert R. Livington's decision to side with the Patriots.

During the eleven years between the tenant uprising and the burning of Clermont, Robert R. Livingston, who had graduated from King's College, now Columbus University in 1764, had established himself as a lawyer and political leader.

Robert R. Livingston represented the Provincial Congress of New York at the Continental Congress in 1776 and helped to draft the "Declaration of Independence", although he returned to New York before he was able to sign the document.

During the American Revolution Robert R. Livingston served as Secretary of Foreign Affairs under the "Articles of Confederation". In 1783 Robert R. Livingston accepted the post of Chancellor of the State of New York. He bore the title as a moniker for the rest of his life.

"The Chancellor" was a Federalist delegate to the ratification convention in New York, and as New York's Senior Judge administered President George Washington's first oath of office. Under President Thomas Jefferson, Robert R. Livingston negotiated the Louisiana Purchase and, while Minister to France, sponsored Robert Fulton's development of the steamboat.

Robert R. Livingston died on February 28, 1813. Today, both a bust in the United States Capitol and the name of New York's Masonic Library memorialize Robert R. Livingston as "The Chancellor".



(K) (HST


Robert R. Livingston The Chancellor, born
British, became
American Patriot
Robert Livingston, Sr. Judge, father to
Robert R. Livingston, Jr.
Margaret Beekman Livingston Mother to
Robert R. Livingston, Jr.
Wife to
Robert R. Livingston, Sr.
George Washington President - USA
Thomas Jefferson President - USA


Comments (3)

More Blogs by Karen Palumbo
• On This Day 9/13/1806 - Thursday, September 22, 2011
• On This Day 9/12/1777 - Thursday, September 22, 2011
• On This Day 9/11/2777 - Thursday, September 22, 2011
• On This Day 9/10/1776 - Thursday, September 22, 2011
• On This Dy 9/9/1850 - Wednesday, September 21, 2011
• On This Day 9/8/1781 - Wednesday, September 21, 2011
• On This Day 9/7/1776 - Wednesday, September 21, 2011
• On This Day 9/6/1781 - Wednesday, September 21, 2011
• On This Day 9/5/1774 - Monday, September 05, 2011
• On This Day 9/4/1780 - Monday, September 05, 2011
• On This Day 9/3/1777 - Monday, September 05, 2011
• On This Day 9/2/1789 - Monday, September 05, 2011
• On This Day 9/1/1775 - Wednesday, August 31, 2011
• On This Day 8/31/1777 - Wednesday, August 31, 2011
• On This Day 8/30/1880 - Wednesday, August 31, 2011
• On This Day 8/29/1779 - Wednesday, August 31, 2011
• On This Day 8/28/1774 - Thursday, August 25, 2011
• On This Day 8/27/1776 - Thursday, August 25, 2011
• On This Day 8/26/1776 - Thursday, August 25, 2011
• On This Day 8/25/1776 - Thursday, August 25, 2011
• On This Day 8/24/1814 - Tuesday, August 23, 2011
• On This Day 8/23/1784 - Tuesday, August 23, 2011
• On This Day 8/22/1776 - Tuesday, August 23, 2011
• On This Day 8/21/1831 - Tuesday, August 23, 2011
• On This Day 8/20/1794 - Sunday, August 21, 2011
• On This Day 8/19/1812 - Sunday, August 21, 2011
• On This Day 8/18/1795 - Sunday, August 21, 2011
• On This Day 8/17/1785 - Sunday, August 21, 2011
• On This Day 8/16/1812 - Thursday, August 18, 2011
• On This Day 8/15/1812 - Thursday, August 18, 2011
• On This Day 8/14/1776 - Thursday, August 18, 2011
• On This Day 8/13/1781 - Thursday, August 18, 2011
• On This Day 8/12/1776 - Wednesday, August 17, 2011
• On this Day 8/11/1718 - Wednesday, August 17, 2011
• On This Day 8/10/1776 - Wednesday, August 17, 2011
• On This Day 8/9/1776 - Wednesday, August 17, 2011
• On This Day 8/8/1775 - Tuesday, August 16, 2011
• On This Day 8/7/1782 - Tuesday, August 16, 2011
• On This Day 8/6/1777 - Tuesday, August 16, 2011
• On This Day 8/5/1779 - Tuesday, August 16, 2011
• On This Day 8/4/1792 - Monday, August 15, 2011
• On This Day 8/3/1797 - Monday, August 15, 2011
• On This Day 8/2/1776 - Monday, August 15, 2011
• On This Day 8/1/1774 - Monday, August 15, 2011
• On This Day 7/31/1777 - Monday, August 01, 2011
• On This Day 7/30/1780 - Monday, August 01, 2011
• On This Day 7/28/1776 - Monday, August 01, 2011
• On This Day 7/29/1778 - Monday, August 01, 2011
• On This Day 7/27/1776 - Thursday, July 28, 2011
• On This Day 7/26/1775 - Thursday, July 28, 2011
• On This Day 7/25/1780 - Thursday, July 28, 2011
• On This Day 7/24/1776 - Wednesday, July 27, 2011
• On This Day 7/23/1793 - Wednesday, July 27, 2011
• On This Day 7/22/1779 - Wednesday, July 27, 2011
• On This Day 7/21/1775 - Wednesday, July 27, 2011
• On This Day 7/20/1780 - Tuesday, July 19, 2011
• On This Day 7/19/1779 - Tuesday, July 19, 2011
• On This Day 7/18/1792 - Tuesday, July 19, 2011
• On This Day 7/17/1776 - Tuesday, July 19, 2011
• On This Day 7/16/1779 - Sunday, July 17, 2011
• On This Day 7/15/1789 - Sunday, July 17, 2011
• On This Day 7/14/1798 - Sunday, July 17, 2011
• On This Day 7/13/1787 - Sunday, July 17, 2011
• On This Day 7/12/1782 - Thursday, July 07, 2011
• On This Day 7/11/1782 - Thursday, July 07, 2011
• On This Day 7/10/1777 - Thursday, July 07, 2011
• On This Day 7/9/1777 - Thursday, July 07, 2011
• On This Day 7/8/1776 - Friday, July 01, 2011
• On This Day 7/7/1777 - Friday, July 01, 2011
• On This Day 7/6/1797 - Friday, July 01, 2011
• On This Day 7/5/1775 - Friday, July 01, 2011
• On This Day 7/4/1776 - Thursday, June 30, 2011
• On This Day 7/3/1775 - Thursday, June 30, 2011
• On This Day 7/2/1776 - Thursday, June 30, 2011
• On This Day 7/1/1775 - Thursday, June 30, 2011
• On This Day 6/30/1775 - Monday, June 27, 2011
• On This Day 6/29/1776 - Monday, June 27, 2011
• On This Day 6/28/1836 - Monday, June 27, 2011
• On This Day 6/27/1775 - Monday, June 27, 2011
• On This Day 6/26/1784 - Friday, June 24, 2011
• On This Day 6/25/1745 - Friday, June 24, 2011
• On This Day 6/24/1803 - Friday, June 24, 2011
• On This Day 6/23/1776 - Friday, June 24, 2011
• On This Day 6/22/1775 - Thursday, June 23, 2011
• On This Day 6/21/1779 - Thursday, June 23, 2011
• On This Day 6/20/1782 - Thursday, June 23, 2011
• On This Day 6/19/1856 - Thursday, June 23, 2011
• On This Day 6/18/1778 - Monday, June 20, 2011
• On This Day 6/17/1775 - Monday, June 20, 2011
• On This Day 6/16/1738 - Monday, June 20, 2011
• On This Day 6/15/1776 - Monday, June 20, 2011
• On This Day 6/14/1777 - Saturday, June 18, 2011
• On This Day 6/13/1777 - Saturday, June 18, 2011
• On This Day 6/12/1776 - Saturday, June 18, 2011
• On This Day 6/11/1776 - Saturday, June 18, 2011
• On This Day 6/10/1775 - Friday, June 17, 2011
• On This Day 6/9/1772 - Friday, June 17, 2011
• On this Day 6/8/1776 - Friday, June 17, 2011
• On This Day 6/7/1776 - Friday, June 17, 2011
• On This Day 6/6/1775 - Wednesday, June 08, 2011
• On This Day 6/5/1723 - Wednesday, June 08, 2011
• On This Day 6/4/1784 - Wednesday, June 08, 2011
• On This Day 6/3/1780 - Wednesday, June 08, 2011
• On This Day 6/2/1774 - Tuesday, June 07, 2011
• On This Day 6/1/1779 - Tuesday, June 07, 2011
• On This Day 5/31/1775 - Tuesday, June 07, 2011
• On This Day 5/30/1806 - Tuesday, June 07, 2011
• On This Day 5/29/1780 - Monday, June 06, 2011
• On This Day 5/28/1754 - Monday, June 06, 2011
• On This Day 5/27/1813 - Monday, June 06, 2011
• On This Day 5/26/1782 - Monday, June 06, 2011
• On This Day 5/25/1787 - Friday, June 03, 2011
• On This Day 5/24/1775 - Friday, June 03, 2011
• On This Day 5/23/1777 - Friday, June 03, 2011
• On This Day 5/22/1781 - Friday, June 03, 2011
• On This Day 5/21/1758 - Wednesday, June 01, 2011
• On This Day 5/20/1778 - Wednesday, June 01, 2011
• On This Day 5/19/1795 - Wednesday, June 01, 2011
• On This Day 5/18/1783 - Wednesday, June 01, 2011
• On This Day 5/17/1769 - Tuesday, May 31, 2011
• On This Day 5/16/1777 - Tuesday, May 31, 2011
• On This Day 5/15/1781 - Tuesday, May 31, 2011
• On This Day 5/14/1787 - Tuesday, May 31, 2011
• On This Day 5/13/1807 - Monday, May 30, 2011
• On This Day 5/12/1780 - Monday, May 30, 2011
• On This Day 5/11/1776 - Monday, May 30, 2011
• On This Day 5/10/1775 - Monday, May 30, 2011
• On This Day 5/9/1791 - Thursday, May 26, 2011
• On This Day 5/8/1792 - Thursday, May 26, 2011
• On This Day 5/7/1763 - Thursday, May 26, 2011
• On This Day 5/6/1775 - Thursday, May 26, 2011
• On This Day 5/5/1776 - Wednesday, May 25, 2011
• On This Day 5/4/1776 - Wednesday, May 25, 2011
• On This Day 5/3/1775 - Wednesday, May 25, 2011
• On This Day 5/2/1740 - Wednesday, May 25, 2011
• On This Day 5/1/1794 - Monday, May 23, 2011
• On This Day 4/30/1776 - Monday, May 23, 2011
• On This Day 4/29/1776 - Monday, May 23, 2011
• On This Day 4/28/1776 - Monday, May 23, 2011
• On This Day 4/27/1773 - Thursday, May 19, 2011
• On This Day 4/26/1711 - Thursday, May 19, 2011
• On This Day 4/25/1781 - Thursday, May 19, 2011
• On This Day 4/24/1781 - Thursday, May 19, 2011
• On This Day 4/23/1778 - Wednesday, May 18, 2011
• On This Day 4/22/1778 - Wednesday, May 18, 2011
• On This Day 4/21/1777 - Wednesday, May 18, 2011
• On This Day 4/20/1777 - Wednesday, May 18, 2011
• On This Day 4/19/1775 - Friday, May 13, 2011
• On This Day 4/18/1775 - Friday, May 13, 2011
• OnThis Day 4/17/1783 - Friday, May 13, 2011
• On This Day 4/16/1738 - Friday, May 13, 2011
• On This Day 4/15/1783 - Wednesday, May 11, 2011
• On This Day 4/14/1775 - Wednesday, May 11, 2011
• On This Day 4/13/1777 - Wednesday, May 11, 2011
• On This Day 4/12/1770 - Wednesday, May 11, 2011
• On This Day 4/11/1721 - Tuesday, May 10, 2011
• On This Day 4/10/1778 - Tuesday, May 10, 2011
• On This Day 4/9/1778 - Tuesday, May 10, 2011
• On This Day 4/8/1775 - Tuesday, May 10, 2011
• On This Day 4/7/1776 - Monday, April 11, 2011
• On This Day 4/6/1776 - Monday, April 11, 2011
• On This Day 4/5/1774 - Monday, April 11, 2011
• On This Day 4/4/1776 - Monday, April 11, 2011
• On This Day 4/3/1776 - Thursday, April 07, 2011
• On This Day 4/2/1777 - Thursday, April 07, 2011
• On This Day 4/1/1789 - Thursday, April 07, 2011
• On This Day 3/31/1776 - Thursday, April 07, 2011
• On This Day 3/30/1775 - Friday, March 25, 2011
• On This Day 3/29/1776 - Friday, March 25, 2011
• On This Day 3/28/1774 - Friday, March 25, 2011
• On This Day 3/27/1775 - Friday, March 25, 2011
• On This Day 3/26/1776 - Wednesday, March 16, 2011
• On This Day 3/25/1774 - Wednesday, March 16, 2011
• On This Day 3/24/1765 - Wednesday, March 16, 2011
• On This Day 3/23/1775 - Wednesday, March 16, 2011
• On This Day 3/22/1765 - Monday, March 14, 2011
• On This Day 3/21/1778 - Monday, March 14, 2011
• On This Day 3/20/1778 - Monday, March 14, 2011
• On This Day 3/19/1734 - Friday, March 11, 2011
• On This Day 3/18/1766 - Friday, March 11, 2011
• On This Day 3/17/1776 - Friday, March 11, 2011
• On This Day 3/16/1751 - Wednesday, March 09, 2011
• On This Day 3/15/1783 - Wednesday, March 09, 2011
• On This Day 3/14/1776 - Wednesday, March 09, 2011
• On This Day 3/13/1733 - Wednesday, March 09, 2011
• On This Day 3/12/1776 - Tuesday, March 08, 2011
• On This Day 3/11/1779 - Tuesday, March 08, 2011
• On This Day 3/10/1792 - Tuesday, March 08, 2011
• On This Day 3/9/1781 - Tuesday, March 08, 2011
• On This Day 3/8/1782 - Friday, March 04, 2011
• On This Day 3/7/1777 - Friday, March 04, 2011
• On This Day 3/6/1776 - Friday, March 04, 2011
• On This Day 3/5/1770 - Friday, March 04, 2011
• On This Day 3/4/1776 - Thursday, March 03, 2011
• On This Day 3/3/1776 - Thursday, March 03, 2011
• On This Day 3/2/1776 - Thursday, March 03, 2011
• On This Day 3/1/1781 - Thursday, March 03, 2011
• On This Day 1/30/1781 - Friday, January 21, 2011
• On This Day 1/29/1777 - Friday, January 21, 2011
• On This Day 1/28/1777 - Friday, January 21, 2011
• On This Day 1/27/1785 - Friday, January 21, 2011
• On This Day 1/26/1779 - Thursday, January 20, 2011
• On This Day 1/25/1776 - Thursday, January 20, 2011
• On This Day 1/24/1781 - Thursday, January 20, 2011
• On This Day 1/23/1775 - Thursday, January 20, 2011
• On This Day 1/22/1779 - Wednesday, January 19, 2011
• On This Day 1/21/1738 - Wednesday, January 19, 2011
• On This Day 1/20/1777 - Wednesday, January 19, 2011
• On This Day 1/19/1764 - Wednesday, January 19, 2011
• On This Day 1/18/1776 - Saturday, January 15, 2011
• On This Day 1/17/1781 - Saturday, January 15, 2011
• On This Day 1/16/1780 - Saturday, January 15, 2011
• On This Day 1/15/1777 - Saturday, January 15, 2011
• On This Day 1/14/1784 - Friday, January 14, 2011
• On This Day 1/13/1776 - Friday, January 14, 2011
• On This Day 1/12/1777 - Friday, January 14, 2011
• On This Day 1/11/1775 - Friday, January 14, 2011
• On This Day 1/10/1861 - Thursday, January 13, 2011
• On This Day 1/9/1861 - Thursday, January 13, 2011
• On This Day 1/8/1821 - Thursday, January 13, 2011
• On This Day 1/7/1864 - Thursday, January 13, 2011
• On This Day 1/6/1827 - Tuesday, January 11, 2011
• On This Day 1/5/1861 - Tuesday, January 11, 2011
• On This Day 1/4/1863 - Tuesday, January 11, 2011
• On This Day 1/3/1861 - Tuesday, January 11, 2011
• On This Day 1/2/1863 - Monday, January 10, 2011
• On This Day 1/1/1863 - Monday, January 10, 2011
• On This Day 12/31/1775 - Monday, January 10, 2011
• On This Day 12/30/1803 - Monday, January 10, 2011
• On this Day 12/29/1778 - Friday, January 07, 2011
• On This Day 12/28/1781 - Friday, January 07, 2011
• On This Day 12/27/1780 - Friday, January 07, 2011
• On This Day 12/26/1776 - Friday, January 07, 2011
• On This Day 12/25/1776 - Thursday, January 06, 2011
• On This Day 12/24/1745 - Thursday, January 06, 2011
• On This Day 12/23/1783 - Thursday, January 06, 2011
• On This Day 12/22/1775 - Thursday, January 06, 2011
• On This Day 12/21/1761 - Wednesday, January 05, 2011
• On This Day 12/20/1783 - Wednesday, January 05, 2011
• On This Day 12/19/1776 - Wednesday, January 05, 2011
• On This Day 12/18/1777 - Wednesday, January 05, 2011
• On This Day 12/17/1777 - Tuesday, January 04, 2011
• On This Day 12/16/1773 - Tuesday, January 04, 2011
• On This Day 12/15/1791 - Tuesday, January 04, 2011
• On This Day 12/14/1777 - Tuesday, January 04, 2011
• OnThis Day 12/13/1776 - Monday, December 13, 2010
• On This Day 12/12/1787 - Monday, December 13, 2010
• On This Day 12/11/1777 - Monday, December 13, 2010
• On This Day 12/10/1778 - Monday, December 13, 2010
• On This Day 12/9/1775 - Thursday, December 02, 2010
• On This Day 12/8/1775 - Thursday, December 02, 2010
• On This Day 12/7/1787 - Thursday, December 02, 2010
• On This Day 12/6/1777 - Thursday, December 02, 2010
• On This Day 12/5/1776 - Monday, November 29, 2010
• On This Day 12/4/1780 - Monday, November 29, 2010
• On This Day 12/3/1776 - Monday, November 29, 2010
• On This Day 12/2/1777 - Monday, November 29, 2010
• On this Day 12/1/1779 - Wednesday, November 24, 2010
• On This Day 11/30/1776 - Wednesday, November 24, 2010
• On This Day 11/29/1775 - Wednesday, November 24, 2010
• On This Day 11/28/1777 - Wednesday, November 24, 2010
•  On This Day 11/27/1746 - Tuesday, November 23, 2010  
• On This Day 11/26/1776 - Tuesday, November 23, 2010
• On This Day 11/25/1783 - Tuesday, November 23, 2010
• On This Day 11/24/1807 - Tuesday, November 23, 2010
• On This Day 11/23/1749 - Monday, November 22, 2010
• On This Day 11/22/1783 - Monday, November 22, 2010
• On This Day 11/21/1776 - Monday, November 22, 2010
• On This Day 11/20/1789 - Monday, November 22, 2010
• On This Day 11/19/1776 - Tuesday, November 16, 2010
• On This Day 11/18/1776 - Tuesday, November 16, 2010
• On This Day 11/17/1777 - Tuesday, November 16, 2010
• On This Day 11/16/1776 - Tuesday, November 16, 2010
• On This Day 11/15/1777 - Monday, November 15, 2010
• On This Day 11/14/1776 - Monday, November 15, 2010
• On This Day 11/13/1775 - Monday, November 15, 2010
• On This Day 11/12/1775 - Monday, November 15, 2010
• On This Day 11/11/1778 - Saturday, October 30, 2010
• On This Day 11/10/1775 - Saturday, October 30, 2010
• On This Day 11/9/1780 - Saturday, October 30, 2010
• On This Day 11/8/1775 - Saturday, October 30, 2010
• On This Day 11/7/1776 - Wednesday, October 27, 2010
• On This Day 11/6/1789 - Wednesday, October 27, 2010
• On This Day 11/5/1775 - Wednesday, October 27, 2010
• On This Day 11/4/1801 - Wednesday, October 27, 2010
• On This Day 11/3/1777 - Thursday, October 21, 2010
• On This Day 11/2/1777 - Thursday, October 21, 2010
• On This Day 11/1/1765 - Thursday, October 21, 2010
• On This Day 10/31/1776 - Thursday, October 21, 2010
• On This Day 10/30/1775 - Tuesday, October 19, 2010
• On This Day 10/29/1777 - Tuesday, October 19, 2010
• On This Day 10/28/1775 - Tuesday, October 19, 2010
• On This Day 10/27/1775 - Tuesday, October 19, 2010
• On This Day 10/26/1776 - Monday, October 18, 2010
• On This Day 10/25/1774 - Monday, October 18, 2010
• On This Day 10/24/1775 - Monday, October 18, 2010
• On This Day 10/23/1777 - Monday, October 18, 2010
• On This Day 10/22/1775 - Friday, October 15, 2010
• On This Day 10/21/1779 - Friday, October 15, 2010
• On This Day 10/20/1774 - Friday, October 15, 2010


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.