AuthorsDen.com   Join | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Robert Wood, iBlak Rayne, iPaul Kyriazi, iStanley Ely, ialex canton-dutari, iSusan Lindsley, iMyra Darwish, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

J AG

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 117 Titles
· 196 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Jun, 2007

J AG, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
The Confession of a Paedophile Priest
by James Skivington

An alcoholic journalist, unemployed and with a failed marriage behind him, sets out to track down an Irish priest accused of child abuse in an orphanage...  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by J AG

More Than One Way
6/17/2008 5:54:43 AM    [ Flag as Spam or Inappropriate ]

There's more than one way to skin a cat, so the saying goes. I recently was reminded that this is actually a vital piece of information. You see, there are various ways to solve any problem. Is one way any better than
another? I guess that depends on who is doing the judging.

Most people will put more merit on the answer that agrees with theirs, and if they consider themselves to be experts, then I suppose "their answer" given by another would be deemed the "right one."

So how do we measure intelligence without bias? Can we? Can you judge my level of intelligence by the simple fact that I wouldn't do X the same way as you, or some expert, says I should? Or says only the most intelligent of human beings would? I wonder just how much the answer depends on the author.

It's always easier to deal with people who are like minded, agree with you, give you the answer you're looking for, and it's self-assuring to know that out of 100 people surveyed, your answer was in the top 1 percentile in regards to what "all the intelligent people" are saying, but does that really mean that the alternatives are really less than, that these masses are really your inferiors, or does it just mean that you finally came across common ground with a few on this topic who might otherwise consider you inferior if you don't get the all the answers "right."

Consider all the options. One may be more time consuming, or just an immediate fix, but it doesn't alter the value in and of itself. Every thought, and every person, has value. Whether you would do it that way or not is a matter of choice not of intelligence, unless you're just that shallow that you have to live your life establishing your superiority.

I can't throw stones. I've been there. Imagine my surprise when I found out that all of life wasn't just about me! So I'm learning, or trying to, just how to be a decent human being again.

Learning how to step out of your own way, put ego in its place, and find a way to live in gratitude is a journey with great rewards if you put yourself aside and place value and respect on the effect everything you do has on others and the world around you. Live well. Live in peace. And may all you do be of benefit to everything and everyone you touch.


Comments (3)

More Blogs by J AG
• Note From A Vampire's Desk - Sunday, December 28, 2008
• Metamorpho - Monday, November 17, 2008
• Closing thoughts for a closing mind - Tuesday, November 11, 2008
• The Secret Life of Marketing - Tuesday, October 14, 2008
• Blessedly Inconvenienced - Tuesday, September 16, 2008
• Why Do We Need A Reason To Be Sad? - Friday, August 22, 2008
• No Past And All Future - Thursday, August 21, 2008
• Faith - Not For the Faint of Heart - Wednesday, August 20, 2008
• Move Along. There's nothing to see here. - Tuesday, August 19, 2008
• Addendum - Thursday, August 14, 2008
• Loving A Star - Tuesday, August 12, 2008
• Love is.... - Wednesday, August 06, 2008
• Message from the South Wind - Sunday, August 03, 2008
• Moving along.... - Wednesday, July 30, 2008
• A New Old Texas Fable - Tuesday, July 29, 2008
• Sailing - Monday, July 28, 2008
• Monkey See, Monkey Do - Friday, July 25, 2008
• If you don't like it .... - Tuesday, July 22, 2008
• To Be Or Not To Be, Indeed - Tuesday, July 22, 2008
• Clearing the Hurdle - Note To Self - Monday, July 21, 2008
• The Moon Is Nigh - Friday, July 18, 2008
• A Closing Thought - Thursday, July 17, 2008
• Why Does Evil Sing? - Thursday, July 17, 2008
• Hired to Teach Newspaper Employees - Tuesday, July 15, 2008
• Thankful - Monday, July 14, 2008
• Walking with Sad - Friday, July 11, 2008
• In Search of Healing - Thursday, July 10, 2008
• Love Is Seen Best With Closed Eyes - Monday, July 07, 2008
• Everything I learned about relationships I learned in the kitchen - Thursday, July 03, 2008
• Whatever Gets You Up - Wednesday, July 02, 2008
• The True Meaning of Love - Saturday, June 28, 2008
• Taking the Edge Off - Thursday, June 26, 2008
• Go in Peace - Wednesday, June 25, 2008
• Messsage On A Winter's Day in the Middle of Summer - Tuesday, June 24, 2008
• Appreciating the Pause - Monday, June 23, 2008
• Love is.... - Saturday, June 21, 2008
• Don't have the stomach for it - Thursday, June 19, 2008
•  More Than One Way - Tuesday, June 17, 2008  
• Searching - Friday, June 13, 2008
• Inquiry - Thursday, June 12, 2008
• A Bite of Wisdom from "Forever Knight" - Tuesday, June 10, 2008
• In service - Tuesday, June 10, 2008
• the obvious - Monday, June 09, 2008


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.