AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
Happy 4th of July!
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  S Zachary, iAuntie Val, iG. Roscoe, iRichard Hardie, iDonna Lynch, iKellee Stone, iSam Vaknin, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Martha A Cheves

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Success story
· Books
· Articles
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 20 Titles
· 14 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Sep, 2008

Martha A Cheves, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Martha A Cheves

Jodi's Journey - Rita Hestand, Author (Due for Release 3/1/10)
1/27/2010 2:57:44 PM    [ Flag as Inappropriate ]

<

Jodi's Journey - Review by Martha A. Cheves, Author of Stir, Laugh, Repeat

"Your anger is like a dirty quilt, smothering you, it's time to get out from under it and get on with the living again, girl," the old man muttered with sad regret, as he tried uselessly to move something other than his head against the creaking bunk. "The wars been over nearly four years. You have to get over the hurt it has caused; you have to let it go, in order to heal."

After her brother left to fight for the south, dying in the process, and her father just ran away, Jodi has the full responsibility of caring for their ranch. Along with that responsibility is the task of getting her cattle, as well as the cattle belonging to other ranchers in her hometown of Esser Crossing, halfway across the country to market. This is a task her Forman Clem knows she can't do alone. His suggestion to her is to hire Hunt Johnson, the town's coward, to help.

Jodi doesn't take kindly to this suggestion. After all, how can a "coward" be trusted to be responsible for the future of Esser? But Jodi has a secret problem that she will tell no one and this cattle drive is her only chance of resolving that problem. As it turns out, Hunt Johnson has his own secrets and memories of the war that he too is battling with. So when they join forces, their own deep dark secrets almost get them both killed.

This is the second novel that I've read by Rita Hestand. My first book by her was Hannah's Man and I have to say that she puts so much love and feeling into every chapter of both books, that you can't help but love her work. She allows you to feel the pain and fears of each character, as well as the abundance of their love. I'm not a fond reader of western romances but I will read every novel that Rita Hestand writes with no hesitation.


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Martha A Cheves
• A Kiss of Life - Brian L. Porter, Author - Sunday, April 25, 2010
• And Murder for Dessert - Kathleen Delaney, Author - Tuesday, April 20, 2010
• Healer's Fate - Beth Caudill, Author - Thursday, April 15, 2010
• Pestilence - Brian L. Porter, Author - Friday, April 09, 2010
• A Bloody Good Cruise - Diana Rubino, Author - Tuesday, April 06, 2010
• Laughed 'Til He Died - Carolyn Hart - New Release!! - Monday, April 05, 2010
• Love Waits - Donald James Parker, Author - Friday, March 19, 2010
• Dracula Doesn't Live Here Anymore - Brial L. Porter, Author - Wednesday, March 17, 2010
• Dead Air - Mary Kennedy, Author - Wednesday, March 10, 2010
• Ghost at Work, Carolyn Hart, Author - Sunday, February 28, 2010
• Charlotte Today - Friday, February 26, 2010
• Purple Death - Brian L. Porter, Author - Saturday, February 20, 2010
• A Lesson in Murder - Augustus Cileone - Wednesday, February 17, 2010
• Merry, Merry Ghost - Carolyn Hart, Author - Thursday, February 11, 2010
• Crossroads - Steven Nedelton, Author - Sunday, February 07, 2010
• Dead Write - Sheila Lowe, Author - Sunday, January 31, 2010
•  Jodi's Journey - Rita Hestand, Author (Due for Release 3/1/10) - Wednesday, January 27, 2010  
• Future Imperfect Books, Crucifying Angel - P. I. Barrington, Author - Sunday, January 17, 2010
• Murders Do Not Come by Accident - Edwart T. Cook, Author - Monday, January 11, 2010
• Fast Track - John DeDakis, Author - Wednesday, January 06, 2010
• Return to Whittakerville - Shirley A. Roe, Author - Tuesday, January 05, 2010
• Knowing the Struggle is Over! - K. M. Johnson, Author - Sunday, January 03, 2010
• Reflections of a Mississippi Magnolia - Patricia Neely-Dorsey, Author - Wednesday, December 30, 2009
• Lost Witness - Laura Elvebak, Author - Tuesday, December 29, 2009
• Tilly's Tale - Harry Porter, Author - Sunday, December 27, 2009
• CEOs Don't Cry - Joselyn Vaughn, Author - Sunday, December 13, 2009
• Cheater BBQ - Mindy Merrell & R. B. Quinn, Authors - Saturday, December 05, 2009
• It's in the Eyes - Charles Toftoy, Author - Friday, December 04, 2009
• Moments of Mine - Jerry M. White, Author - Monday, November 30, 2009
• Pretty Poison - Joyce and Jim Lavene, Authors - Saturday, November 28, 2009
• The Whittaker Family Reunion - Shirley A. Roe, Author - Sunday, November 22, 2009
• The Fall of Augustus - Sarah Wisseman, Author - Tuesday, November 17, 2009
• Bertha Fights Back - Fran Lewis & Jr. Author Dani Nicole Miller, Authors - Sunday, November 15, 2009
• Dispel The Mist - A Tempe Crabtree Mystery - Marilyn Meredith, Author - Saturday, October 24, 2009
• Golden Conspiracy - A Jacsen Kidd Mystery - Robert James Glider, Author - Wednesday, October 21, 2009
• A Corpse for Yew - Joyce and Jim Lavene, Authors - Wednesday, October 14, 2009
• Death of a Perfect Man - M. M. Gornell, Author - Tuesday, October 06, 2009
• The Long Night Moon - Elizabeth Towles, Author - Sunday, October 04, 2009
• And on the Surface Die - Lou Allin, Author (A Holly Martin Mystery) - Monday, September 21, 2009
• Man Corn Murders - Lou Allin, Author - Saturday, September 12, 2009
• Secrets by the Sea - Mary Montague Sikes, Author - Saturday, September 05, 2009
• The Trojan Project - Eileen Thornton, Author - Saturday, August 29, 2009
• De Marco Empire - J. Lou McCartney, Author - Monday, August 24, 2009
• A Corpse in the Soup - Morgan St. James and Phyllice Bradner, Authors - Saturday, August 08, 2009
• The Pot Thief Who Studied Pythagoras - J. Michael Orenduff, Author - Saturday, August 08, 2009
• Spice Up Your Life - The Flexitarian Way - Bindu Grandhi, Author - Tuesday, August 04, 2009
• Stars & Shields, Cop Stories - Edward T. Cook, Author - Saturday, August 01, 2009
• Web of Secrets - Ernesto Patino, Author - Wednesday, July 29, 2009
• A Circle of Souls - Preetham Grandhi, Author - Saturday, July 25, 2009
• Legacy of the Ripper - Brian L. Porter, Author - Sunday, July 19, 2009
• Points of Origin - Darden North, MD, Author - Wednesday, July 15, 2009
• Where Angels Fear - Sunny Frazier, Author - Thursday, July 02, 2009
• Less Dead - Laura Elvebak, Author - Saturday, June 27, 2009
• Event - Tuesday, June 09, 2009
• The Voice of Anton Bouchard and Other Stories - Brian L. Porter Author - Sunday, June 07, 2009
• Blood Bar - Norman Applegate, Author - Thursday, June 04, 2009
• Beaufort Falls - Mari Sloan, Author - Friday, May 22, 2009
• The Other Side of You - Debi DeSantis, Author - Saturday, May 16, 2009
• Fools Rush In - Sunny Frazier, Author - Tuesday, May 12, 2009
• Autographed Books - Tuesday, May 12, 2009
• Murder, Mayhem and Mexico - Brian L. Porter, Author - Sunday, April 26, 2009
• Just North of Luck - Susan Whitfield, Author - Friday, April 24, 2009
• Breaking My Silence - Jane McCormick with Patti Wicklund, Author - Thursday, April 09, 2009
• Genesis Beach - Susan Whitfield, Author - Wednesday, April 08, 2009
• The Chosen Few - Matthew Simon, Autor - Sunday, March 22, 2009
• Bertha Speaks Out - Fran Lewis Author - Wednesday, March 11, 2009
• Rovella Starr - Author Carol Denise Mitchell - Saturday, February 21, 2009
• Fresh Frozen - Author Darden North, MD - Friday, February 20, 2009
• Thicker Than Water - D. C. Jennings - Tuesday, February 10, 2009
• Book Reviews - Friday, January 30, 2009
• Book Rating - Monday, January 05, 2009
• Two Things - Tuesday, December 30, 2008
• Great News - Saturday, December 20, 2008
• Salmon Spaghetti with White Sauce - Sunday, December 14, 2008
• New Tips - Saturday, December 13, 2008
• Changing Times - Part 2 - Saturday, November 29, 2008
• Books A Million Signing - Saturday, November 15, 2008
• Mothers of the Baby Boomers - Friday, November 14, 2008
• Poor Man's Beef Tips & Rice - Sunday, November 09, 2008
• CONTEST - Wednesday, November 05, 2008
• New Recipe Just in Time for the Holidays - Sunday, November 02, 2008
• New Items on Blog - Monday, October 27, 2008
• Spinach Balls - Sunday, October 26, 2008
• Instant Lids - Wednesday, October 22, 2008
• Emeril Lagasse - Tuesday, October 21, 2008
• How Much Turkey Do I Need? - Monday, October 20, 2008
• Tara's Letter - Sunday, October 19, 2008
• Book Signing - Saturday, October 18, 2008
• Cracker Bars - Saturday, October 18, 2008
• Still Here - Thursday, October 16, 2008
• Banana Split Pudding - Sunday, October 12, 2008
• Kijiji - Saturday, October 11, 2008
• Substituting Chicken for Seafood - Thursday, October 09, 2008
• Mass Mailings - Tuesday, October 07, 2008
• Chicken n Dumplins - Monday, October 06, 2008
• Still Remembering - Monday, October 06, 2008
• Remembering - Sunday, October 05, 2008
• Apple Roll-Ups - Sunday, October 05, 2008
• Marketing - Saturday, October 04, 2008
• Question #2 - Thursday, October 02, 2008
• Holiday Cooking - Tuesday, September 30, 2008
• Soup Night - Tuesday, September 30, 2008
• Easy Meals - Monday, September 29, 2008
• Snacky Dinners - Monday, September 29, 2008
• Question #1 - Sunday, September 28, 2008
• Sunday Morning Coffee Group - Friday, September 26, 2008
• Young Cooks Important! - Sunday, September 21, 2008
• Food Tester Breakfast Results - Sunday, September 21, 2008
• Stir, Laugh, Repeat Food Testers - Sunday, September 21, 2008
• Stir, Laugh, Repeat - Friday, September 19, 2008
• Cheese Loaves - Thursday, September 18, 2008
• Stir, Laugh, Repeat - Wednesday, September 17, 2008
• Stir, Laugh, Repeat - Tuesday, September 16, 2008