AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  D.E.Z. Butler, iPatrick Granfors, iSafi aifas32@gmail.com, iArmineh Ohanian, iIsabella Koldras, iLem Yedowicz, iChidi Asika-Enahoro, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Betty Anne Grillo

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Books
· Blog
· 1 Titles
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2012

Betty Anne Grillo, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Betty Anne Grillo

Have you had a part in saving a life?
6/23/2012 3:23:27 PM    [ Flag as Inappropriate ]

It could have been you..

It could have been you…

Less than a year ago, if someone asked if I had taken part in saving a life—the answer would have been “no”. Not because I wouldn’t have if I was confronted with the opportunity, but those things just don’t happen to ordinary people. I’m as ordinary as they come.

EMT’s and doctors, police and fire fighters--they save lives like I meet with clients—it is just another day at the office for them. They receive training and prepare daily for those situations when regular people call on them to save the lives of people they don’t even know.

Not too long ago I was presented with an opportunity to look frantically for someone more qualified than me to perform a life-saving act. The ashen faces of those around me didn’t strike me as having the stomach for stepping up to accept the responsibility of helping someone overcome a life-threatening moment in time. Others didn’t even notice there was a crisis taking place.  

It has been almost a year, and I still think back to that event. I was waiting in line for a burger (after giving in to a craving) and everyone in the joint was speaking a different language. Laughing and joking is quite universal, and everyone was having a good time. Without understanding a word spoken around me, I totally understood all that was happening.

As I glanced toward a tall woman sitting with her friends, I could see the look of panic on her face as she realized she had lost the ability to breathe. Choking on her food was quickly becoming her last act on this earth. I had never seen someone choking so badly. Her body was weakening and the absolute fright in her eyes is still with me today.

Scanning the crowd frantically, I prayed that someone would step in and do what you’re supposed to do when someone is choking: at least someone who’s been trained to do it. Before I knew it, I felt my body move toward her and I tried to do what I had seen so many times on television. She was a good six inches taller than me. I wasn’t the best person for the job, and I knew she sensed that in her desperation.

When I stood there behind her, no one pushing me aside to do it right, I administered the Heimlich maneuver (or a close facsimile) with all my heart. It seemed like hours passed, and she still could not breathe! I again scanned the restaurant for a better life-saver. No, I was it. I was her only chance to take one more breath… and I prayed that the strength and technique would come to me—SOON!

Yes, I can write this story because the burger and fries she swallowed finally dislodged from her throat, and she gasped that life-giving breath. My prayers were answered, and she found a way to thank me in a language I don’t know to this day. Moments later she was joking and laughing with her friends again, and wolfing down her remaining food. I, on the other hand, was shaking so badly I could barely find the strength to stumble to a chair to comprehend what had just happened. She was young, I’m not--and she had just aged me a few more years!

As I sit here, I think back on that night--and about the young girl. There are times when you have to be the one who steps up to the plate. Life changes in the blink of an eye--and one person can make a difference in the world. She made a difference in mine. I am eternally grateful for the challenge of the split-second decision to make that difference. I often wonder how she is--and where she is… Does she even remember the experience? I know I will never forget it!

If you ever find yourself in a similar situation, when you are all the hope that someone has, be the best hope you can be… and it will be enough.

All my best!

Betty Anne

www.sunsetdreambooks.com

On Twitter .sunsetdreamboox

 



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Betty Anne Grillo
• What Your Neighbors Don't Know Abour Your Life - Wednesday, July 11, 2012
• A Special Needs Child in the Family - Tuesday, July 10, 2012
• Uncertainty creates fear and anxiety - Monday, July 09, 2012
• Bankruptcy is a fresh start, not a disgrace - Friday, July 06, 2012
• Could "book smarts" ever replace "street smarts"? - Thursday, July 05, 2012
• #Food for Thought—and I sure hope you’re #hungry! - Wednesday, July 04, 2012
• The Passing of Andy Griffith - Tuesday, July 03, 2012
• New day, new desire, new direction! - Monday, July 02, 2012
• SUNDAY SILLIES 07-01-2012 - Sunday, July 01, 2012
• The other “B” word – #BUDGET - Saturday, June 30, 2012
• The Truth is Always Somewhere in the Middle - Friday, June 29, 2012
• Time to take a #SCOTUS breath! - Thursday, June 28, 2012
• Do men and women handle #bankruptcy differently? - Wednesday, June 27, 2012
• Do men and women handle bankruptcy differently? - Tuesday, June 26, 2012
• The Symptoms of an Unhealthy Budget: Part Four - Monday, June 25, 2012
• Louis Gossett, Jr - Sunday, June 24, 2012
• SUNDAY SILLIES 06-24-2012 - Sunday, June 24, 2012
•  Have you had a part in saving a life? - Saturday, June 23, 2012  
• The Symptoms of an Unhealthy Budget: Part Three - Saturday, June 23, 2012
• The Symptoms of an Unhealthy Budget - Friday, June 22, 2012
• The Symptoms of an Unhealthy Budget - Thursday, June 21, 2012
• Can you really negotiate with credit card companies to pay less than the full balance? - Wednesday, June 20, 2012
• Do your elderly parents have trouble paying their bills? - Tuesday, June 19, 2012
• Do money problems cause break-ups? - Monday, June 18, 2012
• WHAT WILL I DO IF SOMEONE ASKS ME TO DANCE? - Sunday, June 17, 2012
• HAVING LESS TO SPEND COSTS YOU MORE IN THE END - Saturday, June 16, 2012
• I'm late, I'm late, for a very important... - Friday, June 15, 2012
• WHEN THE “B” WORD STANDS FOR BANKRUPTCY - Thursday, June 14, 2012
• Has your net worth decreased dramatically? - Wednesday, June 13, 2012
• What dreams have you had to put on hold? - Tuesday, June 12, 2012
• How much longer can you hold out? - Monday, June 11, 2012
• Sunday "Sillies" 06-10-2012 - Sunday, June 10, 2012
• Saturdays aren't the same for you, are they? - Saturday, June 09, 2012
• When charging items like food and gas purchases get us into trouble - Friday, June 08, 2012
• If money can fix it, it's not a disaster - Thursday, June 07, 2012
• I know it feels good to shop, but... - Wednesday, June 06, 2012
• Your health is most important! - Tuesday, June 05, 2012
• Common Personal Bankruptcy Myths and Facts - Monday, June 04, 2012
• Sunday Sillies June 3, 2012 - Sunday, June 03, 2012
• 383,000 New Unemployment Claims - Saturday, June 02, 2012
• How Much More Can You Take? - Friday, June 01, 2012
• Life is too short to face financial problems every day! - Thursday, May 31, 2012
• A new book about surviving widowhood - Wednesday, May 30, 2012
• A handshake and a smile - Tuesday, May 29, 2012
• Where did all that money go? - Monday, May 28, 2012
• Sunday "Sillies" - Sunday, May 27, 2012
• Unemployment numbers - Saturday, May 26, 2012
• The Launch of Sunset Dream Books - Saturday, May 26, 2012


3 WAY MIRROR by Odin Roark

3 WAY MIRROR is about a lost identity as experienced by a twenty-eight-year old who thinks he's Charles Randall, until strange events suggest otherwise...  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.