AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Bryon Smith, iLonnie Hicks, iSky Purington, iGeorge Wallach, iMatthew Miller, iAnn Marquette, iFrances Seymour, i
 
Home > Lonnie Hicks
 

Recent Reviews for Lonnie Hicks


Poor Humor (Short Story) - 8/22/2015 2:10:15 AM
A true example of "poor humor" as far as what it is like to be poor through a sense of humor. For sure, one has to be inventive when it comes to putting dinner on the table.

Illusion's Love (Short Story) - 8/19/2015 6:11:21 AM
well done

Illusion's Love (Short Story) - 8/18/2015 7:47:59 AM
What's love got to do with it?..............(love that song!) Love ya! Jane

Illusion's Love (Short Story) - 8/18/2015 5:18:29 AM
To use counselor's terminology, your poem is a perfect description of codependency. Ron

Fire Flies Blink (Short Story) - 8/17/2015 3:20:59 AM
well done

Family Dynamics And War (Short Story) - 8/16/2015 4:19:40 AM
Howard Zinn was right to say that 'all war is war against children' - and now you've expanded that to explain why it is so ... why we'd rather be right than safe or sane.

Fire Flies Blink (Short Story) - 8/6/2015 5:42:27 AM
Young love under the magic of night. It doesn't get any better than this. Ron

Bedtime Stories (Short Story) - 8/2/2015 4:27:18 AM
Wow! You just described 90% what passes for "love" in this world. No wonder the divorce rate is so high. Ron

If Animals Could Talk-Volume Two (Short Story) - 8/1/2015 9:49:20 PM
I wish the talk could be longer in each , could make quite a good story , some for kids. I have done one on elephant and a sparow and it is popular , stands first in the children stories section. In fact there seems to be a dearth of animal stories for kids which I am sure kids will love to read. Yopur concepts are good. wish you could expand on them . Roseline

Hard Town Trucking (Short Story) - 7/28/2015 4:24:26 AM
I love it. Down and dirty country livin'. Ron

Hard Town Trucking (Short Story) - 7/27/2015 11:51:44 PM
You've captured the hard reality of one lady of the evening with rhythm and without mincing words. While it may be a sleazy and sordid life lived by many for whatever the reasons or circumstances, you stated it with rhythm and objectivity.

Careening (Short Story) - 7/24/2015 7:57:56 AM
Are a wild one and a Harley Mama soul mates? I'm just trying to get caught up on the lingo... :)

Careening (Short Story) - 7/22/2015 5:41:50 AM
Seems to portray sense of what young people's lives may be like today. But, if I hearken back to earlier times, I find a similar pattern among the young and restless. The Depression children were relatively lost until they found a purpose in World War II. The flower children throwing off the decadence of their parents, only to eventually embrace it. The baby boomers who could only think of making money with little sense of their future and their health. Each generation has its problems to overcome. And somehow, they overcome them. This is not to discourage your story, but put it in perspective. You have a way, succinctly, of telling it like it is. I think you meant to say, "she would have [chose] him." Ron

Careening (Short Story) - 7/22/2015 12:54:39 AM
A short story, but so much better written austerely and succinctly in this poem. The young man has a stretch of life ahead to open his eyes to more satisfying needs and wants, as does Everyman/Everywoman.

Why Substitute English Teachers Have Grey Hair (Short Story) - 7/18/2015 2:19:08 AM
A good teacher always has tricks up their sleeves to win over the most recalcitrant student. I know this from classroom experience. I'm proud to say I never met a surly young man whom I couldn't charm.

Fire Flies and Summer Nights (Short Story) - 7/18/2015 2:04:39 AM
Your poem is gentle and fleeting as a kiss, while lingering in memory like hovering fireflies twinkling and blinking.

Let's Talk About Race: What Are The Facts? Updated: 6/12/15 (Short Story) - 6/20/2015 7:14:54 AM
Facts, I've come to understand so recently, fall on deaf ears of those who are so governed by emotion ... and fear, so coupled with ignorance and envy, is the most powerful emotion at large in our world. Thanks for your moral courage. Hopefully it will translate into the physical and social determination we need. Well done.

A Sea of Melancholy (Short Story) - 5/29/2015 5:01:32 PM
Thanks for such and insigtful review. I went your member page looking over your stories and became a fan!

A Sea of Melancholy (Short Story) - 5/29/2015 3:50:47 PM
On occasion, I strive for profound poetry in my stories, such as your... "Some times she finished a story but you never could be sure, because her voice would drift off into memory." ...and your... "A single tear formed behind her closed eye-lid, and, I imagined, dropped into her sea." I also variously seek to write unusual sentence constructs, such as your comma after "and" in the previous sentence to force a pause. I like it. Scott

A Sea of Melancholy (Short Story) - 5/27/2015 6:08:55 AM
She had perspective and wisdom to realize that the road to love is not romantic. Lucky you. Lucky us.

A Sea of Melancholy (Short Story) - 5/26/2015 11:34:11 AM
That's a sad story, but so true of so many. I watched a woman get married for the third time last year. She said she met this last one, because she was, "lonely." If you live long enough, you outlive everybody around you who you ever knew. Ron

A Sea of Melancholy (Short Story) - 5/23/2015 11:04:37 AM
What a beautiful story, and the ending so perfectly gorgeous where the dewdrop falls in the ocean and connects us deeply with our souls...and thank goodness she got to be in love in the first place so she could survive everything life threw at her after that. Blessed days Lonnie! Christine

Gerunds (Short Story) - 5/16/2015 7:39:26 AM
I'm too far removed from my English classes to remember what a gerund is and too lazy right now even to Google it… Shame on me. But, I found your poem to be on the razor's edge of the bloody business of sex and survival and found it refreshingly unique. You are the greatest poet (if a bit lonely) in the Stories section. ;-) Ron

Love's Remains (Short Story) - 5/14/2015 7:01:19 AM
A wonderful poem about the story of Quasimodo. As I read it I couldn't help thinking that it could only be written with such passion by someone who had also felt the pain of rejection so greatly. You poured your heart into this one, and it shows… Brilliant! Ron Lonnie, if you can, please repost this in the poetry section. You should get more readers there.

Iron Drops (Short Story) - 5/11/2015 7:38:41 AM
Just so beautiful and true!

You Can Have Me (Poetry) - 8/13/2015 6:29:40 AM
Sooooooooooo............let's try them all! Love ya! Jane

Picture Falling (Poetry) - 8/7/2015 2:16:05 PM
Completely instinctive and natural ~ beautiful effect at the end. Blessings, Christine

You Can Have Me (Poetry) - 8/7/2015 2:12:41 PM
Such an understanding poem. It's so difficult to reveal the truths of our souls, unless there is a very safe place. Blessings, Christine

You Can Have Me (Poetry) - 8/3/2015 11:18:25 AM
Thought-inciting for sure, Lonnie. Love and peace, Regis

You Can Have Me (Poetry) - 8/2/2015 7:58:52 AM
Is this about whips and chains, or am I reading too much here? :)

You Can Have Me (Poetry) - 7/29/2015 1:28:15 PM
And, these are the things that should be asked. Thanks, Chris

You Can Have Me (Poetry) - 7/28/2015 5:56:24 AM
You certainly know how to say what generally goes unsaid. Ron

You Can Have Me (Poetry) - 7/28/2015 3:19:00 AM
Kinda enigmatic. Reads like 50 shades of Lonnie.

You Can Have Me (Poetry) - 7/27/2015 7:02:07 PM
Deep inner desires doesn't put into consideration societal norms.. REason why it is best hidden.. Lovely poem, truly captured ones inner ramblings..

You Can Have Me (Poetry) - 7/27/2015 6:48:05 PM
I'm confused, glad to see that you are on top of the situation, however. Go for it then!!

Picture Falling (Poetry) - 7/27/2015 6:53:37 AM


Picture Falling (Poetry) - 7/19/2015 1:52:46 PM
True poetry of the soul Lonnie. Stunning work as always.

Picture Falling (Poetry) - 7/14/2015 9:15:55 AM
Rolling diasporas in the tabernacles of my mind! Circumscribes it for me. This was a wild roller coaster ride into the Lonnie tunnel of love. Or was it? A+ for originality.

Picture Falling (Poetry) - 7/14/2015 6:39:55 AM
well done!! poignant read

Picture Falling (Poetry) - 7/14/2015 6:28:49 AM
I believe I've written it before, but you are a master at romantic poetry. This one reaches the very core of the mystery of attraction. How a simple photograph can elicit such feelings is something that is quite profound and you have captured it in a bottle of love. Ron

Picture Falling (Poetry) - 7/14/2015 4:15:36 AM
Ahhh . . . What a wonderful piece of writing you have given us here, Lonnie. I love, LOVED your fantastic terminology which gave this special poem its exceptional place in your growing list of magnificent poetry.

Solstice (Poetry) - 7/11/2015 10:36:47 AM
Summers take on new meaning when we have time just to enjoy them. Ron

July 4th Fire Works (Poetry) - 7/9/2015 10:24:18 AM
You haven't lost your ability or your charm when you pack in a lot of living and leaning in so few words. Another beauty!

July 4th Fire Works (Poetry) - 7/5/2015 12:15:35 PM
You make that memory grow all the more with your poetry. Ron

July 4th Fire Works (Poetry) - 7/4/2015 9:19:51 PM
Amen Lonnie!

July 4th Fire Works (Poetry) - 7/4/2015 6:01:00 PM
A soulful, breathing poem! Happy Fourth Lonnie Blessings, Chris

Loss (Poetry) - 5/17/2015 3:03:31 PM
I have experienced personal loss more than once over the past few months. I have also experienced that of which you "speak" in your verses. Thank you, Lonnie. Love and peace, Regis

Loss (Poetry) - 5/5/2015 7:53:04 PM
Very sensitive poetic piece Lonnie. Yes, there comes a time to move on and learn from the past and plan for a better future. Amen my friend.

Loss (Poetry) - 5/5/2015 7:14:13 AM
It can certainly suck the life out of you. But then, time should heal and eventually that hole that was left should be covered over and new experiences develop. I admire the the intensity with which you approached the subject. Ron

Loss (Poetry) - 5/5/2015 6:15:05 AM
Your love-ache widens into the mystery of all that is life. Beautiful sad awareness. It seems like there is this small opening of time to put everything we have into a relationship, and then it so often closes and is gone, but the illusion too is that it is closed because once opened it never really does close, does it? Blessings, Christine

Loss (Poetry) - 5/5/2015 4:12:53 AM
Responding as much to Jerry's comment as your fine poem, I think we reject the past too readily, put our 'mistakes' out of mind without understanding or adjusting, thereby repeating them - the 'out of sight, out of mind' syndrome which plagues societies and individuals down history. And yet life must be lived in the now, too. We can do both, not multi-tasking (which gives scant attention to too many things at once) but making it our business to set aside time for quiet, reflection, study ... for 'will power' ... long ago Arab thinkers described this as 'fascination' and pleasure (before Protestant Christians redefined it as dutiful grind) ... soon enough we'll have lived our lives too far.

Loss (Poetry) - 5/5/2015 3:43:54 AM
Too many questions of your past. Live for the present, don't worry about the past. Took me a long time to understand that . . .

Womanhood (Poetry) - 4/18/2015 7:51:39 PM
oh my....sighhhh....xo

Womanhood (Poetry) - 3/12/2015 5:16:08 PM
Your poetry melts the tensions of the day! Have a blessed evening, Christine

Falling (Poetry) - 3/12/2015 5:12:41 PM
I always feel happy when I read your poetry, even if it is melancholy. You know how to let the deepest levels of love and bliss unfold. Blessings, xo Christine

Womanhood (Poetry) - 2/22/2015 4:06:29 PM
you have written this from the view point of a woman and done a damn good job of it. enjoyed

Womanhood (Poetry) - 2/21/2015 11:20:42 AM
Man, you wrote this as though you was a woman! And like all women, I loved it! Ron

Womanhood (Poetry) - 2/20/2015 5:36:28 PM
"Love lost properly applied is Love's Portal to Womanhood"! so beautiful this is...Thanks for sharing Lonnie... wish to see more of your gems like this..JKRoseline

BarFly Queen (Poetry) - 2/19/2015 9:02:36 AM
Tough reality showing through. It's not a pun to say that this one is a real gem. Ron

The Flower (Poetry) - 2/19/2015 1:51:46 AM
well constructed and well-paced --- look out fifty shades of grey!

BarFly Queen (Poetry) - 2/18/2015 2:49:10 PM
Oh yeah. I have been well acquainted with the bar room queen's in my time. Everybody there is forced faking every word and every action, dance step, etc. I've been in thousands of these saloon parlors looking for something I already had. You were truthful in you descriptive phrasing. I could smell the cheap perfume.

BarFly Queen (Poetry) - 2/18/2015 2:17:12 PM
Hard, stark, and real; great imagery also. Thank you for sharing, Lonnie. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Flower (Poetry) - 2/18/2015 7:11:03 AM
A whole lot of anticipation going on. I sense there is some taboo keeping the consummation from happening. If it ever does, it will be explosive from pent-up feelings. Ron

The Flower (Poetry) - 2/18/2015 4:47:12 AM
Just beautiful ... all in one breath , I read JK Roseline

Body Quakes (Poetry) - 2/16/2015 2:27:58 PM
reading your poetry is often like floating on thoughts and images of passion in a state of utter bliss :) Blessings, Christine xx

Body Quakes (Poetry) - 2/15/2015 10:17:01 AM
Sensuous and titillating… Need I say more? Ron

Body Quakes (Poetry) - 2/15/2015 8:39:41 AM
The yearning in this poem is beautiful and heart-breaking. Well done!

Body Quakes (Poetry) - 2/14/2015 8:41:13 PM
great heading title... Body quakes... what writers are capable of , lovely poem ... like all your rest of the work... oozing with romance jk roseline

Falling (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 9:22:07 AM
Don't fall 'out,' and then you never have to fall 'back.'

Falling (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 8:18:31 PM
Lonnie you know I'm a fan of yours, you don't write anything not worth reading. Love the flow of this poem, beautiful and real.

Falling (Poetry) - 1/25/2015 7:56:56 AM
Another fascinating trip down the labyrinths of love with Lonnie H at the controls. Well done.

Falling (Poetry) - 1/25/2015 7:54:40 AM
This struck me as almost menopausal with all the mood swings. Falling in and out of love constantly must be terribly hard on the psyche! However, your usual flair with lovely, loving words is still evident throughout. Ron

Falling (Poetry) - 1/25/2015 4:06:28 AM
Such a beautiful roll of love; true and natural, pure and eternal. Wishing you continued creativity and bliss! With respect and admiration, Carol Phelan Aebby

A Sliver Moon (Poetry) - 1/23/2015 5:23:39 AM
Such a beautiful roll of passionate love where heart opens wide and soul sighs. Wishing you creativity and bliss! With respect and admiration, Carol Phelan Aebby

Pure Spanish Safflower (Poetry) - 12/26/2014 1:11:08 PM
Lonnie Thanks for this red hot chili of a sensuous gem Merry Christmas & Happy New Year....... "Master Top Chef" William

Portals (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 3:03:35 PM
Intensely positive and connected. Merry Christmas Lonnie! Blessings to you, Christine

Face Down Novel (Poetry) - 10/26/2014 1:24:49 PM
It must be that cat in your lap that holds the key to your writing skills. Mine won't stay there. I'll have to catch up on your other renderings...

Face Down Novel (Poetry) - 10/23/2014 10:47:37 AM
Amazing images created by your words in this stunning poem of widowhood. Ron

Face Down Novel (Poetry) - 10/23/2014 4:59:28 AM
The awareness of surroundings of it all on steroids! Worth a second read! Well done!

Portals (Poetry) - 10/14/2014 5:07:41 AM
I can always count on you for hot lips and wet kisses. Nothing like a little passion to get the day started right.

Portals (Poetry) - 10/13/2014 6:13:21 AM
so beautiful Lonnie. Powerfully symbolic of an all-inclusive love.

Metaphors and Similes (Poetry) - 9/17/2014 6:13:50 AM
Sensually exquisite, Lonnie.

Metaphors and Similes (Poetry) - 9/16/2014 7:45:33 AM
Ahhhh, you write the most sensuous poetry around! Your words melt like butter on hot bread, Yum Yum! Ron

Umlaut Me (Poetry) - 9/13/2014 5:47:49 PM
enjoyed the read

Umlaut Me (Poetry) - 9/13/2014 1:49:18 PM
What a creative response Ron. Good as the piece itself. My twitters followers, mostly authors got a chuckle.

Umlaut Me (Poetry) - 9/13/2014 9:11:42 AM
Ah, what foibles we scribblers are error to! I should have seen it coming with the "down low," but your Freudian slip was showing in this, highly creative and instructional piece. I shall laugh every time I think about your dangling participles and sure hope that you avoid that "down low," because I heard it was a very bad thing and totally unrelated to what happens to your tentacles when they age. Long in tooth and tongue in cheek, Ron

Integrities Wisdom (Poetry) - 9/1/2014 12:54:26 PM
Very reminiscent of poetry during the Romantic period and of course, Milton, and we need more of those for our troubling times.

Love Story (Poetry) - 8/17/2014 11:07:53 AM
Like I've said often before, you sure know how to write seductive love poetry! Got me excited just reading it, and I'm sure the girls will swoon. Ron

Love Story (Poetry) - 8/17/2014 5:51:16 AM
filled with passion

Spinal Art (Poetry) - 8/15/2014 11:19:53 AM
I wonder why found this highly erotic? Because it's that good! Ron

Spinal Art (Poetry) - 8/15/2014 5:38:52 AM
The anatomy of a kiss...and then some. Another red hot lover on the loose!

Spinal Art (Poetry) - 8/15/2014 4:50:44 AM
another wonderful 'swooner'...leaving readers a little breathless. you have a definite talent for this Lonnie. nice one!

Scarlet Skies (Poetry) - 8/14/2014 4:17:05 PM
Lovely and expressive; thanks for sharing, Lonnie. Love and peace to you, Regis

Ruby Red (Poetry) - 7/31/2014 3:42:07 PM
what a wonderful expression of a young man's step into the complicated world of love/lust

Ruby Red (Poetry) - 7/29/2014 6:30:27 AM
passionate words

Ruby Red (Poetry) - 7/27/2014 12:52:14 PM
They sure do! It's not the shotgun that brings about marriage, but the lust for life. You really have a way of describing how awkward beginnings can quickly escalate under hormonal urges. Loved it! Brought back memories of kisses sweet and kisses wasted. Escalation never fulfilled an escalation wasted. It's a keeper! Ron

Ruby Red (Poetry) - 7/27/2014 10:44:29 AM
Sensual and sensational! I loved every molecule. I used to call it "spit theory." Incidentally, I just posted the same point of view from an elderly couple...

Ruby Red (Poetry) - 7/27/2014 4:02:57 AM
Oh yes, those quite innocent teenage years. I related to this poem in a wide range of emotions.

Ruby Red (Poetry) - 7/26/2014 5:42:29 PM
Raw, real, and I feel and live it all; thank you for sharing, Lonnie. Totally relate to what you have expressed via your verses. Love and peace to you, Regis

Scarlet Skies (Poetry) - 7/19/2014 4:21:43 PM
a treasure! Such a wonderful poem from a loving human heart ~ Blessings, Chris

Scarlet Skies (Poetry) - 7/18/2014 9:44:40 AM
another fine example of your mastery of romantic word weavings...could make a girl swoon...do girls still swoon? will re read and re read this one.

Scarlet Skies (Poetry) - 7/17/2014 3:59:45 PM
A great love poem that goes to the universe and beyond! BRAVO!

Scarlet Skies (Poetry) - 7/17/2014 8:24:25 AM
There are some really scorching and creative lines in this one. So much of it is pure ecstasy. You really know how to write 'em." Ron

Scarlet Skies (Poetry) - 7/16/2014 3:14:27 PM
Very beautiful write, Lonnie! Sandie

Man and Woman (Poetry) - 7/15/2014 7:24:11 AM
You are a master of sensual poetry! Ron

Man and Woman (Poetry) - 7/15/2014 3:34:09 AM
well done, as always your work inspires

Man and Woman (Poetry) - 7/14/2014 6:14:18 PM
Great imagery and feelings well-expressed! Sandie

Abiding (Poetry) - 7/7/2014 11:17:30 AM
My summery poem doesn't hold a candle to this love lyric about your sweet summertime love. Ron

Abiding (Poetry) - 7/7/2014 4:36:30 AM
I knew there was a reason beyond taste about why I like strawberries! Now they sizzle...

Abiding (Poetry) - 7/7/2014 2:05:55 AM
filled with passion, nicely done

Abiding (Poetry) - 7/6/2014 9:50:03 PM
Made me blush. :)

A Handerchief Surrenders (Poetry) - 7/4/2014 5:14:15 AM
as always, your work inspires

Hands (Poetry) - 7/4/2014 5:13:35 AM
well done

An Icicle Kiss-The Story (Poetry) - 7/4/2014 5:13:15 AM
poignant read

Satin Sheets and Pleatings (Poetry) - 7/4/2014 5:12:51 AM
enjoyed the read

A Roving Band of Lovers (Poetry) - 7/4/2014 5:12:26 AM
good one

Dry Tear Down (Poetry) - 7/4/2014 5:12:06 AM
well said

Feel like a Simile Sometimes. (Poetry) - 7/4/2014 5:11:39 AM
enjoyed reading your informative narrative I look forward to reading more of your work. m

Integrities Wisdom (Poetry) - 7/3/2014 4:52:11 PM
A paradise lost fable, so very skillfully created with insights and profound wisdom! Blessings and I hope you have a very Happy Fourth tomorrow :) Chris

Integrities Wisdom (Poetry) - 7/2/2014 4:54:17 PM
enjoyed reading your interesting narrative

Perfection's Past (Poetry) - 6/24/2014 3:05:52 PM
I agree with Sandie, we may never be perfect, live this life, give your best. When all is said and done that's what matters most of all. Kathy J Parenteau

Perfection's Past (Poetry) - 6/24/2014 11:37:18 AM
Profound ~ Love rises above, transcends...and yet we are so tempted, inside the walls of flawed human vision, to settle. Blessings, Chris

Perfection's Past (Poetry) - 6/24/2014 10:44:44 AM
Present perfect always becomes past perfect...doesn't it? Much wisdom in your jaundiced eye.

Perfection's Past (Poetry) - 6/24/2014 6:05:44 AM
Your poem is filled with truth and anxiety. But life has always been that way. No one in their right mind would want to go back and live in the past and suffer the anguish felt then. As for comparing ourselves to what others are doing: “I am prettier than most I am richer than most I am smarter than most I am more moral than most" Describes me perfectly! ;-) Ron

Perfection's Past (Poetry) - 6/23/2014 8:12:54 PM
enjoyed reading your interesting poem

Perfection's Past (Poetry) - 6/23/2014 4:19:59 PM
There is no such thing as being perfect, all one needs to do is to live life to the fullest everyday, treating each day as a gift from God. Tomorrow is not guaranteed, so just enjoy and not complaining about small matters. The past is the past and what we have done in the past can never be undone. We just have to accept the mistakes we have made in the past as lessons learned in life. Each phase of life presents a different person of ourselves. We just have to treat ourselves as the best person there is. Not necessary to compare with others. Just being our best selves is all we need to do. Sandie

Wallowing (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 4:03:50 PM
interesting read

The Dark Secrets of Politicians (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 4:03:18 PM
holds reader interest

Deep Waters (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 4:02:26 PM
thought provoking read

Love Play (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 4:01:54 PM
romantic read

Love Me True (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 4:01:05 PM
holds reader interest

Bad Boys and Sweet Girls (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 3:59:41 PM
thought provoking read

Neatly Aligned (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 3:59:06 PM
well said

Loves Quiver (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 3:58:31 PM
I like this

Yellow Hammock (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 3:58:08 PM
good one

The Weeping Earth (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 3:57:28 PM
well done

Hand To Hand, Hearts Unshaken (Poetry) - 6/8/2014 12:29:14 PM
Just beautiful and inspiring in the way of love! Blessings, always blessings, Chris

Hand To Hand, Hearts Unshaken (Poetry) - 6/7/2014 10:44:01 AM
oh m' goodness Lonnie this was a breath taking piece from the first tone you set right through to those last perfectly chosen lines. I salute you. what a great surprise as I take my first few baby steps back into the den...your fine write is such an encouragement in my getting back in the writing saddle....pat

Hand To Hand, Hearts Unshaken (Poetry) - 6/7/2014 8:06:18 AM
You start out with a silver tone seduction of monumental proportion and then bring it to fruition with a blending of souls into a life lasting relationship of great strength and beauty. Kudos! I know she loves this one. You will have to frame it and give it to her for your anniversary. Ron

Hand To Hand, Hearts Unshaken (Poetry) - 6/7/2014 3:37:37 AM
nice one!!

Hand To Hand, Hearts Unshaken (Poetry) - 6/6/2014 4:30:40 PM
Very lovely write, Lonnie! I enjoyed this. Sandie

Spring Laments (Poetry) - 6/3/2014 7:40:10 AM
so nice Lonnie...spring DOES weep doesn't it in some places. you've expressed this beautifully....pat

Spring Laments (Poetry) - 6/3/2014 4:45:19 AM
A very good summary of climate and hard times' impact on Nature. But it's a clash that Nature always wins.

Spring Laments (Poetry) - 6/2/2014 4:56:37 AM
Let us hope that California has better springs to come… But earthquakes are inevitable. My neighbor has lots of cats, but we have lots of mourning doves, nesting, because of my large trees and water we put out during the Texas drought. Thirty years ago, when this development was being built, we had many robins in the spring. That migration route has been disrupted and I have seen robin in many years. We have many flowers blooming already (heavily watered because of the drought) but I've seen very few bees and no butterflies so far… Only one hummingbird. Ron

Unreconciled and Unresolved-Tina's Story (Poetry) - 6/2/2014 3:23:07 AM
good one

Wrestling With Time-Robert's Memoir (Poetry) - 6/2/2014 3:22:29 AM
good one

Yesterdays Gone (Poetry) - 6/2/2014 3:21:56 AM
well said

Spring Laments (Poetry) - 6/2/2014 3:21:22 AM
enjoyed the read

Innocence Revisited (Poetry) - 5/26/2014 5:56:16 AM
I'm not sure about evil, but temptation alone gives me fits. This is a very profound assessment, Lonnie. My brain sorts slowly these days.

Innocence Revisited (Poetry) - 5/16/2014 9:15:16 AM
Yes, Ron you are correct. But many do and simply can't take the shock of and avoid it the rest of their lives.. It is so shocking to a child.

Innocence Revisited (Poetry) - 5/16/2014 9:10:56 AM
Very vivid and riveting. First revelation. I don't recall it ever happening to me. We live in a rough neighborhood with rough talking people. By the age of seven, I clearly knew what evil was and how to avoid it. Ron

The Torch and the Light (Poetry) - 5/14/2014 12:38:59 PM
Fascinating for the words & phrases; the format style; also for the story of a miracle; especially interesting for me, with my mechanical valve. but shouldn't you be the prince rather than the nymph? Connie

The Torch and the Light (Poetry) - 5/14/2014 7:31:05 AM
You are a poet's poet… in love with love, and it shows with beautiful work like this. The metaphors are outstanding and the story is miraculous. Ron

The Torch and the Light (Poetry) - 5/14/2014 3:11:37 AM
Beautifully penned. As always I love your phrasing

The Torch and the Light (Poetry) - 5/13/2014 10:00:42 PM
Beautifully written.

The Torch and the Light (Poetry) - 5/13/2014 8:30:23 PM
heart felt words in this well penned poem. beautiful.

The Torch and the Light (Poetry) - 5/13/2014 3:08:47 PM
Miracles of the heart is survived by the light of love. Love is the greatest thing a human can feel its healing effect. Sandie

Being Is (Poetry) - 5/13/2014 7:20:12 AM
A very upbeat poem. The champagne analogy is quite good. Immediately I was struck with how the Bard put it: "To be or not to be? That is the question." Ron

Being Is (Poetry) - 5/13/2014 1:47:45 AM
This is so beautifully-written!! The joy of "Being" is so powerful I can just feel it flowing through your words. Sandie

Being Is (Poetry) - 5/12/2014 6:48:20 PM
You cover a lot of ground here Corky. Much to think about. Patrick

Cancer Rising (Poetry) - 5/10/2014 10:46:23 AM
Cleverly concocted indeed, Lonnie. I appreciate the unique way that you have chosen to make your points. Love and peace to you, Regis

Cancer Rising (Poetry) - 4/17/2014 5:08:51 AM
Delightful play on words with an informational punch to take away. Kudos.

Cancer Rising (Poetry) - 4/16/2014 12:31:27 AM
There are many unrecognised ways of treating cancer, yet big moneyed Drug companies will not allow their investigations...iatrogenic illness (caused by the drugs that are supposed to be 'curing') kills many, many people world wide every day...this is such big business for these drug Barons...money and profit Rule ... It is appalling!! Well written piece on a subject that needs to be aired and more fully understood.... Most people 'trust'. Where their health is concerned....Big mistake ! Diana...

Cancer Rising (Poetry) - 4/15/2014 10:01:23 AM
I'm with Ed. I must commend you for your creativity on a very serious subject that most people like Sandie don't seem to know what's happening. When the Mind goes, so does everything else. Unfortunately, CC doesn't seem to have any mind, and in fact, defies it with backward reasoning that has always held civilization back. Ron

Cancer Rising (Poetry) - 4/15/2014 7:50:46 AM
Clearly this is an allegory about the cancerous effects of runaway capitalism. It might be better understood if it had to do with the cancerous effects of runaway greed. Very clever story.

Cancer Rising (Poetry) - 4/14/2014 9:29:17 PM
I don't understand most of this, but guess you've created this according to medical reports on how cancer is formed...This is just too complicated for my read. Sandie

'Good Poets and Bad Poets (Poetry) - 4/13/2014 11:52:43 PM
Bravo!! Very well penned and so true. Thats poetry form is called anaphora and usually one poet gets across writing a anaphora only once they've gained control over their poetry writing skills. Do check my poem : Gift Yourself too its an anaphora as well.

Yesterdays Gone (Poetry) - 4/1/2014 6:31:32 AM
poetry is where the soul sings... that is a powerful and beautiful statement of purpose while fusing time and immortality. Brilliant!

Yesterdays Gone (Poetry) - 3/31/2014 6:53:33 AM
It is more likely that you'll be remembered for poetry like this rather than becoming immortal any other way. Ron

Yesterdays Gone (Poetry) - 3/31/2014 4:22:22 AM
A wise and intriguing work Lonnie. I enjoy your poetry so much. It's some of the best I've read here or anywhere else.

Yesterdays Gone (Poetry) - 3/31/2014 2:49:35 AM
No one lives forever. I don't wish to live forever anyway. What fun would that be? In exchange for my longevity, I only wish whatever I have written in my lifetime will have its own longevity and be remembered by others down the history. Sandie

Past Grievings (Poetry) - 3/28/2014 5:51:53 AM
Excellent adult version of what so often reduces itself to soap opera cliche. Wonderful patient understanding amidst the heart ache and nurturing of a perpetual positive take on life. Well done.

Past Grievings (Poetry) - 3/26/2014 4:09:12 PM
3-26-2014 Theres Times You Just Don't Know How Well Off You Really Are,i.e. Now You Should Turn Walk Away Do Not Look Back!! If You Love(d)Someone Let It(Them) Go And It (They) Come Back It Was Meant To Be!! TRASK...

Past Grievings (Poetry) - 3/26/2014 10:38:18 AM
Life lessons are hard. Some never learn how to find real love because their intentions steer them away from it. I sure hope this didn't happen you. Ron

Past Grievings (Poetry) - 3/26/2014 5:49:19 AM
This hits the heart like a fist, Lonnie. So real and achingly beautiful.

Beauty Is (Poetry) - 3/26/2014 5:47:28 AM
Well thought out and penned Lonnie and all too true.

Past Grievings (Poetry) - 3/26/2014 4:32:53 AM
Lovely write, Lonnie... Anna

Past Grievings (Poetry) - 3/25/2014 6:11:57 PM
Sometimes it takes a lot for someone to see us for who we are. I'm glad that you are a supportive friend to her all along. Never change your good quality because you will be rewarded at the end for your kindness. Great poem! Sandie

Memories Availing (Poetry) - 3/25/2014 3:31:34 PM
What a beautiful and deep capture of relationship made manifest in life :) Lonnie I have so missed you! Blessings, Christine

Memories Past (Poetry) - 3/19/2014 8:06:50 PM
Selective memory has its merits Recalling all its ghostly parrots Tell despair's grasp to go away I choose to live my life today Patrick

Memories Availing (Poetry) - 3/5/2014 9:16:44 AM
A loving look at life. However I was taken back by the expression "fair loins flailing" because that is what I call "spasms." I have leg spasms quite often and they have nothing to do with wedded bliss, only a pinched spinal cord… Not pleasant at all. ;-) Ron

Memories Availing (Poetry) - 3/5/2014 5:08:15 AM
A fine and sweet night to remember. This is so precious. Sandie

Memories Availing (Poetry) - 3/4/2014 8:51:50 PM
You verses takes me to my subconscious mind, this I can feel but not express! it will take some time, Thanks for this. JK

Memories Availing (Poetry) - 3/4/2014 8:26:40 PM
...memories...yours...to keep and ...cherish... forever... Thank you Lonnie for sharing your meaningful poem.

My Pockets (Poetry) - 2/14/2014 8:10:41 AM
Very creative visualization. I can see you going through your pockets sorting out your memories. Ron

My Pockets (Poetry) - 2/13/2014 11:57:38 AM
That's a lot of terrain in a few pockets! I guess I'll be bumping into Anna in reading this again. Well done.

My Pockets (Poetry) - 2/12/2014 4:10:48 PM
Enjoyed every single word! In fact I'm going to read it a few more times...love it! Anna

Chocolate Box (Poetry) - 2/9/2014 10:32:44 AM
Thoroughly sensual. I never knew chocolate would take you to Holland before. ;-) Ron

Chocolate Box (Poetry) - 2/8/2014 9:25:53 PM
A Hot - Box of chocolates... Whew... Well done...

Chocolate Box (Poetry) - 2/8/2014 9:47:46 AM
Wow! I will never see a box of chocolates the same way again> Well done.

Beauty Is (Poetry) - 1/25/2014 11:50:27 AM
You have described the relentless journey very well. Poignant. On the other hand, some of the most beautiful people I know have the most open heart and are very content and self-confident which carries them well into old age. I'm thinking of people like Rita Mareno and many others, too numerous to mention. Ron

Beauty Is (Poetry) - 1/25/2014 5:54:06 AM
Beauty yearns for love but her countenance blocks it arrival... is a wonderful summary of this powerful poem! Well done.

The Taste of Bitter Sweet Failure (Poetry) - 1/22/2014 8:21:05 AM
This one is wonderful and insightful. It is very difficult for a male to write from the female perspective, but I believe you've done it quite well. I especially like the metaphor, "low hanging fruit." It's interesting, but I have a short story with two perspectives, "he" and "she," on a whole different subject in the works. Ron

The Taste of Bitter Sweet Failure (Poetry) - 1/21/2014 12:34:12 PM
And as two old maxim goes: what we resist persists; we create all our own reality, including our mistakes, and never move one until we learn the inherent lesson in errors.

Memories Past (Poetry) - 1/16/2014 2:54:11 PM
You remind me about how I am trying to focus on the present and not let the past interfere... ...I have not found it to be true that time heals all. Thank you for sharing, Lonnie. Love and peace, Regis

Memories Past (Poetry) - 1/13/2014 10:13:54 AM
As usual, your phrasing is awesome....nicely done, Lonnie! Anna

Memories Past (Poetry) - 1/13/2014 8:53:27 AM
Yes, time dulls the dagger blades of life. Your words are quite uplifting and true. Ron

Memories Past (Poetry) - 1/12/2014 3:33:49 PM
such a beautiful musing Lonnie...yes memory does lie and betray...painting over the bad parts. this was outstanding...have missed reading your wonderfully talented writes...maybe I'm back in the groove...life has a way of taking over sometimes, doesn't it

43 Love Poems For The Recently Cynical-Audio Poems In The Authors Own Voice (Poetry) - 12/28/2013 1:55:30 PM
I listened to some of them and found the sound a bit low, but your voice quite level and strong, unlike mine when I read poetry. I find it rather hard to comment on spoken poetry that goes by so quickly without having to run through it a few times to get the gist of what you are saying. Ron

744 Poems For A Stormy Night (Poetry) - 12/21/2013 5:08:27 AM
Lonnie I love your work, I'll be visiting your page. Happy Holidays My Friend.

744 Poems For A Stormy Night (Poetry) - 12/8/2013 7:39:39 PM
Thanks Regis. Love your writings.

744 Poems For A Stormy Night (Poetry) - 12/8/2013 7:03:15 PM
Thank you for sharing, Lonnie. Congratulations on your poems. Love and peace to you, Regis

Encounterings (Poetry) - 10/3/2013 11:37:47 AM
Makes me wonder how many people we may meet and never "Encounter". You are a masterful poet Lonnie.

Generations (Poetry) - 10/3/2013 11:35:30 AM
Deep poetry Lonnie, from the soul. That line esp. "Youth missed in our rear view mirrors" what an amazing line in an amazing poem.

Generations (Poetry) - 9/11/2013 7:33:57 AM
Much wisdom expressed in a very unique way. I have no regrets of my youth, for I squandered none of it in wasted pursuits. Ron

Generations (Poetry) - 9/11/2013 3:31:33 AM
"Youth Never Understands Old Wisdom"...brilliant!!!! This was another amazing write, Lonnie...your phrasing is captivating...really reaches inside... Anna

The Rose: Thorn and Soul (Poetry) - 8/30/2013 6:06:45 AM
you are a fragrant blossom Lonnie deep roots in Love Vickie

Come the Dark (Poetry) - 8/30/2013 6:05:04 AM
another beautiful vision an ascension of the soul gifts your muses are beautiful Empirical Gateways & Divine Union Vickie

Encounterings (Poetry) - 8/30/2013 6:03:14 AM
Lonnie this is a deeply gorgeous poem with an abundance of meaningful wisdom <3 May Your Love Flourish & Infinitely Spill Overflowing In All That Savors Your Spirit Vickie

Primordial (Poetry) - 8/26/2013 4:21:24 PM
Love is a many splendored thing...a hunger only known by those who have experienced it! I find the more you give it away, it returns to you.. I try to remember anything worth having is fought the hardest and hurts the most...including "LOVE" Hugs...dear Lonnie! Teresa

Dead, Dying and the Dreamer (Poetry) - 8/8/2013 8:06:47 AM
Thank you, very inspiring. would make a person who has given up, to get back up. To continue to work on making their dream become a reality.

Nether Time (Poetry) - 7/22/2013 4:21:21 AM
Oh my! This one is right up there with the last one...completely enchanting...and soooooo romantic! Loved your phrasing! Anna

Come the Dark (Poetry) - 7/22/2013 4:19:41 AM
OMG!!!! This is enchanting poetry....love, love, love it! Your phrasing is captivating! One of your best, Lonnie! Anna

Nether Time (Poetry) - 7/17/2013 7:28:33 AM
The poem reflects a great lover. Ron

Writerless (Poetry) - 7/14/2013 6:22:33 PM
Lonnie, Writing is like breathing to most poets. Its a passion with me. Excellent poetry. Many blessings, Linda+

Melding (Poetry) - 7/7/2013 6:58:33 PM
As I was reading this poem, I increasingly felt as if I... did not want to disturb their intimate moments. Effective. Axilea

Writerless (Poetry) - 7/5/2013 2:05:52 PM
Amen Lonnie just continue writing on Peace be with you William

Writerless (Poetry) - 7/2/2013 8:12:52 AM
Yes, writers must write and write they will, regardless of the consequences. Let's just hope they don't publish that crap… ;-) Just kidding, Ron

Writerless (Poetry) - 7/2/2013 5:22:16 AM
This is sooooo true! You sure nailed it, Lonnie...well done! Anna

Writerless (Poetry) - 7/2/2013 4:47:42 AM
Well done! God Bless...

The Odds (Poetry) - 6/30/2013 4:26:03 PM
A beautiful poem about profound transformation. We can so identify with the vulnerabilities and fears you write of, and the conquering them at the end is inspirational. Blessings, Christine

The Odds (Poetry) - 6/29/2013 4:20:44 PM
You are a wise and honest poet Lonnie. Beautifully penned as always.

The Odds (Poetry) - 6/27/2013 4:14:06 AM
Very nicely done, Lonnie...once again your phrasing is captivating... Anna

The Odds (Poetry) - 6/25/2013 10:37:13 AM
A wonderful reveal of the human capacity to overcome adversity and bad behavior and reach a higher plane of life. Fantastic. Ron

The Odds (Poetry) - 6/25/2013 7:35:10 AM
this is so lovely a reflection that I can also relate too it is so beautiful to be able to grow & expand from yesterdays self loving more & more with a generous heart & too forgiving...you say it all Lonnie <3 Love Unstoppable...everyday reaching & giving Vickie

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.