AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Pamela Ackerson, iKathryn Perry, iJeff Mason, iKathryn Carrington, iJill Eisnaugle, iGerald Grantham, iBelle Ami, i
 
Home > Niki Collins-Queen
 

Recent Reviews for Niki Collins-Queen


Earth, the Forgotten Temple, A Spirit Quest (Book) - 10/20/2014 10:19:53 AM
Make sure to get your sunscreen, bug repellent and personal floatation device before reading Niki Collins-Queen’s book titled Earth, the Forgotten Temple: A Spirit Quest in the Wilderness because you will feel like you are right with her in the wilderness. Niki paints such a realistic picture with her words; there were times my heart beat faster as I read some of the challenges she faced. This book has given me a newfound vigor for the outdoors, as I hope to embark on my own spirit quest.

Earth, the Forgotten Temple, A Spirit Quest (Book) - 3/22/2010 5:59:54 AM
well i bookmarked this one, and it certainly is inexpensive enough at Amazon. Ever since in the early 90's I read Joshua Slocum's Sailing Alone Around the World and the 'Maiden Voyage' an account of the 17yrs old in the 80's who sailed the world alone, I've been hooked. But like you I'm not a sailor, just an ocean lover. It is aweful what we are doing to our oceans but maybe this writing will still inspire me to action at this late age of post 55! The price I've paid for composing music! And this sounds like it has a spiritual background and a message of respect to treat our "Temple Earth" more lightly... I'll check it out in April. Take care, michael guy

The Magic of Maine (Short Story) - 9/8/2014 4:21:28 AM
Beautifully descriptive and wonderful imagery. Makes me want to visit Maine. I never have. Ron

Running from a rat snake (Short Story) - 11/25/2013 7:10:54 AM
What an interesting natural adventure! I didn't know that mice carried their babies like that. When I was a kid we used to hunt mice, but I never saw any mouse babies. Perhaps because we hunted in the fall just before winter. One time while looking for fox snakes under stumps and rocks, we pulled back a stump and found a 4 foot fox snake coiled up underneath with a mouse running back and forth over the top. We knew that mice were the fox snake's primary food, so it seems strange that they would be bedfellows. The only time a snake scared me was when I was fishing in my girlfriend's father's pond near Paducah Kentucky on a hot August afternoon. I was fishing for bass with worms and having some success, when a 6 foot water snake decided that I was quite interesting and came swimming toward me, its head 1 foot out of the water. When it kept on coming I put down my rod and left the dock until the snake swam off in another direction. Once I got back on the dock, the snake came toward me again. I can see why the biblical references to snakes as being evil. Ron

Running from a rat snake (Short Story) - 11/25/2013 3:37:00 AM
this is as it should be, fine story budd

Coping with cervical cancer (Short Story) - 11/23/2013 6:25:25 AM
a fine write budd

Kisses sweeter than wine (Short Story) - 8/24/2013 7:28:59 AM
This story appears to be true rather than fiction. I don't know the source of Bob's ailments. Many people seem to be getting the same ailments as they age, largely because of diet, because Bob seems to be quite active. I've known people to become quite outgoing while drinking. I've been accused of that. But then, I'm outgoing whether drinking or not. I was really agitated when I was on morphine after surgery. So glad to get off that stuff. You don't write anything about Bob's life prior… Is he a recovering alcoholic? Ron

Kisses sweeter than wine (Short Story) - 8/22/2013 5:00:05 AM
very well done and sadly an often too true occurence budd

Spirit Dog (Short Story) - 10/28/2011 7:14:46 PM
I do remember Chance / Spirit from years gone by... I met him at his barn with his original owners Doug & Nancy and little Bonnie,Chance's companion and main barker of the two dogs. My dog had gotten loose and traveled to Chnace's barn to check out the Alpaca's, that's where Chance and my dog had gotten into a BIG fight. Doug was about to shoot my dog, but friends of ours were ther and siad ,we know who owns that dog,don't shoot him... And so I became friends to Chance's owners and him. He loved snacks when I would visit on my ATV. And one new years eve, fireworks were shot off and Chance didn't like fireworks, so he ran away, almost never to be found... Recently a person who talked with my wife explained the story of finding Chance and changing his name to Spirit. The pictures he gave my wife were indeed Chance... I wonder if Chance knows of his original owner Nancy had crossed over a year ago while delivering the last baby alpaca of the season, perhaps he does, dogs do have a process of knowing things like that. But I praise the owner of Chance now,for he has a real Spirit dog who will watch and protect...

Spirit Dog (Short Story) - 3/22/2011 3:09:17 PM
i am a believer that animals/dogs know more because they care more.

Barbara Tyrrell: A Heroic Life (Short Story) - 3/22/2011 3:04:56 PM
enjoyed "hearing" the voice of your grandmother-if you like travel drama, try my story...without provocation. i will now go into your link. happy writing...

My Husband's Surgery:A Love Story (Short Story) - 3/4/2011 2:38:10 PM
Niki Collins-Queen gives a tender and moving account of her fears that touch the hearts of readers. Yes, Angels are very real in the lives of many of us ~ both seen and unseen and I can relate to this phenomenon. How urgent Niki's message: Facing the fragility of our lives has made me more appreciative of life's daily wealth and the moments we have together. Truly a work of love for everyone and, especially, to those of us reeling from word of friends and relatives in hospitals. Charlotte M. Liebel

Barbara Tyrrell: A Heroic Life (Short Story) - 1/28/2011 10:58:57 AM
Thank you Niki, I enjoyed reading this - liked the drawing and all the faces! Be well and happy, Linden

The Upper Ocmulgee: Middle Georgia's White-water Treasure (Short Story) - 6/29/2010 6:54:46 AM
Good for you! What a wonderful adventure! I can see the beautiful scenery through your words. Donna

A Fearless Buck (Short Story) - 11/19/2009 3:38:31 PM
Good story and piccy, Niki; well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

A Journey from Pain to Peace (Short Story) - 10/7/2009 7:32:42 AM
Heartfelt story; you are in my prayers/thoughts, Niki! Well penned; brava! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :(

One Smart Chicken (Short Story) - 4/21/2009 1:09:38 PM
Sweet story of rememberance; Chickie lives on in memory! Sorry for your loss!

In Memory of Chickie 2003-2009 (Short Story) - 4/21/2009 1:08:44 PM
Sorry for your loss; even chickens need to be remembered. Chickie sounds like she was a wonderful companion!

The Power and Pain of Projection (Short Story) - 4/17/2009 4:22:17 PM
Bob, I'm happy you saw the error of your ways. thanks for sharing that!

Mother Nature was a guest of honor at our wedding (Short Story) - 4/17/2009 4:18:31 PM
I love this kind of story...sounds wonderful I only wish I had been one of your friends...just so I could attend!

Canoeing the Everglades 100-mile Wilderness Waterway in Florida (Short Story) - 12/12/2008 2:12:12 PM
Wow, what an adventure! I'm such a wimp. I've been canoeing off and on for fifty-five years but on calm rivers or modest-sized lakes, only, and even then never with so much as a brisk wind blowing. Now I know why! If you take a moment to visit my AD site and review my poem "Be Still and Hear My Voice" and its accompanying picture, you'll soon have the measure of my sane and controlled quest to experience Nature and commune with God. Thank you for sharing with us your exciting and demanding contact with wilderness and total insanity. I loved it. But don't count on me to inquire of you, "Where can I find some good paddling?" I ain't gonna listen to ya. No way! Richard

In Memory of Kitty Cat 2000-2008 (Short Story) - 7/21/2008 2:28:31 AM
Few drops of tears and a fervent prayer on the passing of a beautiful and devoted creature. Like my Blackie, I believe she's now living a blissful existence in another realm. Be glad Niki. Sincerely, Regino

In Memory of Kitty Cat 2000-2008 (Short Story) - 7/20/2008 2:51:12 PM
I am sorry for your loss; know you are in my prayers during this incredibly sad time in your life! Very well penned! I know how it feels to lose a beloved kitty cat; it hurts, it really hurts! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :( >tears! <

In Memory of Kitty Cat 2000-2008 (Short Story) - 7/20/2008 12:46:05 PM
Niki, I am sorry about the death of your cat. We have one, Roxy and she is getting older. I know what it means to lose one thought because Roxy's son Merlin died a couple of years ago and we still think of him. One thing that I've learned from animals is that their love is unconditional, unlike humans. Roxy always greets us at the door and if we have been away for a few days, she gets excited when we return. I am glad your wrote this. aubrey

A Moose Encounter in Wyoming’s Grand Teton Mountains (Short Story) - 6/25/2008 2:57:36 AM
Seeing that moose must have been breathtaking! As if the Grand Tetons aren't breathtaking enough! The moose only adds to the grandeur of the landscape. Excellent write; brava! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Spirit Dog (Short Story) - 2/24/2008 12:47:05 AM
Excellent story; well penned! :)

I have walked this earth before (Short Story) - 12/5/2007 12:41:19 PM
Our paths are not always clear. Sometimes it takes a "bolt of lightening" to show us what we already know - and remember. You have demonstrated this beautifully here!

An Alter to the World (Article) - 9/1/2014 9:25:11 AM
What a wonderful review. I haven't read the book, but will check it out.

Jesus and the Gnostic Gospels  (Article) - 4/5/2013 11:32:15 AM
Usually if a piece is more 3-4 paragraphs I wouldn't read it to the end, but I've read this one; and this is my opinion, we best live and do what's right, and disregard all Evil just to be on the safe side. Blessings to you , Nikki!

Rapid Trauma Resolution: The Connelly Method (Article) - 2/23/2013 4:08:25 AM
This is an excellent article with a nice mixture of description and interest.

Significant Research About Antarctica (Article) - 12/20/2012 6:33:47 PM
You May Do More Research Theres Over 40 Tons Space Junk, Fuel Capsules,Rockets,Satellites, That Orbit Evil Planet Earth-- Junk Comes Back Through Atmosphere Does Not Burn Up --It Becomes Space Atomized Dust You We Breathe Every Minute Day! Causes Of Cancer,Breathing Disorders, Mental Health Problems,Phenomenal Other problems... It Also F--ks Up Weather Blocks Out Suns Rays As Air, Climate Changes ! EPA Big Brother As Al Gore Suck Big Time... Global warming Its Greatest Money Making TAXE$ Scam Since Beginning Of Time... Man Is Not (God)... TRASK...

Who really assassinated President John F. Kennedy? (Article) - 7/16/2012 10:28:36 AM
Thanks for the article Niki. Theories about Kennedy's assassination have kept our interest after all these years precisely because of how perfectly the crime was executed. Evidence points in the direction of a thick blanket of fog. This was certainly a pivitol event in American history, one many of us remember personally. It would be interesting to read Mettler's account. I was also facinated by a fact brought out recently by the biographer Robert Caro who has written extensively on LBJ that blows even more fog over Dallas: LBJ when running in the primary against Kennedy, through a private detective had been made aware of Kennedy's chronic ailments; this may be the reason why he took the office of VP (a surprise from a power monger who was the most powerful senator in America). He was stepping down in a way, but only one step from the most powerful job that he craved. Perhaps Kennedy's ability to handle his illness caused LBJ to be impatient. LBJ also launched wholeheartedly the reforms Kennedy wanted upon his death - reforms he himself had no feeling for before his death. These reforms, of course, made him a historical figure. He had motive...just like the Mafia, Castro, and the CIA.

The art of writing well (Article) - 2/24/2012 9:27:59 PM
Writer(s),i.e It Is Innate Born To Write The Truth... Great Writers Are Not Made They Are Born... TRASK...

Forty-seven reasons to withdraw the U.S. troops in Iraq (Article) - 5/21/2010 11:18:31 PM
The situation in Iraq is very delicate at this time and it is hard to say what America should do. On one hand we would love to say that pulling out and bringing our home our brothers and sisters in Iraq yet on the other hand we would like to be responsible now, even if we haven’t been in the past. Coming into the war we may have not been correct and completely justified according to just war theory. Our reasons for going to war clearly were not what we thought they were prior to the invasion. I also agree that America likely did not have completely right intentions in going, as we may have been more motivated by emotions then for a true care for the Iraqi citizen. Americans were under the impression that Iraq had weapons of mass destruction that could attack us with ease, and that Iraq’s government was aiding al-Qaeda. Once the fact that neither of these ideas about Iraq were true our leaders still decided to entire Iraq believing that they still had a right to do so. We can look back now and know that we may not have been completely justified in entering Iraq. I also completely understand that we did not follow the second tenet of just war theory and strive to be just and have just conduct during the war. It was apparent throughout the conflict that we were not able to keep all of the actions of war away from non-combatants. Many of the things that Americans were a part of during the conflict was horrible in nature and I will not argue that. A mere mention of Abu Gharib and we are reminded of how quickly we can turn from a force that is helping people and being the good guys, into looking an awful lot like the bad guys. We have committed crimes against the people of Iraq and have failed to help many of the people that we have swore to support and defend by going over there in the first place. It is hard to swallow such statements, especially knowing that people who we love have gone over and participated in the fight. Some of which have even been wounded and even died for the cause. It is with this in mind that I urge you to not just let the fact that we have made errors in the past sway you to advocate for rash decisions in Iraq. As our leadership makes important decisions in regards to what will be going on in Iraq in the near future we must let them know that although we have messed up in the past prior to entering the war and even during the conflict we must not pull out prematurely and leave Iraq in an even worse situation then they are in now. We should be looking toward ways to try and make up for the errors that we have committed in the past. If there is any way that we can support Iraq and bring them back into a state that they were in prior to our invasion then we would likely be able to leave the war in a more just manner. No doubt we have already begun to restore Iraq and have helped to bring stability to their economy, school systems, and even form of government. We ridded the country of an evil dictator and have brought them democracy and the American way of life. We have allowed women rights that they have not seen in the past and have allowed the people of Iraq to live lives that would have been impossible under Saddam’s dictatorship. We must however finish what we have begun in the country and try to make up for the errors that we have committed in Iraq. Let us band together and inform our leaders that no matter how much we would love to have our family and friends home and back with us, that we would much rather give back to the people of Iraq what we have taken from them without just cause. Let us not look at the quickest way to exit the country and make a situation that is already bad, just a little bit worse. We must urge everyone we know to support our troops as they try to do the right thing and restore Iraq and build it back up to an even greater status then it was when we first invaded the country in two thousand three. Lets decide that no matter how hard it may be for us to have people that we love in other countries that we would rather leave the war in a just and admirable manner then we have conducted ourselves in, in the past. We should look at the newly added third tenet of the just war theory and know that we do need to exit the country, as our goals that we were trying to accomplish in the country (stop al-Qaeda, and remove weapons of mass destruction) have become impossible to accomplish as neither of them is actually a problem in the region. We should though however remember that in every action we take now we must remain just and correct as we are still occupying their country. We should continue to aid the Iraqi people in any and everyway possible and support them until they are completely stable and able to take complete care of themselves. Once this is clearly the case for the people of Iraq then we can bring our men and women home, and at least end this war in a just manner.

Yellowstone: America’s Restless Supervolcano (Article) - 3/22/2010 5:48:26 AM
Enjoying learning the facts I didn't know. Awesome! But we only have the beneficial and wonderful effects as a product of these cataclysmic processes. And no one can say when, it is the price we pay for nature's good products... inspring writing, take care, Michael

Why America’s Oil Prices Are High (Article) - 8/24/2008 3:10:38 AM
Well researched, insightful and to the point. I couldn't agree with you more!

Why America’s Oil Prices Are High (Article) - 8/23/2008 7:50:17 AM
This is one the best articles I've read on this topic! ~Joseph

Forty-seven reasons to withdraw the U.S. troops in Iraq (Article) - 4/13/2008 9:30:40 AM
amen, Amen, AMEN!!! You have presented us with facts. Please keep writing so the ignorant can be educated. Love & Light always and in all ways, Joseph*

A Parable For a Gentler Universe (Article) - 11/17/2007 2:33:53 AM
Thank you for sharing this beautiful story. I feel blessed by having read it. Cherry

Meeting the Mice  (Article) - 11/17/2007 2:27:57 AM
I LOVED this article and welcomed the warm feelings I received while enjoying it. I have been setting "humane" traps for a family of possums living in my own basement. I have caught 2 young possums and 1 large one and released them near the river hoping they may reunite and have more adventures in their natural environment (although many friends have informed me they can find their way home over many miles!!)

The Global Warming Controversy (Article) - 9/19/2007 5:34:07 PM
Global (Squirming ) Warming Is US.GOV Tax $$ Money Makering Farce... Melting Point: Over 2 Million USA Children Are Enslaved,Disappear Each Year Never Even Found Dead --They Are Raped,Choked Sodomized To Death By Child Molesters Having Sick Sex... Carbon Club: F B I Opens Up Web Site To Catch Bank Robbers... DATELINE NBC TV: Chris Hansen Opens Up Houses Across Country Catches Dozens Pervert Child Molesters... Credit For The Write... TRASK

Twenty-four more reasons to withdraw the U.S. troops in Iraq (Article) - 8/31/2007 4:02:32 PM
E MAIL IT TOO: info(at)rnc.org Attention: El Presidente Bush TRASK

Twenty-four more reasons to withdraw the U.S. troops in Iraq (Article) - 8/30/2007 4:27:22 PM
I believe that Bushes own party will force a pull out of all of the US troops sooner than later. They can not go to the country in 08 if this thing is still going on. They will be wiped out. However if there is another major incident in the US all bets are off. Unfortunately the 'win the war dialogue' has been coined. It never has been a war. It was an adventure to topple Saddam, a good thing one might add, although there are devious side issues to that. All that should have been said after that was, 'we will try to help you democratise but we can only go so far, the rest is up to you' The 'so far' period has long been exhausted. Win the war rhetoric is so negative as if they could possibly loose it but to all intents and purposes they have lost other things big time now...vast amounts of money...young soldiers lives...prestige and just plain believe ability. That mission has been accomplished.

The Bible's conflicting moral guidelines (Article) - 5/6/2007 1:17:11 PM
Thank you Niki for posting this well-researched article. Reading parts of the Bible and assuming they are true, I find it really difficult to resolve that the God before Jesus is a loving God. Sincerely, Regino

Five Religions that Changed My Life (Article) - 5/3/2007 7:25:31 AM
Informative and refreshing article. I wasn't aware of the many similarities in Hindu and Buddhist philosophy. One Perfect Love... all we need.

Dreams: Our Children’s "Inner Theater" (Article) - 2/10/2007 8:02:27 PM
Good article! I think we can all learn athing or two from this mysterious playground... :)

Monroe County Georgia’s Barriers to Enforcing the Clean Water Act (Article) - 11/21/2006 9:15:45 AM
Our tap water is perfect, as far as I can see or taste, but the name of the water company is Northtown M.U.D. Is our City Government perhaps guilty of slander?

The Gift of Prophecy (Article) - 10/10/2006 2:46:32 PM
So What Did It All Really Prove? Etal: I'd Be Concerned With My (Your) Own Future,i.e. Your Children Our Children... TRASK

God’s Forest: Muir Woods (Article) - 8/21/2006 8:40:28 PM
Niki, Muir Woods is a wonderful experience. I hike the trails in that area often. Glad you had a terrific time. Cynthia

God’s Forest: Muir Woods (Article) - 8/21/2006 7:09:47 PM
What an amazing experience. In Texas, the neighborhood I lived in had thousand year old trees, witnesses to history. Good article. Elizabeth

An Alaska Adventure (Article) - 8/15/2006 8:44:47 AM
Niki!!!!!!!!!! A girl after me own heart...I echo my twin, Karen Vidra... I WANNA GO TO ALASKA........ (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. Most intriguing, beautiful write; thank you!

An Alaska Adventure (Article) - 8/15/2006 8:40:45 AM
I wanna go to Alaska......

High Heel Shoes (Poetry) - 1/18/2011 8:40:06 PM
But oh those shoes they make our legs look so good... Much peace, love and light, 'Amber

Anger (Poetry) - 6/26/2010 6:39:00 PM
very good advice...ty

Surrendering (Poetry) - 6/21/2010 3:30:39 AM
Fine sentiments, well expressed

Surrendering (Poetry) - 6/20/2010 7:50:09 PM
Beautiful and wise words to live by.

World Weavers (Poetry) - 6/23/2009 8:29:47 PM
Fascinating analogy and very observant... Be always safe, Karen

World Weavers (Poetry) - 6/23/2009 12:30:08 PM
Master weavers, they are, and survivors. My Dad showed me the difference between "good" spiders and "bad"ones. I still won't kill a "Daddy Long-legs" to this day. There are miracles all around and you have shared one, Niki. Beautiful and intimate write... Lin

Anger (Poetry) - 12/12/2008 1:45:15 PM
I don't understand. This offering of wisdom and insight has been posted here for 3 1/2 years, yet no one has seen fit to leave even one review or comment? What's the matter with my fellow writers/readers? If they want a comment or review of their material from us, they better do their part. This neglect makes me mad as hell! One, 2, 3, 4, 5... Okay. I'm under control, now. From one who has been married for 57 years and helped raise four children, let me express how especially important one word is: "Forgive." Solid, straight-forward advice, Niki. Thank you for sharing your knowledge and experience. Richard

The Parent's Gift (Poetry) - 12/11/2008 1:51:09 PM
Life is a journey of experiences which offer lessons to learn. Sadly, sometimes we learn and sometimes we don't. But I believe there is no greater gift to offer our children than to let them understand that their parents love one another. The last stanza of "The Parents' Gift" shares a powerful insight. Thank you for sharing this quality write with us, Niki. Richard

The Parent's Gift (Poetry) - 6/24/2004 6:53:45 PM
delightful poem!

The Parent's Gift (Poetry) - 6/23/2004 9:26:27 PM
Sad and beautiful, lovely combination.

The Parent's Gift (Poetry) - 6/21/2004 5:34:23 PM
Count Your Blessings ! TRASK

The Parent's Gift (Poetry) - 6/20/2004 4:44:13 PM
beautiful poem of tribute.

A Fishpond Reflection (Poetry) - 6/20/2004 8:55:41 AM
A marvelous reflection - and poem, Nikki.

The Web (Poetry) - 6/13/2004 4:26:01 AM
interesting slant ...

We are of the Earth (Poetry) - 5/22/2004 8:07:13 AM
yes..I agree....wonderful write!!!

We are of the Earth (Poetry) - 5/21/2004 9:49:12 AM
Yes, we are connected. It's a shame more don't feel the same. Enjoyed this, Niki.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.