AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
Happy 4th of July!
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: ChrisTopher Stone, iSonny Hudson, iPhilip Hughes-Luing, iCatriona King, iGina McKnight, iEileen Granfors, iMr. Ed, i
 
Home > Leonie J Campbell
 

Recent Reviews for Leonie J Campbell


Our Children's Sorrow (Book) - 12/15/2006 1:29:17 AM
The children adopted by American families are generally not mistreated. I see them in church with their mothers and are loved. Perhaps these children are from China,I do not know. I see African children with white people too. These things are going on in nearly every country. I think our president is working hard to prevent this from happening here. This is from a force of evil. Prayer and work must go hand in hand. Not just from a handout. It takes more than that to straighten out a nation. Marguerite

Our Children's Sorrow (Book) - 5/12/2005 4:33:38 AM
This is truly sad but, worth while news you have given. Thanks a lot. Keep writing.

Our Children's Sorrow (Book) - 5/11/2005 2:53:41 PM
Sounds like a very good read. R

The Emerald Buddha (Book) - 4/27/2003 1:26:20 PM
sounds an exciting work

Angels of Saigon (Book) - 3/11/2002 12:05:41 AM
I really enjoy reading Angels of Saigon. If you can say that you enjoyed a book with such a terribly, sad story. But the truth is not always pleasant to read.let's say it was an eye opener-to what is happening in Vietnam.So I found it very interesting and informative. Bette Prentice.

The Baby Merchants (Book) - 2/18/2002 12:29:33 AM
The Baby Merchants by Leonie Campbell American Book Classics-2001 1930586337-e-book Fiction-Vietnamese Reviewed by Jen Oliver, MyShelf.com Buy a copy This is a touching story about the adoption and orphanages of Vietnamese children. This book contains the hardship of American women who try to help Vietnamese orphanages and villages and try to help stop the selling of children on the Black Market. It shows the importance that Vietnam has on male children and the country's political issues, i.e. the importance of money. It shows how poorly the children are kept in the orphanages and what adoptive parents have to go through in order to adopt children. Ms. Campbell does a tremendous job in balancing the issues of Vietnam. She creates emotion for the reader through the experiences of the American women in the orphanages. The book is well written and is appreciated by the reader. The reader will not be confused by the politics of Vietnam. The plotline is well put together and moves throughout the story. The character development is good. If you enjoy reading about Vietnam or international adoptions, pick up a copy of this book. It shows what could possibly happen over in Vietnam and what could happen on the Black Market with Vietnamese children.

The Baby Merchants (Book) - 1/27/2002 12:37:21 AM
Excellent book! Couldn't put the book down. The story drew me through Thi Kim's tortuous life and wonderful loves.Wonderful Story of love and hope for the future. December 2001.

Angels of Saigon (Book) - 1/27/2002 12:26:46 AM
I'm not much of a reader-don't have time. I loved this book! it was sad and exciting and led you through a life of pain and hope. Jacqui Ingram December 2001.

The Baby Merchants (Book) - 11/13/2001 5:15:22 PM
wonderful

The Baby Merchants (Book) - 10/12/2001 7:43:27 AM
Very powerful and compelling! Victoria Taylor Murray 'Thief Of Hearts' 'Forbidden'

Angels of Saigon (Book) - 10/12/2001 7:39:59 AM
Well thoughtout and executed--WONDERFULLY written! Can't wait to read the entire story... Victoria Taylor Murray 'Thief Of Hearts' 'Forbidden'

Angels of Saigon (Book) - 9/10/2001 11:15:36 PM
Well I really enjoyed it, as it brought that era right into my living room. I felt that I was experiencing the events as they unfolded. It was easy to read and kept me captured-wanting to know more. Oh, what a sheltered life we live. Fraser Bone. 9th September, 2001.

We are the children of the Anzacs.... (Short Story) - 10/17/2008 4:34:21 PM
These words are from your heart Leonie. I lived in an outer eastern suburb of Melbourne for 8 months, and was there for ANZAC Day. There are no nobler causes than to stand fast against all wars, because all wars do is desolate the country and kill the people. Why? What is the reason that we as a free nation (I'm in the states), and other free nations have to inflict injury and destruction on others? I don't have an answer, but I know that wars are unnecessary, because not only do they destroy everything and everyone in its path, but it also destroys morale. I saw a movie while I was in Australia about the ANZACS fighting the Turks. What I saw in that movie turned my stomach. While Australians maybe didn't know any better the English commanders did. You do not stand up and charge an enemy that is lying in wait for you, and you know they are there. The slaughter I saw in the movie of Anzac soldiers was enough to make my stomach turn very sour. So I agree with Regis, that after all of these years of warfare we are no better off than we were. I guess as long as there are people in the world who feel they can dominate someone else, we will always have wars. If you ever get the chance to see it, watch the 1951 movie The Day The Earth Stood Still. This is my all time favorite sci-fi movie, because it not only has decent acting, but it also has a moral. Thank you for sharing this reminder that we must end all wars. May the Lord Jesus bless you, and those whom you love, and who love you, and be with you always, and at your side constantly. With much love in my heart, joy to the world, peace on earth, & ((((((((((MANY WONDERFUL SISTERLY HUGGGGSSSS)))))))))), your little sister, Barbie

Uzbek Wedding (Short Story) - 6/28/2007 3:58:41 AM
You brought this area to life in this piece, Leonie. Thank you for sharing. May the Lord Jesus bless you, and those whom you love, and be with you always, and at your side constantly. With much love in my heart, joy to the world, peace on earth, & ((((((((((MANY WONDERFUL SISTERLY HUGGGGSSSS)))))))))), your Den sister, Barbie

Warm Toast and Tea (Short Story) - 7/31/2005 6:46:27 AM
World over, women suffer in the same manner and learn to cope--in the same manner. Art is frequently a medium of healing, and so I thought as I read, you've found a good way in guiding Janie towards a new life.

Shaolin...sailing the Coral Sea (Short Story) - 6/6/2005 7:44:40 PM
Thnx Leonie for sharing this educational jaunt to the Great Barrier Reef, a place I have only read about in National Geographic. As it is for Regis, this is a very educational piece for me too. I am looking forward to reading more of your stories, as you do write them so well and so vivid. May the Lord Jesus bless you, and those whom you love, and be with you always, and at your side constantly. With much love in my heart, stubborn to a fault, joy to the world, peace on earth & ((((HUGGGSSS)))), Barbie "If I have to be this girl in me, Then I may as well be."

We are the children of the Anzacs.... (Short Story) - 3/27/2005 11:43:30 AM
It is a sad commentary on our race that, after all of the years, we are no better off in getting rid of warfare. Thank you for this story, Leonie. Love and peace to you. Regis

Shaolin...sailing the Coral Sea (Short Story) - 3/27/2005 11:41:23 AM
This is an educational experience for me, Leonie. Thank you. Love and peace to you. Regis

Dancing elephants of Chang Mai (Short Story) - 7/19/2004 8:33:14 PM
Sounds like a colorful introduction to the place. I plan to visit Northern Thailand as soon as I got some leave left. Thanks for your article. Franz

The old man and his memories (Short Story) - 5/2/2004 3:35:46 PM
This was very good, I enjoyed will read more.

We are the children of the Anzacs.... (Short Story) - 4/26/2004 1:57:51 PM
very well done story, leonie! enjoyed; thanks for sharing! (((HUGS))) and love, your texas friend, karen lynn. :D

We are the children of the Anzacs.... (Short Story) - 4/26/2004 9:26:23 AM
Beautiful, mindful story. Warfare is and will always be controversial, as it contains so many elements conflicting with any type of moral, legal and religious consciousness. I believe a country is as much protected by its cultural strength then through 'defense.' Franz

Celebration of Education (Short Story) - 1/26/2004 9:42:15 PM
This story says a lot about the heart of the author. Thanks for sharing God Bless You and Your Loved Ones Officer William Heffner

Dancing elephants of Chang Mai (Short Story) - 10/21/2003 6:16:21 PM
Elephants are wonderful creatures - my husband and I spend a great deal of time in the bush here in Africa and still think out of all the wild animals on this continent, elephants are the best :0)

Dancing elephants of Chang Mai (Short Story) - 9/27/2003 1:50:07 PM
Quite an adventure, I envy you meeting the elephants, I have always loved them and had a strange experience with four circus elephants here in the UK back in the 60's. I wrote a poem about that called 'Circus Elephants' (very original huh!) Did you by chance get to the elephant hospital where they treated Maloti? The elephant who stepped on a landmine, they had to amputate her left front foot. Jackie <> <

Dreamtime in Vientiane, Laos (Short Story) - 8/19/2003 8:32:48 AM
Well done. Enjoyed the reading.

Dreamtime in Vientiane, Laos (Short Story) - 8/18/2003 6:44:36 PM
Nice work, Leonie. ... another reminder of the amenities and support, that we all take for granted, in Oz and other western societies. have a nice day yogi

Uzbek Wedding (Short Story) - 8/19/2002 2:01:58 PM
interesting read. superb!

Uzbek Wedding (Short Story) - 8/19/2002 7:11:13 AM
Wonderful insight to a new culture - brilliant work.

The Scarlet Poppies of Kashkadarya (Short Story) - 8/17/2002 3:51:43 PM
enjoyed the read

The old man and his memories (Short Story) - 3/18/2002 1:28:03 AM
The cultural divide shrinks with good writing. You managed to take me to the heart of the Maori, and allowed me to walk amoungst them as a friend; without leaving my house. Now, THAT's good writing. Well done. Look forward to buying your book and living another culture through your very honest and warm eyes.

Kiwi's quest for the truth (Short Story) - 10/12/2001 7:56:19 AM
Very nicely written! Victoria Taylor Murray 'Thief Of Hearts' 'Forbidden'

A day in Hanoi (Short Story) - 6/6/2001 1:22:03 PM
look forward to reading more of your work m j hollinghsead, please take a peek at my short stories as well. ...........;0)

Warm Toast and Tea (Short Story) - 6/4/2001 6:56:12 PM
........... ;0) enjoyed your story m j hollingshead (review for ScribesWorld, BookDragon, TerryFic, others)

Timeless Sapa (Short Story) - 6/4/2001 6:54:59 PM
........... ;0) well done m j hollingshead (review for ScribesWorld, BookDragon, TerryFic, others)

The old man and his memories (Short Story) - 6/4/2001 6:53:46 PM
........... ;0) great read m j hollingshead (review for ScribesWorld, BookDragon, TerryFic, others)

Collection of Short Articles- Leonie Campbell (Article) - 1/25/2002 10:43:05 PM
These novels sound great. It's difficult to imagine the hardship and tragedy these women endured. I can't wait to read one of Campbell's novels.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.