AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Richard Orey, iM. Pritchard, iValerie publisher@nightengalepress.com, iDr. Ulla Sebastian, iIan Irvine (Hobson), iBonnie Milani, iMargaret Hardisty, i
 
Home > John Michael Domino
 

Recent Reviews for John Michael Domino


Reflections From The Great Depression and WWII (Great gift for all ages) (Book) - 3/10/2014 5:20:31 PM
These are memories one can never forget no matter how long we live

Reflections From The Great Depression and WWII (Great gift for all ages) (Book) - 11/9/2013 9:54:01 PM
Sounds great !! Neerja

Prayer Poems For My Love (Book) - 6/10/2013 11:49:56 AM
I do not think I would be able to read it my friend, unless it was in large print...Sorry John Michael......GOD BLESS YOU and YOURS.

Prayer Poems For My Love (Book) - 6/10/2013 3:53:17 AM
I am looking forward to getting this! Love ya! Jane

Prayer Poems For My Love (Book) - 6/9/2013 11:14:42 PM
Wishing you much success with this, my friend.

Reflections From The Great Depression and WWII (Great gift for all ages) (Book) - 1/7/2013 5:15:55 AM
"Yet even with less, many seemed very happy back then as they enjoyed a time when life was much simpler." How so very true, and they were definitely America's Greatest Generation; I doubt we'll see another like them anytime soon. And Best of Luck With Your New Book!

Reflections From The Great Depression and WWII (Great gift for all ages) (Book) - 1/5/2013 1:54:32 AM
Congratulations on Your Book Publication John!! and I might add too, very nice bookcover! It caught my eye, and I am glad you are sharing inside story & memories. I knew a lady who never quite recovered from the depression. She called an ambulance one day & they came to find her sitting outside on her gorgeous front porch of her beautiful 2-story home w/basement. She passed away & it was discovered how bad her memories really were. She had food in every room of the house excluding the bathroom (which was spot on immaculate) All the food & boxes of stuff was up to the ceiling!! She had little pathways to squeeze into each room of the house like a walkway maze. She kept her central air & window units running year round. But still the smell of rotten food was morbid & gross. She had a route claim to the garbage bins in her town where she would get the food thrown out from restaurants and varied grocery stores. (RIP-1984) May God's Mercy Help Us All Love In Christ Always Vickie

Reflections From The Great Depression and WWII (Great gift for all ages) (Book) - 12/13/2012 10:20:45 AM
Sounds like a great read.... Anna

Mentoring To-Go (A GREAT Gift for Youth from 9-90 yrs.) (Book) - 8/15/2010 8:28:09 AM
i do not have your book, but I have passed it on the the chief of police in florman part, thought it would be something that would be of help to him. Hope all is well with you, and feeling better

FREE: Companion for ATTICA: A SURVIVORS STORY - Chapter 1 (Book) - 3/11/2010 2:51:28 AM
You have put a lot of thought and work into this writing. It seems like a very good resource for those who need it. I wonder if its available in prisons. If it isn't , it should be...M

Can't Wait To Go Back To Prison: A Prison Ministry Experience (Great Gift) (Book) - 1/30/2010 7:35:38 AM
Takes a very exceptional person to go where they are probably most needed, yet expose themselves to the dangers that go with it. * * * * * Well done, Gerry

Can't Wait To Go Back To Prison: A Prison Ministry Experience (Great Gift) (Book) - 10/6/2009 8:06:13 AM
This book sounds like it would help me learn about a ministry I have never been part of but have been feeling the tug of God on my heart for. I'm going to get a copy to read and some to pass out.

Mentoring To-Go (A GREAT Gift for Youth from 9-90 yrs.) (Book) - 8/1/2009 1:56:59 AM
All the best with your book.

Mentoring To-Go (A GREAT Gift for Youth from 9-90 yrs.) (Book) - 2/21/2009 1:10:24 PM
Dr. Domino: You have under-sold the claims on your "Mentoring To-Go" book. I just got my copy the other day and began almost immediately to dive into its many interesting pages. It is more than you let on, in your Bio page. Your book reminds of the spirit of a little book called, "The Magic of Thinking Big," by David Schwartz. It was a book that changed my life. The Bible was the first of course! In his book Schwartz related an anecdote about his young son when he asked him, "What do you want to be when you grow-up." The little boy thought about it a minute and said, "A professor." "A professor? What kind of professor, son?" his Dad asked. After thinking for a minute the boy said with a smile, "A professor of happiness!" A professor of Happiness. "How wonderful!" Schwartz goes on to relate. Dr. Domino, Your book, "Mentoring To-Go," brought back memories of that enjoyable time of self-discovery, and youthful idealism, when I set sail for the seven seas of life. Anything was possible, and with your book, now it is again!

A Slice Of Life (Book) - 1/22/2009 12:05:19 PM
I like that title...and I want a piece...

Can't Wait To Go Back To Prison: A Prison Ministry Experience (Great Gift) (Book) - 9/13/2008 4:00:39 AM
John, I will pray for great success for your most interesting book about prison mininstry. I've always been interested in prisons and how much the men and woman there need God in their lives. If I wasn't on a fixed income I would buy one, and being personally signed by you would be an added bonus. My husband lost his job 3 years ago, the plant closed down he'd work at for 25 years. For health reasons he hasn't been able to find work. I am on disability so thank God we do have one check coming in. God is good, He's always provided for us. My husband got saved a year ago and with both of us attending church together its been a great blessing to me. I have grown alot in my faith this past year because church is such an important part of my life. I'm a choir member and we go to different nursing homes and sing, I get a great blessing from that, Michael. Keep writing and putting God's word out there for all to see. God bless you always. Many blessings, ~Linda

Attica: A Survivors Story (A Great Gift For Anyone Who needs Inspiration) (Book) - 9/4/2008 12:19:10 PM
'Domino', such a wonderful word of imagery and of course it's your name -well suited I'm sure you'll agree. One thing leads to another into eternity and you seem to have followed your path patiently as each piece fell into place, fulfilling your life's purpose, one precious step at a time.

Can't Wait To Go Back To Prison: A Prison Ministry Experience (Great Gift) (Book) - 7/10/2008 1:14:41 PM
The book sounds like it will be an inspiration to many. I hope it will sell well and you can promote it. Its great to give incite of those behind the wall... God Bless you.....M

God's Cake (Short Story) - 5/31/2014 3:16:08 PM
This is so inspiring! Thanks, John, for sharing!!! Sandie

A Letter About Faith (Short Story) - 4/12/2014 3:12:09 AM
So well said John. Reading this increases my faith already. Thank you for sharing this. Mary

God's Cake (Short Story) - 4/9/2014 3:54:32 AM
Very inspirational John. The best thing is to trust in God fully even during the hard times for He has our good in His mind- always. Mary

God's Cake (Short Story) - 4/5/2014 1:51:05 PM
An unknown author wrote a wonderful story so that we can all learn something of value. A wise mother explained God's goodness through the making of a cake.. teaching her daughter a lesson she will most likely never forget. Thanks for sharing this gem with all of us, John. You are an ever faithful steward to our Lord. Blessings, Joy

God's Cake (Short Story) - 4/5/2014 10:06:20 AM
There is a message here for everyone. When we are going through the bad stuff perhaps God is creating something great for us! Love ya! Jane

God's Cake (Short Story) - 4/5/2014 9:29:34 AM
Why do you think they call it angel food cake? Who says that God's a "He?" Who do you think taught God how to bake? Ron

God's Cake (Short Story) - 4/5/2014 6:52:53 AM
Beautiful story John, thanks for sharing JK

Got Church? (Short Story) - 3/25/2014 7:38:46 PM
Beautiful!! Godspeed!

Learning To Love Yourself (Short Story) - 3/22/2014 11:49:01 PM
wooow amen and amen im going to print this out and share it at church its brilliant

A Glimpse of Heaven and a Taste of Hell (Short Story) - 3/22/2014 2:41:23 AM
I so love this John. The world should really know how real heaven and hell are because most are living in ignorance. What will it benefit a man to gain the whole world and loose his own soul? Even a hundred years on this earth seem very few compared to eternity. Thank you for sharing this. Mary

Learning To Love Yourself (Short Story) - 2/18/2014 3:40:46 AM
SO TRUE,GREAT ADVICE. TO IMPLY IT IS THE HARDEST, VERY NICE.

Traveling BACK in time - 2000 Years Ago! (Short Story) - 2/5/2014 1:11:55 PM
Amen! All things help to bring out the glory of God, which can be truly amazing, even just to look at! Well done John!

Learning To Love Yourself (Short Story) - 1/10/2014 4:50:32 PM
Great, practical advice, John and I believe when we begin to love ourselves, we will experience and see more"good" in the world that would allow us to smile more. Thanks for these great reminders,and continued success. Barbara J. Henry

Traveling BACK in time - 2000 Years Ago! (Short Story) - 12/26/2013 7:09:36 AM
On a trip outside of town during a four-day stay in Cairo many years ago, we came to a small town like that. The town must've been very near the verdant Nile Valley because even though the entire village was in desert, by the side of a building I saw a huge pile of tomatoes probably 10 feet high and 30 or 40 feet across. The desert couldn't produce like that, so it must've been from nearby alongside the river where crops flourished in the rich soil. While observing the scene with a lot of children playing in the dusty streets, camels and donkey carts all around, suddenly there was loud horns blaring, sirens wailing and red lights flashing as two brand-new fire engines came roaring down through the middle of town roiling huge clouds of dust and looking so out of place in this pastoral scene. It was quite unforgettable, just like the brand-new tour buses passing camels and ox carts on the narrow blacktop highway to Memphis. The contrasts were amazing. Ron

Traveling BACK in time - 2000 Years Ago! (Short Story) - 12/25/2013 9:47:49 AM
You have given me a beautiful vision today. Merry Christmas! Love ya! Jane

Traveling BACK in time - 2000 Years Ago! (Short Story) - 12/25/2013 9:35:03 AM
Amen budd

Learning To Love Yourself (Short Story) - 12/1/2013 11:34:09 PM
Indeed spot on!!! yaaaay! Blessings, Vesna :)

A Glimpse of Heaven and a Taste of Hell (Short Story) - 10/5/2013 11:56:25 AM
Fascinating! Thanks for sharing your friend's story. Especially appreciate the invitation and prayer at the end.

A Glimpse of Heaven and a Taste of Hell (Short Story) - 8/11/2013 10:31:58 AM
WOW!!! What a testimony!!

A Glimpse of Heaven and a Taste of Hell (Short Story) - 8/9/2013 7:54:07 AM
I read this and I cried tears of joy. Love ya! Jane

A Glimpse of Heaven and a Taste of Hell (Short Story) - 8/9/2013 5:23:44 AM
a wondeful story John, thank you budd

TANK! (Short Story) - 7/2/2013 7:38:07 AM
THERE'S ALWAYS SOMETHING THAT MAKES THE EYES BEGIN TO WATER...I DON'T KNOW...COULD BE A SONG, OR A STORY ON THE INTERNET OR SOMETIMES, JUST A THOUGHT ABOUT GOOD THINGS...OR...MAYBE BAD THINGS. IN ANY CASE...AT LEAST ONCE IN A DAY THERE'S SOMETHING THAT MAKES THE EYES MOIST. WELL, IT'S 12:06 PM AND THIS STORY HAS DONE IT FOR ME TODAY. WHAT SOLDIERS HAVE TO DO...IS SAD BUT THE REASONS THEY DO IT...ARE 'BRIGHT'...LIKE GOLD WITH BEAMS FROM THE SON...DANCING ALL OVER THEM. PROUD...REAL PROUD...TO BE AN AMERICAN. THANKS FOR SHARING, JOHN AND YOU 'KNOW'...I WILL KEEP THIS ONE. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH... JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

TANK! (Short Story) - 3/14/2013 3:34:50 AM
I read this sad story several years ago. Far too many loving, waiting pets never get to see their valiant soldier friends again. But there now are several animal welfare groups that care for the pets of our soldiers until they return; and compassionately find them new homes, if they don't.

TANK! (Short Story) - 3/12/2013 1:19:57 PM
This is a heartwarming and heart wrenching story, John. An unpleasant fact of war is that sometimes the participants don't come home.....we who are left behind have definate obligations to rthem. God bless, ChipB

TANK! (Short Story) - 3/11/2013 9:51:34 AM
very good budd

Positive Self-Talk (Article) - 5/4/2014 3:22:16 AM
Very inspiring instructions John. I love this and you so touch my heart with your inspiring messages. Mary

Positive Self-Talk (Article) - 9/15/2013 4:44:22 AM
My inner voice tell me that 'blindness does not define me.. what I do with it, despite it, and because of it does.' Life is not what we let it make of us but what we make of it.. Your words here are wise and speak volumes... Myrna

Positive Self-Talk (Article) - 9/14/2013 7:16:46 AM
These are very good instructions. 'Good to remember! Thanks. At times we all need one of these. Love ya! Jane

Happy Advice... (Article) - 5/10/2013 3:32:24 AM
Excellent article John! It goes to show that our life is lived out first in our mind (Bible refers to it as a persons Heart) which then governs our relationships with all others. When we allow Jesus Christ to rule our heart, the rest of our life is made right...it's called "the abundant life". Thanks for sharing this John. ~ a fellow human & poet, Zach

One photo- One Thousand words (Article) - 1/27/2013 7:39:02 PM
Thank You for sharing this article with us my friend...........GOD BLESS YOU and YOURS.

One photo- One Thousand words (Article) - 1/27/2013 2:46:04 PM
Great human interest story John,and I thank you for sharing it with The Den. Continued success- Barbara J

One photo- One Thousand words (Article) - 1/27/2013 2:42:22 PM
Great article, John. I had never seen this before. Thanks for sharing it and may God bless.

All About Angels (Article) - 10/18/2012 9:41:15 PM
I love the comments . Thanks for sharing. The thoughts of kids are heart warming.....M

All About Angels (Article) - 9/23/2012 3:52:55 PM
Very nicely done, John.

All About Angels (Article) - 9/22/2012 10:04:06 AM
I like Vicki's best. Her faith is unwavering! Connie

All About Angels (Article) - 9/22/2012 9:12:27 AM
This is adorable! I love your "out of the mouths of babes" writing here. All adults should listen to these quotes, because these little ones almost always believe in God; it is only when we get older that many doubt! Joy L. Hale

All About Angels (Article) - 9/22/2012 7:07:47 AM
Love it! Enjoyable! They believe!

SET FRESH GOALS FOR YOUR FUTURE (Article) - 9/6/2012 6:49:07 PM
Your article covers a broad range of topics and can help a person to set goals and gives them positive redirection. I think if a person can apply them selves, they can move forward and become more adept to tackle life challenges. This should be under articles, which is where you wrote it. A lot of thinking and research must have been done to write this....M

SET FRESH GOALS FOR YOUR FUTURE (Article) - 9/6/2012 8:03:06 AM
Fantastic John, thank you for sharing. Rose

SET FRESH GOALS FOR YOUR FUTURE (Article) - 9/6/2012 4:15:52 AM
Great exercise! Thanks for sharing, John... Anna

Why is Mentoring Important for Everyone? (Article) - 7/12/2012 12:07:14 AM
Very instructive article that says a lot of applied truths in it. Mentoring is the same as discipleship, as Christ set the example. It is based and established on a bond of true friendship and "agape" love. In our Christian churches we have cell groups and "one-to-one" discipleship programs wherein the novice or new Christian gets the much needed guidance, teaching, prayer and support he needs to grow as a believer/citizen in whatever area of life he belongs. The availability of the mentor is 24/7 and the disciple learns to be responsible and accountable to his mentor/discipler. Of course, there always exists the freedom of will, but since the mentorship is based on genuine ties of friendship, there is always the element of trust. Your article is speaks of such, the same applied to boys scouts and girl scouts groups.

Drowning? (Article) - 7/4/2012 3:42:29 PM
This is good to know John...it is news to me. Thanks and God bless. He is merciful. Zach

The Holy Alphabet (Article) - 6/21/2012 6:05:18 PM
Very interesting. Seems I had seen it somewhere before Got old. Have not much of a memory. I write about words to numbers. Found some very interesting. For some reason or another others can't see what to me is clearly numbers one through nine and the English alphabet A through Z. I'm listed as Arithmancybob.

Drowning? (Article) - 6/8/2012 7:52:46 AM
Thanks so much for this vital and timely message, John! Anna

MENTORING STATS (Article) - 4/12/2012 3:57:05 AM
Interesting article, John. Well done.

The Birth of a Hero (Article) - 1/18/2012 7:46:25 AM
Ah! This is truly remarkable. I have learnt too many things from this. Strong woman, full of resolve...and her wish came to pass! God is faithful.

The Birth of a Hero (Article) - 1/14/2012 4:30:58 PM
A blessing indeed John, thank you for sharing. Rose

NEW YEARS GOAL How To Break a Habit (Article) - 1/14/2012 4:31:52 AM
It's past Christmas so I decided to publish this in 2012. Next week!

News U Can Use - from Cucumbers to Coffee Filters (Article) - 7/7/2011 7:32:56 AM
I visited your site looking for an interesting article and found this one! WOW! I am going to buy more cucumbers from now on. Thanks for sharing this article. I, for one, am going to use these helpful hints! Loved it! Isn't God good? Natural remedies are His gift to us. Joy L. Hale

The Holy Alphabet (Article) - 4/10/2011 6:59:20 PM
Wow! The Lord spoke to my heart through this. Thanks! ~Zach

God Created Sex (Poetry) - 2/18/2015 1:57:39 PM
Sex is a gift that completes and adds to love and I thank God for that precious gift. Well done, John. Love and blessings to you, Regis

Pop-Ups (Poetry) - 2/16/2015 1:56:37 PM
Yes it is good to have boundaries from them or they jeopardize the creative flow. Fun reading this too John :) Blessings, Christine xx

Pop-Ups (Poetry) - 2/13/2015 4:46:34 PM
I'm with you on these...especially when you get into those loops with them...like Sandie I have disallowed them...and it seems to work... Diana...

Pop-Ups (Poetry) - 2/9/2015 2:38:32 PM
Agreed! Pop ups are terrible.

Pop-Ups (Poetry) - 2/7/2015 6:40:04 PM
I rather get junk mail any day keep them on the delete list Peace be with you William

Pop-Ups (Poetry) - 2/7/2015 5:29:30 PM
I treat pop-ups the way I treat ads on TV or wherever; I ignore them. A most apt and timely write, John. Love and blessings to you, Regis

Pop-Ups (Poetry) - 2/7/2015 3:26:15 PM
Great write,John and a very true one that expresses my annoyance too. Just reading your poem about 'pop ups',helps me to better cope with their peskiness. Continued success- Barbara J. Henry

Pop-Ups (Poetry) - 2/7/2015 10:12:45 AM
Yes pop ups are a pin in the eyes...or is that a pain in the ...? -e-

Pop-Ups (Poetry) - 2/7/2015 10:03:35 AM
I'm with you on nasty little intrusions on our serious work. They are absolutely worse than spam because they require removal before we continue to work. If companies knew how we feel about them, I don't think they'd allow pop-ups to be used for their advertising. But there are computer geeks out there making big bucks figuring out more more ways they can intrude on our already stressed, multitasking lives. Expect much more of this in the future… Fun fun fun. Ron

Pop-Ups (Poetry) - 2/7/2015 8:25:11 AM
I have been intending to write a few lines on this irritation. Stay tuned. This was a motivator to fight

Pop-Ups (Poetry) - 2/7/2015 7:35:05 AM
Pop-ups and updates, can be a real pain. it happens far to frequently, and drives me insane. Michael D.

Pop-Ups (Poetry) - 2/7/2015 7:12:25 AM
Hey! I'M the 1000th customer!!!! LOL!!!! Love ya! Jane

Pop-Ups (Poetry) - 2/7/2015 4:52:32 AM
Don't you hate those pop-ups? I have disallowed pop-ups in my computer. You can set the setting to configure the computer to disallow pop-ups. I hope you have got a good prize for being the 1000th customer. Sandie

Pop-Ups (Poetry) - 2/7/2015 4:51:47 AM
I have the very same situation down here in the swamp. And no, I never click on them either.

The Day AFTER The Super Bowl (Poetry) - 2/4/2015 6:49:14 AM
Anyone, at anytime, anywhere, can get trampled in the dust no matter what plan of action they have. As your piece spirits: there is only one guaranteed true winning strategy in this life.

God Created Sex (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 9:44:27 PM
If we follow Jesus we will be blessed beyond belief. False God's will only lead to sadness and grief. Amen

The Day AFTER The Super Bowl (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 7:24:24 AM
Always take your time on those last-minute decisions! A snap to judgment can cause you to lose an entire game or a life. Friends don't let friends "pass," when their team is less than 2 yards from victory, and risk losing the ball! Pats didn't win; Hawks handed them the victory - hail to the victors! Both played a good game.

The Day AFTER The Super Bowl (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 4:36:03 AM
It's not over until it's over Amen, to that.

The Day AFTER The Super Bowl (Poetry) - 2/2/2015 9:28:10 PM
well I am happy my team won, case close to the victors gose the spoils.... and loosers there is no tomorrow.... Kool write John Peace be with you William

The Day AFTER The Super Bowl (Poetry) - 2/2/2015 4:08:24 PM
As a die hard Patriot fan I understand every line! Love it! Kathy

The Day AFTER The Super Bowl (Poetry) - 2/2/2015 2:31:40 PM
I learned those guys make way to much money. Michael D.

The Day AFTER The Super Bowl (Poetry) - 2/2/2015 1:33:58 PM
Entertaining as always John :) Blessings, Christine

The Day AFTER The Super Bowl (Poetry) - 2/2/2015 8:42:16 AM
My attendant tells me that she's an "insider" to the game. To her, the game is rigged to be close (end of first half) and to produce the most hullabaloo so that fans will not get jaded and leave the game and all that money behind. She may have a thing there… Ron

The Day AFTER The Super Bowl (Poetry) - 2/2/2015 7:39:20 AM
Life has its unexpected twists and turns. Loved that bouncing ball catch

The Day AFTER The Super Bowl (Poetry) - 2/2/2015 7:28:09 AM
Plus, in our personal race, as was the Superbowl, a matter of should I rush, or should I throw . . . into the end zone. Eh . . .

God Created Sex (Poetry) - 1/31/2015 12:10:14 PM
Whatever God says is always right. Isn't it? Ron

God Created Sex (Poetry) - 1/31/2015 8:23:49 AM
Great poem ... I've always loved the Song of Soloman (KJV) ...

God Created Sex (Poetry) - 1/31/2015 7:37:53 AM
Your words ring true. I must agree with Sandie. Love ya! Jane

God Created Sex (Poetry) - 1/31/2015 7:35:45 AM
Yes, sex is supposed to be between two people who are genuinely in love, and is not for any other purposes. Good point with this poem! Sandie

Seeking Him (Poetry) - 1/31/2015 7:27:20 AM
Truer words were never spoken when it comes to "seeing" Him in all he has created. 'Love it! Love ya! Jane

Seeking Him (Poetry) - 1/31/2015 3:53:13 AM
Amen! Kathy

Proper Property Management (Poetry) - 1/30/2015 11:06:27 AM
This message is very true,and timely. Thanks for sharing it with us here in The Den. Continued success Barbara J. Henry

Proper Property Management (Poetry) - 1/30/2015 7:45:30 AM
A strange poem, but a good thought. Come to think of it, I think I bought shares in the Brooklyn Bridge the other day… Something about they were renovating it and going to charge a toll, making the value of ownership triple in the next year or two. Termites are the biggest fault of all, followed by plumbing, electrical, and structural problems. Most people only look at the surfaces and the latest fads (must have granite countertops… Why?) when they buy a pig in a poke. Ron

Proper Property Management (Poetry) - 1/30/2015 7:28:06 AM
There have always been con men, liars, cheats and hucksters, and will undoubtedly always be. Let the buyer beware. Michael D.

Proper Property Management (Poetry) - 1/30/2015 6:47:14 AM
You are right. Shame on those types of people!!! Karma! Love ya! Jane

Proper Property Management (Poetry) - 1/30/2015 3:49:58 AM
A far too sad reality these days.

A Loving Home (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 7:42:06 PM
Blessed and loving thoughts, John. Thank you for sharing them. Love and peace to you, Regis

Striving To Do Well (Poetry) - 1/26/2015 1:59:44 PM
WHAT IS SUCCESS? CERTAINLY THERE ARE MANY DIFFERENT OPINIONS AS TO WHAT THIS MEANS. WELL, COMING FROM MY POINT OF VIEW, I WOULD HAVE TO SAY THAT OUR GREATEST QUEST FOR SUCCESS SHOULD BE TO BECOME A CHILD OF GOD. WHEN WE ACHIEVE THIS...THIS IS SUCCESS. AND WE WILL SPEND OUR ENTIRE LIFE 'STRIVING' TO DO THIS. THAT IS, STRIVING TO REACH PERFECTION. BUT WE WILL NEVER BE PERFECT(ATTAIN-PHIL 3:12)ON THIS SIDE. THUS, GOD WILL NOT JUDGE US ON WHETHER OR NOT WE REACH PERFECTION(SUCCESS), BUT RATHER ON WHETHER OR NOT WE 'TRIED'. FOR THAT IS WHAT CALVARY WAS ALL ABOUT. IT WAS ABOUT SINNERS, LIKE ME, WHO WOULD DAILY(1COR 15:30-31&LAM 3:22-23)NEED TO PLUNGE INTO HIS REDEEMING, CLEANSING AND RENEWING FOUNTAIN. PERSONAL WEALTH, DEGREES AND OUR POSSESSIONS MEAN NOTHING IF WE HAVE NOT SURRENDERED OUR LIVES TO OUR CREATOR. I AM NOT SAYING THAT SUCH THINGS ARE NOT IMPORTANT BUT TO HAVE SUCH THINGS AND NOT HAVE CHRIST...IS TO HAVE NOTHING. BUT THEN, ON THE OTHER HAND...TO HAVE CHRIST AND NOT HAVE 'SUCH THINGS'...IS STILL TO HAVE EVERYTHING. FOR CONSIDER...JESUS WAS NOT WEALTHY, HAD NO DEGREES OR PERSONAL POSSESSIONS, YET HE IS THE SINGLE MOST 'SUCCESSFUL' AND GREATEST MAN THAT EVER LIVED! THE WORD OF GOD SAYS, SEEK YE 'FIRST' THE KINGDOM OF HEAVEN...AND THEN ALL THINGS WILL BE ADDED UNTO US(MATT 6:33). TO SUM IT ALL UP; THE BIGGEST SHAME WE CAN FACE IS NOT HAVING JESUS AS OUR PERSONAL SAVIOR. WE SHOULD FIRST AND FOREMOST...STRIVE TO BE SUCCESSFUL IN A RELATIONSHIP WITH JESUS AND THEN... 'EVERYTHING ELSE' WILL BE ADDED UNTO US. I HAD TO DIVE RIGHT INTO THIS ONE, JOHN. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

A Loving Home (Poetry) - 1/26/2015 1:04:53 PM
YOU ARE SO RIGHT JOHN, BUT IT IS THE REAL WORLD WHERE WE ARE MOLDED, SHAPED AND CHISELED...BY THE POTTER, AS WE JOURNEY HOME. WELL DONE AND ENJOYED. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

A Loving Home (Poetry) - 1/26/2015 12:14:08 PM
Your thoughts are always so positive.

A Loving Home (Poetry) - 1/26/2015 10:27:29 AM
Great write John, It is my opinion that some things,lessons,achievements,etc., can only be accomplished as one becomes an adult(independent) and leaves home(the nest)to find his/her place in the world so that he she can make his/her contributions. Continued success- Barbara J. Henry

A Loving Home (Poetry) - 1/25/2015 6:20:04 PM
A loving, protective and caring write. However it is important to leave in order to grow. The home is always there. Wishing you continued creativity! Carol Phelan Aebby

A Loving Home (Poetry) - 1/24/2015 11:59:02 AM
Even the birds know when it's time to kick the young ones out of the nest. Why are humans so reluctant and so willing to take them back when they let them go out originally totally unprepared from lack of experience? What I'm referring to is the tendency to control every aspect of a child's life and not allow them to explore on their own. While I may not have been able to live on my own at 10, I already made my own decisions about right and wrong and had a good sense of myself… Responsibility. Ron

A Loving Home (Poetry) - 1/24/2015 7:54:13 AM
There has to be a safe haven somewhere, because cruelty is all around us. Michael D.

A Loving Home (Poetry) - 1/23/2015 4:55:56 PM
Very lucky children who have this kind of home

A Loving Home (Poetry) - 1/23/2015 2:48:08 PM
The show must go on.

A Loving Home (Poetry) - 1/23/2015 2:45:37 PM
Beautifully written. Love ya! Jane

A Loving Home (Poetry) - 1/23/2015 2:04:00 PM
Eh . . . Makes sense to me . . .

A Loving Home (Poetry) - 1/23/2015 2:00:51 PM
~John~ Inspiring words..blessings Lady Mary Ann

A Loving Home (Poetry) - 1/23/2015 1:47:03 PM
How beautiful! God Bless Kathy J Parenteau

Striving To Do Well (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 11:59:46 AM
Hello John- This is a powerful truth from which all of us can learn a valuable lesson.Thank you for sharing. Continued success- Barbara J. Henry

Striving To Do Well (Poetry) - 1/20/2015 10:31:33 AM
The opportunities are out there, we just have to be open to them. Well stated. hug Kathy

Striving To Do Well (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 1:08:44 PM
Great advice, John. Amen! Love, peace, and blessings to you, Regis

Striving To Do Well (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 11:12:49 AM
21st-century life is so filled with safety nets and opportunity for second chances that most fail to see what you have written has any importance. So many want to just, "fit in," and do what their buddies do rather than try to excel at anything. I don't know about sin, but if we don't keep trying our best, our civilization will fail because mediocrity doesn't survive in a hostile world. Ron

Striving To Do Well (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 9:15:13 AM
Wise words indeed to follow and heed

Striving To Do Well (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 8:10:17 AM
Wise words indeed. Michael D.

Striving To Do Well (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 6:54:26 AM
Perfect simple reminder for the day, as I have to remind myself of this every day.

Striving To Do Well (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 6:34:48 AM
~John~ As Keegan's Scout motto is "Do Your Best" Splendid write John. The Eagles are beautiful. Lady Mary Ann

Striving To Do Well (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 5:15:03 AM
I agree! Amen to this! Kathy J Parenteau

Striving To Do Well (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 4:48:57 AM
Amen to that, my friend.

Striving To Do Well (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 2:16:46 AM
Oh, yes! I've seen people "give up". That is one of the saddest things to behold. Love ya! Jane

Striving To Do Well (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 12:20:18 AM
All so true, and it 's a great reminder coming from you. But then that's what i expect from you. You are so positive.

Christmas Sadness (Poetry) - 1/12/2015 5:33:55 AM
Wonderful and true sentiments, John Michael.

Christmas Sadness (Poetry) - 1/9/2015 11:44:58 AM
Your caring and compassion shine through your verses, John. Be blessed, friend. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

THANKS in THANKSGIVING TOP TEN (Poetry) - 1/5/2015 10:23:52 AM
Thank you too for being a friend. Lovely write hug Kathy

Christmas Vision (Poetry) - 1/5/2015 10:22:39 AM
without Jeus there is nothing. hug Kathy

Christmas Sadness (Poetry) - 1/5/2015 10:21:52 AM
A lovely way to feel. Wish more thought of others and less of themselves. hug Kathy

Forever Friends (Poetry) - 1/5/2015 10:20:07 AM
A truly enjoyable write hug Kathy

Christmas Vision (Poetry) - 12/30/2014 3:25:24 PM
AMEN AND AMEN! AND THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING, JOHN. HOPE YOU HAD A WONDERFUL CHRISTMAS AND MAY 'HIS' SPIRIT CONTINUE TO FILL YOU AND MAY 'HIS' LOVE TAKE YOU AND YOURS THROUGHOUT THE NEW YEAR! THANKS FOR THE SHARE! LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...HIS*INSPIRATIONS

Christmas Sadness (Poetry) - 12/30/2014 3:21:38 PM
A KIND AND SWEET REMINDER. NONE OF US ARE TRULY 'BLESSED' IN THIS WORLD UNTIL WE 'BLESS' OTHERS. THAT'S THE REASON FOR THE SEASON. WELL DONE, JOHN. THANKS FOR THE SHARE...LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...HIS INSPIRATIONS

A Poem To Combat Depression (Poetry) - 12/29/2014 11:25:09 AM
Plainly stated—not tacit Succinct—yet so implicit A. L. Baxter

Christmas Sadness (Poetry) - 12/28/2014 8:10:01 AM
I hear your heart here, John. Blessings...

Christmas Sadness (Poetry) - 12/28/2014 6:48:36 AM
~John~ A gift of giving is a treasure received. Lady Mary Ann

Christmas Sadness (Poetry) - 12/27/2014 4:21:31 AM
Blessed are those who know the true meaning of Christmas.

Christmas Sadness (Poetry) - 12/26/2014 9:20:23 PM
There are a lot of people hurting right now. My wife and I say all the time that we don't see how people who are poor manage to survive. It is a bad situation indeed, and I honestly do not know what can be done to remedy the matter. I can give money to this organization and that, and I can pray earnestly about all the need around us, but to say that I know the answer, I cannot. Yes, intermingled with all the excitement of Christmas is a sense of sadness in the air, and I suppose it will always be that way. We simply have to make the best of it all and move on with our lives. David Lee Thompson David Lee Thompson

Christmas Sadness (Poetry) - 12/25/2014 10:54:20 AM
Good thoughts. Here in Houston we have these huge dinner celebrations at Thanksgiving and Christmas for the poor. But the food pantries are running low and even with the city's prosperity there are still many on the street and the shelters are full in the wintertime. We have to do something for the working poor, and we can't just do it at Christmas time. We have to do it all year long. Ron

Christmas Sadness (Poetry) - 12/25/2014 9:32:00 AM
Amen! "God bless us everyone.". Love ya! Jane

Christmas Sadness (Poetry) - 12/25/2014 9:27:43 AM
It is truly better to give than to recieve, especially to those in need. Michael D.

Christmas Sadness (Poetry) - 12/25/2014 6:30:34 AM
Helping the homeless for me is the worthiest goal. So many with so little.

Christmas Vision (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 2:03:08 PM
Beautiful John. Have a blessed Christmas! Love, Christine

Christmas Vision (Poetry) - 12/20/2014 2:38:12 AM
Does it really matter where the traditions started? Who remembers those pagan religions anyway? Kings and kingdoms have all come and they have gone. Does anyone recall the first king of England? But does anyone know the name of Jesus? For over 2000 years folks tried to persecute Him and deny His wonderful love. But the truth is kingdoms and kings will all pass away but His Love will endure forever. Praise Jesus! Merry Christmas one and all. Amen

Christmas Vision (Poetry) - 12/19/2014 9:50:23 AM
Most of the traditions you mention in your poem come from pagan religious practices. Christians conveniently acquired them so that they had something to celebrate in northern climes where they didn't have a Middle Eastern manger with foreign kings bringing presents. Ron

Christmas Vision (Poetry) - 12/18/2014 10:29:31 AM
A most apt, timely, and meaningful sharing, John. Love, peace, and blessings to you, Regis

Christmas Vision (Poetry) - 12/18/2014 5:42:50 AM
"All these things point to Jesus." Yes, you are very right, John! Jesus is the cause of the season, so we'll bless His name!

Christmas Vision (Poetry) - 12/17/2014 10:53:34 AM
Yes, John, dark is saying it lightly! Great poetry! Peace, love and light, Amber

Christmas Vision (Poetry) - 12/17/2014 4:02:17 AM
Dark, Indeed.

Christmas Vision (Poetry) - 12/16/2014 2:57:58 PM
This seasonal reminder does justice to God's World.

Christmas Vision (Poetry) - 12/16/2014 10:22:52 AM
The Light of the world is Jesus. . .Amen! With enlightened eyes, you see Jesus in Christmas. I have the honor of having a birthday just one week before His. I've always been glad for that, even as a child. Happy Birthday, Jesus! with Christ as love, Connie

Christmas Vision (Poetry) - 12/16/2014 6:00:36 AM
Yes, it is a wonderful time of the year, but in my opinion we are going through dark seasons now, and they are going to become worse.

Christmas Vision (Poetry) - 12/16/2014 1:39:33 AM
Truer words were never spoken or written in this case...-e-

Christmas Vision (Poetry) - 12/16/2014 12:31:37 AM
My children, when they were children, and now my grandchildren look forward to the big event on Christmas day. One of them bake a birthday cake for Jesus each year since my own were small and we sing Happy Birthday to Jesus!!! Love ya! Jane

Forever Friends (Poetry) - 12/14/2014 7:01:17 AM
John, True friends are hard to find. When you find one cherish them. Merry Christmas to you and yours, John. God bless you. Love and blessings, ~Linda

Forever Friends (Poetry) - 12/12/2014 12:24:51 PM
Great write John,and so very true. Thanks for sharing it,and continued success. Barbara J Henry

Forever Friends (Poetry) - 12/10/2014 12:49:49 PM
Excellent write John my best friends are mostly non humans...... lol They always welcome you as if they haven't seen you for years ( dogs that is) Cats are loyal yet very independed...... Peace be with you Merry Christmas William

Forever Friends (Poetry) - 12/10/2014 2:03:23 AM
Agape is true Friendship wholly expressed through Gods love to each other.

Forever Friends (Poetry) - 12/9/2014 3:07:35 PM
Forever friends! Oh, how lovely! "True friends anytime, anyplace, until the end." A nice poem, John, Blessings to you!

Forever Friends (Poetry) - 12/9/2014 10:41:20 AM
Very nice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love it!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Forever Friends (Poetry) - 12/7/2014 4:11:45 AM
Forever Friends are truly the best - and many of mine have furry faces, like the ones in your graphic.

Forever Friends (Poetry) - 12/6/2014 1:24:33 PM
The theme of "friendship" seems to be a popular one right now as I have read a number of poems today on that topic. Nicely and meaningfully expressed, John. True friendship is a treasure not so easily found. Thank you for sharing. Love and blessings to you, Regis

Forever Friends (Poetry) - 12/6/2014 11:17:49 AM
I'd rather have one good friend, than a 100 fair weather friends. unfortunately, all of my best friends have died. I'm very thankful for my grandkids. They have become my best friends. A very right on poem. Michael D.

Forever Friends (Poetry) - 12/6/2014 9:01:53 AM
Psychologists say that we can only have four or five true friends in a lifetime. I heartily agree. The rest are just acquaintances. From what I gather from your poem you are writing about the very few. Ron

Forever Friends (Poetry) - 12/6/2014 6:02:10 AM
John I love this declaration! Yes it's a blessing to have these kinds of friends in our lives ! Much peace love and light Amber

THANKS in THANKSGIVING TOP TEN (Poetry) - 12/6/2014 5:57:11 AM
You made me count my own blessings, John. A heart full of gratitude will take you far! Happy Thanksgiving and Merry Christmas.

Forever Friends (Poetry) - 12/6/2014 4:58:42 AM
We all pretty much need true friends, even one is good.

Forever Friends (Poetry) - 12/6/2014 2:07:49 AM
A good friend is a treasure indeed! 'Loved this write. Love ya! Jane

THANKS in THANKSGIVING TOP TEN (Poetry) - 11/26/2014 5:02:53 AM
Thanks, for The Thanks - and Happy Thanksgiving to you!

THANKS in THANKSGIVING TOP TEN (Poetry) - 11/25/2014 10:09:05 AM
Much to be thankful for. Ron

THANKS in THANKSGIVING TOP TEN (Poetry) - 11/25/2014 9:19:05 AM
Thank you for being an encouragement to us here in the Den and for your walk with God. Have a blessed, abundant Thanksgiving,and continued success. Barbara J. Henry

Giving THANKS everyday! (Poetry) - 11/25/2014 9:03:18 AM
Amen.

THANKS in THANKSGIVING TOP TEN (Poetry) - 11/25/2014 8:55:39 AM
And thank you for being a friend on Author's Den. Have a blessed Thanksgiving! Susan

THANKS in THANKSGIVING TOP TEN (Poetry) - 11/25/2014 7:39:15 AM
Most all of my friens have died, sometimes I feel so alone. I'm thankful for my AD friends, I wish I bring you home. Michael D.

THANKS in THANKSGIVING TOP TEN (Poetry) - 11/25/2014 5:14:23 AM
Nice work showing the world your thanks for this Thanksgiving.

THANKS in THANKSGIVING TOP TEN (Poetry) - 11/25/2014 1:10:12 AM
Again, I am thankful for so many of the same things you have listed. Material things mean so little to me. Give me family and friends. Being a waitress and a Caregiver afford me the chance to show my gratitude. Being a grandmother is the biggest blessing I have ever been gifted. Love ya! Jane

Giving THANKS everyday! (Poetry) - 11/24/2014 10:10:19 PM
When I say my prayers at night the first thing I do is thank the Lord for all the joy he has given me...........even the sadness, for it has taught me to be more grateful. Great write! Love ya! Jane

Dying Has No Cure (Poetry) - 11/21/2014 1:00:46 PM
A single act of dying has no cure, but reincarnation is a reasonable substitute. It is believed by a large number of people including Hindus, Spiritism, Theosophy, Eckankar, and followers of Kabbalah, Cathars, Druze, and the Rosicrucians. There is also a lot of evidence for it found in regression hypnosis as well as physical evidence. But I don't mean to argue with you, just wanted to alert you to the existence of 1 - 2 billion others who might take exception to the finality of your words.

Homeless Veterans Day (Poetry) - 11/20/2014 12:27:17 PM
I agree with you whole heartedly. Many of our vets are homeless and many need help. We are a storn and wealthy nation and we should be able to help them all. hug Kathy

Dying Has No Cure (Poetry) - 11/20/2014 10:08:40 AM
I am not going to express my opinion on this write because I read the others words here. I believe that is my right. Just as it is others not to believe. hug Kathy

Dying Has No Cure (Poetry) - 11/18/2014 2:31:56 PM
Amen, John. Thank you for sharing your perspective. Love, peace, and blessings to you, Regis

Dying Has No Cure (Poetry) - 11/18/2014 12:10:02 PM
Dear Ron, Read the book and see the movie, "God is for Real". We will not get a second chance to change our minds once it's over. I just care for all mankind. Eternity and that is forever my friend. Amen

Dying Has No Cure (Poetry) - 11/18/2014 11:26:05 AM
A very clever way of demonstrating the power of the Bible to mesmerize people into thinking that there is a way out of death (on the other side). From what I know of eyewitness accounts, they generally can't be trusted. There is no evidence, in spite of great efforts by almost every civilization to send their most important ones, like the Emperor went to his death with an entire army and many concubines, and any of this frantic effort to beat death, ever amounted to anything. Oh, I could go on the evangelical circuit proclaiming that I had been on the other side because I was awakened on the operating table by my neurosurgeon to ask if I was alive, but that would be a lie. Like coming out of any sleep, I merely woke up, looked into his eyes, and told him that I was okay (not brain-dead from lack of oxygen), and went back to sleep. No miracles experienced. Oh, I could've cashed in on that easily by proclaiming I saw wonders to the faithful who would take pity on my paralysis, but I am not interested in bilking the fearful faithful of their hard-earned money. Ron

Dying Has No Cure (Poetry) - 11/17/2014 12:50:48 PM
None of us get out of this alive. "That's for sure." Love ya! Jane

Dying Has No Cure (Poetry) - 11/17/2014 12:13:17 PM
Very true John. The best thing anyone can ever do to themselves is determine their eternal destination wisely when they still got the chance. Thanks so much for sharing this. Mary

The AUTHOR OF MISTAKES (Poetry) - 11/17/2014 9:41:45 AM
John, you have written a beautiful poem on a subject with which we can all relate. Many times, especially when I am sleepy, I create a new language when I write. I say this because what is usually on the page is something I simply cannot understand.This poem made me laugh just as loud as I did when I tried to read what I'd written. Thanks for sharing a light moment with us,and continued success. Barbara J. Henry

Dying Has No Cure (Poetry) - 11/17/2014 9:36:21 AM
Wonderful write and powerfully truthful! Reading the instruction manual is vital,and I do so daily. Thank you for this wake up call for some and a reminder of things to come for all of us. Your sharing is appreciated,and continued success- Barbara J. Henry

Dying Has No Cure (Poetry) - 11/17/2014 6:17:16 AM
An excellent write John There is a 100% chance in life That u will die...... Peace be with you William

Dying Has No Cure (Poetry) - 11/17/2014 4:03:19 AM
Never heard the Bible described that way - very good!

Dying Has No Cure (Poetry) - 11/16/2014 6:13:36 PM
Good poem. Ben Franklin once said the only two sure things in life are death and taxes. At least death doesn't get worse every time Congress is in session. ChipB

Dying Has No Cure (Poetry) - 11/16/2014 4:28:23 PM
I agree. Dying is the last great one finger salute!

Homeless Veterans Day (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 2:36:02 PM
Thank you for sharing this most apt, timely, and meaningful write, John. Love and blessings to you, Regis

Homeless Veterans Day (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 7:20:32 AM
I like that "homeless but not hopeless or helpless." NO, nobody is without hope. They just need a chance to get back on their feet sometimes and of all people our veterans deserve it. Good poem!

Homeless Veterans Day (Poetry) - 11/13/2014 12:17:40 AM
I knew someone for a while once who had a ministry to the homeless in Atlanta. Some of them actually chose to live that way. Many did not. No one deserves to live so unprotected and unwelcomed. Very good subject for a very good poem. OUr Veterans definately deserve more. I think it is criminal that they come home from overseas and do not get the help they need, or have to wait for it so long that everything in their life disintegrates meanwhile. And yes, PTSD as Mr. Phillips said, is an insidious injury indeed. Many blessings to you John! Be well, Kathy

WWII, MY HOME on the USS HARRY LEE (Poetry) - 11/11/2014 2:44:59 AM
War is one of the worst catastrophes in this world. Peace is very important but like Regis has said, i fear that the world is not anywhere near there yet! A lovely write John and your description is so phenomenal. It takes the reader right there at the war front. Kudos!

Homeless Veterans Day (Poetry) - 11/9/2014 12:12:08 PM
Yes, and sometimes PTSD doesn't show its weary head until years later.

Homeless Veterans Day (Poetry) - 11/9/2014 11:49:24 AM
That's the shame of it.....We have heroes among us who are tota;lly neglected by the system they fought for. ChipB.

Homeless Veterans Day (Poetry) - 11/9/2014 10:24:12 AM
Hopefully your word gets out further. When we see them on the side of the street begging for money, some of us have mixed feelings because recent exposés have shown that there are people who unscrupulously pretend to be homeless veterans, collecting money at busy intersections, and then are found to be living in fine homes on the income they make from the street. It might help to talk to homeless people and find out more about them before we just stick our hand out with money to someone who comes up to the car at an intersection. Besides, like you wrote in your poem, just talking to them gives them encouragement and may help them find a home and work. They do have stories to tell. Ron

Homeless Veterans Day (Poetry) - 11/9/2014 10:16:36 AM
John, AMEN to this poem. Our Vets deserve so much. Love and blessings, ~Linda

Homeless Veterans Day (Poetry) - 11/9/2014 4:39:03 AM
Amen amen amen! Kathy J Parenteau

Homeless Veterans Day (Poetry) - 11/9/2014 4:18:11 AM
They deserve far more than we give them in this uncaring nation of ours - and they deserve our support every day of the year.

Homeless Veterans Day (Poetry) - 11/9/2014 3:40:11 AM
Amen! Love ya! Jane

WWII, MY HOME on the USS HARRY LEE (Poetry) - 11/6/2014 3:29:38 PM
If only it were true about "peace and justice." I'm afraid we're not there yet; and judging by the wars and turmoil, we'll not get there any time soon. Thank you for sharing this, John. Love, peace, and blessings to you, Regis

WWII, MY HOME on the USS HARRY LEE (Poetry) - 11/6/2014 9:40:26 AM
Many brave men and women lost their lives fighting for freedom. What an excellent write this is with the interview from a man that was there. hug kathy

Your Inspirational Minute Poem (Poetry) - 11/6/2014 6:43:05 AM
KEEP WRITING, JOHN...YOU ARE DOING A WONDERFUL JOB! THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS & FAITH...HIS INSPIRATIONS

The AUTHOR OF MISTAKES (Poetry) - 11/6/2014 6:40:05 AM
TERRIFIC! IT DID WHAT IT WAS SUPPOSED TO DO...I LAFFED BKAWS DIS TRUF I KAN KINECT WID. THANKS FOR SHARING! LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...HIS INSPIRATIONS

WWII, MY HOME on the USS HARRY LEE (Poetry) - 11/6/2014 6:35:27 AM
WAR IS NOT BEAUTIFUL, AT ALL. BUT THE INDIVIDUALS WHO MADE A STAND AND DID WHAT THEY HAD TO DO IN THE DEFENSE OF OUR NATION...ARE. I SALUTE THIS OLD SOLDIER AND I DO THANK HIM, MUCH. THANKS FOR SHARING, JOHN. LOVE, BLESSINGS & FAITH...HIS INSPIRATIONS.

WHO CARES? (Poetry) - 11/4/2014 6:25:57 PM
You got that right!!! He never doesn't care, even though what He gives you sometimes isn't what you expect. ChipB.

The AUTHOR OF MISTAKES (Poetry) - 11/4/2014 9:11:59 AM
Haha. A funny and lovely write John. You are not alone in this. I do the same thing too. Much love and blessings. Mary

WWII, MY HOME on the USS HARRY LEE (Poetry) - 11/4/2014 8:17:19 AM
Written in the heroic style of an old patriotic newsreel. Now often portrayed as a documentary using films from the era, often in color. What is missing is the human story of individuals. They don't seem to talk much about that because it hurts too much. They all had severe PTSD if they were in combat and many vowed not to talk about the horror they had seen. The world is much safer now than it was back then, but there are still evil regimes and threats to be dealt with. We aren't as naïve as we were back then either and the world is a much smaller and complex place. Our ship has to keep an even keel and touch all the bases before it arrives safely to home port. Ron

FREE STUFF (Poetry) - 11/3/2014 5:15:43 PM
Well, the song says "The Best Things in Life Are Free..." I suppose it's a matter of perspective. How much does a sunset cost. the loe of family and friends$, a snowy winter day??? ChipB.

What Would Mark Twain Say If He Were Alive Today? (Poetry) - 11/3/2014 3:56:58 PM
Twain was an aficionado of cigars, big, smelly cigars. He was also quite the curmudgeon. I suspect he would be dismayed at then pace and style of life today, and I suspect he would use his acerbic pen and tongue quite a bit. Twain is my favorite American author... ChipB.

Hiroshima Today (Poetry) - 11/3/2014 3:44:11 PM
It's sad that old men start the wars and young men die in them. I'm glad there have been no more Hiroshimas and Nagasakis, but I wnder how long it will last. ChipB.

Communication Today has Gone Astray (Poetry) - 11/3/2014 3:37:39 PM
You're right...face to face is always the best...unortuntely, families are more spread out than they ever have. ChipB.

Have I told you I LOVE YOU today? (Poetry) - 11/3/2014 12:54:20 PM
It's always nice to have someone flesh and blood to love and love you back. Great liytlr read... ChipB.

WWII, MY HOME on the USS HARRY LEE (Poetry) - 11/3/2014 12:51:06 PM
I had a cousin by marriage who fought in WWII. I would sit for hours listening to him telling stories of what they went through. God bless our armed services. Love ya! Jane

WWII, MY HOME on the USS HARRY LEE (Poetry) - 11/3/2014 12:43:51 PM
Good write...one of my friends at my church is a WWII Navy vet. from the Pacific....He tells stories just like this.... ChipB.

WWII, MY HOME on the USS HARRY LEE (Poetry) - 11/3/2014 12:38:44 PM
This is an amazing write and a wonderful tribute to all who fought in WWII. My grandfather fought in that war but never spoke about it. He too was a poet but never wrote about it either. Thank you for sharing this. Kathy J Parenteau

WWII, MY HOME on the USS HARRY LEE (Poetry) - 11/3/2014 12:12:14 PM
Yep, and people scream that we shouldn't have dropped that bomb. I'm of the opinion that we should drop a few in strategic places in the Middle East. That's just me.

The AUTHOR OF MISTAKES (Poetry) - 11/2/2014 12:10:40 PM
John~ Dats an oops! Me too!! Lady Mary Ann

The AUTHOR OF MISTAKES (Poetry) - 11/2/2014 7:48:12 AM
I can type out a piece at a very rapid pace, then spend days without end repairing all the typos. I can truly relate to this piece of your heart penned to page. Clever and brings a smile to the heart ...

The AUTHOR OF MISTAKES (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 6:27:56 PM
sounds like me Good piece John Peace be with you William

BEYOND D-DAY (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 4:44:20 PM
The images this brings to me are sad, frightening and tearful. A very eye opening write hug Kathy

The AUTHOR OF MISTAKES (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 4:36:21 PM
SMILES!!!I have a friend that types so fast she makes so many mistakes I can't figure out what she is trying to say to me. So I tease her that I will send her to "typonese School" where she will learn to slow down just a bit and type without errors. but in truth we all make mistakes. That is why God made erasers. hug Kathy

Mysterious Love (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 3:14:54 PM
I am owned by two cats. I know how it is...well described.... ChipB

My Friend Vinny “A” (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 12:14:44 PM
You and Vinny serve an awesome God! I'm glad He brought you together again! Love, Connie

FREE STUFF (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 12:13:09 PM
The free gift of salvation through faith in Jesus Christ! It's really free! Is there a catch? Well, in a way, because once you receive His gift, you want to give Him your life--all you are, all you have and all you are not--it's His!

A Direct Encounter With Nazi's (Poetry) - 10/31/2014 3:32:50 PM
Very good historical piece. We need to remember the deeds of those, th members of the "greatest" generation. Chip B.

The AUTHOR OF MISTAKES (Poetry) - 10/31/2014 3:28:44 PM
Apparently you and I share the same typing style, that being the Columbus method: Find a key and land on it...The problem is if you miss hte key you get tuck in deep water. Chip B.

The AUTHOR OF MISTAKES (Poetry) - 10/31/2014 3:15:24 PM
S i c v f 2 b o k! S?

The AUTHOR OF MISTAKES (Poetry) - 10/31/2014 1:38:17 PM


The AUTHOR OF MISTAKES (Poetry) - 10/31/2014 8:09:24 AM
A weally fun read. As "W" so infamously said, Don't misunderestimate me, or somting like dat. Michael D.

The AUTHOR OF MISTAKES (Poetry) - 10/31/2014 7:34:30 AM
I love it! Right up my alley! I don't know how many times that I made a comment like this with my voice system. Although it spells very very well (I don't), it is very good at slipping in the wrong word that I happened to catch "after the fact." Woe is me… Ron

The AUTHOR OF MISTAKES (Poetry) - 10/31/2014 5:31:16 AM
I can relate! I had a good time reading this. Love ya! Jane

The AUTHOR OF MISTAKES (Poetry) - 10/31/2014 5:19:10 AM
I love this ! You make people smile! God Bless

The AUTHOR OF MISTAKES (Poetry) - 10/31/2014 5:09:12 AM
I'm on the bame side of that righting fence you are . . . is . . . are.

The AUTHOR OF MISTAKES (Poetry) - 10/31/2014 1:36:24 AM
This is a good one! Kathy J Parenteau

BEYOND D-DAY (Poetry) - 10/30/2014 3:58:45 PM
Sad that nothing has changed... ...seems it may never. My father was in France during WWII and was made prisoner of the Nazis. He never showed any hatred or resentment of the German people. He explained it all to me. After all was said and done, he hoped we would see peace. Sadly, that has not happened. Love and blessings to you, John. Regis

BEYOND D-DAY (Poetry) - 10/30/2014 11:00:38 AM
I left my foot prints on France, Holland and Germany

BEYOND D-DAY (Poetry) - 10/30/2014 9:44:51 AM
Very touching poem. War is always hell a nd leaves a mark, regardless of whose side you were on. Chipb.

BEYOND D-DAY (Poetry) - 10/30/2014 6:52:35 AM
I have tears in my eyes. God bless our soldiers and veterans!!! Love ya! Jane

BEYOND D-DAY (Poetry) - 10/30/2014 6:15:58 AM
Thank God, without Him all things could be worst. Well done, John.

BEYOND D-DAY (Poetry) - 10/30/2014 4:49:50 AM
Please Note: This poem is not about me. This is about a true American Hero: Herbert Becke. Read the forward carefully. I don't deserve to be honored for something I never encountered. This happened before I was born. My father is another story. He almost died on the front lines in Northern Italy against the Germans during WWII. He deserves to be honored as well. Thank you, John Michael Domino

BEYOND D-DAY (Poetry) - 10/30/2014 4:29:40 AM
Oh must have been awful John. Your word effect transports me right there in that hell. Thank God you were saved! Mary

BEYOND D-DAY (Poetry) - 10/30/2014 2:49:18 AM
They were truly The Greatest Generation, and Heroes all. And one of our now departed A.D. members - Georg Mateos - was there at Omaha Beach as well.

BEYOND D-DAY (Poetry) - 10/30/2014 2:47:11 AM
so true

BEYOND D-DAY (Poetry) - 10/30/2014 1:10:05 AM
What a harrowing account, mentally beyond limits. How religion behaved in those days abhors me, people of the same faith killing each other. That one mans account hits home the real trust we need in God, not in phoney men, sick minds, false prophets, but God, the God of love, the God of peace. Thanks for the read of Herbet Becks account.

BEYOND D-DAY (Poetry) - 10/29/2014 4:45:11 PM
My uncle fought the japs. He was marched in the Bataan Death March and was imprisoned in Japan. He was unrecognizable when he came back home. The war unhinged him. He wasn't the same man.

A Direct Encounter With Nazi's (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 5:43:30 PM
Interesting piece of history presented here, great write.

A Direct Encounter With Nazi's (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 10:14:01 AM
thank God for the men and women that stand and defend our freedom and the freedom of others. An excellent tribute to these special people that are always on guard. hug kathy

WHO CARES? (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 9:50:42 AM
I have found that most people dont care what others are doing and dont care to hear about it either. you are so right. He does care and He listens. Great write hug kathy

A Direct Encounter With Nazi's (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 7:04:57 AM
America, only exists on the backs of Veterans, dead or alive! That goes back as far as the American Revolution, July 4, 1776! There has benn to many wars but God will be the final judge! Alleluia. I to am a veteran John and I thank God for you and your buddy Leiutenant Calvan. God bless the military and all Veterans! Peace!!!

A Direct Encounter With Nazi's (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 6:33:06 AM
Very touching. Michael D.

A Direct Encounter With Nazi's (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 2:38:49 AM
We must never take our freedom for granted. Cal and many others were willing to give their LIVES for it. Touching article indeed. Love ya! Jane

A Direct Encounter With Nazi's (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 1:55:45 AM
We should never forget any of our valiant soldiers.

A Direct Encounter With Nazi's (Poetry) - 10/26/2014 6:16:42 PM
Remember it well as I fought there.

A Direct Encounter With Nazi's (Poetry) - 10/26/2014 2:44:23 PM
No, we should never forget. My uncle fought the japs. He survived the Bataan Death March and imprisonment in Japan. He survived, but he was never the same.

A Direct Encounter With Nazi's (Poetry) - 10/26/2014 2:29:38 PM
Let us not forget indeed! Perfect tribute! Kathy J Parenteau

My Friend Vinny “A” (Poetry) - 10/26/2014 10:16:47 AM
Good memories... ...and true friendship is indeed a treasure. Thank you for sharing, John. Love, peace, and blessings to you, Regis

WHO CARES? (Poetry) - 10/26/2014 8:49:48 AM
John~ Beautiful write. Amen! Lady Mary Ann

WHO CARES? (Poetry) - 10/25/2014 2:29:32 PM
Well, I don't care what others do for a living, or vice-versa. If I accept someone as a friend, I accept the person, REGARDLESS of what job he/she does for a living. Friendship SHOULD NOT BE SET ON ANY CONDITIONS. Great poem, John!! Sandie

WHO CARES? (Poetry) - 10/25/2014 9:19:21 AM
It's nice to have someone affirm one's actions. But there are a lot of people out there who like to burst balloons just for the sake of it. On the other hand, assigning some mythical being the responsibility for caring for what you do is like a kid having a imaginary friend. When we grow up, we leave such notions behind. That is, unless we are trapped in a cult, like religion. I think the most important thing that one should do is examine what they are doing and steer toward the right. Regardless of what kind of "job" we do, it's most important that we (not what somebody else thinks) like what we are doing, and face the fact that the primary reason that we are doing what we are doing is to make money… The source of our survival unless we are dependent on others. It's okay just to make money to live… There's really nothing wrong with that… But it's better to be doing what we like to do, regardless of what it pays or what others think. Ron

What Would Mark Twain Say If He Were Alive Today? (Poetry) - 10/25/2014 6:55:42 AM
If Mark Twain were alive today, I bet he would love the jet skis, and he would still lampoon the politicians. You are so right he would hate the political correctness. I wonder if Huck Finn could be written today, but he was one of the first, if not the first, to write in the vernacular. And I think he would love your poem. :)

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.