AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Brad Bathgate, iC Schutter, iFrank Whyte, iRon Cox, iMark Lichterman, iMaryanne Raphael, iBarbara Henry, i
 
Home > Alan Cook
 

Recent Reviews for Alan Cook


Forget to Remember: A Carol Golden Novel (Book) - 2/15/2011 11:21:34 AM
A very intriguing and entertaining mystery, the first I've read by this author, though he has written several books. Alan Cook knows how to engage his readers and keep them guessing. The plot opens with the discovery by a restaurant kitchen worker of a naked bloody body of a female in a dumpster behind the restaurant. There is a slight pulse and she is transported to the hospital. Once she comes back to consciousness, she has amnesia, no memory of either her past or what happened to her. And so the mystery begins. Rigo, who found the girl, feels a need to become her protector and feels responsible for taking care of her once she is released from the hospital. Because he lives with his parents, they invite her to stay with them, she has nowhere else to go and no identity. In fact, because she has amnesia and no one has reported a girl missing, no ID was found at the scene, she has become a non-person. This is significant because as a non-person she can not become a "person", not a citizen of anywhere, no fingerprints on file, she can not get proof of birth, driver's licence, can not travel anywhere, and literally has no record of ever existing. This particular subject of the plot made me wonder how many people in the world are "non-persons" for whatever reason. She decides to go by the name of Carol Golden for the time being. Little by little she comes up with a thought that makes her wonder if it's a memory. Playing a game with Rigo she finds herself thinking in binary and realizes she must have been proficient at math. California doesn't feel right as where she lived, she feels more drawn to the east. I was fascinated with this process in the book. I think Alan Cook was very diligent in dealing with this process. I don't think I found any anachronisms overlooked as hidden memories, that is to say I don't think anything was said or thought of out of context. A few searches for missing people do not turn up any leads, but a friend of Rigo's family has more connections and ideas and locates a possibility in North Carolina. The lawyer for that case sends Carol papers so she can fly out east. However, the missing girl's grandmother says no, this is not Cynthia. A dead end. But she now has a feeling she was recently in England. Especially when she rents a car and finds herself looking for a standard gear shift on her left, and feels she should be driving on the right. Carol is determined to follow her feelings, and follow them she does. With the papers and money the lawyer has supplied her with, she heads to England. Memories begin to become more cohesive though the mystery deepens as she struggles with the fact that her attack was not a one-time thing and she is still very much in danger. Will she find out the truth of her identity? Will she find her attacker or worse, will he find her? Or is he stalking her even now. This book has a lot of interesting detail, the unraveling of the mystery of Carol's identity and the final outcome bring the book to a fast-paced, exciting and surprising conclusion. A well plotted story I really enjoyed.

Honeymoon for Three (Book) - 11/5/2007 6:34:37 PM
HONEYMOON FOR THREE has won a Silver Quill award from the American Author's Association. The award recognizes members' works that demonstrate excellence in their field.

Human Touch, A (Short Story) - 6/1/2013 7:35:04 AM
Yes, A Human Touch is in the same vein as my story, Scanned. We think alike on the matter. I'll have to admit that I couldn't think of a proper way to end the story, so I took a shortcut that some are calling me out on. Perhaps I'll revise the story later to get more action and angst. I really like the aesthetic thrust of your story––perfection. And the ending is a really neat twist. If I could make a suggestion, I think that talking about voice activation is not necessary. Conversationally, Diane could just say, “Omni View, the weather please.” And Jim could say, “ProTechTo Suit, please disengage.” I think the reader would then understand that everything in this world was voice-activated. BTW––if Jim, “turned off his microphone,” then how could he speak to his suit? I think you meant that he turned off his loudspeaker. I'm such a poor reader, that I've only been reading short stories in Playboy (some to great dissatisfaction) over the years. I like your style, and if I ever get away from writing so much, I'll read your other stories. You're right. We both have similar backgrounds and similar taste in fiction. Based on your awards, I would say that I'm not quite up to your speed, yet. Keep cranking them out… Ron

Freeway Exit (Short Story) - 9/23/2012 7:21:05 AM
Very enjoyable and interesting write. I like that it is completely dialog. Donna

Have a Nice Knife (Short Story) - 7/31/2010 1:47:07 AM
interesting read

Hollywood's Burning (Short Story) - 6/13/2009 4:28:48 AM
Good story, Alan; well penned! Love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Good Woman, A (Short Story) - 12/15/2008 7:59:56 AM
wow cool read. i wonder if peg was there for may to. be funny

Murder in Lingerie (Short Story) - 11/20/2008 1:22:23 AM
I loved this.. it's a griping story from beginning to end. Congrats!

Good Woman, A (Short Story) - 11/15/2008 11:42:36 AM
I congratulate you, Alan; a thoroughly enjoyable read with a few very entertaining twists. I look forward to reading more of your work.

Internet Backgammon (8 of 9) Playing the Microsoft Computer Backgammon Prog (Article) - 7/14/2015 10:28:37 AM
You need to download other vendors instead of just playing MCB. You can try Zynga or Backgammon Live- they are free to play- and you can purchase coins. And I can tell you- they will look to blockade you and you will need to create better strategies to win. And Zynga also has tournaments you can play online. Let me know if you join either of those- would love to play- you can sign up using a Facebook login

A Blog on a Blot: Backgammon Anyone? (Article) - 7/14/2015 10:19:02 AM
I will have to read this..I LOVE backgammon and can never find anyone to play- I am forced to play online games- which if anyone has played them- you know you do not control the dice. My Dad was a master strategist (given any game) and he would rock the table. He had people waiting daily- for him to show up for backgammon tournaments and bridge and pinnocle.

Grief: Why Writers Get it Wrong (Article) - 6/13/2015 8:53:16 AM
I tend to agree about television writers. It seems like the more violence and grief they can pack into a TV show to jerk the viewer's emotions around, the better. Probably because it makes for good ratings. Television shows aren't real life, like most novels. And you're right about time, after get grieving over with quick to go on to the next action scene. On the other hand I believe that psychologists and counselors have a hand in prolonging grief and describing grief in long morbid stages in order to keep in business, like any other profession… Tooting their own horn. Recently I've experienced some people going through the grieving process and talking about it way too much, over and over about the same things, and having a hard time getting back to normal. That is not been the case with me. I experience grief when it happens, but only for a very short time. I recognize that tragedy occurs and moping about it doesn't do anyone any good. So, I pick up the pieces quickly and move on, not letting grief drag me down. Ron

A Blog on a Blot: Backgammon Anyone? (Article) - 12/14/2014 9:52:58 AM
Re: Ronald Hull's mention of Hugh Hefner. Hefner once gammoned the world champion backgammon player 5 games in a row.

A Blog on a Blot: Backgammon Anyone? (Article) - 11/2/2014 5:38:56 AM
well said

A Blog on a Blot: Backgammon Anyone? (Article) - 11/1/2014 12:23:39 PM
While I played many games in my youth, I never learned backgammon. Now I find that Solitaire is all that I will attempt. I know one guy who likes to play. Maybe you get him to join you… Hugh Hefner. Ron

Antarctica (Article) - 9/5/2014 5:20:17 AM
Enjoyed this very much.Antarctica is a must do for me,sometime.

Are You Normal? Do You Want to Be? (Article) - 8/14/2014 9:45:06 AM
The way my twin brother wrote it on his AD bio page, he was the "normal one." Or, the other way around, because it could be read both ways. Thanks for your article, I know what he was talking about. Frankly, I hope I'm the "not normal" one because it is me a better chance of being an outstanding writer. After all, history shows that some of the most abnormal people there are have been great writers. People love abnormality because it's not boring. Ron

We Met by Computer Match--in 1964 (Article) - 7/4/2014 4:20:43 AM
enjoyed reading your informative narrative I look forward to reading more of your work. m

Blaze a Trail: Do Something Nobody Else Has Done (Article) - 6/15/2014 7:12:44 AM
Wise advice. I remember my doctoral advisor telling me to make my dissertation "original." The only thing I remember from McBeth is, "Out damn spot!" ;-) Ron

Blaze a Trail: Do Something Nobody Else Has Done (Article) - 6/14/2014 4:38:41 PM
6-14-2014 I Wouldn't Call It Trash Call IT Opinion- Really It Is Typical Of Authorsden... TRASK...

Road Trip (Article) - 6/14/2014 11:33:23 AM
enjoyed the read, my natal state has many wonderful folks and lovely areas, glad you had such a good experience

Antarctica (Article) - 6/14/2014 11:30:21 AM
enjoyed the read

James Bond and Me--and a Few Other People (Article) - 6/14/2014 11:29:07 AM
well done

Blaze a Trail: Do Something Nobody Else Has Done (Article) - 6/14/2014 11:28:13 AM
enjoyed the read

James Bond and Me--and a Few Other People (Article) - 3/24/2014 8:04:24 AM
Congratulations. Checkpoint Charlie was famous in history, but will fade with time unless stories like yours keep it alive. Ron

Women in Business--Breaking the Glass Ceiling (Article) - 9/6/2013 5:44:52 AM
Yes, I remember a few women who broke in during those early days. We had an engineer who would cry sometimes if things didn't go quite her way in staff meetings. The guys didn't know how to deal with it. Since then, I've seen several of my bosses (men) cry––when they lost their jobs for bad behavior and women stand up for the right thing when men made stupid decisions. I've also seen several women develop their own highly successful firms. Unfortunately, one of the most brilliant, a civil engineer and a Berkeley graduate, got hooked on cocaine and ruined her life. But she was an exception. Most of the women leaders I've known, are very levelheaded and strong. Ron

When Fiction Becomes Reality (Article) - 6/24/2013 5:02:47 AM
By looking at trends, we can see seeds of the future everywhere. Some of the events that I've written about in my novels have come true already and others are very close. Technology will move forward with free enterprise motivation and innovation inexorably. I am finding it difficult to imagine the computer technology of as little as 20 years from now. Will it, like air travel, be stalled at the same speed reached in the 1950s having regressed from supersonic flight back to subsonic, or nuclear power having reached fission, never realized fusion as a commercial source. With that in mind, we have to wonder with the power of information technology to both collect and to analyze information, whether or not access to this information should be in political hands of those in power or open to the people. In any event, we're finding out who has no clothes or not. Ron

Chocolate Cake--Grab Your Opportunities (Article) - 2/18/2012 2:55:00 AM
thought provoking article, m

Giving Directions (Article) - 8/22/2011 4:06:57 PM
Enjoyable read. I finished with a grin. Thank you. Janna

Psychology of Panties (Article) - 4/6/2011 7:03:44 AM
Quite a thoughtful observation and one that parallels many of my own recurrent bemusements. The suggestion of something is often far more erotic (and/or of substantial moment) than the actual reality of the causative subject that provokes it, given the nuances of the human mind and the role that creative imagination plays in our perceptions of what holds interest for us or draws our attention in life. I recall that the typical women's one-piece swimsuit of the 50s had what was then called a 'modesty panel' directly in front of the crotch. Back then the thought of what exactly lay behind that mysteriously alluring panel gave me frequent pause for imaginative fantasising. It was the suggestion of something forbidden that posed the attraction, I think, since the sight of an unhidden female crotch is a bit of a disturbing shock at first for someone young in years (I accidentally walked into the bathroom while my mother was showering once, as a child, and it probably scared several years growth out of me! For her part, the shriek of embarrassment she let out simply added to the traumatic impact of that moment). I've always been of the opinion that 'artful concealment' is far more 'sexy' or sensual than something overtly open or openly revealed, but perhaps that is the opinion of an aesthete or someone possessed of an artist's temperament (and not shared equally by most, eh?). I'll be back to sample more of your insightful observations on life! Thanks. Cheers, Kalikiano

Psychology of Panties (Article) - 3/18/2011 2:40:50 PM
Pretty much as I remember it. Those years were really hard on girls, we still were only allowed to take cooking and sewing when I'd much rather have taken woodwork and shop. Change was on the horizon and we were caught between what was before and what was to come, and parents, particularly fathers, had the last word... in fact pretty well all the words. Rock & Roll? Evil. Stay overnight at a friends? No way. I was 19 before I had my first date!! As Charles Dickens once said, "It was the best of times, it was the worst of times". Loved the music & my personal friends (who I still have 50 years later); hated the rules and the fact that my younger brothers had more freedom than I did. Your article brought back both good memories and bad ones. Ah, yes, I remember it well!

Sex, Girls and Me in the Fifties (Article) - 1/30/2011 2:07:44 PM
A lot of girls, Alan...but it sounds like a lot of frustration for a teenage boy. Nowadays if a girl DOESN'T have sex, there's something wrong with her...what a switch.

Amnesia Mystery--The Making of Forget to Remember (Article) - 11/12/2010 6:51:30 PM
Provocative read.

Puzzles, Games and Murder: The Making of Thirteen Diamonds (Article) - 8/1/2010 4:02:40 AM
lovely long life for your mom, your book sounds intriguing

Limericks--Lady from France (Poetry) - 10/29/2013 1:57:56 AM
Those are brilliant limericks on the ladies from France. Loved them. Could not help writing this after reading your brilliant ones. A sweet old lady from France Was in the middle of a solid romance. Her dancing shoes she strapped, But her boyfriend she slapped When he stepped on her toes in a dance.

Librarian (Poetry) - 5/5/2013 5:24:39 PM
I can readily agree that this poem is "a winner." It's rich with metaphors and smoothly flows in a revelation of the perfect librarian. Very enjoyable reading! Connie

Librarian (Poetry) - 4/27/2013 9:52:30 PM
Wonderful, Alan! Great twists and turns in words and thoughts! Erin Elizabeth Kelly-Moen

Librarian (Poetry) - 4/27/2013 11:04:32 AM
The librarian is certainly a winner. My niece is a librarian's librarian, and I'm very proud of her. Ron

Witchcraft (Poetry) - 9/7/2012 3:53:44 PM
VERY NICE!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Witchcraft (Poetry) - 8/29/2012 7:15:11 AM
Delightful! Donna

Witchcraft (Poetry) - 8/27/2012 9:28:46 AM
I do? Whoops! Surely you must be referring to somebody else. And I know, “Don't call me Shirley.” Ron

Mermaid (Poetry) - 5/1/2012 10:32:54 AM
The mermaid is such an unlikely fantasy, for fish and fair maiden juxtapose quite badly, with one end being made of hard shining scales covered with slime and that distinct fishy smell, and the other with a soft complexion of fair hair and beautiful, but not waterproof, eyes. It is the breathing underwater that is the most unbelievable. The source of this myth is probably the dream of a drunken or scurvy ridden sailor. Why we are writing romantic poetry about such a grotesque creature is beyond me. Unless we are writing about a Manatee–they are so cute! Ron

Mermaid (Poetry) - 5/1/2012 2:07:54 AM
We all have our impossible visions/dreams, but they demand acknowledgement...and in this acknowledgement...well 'the ending's yet to tell'.... Enjoyed this alot.. Best wishes, Diana..

Mermaid (Poetry) - 4/30/2012 6:22:15 PM
The rhythm is great and the words are lovely!

Mermaid (Poetry) - 4/30/2012 2:53:52 PM
flawless rhythm and full of appeal!

Poet's Lament (Poetry) - 4/29/2012 5:50:27 PM
Well crafted insightful reflections!

Poet's Lament (Poetry) - 4/28/2012 10:05:23 AM
Excellent poem about poets and their children (poetry). I believe the ones who call themselves poets and do not read poetry cannot possibly be poets nor counted as such, therefore it cannot be that more people are poets than there are people who read poetry. We are poets because we read not just one poet but many in order to write as a reflection of what we read.

Poet's Lament (Poetry) - 4/24/2012 9:55:15 AM
So true. But there is another group. I get googled all the time from students who are looking for a poem to turn in for class. Or they want me to “explain” a poem for them. Thievery is the highest form of flattery, isn't it? Ron

Poet's Lament (Poetry) - 4/23/2012 3:44:37 PM
And in the end, who reads what we write, but maybe other poets who may or may not know it...e

Amy Anne Diane (Poetry) - 3/24/2012 12:08:40 PM
Dr. Strangelove, let me out! Ron

Your Smile (Poetry) - 3/17/2012 3:21:41 PM
This pen is so kewl! It brought a smile that still lingers to my face. Write On!!! Blessed Be~ )O( DragonBlue

Corporal Ed Lincoln, 23rd New York (Poetry) - 8/8/2011 9:43:31 PM
How cool to know of your family's history like this. You must be very proud. I enjoyed this story you shared in this poem.

Can-Can (Poetry) - 8/1/2011 2:42:22 PM
oh what fun! cgmb

Olympians, The (Poetry) - 7/27/2011 3:57:31 PM
Our souls cry out for heroes, let us follow; From chains of hate the imprisoned seek release. Each deity, Athena or Apollo, Will lead us to a world of love and peace. Would that it were so, Alan. A fine tribute. Love and peace, Regis

Can-Can (Poetry) - 7/27/2011 3:55:43 PM
Delightfully clever, Alan. I hope she likes it. Thanks for sharing. Love and peace, Regis

Eyeful (Poetry) - 7/6/2011 9:28:14 AM
Delightful sharing, Alan. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Limericks--Lady from France (Poetry) - 6/10/2011 3:12:49 PM
I love limericks. I think these are great... ...and all of my extended family is from France actually. Thanks, Alan. Love and peace to you, Regis

Limericks--Lady from France (Poetry) - 5/31/2011 8:54:19 AM
An excellent trek into hilarity, Alan. An enjoyable read ... still laughing at the prospect and the mind pictures you've created. Robert

Your Smile (Poetry) - 5/19/2011 9:58:34 AM
Great poem, Alan. I enjoyed it. Bob

Limericks--Lady from France (Poetry) - 5/17/2011 5:20:51 PM
a very busy young lady indeed, this lady from France; great rhythms, Alan, and totally in the spirit of the form. John

Eyeful (Poetry) - 4/18/2011 3:40:39 PM
Truckers have a name for them–they call them, “seat covers.” It's a wonder they stay on the road. Cute write. Always love those eyes-fulls. Ron

Eyeful (Poetry) - 4/18/2011 6:12:57 AM
Oh my I love this sweet man...well done indeed...stay safe and well..Hugss

Hugs (Poetry) - 4/5/2011 10:46:13 AM
Alan, We all need a hug once in a while! Hugs can heal the heart and bring on happiness! Here is a hug for you! Great poem! Chessly

Hugs (Poetry) - 3/29/2011 2:59:51 PM
Indeed sweet man...Hugsssss

Hugs (Poetry) - 3/28/2011 4:43:27 PM
Good one, Alan! John

Hugs (Poetry) - 3/28/2011 4:26:42 PM
cool

Berlin Wall (1961-1989) (Poetry) - 3/7/2011 1:40:08 PM
The shattering of that way spelled the doom for many a government. rege

Risk (Poetry) - 2/17/2011 6:51:08 PM
If you don't compete you can't be beat. I'm afraid that most of my competition has left me behind, but I do my best to compete! I truly enjoy our poems. rege

Holy Summer Day (Poetry) - 2/17/2011 6:48:59 PM
Terrific! Gave me a good laugh! rege

Topless Lass (Poetry) - 2/17/2011 6:47:08 PM
Great! Love it. rege

Old Codger (Poetry) - 2/17/2011 6:45:14 PM
Yes, I think all of this is true rege

Keep on Truckin' (Poetry) - 2/7/2011 10:07:08 AM
It takes a million well-thought thoughts To plan your every move, To visualize your next success For sure, you are in the right ball park with one million, particularly with a person like me who is a slower thinker. rege

Old Codger (Poetry) - 7/5/2010 1:52:41 AM
Really good, Alan !

Old Codger (Poetry) - 7/4/2010 3:59:41 PM
interesting read

Risk (Poetry) - 5/28/2010 5:29:20 PM
especially is its all junk mail ...

Ratings (Poetry) - 4/26/2010 3:39:03 PM
how fun to read alan...i love your humor style

Ratings (Poetry) - 4/24/2010 12:32:49 PM
...AND THE LAST SHALL BE FIRST...AND THE FIRST...NO MORE. GREAT WORK OF HUMOR WHICH REFLECTS ON THE ILLS OF 'RATINGS' WHEN VYING FOR THE NUMBER ONE SPOT TO BE NUMERO UNO. I AM SURE THAT THINGS LIKE THIS REALLY DO GO ON IN THE CORPORATE WORLD TODAY...THEY MAY NOT LITERALLY KILL ONE ANOTHER BUT THE 'GAMES' THAT ARE PLAYED TO GET TO THE TOP CAN DESTROY A PERSON EMOTIONALLY AND FINANCIALLY. WELL DONE AND ENJOYED. THANKS FOR SHARING, LOVE, JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Ratings (Poetry) - 4/24/2010 8:49:02 AM
Alan, Adorable! Gave me a laugh for the day. Thanks. Mary

Your Smile (Poetry) - 3/31/2010 10:12:14 PM
Great. Loved each line of the poetry. I understand how it feels like to experience a sweet smile.

Your Smile (Poetry) - 3/31/2010 9:46:38 AM
Alan, The smile says so much about a person. Lovely write! ~Chessly

Your Smile (Poetry) - 3/31/2010 9:32:58 AM
What a lovely poem. I especially like the ending. Well written and thanks for sharing.

Echo and Narcissus (Poetry) - 3/13/2010 7:38:26 AM
Amazing imagery. So much depth. The words echo in my heart! Starman

Freedom Goes Softly (Poetry) - 2/20/2010 4:58:31 PM
This is absolutely GREAT...but don't expect too may comments...so many are 'carefulwhattheysay'...scared or unable to... or just plain 'don't wanna be outta the box'...thanks for this reminder to those of us with ears that will hear

War (Poetry) - 12/1/2009 4:56:04 AM
There would certainly be a difference in the amount of time it would take to end a war. Us old folks don't have the patience those young'uns have so we'd just have to do the deed and get our butts back home. We have tv to watch and SS to collect. lol Great thoughts here Alan. Lisa

Ace (Poetry) - 11/30/2009 1:00:02 PM
Very good. I enjoyed that. clever insight you have!

War (Poetry) - 11/30/2009 12:58:52 PM
WELL, For a start, there would be soldiers chatting on about incometax-whats new at the lotty-the price of pile cream-the price of fish and chips-and they don't make guns like they used to. lol-lol Great thoughts of you writing a little longer next time please? hurry! Steve Chering

War (Poetry) - 11/30/2009 8:42:36 AM
There would be peace and belching that's the score. Excellent thought provoking piece. GOD BLESS Tony Nerone

Love Thy Neighbor (Poetry) - 11/24/2009 4:12:10 AM
A well written poem.take care and Happy Thanksgiving

Ace (Poetry) - 8/7/2009 1:54:06 PM
YOUR IMAGERY IN THIS WORK IS FANTASTIC...THIS IS VERY WELL DONE. THANKS FOR SHARING AND BLESSINGS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Ode to Dr. Seuss (Poetry) - 8/6/2009 8:29:26 PM
This is precious. I still love Dr. Seuss.

Sweater Girl (Poetry) - 8/6/2009 3:00:08 AM
I enjoy reading this poem,great piece,take care EDWIN

Sweater Girl (Poetry) - 8/5/2009 3:50:27 PM
When a guy sees a girl in a nice sweater, he wonders what is underneath. When a guy sees a girl a something else, he wonders what she'd look like in a nice sweater. Some things might be in sight, but they are probably not in reach. Great write.

Sweater Girl (Poetry) - 8/5/2009 3:14:46 PM
WELL WRITTEN...YOUR POINT WELL SUPPORTED WITH A UNIQUE RHYME SCHEME, GREAT PHRASES AND VIVID IMAGERY. DONE WELL. THANKS FOR SHARING AND BLESSINGS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Mountains (Poetry) - 7/23/2009 11:04:06 AM
A beautifully written poem,take care EDWIN

Mystery Limericks (Poetry) - 7/20/2009 3:41:11 PM
HOW UNIQUE AND WELL DONE! AGATHA CHRISTIE IS MY FAVORITE. THANKS FOR SHARING AND BLESSINGS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Ray Bradbury (Poetry) - 6/29/2009 4:54:07 PM
I hadn't read this one of yours, I love it- Ray Bradbury's book on writing is one of the biggest inspirations for why I write, and the film of "Something Wicked This Way Comes," was another huge inspiration for my writing from childhood, so this poem clicks with me big time :)

Mountains (Poetry) - 6/29/2009 4:50:04 PM
Yes, I see what you mean! This is really well-written, Alan, I am so glad you did decide to post it. Yaaay! :) Nature is such an inspiration, isn't it?

Keep on Truckin' (Poetry) - 6/22/2009 10:26:51 AM
You are so correct in this tightly-written little poem. So many people, be it in writing or something else, have lots of excuses why they can't do things, but your poem sets that straight.

Keep on Truckin' (Poetry) - 6/18/2009 5:02:25 PM
Profoundly sound advice... Be always safe, Karen

Ray Bradbury (Poetry) - 5/28/2009 11:20:07 PM
I do believe he was ahead of his time.... Be always safe, Karen

Ray Bradbury (Poetry) - 5/28/2009 6:42:57 PM
Martian Chronicles ( My Favorite),i.e. He Was Is Not That Far (Out) Off The Final Truth... TRASK

Ace (Poetry) - 4/3/2009 1:53:22 AM
Great poem,I enjoy reading it,excellent work,take care Edwin

Ode to Dr. Seuss (Poetry) - 3/31/2009 1:25:26 PM
And you can read all about on a train or in a plane and they don't need to be smapled Sam I am (unlike green eggs and yham).

Berlin Wall (1961-1989) (Poetry) - 3/31/2009 1:21:18 PM
Thanks for reminding us of those who braved enormous odds to be free and also for reminding us of wonderful day now almost 20 yers ago.

Ace (Poetry) - 3/31/2009 1:16:23 PM
Thank you for this trip into the mind of a young athlete. I've been a sportswriter for almost 20 years and I still don't completely appreciate what these kids have to go through.

Majorette (Poetry) - 3/11/2009 2:44:24 PM
Cute and very lively... Be always safe, Karen

Spaghetti Straps (Poetry) - 3/3/2009 8:39:41 AM
Ah priceless treasures. No matter which name they go by they are always fun. ~W~

Thank You, Mary Quant (for miniskirts) (Poetry) - 3/3/2009 8:37:46 AM
And we can also thank whoever it was that brought in going braless...LOL Walt

Ode to Dr. Seuss (Poetry) - 3/3/2009 8:35:03 AM
Well done. Ted made reading fun for generations of children. But did you know his work was political and always had a message for adults as well? http://www.authorsden.com/visit/viewpoetry.asp?AuthorID=54421&id=235737 Walt

Ode to Dr. Seuss (Poetry) - 3/3/2009 4:00:50 AM
When I was a kid,I used to love reading Dr.Seuss.That was the first time that I was introduced to poetry in terms of his words rhyming.Thank you for this poem as all of us paid homage to Dr.Seuss,take care Edwin

Ode to Dr. Seuss (Poetry) - 3/2/2009 3:21:53 PM
I grew up with Dr. Suess and the Cat in the Hat Book series. He will be missed, but his works will forever live in the young at heart. Susan

L.A. Lifeguard (Poetry) - 3/1/2009 7:50:26 PM
Exciting! Loved the details that gave life to the scene. Connie

Screen Door (Poetry) - 3/1/2009 7:46:39 PM
I loved this from the word go; I was hooked by the slamming of the screen door. (I think ours was even green like yours!) You portray carefree youth so vividly, sweat included. Sometimes I think memories make the world go round. Connie

Berlin Wall (1961-1989) (Poetry) - 3/1/2009 7:42:01 PM
An amazing, long-prayed-for day! Your commemorative poem is full of life and longing, and then the victory! Thanks for sharing. Connie

Ode to Dr. Seuss (Poetry) - 3/1/2009 7:16:24 PM
This was fun and brought back memories...and I got to tell you that I envy you to a degree, I would love to walk more though my back would scream in pain and I would be out of breath in a hundred yards, but every now and then I still try...If I had someone to walk with it might be easier, other than my dog who is not very helpful, he stops when I stop...;-) Ed

Berlin Wall (1961-1989) (Poetry) - 2/24/2009 3:57:54 AM
Great poem,take care Edwin

Thank You, Mary Quant (for miniskirts) (Poetry) - 2/16/2009 2:38:57 AM
Thank you for sharing this information.I enjoy reading it,take care Edwin

Spaghetti Straps (Poetry) - 2/16/2009 2:36:32 AM
A well written poem,take care Edwin

Spaghetti Straps (Poetry) - 2/14/2009 5:03:40 PM
...would slide it down, revealing priceless treasures? Yes, I hope so.

Thank You, Mary Quant (for miniskirts) (Poetry) - 2/8/2009 6:34:07 PM
My mom would not let me wear them!! Glad you enjoyed them.

L.A. Lifeguard (Poetry) - 1/25/2009 11:17:21 PM
Hi Alan We owe so much to these wonderful volunteers. Thanks for your poem. Cheers! Liz

L.A. Lifeguard (Poetry) - 1/25/2009 7:48:52 PM
Alan, Just goes to show you a woman can be beautiful and a heroine! Enjoyed your write. Mary

Screen Door (Poetry) - 1/11/2009 6:47:50 AM
A great poem you have done,very well written,take care Edwin

Screen Door (Poetry) - 1/10/2009 7:31:14 PM
Well written of past childhood memories! I would love to hear my mama calling me to come in and do my homework.. Carefree writing of simple memories.

Minotaur, The (Poetry) - 12/20/2008 10:14:36 PM
WOW, now this was some work to pull off, I'm sure, excellent writing...I had to read this because I have written a novella about the Minotaur, but I am weird, I always feel sorry for him :) I enjoy your writings alot.

Olympians, The (Poetry) - 12/20/2008 10:12:21 PM
This is really well-written, tying facts with praise and good rhyme and beat, you made what could have been a boring topic if done wrong, to a beautiful one done right.....and, I love the Athena reference, she has always been my favorite goddess :)

Olympians, The (Poetry) - 12/18/2008 6:43:58 PM
An excellent poem that you wrote.I enjoy reading it.The Olympics is one of the greatest events in sports where everybody from all races,colors,creed and ethnicity come together as one in peace and harmony.take care Edwin

Minotaur, The (Poetry) - 11/20/2008 1:42:33 PM
Out of mythology and the ages! Fantasticly mesmerizing piece... Be always safe, Karen

Aphrodite, Pan and Eros (Poetry) - 11/8/2008 9:56:06 AM
This is a very good poem,I enjoy reading it,take care Edwin

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.