AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: T.W. Fendley, iSage Sweetwater, iWilliam Guy, iLannah Sawers-Diggins, iMartyn Kinsella-Jones, iIsabella Koldras, iBeverly Scott, i
 
Home > Flying Fox AKA Ted L Glines
 

Recent Reviews for Flying Fox AKA Ted L Glines


The Marian Story (Short Story) - 7/5/2009 6:54:38 PM
TED - WELL DONE! IN-JUSTICE SUCKS! MAY YOUR REPORT GET HER AN APPEAL! TOM.

The Marian Story (Short Story) - 7/5/2009 8:42:09 AM
An important story to get out there, and very nicely written. Unfortunately, there is no real "Justice." It is an unachievable ideal that human beings have created in our minds. We, and the court system and societies, are too flawed and biased, to ever find something as precious and rare as balanced scales. I think your illustration is very typical, and representative of the lack of justice, the need for convictions and punishments rather than truths. I feel badly for Marian, and it's sad about her son. I hope she will be on the outside as quickly as possible. It seems that she is a good, trusting person.

The Marian Story (Short Story) - 7/4/2009 11:26:15 AM
Thanks Ted. Very well done. I'm so sorry to hear about your friend. Too many people are lured by "creeps" on the internet. Cyber space can sometimes be a nasty place to hang around. Nancy

The Marian Story (Short Story) - 7/4/2009 2:04:36 AM
To ad to the end of this story and maybe to give "Marian" some consolation, I lost 21.400.000 U$S because I didn't send 3.750 U$S to another "George" Georg

The Marian Story (Short Story) - 7/3/2009 3:05:48 PM
Dear Ted, You wrote this so well that you had me savoring each word. Our legal system is a mess. Had Marian been wealthy she never would have been coerced into signing that statement. The right lawyer (expensive) wouldn't have allowed it. Those letters from Nigeria are rampant on the Intenet. I've received several but never read them, but hit "Delte". I think from now on I'll copy the properties also (required for them to investigate) and forward any I receive to the fraud section of the sender's Email. I go by the old adage, "If it seems too good to be true, it probably is." I feel so sorry for Marian. And her poor son will be without his mother and not ever really understand what happened. You missed your calling my friend; you should be a reporter for a news magazine.

The Marian Story (Short Story) - 7/3/2009 11:39:09 AM
This is indeed a sad story and I can understand someone falling for such a scam. I also spoke with a lady who was involved with a similar scam a few years ago. There is no crime so heinious that is committed under the guise of love. fee

The Marian Story (Short Story) - 7/3/2009 9:42:30 AM
A sad tale with a cautionary message, Ted; powerfully penned! BRAVO! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :(

Telemarketers (Short Story) - 6/15/2009 3:11:47 PM
BREAKING NEWS: The telemarketing industry collapsed today, sending more than 300,000 annoying career-callers to the unemployment and welfare lines. Millions of people who were too busy griping about telemarketers to sign up for the National Do-Not-Call List are smiling today, but experts believe tomorrow those smiles will turn to frowns when they realize their tax dollars are going to feed more than a quarter-million idiots who can't find employment elsewhere.

Animal Welfare (Short Story) - 4/4/2009 3:46:43 AM
You should have make acquittance with my heavy and furry Virginia, (I supposed it was a she because her bad temper every 28 days) a tarantula that lived with me for two years (let her go in Panama's jungle) She had my office room clean from flies, mosquito, and any intruder which would see her ready to jump. But your story, hilarious as it is, mention a 3 trillion bail out, you think I will qualify? after all, I had a spider! Georg

Animal Welfare (Short Story) - 4/3/2009 6:03:21 PM
hah--very clever!

Animal Welfare (Short Story) - 4/3/2009 12:33:08 PM
Oh my goodness, what a good laugh here Ted. Love it. Hugs, J'nia

Animal Welfare (Short Story) - 4/3/2009 10:19:34 AM
HA! Happens to me all the time. It wouldn't be so bad but them I get sores on my tongue. LOL! Like the article. God Bless, Lew

Animal Welfare (Short Story) - 4/3/2009 9:24:37 AM
LOL Yea I can see why that would happen...good article. Fee

Conclusion (Short Story) - 3/30/2009 9:14:30 PM
well done

Conclusion (Short Story) - 3/30/2009 12:46:28 PM
This write is Ted Glines at his very best. You brought up a point no one has touched on before and that being that our morality would cause us to hesitate and thus become a victim. There's nothing lacking in my morality, I believe what the Good Book teaches: we have a right to protect ourselves, our families and our property, and I doubt that I'd hesitate. Threaten me or mine and they'll meet my double-barrel and my hands won't be trembling. I would react without thinking. Oops, finger slipped, sorry your dead! I'm proud to call you friend Ted. Write on! Marcia

Conclusion (Short Story) - 3/29/2009 4:28:04 PM
A hard-hitting write. Well done.

Conclusion (Short Story) - 3/29/2009 5:49:29 AM
TED - WELL DONE - I concur with you and all the other comments too. Where is JOHN RAMBO when you need him? Where indeed? SPECIAL FORCES - MARTIAL LAW - I have espoused this conclusion also - TROOPS --> out of Iraq & Afghanistan --> into U.S. Border & Cities ... BLACK SHEEP - BAD GUYS - BULLIES - GANG-BANGERS - DOPE-PUSHERS - ILLEGAL ALIEN CRIMINALS --- BANG BANG - YOU'RE DEAD !!! NO IFS, NO ANDS, NO BUTS - NO QUARTERS - DEAD !!! SEMPER FI - TOM.

Conclusion (Short Story) - 3/28/2009 5:45:58 AM
Sheeplike, our people remain in those cities and are afraid, even as they defend gun rights. We reap what we sow, my friend. Several years ago, in their great wisdom, and because powerful gun lobbyist groups insisted, the Assault Rifle ban, was lifted. Owning a gun was not enough for many Americans, they needed and wanted and thought they deserved, assault rifles, too. Now, all the gangs and criminal elements have them; our police forces now have to carry them to 'keep up' and they are sold to those drug dealers south of the border, in exchange for their ever in demand products. It is indeed a pity that we have let it come to this; and no matter what, we will always reap what we sow.

Conclusion (Short Story) - 3/27/2009 5:15:24 PM
Sad to see what others couldn't do with iron curtains, walls and barbed wire we are doing to ourselves. Fee

Conclusion (Short Story) - 3/27/2009 1:45:36 PM
The sheep need the guardian dogs to defend them. Guardian dogs as returning Special Forces dudes that were Honorably Discharged and send to live the unemployeds life. Those men don't hesitate, in a blink of an eye they will put down any macho ganger faster that the gangsters can pee on their pants. No Miranda Escobedo, no "freeze!" no "stop or I shoot!" like the man said above, bang-bang-youre-dead. No Internals Affairs to tell you if it was a good shooting or a bad one over the carcase of the perp. You want to bear arms and hurt people? here comes really bad asses that lived all the tricks thrown by real bad people, not by wannabes Capones only confronted by the beat cop. For once, let some real people take a shot to those "ghetto gangstah" I could corral fifty of them to clean the LA air from that putrid social cancer. The Colonel

Conclusion (Short Story) - 3/27/2009 11:06:34 AM
Now is the time to stand together and scream at the top of our lungs: "ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! NO MOR!!!!" (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Burleson, Tx., Karen Lynn. :( Some bad weather may be headed y'all's way; stay safe and be careful!

Conclusion (Short Story) - 3/27/2009 9:18:39 AM
All excellent points. All too true. We are far too complacent. We put up with too much. "Sheep" one of the dummest animals on the face of the earth. And we like sheep have all gone astray. I'm in favour of capitol punishment. And the money saved by executing the _____s instead of putting them up in prison hotels where they get exercise, excellent food, medical care, a university education, access to internet and golf, can you believe it???? should then be placed in the hands of their victims and their families. It wasn't that long ago when the 2 cent solution worked wonders to eliminate scum and the bullet was paid for by the ______' family. When can we vote on that?

Tiptoe Through the Tulips (Short Story) - 3/27/2009 7:21:15 AM
One fellow, while gazing at the stars, asked the guy standing next to him if he thought there was intelligent life out there. The other responded, "I don't think there is any intelligent life down here." I enjoyed this rant immensely. Thank you, J'nia

Tiptoe Through the Tulips (Short Story) - 3/26/2009 10:38:04 AM
Gotta love it and the fact that Tiny was such a hit from being ugly and unable to sing...yea I say ET's would have to be more advanced. Fee

Tiptoe Through the Tulips (Short Story) - 3/26/2009 9:29:51 AM
ET, I prefer Spilberg version of ET, he can do it with one finger, isn't that cool? I tried once and god a slap in my face! Advance, progress et all, the schmucks printed that words, don't mean nothing, its a replacement for confidence job, the sting, the nutshell game, the bailout, if you don't know by now who are "they" you certainly have come from another planet more retarded than the one you landed a few thousand years back. Life accord to CNN, you most be kidding, that's saying that Turner should be sanctified and we should pardon Hanoi Jane for her faux-de-pas with that anti-American-fly-machines bang-bang ! Oh my God! I am still writing? Georg

Violence and Drugs (Article) - 3/17/2009 3:10:33 PM
Your right, Ted. Troops are for guarding boarders to prevent invasion. I guess if you know that you are band from serving in our government. As far as drugs are concerned...."Sweets for the sweet and dope for the dopes...they don't call it dope for nothing."

Violence and Drugs (Article) - 3/15/2009 9:17:15 PM
Wipe Out Gangs,i.e. We Have 780 Illegals Mexicanos Gangs =Over 185,000 Gang Bangers Rule Streets Los Angelese Sleazy Mexifornia--DEPORT SATANS S O B s.... TRASK

Violence and Drugs (Article) - 3/15/2009 6:44:35 PM
TED - WELL SAID, LAD ... I wrote about this same concept, several years ago - bring our troops home - let them stand, shoulder-to-shoulder, guarding the Mex border - WHILE & UNTIL A WALL IS COMPLETED! Let them ASSIST the local Police in every major city to WIPE OUT GANGS - besides Charity beginning at Home - so does Safety & Justice! Peace - Tom.

Violence and Drugs (Article) - 3/15/2009 7:14:38 AM
Glad you made these points. Agree with them all. We have a similar problem here, sans other countries hating us, but the gangs and drugs and apathy of our youth is frightening, so close to our door as well. Many cheer when one gang member kills another gang member and on it goes but there are innocent people who get caught in the crossfire. As you know, there are no easy answers to these problems. But please bring your soldiers home, and return your county to its formal glory. Sincerely, J'nia

Violence and Drugs (Article) - 3/15/2009 6:47:47 AM
Can we ask President Obama (after the 100 days moratorium) what will be his stand to clamp to the drugs tsars and politicians which everybody knows but that the "law" demands proff. Can we have our own hit-men ans start to clean the landscape? and be damn the "law" that the lawless are trampling? can we for once play by the same no-rules as they do? Georg

Violence and Drugs (Article) - 3/15/2009 6:15:32 AM
It is so scary, apparently its taking over Phoenix and other cities will be next...Why can't we stop it? This is all we need right now...thanks for the article Ted...love, Bonnie

Violence and Drugs (Article) - 3/15/2009 3:43:26 AM
sounds like a definate plan that should be seriously explored for you make a real statement in the fact that wehave our own wars going on at home with not enough resources to handle it. Fee

2nd Amendment Rights (Article) - 3/13/2009 9:01:08 AM
TED - very poignant article! Many valid points expressed by all below - but I have always believed that our society and government have missed the boat. Somebody once started the propaganda that Capital Punishment is NOT a deterrent to crime - this is pure BULL-CRAP! Each and every - loser - miscreant - murderer - rapist - child abuser - sex deviant - has NO FEAR - NOTHING TO LOSE - especially 2 and 3 time losers. Jail is like a hard-core training ground to make them tougher, hate society more, and have more desire to seek revenge - if and when they ever get out again, or escape! We have all heard it a million times - GUNS DON'T KILL PEOPLE - CRIMINALS DO! The ONLY deterrent that guarantees that an animal who killed an innocent human being will never ever do it again is - D-E-A-T-H !!! If it were up to me, executions would be NATIONALLY TELEVISED! Why should our taxpayer dollars be totally wasted on Feeding, Housing, Clothing, Educating, and stupidly believing in Rehabilitation of MAD DOGS! At least They get PUT TO SLEEP! The Laws on the books, the REVERSE protection of criminals, instead of VICTIMS is totally asinine! Anybody with any sense KNOWS that many, many Police Officers even carry 'DROP KNIVES' for their own protection in dealing with - CRAZIES - DOPE FIENDS - ROBBERS - and other GOOF-BALLS! How many times have you watched how many movies - and tried to COUNT the bullets expended? A revolver, or six-shooter that miraculously fires 8-10-12 -14 shots? A 9 Millimeter, or Automatic pistol with a max clip of 12 that produces 20-30 -40 rounds? And amazingly - NONE of all those so-called EX-PURTS can hit the side of a barn, let alone the target criminal? Pure Hollywood BS Fantasy! Unless an Owner of a weapon is some kind of Specialist - there is no good reason on God's green earth for any private citizen to own - an AK-47 - OUZO - TOMMY-GUN - ROCKET-LAUNCHER - ELEPHANT GUN - HIGH-POWERED RIFLE - TANK-PIERCING AMMO - TRACER BULLETS - DUM-DUMS - GRENADES - LAND MINES - and all the other weapons of WAR! They should ALL be BANNED! The Manufacturers themselves - the WARMONGERS - should be put in JAIL for making an illegal fortune selling them! For Decades they have been reaping huge profits - are we to WAIT until they have a "BAD YEAR" and then BAIL THEM OUT? My personal recommendation? The Government should supply every household with a FREE Electric or Pneumatic NAIL GUN - a trespasser enters your home illegally - literally NAIL HIM TO A WALL! A couple hundred rapid-fire 5-10- or 20 PENNY NAILS just might be a good deterrent! PEACE - BUT, DON'T MESS WITH ME !!! Tom.

2nd Amendment Rights (Article) - 3/12/2009 9:54:55 AM
The incident you refer to on Bellflower Blvd. in Long Beach, CA goes on everywhere unfortunately. There are entire communities across the country where the residents are afraid to be outdoors in their own front yards. The Bible teaches that we have a right to protect ourselves. It's a personal decision as to whether you would use one against another human being if you needed to. It's a complex subject you bring up my friend and it has been for a long time. I believe it's one having no answer except your own beliefs. Humans have killed other humans since the beginning of time. If anyone were to threaten me or my family I'm prepared to defend and will leave it at that. You sure stirred the pot with this one my dear friend.

2nd Amendment Rights (Article) - 3/12/2009 8:30:36 AM
I am not sure of the right number but I have heard of a eight millions plus of illegal guns around, and millions of rounds (some Talon Cops Killer) metal jacket, dum-dums, you name it they have it, sometimes the cops are greater in numbers but out-gunned by the baddies arsenal. An ex-Marine in no-guns-Sweden (the baddies are murdering each other and killing policemen) prays that not baddie should try to break through his solid steel front door, if he does he will be kissing the Devil's feet after departing from no-guns-Sweden. Georg

2nd Amendment Rights (Article) - 3/12/2009 8:00:26 AM
This is just off the top of my head Ted, but I'm thinking that if the bad guys knew that all the good guys had guns too, they'd perhaps think twice about accosting the innocent. You make some very good points here. something to ponder upon for a good while. Blessings, J'nia

2nd Amendment Rights (Article) - 3/12/2009 7:53:21 AM
Another bumper sticker that echos my feeling reads: "I'll keep my guns You keep the change"

2nd Amendment Rights (Article) - 3/12/2009 5:58:58 AM
Its writes like this that make me want poets in office....love and hugs, Bonnie

2nd Amendment Rights (Article) - 3/12/2009 5:13:29 AM
John Martin makes a valid case for citizen gun-ownership. It should work as well for Americans as it does for the Swiss. However, in most American States, a citizen is not permitted to use lethal force in self-defense, and that makes gun-ownership pointless as an element of self-protection. Here in Texas, I believe I am allowed to use lethal force to kill someone who is attempting to kill me -- as long as the police find the cadaver inside my own home. So, if someone wants to kill me (not likely on the worst of days), I must invite them into my home before I can kill them. Erm ... that is not an acceptable program for me. When I lived in east Los Angeles (even the LAPD is afraid to go in there), I saw all sorts of assault weapons, none of them registered, in the hands of gang-members. We are hearing of drug-wars in Mexico, close to our border and crossing the border, and their guns came from the United States because of our non-existent gun-sales regulations. In essence, the United States is supplying the weapons needs of the drug cartels and the terrorists we say that we are fighting. This is because our laws are antiquated and severely out of balance with reality. Personally, my own morality says that killing other people, and even killing other creatures, is wrong. I wish there had never been any need to invent assault weapons of any kind. I truly understand the Swiss need to arm themselves seriously because they have been stomped on by foriegn invaders in the past (THAT won't happen again!) but their situation cannot be equated to any potential happening in America, except for the criminal threat we are seeing growing in our own inner cities. We cannot rely on the survivalist militias of Montana to correct the problem that we see throughout the inner cities of America. And we certainly cannot rely on the NRA to sponsor controls of gun sales to criminals, gang members, and terrorists. So, what is the real answer, here?

2nd Amendment Rights (Article) - 3/12/2009 4:48:48 AM
As a Canadian we unfortunately at times I think, do not have this rule. We do have strict gun control laws for as you say the law abiding citizens but as I discovered myself I can cross the border at NB and Maine purchase a gun there and they will deliver it across the border for me. Myself I do not think gun registration works, the answer I feel is stricter penalties for anyone committing a crime with a weapon whether it be a 22 hunting rifle or an assault rifle...mandatory jail time for a period of not less than five years. Fee

2nd Amendment Rights (Article) - 3/12/2009 3:59:12 AM
By Law every Swiss Citizen has a fully automatic Assault Rifle in their home. Their murder rate is zip compared to The U.S. with all of it's gun laws. In the meantime, there are more real Assault weapons in the hands of gang members then probably the whole 82nd Airborne Division has. The clear and obvious entention of our forefathers for proventing the government from banning gun ownership was to allow for personal and property protection, and also overthrow an armed tyranical government should one get a foot hold in our country. Illegal guns cross our boarders, which we no longer protect every day. If someone does go nuts with a gun, then sane people should have guns to protect themselves, just as our forefathers intented.

Read - Virus Alert (Article) - 2/20/2009 8:15:11 AM
Thank you for the warning. I will pass it on. Blessings, J'nia

Read - Virus Alert (Article) - 2/20/2009 7:41:33 AM
Thanks for the warning, Ted. I'll watch it. God Bless, Lew

Read - Virus Alert (Article) - 2/20/2009 5:44:54 AM
I never ever open anything that is coming from an unknown source, I just it the panic button Delete Forever. We should have a boomerang program to send back to sender harmful virus, better yet, the address of the jerk given to a suitable crazy demolition dude that love to see people go BANG! ! ! Georg

Read - Virus Alert (Article) - 2/20/2009 5:09:31 AM
So sorry to hear this happened while you were searching for midi music, Ted.

Read - Virus Alert (Article) - 2/20/2009 4:56:17 AM
I don't go anywhere, or open any mail from someone I don't know. Hopefully, that way I'm safe. Those that create viruses to wreck lives of others ... get a rope. GRRRRRRRR (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Read - Virus Alert (Article) - 2/20/2009 1:51:24 AM
Thanks for heads up and info Ted will definately keep eye open for it. Fee

Networking For You (Article) - 2/8/2009 3:16:31 PM
So true, we all need coverage and the more we get the more likely we are to get published. Fee

Networking For You (Article) - 2/8/2009 1:49:15 PM
Nobody will accuse you of not being informative, although, lambs out there should be very very careful because above you is a Flying Fox! Georg

Networking For You (Article) - 2/8/2009 10:32:34 AM
You are our leader and we follow you each step you take for we know you will not lead us astray...Thank you Ted for all you do...love and hugs, Bonnie

4th of July (Poetry) - 8/17/2012 4:30:22 AM
Loved Loved Loved it!

Aquarius (Poetry) - 10/13/2010 5:23:27 PM
bravo, ted! i have long held the view that population control is the only viable solution for what ails dear Mother Earth; 100 years of zero human birth is a tall, but crucial, solution. best wishes, carolyn

4th of July (Poetry) - 12/17/2009 6:09:02 PM
points wellmade in this poem, good. Les

By Myself (Poetry) - 7/14/2009 5:36:51 AM
Great job Ted. I agree that being alone doesn't mean being lonely. I love my own company! Anna

4th of July (Poetry) - 6/24/2009 12:48:17 PM
Very well put, Ted. We need to remember the sacrifices those people made, their eloquence (especially since we are writers), and the deprivations they were willing to suffer. When will despots ever learn that suppression is not the effectuve way to govern. As evidence of this, we each need to offer a prayer for the poor souls in Iran while we celebrate our own freedom.......Jerry

4th of July (Poetry) - 6/21/2009 1:35:58 PM
Enjoyed :)

4th of July (Poetry) - 6/19/2009 6:38:22 PM
Thank you for sharing Ted, hope you have a wonderful celebration as I head over to the Seniors home with a cake decorated as the Canadian flag for Canada Day July 1st. Newfie Hugs, Rose

4th of July (Poetry) - 6/19/2009 8:38:17 AM
King George III put taxes on our tea...... And Congress has been taxing everything since then. ~W~

4th of July (Poetry) - 6/17/2009 5:31:55 PM
TED - WELL DONE LADDIE - AND INFORMATIVE TOO! THANKS FOR SHARING ... AND CARING ... TO DO SO! TOM.

4th of July (Poetry) - 6/17/2009 2:07:59 PM
Ted, My second favorite holiday, next to Christmas - well done! Have a happy, safe 4th - (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. Gonna be hot as a firecracker, if the current weather pattern is any indication -

4th of July (Poetry) - 6/17/2009 10:38:42 AM
And a Happy Fourth of July to you, too, Friend, God bless, Lew

4th of July (Poetry) - 6/17/2009 6:44:02 AM
Ted, always look forward to what you post, and this meets all expectations. Well done! Cheers, Dan

4th of July (Poetry) - 6/17/2009 6:16:15 AM
Would have loved to have seen all that tea adrift in the harbor. Enjoyed this write. J'nia

4th of July (Poetry) - 6/17/2009 3:55:26 AM
Great writing, Ted; well penned! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D Have a "bangin' good" Fourth of July!!

4th of July (Poetry) - 6/17/2009 2:52:32 AM
Long time no see you Foxy One Kenobee, and with a fourth of July petard not less. Well done. Georg

Sleepy Little Town (Poetry) - 6/15/2009 11:24:24 PM
super verse to ponder, there are less nuts in smaller towns, a little more wide open spaces to enjoy

By Myself (Poetry) - 6/15/2009 11:20:35 PM
right on Ted, I'm a lone ranger and proud of it, sometime the group can be a pain, great down to earth verse, take care

By Myself (Poetry) - 6/11/2009 8:47:22 PM
Thank you, good friends. Perhaps it is the process of empathy which creates the "loner" for he gains his enjoyment from the pleasures and successes experienced by those around him. Not at all self-centered, the true [and happy] loner is totally others-centered, and life [like you] is very precious :-)

By Myself (Poetry) - 6/9/2009 8:19:37 PM
TED - WELL DONE! ME - MYSELF - AND I - A POWERFUL TRIO! TOM.

By Myself (Poetry) - 6/9/2009 6:40:16 AM
I have no clue what its like...being one of 16, and having my crew...I could only imagine! Besides, even when alone, I feel I'm surrounded...*twilight zone music enters* Hi Tedders! Love and PEace~ Kimmy~

By Myself (Poetry) - 6/8/2009 1:15:27 PM
There's a significant difference between being alone and being lonely. You've covered it well in this keeper of a poem Ted. As a loner myself I attest to that. Hugs, Marcia

By Myself (Poetry) - 6/8/2009 6:56:39 AM
Hi FF, I have to agree with Georg's comment! and Fee's! Thank you for sharing this... it speaks loudly... :] In Spirit, Bear

By Myself (Poetry) - 6/8/2009 3:10:36 AM
Some people can build a world of their own and live the loners life of fantasy.

By Myself (Poetry) - 6/8/2009 2:42:23 AM
One can be a loner surrounded by a million people, which is more better than be accompanied in life by, for no reason, hateful people. Georg

By Myself (Poetry) - 6/7/2009 9:28:43 PM
The amazing part of being a loner is that it is often deceiving to those who don't know us for we may seem to be always in a crowd but in reality we waltz alone. Great write and welcome home. Fee

By Myself (Poetry) - 6/7/2009 8:36:02 PM
Was for the most part an only child, Apparently that made me quite a bit wild, But someone had to be, all else were mild, Usually started trouble, sat back and smiled...;-) Ed

By Myself (Poetry) - 6/7/2009 7:57:57 PM
love this! I have always been a loner and have often resented that folks assumed i was lonely or unhappy

By Myself (Poetry) - 6/7/2009 7:38:13 PM
Ted!!!!!!! Welcome back, OH! Have I missed you, your razor-clawed wit. :) Good thing we've learned to play by ourselves, eh? Well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. And that Raptor ain't sleepin', he's bidin' his time ... when you least expect it, WHAM! LOL

By Myself (Poetry) - 6/7/2009 7:10:55 PM
Good one, Ted; nice to see you here! I've missed you; welcome back! Well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Sleepy Little Town (Poetry) - 5/20/2009 5:01:27 AM
ok I am feeling the errie feel of a silent onlooker for sure! I also love how you took the poem from the visual of a litle town into another element & the music fits it perfectly Embraced~Embrassé Vickie

In My Life (Repost) (Poetry) - 5/20/2009 4:04:35 AM
"I saw such goals as where the dreaming stops" ...I will never stop dreaming either. It took me 50 years to find out who I am, and I love me. Great job, as usual,Ted. A true fan, Nancy

Sleepy Little Town (Poetry) - 5/4/2009 12:00:53 AM
Ted, your words paint a portrait of their own! I, too have lived in both small and large towns...I'll take the small any day!

Sleepy Little Town (Poetry) - 4/18/2009 8:21:45 PM
Ted, first let me tell you, this painting by Munch has always fascinated me. I saw the original at the Met in NYC, and I had to have a print. It is on my wall in my bedroom. Your poem sets the mood of the painting. You captured it quite nicely. Much peace, love, and light, Amber "V"

Sleepy Little Town (Poetry) - 4/18/2009 11:00:51 AM
First, nice "X-Files" music. Think there is much to be said for small towns and big cities, two different ways of living. I have lived in both and still prefer the small town atmosphere.... Be always safe, Karen

Sleepy Little Town (Poetry) - 4/18/2009 7:07:13 AM
Ted, An excellent write of small towns, the good and the bad - used to be one knew their neighbors. Not anymore ... well done. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Sleepy Little Town (Poetry) - 4/17/2009 7:41:16 AM
What evil lurks in the smiles of a clown? could it be a chance to take advantage of a sleeping town? This would make a great folk tune. God bless, Lew

Sleepy Little Town (Poetry) - 4/17/2009 6:48:33 AM
Hey, you talkin 'bout my town? You capture the sweet essence of many a small town and so delightfully too. As I read each phrase and each line I walked along side you down the main street of several small burbs I've been fortunate enough to reside in. Thank you for the trip. J'nia

Sleepy Little Town (Poetry) - 4/17/2009 2:50:22 AM
Oh my,this is wonderful dear man..stay safe and well..Hugss

Sleepy Little Town (Poetry) - 4/17/2009 2:47:46 AM
Born & raised in a small town, I know the feelings this write imparts, even though its fiction, its not in reality fictitious...ed

Sleepy Little Town (Poetry) - 4/17/2009 1:36:06 AM
Edward Munch give me the creeps! (now I said it!) Take San Francisco against Sausalito, Big Town-Little Town, the folk in the little town, any little town will tell you that "no way" they would go to a big-town, from a place where organized crime is only found on the scales out of whack in the food-store/post office/barber-shop owned by the Sheriff brother. Georg

Sleepy Little Town (Poetry) - 4/16/2009 6:40:50 PM
eerie--well written!

Sleepy Little Town (Poetry) - 4/16/2009 6:21:27 PM
Ahhh, the pen of a master poet streaks through the night leaving an indelible mark. This is one of your best Ted. Hugs, Marcia

Mrs. Robinson (Poetry) - 3/24/2009 8:42:20 AM
Sad and poignant write, Ted. The song and the movie have always been a favorite of mine.

Mrs. Robinson (Poetry) - 3/22/2009 3:52:31 PM
a haunting song, for sure-well expressed

Mrs. Robinson (Poetry) - 3/20/2009 9:47:54 AM
Ted, a great little poem about love and love lost. Cheers, Dan

Mrs. Robinson (Poetry) - 3/20/2009 7:17:13 AM
Such a sad bittersweet world is that of those who loved and lost and found themselves alone in an unforgiving world where the best to hope for is a quiet and painless death. Fee

Mrs. Robinson (Poetry) - 3/20/2009 6:22:23 AM
I've always liked that song, too, and I like your sad poem.

Mrs. Robinson (Poetry) - 3/20/2009 6:11:33 AM
Quickened my pulse and stabbed my heart. Very well penned. Blessings, J'nia

Mrs. Robinson (Poetry) - 3/20/2009 6:01:37 AM
Oh, this one gets you right in the heart, Ted - effectively, beautifully, poignantly penned. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Mrs. Robinson (Poetry) - 3/20/2009 5:46:53 AM
Writing to parent of my dead soldiers was hard, trying to convey our feelings and spare theirs with well intensional lies about his dead, always momentaneous and painless. But what one could say to the love ones of the war mauled body of a soldier alive(?) which are going home? Some will have "that" smile as they wait to die. Georg

La Bamba (Poetry) - 3/20/2009 5:43:17 AM
TED - THANK YOU - A SWEET MEMORY! Maybe next time i'll try this tune at karaoke ... tom.

The Sting (Poetry) - 3/19/2009 4:32:43 PM
You got it. What happened to "Be still, and know that I am God." Every person owes it to take time in solitude and thought to know what really is--you make a solid admonition....Jerry

Aquarius (Poetry) - 3/19/2009 4:29:09 PM
Well done, Ted, and as you say, we are biodegradable. I write frequently that our dominion infers the responsibility and privilege of stewardship upon us, but we seldom choose to follow that. To talk about it is beating the air with a futile tongue when dollars get in the way...Jerry

La Bamba (Poetry) - 3/19/2009 4:26:49 PM
Ted, Just gorgeous, brings back a flood of memories, lovely memories of more positive, innocent times. Thank you so much for this. John

La Bamba (Poetry) - 3/19/2009 4:24:49 PM
A lift to the heart in poetry, very fun, Ted. I was a Valens fan. I have a friend by the same name as I am, Jerry Engler, who was born Jerry Englert. He's an old rock and roll singer who played with Buddy Holly, and had to read about the plane wreck in the newspaper. If you look under my name on Google, you can also see about him...Jerry

La Bamba (Poetry) - 3/19/2009 6:47:31 AM
What can I say but, nicely and sweetly said. Fantastic piece of music too. Blessings, J'nia

La Bamba (Poetry) - 3/19/2009 2:55:57 AM
Oh yes we remember one of the all times greatest. Thank you Ted, it is great to remember. Newfie Hugs, Rose

La Bamba (Poetry) - 3/19/2009 1:54:33 AM
1958/59 you couldn't switch on your car radio without hearing "para bailar la bamba se necesita una poca de gracia..." with mariachis blowing their horns like it was Gabriel Archangel among them. Yes my friend we are old enough to remember. Oh! innocent times... Georg

La Bamba (Poetry) - 3/18/2009 10:44:32 PM
When I was a kid, that was one of my favorite songs...this is nice, Ted.

La Bamba (Poetry) - 3/18/2009 9:08:07 PM
a lovely swaying rhythm to your words-very nice

La Bamba (Poetry) - 3/18/2009 7:16:18 PM
Hello Ted, I love that song, it brings back memories and still makes waves when played nowadays. Nice poem - really retro! Cynthia

La Bamba (Poetry) - 3/18/2009 5:52:04 PM
Ay, caramba, this is soo good! Let's salsa 'round the floor!~ Well done, mi amigo! Es muy bueno! :) (((HUGS))) y amor mucho, tu amiga en Tejas, Karen Lynn. :D

The Sting (Poetry) - 3/18/2009 4:21:32 PM
Hi Ted Thank goodness for those who I'll call non-sheep. Hopefully the coming generations can climb above the sheep. Be well, Liz

The Sting (Poetry) - 3/18/2009 7:23:58 AM
in depths of sleep....what a nightmare. Excellent! Hugs, J'nia

The Sting (Poetry) - 3/18/2009 7:16:48 AM
Goose bumps throughout this terrific write Ted...love and hugs, Bonnie

The Sting (Poetry) - 3/18/2009 4:16:40 AM
Most interesting indeed sweet man..well written...have a wonderful and safe day...Hugss

The Sting (Poetry) - 3/18/2009 2:44:11 AM
Those that have a shovel start digging a deep hole, and don't be selfish make it roomy, so your fellow men that lost their shovels to the bankers can have a decent six foot under. Georg

The Sting (Poetry) - 3/17/2009 8:28:41 PM
Chilling; God help us all! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :(

The Sting (Poetry) - 3/17/2009 5:36:20 PM
The media has gone plumb loco, dictating what we should look like/act like/love/pray (or not)/etc. etc. Shame. Scary: how much more can Big Brother intrude? Afraid to find out *ducking*. Well done, Ted! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

The Sting (Poetry) - 3/17/2009 5:28:55 PM
It is sad how the electronic media of today controls so much of our day to day life and I am amazed at how our children and our children's children are even more addicted to what they see and hear. Exercise by electronics, food by microwave, clothes by ebay, and love by cyber chat...scary tines ahead. Fee

Aquarius (Poetry) - 3/13/2009 5:06:48 PM
I can't add to what the others have said. Excellent poem.

Aquarius (Poetry) - 3/5/2009 7:27:03 AM
So true... I'm afraid greed overrules common sense.

Aquarius (Poetry) - 3/2/2009 7:42:05 AM
It could happen too. Reminds me a bit of that old movie called "Solient Green." Well penned. J'nia

Aquarius (Poetry) - 3/1/2009 7:27:29 PM
well expressed concern--we need to do better-need to wake up

Aquarius (Poetry) - 3/1/2009 10:35:32 AM
Great poem my dear. Problem is we didn't know what we were causing until it was too late. It's much worse than most people know. "They" think it best to protect us from the fact that we're living Revelations. We can't undo what's been done. That's the sad truth. The world is becoming uninhabitable. Where are we to go?

Aquarius (Poetry) - 3/1/2009 9:13:57 AM
Wouldn't it be great to be the first of a NEW generation on this earth long after this reign of man has faded into the past...e

Aquarius (Poetry) - 3/1/2009 5:53:24 AM
Ted, Your poem is so deeply touching my inner core. I cry for mother earth and see all of this destruction. It hurts my spirit to know that humankind is so irresponsible and non caring. I do what I can, locally, and personally, but I am afraid there is some truth to what William says in his comment, eventually we will become extinct like the dinosaurs. Sad truths, my friend... Peace, love, and light, Amber "V"

Aquarius (Poetry) - 3/1/2009 5:29:58 AM
Excellent write Ted You writing is so true But fact of the matter is That Men are not going to fix anything The Earth will take care of itself It has being doing so for Millions of years every time there is a volcano eruption, a herricane, tsunami, an earth quake, Typhoon, ect, ect, ect, the world is rejuvenating itself, getting rid of all pesty creatures that are causing the damage, Nature shakes us off Like a wet dog shakes water of its back We will come to past just like the dinosaurs. Peace be with you William

Aquarius (Poetry) - 3/1/2009 5:09:17 AM
Great write with a great message; we should do all we can to save our planet! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :( LOVE this song!!

Aquarius (Poetry) - 3/1/2009 4:57:07 AM
I love this song, Ted; and this write. Leaves me wondering, though ... we had all this time to do something for the planet, but ignored it: all of a sudden, why is it so important? I fear it's too late. I pray not, but fear it is ... well done. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Aquarius (Poetry) - 3/1/2009 4:45:13 AM
It is sad when looked at that from this angle. Yet I still tend to hold out hope that where we have started the outcry future generations will continue to fight for this planet. fee

Aquarius (Poetry) - 3/1/2009 3:44:46 AM
Perhaps we are but the last of the generations before the crazy ones rend this planet barren for a thousand years or so, then the metamorphosed and grotesque survivors offspring from fauna and flora will present themselves to any intergalactic visitor as a weird world where intelligence is unknown. Georg

In My Life (Repost) (Poetry) - 2/27/2009 8:41:51 PM
Hello Ted, Yes, that song is one of my favorites from the Beatles, we sang it in high school (1967) and still covers much of my life, my friends ("some have gone, some remain"). Your words brought new meaning to it, very nice indeed. Cynthia

Tuesday Afternoon (Poetry) - 2/27/2009 6:40:24 AM
Hope You Treated Yourself to a NEW PC!! They are awesome & keep getting even more awesome out with the old & in with the new It's good to see the positive when inside the seemingly negative Thanks For The Poem Peace, Love & Poetry Vickie (Love The Link!! The Design Is Very Nice & Inviting Too)

In My Life (Repost) (Poetry) - 2/27/2009 6:25:54 AM
Ted, Your words are a wonderful venture to validate oneself with our own wishes & visions for living our life for us "a pride in self – my own validity." and not for someone else.... Embraced~Embrassé Vickie

In My Life (Repost) (Poetry) - 2/23/2009 10:37:21 AM
Ted, with or without the song, this is wonderful. Your words bring it all back perfectly.

In My Life (Repost) (Poetry) - 2/21/2009 9:26:47 AM
I love reading this poem, it flowed just like the song that the Beatles wrote..At my son's wedding, he surprised me with this song to dance to as Mother and Son. This song is very special to me. Thank you for reminding me of such beauty in reminiscing and reflection of a good life. Much peace, love, and light, Amber "V"

In My Life (Repost) (Poetry) - 2/20/2009 3:07:57 PM
You think I can remember from day to day or poem to poem what i said to you the last time you posted this? Thats right, I cannot, suffice to say I like it as much as I did then, I hope...;-) Ed

Tuesday Afternoon (Poetry) - 2/20/2009 2:39:49 PM
We all live in fear of this. I'm so sorry it happened to you. But, maybe it was time for your old computer to go and now you have a new toy. I learned the hard way to keep my surfing to a minimum. Love the poem and am looking forward to adding it to your series at The Writing Forum. Big Hug, Marcia

In My Life (Repost) (Poetry) - 2/20/2009 1:47:34 PM
Absolutely superb, Ted! You have managed to capture in words the essence of growing up... love the last lines- "While some have climbed to their mountain tops, I saw such goals as where the dreaming stops, my shifting mind stays with the sifting sands." Outstanding write. ~ZBM

In My Life (Repost) (Poetry) - 2/20/2009 12:21:15 PM
I love this poem Ted and the music sounds great! Hugs, Marcia

In My Life (Repost) (Poetry) - 2/20/2009 11:45:23 AM
Great write, Ted; bravo! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :)

Tuesday Afternoon (Poetry) - 2/20/2009 9:47:09 AM
Yes we do tend to get complacent with our computers and take them for granted until they crash and then we sit there with mouths agape and wonder...okay now what. Fee

In My Life (Repost) (Poetry) - 2/20/2009 8:35:58 AM
One of my favorite songs....especially the last line...in my life, I loved you more. Nostalgic piece. Hugs, J'nia

In My Life (Repost) (Poetry) - 2/20/2009 8:35:07 AM
Well just as good the second time around old buddy. Fee

Tuesday Afternoon (Poetry) - 2/20/2009 8:20:12 AM
Sorry for your loss, a bite at a time, but love the last line. Blessings, J'nia

In My Life (Repost) (Poetry) - 2/20/2009 7:57:03 AM
And what a life it's been, Ted. Well done. :) (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

In My Life (Repost) (Poetry) - 2/20/2009 7:49:33 AM
Crash landed Fox, I stay put with my previous review. I am in a devilish mode today, castigating your gullibility at opening that dumb virus, yes! yes!! YEEEEEEEESSSSSS! ! ! curiosity killed the cat! Georg ha! ha!! ah!!! haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa! ! !

In My Life (Repost) (Poetry) - 2/20/2009 7:49:06 AM
Dang, in spite of re-doing the whole thing, the song still is not playing. Must have copied the properties from a bad source. Now, will try another MIDI site :-) Gotta get this one working because it was promised to my sister. Ted

Tuesday Afternoon (Poetry) - 2/20/2009 6:37:50 AM
R.I.P. - BEEN THERE! DONE THAT! TWICE! Some years ago, 1st NEW PC was an HP Pavillion - XP HOME - in 11 mos. CRASHED - P.O.S. - under warranty, went back to Circuit City and got free replacement - BUT - ALL pc's they had to offer ran on XP - P.O.S. (piece of s**t) - another HP but w/more GIGS. Lasted a little over a year (planned obselescence factor) - w/frequent semi-minor crashes - IT IS STILL SITTING IN MY OFFICE ROOM - MAKES A GREAT DOOR-STOP! BIT THE BULLET - for about 16 years, my daughter SWORE by APPLE - said whatever they do, the chance of Viruses, etc. getting inside were close to NIL - and she ran her GRAPHIC DESIGN BUSINESS on a huge desktop, with

Tuesday Afternoon (Poetry) - 2/20/2009 5:48:26 AM
For your information Mister Crash-Landed Fox, it is Friday already, have you calender a virus too? :-) LOL Georg PS. I am irreverent as usual.

Tuesday Afternoon (Poetry) - 2/20/2009 5:28:07 AM
I love this song, Ted - and I pray my computer never dies. Only connection I have to the world outside my door. An excellent write. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Tuesday Afternoon (Poetry) - 2/20/2009 5:06:03 AM
I think change is most often beneficial. And I hope this one is a good one for you.

Tuesday Afternoon (Poetry) - 2/20/2009 4:57:46 AM
Hi Ted, I love your poetic rhyme. So here is my poetic answer. JMD Yes, a crashed computer. Dear God! We can all relate! Why? Because we all are slaves to Microsoft, Apple, Dell, and Mr. Gates. Why? Try living without that plastic keyboard. It is calling me... It is calling you! So God, please do not let my computer die. I cannot live without it. I would be lost without it. No, I really, really do not know why... Amen I will post this today! Thanks, John Michael

Tuesday Afternoon (Poetry) - 2/20/2009 4:47:34 AM
these things are so frustrating-you wrote about it well!

Pipeline (Poetry) - 2/18/2009 1:26:33 PM
Love it and remember that song well...brought back lots of memories for sure. fee

Jay (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 9:21:51 PM
Nonsensical, not in the least. This one was fun. Thanks for sharing, DL Mullan

GITMO (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 7:07:20 PM
Well said, Ted, but I beg one point of difference with all the others here. Yes, Cheney is at fault, and easy to despise, but equally despisable are the democrats, venal, selfish, power-sucking people who now want to pretend to innocence. At the top of the list of who is at fault, along with the Bushes and the Cheneys, is the names of the Clintons, and old satan herself is our secretary of state. Never forget that Bill Clinton created military diversions when he had problems in the polls. I never was a pow, but I was in mock pow camp for training conducted by green berets who knew the real score. These lying yellow bellies so willing to sacrifice others would have been doubtful choices even to have made it through the training. I wasn't water boarded, but I remember what it felt to be laid belly down in a trench of water while somebody walked on my back. You know, Abraham Lincoln went out among the troops, and knew what it was to recognize in Ulysses Grant the type of hard-swinging blood letter it was going to take to actually win the war, and had the grace to make his peace with the decision however hard. Obama has done a great job of pretense at emulating Lincoln, but let's see what he looks like in retrospect four years down the road. If we've learned anything it ought to be that the talk of empty winders is just that, empty.....Jerry

Weave or Want (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 6:53:36 PM
I agree with Karla, Ted, you have succeeded in a brilliant interweaving of poems, and a call to action. I once served on a church board, and talked the others out of locking the door of the church--but the succeeding board after me did have them locked. Now, lest I get too worked up. It's late at night, and I go to my narcotic for forgetting this world, the television, joining the shame of the mundane for one more time....Jerry

Three Wishes (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 6:46:55 PM
Yes, they're right, this is a sweet valentine write. And, I appreciate that you were clever not only with the third wish, but with this creation. Hey, it works for me, too, writing a poem for my wife, better than roses, better than forgiven mistakes...Jerry

Warriors Arise (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 6:42:47 PM
You may have it here, brother, the great whore babylon dragged to the pit at bayonet point by the soldiers she so uselessly sacrificed. I remember being startled, after carefully considering it, C.S. Lewis' contention that the individual human being, or spirit, is infinitely more important to God than the concept of nation. Yet, he said, a soldier may be uplifted spiritually in war for what he sacrifices freely for friend and kin. His statements changed my viewpoints, and I think your poem fits right in there with them....Jerry

Frisky Risky (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 6:37:39 PM
Would that be smooth salmonella or crunchy salmonella? With the way our friend, Ted, goes, I prefer to think crunchy. Is killin' yourself out on the edge a better quality of life--maybe so??...Jerry

On the Road Again (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 6:34:50 PM
God love Willie, and that's both a statement and a prayer. You captured his apparent sentiments well, Ted. "I've never found a place to stay or be..." How appropriate--who you are and what your problems are tend to stay the same no matter where you go next......Jerry

Orange Blossom Special (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 6:31:32 PM
That's a very poignant piece of poetry plus a great insight to history, your personal one as well, Ted. I found it very meaningful....Jerry

The Devil (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 6:28:25 PM
Great fun, Ted. The twins gotta love'ya.....Jerry

Pipeline (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 6:25:58 PM
Very scarey, Ted. I hope some of us are left to sing the song, maybe the meek who inherit the earth. At times I felt more comfortable with the old Soviet Union's strong hand on the opposing trigger, too many top guns playing around out there now. Guess the French and British subs discovered in the last week how crowded it is out there, huh? You did this well anyway....Jerry

Pipeline (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 11:16:21 AM
Oh great, now you made Tom immortal or is it immoral, whichever, you gave him a big head & I have to admit, sometimes he deserves it, and you deserve what you get from doing that to him...;-) ed

Pipeline (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 8:05:51 AM
Thought provoking and in my minds' eye I see the earth from outer space resembling a once pretty dandelion now gone to fluff and blown away in the cosmic wind. Not bad from a distance but we are in it. Yikes. Your poem rings true, resonates in my unspoken thoughts. Blessings, J'nia

Pipeline (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 5:34:49 AM
Yipe. Scary times we live in - I remember the fear felt during the 60s (cold war and all that) - and now everything heating up to fever pitch - throw in some extremists and watch the fireworks blow! Powerful message in this one, Ted, and love the song. :) (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Orange Blossom Special (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 5:18:31 AM
An absolute great write Ted. Enjoyed very much. Thank you for sharing. Newfie Hugs, Rose

Pipeline (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 4:58:26 AM
i never hear this--an important message in your write!

Pipeline (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 4:24:14 AM
Thank you Ted for sharing an excellent write, makes one think. Newfie hugs, Rose

Pipeline (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 4:19:58 AM
Great writing, Ted; well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn.

Pipeline (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 4:07:38 AM
We have seen with dismay that in Pakistan the terroris Taliban and Al Qaeda as been given a region to practice they bastard-branch of Islam with the Sharia Laws which can (and will) stone to death anyone caught listening to music, girls trying to go to school, and so forth. Now, "Pipeline" is coming just at the right time, once Taliban or Al Qaeda gets their hands on Pakistani Atom bomb? send one to Israel and get ten back and the merry party will be on. Bomb they now and be done with it. (because the cork head of the Norwegian Foreign Minister are bogged down with "dialog") Georg

Pipeline (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 3:30:49 AM
It sure would send many heaven bound. Much to think about here. Put your life in order as there may not be time tomorrow.

Pipeline (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 2:40:38 AM
A song based on the reality of today´s world, shakes the heart and mind to their foundation. thanks dear Ted Gilnes for this wonderful song

Pipeline (Poetry) - 2/17/2009 12:55:30 AM
TED - WELL, I'LL BE DANGED! DID YOU JUST MAKE ME IMMORTAL - OR WHAT? PIPELINE - TO PANDEMONIUM ? TOM.

The Devil (Poetry) - 2/16/2009 7:02:04 PM
Kool write Ted I am a big Charle Daniels Fan But I think he left the devil in Georgia...lol Love Georgia Peace be with you William

The Devil (Poetry) - 2/16/2009 4:44:03 AM
A fantastic write Ted. I am sure the girls will love this. Thank you for sharing. Newfie Hugs, Rose

The Devil (Poetry) - 2/16/2009 4:00:28 AM
Always liked that song, and I do like all the marvelous Cajun food and music, and even all those Voodoo shops, down in old New Orleans.

The Devil (Poetry) - 2/15/2009 5:36:23 PM
I'll be back Ted, thanks for the southern melody, I'm sure Karla and Karen liked it, us southerners are a uniqe group, very entertaining. Hope you had a great valentines day

The Devil (Poetry) - 2/15/2009 12:25:27 PM
Cute. I'm glad I live in the north, way north. 49th parallel. Cold east wind today. Hugs, J'nia

The Devil (Poetry) - 2/15/2009 10:02:14 AM
TED - RIGHT ON, PARDNER! Even as a life-time DAMN YANKEE, I can appreciate this tune, with its duality of overtones and undertones. And, like those TWINS done said - you did them PROUD! As I read your words, I could easily see the faces of Billy Crystal and Jack Palance in the movie "City Slickers." The honest ignorance of Yankees to the old Wiles and Ways of the South and Southwest became very poignant. Then, I saw "Those Mighty Herds of Red-Eyed Cattle in the Sky" - Yippee I Yay - Yippee I O ... Ghost Riders in The Sky!" Then, my mind wandered back to The Riders of The Purple Sage, and their - "Cool Clear Water" - at night I tred the barren waste, without a taste of water - ..." Next, came the haunting melody of "Tumbling Tumbleweed" - Gene Autry, Champion, and Pat Buttram - Roy Rogers (Leonard Sly) and Trigger, Dale Evans, and Daisey, and Buttercup, and Bullet, and George "GABBY" Hayes - Tom Mix and Tony, Hopalong Cassidy (William Boyd) - Lash Larue - Hoot Gibson - Whip Wilson - THE CISCO KID AND PANCHO - The Lone Ranger and Tonto - Hi-Yo SILVER and get 'um up SCOUT - Those Thrilling Days of Yester-Year !!! SEE - my Friend, even little tyke, Damned Yankees, in big Eastern Cities went to the movies, and LOVED WESTERNS - OATERS, as some called them - HEROES in White Hats - VILLAINS in Black Hats - Whip-Snortin' - Gun-Totin' - Leather-Slappin' - Shoot-em-Ups! And, let's not forget the amazing ACCURACY of those long-gone HEROES - shootin' the pistolas out of the VILLAINS hands, with NO BLOOD on the screen! WOW! "HAPPY TRAILS TO YOU - 'TIL WE MEET AGAIN ..." Les Paul and Mary Ford's - "In my Adobe Hacienda ..." VIA CON DIOS! ADELANTE, MUCHACHOS! Me Llamo, Tomas - El Gato!

The Devil (Poetry) - 2/15/2009 7:22:38 AM
very cute write!

The Devil (Poetry) - 2/15/2009 6:32:56 AM
Ted, I just loved this! I felt so Southern! lol What a wonderful tribute to our den sisters, Karla and Karen. They are so precious and deserve your beautiful song/poem, thank you for brightening my morning! Peace, love, and light , Amber "V"

The Devil (Poetry) - 2/15/2009 5:55:45 AM
combining two of my favorite things in this write...country music and tributes to my fellow writers here on the den. Well done brother Ted. Fee

The Devil (Poetry) - 2/15/2009 5:44:07 AM
Wonderful song, Ted!!! Sandie Angel :o)

The Devil (Poetry) - 2/15/2009 4:26:52 AM
Probably it would have been a great song around campfires of 1848 when the gold-rush was going on and cowboys need to stay put watching another's herd. The tribute is a well deserved one for those Lone Star Gals. Georg

The Devil (Poetry) - 2/15/2009 4:14:22 AM
Ted, You've left my toes a-tappin' and my heart a-singin' - thank you, Sir. :) Appreciate it, a job well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

The Devil (Poetry) - 2/15/2009 3:51:38 AM
Adorable, Ted; thanks for the smiles! God bless you, my friend; this is a great tribute to my stormy twin and myself; you done us (and Texas) proud! (Love the part about Cajun food! YUM!! LOL Pass that jambalaya or crawfish this way, and I will NOT complain!! LOLOLOL) (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D Darn ya, Ted, you've done made me HUNGRY for Cajun food!! LOLOLOLOL

Orange Blossom Special (Poetry) - 2/14/2009 12:36:00 PM
what a trgic story--my mother is a very good five-string-banjo player-played this one a lot

Orange Blossom Special (Poetry) - 2/14/2009 8:00:05 AM
A tribute to beat all tributes and to expand it into a bio would offer us as readers a chance to know the man behind the music. Excellent. Blessings, J'nia

Orange Blossom Special (Poetry) - 2/14/2009 6:17:06 AM
I agree with FEE this is a true winner and I can see a great book come of this...GREAT AND FANTASTIC write...love and hugs, Bonnie

Orange Blossom Special (Poetry) - 2/14/2009 5:41:28 AM
As a country and bluegrass fan both and a lover of bio's this is one fantastic story and one that I think you should expound on and perhaps a book on it would be a great way to honor this man you cared for. I can actually see this playing out in a movie... Fee

Orange Blossom Special (Poetry) - 2/14/2009 5:02:27 AM
Heartbreaking - you find out when you're in trouble or sick or dying who your true friends are. A beautiful tribute to the composer, the musician, and the man. Well done, Ted. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Orange Blossom Special (Poetry) - 2/14/2009 3:57:37 AM
Have never really listened to Spade Cooley or his version of "Orange Blossom Special", but an interesting write, nevertheless! The "Orange Blossom Special" remains one of my very favorite country songs, especially if it's done right on the fiddle! Enjoyed this slice of musical history; thanks! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Orange Blossom Special (Poetry) - 2/14/2009 3:41:36 AM
Sorry, ain't no follower of Spade, but I heard Johnny Cash singing it. A great tribute for a Nashville Spade Special! Georg

On the Road Again (Poetry) - 2/11/2009 9:34:51 PM
beautiful!

On the Road Again (Poetry) - 2/11/2009 3:38:05 PM
Love that song and this poem did it justice. Blessings, J'nia

On the Road Again (Poetry) - 2/11/2009 2:36:42 PM
A beautiful sonnet. God Bless, Lew

On the Road Again (Poetry) - 2/11/2009 1:56:13 PM
Always been a big fan of Willie. love this line 'you've always been out there in front of me' Great piece.

On the Road Again (Poetry) - 2/11/2009 10:13:46 AM
WOW - I do love this Ted. It's a great write, and the best picture of Willie I've seen to date. I'm a Willie Nelson fan and On the Road Again is my favorite of his along with All the Girls I've Loved Before. BRAVO my dear friend. Hugs, Marcia

On the Road Again (Poetry) - 2/11/2009 9:28:17 AM
Captivating song, nicely done

On the Road Again (Poetry) - 2/11/2009 7:30:32 AM
My hubby LOVES Willie, and he loves listening to his songs, so I grew to love him too. Sandie Angel :o)

On the Road Again (Poetry) - 2/11/2009 6:57:38 AM
I laughed when I read the title and the intro for this one...I am a big willie fan and have been for a long time and guess what the ring tone on my cell phone is...On The Road Again" As for this poem I can soooo hear Mr. Nelson belting this one out. Fee

On the Road Again (Poetry) - 2/11/2009 5:18:09 AM
I haven't found yet that place too, to be or to stay, maybe I was born a dry leaf that the capricious wind takes to there and there never letting it to come to a place call home. Willie would be so proud of you, even if you happens to be a renegade Californian consorting with all those heehaw Texans. Georg

On the Road Again (Poetry) - 2/11/2009 5:07:36 AM
How wonderful Ted. Thank you for sharing. I really enjoyed this. Newfie hugs, Rose

On the Road Again (Poetry) - 2/11/2009 5:07:03 AM
Love both Willie and your poetic song. But where's the music??!!

On the Road Again (Poetry) - 2/11/2009 3:52:04 AM
Oh Ted this was great, I could hear and picture the whole thing...great write...now sing it! Love and hugs,Bonnie

Frisky Risky (Poetry) - 2/10/2009 2:10:01 AM
I have a friend (will wonders never cease) that eats PB with mayo...ewwwwww, ed ( oh yeah, this was a good laugh, thanks)

Frisky Risky (Poetry) - 2/9/2009 3:32:03 PM
Oh my this is so good! Love your take on this wonderful world we now live in. take care you lucky looney fella Willaim

Frisky Risky (Poetry) - 2/9/2009 2:23:16 PM
Boy, you do live on the edge. God Bless, Lew

Frisky Risky (Poetry) - 2/9/2009 9:34:34 AM
Very clever with just the right amount of humor. lol J'nia

Frisky Risky (Poetry) - 2/9/2009 8:20:06 AM
I loove this and the brutal honesty of it...each day there are less and less things we can eat, drink, and do for one reason or another. Wouldn't it be great to turn on the news someday and hear the announcer say that drinking beer and smoking cigs will add twenty years to our lifes. lol Fee

Frisky Risky (Poetry) - 2/9/2009 6:28:11 AM
LOL this is so electrifingly true yet hilarious, now what does that say about my sense of humor...GREAT WRITE...love and hugs, Bonnie

Frisky Risky (Poetry) - 2/9/2009 6:26:27 AM
You are indeed something else Ted. We will have to only eat what we grow and make from scratch. Thank you for sharing. Newfie hugs, Rose

Frisky Risky (Poetry) - 2/9/2009 5:59:51 AM
Funny with a profound serious serious message.Well done. We can all learn from it. Thavk you for sharing.

Frisky Risky (Poetry) - 2/9/2009 5:19:36 AM
Scary, isn't it? Pretty soon, we'll all be fed bread and water - IF we can afford it. :( Clever write, Ted, very well penned. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Frisky Risky (Poetry) - 2/9/2009 4:57:35 AM
clever write--

Frisky Risky (Poetry) - 2/9/2009 4:39:10 AM
Great poem, my brother. Keep munching your sandwich of Salmonella

Frisky Risky (Poetry) - 2/9/2009 4:16:42 AM
Salmonella, I asked my butcher if he got any and he look at me like I was crazy and said nuthin' Went to the fish monger (salmonella = little salmon?) and asked him if he had any and you won't believe how he cursed! ! ! Next time I will ask for that sandwich of your in a kosher deli. Georg

Three Wishes (Poetry) - 2/7/2009 4:24:50 AM
Aw this is wonderful~`*

Warriors Arise (Poetry) - 2/7/2009 4:22:56 AM
My father was a Pearl Harbor survivor and my son is a Sargeant for the Marines~Hugs`Teri

Warriors Arise (Poetry) - 2/6/2009 11:50:34 AM
Apt, timely, and powerful points well-made, Ted. Thank you for sharing your message. Love and peace to you, Regis

Warriors Arise (Poetry) - 2/5/2009 11:57:15 AM
Dying for politics and greed is tragic, especially when these warriors aren't even taken care of when they return home... that's the worst of it.

Warriors Arise (Poetry) - 2/5/2009 9:38:55 AM
At last I found you, Ted, and it saddens me to think of all I've missed. I am totally in accord with Warriors Arise. I was one of the lucky ones who returned in an earlier war, but I knew many who were not so lucky. Today, whenever there is talk of another war, I picture some indulgent, manic politico crying for blood: meaning someone else's blood. Someday we're going to muffle all the damn war mongers and urge our young men and women to stay home and make love. -gene.

Warriors Arise (Poetry) - 2/4/2009 5:52:26 AM
Quite an ending, my friend. Far too many valiant soldiers have died for political greed, and far too many of them are so quickly forgotten by politicians, when they return home.

Warriors Arise (Poetry) - 2/4/2009 4:14:36 AM
When their hear thunder they will believe is another bad weather coming, and they will be so very wrong......... Georg

Warriors Arise (Poetry) - 2/3/2009 7:59:53 PM
Amen Ted A great created and well composed write Peace be with you William

Warriors Arise (Poetry) - 2/3/2009 5:09:24 PM
Wow very origianal write Ted that definatelyh makes one stop and think of the what if sceario of all these dead warriors in the spirit world looking at revenge for wasted lifes. Fee

Warriors Arise (Poetry) - 2/3/2009 5:02:21 PM
I don't always think war is for greed. Some of them are about defending our shores. But then again ... I'm just glad there are those who are willing to go, if called upon. They might not like it, but they're willing. Powerfully thought provoking, and you're right: Congress needs to see this before they send any more of our own, and if they send them, they better take care of them upon their return. Veterans should lack for NOTHING. Congress doesn't. :( (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Warriors Arise (Poetry) - 2/3/2009 4:13:02 PM
Ted: There are so many wars, and sometimes I don't even know what the people are fighting about; but brave are the soldiers who go to war to defend their own country. I DO think that the wall with their names on it somehow has made their moms and their family proud of them; and they should be proud of themselves too. With regards to the problems of the homeless, this had been a problem since time began. I think America still has to deal with this issue and pay respect to the homeless veterans and give them more support and a decent income to live by. ...Just my 2 cents opinion. Sandie Angel :o)

Warriors Arise (Poetry) - 2/3/2009 2:39:26 PM
TED - WOW! TERRIFIC! I'M WITH BONNIE ... SEND THIS EVERYWHERE - ESPECIALLY TO CONGRESS AND OBAMA - AND EVERY EDITOR OF MAJOR NEWSPAPERS! NEGOTIATION - MEDIATION - COMPROMISE - ARBITRATION - THESE ARE THE SENSIBLE TOOLS OF ANY SANE SOCIETY !!! GOD BLESS - TOM.

Warriors Arise (Poetry) - 2/3/2009 12:12:41 PM
THIS SHOULD BE POSTED IN THE HALLS OF CONGRESS TO READ BEFORE EVER DECLARING WAR AGAIN...FABULOUS WRITE TED. LOVE, BONNIE

Three Wishes (Poetry) - 2/2/2009 2:44:04 AM
If with this poem you hope to get lucky...you are one already! Georg

Three Wishes (Poetry) - 2/1/2009 6:28:29 PM
a lovely write--clever thinking!

Three Wishes (Poetry) - 2/1/2009 11:26:58 AM
Ahhhh this is soooo sweet and I am sure you brought a big smile and a warm flush to dear Patty. Well done. Fee

Three Wishes (Poetry) - 2/1/2009 11:21:46 AM
You're wearing your heart on your sleeve with this one my friend. Patty is sure to be pleased. Most men would wish for a bottomless beer keg, a restored Mustang, and a month at the Playboy Mansion, but not our Ted. His heart belongs to Patty. It's a great Valentine poem - hint, hint. Hugs, Marcia

Three Wishes (Poetry) - 2/1/2009 9:29:19 AM
WOW! Lucky Patty! I can think of a lot of other things many men might wish for... Nice tribute to her.

Three Wishes (Poetry) - 2/1/2009 6:45:11 AM
I agree this is brilliant, I always thought about what three wishes I would wish for, think everyone has...your's was excellent...and the poem was wonderful...Love and hugs, Bonnie

Three Wishes (Poetry) - 2/1/2009 6:30:19 AM
Brilliantly carved poem. Thanks dear friend

GITMO (Poetry) - 1/31/2009 7:55:52 AM
Closing Gitmo is good IMO. We'll work it out under Obama's leadership to insure rights of all. But it is good for all of us to question. Enjoyed reading your substantive work. r

Weave or Want (Poetry) - 1/31/2009 7:52:21 AM
Your poem excellently reflects Obama's efforts. I know you perhaps didn't intend it to be political, but on the individual level we can reflect your philosophy -- "the least of these." Best wishes, R

Weave or Want (Poetry) - 1/26/2009 10:00:57 AM
Weaving two stories together, you succeed brilliantly, Ted. We want and do not give in return, pay it forward: thank you for the needed lesson, my (((friend))). Your heart as big as Texas. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Weave or Want (Poetry) - 1/25/2009 1:36:08 PM
Both poems are intersting and your note about taking the homeless man home with you shows what a big heart you have for humanity. I think its true that we want and want and want--SO MUCH, yet, we are too frequently unwilling to give. There is no brotherhood in our society any longer and I hoped for a president who could bring this country together in common goals that will benfit everyone.

Weave or Want (Poetry) - 1/25/2009 1:11:31 PM
yes, we can certainly do better-you have led the way in your actions and this write-

Weave or Want (Poetry) - 1/25/2009 1:06:10 PM
Ted, I paraphrase, how does it go... "If you do it to the least of these, my brothers, you do it also to me." Although, I did have trouble focussing on the "Weave" due to the change in color. All in all a very good write, Cheers and peace, Dan

Weave or Want (Poetry) - 1/25/2009 11:19:13 AM
I agree with Fee, when I was a very young boy the churches of my city never closed its doors, perhaps the compassion we had then was trampled down into the dirt by busy feet going nowhere. Georg

Jay (Poetry) - 1/25/2009 10:41:34 AM
Fantastic poem my friend. Love

Weave or Want (Poetry) - 1/25/2009 10:38:09 AM
Deeply touching my brother. Breathtaking.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.