AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Gina LoBiondo, iFumiko Takahashi, iValerie publisher@nightengalepress.com, ijd young, iMary Ann Barrucco, iKevin Weeks, iJoan Hovey, i
 
Home > Susan M Phillips
 

Recent Reviews for Susan M Phillips


The Book of Dowsing and Divining (Book) - 11/3/2003 5:05:00 PM
How absolutely cool! I've never tried dowsing but I've often wondered how it worked! I have a friend who dowses and makes a fortune at it. He's a natural and only works with natural limbs freshly cut from his tree. I hope you do well with your sales! CW

Cat's Paw and the Threefold Law (Short Story) - 6/26/2004 3:01:45 PM
I got blindsided by the ending, and I am a punnish person by nature - great read, in fact fantastic story, I loved it. Carol

Top Up (Short Story) - 3/23/2004 1:33:06 PM
Sue, you have a gripping way of telling a story, just the bare basics, but enough detail to make it vivid, and enough repitition to make it almost poetic. I wouldn't normally look for this type of story, but it sure shows your writing skills.

Top Up (Short Story) - 3/20/2004 10:19:51 PM
Wow. Creepy and suspenseful. I read it twice, and it was just as creepy the second time through. Thanks for sharing!

Cat's Paw and the Threefold Law (Short Story) - 2/19/2004 1:46:35 PM
The Threefold Law-nice play on words. I had fun reading this. A nice mix of humor and suspense. I liked that I did not guess one thing that was going to happen, the old lady being a sorceress, the cat paw thumb, etc. The only thing I did guess was that he would keep the paw and pay for it, but that just made it more fun. I like your style.

Letter to Alice (Short Story) - 1/3/2004 12:40:52 PM
terrific stuff, susan; very well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in tx., karen lynn. :D may you have a blessed and prosperous 2004; may it be your best year YET!

Busman's Holiday - part 1 - Bus Pass (Short Story) - 1/2/2004 11:52:11 AM
Speaking as a horror author myself, this is one of those that falls more into the vein of horror than Fantasy. Good write much the same -- good luck on writing part two of this story. I have more short stories in the horror genre than any of the genres on here, but the one that was a hard write for me has to be "Accident Revisted." This is a work of nonfiction, but I have to say you really have a gift for this kind of work -- stay with it.

Letter to Alice (Short Story) - 12/31/2003 10:41:22 PM
Soos...This is glorious! Wonderous!! And something we all think of doing, write a letter to a grand relative but seldom do it! You've inspired me to write a letter to my own grandmother Anastasia who took me from the hospital to have me baptized Catholic before I was taken away for adoption. thank you so much for giving us a glimpse of your wonderful past and your great-grandmother sounds wonderful!

Cat's Paw and the Threefold Law (Short Story) - 11/22/2003 5:56:32 PM
Oh my goodness, I wasn't quite expecting that ending... Strange, wonderful, actually, how the first 3/4 of the story were so peaceful, connivial and content...he was loaned something important, kept it, only a few weeks. His mind changed, an almost brutal indifference emanates, doesn't seem truthful about his return-the-paw plan, then, whammo! Ha, though I was discomfitted at first, it flares with poetic justice! Brilliant, Susan! Once again, that matter-of-factness I noted in 'The Shoes' creates some sort of hypnotism within the reader, there's a unique flow and cadence. Fascinating, I love your style! You made it seem normal a man could use a cat's paw for a thumb... Enjoyed this immensely! :)

Busman's Holiday - part 1 - Bus Pass (Short Story) - 11/21/2003 6:28:34 PM
Susan, I popped into your site, and found this wonderful story! It's the only one on Authors Den, that I had to read all the way through! Wonderful imagination and I love your easy style of writing! I love to write horror/comedy also. I will definately try to read all your works! I just know they will all have this uniqueness of style, tht you have! I am 'tracking' you now as you are one of my favourites!! Sincerely, Donni-Jay

For Better, For Worse (Short Story) - 11/16/2003 8:24:41 PM
Nah, Clay.... I want them to get two mill! Great read soos! Irish

Busman's Holiday - part 1 - Bus Pass (Short Story) - 11/16/2003 8:14:09 PM
Nodding my head, agreeing with Clay, this was excellent! I want more!! :-) Lisa

Cat's Paw and the Threefold Law (Short Story) - 11/11/2003 6:31:15 AM
A most interesting story, indeed! Enjoyed it very much.

Cat's Paw and the Threefold Law (Short Story) - 11/9/2003 3:37:52 PM
terrific write, susan, enjoyed reading! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in texas, karen lynn. :D

Cat's Paw and the Threefold Law (Short Story) - 11/9/2003 10:46:45 AM
Susan! this is great! You had me captured from the beginning to the end!...hehe

For Better, For Worse (Short Story) - 11/3/2003 11:01:45 PM
Awwww...this was sweet! Sniff...sniff...okay you going to continue this so this poor family gets a million or something?

As Ragged Breathing Stills (Short Story) - 11/3/2003 10:55:00 PM
Okay, you've got me hooked! I am putting you on my tracker list!

Busman's Holiday - part 1 - Bus Pass (Short Story) - 11/3/2003 10:53:49 PM
Oh this is good! I can't wait for part 2!

The Cannonball Puppy (Article) - 2/1/2011 2:01:33 PM
Thank you for those kind comments Kalikiano. The book raised around 1000 in all and I passed on the pdf file to the charities so that they could continue to print and raise funds from it if they so wished.

The Cannonball Puppy (Article) - 1/27/2011 7:42:14 AM
I'll definitely have to obtain a copy, Susan. Reading things like this, it is heartening to know that despite all the cruel disregard and neglect many people seem to have for the welfare of animals, there are also a great number of wonderful, well-intended and caring people to help offset all the actions of those who ignorantly abuse or mistreat our four-footed friends. I am not a Christian, but if I were, it would be so easy to say...bless you! Aloha mai e, Kalikiano

Breath of Life, Web of Creation (Article) - 5/15/2008 4:40:30 PM
Sounds like a very interesting read... I look forward to reading more. Cryssa

Breath of Life, Web of Creation (Article) - 5/14/2008 9:00:42 PM
Well, that ended kind of abruptly-- what's up with that? I think that the last paragraph belongs at the top-- Lead in with the power of the wind, and then let it blossom full-story. But what do you think? As for me? I am enthralled by this Norse story. I love this Web of Wyrd... extremely interesting, and beautiful too... there's a poem in there somewhere, niggling at the back of my mind. I can see why you began to study it. Again, that web... (niggle, niggle)... what a fabulous concept! I love it. I'll have to save this and read it again later--let that poem come full-surface. --Charlie

A Day in the Life of a Domestic Goddess? (Article) - 4/1/2008 9:06:20 AM
Coming from a household with one rather Monica-esque member (hubby not me) I can sympathise with your plight. I like clutter, it gives my house character. I really enjoyed this article and it put me in the mood for a good drink, green tea of course. The Domestic Goddess is dead, long live the Domestic Goddess!

Surprise surprise (Article) - 3/19/2008 5:17:47 PM
A delightful sharing, Susan. I think I'd be a little nervous to have someone else "style" my hair. I've been shaving it for years now. Thank you. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

Surprise surprise (Article) - 3/17/2008 12:11:39 PM
What a brave soul you are... letting others have their way with your hair! But then... on second thought, do we have any choice? Natural size zero! Until I met my daughters I didn't know there was such a thing as a natural size 0... hee, hee... I just sigh and thank the Lord that they have their father's figure instead of mine! :~) Thanks for the walk through your day... glad it was full of pleasant surprises! Cryssa

Surprise surprise (Article) - 3/16/2008 8:54:18 PM
Susan, This is refreshing and so positive. Not to mention also a great write. Thanks for the walk through your day. I'm not as trusting with my hair though! Cynthia

Surprise surprise (Article) - 3/15/2008 8:55:37 AM
Thank heavens for small wonders... wonder-filled little moments take the cake. And I love that penultimate set of sentences... very nice touch. A reminder that though we might not remember, small wonders are happening all the time. --Charlie

A Day in the Life of a Domestic Goddess? (Article) - 3/14/2008 9:30:51 PM
My head is full of cotton clouds... sounds a bit like yours today... :~) No tidying for today... lets just all go back to bed. Maybe my head cold will eventually go away and I can clear the cobwebs from my muddled head... Cryssa :~)

A Day in the Life of a Domestic Goddess? (Article) - 3/11/2008 6:41:54 PM
Your way of "tidying" is unique to say the least. I love this delicious write. I like/love the little words in here like "toing and froming"-- like that. It makes it original and very Sue P (ish) -- soupy? --Charlie

A Billow in the Hand is Worth Two Any Other Day (Article) - 3/4/2008 1:29:03 PM
Yeah! to whomever told you to add it as an article... Methinks it might have been my sis...hee,hee... At any rate, when I read this as a blog I fell in love with it. I wanted to comment... because you see... I have this aversion to Tuesdays and this whole thing made me laugh because I would have told you that you had a typical Tuesday, which is why I hate Tuesdays! hee, hee... Cryssa

A Billow in the Hand is Worth Two Any Other Day (Article) - 2/29/2008 6:45:28 PM
What an incredible write! Smart Lady, to suggest you post this so we can review! Smart, smart, poetic lady. So here's my review: I love it. I love that we get a picture of who you are-- your fabulous sense of humor, and your fine, fine writing style. I think the first half of this piece is plenty publishable. You should perk up the last bit a piece, and sub it to Good House Keeping, or other such mags. Good luck with that. Again, awesome write! --Charlie

Living Earth (Article) - 2/23/2008 4:26:40 PM
We have to have a major turnaround of attitude and it must start here and now with you and me. A timely and most propos literary sharing, Susan; very informative and worthwhile. Thank you. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

Charity Begins at Home (Article) - 2/21/2008 12:26:06 PM
You make some powerful and timely points in your essay, Susan. Thank you. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

What Would Nechtan Say? (Article) - 10/22/2007 11:07:59 AM
I completely agree. It doesn't really matter whether those who are visiting are pagan or christian - by littering the site they are being selfish and thoughtless. If they want to chuck loads of non biodegradable stuff around perhaps they should start 'decorating' a landfill site instead. ASLaN's charter has some good guidelines. http://people.bath.ac.uk/prsrlp/kernunos/kaslan2.htm

The Cannonball Puppy (Article) - 2/9/2005 2:52:05 PM
enjoyed the read, how is your son and good luck with the fund raising.

The Cannonball Puppy (Article) - 2/8/2005 6:13:02 PM
This is very interesting and what happened to Lolo? I agree that we need to do more for animals.

The Cannonball Puppy (Article) - 2/8/2005 1:03:09 PM
I just ordered this book through the AD Bookstore - always very glad to help animal rescue operations - and Sincere Kudos to you, Sue, for donating the profits to them. Hope you sell many copies.

The Cannonball Puppy (Article) - 2/8/2005 11:33:30 AM
this is delightful; thanks for sharing, sue! well done; and you are an angel to the animals! god bless you! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in america, karen lynn in texas. :D

Getting Your First Book Published (Article) - 1/1/2005 5:41:21 AM
A handful of great advices in this informative article. Sometimes I wonder if offering one's writing completely free might be the best option in the age of the internet. Happy new year, Franz

Getting Your First Book Published (Article) - 8/2/2004 11:02:29 AM
Great advice...thanks for this on time article.

Getting Your First Book Published (Article) - 6/26/2004 2:51:44 PM
Thank you for the sage advice, well presented and gives a small taste of the pristine wonders your submission packets must be. Carol

Getting Your First Book Published (Article) - 3/4/2004 8:06:50 AM
Susan, Proactive instead of reactive. Excellent advice. Know your market and understand the business. Great article! Cynthia

What Would Nechtan Say? (Article) - 2/17/2004 6:10:35 PM
~*~ Susan, A Wonderful write and shockingly true! The human species doth indeed violate the verdant beauty of Gaia... and perpetuate extinction upon All the precious sacred and wise Animals and Creatures and Gaia Herself! ~*~ ~*~*~*~ ShiVaNi SaNnYaSiNi ~*~*~*~

Maisie (Poetry) - 12/16/2008 8:55:47 AM
I had to go look up the poem again... looks like you're doing fine in your class... still excited for you, though the term exams, I bet, are not all that exciting. :0) Merry Christmas --Charlie

Warm Memories on a Cold Day (Poetry) - 12/16/2008 4:47:30 AM
A very good poem with beautiful images and picture.It definitely warms my heart like a hot cup of chocolate,take care Edwin

Spring Bride (Poetry) - 12/16/2008 4:45:28 AM
An excellent and well written poem.I enjoy reading it,take care Edwin

Maisie (Poetry) - 12/16/2008 4:42:38 AM
Magnificent and beautiful poem,I love it,take care Edwin

Maisie (Poetry) - 12/15/2008 8:14:45 AM
This has such a soft lilt to it... and I love the last two lines. Is this written in any particular form? Cryssa :~)

Spring Bride (Poetry) - 7/16/2008 10:54:19 AM
Wish you would write good words like this about Summertime. I know you can do it and I'd love to hear more of you on the den and read some more.

Spring Bride (Poetry) - 4/13/2008 10:30:46 AM
There's something very special about an unexpected spring snowfall. You express this effectively here, Susan. Thank you. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

Spring Bride (Poetry) - 4/11/2008 8:07:09 PM
What a sweet and pleasant surprise! Almost as welcome a gift when it comes when we least suspect it.... Be always safe, Karen

Spring Bride (Poetry) - 4/11/2008 1:30:06 PM
This is super good. ...melting into Spring's warmth-- ...snuggling down into the quilt-- ...flowers springing up-- ...shaking out the past-- ...these are ways melting snow it like a feather quilt. --Charlie

Spring Bride (Poetry) - 4/11/2008 1:02:41 PM
Fantastic write, Sue! I love it... What form is this written in? Is this a rondeau redouble? No matter what form it is, I am impressed. I don't know that I want to get into an arm wrestling match with you! I fear the "Spring Bride" will win! Cryssa :~)

Wet Weekend in Transsylvania (TOLT) (Poetry) - 4/3/2008 1:47:20 PM
I really like seeing folks work in forms...you did extremely well with this. The flow is very good, the imagery is haunting, downright spooky and yet exciting. It is the type of thing I can imagine being done by a bard, to a wide eyed audience near a fire.

Sestina for Phone Freaks (TOLT) (Poetry) - 3/19/2008 10:22:46 PM
Your sense of humor always shines through your poems... This made me laugh, as I feel the same way and don't even know how to use half of the "features" on my phones. My daughter has to tell me how to use my cell phone... hee, hee... Oh, Well... I am raising kids and writing poetry instead of using phones nowadays... Cryssa :~)

Today (Poetry) - 3/12/2008 3:20:23 PM
I can so empathise with this piece, as I too have been there. If health is good..especially after illness..it is a BEAUTIFUL day! This illustrates the feeling well. I like the use of colour to further illustrate this! Love, Diana.

Warm Memories on a Cold Day (Poetry) - 3/12/2008 3:14:52 PM
Dreamy, soft warm images..the kind that keep us going through the long, cold Winter, eager for Spring's miracle return. Beautifully presented. Love, Diana.

Wet Weekend in Transsylvania (TOLT) (Poetry) - 3/12/2008 2:58:56 PM
The atmosphere here is tantalisingly tangible...I am spooked, scared but intensely curious...I'd really like to know what happens next..!! Love, Diana.

Who Suffers? (Poetry) - 3/4/2008 11:11:02 AM
And sadly, it has not changed, Susan. Thought-provoking words. Thank you. Love and best wishes, Regis

Warm Memories on a Cold Day (Poetry) - 2/26/2008 11:18:37 AM
There's no doubt that such memories will warm a winter's day. Thank you for sharing them, Susan. Love and best wishes, Regis

Wet Weekend in Transsylvania (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/21/2008 12:27:50 PM
Nicely done, Susan. You have chosen a difficult form to tell your tale but you have done it well. Love and best wishes, Regis

Wet Weekend in Transsylvania (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/15/2008 5:57:12 PM
Great job, Sue! I am still not brave enough to try a Rondeau... let alone a Rondeau redoubler! Cryssa :~)

Wet Weekend in Transsylvania (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/15/2008 2:54:34 PM
And as night falls the winged living dead shall arise, great write.... Be always safe, Karen

Wet Weekend in Transsylvania (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/15/2008 7:50:03 AM
I say that was pretty darn good, Sue. You ought to be proud of yourself! --Charlie

My Favourite Place (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/11/2008 9:37:27 PM
Do you like to clean house? Come visit me! --Charlie

Villanelle for a Cat that Sat (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/11/2008 7:36:33 PM
oh, oh, oh... I am SO confused! I thought that villanelle's were written as 10 syllable lines. Or... did someone just tell me that to try and trick me? Charlie???? Now I have to go and do some more studying. All these poem forms make my head have to think. (oops... I probably ought to read the poem instead of just counting syllables, huh?... but it is about a cat and I don't like cats so maybe just counting the syllables will have to do until I am more educated on villanelles.) Cryssa :~)

My Favourite Place (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/11/2008 7:33:15 PM
Well... I guess I am NOT an astute observer! hee, hee, hee... I can't figure out the particularness of the pattern, but I just made up a new word... particularness. :~) Keep writing... Cryssa

Sound Advice (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/11/2008 7:29:59 PM
hee, hee... I love them. I especially like the letting the lightning in if you use tin. hee, hee, hee... Cryssa

The Ballad of Danny Wise (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/11/2008 7:27:10 PM
YUCK! hee, hee... Guess that will teach.. um...someone... Nice ballad. Cryssa :~)

My Favourite Place (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/11/2008 6:45:19 PM
And the important part of course is to be alive, not just physically, but spiritually as well, nicely done.... Be always safe, Karen

Sound Advice (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/10/2008 7:23:12 AM
I can't figure out what you were doing. #1 sounds very much like that song, "You'll Never Walk Alone". Perhaps you were playing with someone else's verses-- making them your own? Or maybe random songs that you had to respond to with the lead-in given by Fry?-- Those might be interesting excercises. #2. Sounds like Longfellow cadence. He was always giving good advice. and #3 reminds me of Blake's "Tiger"... In all, it's an interesting conglomeration of ideas and cadence. It just occured to me what it might have been about: To take the cadence of a known song/poem, and write a poem using it. I wrote the funnest poem ever doing this, to the cadence of "The Cremation of Sam McGee." You'd love it, but I'll have to rework it a bit. Take care. --Charlie

Spiders in Her Hair (Poetry) - 2/8/2008 8:34:58 PM
Awwww, this is just much to adorable, very descriptive and creative... Be always safe, Karen

Spiders in Her Hair (Poetry) - 2/8/2008 7:04:04 PM
EEEWW! Creepy. --Charlie

Spiders in Her Hair (Poetry) - 2/8/2008 1:38:36 PM
Adorable write; well penned! But I don't think I'd like spiders in MY hair; I'm arachniphobic! LOL

Spiders in Her Hair (Poetry) - 2/8/2008 1:09:35 PM
...you spin humor...within follicles of innocence. well done Susan... John

Villanelle for a Cat that Sat (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/8/2008 6:10:33 AM
Art meets cadence and this "Villanelle to Catch a Rat (TOLT)" shines. In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

The Ballad of Danny Wise (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/8/2008 6:03:34 AM
I like it. "The Ballad of Danny Wise (TOLT)" is a poetic grand. In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Pantoum for Serenity (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/8/2008 5:57:38 AM
A poetic feast to entertain the MUSES. In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

The Ballad of Danny Wise (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/8/2008 2:53:01 AM
Susan, I enjoyed your story/poem. The rhyme and flow were very good. You gotta watch out for them Hoovers they've got lots of suction power. (lol) Peace, Love and Blessings, Paul.

Pantoum for Serenity (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/7/2008 7:25:38 PM
Too difficult for my blood... I am impressed. :~) I tried to write an Englyn rhyme but Charlie flunked BOTH of my endeavors. (I think she didn't like the subject matter of my second one... hee, hee, hee...) Cryssa :~)

An Afternoon With Katherine (Poetry) - 2/7/2008 7:19:49 PM
Your poetry is straightforward and flowing. Cryssa

I've Seen You in My Dreams (Poetry) - 2/7/2008 7:17:54 PM
What a wonderful gift for a child... beautiful! Cryssa

Pantoum for Serenity (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/7/2008 4:28:38 PM
So that's how it looks when it's done. Very interesting--and in iambic pentameter to boot! Very impressive. I'll give it a go... --Charlie

Sestina for Phone Freaks (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/7/2008 3:01:56 AM
Outstanding composition... "Sestina for Phone Freaks (TOLT)" is a poetic feast. Thank You for enriching the art of Poetry. In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Villanelle for a Dog Uncut (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/6/2008 9:31:20 PM
This too, is really very good. I know that most villanelle's are in iambic pentameter, but they can be of any foot length-- don't have to be iambic or trochaic. I like your rocking feet here. --Charlie

Villanelle for a Cat that Sat (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/6/2008 9:24:32 PM
Very cute! Nicely done. But I have to say, that switching verb order in poetry has always bothered me. Why do we do that? Okay, I know I'm a bit of a "grammar queen", but why not say "hides away" instead of "away hides" -- you did it just to bug people like me, didn't you...? Hmmm? --Charlie

Sestina for Phone Freaks (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/6/2008 9:08:08 PM
Great fan of Sestinas-- I know how hard they are to write. Yours was very effective. Good word choices! I've never seen the last 3 lines offset like that before. Is that common? Just wondering. --Charlie

Heroic Couplets for an Anti Hero and his Hero (TOLT) (Poetry) - 2/6/2008 1:55:40 AM
okay thanks love and peace, Reg

An Afternoon With Katherine (Poetry) - 2/1/2008 7:30:16 AM
I have enjoyed the reading of "An Afternoon With Katherine". In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

The Eternal Cycle (Poetry) - 1/31/2008 2:27:20 PM
Very nicely composed, Susan. Thank you for sharing this gift. Love and best wishes, Regis

Villanelle for a Dog Uncut (TOLT) (Poetry) - 1/31/2008 2:24:37 PM
Surely this cannot be easy to compose. In my humble estimation, you have done a masterful job, Susan. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Heroic Couplets for an Anti Hero and his Hero (TOLT) (Poetry) - 1/31/2008 3:27:58 AM
You hold a magic pen, Poet. "Heroic Couplets for an Anti Hero and his Hero TOLT" shines. In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Villanelle for a Dog Uncut (TOLT) (Poetry) - 1/30/2008 11:16:35 AM
Susan, I know more about mayonaise than metrics, but I like this poem. Don't know what kind of dog is your old dog, but I see a floppy, frazzle-haired Benjy type loping down the road. It's such a cute story, and I love the form. (What on earth is a Villanelle?) Connie

Villanelle for a Dog Uncut (TOLT) (Poetry) - 1/30/2008 8:06:09 AM
A Villanelle is a poetic form, threfore it must obey the rules, which are, sound, imagery, rhythm, rhyme and metrical structure. "Villanelle for a Dog Uncut (TOLT)" only lacks metrics. I have enjoyed the reading of "Villanelle for a Dog Uncut (TOLT)". In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Scene in a Chinese Orphanage (Poetry) - 5/21/2007 9:57:13 PM
Sue this is so depressing! Wish they would let us have the babies they set aside to die, how cruel, how incredible non-religious. Thank you for sharing this. Be safe, Karen

Scene in a Chinese Orphanage (Poetry) - 5/21/2007 5:18:10 PM
I have not watched the show, this is aweful. I don't know why this is happening. Sandie Angel :o(

Who Suffers? (Poetry) - 2/2/2005 1:33:35 PM
So simply said, yet so dynamic is impact. Wow!

Who Suffers? (Poetry) - 1/29/2005 2:18:18 PM
It IS always the innocent and yet it should not be! Those that make the innocent suffer should suffer for their sins. A heartfelt write and I am right with you in these sentiments. If only it were not so! Love Chanti

Who Suffers? (Poetry) - 1/29/2005 1:39:56 PM
Very true. However, the enemy also uses his own children to carry out his hidden agenda--again, they are the innocent pawns in war. War is hell for everybody. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :(

Who Suffers? (Poetry) - 1/29/2005 12:48:01 PM
Powerfully poignant. These are real people, not movie stunts.

Who Suffers? (Poetry) - 1/29/2005 8:24:20 AM
So very sad, so very true... The roots of war generally can be traced to Greed. A sorry aspect of our much flawed human condition; our species has much work ahead to change the way we think. War is not a viable option... I appreciate your candor herein, Sue. Best, Carolyn

Who Suffers? (Poetry) - 1/29/2005 7:34:46 AM
I agree. Very powerful write. M.Rose

Who Suffers? (Poetry) - 1/29/2005 6:16:58 AM
Yes and it is because of the innocents that we must continue to speak out.

An Afternoon With Katherine (Poetry) - 10/23/2004 6:35:57 AM
What a bittersweet write. This touched my emotions.

An Afternoon With Katherine (Poetry) - 3/7/2004 8:56:12 PM
"It was a pretty day. The sky was bright as birthday eyes, It was a time for play." You got my full attention with these verses, Susan. Well done! Love and peace. Regis

An Afternoon With Katherine (Poetry) - 2/17/2004 6:19:16 PM
~*~ Susan, Oh my... how tender and etherial at the same time! Lyrical! Heart~rending... yet hopeful of future meeting in Spirit... {the celtic~pagan SummerLand, perhaps?} Physical life is a precarious as a droplet of water clinging to the edge of a lotus leaf. This fate too, is looming over me, as it does all. ~*~ ~*~*~*~ ShivaNi SaNnYaSiNi ~*~*~*~

I've Seen You in My Dreams (Poetry) - 2/9/2004 5:49:14 PM
lovely poem ...

I've Seen You in My Dreams (Poetry) - 2/8/2004 10:40:57 AM
So precious and beautiful the poem as they are...

I've Seen You in My Dreams (Poetry) - 2/8/2004 9:21:47 AM
This was so sweet, Susan! Wonderfull write! ~ May / Sandie ~

An Afternoon With Katherine (Poetry) - 2/8/2004 8:58:35 AM
Wonderful write...simple but yet so beautiful....love n luck...BHUWAN!!!!

An Afternoon With Katherine (Poetry) - 2/6/2004 1:24:46 AM
as long as you can play, you can never fade ...

An Afternoon With Katherine (Poetry) - 2/5/2004 11:35:47 PM
You have some really great images here. I love the "bright as birthday eyes" line!

These Shoes (Poetry) - 1/19/2004 8:58:59 PM
My daughter loved party dresses. The frillyier,(not real sure this is a word, but I guess it is now) the better and with lace everywhere. She was such a girly-girl. Still is, kinda, at 16. Now she wears her frills and lace with tight fighting jeans and sneakers or boots. She's quite a contrast in fashion. I love the way you've captured the memories in this poem, nice work. Debbie

The Eternal Cycle (Poetry) - 12/24/2003 11:21:07 AM
well done! enjoyed reading ...

The Eternal Cycle (Poetry) - 12/22/2003 6:07:01 AM
Wonderful work in verses.. Peg

The Eternal Cycle (Poetry) - 12/22/2003 2:10:12 AM
"The Eternal Cycle" is poetry's must complied. Never rest Your pen; don't let Your quills dry. HAPPY HEALTHY HOLIDAYS TOO. >>>>>>>>>>>>> < < < < < < < < < < < < < < < < Perseverance and love form the greatest ammo of humankind, and the catalyzer of the chemical elements that generate the energy used by the doers when they drive the vehicle of success on the road to winners' city. Drink the dews of happiness in the conclusion of your work. May You enjoy a Memorable SEASON. Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU Apprentice-poet by the Grace of The Great Poet FOR AN EMPIRE UNDER THE SWORD OF JUSTICE.

The Eternal Cycle (Poetry) - 12/22/2003 2:06:40 AM
She...is a lucky goddess. Nice use of form and color. Lovely work! * eden

Today (Poetry) - 12/7/2003 12:45:49 AM
Susan, this is a good piece on contrasts and it is thought provoking. I understand what you were going for with the different colored fonts, but some of the lines are barely readable on my system.

Today (Poetry) - 11/29/2003 1:45:55 PM
Susan: This is so great. I like the contrast in each stanza. The first stanza lead the audience to think this was a bad day; and yet even though it was a bad day to others, it was a good day for you because you because your arms and legs work. This poem can be read in sooo many ways. You can read it as an uplifting poem; but then again, when I think of it, you're only thinking it was a great day because your arms and legs work on this day. Then what about the other days that they supposedly didn't work??? Were you hinting this? I'm sorry, when I read a poem, I'd like to read the poem in more than one ways, it just make poetry all the more interesting. I love this poem. It says volume. Your feelings are well-expressed in a few words. May Lu a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

Today (Poetry) - 11/29/2003 11:58:52 AM
Concisely expressed sentiments that are very uplifting. Thank you for this offering. Love and peace, Regis.

Today (Poetry) - 11/29/2003 11:57:25 AM
great words and tightly written!

Today (Poetry) - 11/29/2003 9:45:39 AM
great poetry susan

These Shoes (Poetry) - 11/22/2003 4:59:55 PM
:) Having two girls of my own, this piece made me smile, Susan! My biggest bitch about our myriad pairs of shoes is never being able to find one or the other, especially right before school! I like the simplistic cadence and matter of factness of this piece, it rings lovingly, yet seems to have a tiny sigh embedded within its parental evocation.

Autumn In Hollycroft (Poetry) - 11/10/2003 5:46:06 PM
Lovely tribute to the season. Thank you for the images.

Autumn In Hollycroft (Poetry) - 11/9/2003 5:04:08 PM
This is beautiful Susan, such lovely imagery! ~Nikki~

These Shoes (Poetry) - 11/6/2003 3:20:47 PM
Ah yes... It's such a fast change, eh? ;) Thanks, Rodd

These Shoes (Poetry) - 11/3/2003 6:22:55 PM
Excellent poem .

These Shoes (Poetry) - 11/3/2003 5:02:52 PM
Isn't it funny what we remember of our children's childhood? I remember my daughter for her lack of female virtues, he tomboyishness, her loathing of wearing anything that smacked of dresses or frilly blouses. Now this thirty something matron wears a size 0 and when pregnant, wears a huge size 3! She is so feminine that its scary! How time changes us all...

These Shoes (Poetry) - 11/3/2003 2:33:24 PM
Very enjoyable read...what on earth would we do without a generous variety of shoes! I couldn't bear the thought... :-}

These Shoes (Poetry) - 11/2/2003 6:18:48 PM
I think it's genetic, Susie. My girls love shoes because of their mother's Imelda Marcos collection. LOL! Cute poem! 5 stars!! Julie :)

These Shoes (Poetry) - 11/2/2003 6:06:23 AM
A very clever write about your daughter growing into a young lady. I enjoyed this. May Lu a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.