AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Claire Power Murphy, HonDL, iCarolyn Matherne, iBettye Johnson, iGerald Grantham, im j hollingshead, iMaryanne Raphael, iStan Law (aka Stanislaw Kapuscinski), i
 
Home > Robert Leon Davis
 

Recent Reviews for Robert Leon Davis


Running Scared (Book) - 2/19/2014 12:24:24 PM
Running Scared is a page turner, an amazing story that is almost too incredible to believe. However, once you read the author's clear and convicted testimony at the book's end, you know that nothing is too amazing for God! Mr. Davis' story is one that takes you on a personal journey through a man's life -- from his childhood at his grandmother's knee where he first learned about and learned to love God, through 22 years of denying the very God who protected him through his moral abyss -- and back to where it all began, where he once again embraces the things his grandmother taught him. There are no holds barred by Mr. Davis, whose incredible memoir can only lift you up. Buy it. Read it. Share it!

Running Scared (Book) - 7/8/2013 11:51:34 AM
My wife finally "made" me read this book. Wasn't really interested in crime related books: but what a book! I will warn everyone that this book is not delicate to begin with, but will rivet your spiritual foundation. Mr. Davis honesty comes through very clear. He does not blame anyone nor places blame anywhere for his past mistakes. On a visit to New Orleans a couple of weeks ago, I finally met him in person. Trust me, if you viewed 10 men in a line up, you wouldn't pick him from the group. He's very intelligent, personable, and speaks with perfect diction. I was expecting someone that looks like he had been through difficult times. "Running Scared" is a dynamic and riveting book. It will cause one to ask, "Could I have survive for 22 years as a fugitive". But more importantly, the book will prove to you that there are still some people in the world that can actually say "I sorry".

Cop Out (Book) - 6/6/2012 2:07:49 PM
This looks AMAZING! off to buy! Kimberly

Running Scared (Book) - 12/14/2011 8:51:23 AM
Running Scared by Robert Leon Davis is NOT a book for the faint of heart, mind or spirit. As I read through the pages, moving with Robert through his journey, my heart was challenged (I cried), my mind was twisted (“Would I have done that? COULD I have done that?”), and my spirit was tested (“Didn’t God get tired of “playing” with this man? Yes, God IS patient.”) I had to, at 2 different points, force myself to stop reading. Not at all because I wanted to, but because I needed to process all that I had taken in. I had to let myself FEEL what was happening. Davis’ writing style put me smack-dab in the middle of an amazing adventure of love, hate, physical and mental challenge, hustling, and humility. Add to that the fact that this is a true account, and the value of this work goes absolutely through the roof! We might never have heard Davis’ story, he could have died in one of those forests or confrontations. We might have heard it from someone who pieced together bits and pieces and decided to “make a few dollars”. But the beauty is that neither of those is true. We are hearing the story, directly from Davis. Not Davis, from a prison cell; but Davis from a place of absolutely liberty! Davis’ book is a fine example for all of us, that despite whatever situation we are in, we must tackle one challenge at a time. I am thankful to read Davis’ story - not as a work of fiction, not second-hand, and not after the person has left this earth. I am thankful that God protected Davis all those years, accepted His wayward son when he returned, and inspired Davis to share his story with us. It is beautifully written, at times alarmingly honest, genuinely emotional, and gripping throughout. A testament that life can be tough, but challenges can be overcome (despite the odds), because God is real! Bravo, Mr. Davis!

Running Scared (Book) - 10/24/2011 11:16:56 AM
I just finished reading your book Robert. Truly a blessing. I am glad you did not delete any details, it would have not been the same. My favourite verse also is Phil 4:11 "For I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content" I have lived a relatively "normal" life compared to yours, but not without it's trials. I have learned many lessons from God as well. I read a huge amount, true stories only and is the Lord speaking to me! Depending on Him, in His time, complete faith, patience... and knowing , unlike man, He will NEVER leave me or forsake me. Thankyou again for sharing your story with us. Keep living for the Lord and being there for your brothers and sisters.

Running Scared (Book) - 10/6/2011 2:13:15 PM
I was sort of apprehensive when my wife asked me to read this book. Didn't know what quite to expect; as I thought the author would "trash" good cops as well. Quite the opposite though. He recognizes that not all cops are bad, and I totally agree. I've worked with many types of the police officers that he's described in his book. The bad ones makes the good ones look terrible. The bad cops makes "police" in general look bad. Was thrill with his travels; and I can see why he was soo disgusted with corruption. Corrupton totally changed and destoyed his life. I hope in the future I could meet this man, and shake his hand for admitting his wrongs, correcting his mistakes, and now is doing soo much in the community at large. I wish and hope that one day God might forgive him for his past, and reunite him with the children he lost. My advice and suggestion; read this book, you will see just how fragile life can be.

Running Scared (Book) - 10/17/2010 1:02:43 PM
Can't wait to read "Running Scared", especially since it's the updated version of his story. My friend in England, where it's been available since September 2010, told me it's a great book; even better than the other books. Can't wait for it to be released in the United States. Read some promo excerpts and as usual, he's honest about his life and views. Really, to those who love good books and raw honesty;check out Robert's amazing journey!

The story that must be told (Book) - 10/16/2010 8:49:08 PM


Running Scared (Book) - 3/24/2010 2:32:50 PM
Sometime ago I actually met Mr. Davis at one of his speaking venues and eventually purchase his book called COP OUT. His speech was indeed eloquent and he spoke with a passion about eradicating police corruption. I read it with an open mind, not really knowing what to expect. I've been in law enforcement for years; and I must admit there is a hidden "code" among police officers to protect the brotherhood. He is certainly honest about bad cops and the "click" among the brotherhood. As for as the rest of the book, I must echo what the other readers have noticed...he had a remarkable journey! Being in law enforcement, I actually felt the need to inquire with a few friends with the New Orleans Police Department to validate his claim as to whether or not was he an actual fugitive for 22 years. He was in fact a fugitive from 1979-2001! I'm not easily gullible so I investigated other areas of his statements on this site and in his books and confirmed all the claims he has made are true. Apparently, unlike many people, he's the real deal. As a young police recruit he ran up against the "establishment", and didn't know that it would be impossible for him to "change the system" alone. Even now, police corruption is like a festering wound, and I for one wish that more law enforcers are expose, as it casts other honorable officers in a bad light. His honesty is truely remarkable, sort of brutal in that he doesn't sugarcoat his wrong nor the wrong of others. His transformation is apparently spiritual in nature, and I for one would recommend this book to anyone. The power of one man's struggles in life against all odds is certainly demostrated in COP OUT!

Running Scared (Book) - 1/22/2010 10:07:25 AM
Hi Robert; I really am mesmerized with your story. Me and my friends at The University of South Florida constantly speak about your sobering journeys, your informative articles, and your "in your face" honesty. If only others, especially men, would understand that one's faults are overcome with repentance. I am particularly impressed with the fact that you give back to the community; especially children. By the way, are you married or dating? You're very good looking for your age (smile)

Legal Minds (Book) - 7/28/2009 3:49:05 PM
I am trying to contact Mr. Robert L.Davis. Can anyone help me? Thank you, Doc Brady

Cop Out (Book) - 2/20/2008 7:49:59 AM
A fasinating memoir! I found myself traveling with the author as he conquered the forests. I imagine myself eating wild game and dealing with loneliness, with no family or friends. After I finished reading his book I was happy. Happy because his ordeal made be see that my life is good and I'm extremely bless. The author endured soo much pain and loneliness. I highly recommend this book for all to read. This book definitely captures the spirit of a man that simply wouldn't give up. Godspeed Mr. Davis

Cop Out (Book) - 2/2/2008 7:57:34 PM
Just finished reading COP OUT and I must confess, I'm totally stunned. Many of my friends have urged me to take a look at this book for months and quite frankly, I didn't like the sound of the book. After reading the book three times, I must say this guy is obviously a rarity among people. He really is sorry about all of his past crimes. What really amazed me was his brutal honesty. Many people fake repentance and forgiveness, especially people that want you to understand them to avoid incarceration but this author just tells it straight. And more importantly, a good sign of his true sorrow was that law enforcement didn't catch him, he surrendered! He was on the run for over 20 years! My friends and family will tell you that I'm not one that easily forgives, but this is one of those rare times in my life that I enjoyed reading about a person who have demoted his life to such a level that the only important thing to him is honesty! An excellent book, a dynamic true story, and a real human!

Cop Out (Book) - 1/24/2008 7:35:09 PM
I've been reading about this guy for about a year now. Finally bought his book COP OUT. I didn't expect a whole lot because it's a memoir. Wow! Blew my mind! This guy is almost reckless with his honesty. In addition his articles are actually useful. I make sure my daughters read all his articles. My only complaint, the book wasn't long enough. I just wanted to read more and more. To all of you that are a little hesitant, don't fret. A very good read about human nature and a honest view about who we all really are!

Cop Out (Book) - 2/1/2007 2:03:41 PM


Second death row inmate Brandy Holmes upset with me! Learn why! (Article) - 11/2/2014 10:17:21 AM
This is crazy I was in the same cell wit Brandy Holmes she seem like a really sweet girl until I learned What she was in for then I immediately wanted to come out the same cell with her but we used to play cards she's a great artist

My visit with Antoinette Frank on death row: convicted cop killer (Article) - 3/20/2013 6:36:48 AM
I just watched this story on the ID network. It's refreshing to observe that they did not cast someone who is attractive and actually cast a girl who was just as rough & beat up around the edges as the real Antoinette. Did anyone see her mugshot?! I was like d*mn! As for this article, it does not really offer any useful insight. 2 thumbs down on this article & her face.

My visit with Antoinette Frank on death row: convicted cop killer (Article) - 5/27/2012 12:11:14 PM
Mr. Davis I was so excited to read your interview with Antoinette Frank only to be disappointed. Where is the interview? You do not provide any insight about Antoinette that isn't already out there. Instead, you speak more about how your experiences parallel with Antoinette’s experiences. What questions did you ask Antoinette and what were her responses? Thank you.

Be careful speaking and interviewing with police officers! (Article) - 2/16/2012 7:49:47 AM
hi, well this is most interesting but I don't know if it applies to English Law. Although I have never been arrested it is still very good to know that you can refuse to answer questions unless a lawyer is present. Thank you.

Kateleen Hilton, a classic case of a women tricked into a confession! (Article) - 7/19/2011 11:51:31 PM
Thank you for this valuable information, breaks my heart that she lost 10 years of her life!

My visit with Antoinette Frank on death row: convicted cop killer (Article) - 1/2/2011 4:35:00 PM
I am a retired police officer and I can tell you that Anoinette Frank was NOT a police officer!! She may have worn the badge & uniform BUT she was NOT a police officer. She is a disgrace to those of us who truly went out to serve & protect. She is what WE in New York call a "PERP"! I hope for every day she's on death row she gets the beat down she SO deserves by the other inmates! I hope she burns in hell!! I have no sympathy for her nor do I care to hear her "woe is me" story! I appreciate you trying to write a story about her pathetic life but she doesnt deserve your time. If your gonna write a story focus on the victims.

Update on female police officer who killed another officer! (Article) - 11/22/2010 8:59:44 PM
By all accounts, she was a lousy police officer(too timid and nonaggressive) and she failed her psych exam. Two things got her in though. 1) There was a loophole(which I certainly hope has been dealt with) which allowed her to go to a private(meaning non-police sanctioned) doctor to get her psych eval. cleared and that's what she did. My belief is that she was such a sociopath that she easily duped whomever she went to see. 2) The New Orleans police Department was SO desperate for new recruits that they needed to take her. Sadly because of these two factors one police officer(with two children) and two innocent people are dead. In light of this situation I hope the N.O.P.D. has ammended their hiring criteria.

The Reid method, a police interrogation tactic! (Article) - 8/28/2010 11:12:03 PM
Keep Em Comen Right On... TRASK...

When can the police search your home and when to refuse a search! (Article) - 6/9/2010 11:47:13 AM
Good day to you, I came across your site by mistake but found it very interesting. Maybe you can help me with an incident that might become a problem with me & my family. I live in an area where the exit I get off at is the number one location for drug arrest for people involved in the drug trade. I understand this before I purchased my home but thought that regardless if we are the only people of color in the neighborhood it wouldn't be a problem. To get to my concerns, each time there is a task force out to find smugglers either I or a family member gets a police escort home. You would think that the cops would know my vehicles by now & let their fellow officers know about us. But just like clockwork cops follow us home each time. I mean they are so bold as to follow us into my driveway & turn around after realizing that we live there. Granted I really don't trust cops & after reading your articles about rogue cops I have very little use for police. I work within the law & educate my kids to do the same but on one incident I was pulled over & I felt a bit threaten. Even though it was a one on one situation & the cop had the gun I have condition myself from serving in the military to be able to handle just about any man straight up. But in this situation the cop was asking me question & before I could get the answer out he shoots out another question as if he was trying to intimidate me. Was this his way of trying to catch me in some lie or were my answers not quick enough for him? It really concerns me because I would hate for one of my sons to get pulled over only a few feet from our home and some rogue cop roughs him up. I read your article about when a person can intervene when you witness a police officer abusing or about to do bodily harm to someone. What if that person he is about to harm is on your property and you are watching this from inside your home? Can I protect my family by any means necessary or do I have to let it play out in court where I know the cop is going to walk. I have played this situation through my mind every since moving into that area. And even though we are followed home only twice a week it just bothers me, so I have to be on guard not for me but my family. Give me your thoughts when you have a minute. Thanks….

My visit with Antoinette Frank on death row: convicted cop killer (Article) - 4/13/2010 2:47:40 PM
Yes,I agree with you Raul. The reviewer "Kris Me" probably meant no harm and just haven't read the full story on Antoinette. I don't even believe her own family thinks she's repentive. You just don't kill more than once and have compassion in your heart. You don't need any other proof. To be a cop and do what she did is terrible! What I found interesting about "Kris Me" review was that he never mentioned the victims..not once!

My visit with Antoinette Frank on death row: convicted cop killer (Article) - 4/13/2010 2:23:55 PM
Is the reviewer below who goes by the name of 'Kris Me' for real? He says Mr.Davis is harsh! Okay, lets see, Antoinette murdered three people, including her police partner Ronald Williams. Then she shot one of the victims in the head as he knelt on his kness begging for his life (that's harsh). Oh, lets not forget, she murdered her father years earlier,as his body was found underneath her house after her arrest(that's harsher). He says Robert is harsh? Read the full case on the internet about how she killed those people, then see the meaning of harsh... who really cares about her redemption anyway....the bible also says an eye for an eye! She owes society an eye!

My visit with Antoinette Frank on death row: convicted cop killer (Article) - 4/11/2010 4:29:43 PM
Frist off i think you were quite harsh in your little article about Antoinette your not in tha womans head so how can you question her desire to want redemption? I think you are judging her because of her past so do you really think that fair because look at yourself you say you did some not so go things also but somebody gave you a chance weather it be God a jury or whom ever it was that helpped you publish your book See i believe in giving back what was gave to me its called a blessing and there is nothing wrong with blessing others thats what your suppose to do as a believer!! Now about her appeal that does not mean she is claiming inncessent an appeal works in different ways you can appeal tha verdict which would be what your sayin or you can also appeal tha sentence which she would try to get maybe a life sentence instead of a death sentence that is better than being put to death. How long was you locked for. I imagine not very long because you dont know much about it i mean you try to sound it but you dont get tha whole picture i would really like to hear your comments on this and i am sorry if i offended you in any way send me a message

Most corrupt city in the United States...New Orleans (Article) - 2/28/2010 12:46:33 AM
Do More Research You Totally Missed Los Angelese Sleazy (Sanctuary City) Mexifornia = Over 780 Gangs = Over 200,000 Illegals Mexicanos Gang Bangers Rule Streets... 70% Illegals Mexicanos Children vs 11% Blacks,Children In Schools, i.e. Where Have All Whites,Indians,Others Gone?!? Run By Head Gang Banger El Calde Villa-Gross-Sa ...Controlled By Illegals Alien Lover El Governor Schwartzenigger... Keep Em Comen Exposing Bad Cops You Forgot Bad Politician$... TRASK

Bad police officers and one man's solution (Article) - 12/29/2009 8:36:11 AM
I agree with the article except the oversight agency should be a state agency not federal.

Interrogation tricks of police...The Michael Crowe Story! (Article) - 11/22/2009 2:40:25 AM
Here's what to do if you really, really don't want to be interrogated by a belligerent cop. Pull yer pants down, bend over, and shit on his desk. That should get you out of there faster than you can blink. I'm not gonna speculate where you'll wind up. That's beside the point. Anyways, it's what they do in maximum security prisons from what i've seen.

Is it legal for police officers to lie for an arrest? (Article) - 9/18/2009 7:35:57 AM
I worked in hospital E.R.s for many years and had many dealings with cops. Sometimes they would bring a prisoner in beat to hell. When the Doc asked what happened to this man, the cops would look at each other, smile and say, "He fell down the stairs." Funny thing though one particular time I remember, the county jail was only one floor. I have had many police officers tell me they would never lie under oath...........unless they had to. There ya go. Walt

Be careful speaking and interviewing with police officers! (Article) - 8/18/2009 4:42:09 PM
In 50s I'd Trust Any COP In Pittsburgh,i.e. In Los Angelses Sleazy Mexifornia I Wouldn't Trust LAPD Cop Sucker On a BET! Keep Em Comen... TRASK

Don't fall for these tactics, The David Dowaliby case! (Article) - 8/17/2009 3:30:46 AM
Absolutely Right, Robert. Never, ever take that test! It's a total sham.

Arrested... what to do and say! (Article) - 7/15/2009 10:05:31 PM
I was arrested once in my life, for participating in an anti-abortion protest. I wish I had read this book. I never dreamed I'd need this kind of information. I ended up going to court, paying a heavy fine, and doing over 200 hours of community service simply for praying on a public sidewalk, and asking a police officer (respectfully) "Don't I have the right to peacefully assemble?" I'd like to read this book.

Bad police officers and one man's solution (Article) - 6/1/2009 2:01:09 PM
Wow, this is a really great article. I don't want to post a random url here, but contact me via email, I have something interesting you might want to see. mike.officerme.com

Five tips that can save your life, avoid a rape, or protect your kids! (Article) - 5/24/2009 4:41:09 PM
Thank you brother Robert! You got the RIGHT Stuff on this checklist. The only thing I would add is prayer. Amen

Is this the worst cop ever arrested? (Article) - 3/13/2009 3:52:09 AM
I am not in law enforcement,never have been and never will be. But that does not keep me from being inspired and completely enthralled by your articles and by your dedication to God as well as your charitable donations. Robert, your willingness to give counsel to others using yourself as an example of what not to do shows an unselfish and unique inner power inspired by God. Remember Moses killed an Egyptian, David stole another man's wife and was a murderer,Paul killed Christians before his conversion, Noah was a drunk, Johah ran from God and Abraham stuttered. I thoroughly enjoy your articles and feel some of your pain each time I read one of your well penned pieces. Keep up the good work. I believe God has you doing exactly what He wants you to do: writing articles and counseling others.

Is this the worst cop ever arrested? (Article) - 3/11/2009 5:54:06 PM
After reading this article, I had to get my husband out of bed to read it as well. We know a few officers in that department, and was shocked to read about officer Crouch, as we knew of him some time ago. Very sad to hear about this news. Robert, your insight and experiences are remarkable. I for one hope and pray that he contacts you for advice concerning redemption. You are a great inspiration to many people! Certainly to me and my husband. Keep it up!

Is this the worst cop ever arrested? (Article) - 3/11/2009 5:45:31 PM
Wow! What a powerful piece of liturgy! Robert, everytime I think one of your articles are the best I've read on Authorsden, you prove me wrong. It's amazing to me that he made that statement as well, but I guess one can easily make that type of statement if one hasn't reached a point of admitting guilt! Your past troubles as an ex bad cop was terrible, but at least you've found the power and remarkable ability to express your life on paper, without shame, and maybe your insights will help others realize that we don't live in a glass tube! Everything we do affect others. Please keep up the good articles, that are well written, as well as your noble cause to donate to charities!

Police and the mysterious missing wallet! (Article) - 3/10/2009 9:36:28 PM
Keep Em Comen Right On! TRASK...

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.