AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
Happy 4th of July!
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Pamela Taeuffer, iLaurie Conrad, iKathy L Wheeler / Kae Elle Wheeler, iJeff Mason, iAnthony Dalton, iOralya Ueberroth, iBill Johnson, i
 
Home > Terry L Vinson
 

Recent Reviews for Terry L Vinson


Gauntlet (Book) - 10/4/2014 7:46:35 AM
Good job on the video. I hope you sell a ton of books!

In Sheep's Clothing (Book) - 4/24/2014 4:08:20 PM
Thanks Billy...have yet another set for release in June. Strange, it took me five years to complete three manuscripts, and I began shopping them around at distinctly different times, but now all three are being published in the same year and within three months of each other!

In Sheep's Clothing (Book) - 4/23/2014 6:44:26 PM
Congratulations on your new book. Two releases in one month is awesome.

The Purgatory Inn (Book) - 4/2/2014 4:27:55 PM
Good luck with this one man -- I am trying to get a conceptual anthology out there myself with a friend standing in as the editor and I am the executive producer. This project is ranging from the staples of my company Horror, Science Fiction and Creative nonfiction to short story wide here but the common concpt being the writers graduated from 1991-1997 here falling in the time frame of my memoir, and issue 5 then Issue 10 of my magazine too. You will see a new one called The Ward. You need a project that's an anthology of you own man -- a Bone Chills sequel, this timd set in Great Lakes Naval Station. RTC, Division 12 where the place is haunted and I will publish this one and I can do the formatting where I can do this title justice.

The Purgatory Inn (Book) - 4/2/2014 3:30:15 AM
Ok... another round of suspense from the master of macabre! This one promises to be as exciting, and revolting, as his previous fares. Good work, man!

DESOLATION Outpost (Book) - 10/16/2012 6:48:00 AM
I’ve known Terry Vinson for ten years, and have read everything he’s ever written. This, I would have to say, ranks right up there with the best he’s ever done. I know that he has said he more fun writing this than anything else he’s written recently. I had to smile when I saw that He used me (or at least my name) as one of the characters in the story. The dialog, character development, pacing, and suspense all show a maturity that is refreshing and captivating. The action scenes are easy to follow, and the climax shows a surprise that wasn’t seen coming. If there ever was a genre of transition from graphic novel to print novel, this exemplifies the best of that. I highly recommend this, as well as his other super hero novels, Desolation Island and Sidekicks Inc. Definitely five stars!

Sidekicks Incorporated (Book) - 1/12/2012 9:40:42 AM
I’ve known and read Terry Vinson for over ten years. I know his style and what he’s capable of. This, his latest, is perhaps his best so far, although with so many good previous works, it’s hard to tell. The action, once it gets going, is non-stop and a thrill ride that keeps your nerves on edge and head spinning with exhaustion. The dialog is compelling and the characters, especially the main ones, grab a hold of you and won’t let go. The end has what has come to be expected with Terry’s stories, has a surprise twist that wasn’t seen coming, and creates a book you simply can’t put down until finished. I have often told Terry that he should branch out from his first love genre (horror) and do others. This sci-fi excursion proves I was right. Vinson is too good to remain in a single genre. This book is a must for those who like these kinds of stories.

DESOLATION Outpost (Book) - 11/6/2011 8:57:58 PM
Okay I want this. The prelude for this is pretty damn good.

DESOLATION Outpost (Book) - 8/1/2010 4:47:00 AM
i like the cover, enjoyed reading the excerpt, interesting premise for your work

The Dead Effect (Book) - 6/10/2009 4:03:16 PM
I guess most of us have that certain “something” that scares us, or intrigues us in our fears. For me, its vampires. For Terry Vinson, I would have to say his “monster dejour” is the walking undead…Zombies. This is vintage Vinson, with a series of short stories tied together with a common theme. Each one details a gore-fest of Zombies from a variety of points of view. Some of my favorites include ‘Dawn of the Sentinel’ portraying the misadventures of two survivors of the undead plague, only to be caught up in their own complacency, with terrible results. Then there is ‘The Real Monsters’. A commentary of our times, postulating that the terrorists we fight are despised and reviled even by the more common, ‘mainstream’ monsters. Good work. But my all time favorite has to be ‘Southern Extinction.’ This should be read by everyone… for those northerners who just don’t understand the South, and by us Southrons who feel a need to connect with our roots. Top quality and extremely moving. If you enjoy the horror genre, pick up a copy of Dead Effect. You won’t be sorry.

DESOLATION Island (Book) - 5/6/2009 4:03:35 PM
Action packed excursion into a world of super powered beings! As a long time fan of Mr. Vinson’s work, I was already familiar with some of the characters that populate this thriller. Two of his previous works, Skeletal Remains and Half Past the Witching Hour included novellas featuring super powered heroes like Force, Marvella, Mystic, Dark Claw, Johnny Reb, and others. In a way, it was like reacquainting oneself with old friends. This full length novel gives these larger than life figures room to really grow, and show their stuff. In a world where extraterrestrials are given no more than a nonchalant thought than a super powered man or woman, almost anything can, and does, happen. This is a story of a special place, extraordinarily equipped to handle extraordinary super beings. No matter what super power they may possess, the detention center of Eagle Island is impervious to whatever forces are thrown at it. It is here, that the inmates, whether friend or foe, must unite for the mere possibility of survival when an ancient power comes to life that threatens all living things. Can former enemies learn to trust each other long enough? Who will betray them, and surprise all at the end? This is very well written with hard hitting dialog, grisly description, and edge of your seat page turning action that we have come to expect from Terry Vinson. For anyone who was weaned on Marvel Comic super heroes, this is a must read!

Bugstompers of The 21st Century (Book) - 1/21/2009 10:51:19 AM
WOW!! This is pure vintage Vinson! Pomises to be as good, or better than his best stuff. I am reminded of "Passports to Hell" of a few years back, written by Terry, where the 'thread' that ran through his anthology of gruesome stories was an epic battle against giant mutated bugs. I wished then that I could have had more of that. I can hardly wait to get my copy.

SPECTRAL REWIND: The Class of ’81 (Book) - 11/2/2008 4:46:39 PM
Congratulations Terry, from the prologue this looks very promising, you are hands down one of the most prolific writers I know! I wish you all the success & good fortune that comes your way! You deserve it!

DESOLATION Island (Book) - 7/2/2008 8:08:26 AM
What a great imaginanation, this books sounds like a must read! Ingeborg

Creeping Dread (Book) - 4/9/2008 10:11:19 AM
As an author who has (and does) write "period pieces", I am very interested in how my good freind Terry Vinson writes his, with a macabre and welcome horror angle. The prologue is intrigueing to say the least. I can hardly wait to get my copy!

Creeping Dread (Book) - 4/8/2008 2:01:18 PM
I really enjoyed this prologue Terry, 'CREEPING DREAD: The Fantastic Journals of Luther Henry' appears to hold much promise!

Yellow Fever (Book) - 3/17/2008 6:46:47 AM
Ok... this promises to be one hell of a thriller! I love the concept of a serial killer of serial killers. Equal parts action/adventure and horror/thriller is just the fine type of page turning, can't-put-it-down book we have come to expect from Terry Lloyd Vinson. I'm ordering mine today!

Mister Hate (Book) - 11/25/2007 5:17:17 AM
HEll yeah -- congrats on this one Terry. i need to get reading on the original version (been so behind because of editing anthologies and signing books.)

The Dead Effect (Book) - 8/2/2007 9:24:20 PM
Very vivid and graphic style that translates easily to that other medium which relies more upon visual content, i.e. film. However I prefer good story content and plot especially when utilizing the written word. That is, The Thing or some other narrator thinks, feels, or interprets its actions in addition to those of the characters or their thoughts before, during, and subsequent to the horror and terror, the terror and horror, impacting them

The Dead Effect (Book) - 5/8/2007 2:56:47 PM
Sounds very 'spooky'. Get ready for a great 'chill'. Chrissy

The Dead Effect (Book) - 5/5/2007 3:31:33 PM
Terry, Congrats on your new book; am going to have to check'er out! I can appreciate a good horror story now and then, and you are among the best I've read! Very well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Passports to Hell (Book) - 3/14/2007 5:06:17 PM
I am about page eighty of the small print version of the novel and I will say right now this book is a can't miss title from Vinson. He's got the bug horror element in this one and gives a nod to H.P. Lovecraft in the way the monsters are done. This is definately H.P. Lovecraft writing through Terry, and this actually compliments your collection of Stephen King books too -- if you have a Stephen King novel, you'll discover Terry eventually if it isn't Bone Chills, it would either be this one or Half Past The Witching Hour. Highly recommended.

Passport To HELL (Book) - 2/11/2007 5:13:51 PM
A dark intense read from Vinson, what you get with Bone Chills take this to a darker reign. This is a definate sequel to BONE CHILLS -- but also don't HALF PAST THE WITCHING HOUR either because all these stories go hand in hand. Vinson as a writer is in the vein of some of the masters such as H.P. Lovecraft and Richard Matheson.

DESOLATION Island (Book) - 12/11/2006 8:24:58 AM
Great Read!! It's like going back to my comic book days except on a grand scale. Ben Thomason is a great character, flaws and all. I hope we get more from Terry on him!! Keep them coming, Terry!

Half Past The WITCHING HOUR (Book) - 10/6/2006 12:37:25 PM
A fine collection in the tradition of Rod Serling! Anyone familiar with the macabre and horrifying tales of Terry Vinson knows that he is the master of the short story, who some have compared to the likes of Stephen King. In this latest book one is reminded of another master who marveled and amazed fans for years. This collection is very much like Rod Serling’s Night Gallery or even The Twilight Zone. Unlike his previous works where the stories are bound together by a wrap around connecting theme, these exciting tales are introduced separately, making a veritable gallery of nightmarish and thought provoking excursions into the dark side of life. There are twenty-eight tales in all, and as a special surprise, some are not pure horror, but nifty sci-fi, while others could be considered almost philosophical. True, Mr. Vinson indulges himself sometimes in a gore fest, as in You are who you Eat, but at other times he shows an almost tender side, as in Chain Letter. The never ending suspense is drawn out into eternity in Eternal Rewind, and anyone who secretly harbors feelings of revenge at their job can identify with Heads Will Roll. A cute, if bloody reminder of our internet manners is amply demonstrated in BREECH OF NETiquette. Perhaps my favorite was a frighteningly sad little piece called Brain Matter(s) where it is true, that a mind, however hopelessly demented, is a terrible thing to waste. I highly recommend this book where Mr. Vinson shows his talent extends beyond simple horror, but can catch you by the throat on a myriad of other levels as well. This is perhaps his best work to date.

Southern Extinction (Short Story) - 7/3/2015 11:50:49 AM
Appreciate the review, Ron, and as always I respect your opinion, but frankly, if you weren't born or raised in the south, my nostalgic view and idealism is something you cannot understand, and I disagree with the comment that political correctness merely 'goes too far' on occasion. It is just as I described it...a black plague upon society. I'm afraid the repercussions and the chaos we are now seeing is just the tip of the iceberg. Take care, Terry

Southern Extinction (Short Story) - 7/3/2015 7:27:58 AM
Like Orwell and others, you've written a dystopic view of the future. I've found that some of the technologies you are using don't seem futuristic at all. I doubt if the idea of a classroom teacher standing before students will last very long. I think the future will be more like the Socratic one with the teacher sitting on one end of a log and the student sitting on the other. Virtual reality will probably not require all kinds of devices like you describe. As for your lesson in history, I disagree quite a bit with your nostalgic point of view: "Priorities were simple; cut and dry. God; family; country…PERIOD. Breach of said order was unthinkable, and in some communities, not tolerated." Not tolerated? Exactly what's wrong with "Southern values." The renegade culture expressed in music seems to defy all that prissyness and makes rebellious activity (downright sinful) music the most popular. Strange. Probably the same reason that rap music is popular… it defies values. Most of the things that you describe as being, "Southern," as a kid growing up in the rural North, I experienced as well. They were more of that era than of a locality. Our food was different because we grew different food. Food now comes from the Midwest, around the world and California. The growth of the South can largely be attributed to widespread use of air conditioning. Racism was equally cherished in the north, while often totally misunderstood. We had no "Dixie Debutantes" in the north, just rich girls and beauty contests. You're right, they were: "old-fashioned values." I see no harm in cherishing history. I see no value in using it for "causes." You're right, political correctness does often go too far. but as authors, we can be politically incorrect and probably get away with it, as long as we are not hateful or abusive with it. Humor certainly goes a long way when it comes to political correctness being poked fun of. I recently watched the History Channel's "Texas Rising." While the timeline and characters were real, the Texas landscape and caricaturizing of the characters does a disservice to history. When we glorify parts of our past, we conveniently forget the ugly and sweep it under the rug. You seem to indicate that history is bland and sugarcoated with your hacked character, but then you fall back on archaic ideas, thinking that the future will be very bad because "Southern values" will be lost. I think it is more important to be honest about what they were than to glorify them. I don't mourn the loss of northern values (we had them and some still claim they were the best). Most of them weren't very good anyway. Ron 


Southern Extinction (Short Story) - 7/3/2015 12:02:07 AM
A riveting read cleverly interweaving Sci-Fi and history laced with a double dose of reality. If "backbone-of-jelly" politicians continue in their attempts to eliminate rudiments of culture, not limited to symbols of pride for Southern heritage, America will become a barren psychological landscape. We already see changes not wrought for the better in our classrooms. Your pen makes some mighty sharp points!

Bitter Ingredients, Bitter Pizza (Short Story) - 3/9/2015 4:19:37 AM
Very well written. And, over the top in a very creative way, like a bad dream after eating too much pizza. I think the publisher's problem was the hating kids part. I've known people like that and wonder if they ever were a kid… Probably had a bad childhood. Anyway, glad you posted it here so that you can show others what creative writing is all about. On the flipside, I have been thinking about writing a memoir about all the crazy things my twin and I did--mostly with others--as kids. I just thought about it again this morning before reading this. About how I would subtitle, Snakes, Snails and Puppy Dog Tails with the disclaimer saying, "This book may not be appropriate for children to read except if they can sneak read it when their parents don't know it." Ron

Jingle BONES (Short Story) - 12/15/2014 6:29:32 AM
Since I'm, unfortunately, about the only one that comments here. I don't want you to take my comment as the only view of your work. Very well written and dramatic. There were a couple of minor errors that could've been easily corrected and I found some of the description did not fit visualization because it was contradictory. That said, I didn't like the story of retribution because it was too much fantasy and too little reality. I find that real stories are far more chilling than all the imaginary goings-on that you described in this story. For example, if Marvin, on his way to his annual Christmas killing, is caught by a storm in the bus terminal, alone. The clerk, with no customers, leaves him alone in the waiting room and ends his shift at 11 pm. Unable to carry out his fetish, Marvin becomes delusional and is visited by his victims in his mind. In the end, he cuts himself and bleeds to death, found by the clerk who reopens the terminal in the morning. However, you probably have a great following of people who like surreal ghostlike thingamajigs doing ghastly things… Especially if there's a lot of blood and gore. I wish they would write their rave reviews here so that at least my comment would be balanced. Ron

Reign of Goblins (Short Story) - 11/15/2014 10:06:52 AM
I look forward to everything you write. Diabolically chilling.

WHAT Goes There? (Short Story) - 10/30/2014 7:52:27 AM
Certainly a ghastly story with an often used ploy of the changeling. As usual, very well-written and interesting to read. However, I kept running into errors that a good editing would remove, making the reading a little harder for me than if they had been corrected. You mentioned that during the storm it was 75° to 100° below zero. While high winds will blow snow to blizzard conditions, it only snows between 32° and about 5°F before all of the water vapor is removed from the air. There are also a few other little technical issues that would need to be cleared up, but not the story, itself. A fine tribute to these other authors with the original concepts. Ron

Reign of Goblins (Short Story) - 10/29/2014 10:46:55 AM
A wonderful memoir with a diabolical change of pace. Based on the TV dramas I've been watching, the last part would be better done on TV because it would take too many words to really describe these monstrous images from your dreams (?). Your writing is superb. On the other hand, as much as elders tried to come up with ways to scare me, and my twin brother, I don't remember, other than having an occasional nightmare, ever being scared in my young life of anything, living or dead. Oh, I learned what was dangerous and how to stay away from that, but fear the unknown… No way. I realize that many have fear ingrained in their psyche, making the business for fear mongers, why food purveyors feed on overeaters. that's why I rarely write Halloween stories or poems. Ron

Reign of Goblins (Short Story) - 10/29/2014 6:19:37 AM
Good stuff as usual, Terry. Hmmm... to bad I couldn't have saved you when IT was still on my porch...

Passing the Torch (Short Story) - 9/28/2014 7:01:40 AM
An interesting twist to a serial killer story. I'm still not sure if the body count includes both killers or just one. It's a bit murky as to what actually happened that a second reading may clarify. I particularly liked your reference to Ed Gein, a homeboy of mine (he lived 30 miles away), who made it all the way to Life magazine back in the day. I also like the reference to the Northwest and that wonderful Green River killer. Well-written, although I was a bit put off by the sarcastic attitude of Detective X. Ron

Duped Net: The Interrogation (Short Story) - 9/15/2014 9:38:17 AM
Oh, my! As a Texas resident, I found this parody to Dragnet so hilarious! I had to read some aloud to share the laugh with my daughter. Too funny, and love the name, Bill Melater!

Duped Net: The Interrogation (Short Story) - 9/13/2014 5:40:52 PM
imaginative,

The Shredder (Short Story) - 8/25/2014 3:59:05 PM
Another winner by a master in horror.

Duped Net: The Interrogation (Short Story) - 8/24/2014 7:10:14 AM
Total gross out! I laughed all the way through… Ron

The Shredder (Short Story) - 8/17/2014 7:48:07 AM
By coincidence, I just took another look at, "True Grit," last night on television, after seeing the remake recently. As I started to read your story, I thought I was reading a retake of that story with horrific proportions. After you set that stage, I was horrifically shocked with the ending. You are a writer's writer and your character development is superb, along with the storyline. I did find a couple of little suggestions you might be interested in: "… beaver and rabbit [pellets, pelts] lining his bulky torso." He was lined with beaver and rabbit shit? ;-) "Remainder of the [Spartans, Spartan's] at their farm…" Do coyotes "bay?" "Water was most likely [stagnated, stagnant],…" I don't find "dark maroon" a good description of dried blood. Perhaps "dark brown streaks turned crimson by cold water" Ron

A Rock 'n Roll Apocalypse (Short Story) - 8/4/2014 9:09:29 PM
Another winner by the master. I thoroughly enjoyed this. Unfortunately, Rapper's Delight by The Sugarhill Gang, which is considered the first song to popularize hip hop was released in 1979. This means we have endured 35 years of rap, and there's no relief in sight.

Duped-Net: Undercover Blues (Short Story) - 7/31/2014 4:56:08 PM
holds reader interest

Duped-Net: Undercover Blues (Short Story) - 7/31/2014 7:50:44 AM
Hilarious! That's about all I can say about it. Ron

A Rock 'n Roll Apocalypse (Short Story) - 7/25/2014 6:22:08 AM
Hilarious and scary. I knew that name was familiar and found out that it was Gen. Schwarzkopf and not a DJ. Nonetheless, this is a very well-crafted piece of fantasy that has a great deal of truth in it. Although hip-hop is making the big bucks, I think in time rock 'n roll will endure like classical music and hip-hop will go thumping out the door with one last "what's up!" hurrah. Ron

A Rock 'n Roll Apocalypse (Short Story) - 7/24/2014 4:28:08 PM
interesting read

Resurrection Road (Short Story) - 7/9/2014 5:40:11 AM
Very well written. I was into the story and could have accepted very well the idea that the deceased was not deceased, or even some inmate being clandestinely transported to a safe house. A unique, original ending would've been wonderful. However, the vampire bit at the end turned me off. It didn't serve to explain anything. To me, vampires have been rehashed so many times, they're boring. Ron

Resurrection Road (Short Story) - 7/7/2014 2:12:07 AM
holds reader interest

The Z B A (Short Story) - 6/12/2014 1:22:50 PM
It obviously takes a warped mind to write this story. I loved it.

The Z B A (Short Story) - 6/11/2014 6:15:35 PM
holds reader interest

The Z B A (Short Story) - 6/10/2014 6:35:37 AM
Very well written, creative, and held my attention in spite of my lack of interest in zombies and basketball. I think you meant they were shooting "treys" (meaning, three-pointers) rather than plastic or metal containers for carrying food or dishes. ;-) Ron

Why I Write - An Author's Confession (Article) - 11/19/2014 8:42:10 AM
Terry, i enjoyed this article and can see Ronald's comment clearly. I am also of the adlib variety.

Why I Write - An Author's Confession (Article) - 11/16/2014 7:58:11 AM
Thank you for your lucid description of "Why I write." However, my experience differs somewhat from yours in a few areas. First of all, I write because I have to. Something in me compels me to write… Both fiction and nonfiction. I get great joy from writing whether people read it or not. As far as story development, I've never outlined a story or developed characters for it (one of my faults). I often get stories from dreams, like the one I got last night… A very short story (for me) that I will write later today. And I always write in an ad lib fashion with a clear idea of both the beginning and the ending and the main characters only. As I fill in the story, especially in a novel, I add sub stories and characters to fill the needs of the storyline with the ending clearly in mind that I will eventually arrive at. Occasionally, before I get to the ending, I change it. This is especially true, of the twist. I often don't think of a really good twist to a short story, or even a novel, until the very end when the whole story is before me and the ending begs a novel conclusion. I like to surprise the reader or lead into a possible sequel. And I can't recall any nonreaders telling me that I was wasting my time. But I don't get out in public that much and have found that the "readers" that I find are often devout followers of certain authors and could care less about my work. For the most part, I find the general public that I meet very interested in my work and very encouraging. My twin brother took a while to realize that I was really serious about writing professionally, even though I wrote professionally during my entire working life--nonfiction. As for time, now that I'm not working full-time, I seem to have less time for writing and more time to comment on articles like yours. Ron

'The Fright Flicks of Stephen King’: One Fan’s Overview (Article) - 6/17/2014 5:54:14 AM
enjoyed reading your review, family likes these movies, ...

For What it's Worth: The Top Ten Western Flicks of All-Time (Article) - 6/17/2014 5:53:24 AM
seen 'em all, Husband is mad mad for westerns, heh enjoyed reading your review

Exorcising Ghosts of the Green and Gold Variety (Article) - 6/17/2014 5:52:36 AM
Roll Tide

For What It's Worth: The Ten Best Sci-Fi Films of All Time (Article) - 6/17/2014 5:51:59 AM
are you sure we are not related, enjoyed reading your review , not my fav genre, however, family continues to enjoy these too

For What it's Worth: The Ten Best Horror/Suspense Novels of All Time (Article) - 6/17/2014 5:50:20 AM
enjoyed reading your review , ditto my feelings regarding undead movies, heh

For What It's Worth: The Ten Best 'Undead' Films of all time (Article) - 6/17/2014 5:49:38 AM
enjoyed reading your review , while I don't particularly enjoy the genre, son, d in law and Husband are mad for them

A Crimson (Tide) WAVE (Article) - 6/17/2014 5:48:18 AM
ROLL TIDE! in my -first grade- classroom we have a door greeter. standard greeting for my little greeter during football season is ROLL TIDE, my name is ___ , welcome to first grade, How may I help you. Good games, wasn't it! (I'm a Californian, I also like USC)

MOVIE REVIEW: ‘30 Days of Night’ (Article) - 6/17/2014 5:45:41 AM
enjoyed reading your interesting review

DVD Review: Tarantino’s “Death Proof” runs hot, but only in spurts… (Article) - 6/17/2014 5:45:02 AM
enjoyed reading your review

DVD Review: Horror/comedy 'SLITHER' is grisly fun..... (Article) - 6/17/2014 5:17:05 AM
B R R R R R enjoyed reading your review

For What It's Worth: The 25 Best Horror Films of All Time (Article) - 3/30/2014 5:13:40 AM
Halloween I had conversations about this film in Richmond, Virgina, and read the story that went with The H.P. Lovecraft adapation you speak about here. Stick around my blog for a presentation I found of an anthology film that I compare to Black Sabbqth for my generation. Silence of the Lambs is a chilling horror film from my era there man -- I remember when itcame out in the theater and I've weighed in on The Blob on epinions.com. My favorite horror films from the 1990s were Tales From The Hood, Se7en, The Blair Witch Project, A Stir Of Echoes. White Noise, The Ring, and One Missed Call I like a lot because being a writer of ghost stories myself there -- Stir of Echoes is my favorite because it gave Joliet some Gothic credibility.

For What It's Worth: The 25 Best Horror Films of All Time (Article) - 10/17/2013 7:02:09 AM
Good list. I mostly agree, although I wasn't as taken with some of the actors as you were. I used to think that the worst thing that could ever happen to you was to be bitten by a vampire...not only did you die, but you BECAME ONE! Now, I think the worst thing that could happen to you was to be bitten by a zombie. Not only do you die, but YOU BECAME ONE! The difference is, at least vampires still have their intellect, their will, their sex life, etc, whereas zombies just don't have shit, except the insatiable hunger.

For What It's Worth: The 25 Best Horror Films of All Time (Article) - 10/16/2013 8:08:18 PM
I loved the article. It was superbly written. I've seen all but one of the top 25 and depending on whether or not I was in the front or the back seat at that drivein, I like your choices. One picture you may have overlooked is Phantasm, which in my opinion, was ahead of its time.

For What It's Worth: The ten-best Sci-Fi television programs of all time (Article) - 10/16/2013 5:33:15 PM
Terry, I have to agree with you pretty much down the line. A word, if I may, about the Walking Dead. Having been a faithful devotee for all the seasons, I have come to appreciate this as a real DRAMA. The strength of the series are the characters themselves, their interaction, their failures and their triumphs. The zombies are almost incidental, almost taking a back seat to the overall pace of the show. As for V... which did you like best.. the original or the ill fated remake? I'd have to go for the original.

For What it's Worth: The Ten Best Horror/Suspense Novels of All Time (Article) - 10/5/2013 12:54:46 PM
Once you read a book I AM LEGEND it really sticks with you -- another one of Richard Matheson's novels that does that and I swear by this as much as I swear by Bone Chills. A Stir Of Echoes -- Terry if you read Ghosts In The Torado in the first namesake, the vibe will be Twister meets Stir Of Echoes as I combine the supernatural from the result of a demise due to a natural disaster. The huge fuck you aspect to that story is where I have a tornado rip the roof off a Kingdom Hall of Jehovah's Witnesses and the funnel picks up all their fucking Awake Magazines.

For What It's Worth: The ten-best Sci-Fi television programs of all time (Article) - 10/2/2013 6:18:11 AM
As usual, an excellent article by one of the most eloquent writers I know. You certainly know how to coin a phrase. You may have overlooked Night Gallery in the honorable mentions. I also enjoyed One Step Beyond, back then, but not so much now.

For What It's Worth: The ten-best Sci-Fi television programs of all time (Article) - 10/2/2013 6:17:25 AM
I admire your research and quality of analysis. Also your endurance for watching all of these science fiction series. I have always enjoyed science-fiction and have been writing it myself. Unfortunately, fantasy has overrun the genre to the detriment of science. For the most part, I try to base my science fiction on science fact rather than science fantasy––to my demise. I agree with you about The Twilight Zone. I can't talk about the X-Files because I never viewed the show either on cable or it is later version. Because of my concern about fantasy, I don't consider Walking Dead, like so many others, to be anything more than soap opera (it's all about characters, not scientific events) and not science fiction. It certainly is fantasy like Alice in Wonderland or Gulliver's Travels, so it may be a classic without some of the lessons built into the two classics I've mentioned. I must admit that I'm addicted to watching Walking Dead, only to see who might survive. But I always get tired of the good guys winning for a while and then the bad guys winning for a while and so on… ad nausea. If it doesn't come to an end pretty soon like Breaking Bad, I'll probably stop watching. Star Trek, like The Twilight Zone, held many stories with philosophical or scientific questions or conundrums. The characters and the ship were rather hokey, more 19th-century than the future, but the storylines were very good. I didn't watch the Second Generation, so I can't comment on that or some of the others. I would consider Wild Wild West as historical fantasy. All in all, very well done. I'd like to see what others think, but most here don't seem to have time to write about subjects like this in any detail. Ron

For What it's Worth: The Top Ten Western Flicks of All-Time (Article) - 3/3/2013 4:59:21 AM
Terry, I was very glad to see John Wayne's The Alamo not onlylisted, but listed so high. i agree the later remake was bland, although I stiull watch it at least once a year, along with the Duke's. On honorable mention that I would have to add. The old sixties Cinerama experiment with an all star cast of characters... "How the West Was Won." The music was electrifyoing, the scenery breathtaking, and the story, as written by the master of the Western, Louis Lamore was intriguing. Genrations of the same family...hmmm... that sounds familiar...

Exorcising Ghosts of the Green and Gold Variety (Article) - 1/13/2013 2:31:20 PM
Dynasties in football are precious few these days. I'm so very glad to see Alabama at the top of the heap. Looking forward to more years of the same. Roll Tide!

Exorcising Ghosts of the Green and Gold Variety (Article) - 1/12/2013 8:20:04 AM
Not only a master horror writer, but a sports enthusiast. Nice article, Terry.

For What It's Worth: The Ten Best Sci-Fi Films of All Time (Article) - 7/19/2012 3:32:08 PM
whew! Quite a liost,buddy. I have to point out tha Avatar really should be seen on the big screen in 3-D. We renterd ther VDV not long ago for our second viewing and were somewhat disappointed... just not as "rich" imagery. I owuld move Chuck Hestons Planet of the Apes into the list, as well as Sreve McQeen's Blob. Mostlt, I agree with you.

For What It's Worth: The Ten Best Sci-Fi Films of All Time (Article) - 7/14/2012 7:42:02 PM
You seem to have most of the greats. I'd add: Dark City

For What It's Worth: The Ten Best Sci-Fi Films of All Time (Article) - 7/11/2012 12:31:47 PM
Hi Terry, for me, Linda Hamilton made 'Terminator.' We wanted to see Sarah Connor beat that machine. Everyone still goes on about Arnie, so I suppose it's all about who has the best publicist ;-) Of course we all fell in love with the original Star Wars because we willed Luke to succeed, despite how witless he was. God forbid our lives ever did depend on such a dummy. The last 3 films of course lacked the originality and human touch. So what if the aliens look great? We need someone to believe in and experience the thrills and danger with

The Light of Gensan (Poetry) - 8/28/2014 7:12:53 PM
A different read than what I'm used to, but serenely accomplished writing and I'm glad I could read it tonite.

The Light of Gensan (Poetry) - 1/30/2012 11:45:30 PM
GOOD WORK...THE EXHILERATION THAT YOU FEEL IS EVIDENT THROUGHOUT. AND I ESPECIALLY LIKE THE FIRST THREE WORDS IN THE FIRST VERSE OF THIS WORK AND THE FIRST FOUR WORDS IN THE LAST VERSE. WITH GOD, THROUGH HOPE AND PRAYER...MAY YOUR JOY CONTINUE. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS & FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

The Light of Gensan (Poetry) - 1/29/2012 11:18:26 AM
Terry... How very nice to see some poetry from you. To some, writers like you and I who delve in the brutal, the ugly, and macabre, would seem unfit or unexpected to write such beautiful heart strong verses. This is wonderful, friend. Keep it up. Let us see this "not before seen" side of you again...and again. Loved it!

Ode to The Hunger (Rant of the Living Dead)  (Poetry) - 5/26/2008 8:33:38 PM
Written like some of the books I read by Stephen King. He makes bizarre into endings left ??? NO end. I do get chills reading this, but it is a good mysterious write. Darkness comes at last.

Ode to The Hunger (Rant of the Living Dead)  (Poetry) - 5/27/2007 5:52:36 AM
Terry, I just "dropped by" and the experience has overwhelmed me in many ways. This is a great, dark poem. You told it in first person so your readers identify with your "victim" as though they were inside the poem and ARE the victim. Great work! George

Ode to The Hunger (Rant of the Living Dead)  (Poetry) - 12/27/2006 12:37:13 PM
Twisted, demented and perfectly sinister! NICE write!!!!

Ode to The Hunger (Rant of the Living Dead)  (Poetry) - 8/16/2006 8:24:16 AM
This was the first time I get to read some of the poetry you wrote, hell this is the most twisted thing I've read in a long time.

Ode to The Hunger (Rant of the Living Dead)  (Poetry) - 8/15/2006 9:27:31 AM
I always knew that Terry is a multi talented author, and to read his poetry for the first time only serves to reinforce that notion. From prey to predator, indeed. Disturbing display of imagery and emotion is awesome! Perhaps the worst thing about being a victim of the zombies (or vampires, too, for that matter) is that you don't just die... you become one!! Very well done!

Ode to The Hunger (Rant of the Living Dead)  (Poetry) - 8/14/2006 9:28:04 PM
Very well done Terry. I liked the imagery and the excellent emotion you have captured. I seriously think you have found another talent. Charles D. O'Connor III ps. check out my new story Gasta: The Land Beyond The Universe

Ode to The Hunger (Rant of the Living Dead)  (Poetry) - 8/14/2006 6:56:59 AM
An awesome story poem Terry, Zombie Poetry you've got something new here man! Keep em coming!

Ode to The Hunger (Rant of the Living Dead)  (Poetry) - 8/13/2006 12:18:35 PM
Very 'disturbing'. Congrats again on your Zombie novel...

Ode to The Hunger (Rant of the Living Dead)  (Poetry) - 8/12/2006 7:55:53 AM
Terry, Good grief, if this doesn't give me nightmares...chilling; powerfully effective, descriptive piece, very well done. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Ode to The Hunger (Rant of the Living Dead)  (Poetry) - 8/11/2006 7:44:32 PM
Again, you are a visionary of our worst nightmares, and your imagery paints a savage, raw death of the most terrible kind. I love the transition from prey to preditor...flawless! Cheryl Kaye Tardif, author of Whale Song (2007 Kunati Books)

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.