AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Audrey Coatesworth, iMary Adair, iWilliam Bonilla, iMargaret Doner, iPia Shannon, iJansen Estrup, iJean-Pierre Gregoire, i
 
Home > Betty Jo Tucker
 

Recent Reviews for Betty Jo Tucker


Susan Sarandon: A True Maverick (Book) - 1/14/2008 7:15:04 AM
I love my book! I read it while in my School bus! and I loved your story on her! Write On! Share On! Warmed in the Spirit, Warrior Purple Lady Sweet Sheoxoo STay Positive!

Confessions of a Movie Addict (Book) - 6/6/2002 8:33:27 AM
A Funny Look at Movies by James Colt Harrison, editor of National Film PreVue Magazine If Oscar's were given for the funniest book of the year, then "Confessions of a Movie Addict" by Betty Jo Tucker would win hands down! Film critic Tucker is as star-struck today as she was as a little girl when she was frightened out of her wits by FRANKENSTEIN and later in high school when she did impersonations of Rita Hayworth singing "Put the Blame on Mame." She fell hopelessly in love with the movies and movie stars. The affection she developed warped her mind from that point on to her present day success as a film critic. It has been said you have to be nuts to be a movie critic, and Tucker would probably agree. Tucker takes us through her life in a chatty, gossipy way that serves the book's topic well. She regales us with hilarious personal encounters with movie stars and directors. Her unique and jolly way of looking at films is sampled in the reviews that are also included in the book. If you love movies as much as I do, you'll love CONFESSIONS OF A MOVIE ADDICT. I haven't had so much fun since I watched a Laurel and Hardy comedy. Short of doing pratfalls, Tucker will set you laughing out loud with her confessions.

Take the Lead: Film Review (Article) - 3/1/2015 9:13:19 AM
I missed this one… But I see that you didn't. I like Banderas, too, and I love dancing. Especially Patrick Swayze, Kevin Bacon in Footloose, and Jennifer Beals in Flashdance. My former girlfriend is a professional dancer who has taught many and I keep urging her to try out for America's Got Talent for her rendition of Tina Turner's, Proud Mary. In high school during my senior year, the noon hour, after a quick lunch, allowed men to use the gym Mondays and Wednesdays, while the women used the gym on Tuesdays and Thursdays. Fridays were coed and set aside for dance classes. Our teacher was a local celebrity DJ who had had many occupations in his long career, one of which was an Arthur Murray dance instructor. I am forever grateful for those classic dances that I learned in those Friday afternoons, dancing with all the best looking girls in our school. The guys who didn't join in, didn't know what they were missing. Ron

Whiplash: Film/Poem Review (Article) - 2/8/2015 8:11:46 AM
It's hard to believe, but this kind of abrasive teacher/student relationship often achieves greatness through some kind of perverted excess pressure like Michael Jackson's father. I'm often amazed at how actors can play the part of a musician and pull it off. I suppose they use tricks and some CGI, but when an actor can sing better than the original singer, that's really pulling it off. But I am glad that Glen Campbell is doing his own. My nephew is a drummer in his own band but I've never heard him play or even seen a video. He must not be that good. I don't think he has any designs on being a career drummer and has just entered the National Guard. I never thought of drumming as being something to be excellent at. While some lead singers have been drummers, when I went to concerts and had to sit through long drum solos I became quite bored… I guess one had to be high on drugs to understand the nuance, and I wasn't. Once again, won't be seeing this one until it hits TV. Ron

Getting Back at Oscar® (Article) - 1/31/2015 11:22:16 AM
It appears to me that Oscar, by his figurine and his name, is a man. ;-) A fine list of leading ladies. Wasn't Spielberg spurned by the Academy for many years? Ron

Getting Back at Oscar® (Article) - 1/31/2015 6:03:17 AM
Well done. Thanks for seeing this aspect and speaking up. Hollywood ought to be ashamed of itself for leading such a masculinized, endless warfare parade. Blame Spielberg and Hanks for starting this new militarized tinsletown -

Strange Magic: Film Review (Article) - 1/27/2015 8:38:35 AM
While I've found many animated movies these days to be too kidly for me, based on the songs that you described, I think I'd like this one. Ron

American Sniper: Film Poem and Review (Article) - 1/21/2015 7:08:43 AM
Like most first run movies, I haven't seen American Sniper, but from what you've written, I get the gist of what the movie is about. Young people who pay money to see movies and are video game fans probably like to fantasize that they are the shooter in all those killed scenes. They have no real idea what it's like to really kill. I often say, "If you kill something, you should eat it." My sister is a military fan, patriot, and gun carrier. She wrote that she saw the film. Strangely, she didn't write her impression of it. Perhaps she, like you, was a bit uncomfortable with what she saw. However, I don't think she has any trouble depersonalizing the enemy. I do. I've been in some of those countries and met the people. They have the same thoughts, desires and characteristics as you and I. Often they are forced into war by their leaders just like we are with the draft. Ron

Favorite Films of 2014 (Article) - 1/10/2015 10:46:55 AM
For an old movie junkie, I don't recognize most of the titles. Of late I haven't even watched any musicals except the TV version of The Sound of Music with Carrie Underwood. I'm surprised you didn't include Gravity, but I may be in the wrong year. Historical movies, however distorted, are some of my favorites. I didn't see any in your list. I noticed that you didn't number them. I, too, have a bit of difficulty ranking creative work. My helper, Rose, is much clearer on the subject. To her, everything is ranked by the amount of money that it makes. Sure makes things simple, if rather stupid. Ron

Big Eyes: Film Review (Article) - 12/29/2014 7:50:50 AM
You have a keen eye for acting and are quite a poet! I frequented North Beach from 1966-68, and more than once stopped by the upstairs Keane Gallery on Broadway to admire the bigeye paintings and wish that I could buy one… Now I wish I had. I particularly remember one that showed the entire Jerry Lewis family. Jerry was dressed in a blue and gray checkered clown suit. From The Semaphore, A Publication of the Telegraph Hill Dwellers: "On one of his “runs” (a day or more of heavy drinking), he got into it with Banducci after insulting patrons and assaulting a woman at Enrico’s Cafe. The altercation resulted in a lawsuit and Keane was charged with disorderly conduct. The charges were eventually dismissed. While in divorce proceedings, he and his wife Margaret became involved in a contentious lawsuit over the copyrights to the paintings that featured “sad eyes,” usually on a female waif wearing Polynesian attire. The question? Who was the actual painter? In 1970, a “paint-off ” was scheduled for Union Square. It was covered by Life magazine and provided great fodder for Herb Caen’s column. Margaret appeared and painted the “eyes.” Ron

Big Eyes: Film Review (Article) - 12/28/2014 5:03:20 PM
Great review an poem..! I felt as you totally mismatched stars..I kept remembering V.Leigh insisting she have a cameraman that loved women in Gone With the Wind..and because she persisted; the film is a classic. Tks again for insightful review!

Surviving Christmas: Film Review (Article) - 12/12/2014 12:14:59 PM
It may be a fun holiday movie, but I think I'll pass on it. I've seen enough family holiday movies to last a lifetime. I'm still looking for a replacement for, Planes, Trains and Automobiles, and don't think I'll find one, Home Alone. ;-) Ron

Wild: Film Review (Article) - 12/5/2014 9:47:44 AM
I much prefer this type of real life movie because it shows the human condition well. And, as a person who always struck out on the trail alone, I'm especially interested deep within my soul. I've noticed that there touting the actress in the latest spinoff of the Hunger Games. In spite of her triumph against insurmountable odds, I find the whole premise quite phony and contrived, like so many science fiction depictions of the future these days. Ron

Jessabelle: Film Review and Poem (Article) - 11/22/2014 8:52:35 AM
I find most horror stories to be so unbelievable as to be laughable, like Vincent Price turned to comedy in his later roles, because things were becoming so outlandish. Blood and gore seem to have taken a front seat in most Hollywood horror epics. The picture of Jessabelle with two faces that I assume is showing two personalities reminds me of a character with two heads in American Horror Story: Freak Show. I checked yesterday and it is one actress playing a conjoined woman with two heads, each like my twin brother and I, with different ideas and personalities. Very well done, I might add. Ron

Dead and Breakfast: Film Review (Article) - 10/27/2014 9:41:12 AM
I think I'll pass on this one. While I certainly like a creative horror film like the Rocky Picture Show, the need for unnecessary gore, picking off cast members one by one, is simply not my cup of tea. Ron

The Two Faces of January: Film Review (Article) - 9/28/2014 7:47:36 AM
Another great review! You really know how to do them. I sure wish I could see all the first run movies like you do. I caught up with two oldies on TV yesterday, the forgettable, Aliens and Cowboys, studded with stars, and Terminator Salvation with a unlikable hero, John Carter, a cameo appearance by Arnold Schwarzenegger, and a ungodly convoluted idea that humans can defeat a super intelligent network of machines with unconventional weapons… Bullshit action with some supernatural recovery thrown in, the characteristic of both movies for the insatiable public demand for action and violence. Speaking of smoking, I have just caught up with Manhattan. Unfortunately, On Demand did not allow me to see the first two episodes. The scientists, cooped up in nowhere with a intense desire to accomplish their mission, seem totally into smoking, drinking on the job, and sex, paints a pretty accurate picture of life in the war-torn 40s. It's interesting that the US government made sure that the liquor flowed and that cigarettes were available. The fact that much of the female staff on site were military or low-paid, led to much condoned prostitution as just a course of normal camp following in war. Very interesting and intriguing. I only wish I had talked more to my roommate for a year, Dr. JR Calloway Brown, a chemist who was 40 years my senior and was at the Manhattan Project. He was quite secretive about his past, a divorced man with children, a heavy drinker and chain smoker, who checked himself into the Mayo Hospital while staying in my house for a couple of weeks in the psychiatric ward for what was troubling him in his old age besides cataracts and high blood pressure. I never saw him or heard from him again after he left at the end of the academic year. Ron

My Old Lady: Film Review (Article) - 9/14/2014 8:17:58 AM
enjoyed your review

My Old Lady: Film Review (Article) - 9/10/2014 7:17:32 AM
As usual, your review makes me want to see it. Ron

The Last of Robin Hood: Film Review (Article) - 8/25/2014 7:40:23 AM
Sounds like a winner. I will see it as soon as I can. Couple of years ago I read an account of someone who spent some time with Flynn in an opium den in Hong Kong. It was there I believe, that I read that he was the grandson of Fletcher Christian. But I just looked it up and learned that it was a fiction, probably promoted by Flynn, himself. The other story that I've known for some time was Errol's childhood story of stringing ducks together. I like good stories of history, and from your review it looks like Susan Sarandon and Kevin Kline have done a great job of portraying one of Hollywood's many scandals. Ron

The Calling: Film Review (Article) - 8/17/2014 7:55:05 AM
I'm not sure that "The Calling" is my type of movie, so I'll probably pass on it. But "The Last of Robin Hood" is intriguing because anything about Errol Flynn fascinates me. I recently read a piece by someone who met him in an opium den in Hong Kong one time. Unbelievable. He called everybody, "Sport." Ron

Rage: Film Review (Article) - 7/21/2014 12:44:14 PM
well done, good review

Rage: Film Review (Article) - 7/18/2014 7:06:56 AM
Another wonderful review. It makes me want to see it as well because I'm fascinated with the way Nicholas Cage acts in his movies. I'm not enthralled overly violent stories, but for some reason I keep going to them. I started watching The Bridge, have been looking into episodes of 24, and have started watching Tyrant. Violence is the new sex. And the sex in these dramas is making loving sex obsolete. I am beginning to wonder about Extant… Violence seems to be coming… and The Strain is violence over the top. Ron

Life Itself: Film Review (Article) - 7/4/2014 7:06:06 AM
He certainly was unique. I greatly enjoyed his bouts with Siskel over the finer points of a particular role. I hear that it may be up for an Oscar. I must say I thoroughly enjoy your well-written and well balanced reviews of film. I have always relied on reviews to determine whether I want to see a particular movie or not. I'll give this one to thumbs up for Roger's courage in committing his last months to the camera. Ron

Life Itself: Film Review (Article) - 7/4/2014 4:18:03 AM
enjoyed reading your informative narrative I look forward to reading more of your work. m

Authors Anonymous: Film Review (Article) - 6/23/2014 6:13:38 AM
To paraphrase, most newbie authors fail to live up to their original concept. I've been watching some junk documentaries through snagfilms.com, and agree that many documentaries do not live up to their potential. As usual, your review was very revealing about the film and enjoyable to read. In my brief encounter with other authors, I find there tends to be two types: the first type has a major issue in their life that they have to relate. They think that everyone needs to know about their experience and can learn from it. They are disappointed when their stories don't sell. The second type are authors that are writing because they are writers. As writers, they believe what they are writing is very good and should be read by all. They tend to have big egos and defend their writing strongly, whether it is good or bad. They make bad company in writers' groups because they would rather fight than cooperate. As far as the first group, they are very bad in writers' groups because they have only one thing to write about. The only writer's group that I would join would be one where everyone in the group would work very hard to improve each other. I haven't found that group yet. Ron

Authors Anonymous: Film Review (Article) - 6/22/2014 6:33:08 PM
well done

Mickey Rooney: Entertainer Extraordinaire (Article) - 6/2/2014 3:15:08 AM
well said!

Gone Girl: Poem and Review (Poetry) - 10/11/2014 10:06:51 PM
Well done Betty Jo Tucker! Thank you for being you. Amen

Gone Girl: Poem and Review (Poetry) - 10/11/2014 12:23:33 PM
A good poetic tribute. Michael D.

Father's Day Golfers (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 11:12:06 AM
good one

Father's Day Golfers (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 10:14:12 AM
Very Nice poem! Golf- no comment...

Father's Day Golfers (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 9:24:21 AM
My father, who took up golfing at 60, is dead now, but he would have loved this little ditty. Three of his sons enjoyed playing with him and still love the game whenever they can. Chasing a little white ball that keeps getting in impossible situations, in the hot sun and pouring rain, only to lose it in a hole. What fun! Ron

Father's Day Golfers (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 6:31:11 AM
Aaahhhh!!! Those who love to play golf will have so much fun playing. There are two of my co-workers who have joined some golf clubs and they travel to play golfs. I think it's so much fun in what they're doing. Great poem!! Happy Father's Day!!! Sandie

Father's Day Golfers (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 6:14:38 AM
Well said! Golf is for fun. Champions and heroes are where you find them.

Maleficent Film Poem and Review (Poetry) - 6/2/2014 5:45:47 AM
Love the poem an I am gonna go to movie after read. your excellent review!

360: Film Poem (Poetry) - 6/2/2014 3:13:47 AM
well done

Maleficent Film Poem and Review (Poetry) - 6/2/2014 3:13:09 AM
enjoyed the read

Maleficent Film Poem and Review (Poetry) - 6/1/2014 8:38:24 AM
I'm not fond of fairytale spinoffs, but Maleficent does give a good platform for Angelina Jolie to stretch her acting skills and for the director to continue to use his artistic imagination. Ron

Sandy Hook Lament (Poetry) - 3/14/2014 11:52:47 PM
poignant read m

Sandy Hook Lament (Poetry) - 12/17/2012 7:10:46 AM
it is true and so sad budd

Sandy Hook Lament (Poetry) - 12/17/2012 6:52:20 AM
So very true... Peace, Dan

Sandy Hook Lament (Poetry) - 12/17/2012 5:13:45 AM
Amen

360: Film Poem (Poetry) - 11/6/2012 9:01:22 AM
I love your poetry critiques of movies. It seems like a lot of movies are more about relationships than about plot. This one makes me think that I should stay away until I don't have to pay to see it. And then I just might, because I'm a sucker for trashy films. Ron

Bel Ami Poem (Poetry) - 9/10/2012 9:36:57 AM
Great movie review! In my day, I saw so many bad movies. Today I think they turned out a bad movie a week. By cramming sex, violence, and impossible action, they give a short rush. In the old days we had to sit through hours of agonizing boredom like Cleopatra. Robert Pattinson strikes me as a weird looking guy that by some twist of fate attracts women by weird looks. Unfortunately, he has to have good material to pull it off like Johnny Depp. Ron

Bel Ami Poem (Poetry) - 9/9/2012 1:45:58 PM
never seen this one sounds like i didn't miss anything worth remembering budd

True Grit Poem (Poetry) - 12/26/2010 1:31:29 PM


True Grit Poem (Poetry) - 12/25/2010 7:50:42 AM
Well, Betty Jo, I don't think the poem will become a classic, no insult intended. However, it does make me want to see this new movie. I love the old movie with John Wayne. Can't see how someone else could make Rooster Cogburn come to life the way he does. And Mattie is just Great in it, along with Attorney Dagget. Anyhow, thanks for the heads-up about the new version! Today's the birthday of Jesus--enjoy and celebrate! Merry Christmas and Happy New year to you Connie

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.