AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Paul Williams, iRobert Davis, iPamela Taeuffer, iAlan Cook, iNina Anderson, iRichard Sharp, iTygo Lee, i
 
Home > Edward Phillips
 

Recent Reviews for Edward Phillips


Top 10 Things to Avoid Doing…Now and Forever (Short Story) - 7/25/2015 6:41:15 AM
Sure looks like an article to me. But more people read stories than articles, right? You should be a standup comedian. If you practice your delivery of these gems, you could bring down the house at the local comedy club. Keep up the good work. Your thinking cap is on straight. Ron

Top 10 Things to Avoid Doing…Now and Forever (Short Story) - 7/24/2015 1:59:06 PM
I'm good with your list. I'd like to add one that's part of a "code": Don't get mad; get even.

Top 10 Things to Avoid Doing…Now and Forever (Short Story) - 7/24/2015 9:34:11 AM
O that was quite something to savour. enjoyed each line. There is much sense in what you say. I agree and reading it is any day bettter than many sunday sermons. I proclaim. It is not the fault of the clergy. I understand they dont have the freedom to speak their mind like we people do. They need to abide by the rules in place. Agree? Roseline

Top 10 Things to Avoid Doing…Now and Forever (Short Story) - 7/24/2015 9:20:11 AM
Good list! I will save it. Love ya! Jane

Top 10 Things to Avoid Doing…Now and Forever (Short Story) - 7/24/2015 8:22:36 AM
Although I loved every word of this, I will admit that I am going out to buy a taser first thing. Calling my husband 'lisrlips' is no longer getting the reaction I want and a taser is the perfect solution. The second thing I am doing is sending this to all the people I know who read, and that is not my husband.

Steve and Eydie (Short Story) - 5/2/2015 7:27:57 AM
A wonderful opportunity. Great entertainers. A wonderful love story. And a killer joke. Now that's the kind of true story I enjoy reading! Ron

Steve and Eydie (Short Story) - 5/2/2015 12:43:34 AM
Hi Ed Thank you so much for sharing this story. Who else but you could write it so well for them. The couple came alive and will stay alive through this story of yours ! J K Roseline

Steve and Eydie (Short Story) - 5/1/2015 12:08:04 PM
That had to be a "show of all time"! Love ya! Jane

Homicide Hunter: Lt. Joe Kenda (Short Story) - 5/1/2015 11:25:25 AM
Edward, I'm a diehard ID channel fan, and also have a special fondness for Lt. Joe Kenda. You've written a fine tribute to this sleuth!

Steve and Eydie (Short Story) - 5/1/2015 11:13:11 AM
Obviously an incredible show. You were lucky to see it.

Screwed by the Skew (Short Story) - 5/1/2015 3:26:59 AM
I agree. The upper 20% of the population holds 84% of the common wealth. The lower 40% of the population holds just 0.3% of the common wealth.

Screwed by the Skew (Short Story) - 4/16/2015 4:48:30 AM
Another great article. It's time for the voters to get it. We must remember that sales tax and the lottery are also taxes that hurt the lowest wage earners as well. But you're right. Inheriting wealth is something that is hurting all of us and the wealthy don't seem to know or care. Ron

Screwed by the Skew (Short Story) - 4/15/2015 1:18:02 PM
Another great one, Ed. I'll have to try and see how this comes out, as I doubt it will lead the news reports.

Screwed by the Skew (Short Story) - 4/15/2015 12:34:26 PM
I've been a server for many years. I'd give you a wink. Love ya! Jane

The Salute (Short Story) - 3/6/2015 10:42:21 AM
I am wondering with Ron on this one. It was well done. Maybe a little too well done. hug Kathy

The Flaming Fondue (Short Story) - 3/1/2015 4:51:32 AM
Sounds like that real-life nightmare, being naked in public. But the risk is not acute embarrassment ... only death. Very entertaining.

The Flaming Fondue (Short Story) - 2/26/2015 7:49:20 AM
That was cute. I'm glad it wasn't you. I'm still trying to figure out why you couldn't grab a pair of pants and skip the shorts. It looks like you have some stories to tell that are well worth reading. A memoir wouldn't be bad either. About that time, I was riding with Nick in his beat up 60 Sprite that had lost its top in New York State coming back from Expo 67 on our way back to California. In St. Louis, it had lost part of the clutch, making shifting difficult. Nick had to make a side trip to see his sister in Kansas City. She lived in a seedy part of town, in an old ramshackle house, and worse, in the basement. Nick made me stay in the car for about a half hour while he went to see her. Then, we were back on the road. Strange, that I didn't run into you, then… Isn't it? About 11 o'clock in Colorado or Nevada, I can't remember. Nick wanted to go into a country bar to "check out the local scene." I had no desire to lose any teeth and my paralyzed hands couldn't make a fist if I wanted to. So I declined while Nick went in and had a beer or two with the local cowboys. I guess he got bored and came back about a half hour later. We were on our way again. Ron

The Flaming Fondue (Short Story) - 2/25/2015 5:51:06 PM
You need not write a memoir, all that we need to do is put all this together.Now I can understand when people say, "I have lived different lives and my present cannot connect with my past. I always look forward to your stories, please keep writing." roseline

The Flaming Fondue (Short Story) - 2/25/2015 4:18:35 PM
Funny story. Plenty of grit and wise-assedness. Some of those bars sound like they belong in a Bukowski story and I love his works. I have had problems with blackouts but now I know my limits. Also, it took me 13 years and 4 colleges/universities to complete my bachelor degree. I totally want to visit that bar! Hehe. Nice naked ending. I suspected they were after someone else. Great imagery throughout. Thanks for sharing. Best, Danae

The Salute (Short Story) - 1/24/2015 7:12:45 AM
Yes... indeed inspirational. One and a half hours, for a young boy, is quite a vigil. "When the tide crept in he refused to retreat a single step" Very moving. Thank you for sharing this. rlc

The Salute (Short Story) - 1/22/2015 9:17:22 AM
I reposted this on Facebook. It is too wonderful to imagine.

The Salute (Short Story) - 1/22/2015 8:51:27 AM
The cynical say that television never reports stories like this, but I saw it first on television and have also viewed this video before. The cynical also say that young people, today, don't understand our history and what it took to keep our country safe during World War II. I was alive during World War II, but only two years old when D-Day occurred and by the time I was 11, the war was far behind us, only experienced on Memorial Day when my uncle, a veteran of the 101st Airborne, fired a volley that scared us at the cemetery where our family was buried. Or when my father played Taps on his bugle and my grandmother told him not to, sadly remembering both world wars. I'm not sure what the history of this boy's family is, but it's hard for me to believe that a young boy would be so interested in dressing up as a soldier and humming a World War II soldier's song that I don't even know, without a lot of instruction or coaxing from his elders. If he did it on his own, being interested in World War II like some children might be, I commend him. If he didn't, I'm quite concerned if adults did this for publicity or political gain. It certainly touched the people that were there, especially the veterans. Ron

Thoughts about that War in Vietnam: 50 Years Later (Short Story) - 1/5/2015 1:35:05 PM
You are an amazing writer and your "stories" are so well done. Will we all ever learn that no one really wins a war. It goes on and on all over the world. hug Kathy

Challenges for Economists and for the Economics Profession (Article) - 7/24/2015 2:30:29 PM
I hear you. I've long distanced myself from the arena of politicians and economists as I have one life to live and less of it left to live, and not high on the hog either. As for the Feds, you said a mouthful when you wrote, "They need to wake up and do something important, inspiring, and worthy of their place in society."

Challenges for Economists and for the Economics Profession (Article) - 7/24/2015 6:10:20 AM
I love that word, "fiddlesticks!" And you are absolutely right about most economists who seem to be isolationists in their dismal science. I've been to plenty of symposiums listening to boring "experts" pontificate on their own self-worth and self-preservation in their tenured domains. And you are so right about those in charge of our monetary policy who seem to favor "politically correct" monetary policies over the needed a necessary ones. Taxation always seems to be a big issue with everyone, but most people don't seem to understand it at all. I'm appalled at how many of my friends and colleagues have rejected my offer to help them do their simple taxes for them for free, when they would rather "get their refund early in the form of a loan (a high interest loan)" from some shyster so-called, tax preparer, for an exorbitant fee. They simply do not know the difference between a regressive and progressive tax, seemingly favoring regressive taxes like sales taxes because they look at it as pocket change, like lottery tickets, another regressive tax. I would like to see you write an article clearly describing the difference between these two types of taxes, what they are, and how to simplify taxes without falling into regressive ones. Finally, you are very right about Robert Reich. His articles and animated explanations are refreshing and are classic windows on the truth. Ron

Challenges for Economists and for the Economics Profession (Article) - 7/23/2015 5:44:52 PM
Economists should think small. Humans became the dominant species because they learned to speak and cooperate in groups with a common purpose. # Co-op groups can be anywhere from half-a-dozen to 150. Larger groups tend to develop cliques, committee diversions, grudges... in short they lose sight of the common purpose. Co-op groups should have maximum autonomy and the freedom to reap the rewards of their labors. Of course, there needs to be some rules to ensure one co-op doesn't stump all over the toes of others. Any economic theater should encourage co-ops to do their thing. It doesn't matter if you favor libertarianism or communism; prosperity falls on the backs of small cooperative groups.

Crisis Management (Article) - 7/19/2015 2:32:45 PM
When you think about the water crisis in California, along with the vicious cycle of increasing global pollutants as we grow more to sustain our increasing population - one can envision a Mad Max scenario. Of course, the best approach to crisis management is to take the offensive before, rather than a reactionary approach after something dire happens. The meek may very well inherit the earth, what's left of it.

Crisis Management (Article) - 7/18/2015 10:01:34 AM
You nailed it with the "greed" situation! Great article! Love ya! Jane

Crisis Management (Article) - 7/18/2015 8:11:16 AM
Some justified caution in your well thought out essay. But there is a silver lining in the fact that the world, at least for humans, in spite of huge setbacks like World War II, has progressed positively over thousands of years. You are right. Exponential growth of any kind quickly reaches unsustainable limits. But humans are highly adaptive, and will change overnight if they have to. The question is, when will we have a trend that can't be overcome by a sudden human response adapting to it? We probably already have several of them. Ron

Causes and Consequences of Income Inequality : A Global Perspective (Article) - 7/13/2015 10:43:28 AM
Great article. Thanks again!

Private Foundations....Good, Bad, or Ugly? (Article) - 7/13/2015 10:40:59 AM
Fantastic article, thanks for keeping us informed about these tax cheats.

America's Promise (Article) - 7/10/2015 5:57:55 AM
A great story of perseverance (and innate talent). I never paid much attention to those scores, although I occasionally did very well on some of those tests. I do recall that our high school had a special group of scholars who got to go to a summer program at the university. My brother and I weren't included and our college advisor suggested that we were not university material and needed to go to a tech school. It's about time for a free education beyond high school. I'm with you except for one caveat. As I've written in a previous article, training is not education. When we teach young people how to learn, on their own with their own initiative, there is nothing, like you, that they can't accomplish. Having banks make a profit on young people's debt needs to stop. Ron

America's Promise (Article) - 7/9/2015 3:55:59 PM
Hear, hear!

America's Promise (Article) - 7/9/2015 1:04:32 PM
Nothing is more important for the next generation. When you come from a background of severe deprivation,as you know from your personal experience, then it's the opportunity that can change your life forever for the better. It's the gift that keeps on giving and the denial, a crime. I love your writing and look forward to reading more.

America's Promise (Article) - 7/9/2015 12:40:14 PM
An excellent article for its premise and your personal story which backs it. This Act is a step moving forward. A former teacher, I always knew that bolstering a youngster's self-confidence and attempting to convey that one can do anything he/she sets a mind to, was far more important than teaching subject content.

America's Promise (Article) - 7/9/2015 12:10:30 PM
I'm a true believer! I KNOW that anyone can do anything if they strive for better. Great write! Love ya! Jane

America's Promise (Article) - 7/9/2015 8:45:26 AM
Marvelous.

Causes and Consequences of Income Inequality : A Global Perspective (Article) - 7/9/2015 7:07:21 AM
In this brief article, you have clearly and succinctly described the cause and the remedy for income inequality. It's a shame that the electorate, for the most part, does not understand this and votes for the wrong people to lead them to a solution. This article and others go a long way in helping everyone understand. People tend to be afraid of "redistributing income" as though it were some kind of insidious attack on freedom leading to socialism, and worse, communism. Your article shows the only logical Robin Hood way of doing it: progressive taxation. My view of the tax laws is that they are very complex and that most of them have been engineered by the rich through bribing Congress into tax breaks and loopholes, entitlements for the rich, if you will. Most of the richest people in the world pay little or nothing for the poor. They hide their wealth in "charitable" foundations that give only a fraction to pet charities that are highly touted. The poor working of the world have the highest taxes. Sales tax and lotteries are regressive taxes that tax the poor much greater proportionally than the rich. When we hear politicians say that they want to cut taxes, what they mean is they want to add more tax breaks and loopholes for the rich. The flat tax is a ruse for conning poor people to continue paying more than their fair share. We need to tell our legislators by our vote and our petitions that we no longer want a complicated tax structure. We want it stripped of special benefits for the rich and gradually tax incomes and assets with higher rates that cannot be reduced in any way. Government will have enough funding to operate well and provide good jobs. Improved real earnings for lower and middle class working citizens will improve the economy, and everyone will be better off. The 21st century is no place for kings and queens of industry, by luck or unscrupulous behavior, who simply became wealthier than others. Ron

Adolf Hitler speaks…and humanity answers (Article) - 7/9/2015 5:44:13 AM
Thanks for these. Surely is an insight.

Dare to Demand Your Share of the Wealth (Article) - 7/9/2015 5:42:31 AM
Great. I love your articles, and I gleaned a lot from this one.

Causes and Consequences of Income Inequality : A Global Perspective (Article) - 7/8/2015 11:03:35 AM
Your summary and review of this article of impact reinforce the obvious facts to reduce wealth and income inequality which you number from 1 to 3. Simple to grasp, and yet not realized. It makes me think that our elected officials should have a sound background in economics where an understanding of these principles could unify their goals. However, bureaucracy tends to spawn its own agendas and greed-inspired motives. We see enough politicians being indicted on a daily basis.

Private Foundations....Good, Bad, or Ugly? (Article) - 7/6/2015 3:09:54 PM
They all suck! Love ya! Jane

Private Foundations....Good, Bad, or Ugly? (Article) - 7/6/2015 1:59:00 PM
Another informative article where you've done the simple math to expose the cracks in the foundations of wealthy philanthropists.

Private Foundations....Good, Bad, or Ugly? (Article) - 7/6/2015 12:36:36 PM
I wonder what it takes to start a foundation. I'm guessing a few thousand dollars by a poor, regular person like myself wouldn't do it. We should all be able use this tactic to pay less taxes. Thanks you for enlightening me on a subject I never thought of.

Private Foundations....Good, Bad, or Ugly? (Article) - 7/6/2015 9:07:20 AM
Once again, you have a unique way of pointing out the culprits and showing, with a few facts and elementary arithmetic, how things get skewed when it comes to wealth and protecting wealth for America's royalty. I often wondered why, when we went to foundations trying to get funding for inexpensive worthwhile projects, invariably the foundations narrowed their criteria for grants to a few "pet" areas. Making it very difficult be funded by a foundation without doing something that they, the owners, wanted. Thank you for pointing out the 5% rule. That's why assets of these foundations always grow and so little benefit is provided to only those that are within the owner's private inclinations. Ron

When is Freedom Day? (Article) - 7/5/2015 2:21:11 AM
You summed up the stats of our nation plainly, yet eloquently. There's much to be done for freedom to ring. "Fair weather celebrations" belie so many wrongs that need to be righted in the name of "equality with justice for all" ...

When is Freedom Day? (Article) - 7/4/2015 12:48:09 PM
I lived in a town, Painesville, Ohio, for many years. In the town square stand a statue of this amazing fellow!! Thank you. Love ya! Jane

When is Freedom Day? (Article) - 7/4/2015 12:02:37 PM
Like Bernie Sanders, your words resonate well with the people that get to read them. Thomas Paine was, indeed, a voice to be reckoned with. So much of what he wrote is now embodied in our government that the new royalty keep trying to chip away at. I have a woman in my house this weekend who should be reaching a pleasant retirement. Instead, having been jobless for over a year and finding prospects very dim after being wrongly convicted twice in her life while defending herself. When we don't allow someone who has paid their debt to society any opportunity for gainful employment, we do ourselves a disservice. The controlling minority seems to revel in packing their private prisons for profit with people of color. All she wants is a chance to work. Instead, she is at wits end and very close to the street. Ron

The Promise of Transcendence (Poetry) - 7/27/2015 5:00:16 PM
Sweet promise of transcendence, yet we're so afraid to cross over.. As they say, death is rather a celebration of finally being back home..wonderful poem, mr. Phillips..

The Promise of Transcendence (Poetry) - 7/26/2015 10:31:32 PM
It is really worth writing this and for us to read this excellent positive revelation , roseline

Workin' for the Jeb Man (Poetry) - 7/25/2015 7:31:45 AM
I personally would love to hear this song on tv. Two bushes are enough. Time to trim . lol hug Kathy

Pluto (Poetry) - 7/25/2015 7:29:37 AM
I liked this write I love science and really get into all this stuff when it happens. Good work as always Hug Kathy

The Minimalist (Poetry) - 7/25/2015 7:27:54 AM
I enjoyed your poem and I think we all know at least one person like this. What a waste of life. hug Kathy

The Promise of Transcendence (Poetry) - 7/25/2015 7:25:15 AM
Friends are like treasure. When one leaves we have memories. We miss them but when they were here we were fortunate enough to have them as friends. So very nice to be back and reading your work again. hug Kathy

The Promise of Transcendence (Poetry) - 7/23/2015 11:37:04 AM
Love comes at a price but it is a price worth paying. To not love and to thus be pain-free would be unthinkable. I very much like how you have articulated the costs - but of how ultimately there is only gain in the gifts that love imparts. So much here to look forward to and to hope for. Wonderful writing, Edward. And thank you so much for your very kind words of appreciation on my current post. I am most humbled and grateful. xx

The Promise of Transcendence (Poetry) - 7/21/2015 5:28:48 PM
Edward, Enjoyed this promise of transcendence. Excellent writing. Love and blessings, Linda

The Promise of Transcendence (Poetry) - 7/21/2015 11:41:23 AM
What a homecoming to look forward to! Love ya! Jane

The Promise of Transcendence (Poetry) - 7/21/2015 6:51:14 AM
Excellent. I really enjoyed reading this. Michael D.

The Promise of Transcendence (Poetry) - 7/21/2015 5:44:18 AM
Oh my yes, using everything within our expertise to finally go beyond the normal limits inside ourselves.

The Promise of Transcendence (Poetry) - 7/21/2015 4:08:07 AM
This was particularly relevant and timely for my life. I love the simplicity and hope it imparts.

The Minimalist (Poetry) - 7/19/2015 1:43:55 PM
Great work, wise advice, Edward. hiding in your humor.

The Minimalist (Poetry) - 7/18/2015 4:56:33 PM
Edward, Profound poem with a good moral. Enjoyed this! Love and blessings, Linda

The Minimalist (Poetry) - 7/18/2015 9:26:28 AM
Sad,very Sad, but that's what happened to some in life!

Pluto (Poetry) - 7/18/2015 3:48:10 AM
I enjoyed the poem about Pluto. It's nice to know more about our solar system. We're slowly moving forward in learning about the expanding universe.....M

The Minimalist (Poetry) - 7/18/2015 3:44:12 AM
Much is said in this timely write.... He reminds me of Scrooge in many ways. It's sad as some do lead lonely cast off lives and cannot see the beauty of the world around them...M

The Minimalist (Poetry) - 7/17/2015 12:41:47 PM
I gave till it hurt, ended up in the dump. Now I'm an old man, and a grouchy grump. Michael D.

The Minimalist (Poetry) - 7/16/2015 2:58:09 PM
A great story with a great moral. Love ya! Jane

The Minimalist (Poetry) - 7/16/2015 9:20:24 AM
Modern day Scrooge tale with a nice little appeal to be more generous. Generously offered and generously received. Ron

The Minimalist (Poetry) - 7/16/2015 4:45:31 AM
At first I laughed and laughed, as your description of the "old man" matched a friend I once had (but no longer do). Very true to form and breautifully executed. Later in the poem, one feels sorry for the poor fellow, even if it is what he deserves. I enjoyed your poem very much. Well done. John

The Minimalist (Poetry) - 7/16/2015 2:30:03 AM
Heat waves. Melting glaciers. And Ebenezer Scrooge in the summer. My, my!

The Minimalist (Poetry) - 7/15/2015 4:18:50 PM
This is cleverly created, and very meaningful (like a fable it seems to me). Your character reminds me of Scrooge. In my opinion, this is very good, Edward. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Minimalist (Poetry) - 7/15/2015 3:58:53 PM
:) The essence of the grump who was dead before he died... Thx Chris

The Minimalist (Poetry) - 7/15/2015 8:50:15 AM
Hah! All us grumpy old men are not geared as you portray, thank goodness . . . Eh . . . I'm a sucker for a sad story . . .

Pluto (Poetry) - 7/15/2015 8:00:52 AM
A fine tribute to Pluto, Edward. Nicely done. Love and peace, Regis

Pluto (Poetry) - 7/15/2015 5:32:38 AM
Looks like a planet or moon to me. Thanks for the informative poem. Got me to thinking… and, I believe that Pluto, like Mars, is derived from the Greek and made Roman, meaning "wealth" or Hades, God of the Underworld. (behindthename.com) If Pluto is made of water, we can move Mars to an orbit similar to Earth's and then move Pluto where it collides with Mars, creating a planet about the size of Earth with lots of water. Viola! A sister planet to earth orbiting with her. Great terraforming and re-seeding project. Ron

Pluto (Poetry) - 7/15/2015 5:14:30 AM
Even when it was declared that Pluto was not a planet, I continued to count it as one. Love ya! Jane

Pluto (Poetry) - 7/14/2015 4:46:49 PM
Poor Pluto

Pluto (Poetry) - 7/14/2015 2:51:10 PM
Great. Wonder what the heart shape is? Intriguing.

Pluto (Poetry) - 7/14/2015 1:20:30 PM
Eh . . . I know I'm well behind the times. I had no idea Pluto wasn't considered a planet these days . . .

Pluto (Poetry) - 7/14/2015 1:16:46 PM
Nostalgia. Reminds me of how much time we spent studying and talking about the planets

Workin' for the Jeb Man (Poetry) - 7/13/2015 5:48:23 PM
Edward, Put this poem to music. It would be a hit. Love and blessings, Linda

Workin' for the Jeb Man (Poetry) - 7/13/2015 10:09:36 AM
Very good! I'm sharing this with friends.

Workin' for the Jeb Man (Poetry) - 7/12/2015 8:37:32 AM
We'll get screw no matter who will take over I just want to see a candidate who will play his "Trump" card and not the Race card Peace be with you William

Workin' for the Jeb Man (Poetry) - 7/11/2015 10:28:10 AM
This is where you are at your best. Poking holes in hypocrisy with witty phrases that anyone can relate to. Lark is right, this is sterling stuff. Ron

Workin' for the Jeb Man (Poetry) - 7/11/2015 10:16:37 AM
They all promise the sky and in the end that is what we get to look at.

Workin' for the Jeb Man (Poetry) - 7/11/2015 6:40:24 AM
Very entertaining! Get someone to put it to music!!!! Love ya! Jane

Workin' for the Jeb Man (Poetry) - 7/11/2015 4:46:35 AM
A+ Mr Phillips

Discovering Ourselves (Poetry) - 7/9/2015 11:32:30 AM
Ah! A return to love indeed. I love how you take the reader full circle, from wonder to understanding. Great write my friend.

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 7/9/2015 5:51:06 AM
Absolutely. Nothing more visually powerful.

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 7/9/2015 5:45:44 AM
To soar without flying - may we all do that. It is indeed the glory of the chase.

Discovering Ourselves (Poetry) - 7/4/2015 9:26:16 PM
Yes, Love conquers all. I Thank God that it does. Amen

Discovering Ourselves (Poetry) - 7/4/2015 12:48:25 PM
Very optimistic and telling. We are the sum of thousands of generations yearning to be free. And, to a certain extent, as you so eloquently point out in your poem, most people in the world are free to love one another without ill feelings or contempt. While we have "become less afraid of our environment," I notice from reality shows that our brave souls when placed back in "a cold and empty universe" of basic survival in a plentiful wild environment, tend to utterly fail. It makes us understand how interdependent we really are. Ron

Discovering Ourselves (Poetry) - 7/4/2015 11:20:25 AM
We know not for what we search. I loved that line. It's so true, and so we continue to search, and in the end, it is love we want. To love and to be loved. Michael D.

Discovering Ourselves (Poetry) - 7/4/2015 7:56:02 AM
Yes! Love, it is!

Discovering Ourselves (Poetry) - 7/3/2015 7:12:52 AM
Yes, indeed. Love is all! Love ya! Jane

Discovering Ourselves (Poetry) - 7/3/2015 6:12:07 AM
An outstanding write Ed Very thought provoking Peace be with you William

Discovering Ourselves (Poetry) - 7/3/2015 5:26:02 AM
It's so true of what you've said. I enjoyed this poem! Sandie

Discovering Ourselves (Poetry) - 7/3/2015 3:33:26 AM
Call it whatever you want to call it rejuvenation of your inner peace, whatever, you must be be vigilant each and every day.

Discovering Ourselves (Poetry) - 7/2/2015 10:57:49 PM
It usually works out, for me, that if I call it love, which it usually actually is, it ends in miserable failure so I keep to myself & never get to feel that which I was going towards...-e-

Find Your Best (Poetry) - 6/28/2015 9:43:20 AM
I devoured every word of this. Lovely piece, Edward! Blessings, Christine

Find Your Best (Poetry) - 6/23/2015 6:28:47 AM
Great inspiration for the day. I never play golf or join in a friendly game of poker. But, how can you not, "compare yourself with others," in those scenarios? Ron

Find Your Best (Poetry) - 6/22/2015 5:37:22 PM
Good advise

Find Your Best (Poetry) - 6/22/2015 4:19:50 PM
Never compare yourself to others Find your own talent Understand your limitations But reach for that distant star And never look back— Your best days are yet to come. I appreciate your perspective, Edward. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace, Regis

Find Your Best (Poetry) - 6/22/2015 3:58:32 PM
Great advice, Edward, very good indeed.

Find Your Best (Poetry) - 6/22/2015 2:37:32 PM
What a fabulous message delivering encouragement! Great advice. Love ya! Jane

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/19/2015 1:10:57 PM
...who better if not you Edward, would be able to look at the presidential race...2016 presidential election...the greatest show on Earth...with options...when one can "win" it on merit or buy it...blowing few $$ to butter up the voters...when "voting" is an illusion and the only choice... that comb-over style replacing the Caesar-cut...or choice between selected few political dynasties...of apparent nepotism or...tolerated by the rest of the nation...celebrity's circus performance...scandals...conflicts....Your poems' witty use of the phrase "you're fired" and one-liner zingers...do an exquisite job asking...is it real or just a ride!?...and a sad remainder...that your great country's founded in opposition to hereditary laws...rules...and obviously...never've been about the "hair-choices".... Thanks for sharing your verse.

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/19/2015 12:30:01 PM
Donald Duck? Perhaps a saying like "That's all folks" would make most of us very happy. Well done!

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/18/2015 9:00:28 AM
When I stopped laughing at this superbly well thought out characterization of the Donald, himself, I came to a sobering conclusion: It takes money to enter the presidential race. And if you look at past history, most of our presidents started out either rich or famous before they ever "threw their hat in the ring." That's why I think it's time that the American people come up with a way to prevent money and fame (movie stars, etc.) from being criteria to be a candidate. This is a piece I wish I had written and I'm sure glad that you have. Ron

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/18/2015 7:43:11 AM
Dead on hilarious. I'd love to know what other countries think of us when someone like Trump enters the political picture, Especially when he makes his entrance coming down an escalator like some god descending into the world of mere mortals, and then says stupid things about other countries. What a way to showcase ones foreign policy. Michael D.

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/18/2015 7:18:38 AM
Mr. Phillips, I would like to be president of your fan club

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/18/2015 5:56:55 AM
Yep. You pretty much described him the way he is.

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/18/2015 5:36:43 AM
'Enjoyed this very much!! LOL!! Love ya! Jane

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/18/2015 3:36:01 AM
Thanks for the laughs - comedians think he's their own low trove, but the Donald belongs to all of us 'cause we know he's as much Scrooge as rubber Duck ... did I spell that right? Well done.

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/18/2015 1:21:59 AM
EXCELLENT, "Other Ed", I really enjoyed reading this and I got to send it to a friend, he will love it...-e-

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/18/2015 12:28:41 AM
Thankfully, the word 'IDIOCY' has more than one meaning - It apparently applies in every sense here.

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/10/2015 2:07:45 PM
As writers we quit writing many times, but still the urge overcomes us and we return to string words together with our thoughts about life caught in their tangle.

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/9/2015 11:41:49 AM
I certainly hope your life is not nearly spent, as your writing seems to only get better and better. This is fantabulous

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/9/2015 9:10:56 AM
On the contrary, I see a lot of inspiration in this revealing write. And, you are certainly right about one thing… BB King is gone and the likes of him will be hard to replace. Ron

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/9/2015 7:20:09 AM
Cool write. An enjoyable read. Michael D.

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/9/2015 5:14:40 AM
Chuckles and Mirth, my favorite comedy team ...

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/8/2015 8:48:30 PM
I've tossed my whole being into the ocean many times over but have not forsaken what meager writing skills I have & most certainly too are my words for the seagulls as they carry them hither & dither and back to their nest and feed them to their young...fun write...-e-

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/8/2015 5:42:25 PM
One morning in the 70's, I was having some coffee and heard this song and found out it was the key to my being myself. Thank you! Love ya! Jane

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/8/2015 3:10:23 PM
Great poem and great rhymes perfect ending

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/8/2015 2:59:41 PM
North American culture has too much JIT this and JIT that. Nobody gets a moment to appreciate what's going down. I agree. After I stepped off the treadmill, I could see forever and began to have some fun.

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/8/2015 2:50:36 PM
keeping caught up in the turbulence of the storm definitely enhances your writing skills

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/8/2015 2:48:57 PM
Stepping back Poet passing by. Great work!

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/8/2015 2:24:52 PM
Edward, you are the poet that let your reader...to see the beauty of the world through your eyes...to feel every emotion with your heart...to think many human-social-economic issues with your intellectual-philosophical mind and sense of "right" and "wrong"...common sense...Thanks for sharing your "fun" and your words that truly "thrill". Love the image...too...it says sooo much...it says everything about your private place in the universe...of your own creation...God Bless!

My Choice (Poetry) - 6/7/2015 9:30:14 AM
PERCHANCE...TO LOVE. YES, I HAVE CHOSEN AND I CAN RELATE TO THIS. WELL DONE AND ENJOYED. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

My Choice (Poetry) - 6/5/2015 2:30:59 PM
...mindfull lines that sound like a chanting mantra of calm...building our-readers awareness of the source of your happiness and...the "world" that exist above the mind-tying up mundane life..."watch" you thinking the words of gratitude... Great choice Edward! Thanks for sharing your poem.

My Choice (Poetry) - 6/4/2015 8:28:03 PM
Beautiful Edward! and a pleasure to read ...

My Choice (Poetry) - 6/4/2015 3:58:07 PM
Wow how to woo a woman

My Choice (Poetry) - 6/4/2015 11:58:23 AM
Somebody here is a very lucky man indeed. This is not easy to find ...much less claim. Rx

My Choice (Poetry) - 6/4/2015 11:04:02 AM
I'm melting over here! So beautiful! Love ya. Jane

My Choice (Poetry) - 6/4/2015 10:37:30 AM
She'll like it… The bond grows tighter and more sealed with this stamp of approval. Ron

My Choice (Poetry) - 6/4/2015 8:48:04 AM
Such a stunning and touching list of all the reasons you love her . . . And she you . . .

Trees (Poetry) - 5/30/2015 5:28:15 AM
Every word in this poem spoke to my heart appealing to my love for Mother Nature. I also was moved to write a poem using my noun and verb capacity expressing my love for trees.(LOL) Always, Ingeborg

Life on Earth (Poetry) - 5/27/2015 4:38:10 AM
Brimming with understatement of purpose. Well done!

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/26/2015 2:35:50 AM
In a tight spot some can be a bull-ologist. I don't have a Ph.D but I have a Ed.D. If someone ask what is that? I say I have a XYZ degree. So I am a certified master bull-ologist. Ha! Great write!

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/25/2015 6:42:25 PM
A wise man finds his best memories in nature and in awe of the creator.

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/25/2015 6:40:30 PM
Now this is clever. Ed you are an excellent rhymologist

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/20/2015 7:11:10 AM
This collection of warm reviews has made me an optim-ologist. But I am not the yuk-meister. Michael Schafer has that title safely tucked away. I'm still just a dumb cluck-ologist. Thanks to everyone!

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/20/2015 6:53:41 AM
For what I'm about to say, I'm an apolo-gist. Mr. Phillips is, The one and only Yuk-oligist. Michael D.

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/20/2015 6:49:10 AM
I recall when farmers became agro-businessmen, truck drivers became transportation engineers, and, better yet, trash collectors became sanitation engineers. But this takes the cake (and eat it too!) to a whole new level! For my nitpicking your work, you can now call me a picky-ologist. Another good one for the books. Ron

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/20/2015 5:36:00 AM
Now, that's what I call having wit and a way with words -- a funny way. Good, my friend!

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 6:12:04 PM
Don't be puttin' my stuff on the street, Phillips, specifically the looney tooney ologisty...good humor, other Ed...-e-

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 5:10:02 PM
Brilliant Ed!...and same the whole world over...lol Diana....

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 2:38:06 PM
ha, youre a humorologist, comediologist, laughologist, harpo-ologist!

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 10:45:45 AM
Oh, my!!! I'm laughing too much!!! Love ya! Jane

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 10:17:03 AM
Wicked, uproarious humor. I reckon 10 outta 10 on the yuks meter.

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 8:53:30 AM
Okay. You had me smiling before the hard-to-suppress laughter erupted.

Democracy at Work (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 7:13:38 AM
Where's Pat Paulsen when we need him. Loved the humor and sarcasm in this brilliant write. Michael D.

Democracy at Work (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 6:29:40 AM
After I stopped laughing, I have to commend you on your insight. Probably the reason everything is so laughable is because, as my sister pointed out, we have a "Republic," and not a democracy… Whatever the hell that means. Contention seems to be the name of the game and the more mudslinging the better. I seem to recall the Lincoln, Douglas debates. And then there was that guy, Benedict Arnold. And scandals galore from Teapot Dome to Tippecanoe. Politics will never change and be the source of great humor like yours forever, I guess. Ron

Democracy at Work (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 2:28:02 PM
I find it anoymusing that if we change the names and country it is pretty much the same in all democracies... Great poem!

Democracy at Work (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 2:02:50 PM
My dog Rufuz ran for president the first time Obama got in and I truly think he would do a better job then and this time, though he is dead, but what the hell, so are most politicians dead from the neck up, anyway...-e-

Democracy at Work (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 1:02:41 PM
Spare me another circus!!! Love ya! Jane

Democracy at Work (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 10:19:31 AM
Although you were way to nice to Hillary (even with the missing "l"), but you pretty much kicked ass with everything else. Me too, rolling my eyes at the prospect of yet another darn presidential election . . .

Democracy at Work (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 9:52:18 AM
Vote for the Rhino party or pencil your own name in.

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/15/2015 12:19:38 PM
For me, only God's handiwork impresses me and are memorable :) beautifully penned, Edward ...

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/15/2015 12:32:19 AM
Awareness of life. All else feels empty when compared to living each day awake. Beautifully expressed epiphany.

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 11:58:02 AM
Gracious - these things are certainly way above the common expectations of the daily grind, Edward, and are moments, I'm sure to be treasured. But such wisdom to accept hubris for what it is and to take stock of and pleasure in the real stars of this world and universe of which we are privileged to be a part. Very well articulated. xx

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 8:41:52 AM
So well said, and for me like you said , I too feel at ease only when I am close to nature in the place near to home and that is where all my senses peak... as.... like they say.. I am in my element! What a beautiful write Ed,,,Roseline

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 7:19:12 AM
I have traveled some of the same path, and like you, prefer the simpler, more natural life. While Thoreau may not have had access to the venues in your poem, you have matched him in quality and sincerity. Ron

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 6:58:22 AM
indeed, you can hear the voice of god through nature ... which also means through our selves ...

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 6:16:53 AM
Beautiful... G'd should be honored.

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 4:14:03 PM
So eloquently stated, Edward; I agree with you. Love and peace, Regis

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 3:22:06 PM
You have a beautiful way of praising the natural abundance of existence and of being perfectly free! Blessings, Christine

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 12:55:29 PM
...it is only during the "good times" living that you appreciate....a simple life with nature as a great way of living...keeping in touch with spiritual-self adds a meaning to it...well done.

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 12:40:15 PM
Though I have not had near those kinds of experiences, I ech your sentiments. I stand I awe of the God who made us all. Thanks for stopping by my den. The poem you commented on, "In the Bottom of Your Ocean", stemmed from feelings I was having from a miraculous event that occurred in my family...made me a-gape at His mighty works -- not only of nature (which was part of it), but of great compassion and comfort. May those loving waves wash over you too. --Charlie

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 10:11:43 AM
Seems you have had quite a life, Ed. Add your talent and abilities to that (and of course your stunning good looks), and call yourself blessed.

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 8:54:47 AM
Oh, how I loved this write! So beautifully penned. Love ya! Jane

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 8:12:20 AM
Although I don't give God credit for nature's bountiful and beautiful landscape, I will admit there is a certain awesomeness about it.

Push On (Poetry) - 5/8/2015 9:32:43 PM
Ah, determination...Hope springs eternal from our God! Great message in an unforgettable narrative, Edward. ~ zbm

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/8/2015 6:33:44 PM
It's the chase. Michael D.

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/8/2015 2:48:12 PM
...finely written...exquisitely intense words ask an honest question about the meaning of "happiness"...does it have to be chase or just chosen?...to climb or not up to the top of "the Kunlun mountain" to view the sacred landscape of life...remain heavenly questions and an inspiration carrying a message...we are immortal spirits...achieving "happiness" is just a matter of an earthly perception and therefore...as the song goes..."be careful what you wish for cause you just might get it..." Thank you Edward, for sharing this mind-bending poem.

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/8/2015 7:26:56 AM
I love the way you use your poem to ask questions about what you consider to be "elusive" happiness. When I look at happiness, I think about contentment. Just the thought of it being wonderful to be alive and to experience, allowing many things to make us happy just because they are. Not a elusive at all, but right there in front of us like sunlight and rain. Ron

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/8/2015 5:56:00 AM
ah, the mystery of the never ending chase keeps us going as well as wondering ...

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/8/2015 12:39:15 AM
Hey, hon! I'm chasing getting a good lavendar bed going on. When it's full, come sniff my blossoms when they are ripe............you will relax and forget all about the "chase"!!! Love ya! Jane

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 6:43:35 PM
You got it so right and who else could ? GREAT!The glory, the wonder of the thing! Roseline

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 4:22:23 PM
a very insightful inward exploration ~ Blessings, Christine

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 3:57:12 PM
The second paragraph describes it all, what we strive for is right there...Good write, Other Ed...-e-

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 2:24:58 PM
Seems I'm always chasing after something. Striving to be successful, a good mother and wife. Though I'm no where near perfect the pursuit of happiness keeps me going no matter what future holds. This is a lovely poem. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Kathy

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 12:49:53 PM
Happiness, to me is when I am content with my life and life allows me to understand that.

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 8:45:57 AM
Beautifully wrought to its conclusion and your strong metre and rhyme push your premise forward wonderfully. Oh to be caught up in such love! You end so wisely on the point at which so many potential relationships just manage to fail at that final hurdle, resisting that all-important merger... and we're back where you started: no pain, no gain! Excellent, Edward; truly enjoyed. xx

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 5/2/2015 8:07:02 AM
But you’ll always regret Refusing a merging of wills. I believe this to be true, Edward. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 5/1/2015 1:05:10 AM
Such an important consideration for successful relationships...the merging of wills... Compromise and co-operation...vital ingredients...and the rest all the tastier when this is given... Diana...

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 4/30/2015 1:17:36 PM
a good merging here and there does a soul good ..

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 4/28/2015 1:51:18 AM
A perfect write! Loved it! Kathy

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 4/27/2015 7:36:32 AM
Wonderfully done. Michael D.

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 4/27/2015 7:35:17 AM
The last line changes the meaning quite a bit. As though all didn't end well. Ron

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 4/26/2015 6:19:33 PM
This is really good. How easy it is to go through life and never understand the importance of real connection with a loved one.

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 4/26/2015 4:01:33 PM
So true My Friend and wonderfully penned.

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 4/26/2015 3:45:53 PM
Beautifully put!! Oh.........my! Love ya! Jane

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 4/26/2015 2:03:46 PM
Yeah, you're right Edward, go with the flow . . .

The Art of Living (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 9:23:38 AM
This feels like a cozy fireside chat and holds much happiness and peace :) Blessings, Christine

The Art of Living (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 7:50:06 AM
A wise estimation. We only have this life to live, why live it simply to please others. And isn't working toward good always better than working toward bad? Of course. Your poem shows the easy way to a meaningful life. Ron

The Art of Living (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 7:34:25 AM
Why not choose good over evil Is a question that can not be answered because some people only have evil in them. Michael D.

The Art of Living (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 3:32:11 AM
In the end it’s all about Being true to yourself. It truly is.

The Art of Living (Poetry) - 4/24/2015 9:46:07 PM
Better love people instead. Why not indeed.

The Art of Living (Poetry) - 4/24/2015 5:08:14 PM
True to the self is very true...-e-

The Art of Living (Poetry) - 4/24/2015 12:55:01 PM
True to oneself is an old adage that never seems to wane.

Wishful Thinking (Poetry) - 4/24/2015 11:58:40 AM
Nice poem, I'll bet you worked at it too!

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/24/2015 11:55:56 AM
Nice, I've been to that wall as well, several times and still see it coming at me occasionally. I'm still thinking of quitting and then moving over it.

The Art of Living (Poetry) - 4/24/2015 10:52:09 AM
I don't know what to say. Love ya! Jane

The Art of Living (Poetry) - 4/24/2015 9:48:09 AM
Ahhh . . . The existentialists. I delved into the Sarte, Genet, et all, back in the day. On the whole I think you are correct in explaining the basic concept of the existentialists thought process. But the more I studied it I realized the concept of existentialistism did not leave room for the heart to come into play. Or love. I surmised that the existentialists believe that one man was definitely an island with no room for anything, or anybody else.

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/23/2015 7:44:16 AM
No matter what no matter where, this was a wonderful poem to share. Michael D.

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/23/2015 7:19:25 AM
A very personal and poignant writing of what it takes to face life's ups and downs and taste the bitter with the sweet. Ron

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 8:09:41 PM
vERY MEANINGFUL WORDS , you matter and i like this poem very much.

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 2:28:44 PM
Such is life; thank you for sharing your experiences and their meaning, Edward. Love and peace to you, Regis

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 1:42:02 PM
I absolutely love this! Kathy

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 11:59:35 AM
This should be a grade school lesson or put to music for an early anthem - much better than fairy tales and magical thinking exercises. Well done!

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 11:47:54 AM
Original and meaningful and oh, so right.

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 11:10:10 AM
You have lived before! Love ya! Jane

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 10:50:38 AM
And the wise old owl will greet you

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 10:47:59 AM
GREAT writing, Edward, this is something to read again and again. Impressive!

It's the Law (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 6:05:38 AM
Once again, your great knowledge shows. It's so interesting how politicians are continually trying to shape human behavior by laws… All the while making sure that they are fleecing us while making the laws, carrying them out, and adjudicating them. There is money to be had in them thar hills! Ron

It's the Law (Poetry) - 4/21/2015 3:19:10 PM
Michael nailed it with his comment. Another winner, Ed.

It's the Law (Poetry) - 4/21/2015 11:43:59 AM
Lady Justice holds her scales, and knows too many unjust tales. Michael D.

It's the Law (Poetry) - 4/21/2015 11:41:06 AM
Yep, you pretty much took the law on and riddled it.

It's the Law (Poetry) - 4/21/2015 11:12:16 AM
Can't be perfect in this world

The Examined Life (Poetry) - 4/20/2015 3:50:21 AM
Great one, Edward- interesting attitude.

Wishful Thinking (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 6:33:12 PM
Man is doomed to struggle, and carry a heavy load. Even when you're going downhill, life is still an uphill road. Michael D.

Wishful Thinking (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 12:04:58 PM
Well no birthday candles for you then!!!! I do get your point though ;)

Wishful Thinking (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 9:35:34 AM
Songs oft times make us think as do words of deep thinking people.

Wishful Thinking (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 9:13:32 AM
A philosophy that I find very refreshing and easy to adhere to. Why do so many take the hard route, when you lay out the easy path so easily. Ron

Wishful Thinking (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 8:32:39 AM
Sometimes it is better for all concerned to let things just take its natural course.

Wishful Thinking (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 8:17:49 AM
I appreciate the philosophical perspective that you have shared through your verses here, Edward. Love and peace to you, Regis

Wishful Thinking (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 8:15:54 AM
I really got into this. I've been told that pain spurs growth. You have rounded out the meaning of this. Thank you. Love ya! Jane

Wishful Thinking (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 8:03:12 AM
This shows your usual deep thinking and I love it. The drawing is also good.

The Examined Life (Poetry) - 4/18/2015 12:59:45 PM
It's hard to know who to trust. It's hard to know what is true. But I can trust people to a fault, because I haven't a clue. So never stop learning. Never stop yearning, and I believe in you. Michael D.

The Examined Life (Poetry) - 4/18/2015 11:21:40 AM
For me this is great timing, as I am trying again (and again) to examine some thoughts and shoo them off. I think discovering 'this thing called life' in the current moment, not looking back or forward more than needed, is peace.

The Examined Life (Poetry) - 4/18/2015 9:30:49 AM
'Right up there with Thoureau! Love ya! Jane

The Examined Life (Poetry) - 4/18/2015 9:15:42 AM
You touched on the process of private inspection, and that is something everyone should adhere to in one for or another. Oh, I have examined my life, you betcha, and I am examining it even this day April, 18, 2015. I don't actually have to have facts as you brought out to believe in reincarnation. I have no facts to support it, it is just a strong belief that I feel.

The Examined Life (Poetry) - 4/18/2015 9:04:40 AM
Examining oneself is a very positive process. One cannot gain much by examining another's motives too deeply when not in their skin. Ron

The Examined Life (Poetry) - 4/18/2015 8:19:52 AM
Once again you challenge your reader to aspire to greater wisdom and to pursue a worthy path in that cause. Rx

The Examined Life (Poetry) - 4/18/2015 8:15:55 AM
We are most fortunate when we can find a person we can trust.

Trees (Poetry) - 4/16/2015 10:30:15 PM
How nice! J k roseline,

Life on Earth (Poetry) - 4/16/2015 7:39:33 AM
This is a keeper with a message that all should heed. We are but like ants in the cosmos. But we have knowledge of that cosmos and that gives us power to determine our fate and the fate of all in our purview. There is a strange mixture of comets and meteors, though. Ron

Life on Earth (Poetry) - 4/16/2015 1:28:22 AM
Living in paradise and what do we do? This is a terrific write which puts it all so well.I fear for my grandchildren's future, the wilful destruction that's taken place, and looks like we've never made progress. The savage beast still thrives amongst us. Thanks for this.

Life on Earth (Poetry) - 4/15/2015 7:28:41 PM
Quite a comet's tale. I especially liked the 4th, 5th and 6th stanzas. Excellent excellent write. Michael D.

Life on Earth (Poetry) - 4/15/2015 11:58:34 AM
This would make a fine soliloquy on stage! Love ya! Jane

Life on Earth (Poetry) - 4/15/2015 10:29:22 AM
Splendid. Really like that line, "In dreary lies that flapped unfurled."

Life on Earth (Poetry) - 4/15/2015 9:25:13 AM
Nice write , I too like to read and write about comets like you do. JKRoseline

Life on Earth (Poetry) - 4/15/2015 8:23:28 AM
Eh . . . A lot of intelligent words and lines within the confines of this little gem. The comet will hit us, or it won't, don't think God had anything to do with it, either making the comet, or stopping it, and I doubt we would change our ways either. Would like to think we would, but I doubt it.

Life on Earth (Poetry) - 4/15/2015 7:39:12 AM


Trees (Poetry) - 4/14/2015 1:54:58 AM
Loved your words intuitive words Ed... I tried years ago to hug a tree, and found it very comforting... I had a favourite tree on a field nearby, and hugged it regularly... It is going to be removed soon, and I shall miss it greatly...it has become a friend... I feel trees hold much wisdom that we can tap into...living wonders of our Planet...I think you sense this too... Diana....

Trees (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 9:56:28 AM
VERY NICE!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE TREES!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Theatre of the Mind (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 9:52:03 AM
Great read!

Trees (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 7:56:54 AM
I don't talk to trees, but I certainly admire them. The redwood trees of California were an awesome reminder to me that some species on this planet are priceless and should never be destroyed for our vanity. Your poem gives us kinship with these magnificent plants. It points out there importance for our very survival. Our liberty. I do recall that the reason that the people of New Hampshire wanted to rebel against King George was because he required that all of the best wood harvested be sent to England and not allowed to be used in the colonies. Ron

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.