AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Kate Saundby, iRandy Richardson, iDan Ronco, iTemple Williams, iJerry Engler, iPeter Ralph, iRoger Vizi, i
 
Home > Edward Phillips
 

Recent Reviews for Edward Phillips


Steve and Eydie (Short Story) - 5/2/2015 7:27:57 AM
A wonderful opportunity. Great entertainers. A wonderful love story. And a killer joke. Now that's the kind of true story I enjoy reading! Ron

Steve and Eydie (Short Story) - 5/2/2015 12:43:34 AM
Hi Ed Thank you so much for sharing this story. Who else but you could write it so well for them. The couple came alive and will stay alive through this story of yours ! J K Roseline

Steve and Eydie (Short Story) - 5/1/2015 12:08:04 PM
That had to be a "show of all time"! Love ya! Jane

Homicide Hunter: Lt. Joe Kenda (Short Story) - 5/1/2015 11:25:25 AM
Edward, I'm a diehard ID channel fan, and also have a special fondness for Lt. Joe Kenda. You've written a fine tribute to this sleuth!

Steve and Eydie (Short Story) - 5/1/2015 11:13:11 AM
Obviously an incredible show. You were lucky to see it.

Screwed by the Skew (Short Story) - 5/1/2015 3:26:59 AM
I agree. The upper 20% of the population holds 84% of the common wealth. The lower 40% of the population holds just 0.3% of the common wealth.

Screwed by the Skew (Short Story) - 4/16/2015 4:48:30 AM
Another great article. It's time for the voters to get it. We must remember that sales tax and the lottery are also taxes that hurt the lowest wage earners as well. But you're right. Inheriting wealth is something that is hurting all of us and the wealthy don't seem to know or care. Ron

Screwed by the Skew (Short Story) - 4/15/2015 1:18:02 PM
Another great one, Ed. I'll have to try and see how this comes out, as I doubt it will lead the news reports.

Screwed by the Skew (Short Story) - 4/15/2015 12:34:26 PM
I've been a server for many years. I'd give you a wink. Love ya! Jane

The Salute (Short Story) - 3/6/2015 10:42:21 AM
I am wondering with Ron on this one. It was well done. Maybe a little too well done. hug Kathy

The Flaming Fondue (Short Story) - 3/1/2015 4:51:32 AM
Sounds like that real-life nightmare, being naked in public. But the risk is not acute embarrassment ... only death. Very entertaining.

The Flaming Fondue (Short Story) - 2/26/2015 7:49:20 AM
That was cute. I'm glad it wasn't you. I'm still trying to figure out why you couldn't grab a pair of pants and skip the shorts. It looks like you have some stories to tell that are well worth reading. A memoir wouldn't be bad either. About that time, I was riding with Nick in his beat up 60 Sprite that had lost its top in New York State coming back from Expo 67 on our way back to California. In St. Louis, it had lost part of the clutch, making shifting difficult. Nick had to make a side trip to see his sister in Kansas City. She lived in a seedy part of town, in an old ramshackle house, and worse, in the basement. Nick made me stay in the car for about a half hour while he went to see her. Then, we were back on the road. Strange, that I didn't run into you, then… Isn't it? About 11 o'clock in Colorado or Nevada, I can't remember. Nick wanted to go into a country bar to "check out the local scene." I had no desire to lose any teeth and my paralyzed hands couldn't make a fist if I wanted to. So I declined while Nick went in and had a beer or two with the local cowboys. I guess he got bored and came back about a half hour later. We were on our way again. Ron

The Flaming Fondue (Short Story) - 2/25/2015 5:51:06 PM
You need not write a memoir, all that we need to do is put all this together.Now I can understand when people say, "I have lived different lives and my present cannot connect with my past. I always look forward to your stories, please keep writing." roseline

The Flaming Fondue (Short Story) - 2/25/2015 4:18:35 PM
Funny story. Plenty of grit and wise-assedness. Some of those bars sound like they belong in a Bukowski story and I love his works. I have had problems with blackouts but now I know my limits. Also, it took me 13 years and 4 colleges/universities to complete my bachelor degree. I totally want to visit that bar! Hehe. Nice naked ending. I suspected they were after someone else. Great imagery throughout. Thanks for sharing. Best, Danae

The Salute (Short Story) - 1/24/2015 7:12:45 AM
Yes... indeed inspirational. One and a half hours, for a young boy, is quite a vigil. "When the tide crept in he refused to retreat a single step" Very moving. Thank you for sharing this. rlc

The Salute (Short Story) - 1/22/2015 9:17:22 AM
I reposted this on Facebook. It is too wonderful to imagine.

The Salute (Short Story) - 1/22/2015 8:51:27 AM
The cynical say that television never reports stories like this, but I saw it first on television and have also viewed this video before. The cynical also say that young people, today, don't understand our history and what it took to keep our country safe during World War II. I was alive during World War II, but only two years old when D-Day occurred and by the time I was 11, the war was far behind us, only experienced on Memorial Day when my uncle, a veteran of the 101st Airborne, fired a volley that scared us at the cemetery where our family was buried. Or when my father played Taps on his bugle and my grandmother told him not to, sadly remembering both world wars. I'm not sure what the history of this boy's family is, but it's hard for me to believe that a young boy would be so interested in dressing up as a soldier and humming a World War II soldier's song that I don't even know, without a lot of instruction or coaxing from his elders. If he did it on his own, being interested in World War II like some children might be, I commend him. If he didn't, I'm quite concerned if adults did this for publicity or political gain. It certainly touched the people that were there, especially the veterans. Ron

Thoughts about that War in Vietnam: 50 Years Later (Short Story) - 1/5/2015 1:35:05 PM
You are an amazing writer and your "stories" are so well done. Will we all ever learn that no one really wins a war. It goes on and on all over the world. hug Kathy

Thoughts about that War in Vietnam: 50 Years Later (Short Story) - 12/13/2014 11:24:04 AM
We aren't supposed to understand, Edward. USMC MGen Smedley Butler probably said it best in a 1936 speech (which I'll paraphrase)- "War is a racket. Only a select few know what it is about. It is conducted for the benefit of the very few at the expense of the very many ..." He earned his two Medals of Honor in different jungles, but eventually saw the lesson clearly. His speeches were widely applauded but the world was already at war in China, Spain and Ethiopia, and it hasn't stopped yet. And perhaps those philosophers have the only answer warriors can call a legacy ... that in the hopelessly complex rhythm of living, it is intentions which win the high ground. Thanks for your thoughts.

Thoughts about that War in Vietnam: 50 Years Later (Short Story) - 12/10/2014 11:06:25 PM
Oh! my goodness, Edward, I'm so sorry for what you and others went through and glad you are able to journal...you are a beautiful writer...I imagine it is very therapeutic and healing..to share your story. Thank you for letting us into your life and looking forward to reading more of your writing.

Thoughts about that War in Vietnam: 50 Years Later (Short Story) - 12/10/2014 10:24:52 AM
Thank you for a part of your story that you haven't written before. I especially liked your closing paragraph where you outlined your thoughts on why we were in Vietnam in the first place and stayed so long. The military-industrial complex, built up so heavily during World War II, needed to be fed. What more fitting way to keep it going than to beat up on people related to the Japanese who were becoming communist? I also have not heard of your brother with all of his commendations. To think that people like John McCain and your brother would not have all of their military glory if we had not engaged in that war. I don't see that kind of hero, except perhaps, Pat Tillman, deceased, coming out of the Iraqi war and Afghanistan. Airman in those ventures seem too far removed from actual battle. I was in Bangkok for 20 days and visited Pattaya for one in 1978, three years after the US pulled out of Southeast Asia. My Thai host took me to many Buddhist temples and monuments, but kept me from any sin. Ron

A Sign of the Times (Short Story) - 11/22/2014 8:58:54 AM
I thought you were writing an article in the Stories section, my pet peeve. But after reading with a chuckle or two, I realize that this is fine satire of the state of affairs we are in. Ron

A Sign of the Times (Short Story) - 11/21/2014 1:59:51 PM
...believe in equality...liberty and love...and the knowledge is a power...As you've pointed out in your story...something has to be done...When you country's in trouble...the world is watching...both...the "fat cat" and the "public-spirited" philanthropist... Just "a sigh of the times"... Thank you, Edward for sharing your thoughts provoking writing.

Private Foundations....Good, Bad, or Ugly? (Article) - 7/6/2015 3:09:54 PM
They all suck! Love ya! Jane

Private Foundations....Good, Bad, or Ugly? (Article) - 7/6/2015 1:59:00 PM
Another informative article where you've done the simple math to expose the cracks in the foundations of wealthy philanthropists.

Private Foundations....Good, Bad, or Ugly? (Article) - 7/6/2015 12:36:36 PM
I wonder what it takes to start a foundation. I'm guessing a few thousand dollars by a poor, regular person like myself wouldn't do it. We should all be able use this tactic to pay less taxes. Thanks you for enlightening me on a subject I never thought of.

Private Foundations....Good, Bad, or Ugly? (Article) - 7/6/2015 9:07:20 AM
Once again, you have a unique way of pointing out the culprits and showing, with a few facts and elementary arithmetic, how things get skewed when it comes to wealth and protecting wealth for America's royalty. I often wondered why, when we went to foundations trying to get funding for inexpensive worthwhile projects, invariably the foundations narrowed their criteria for grants to a few "pet" areas. Making it very difficult be funded by a foundation without doing something that they, the owners, wanted. Thank you for pointing out the 5% rule. That's why assets of these foundations always grow and so little benefit is provided to only those that are within the owner's private inclinations. Ron

When is Freedom Day? (Article) - 7/5/2015 2:21:11 AM
You summed up the stats of our nation plainly, yet eloquently. There's much to be done for freedom to ring. "Fair weather celebrations" belie so many wrongs that need to be righted in the name of "equality with justice for all" ...

When is Freedom Day? (Article) - 7/4/2015 12:48:09 PM
I lived in a town, Painesville, Ohio, for many years. In the town square stand a statue of this amazing fellow!! Thank you. Love ya! Jane

When is Freedom Day? (Article) - 7/4/2015 12:02:37 PM
Like Bernie Sanders, your words resonate well with the people that get to read them. Thomas Paine was, indeed, a voice to be reckoned with. So much of what he wrote is now embodied in our government that the new royalty keep trying to chip away at. I have a woman in my house this weekend who should be reaching a pleasant retirement. Instead, having been jobless for over a year and finding prospects very dim after being wrongly convicted twice in her life while defending herself. When we don't allow someone who has paid their debt to society any opportunity for gainful employment, we do ourselves a disservice. The controlling minority seems to revel in packing their private prisons for profit with people of color. All she wants is a chance to work. Instead, she is at wits end and very close to the street. Ron

When is Freedom Day? (Article) - 7/4/2015 10:23:09 AM
Tom Paine was one of my Dad's heroes. Thank you for writing this incisive article which certainly takes no prisoners. Can't wait to see what you have to say about Greece and the Euro. Is Greece a straw in the wind or the beginning of the end of Le Grande idea?

When is Freedom Day? (Article) - 7/4/2015 10:07:07 AM
O, so these words, yours and his.

The Opportunity Costs of Electing Ignorant Candidates (Article) - 7/2/2015 12:18:20 PM
Woe to us all if this loud mouth gets elected. Maybe he will "Trump" out of the race. It is sad that only history shows the incredible mistakes we make.

The Opportunity Costs of Electing Ignorant Candidates (Article) - 7/1/2015 5:53:12 AM
As I recall back in the apathy of my college days, I seem to note that the best and brightest, like you, went off to scientific and high-level professional jobs that were prevalent in spite of an ill-conceived war in a small Asian country. Those that were vying for political position in the frats and political clubs like the young Republicans, tended to be mediocre students with thoughts of grandeur, partly fueled by their zeal for followership, gladly offered by others who didn't want to work very hard but wanted to be part of a "cause." We all know that ignorance is epidemic (although trivia shows show us that most Americans are really up on their trivia knowledge) and that it breeds followership inflating the egos of these blowhard social climbers who find their way into political parties and rise to the surface largely by a social technique taught in any basic sociology course--anyone who talks the most and loudness is often given leadership by a group. Whether or not they deserve it or not. Ron

The Opportunity Costs of Electing Ignorant Candidates (Article) - 7/1/2015 1:28:42 AM
An enlightening article. We bear the brunt of history, and there's no need to compound our woes with more ignorant politicians. May the best man of the sand lot assume the role of President.

The Opportunity Costs of Electing Ignorant Candidates (Article) - 6/30/2015 1:00:58 PM
Write on! Love ya! Jane

An Open Letter to Warren Buffett (Article) - 6/17/2015 4:31:30 PM
...a bold'n brilliant 20/20 vision...with the common sense...sense of balance and sharp insight...yet, the wealthy investors of the rational-material-factual world...don't think like that...do they? Oh! I agree, a little kindness-understanding-willingness to help others...may go a mighty long way...but investing like Warren Buffett in 2008 invested...in the bottom when all run to the hill...is the key to success...Warrens' way...Good luck! with your letter Edward.

An Open Letter to Warren Buffett (Article) - 6/16/2015 12:40:03 PM
Takers gonna take! Love ya! Jane

An Open Letter to Warren Buffett (Article) - 6/16/2015 6:26:44 AM
Fantastic article, argued well! If people could only take this information seriously, but the big corporate media spins out the confusion and lies leaving people befuddled and hopeless. The economy is about to go into free-fall again, so hold on to your hats and your sanity!

An Open Letter to Warren Buffett (Article) - 6/16/2015 6:01:11 AM
Another riveting article that points out the growing inequality that will be the downfall of civilization if nothing is done about it. I have often noted that there are two kinds of people in this world: the makers and the takers. The makers are the Warren Buffetts and similar people, like Tesla, who seem to come up with ways to enhance life for everyone. Without any statistical numbers like you have, I would estimate that perhaps, 30% of all people are makers, perhaps less. Even back in the tribe or village, it was that way. The makers supported the takers. Some, the disabled and elderly, did nothing except take. But, as Odin Roark has pointed out, we are all talented in some way and those talents, while not seemingly "productive" can be beneficial to society if valued. As for Warren Buffett, I read his 50+ page annual report (50th year anniversary of Berkshire Hathaway?… I can't remember). One of his largest holdings is the manufacture of oil transport railroad cars and the railroads that transport them. Not only is the oil transported on these railroad "pipelines" from tar sands and other oil sources to the refineries the transport of dirty, eco-destructive energy, it is becoming increasingly aware that this form of transport, may be even more damaging than pipelines. There was nothing in the report about the danger of explosive trains. Only about the kind of money that this strategic train pipeline move was earning. Moneymaking has no conscience. That's why it leaves people in poverty without thinking. Walmart comes into a small town and destroys main street businesses. A few years later, that Walmart is considered unproductive and closed. Not even greeter jobs are left. Ron

An Open Letter to Warren Buffett (Article) - 6/16/2015 5:57:52 AM
I hope Mr Buffet responds to this, as many people are very disappointed that he would make such a statement. I guess he, too, is counting on the sheep to listen and continue following the voices of the rich who spout this ad nauseam. Good work on explaining the facts.

An Open Letter to Warren Buffett (Article) - 6/16/2015 4:58:33 AM
Thank you for the insightful analysis of wealth and inheritance. If I could trust governments, I'd say they should tax inheritance transfers. But the windfalls would go to something foolish like bailing out high rollers on Wall Street. In fairness to Buffett, there are lots of folks who don't plan for themselves. They're happy to let others choose where the capital flows. The guy who took out patents for the 20th-century: alternating-current transmission, rotary electric motors, spark plugs for internal combustion motors, microwave ovens, wireless radio and remote controlled ships and airplanes. Nikola Tesla died with far less wealth than J. P. Morgan or Westinghouse who were mere backers.

Inequality (Article) - 6/8/2015 10:12:56 AM
Once again I have forwarded this to the three thinking people that I know.

Inequality (Article) - 6/6/2015 9:11:03 AM
Another astute article attempting to bring attention to the malaise that so many seem to fear but so misunderstand. Unfortunately, it is so long that many readers, so used to watered-down "bullet point" headlines and accusations by pundits with little or no facts, may not finish reading it. Like you said so well… To their peril! All we can do is keep reporting the facts and maybe, someday, before it is too late, they will sink in and become part of the American dream. Ron

Inequality (Article) - 6/5/2015 11:39:45 AM
Bravo! Love ya! Jane

Is This a Purpose-Driven Universe? (Article) - 6/3/2015 6:15:58 AM
Those who see 'Perfection' see a divine thought behind it all. But given that perfection is a static nothingness, it does not say much for the Deity. A mistake like the Bang(s), though, creates chaos constantly shifting, bashing, destroying, creating, colliding ... and that we find in beautiful balance from moment to moment (with and without dinosaurs, death or even air) - as if we linked poetry and science into a scholastic art form - a not very new discipline called Hollywood, or fantasy - dating at least from Book of the Dead Egypt. Sometimes, we call it a coping skill.

Is This a Purpose-Driven Universe? (Article) - 6/2/2015 7:49:33 AM
I wish we had all the tools to get the right answer. Until we do, we should at least keep asking.

Is This a Purpose-Driven Universe? (Article) - 6/2/2015 7:48:19 AM
Seems like it, doesn't it? I sure hope those scientists are right about parallel universes. That means I'm president someplace. Of course it also means I'm also a radical Islamic terrorist on another parallel world. Dave

Discovering Ourselves (Poetry) - 7/4/2015 9:26:16 PM
Yes, Love conquers all. I Thank God that it does. Amen

Discovering Ourselves (Poetry) - 7/4/2015 12:48:25 PM
Very optimistic and telling. We are the sum of thousands of generations yearning to be free. And, to a certain extent, as you so eloquently point out in your poem, most people in the world are free to love one another without ill feelings or contempt. While we have "become less afraid of our environment," I notice from reality shows that our brave souls when placed back in "a cold and empty universe" of basic survival in a plentiful wild environment, tend to utterly fail. It makes us understand how interdependent we really are. Ron

Discovering Ourselves (Poetry) - 7/4/2015 11:20:25 AM
We know not for what we search. I loved that line. It's so true, and so we continue to search, and in the end, it is love we want. To love and to be loved. Michael D.

Discovering Ourselves (Poetry) - 7/4/2015 7:56:02 AM
Yes! Love, it is!

Discovering Ourselves (Poetry) - 7/3/2015 7:12:52 AM
Yes, indeed. Love is all! Love ya! Jane

Discovering Ourselves (Poetry) - 7/3/2015 6:12:07 AM
An outstanding write Ed Very thought provoking Peace be with you William

Discovering Ourselves (Poetry) - 7/3/2015 5:26:02 AM
It's so true of what you've said. I enjoyed this poem! Sandie

Discovering Ourselves (Poetry) - 7/3/2015 3:33:26 AM
Call it whatever you want to call it rejuvenation of your inner peace, whatever, you must be be vigilant each and every day.

Discovering Ourselves (Poetry) - 7/2/2015 10:57:49 PM
It usually works out, for me, that if I call it love, which it usually actually is, it ends in miserable failure so I keep to myself & never get to feel that which I was going towards...-e-

Find Your Best (Poetry) - 6/28/2015 9:43:20 AM
I devoured every word of this. Lovely piece, Edward! Blessings, Christine

Find Your Best (Poetry) - 6/23/2015 6:28:47 AM
Great inspiration for the day. I never play golf or join in a friendly game of poker. But, how can you not, "compare yourself with others," in those scenarios? Ron

Find Your Best (Poetry) - 6/22/2015 5:37:22 PM
Good advise

Find Your Best (Poetry) - 6/22/2015 4:19:50 PM
Never compare yourself to others Find your own talent Understand your limitations But reach for that distant star And never look back— Your best days are yet to come. I appreciate your perspective, Edward. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace, Regis

Find Your Best (Poetry) - 6/22/2015 3:58:32 PM
Great advice, Edward, very good indeed.

Find Your Best (Poetry) - 6/22/2015 2:37:32 PM
What a fabulous message delivering encouragement! Great advice. Love ya! Jane

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/19/2015 1:10:57 PM
...who better if not you Edward, would be able to look at the presidential race...2016 presidential election...the greatest show on Earth...with options...when one can "win" it on merit or buy it...blowing few $$ to butter up the voters...when "voting" is an illusion and the only choice... that comb-over style replacing the Caesar-cut...or choice between selected few political dynasties...of apparent nepotism or...tolerated by the rest of the nation...celebrity's circus performance...scandals...conflicts....Your poems' witty use of the phrase "you're fired" and one-liner zingers...do an exquisite job asking...is it real or just a ride!?...and a sad remainder...that your great country's founded in opposition to hereditary laws...rules...and obviously...never've been about the "hair-choices".... Thanks for sharing your verse.

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/19/2015 12:30:01 PM
Donald Duck? Perhaps a saying like "That's all folks" would make most of us very happy. Well done!

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/18/2015 9:00:28 AM
When I stopped laughing at this superbly well thought out characterization of the Donald, himself, I came to a sobering conclusion: It takes money to enter the presidential race. And if you look at past history, most of our presidents started out either rich or famous before they ever "threw their hat in the ring." That's why I think it's time that the American people come up with a way to prevent money and fame (movie stars, etc.) from being criteria to be a candidate. This is a piece I wish I had written and I'm sure glad that you have. Ron

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/18/2015 7:43:11 AM
Dead on hilarious. I'd love to know what other countries think of us when someone like Trump enters the political picture, Especially when he makes his entrance coming down an escalator like some god descending into the world of mere mortals, and then says stupid things about other countries. What a way to showcase ones foreign policy. Michael D.

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/18/2015 7:18:38 AM
Mr. Phillips, I would like to be president of your fan club

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/18/2015 5:56:55 AM
Yep. You pretty much described him the way he is.

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/18/2015 5:36:43 AM
'Enjoyed this very much!! LOL!! Love ya! Jane

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/18/2015 3:36:01 AM
Thanks for the laughs - comedians think he's their own low trove, but the Donald belongs to all of us 'cause we know he's as much Scrooge as rubber Duck ... did I spell that right? Well done.

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/18/2015 1:21:59 AM
EXCELLENT, "Other Ed", I really enjoyed reading this and I got to send it to a friend, he will love it...-e-

Will Work for Pennies (900 billion) (Poetry) - 6/18/2015 12:28:41 AM
Thankfully, the word 'IDIOCY' has more than one meaning - It apparently applies in every sense here.

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/10/2015 2:07:45 PM
As writers we quit writing many times, but still the urge overcomes us and we return to string words together with our thoughts about life caught in their tangle.

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/9/2015 11:41:49 AM
I certainly hope your life is not nearly spent, as your writing seems to only get better and better. This is fantabulous

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/9/2015 9:10:56 AM
On the contrary, I see a lot of inspiration in this revealing write. And, you are certainly right about one thing… BB King is gone and the likes of him will be hard to replace. Ron

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/9/2015 7:20:09 AM
Cool write. An enjoyable read. Michael D.

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/9/2015 5:14:40 AM
Chuckles and Mirth, my favorite comedy team ...

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/8/2015 8:48:30 PM
I've tossed my whole being into the ocean many times over but have not forsaken what meager writing skills I have & most certainly too are my words for the seagulls as they carry them hither & dither and back to their nest and feed them to their young...fun write...-e-

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/8/2015 5:42:25 PM
One morning in the 70's, I was having some coffee and heard this song and found out it was the key to my being myself. Thank you! Love ya! Jane

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/8/2015 3:10:23 PM
Great poem and great rhymes perfect ending

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/8/2015 2:59:41 PM
North American culture has too much JIT this and JIT that. Nobody gets a moment to appreciate what's going down. I agree. After I stepped off the treadmill, I could see forever and began to have some fun.

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/8/2015 2:50:36 PM
keeping caught up in the turbulence of the storm definitely enhances your writing skills

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/8/2015 2:48:57 PM
Stepping back Poet passing by. Great work!

The Thrill is Gone (Poetry) - 6/8/2015 2:24:52 PM
Edward, you are the poet that let your reader...to see the beauty of the world through your eyes...to feel every emotion with your heart...to think many human-social-economic issues with your intellectual-philosophical mind and sense of "right" and "wrong"...common sense...Thanks for sharing your "fun" and your words that truly "thrill". Love the image...too...it says sooo much...it says everything about your private place in the universe...of your own creation...God Bless!

My Choice (Poetry) - 6/7/2015 9:30:14 AM
PERCHANCE...TO LOVE. YES, I HAVE CHOSEN AND I CAN RELATE TO THIS. WELL DONE AND ENJOYED. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

My Choice (Poetry) - 6/5/2015 2:30:59 PM
...mindfull lines that sound like a chanting mantra of calm...building our-readers awareness of the source of your happiness and...the "world" that exist above the mind-tying up mundane life..."watch" you thinking the words of gratitude... Great choice Edward! Thanks for sharing your poem.

My Choice (Poetry) - 6/4/2015 8:28:03 PM
Beautiful Edward! and a pleasure to read ...

My Choice (Poetry) - 6/4/2015 3:58:07 PM
Wow how to woo a woman

My Choice (Poetry) - 6/4/2015 11:58:23 AM
Somebody here is a very lucky man indeed. This is not easy to find ...much less claim. Rx

My Choice (Poetry) - 6/4/2015 11:04:02 AM
I'm melting over here! So beautiful! Love ya. Jane

My Choice (Poetry) - 6/4/2015 10:37:30 AM
She'll like it… The bond grows tighter and more sealed with this stamp of approval. Ron

My Choice (Poetry) - 6/4/2015 8:48:04 AM
Such a stunning and touching list of all the reasons you love her . . . And she you . . .

Trees (Poetry) - 5/30/2015 5:28:15 AM
Every word in this poem spoke to my heart appealing to my love for Mother Nature. I also was moved to write a poem using my noun and verb capacity expressing my love for trees.(LOL) Always, Ingeborg

Life on Earth (Poetry) - 5/27/2015 4:38:10 AM
Brimming with understatement of purpose. Well done!

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/26/2015 2:35:50 AM
In a tight spot some can be a bull-ologist. I don't have a Ph.D but I have a Ed.D. If someone ask what is that? I say I have a XYZ degree. So I am a certified master bull-ologist. Ha! Great write!

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/25/2015 6:42:25 PM
A wise man finds his best memories in nature and in awe of the creator.

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/25/2015 6:40:30 PM
Now this is clever. Ed you are an excellent rhymologist

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/20/2015 7:11:10 AM
This collection of warm reviews has made me an optim-ologist. But I am not the yuk-meister. Michael Schafer has that title safely tucked away. I'm still just a dumb cluck-ologist. Thanks to everyone!

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/20/2015 6:53:41 AM
For what I'm about to say, I'm an apolo-gist. Mr. Phillips is, The one and only Yuk-oligist. Michael D.

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/20/2015 6:49:10 AM
I recall when farmers became agro-businessmen, truck drivers became transportation engineers, and, better yet, trash collectors became sanitation engineers. But this takes the cake (and eat it too!) to a whole new level! For my nitpicking your work, you can now call me a picky-ologist. Another good one for the books. Ron

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/20/2015 5:36:00 AM
Now, that's what I call having wit and a way with words -- a funny way. Good, my friend!

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 6:12:04 PM
Don't be puttin' my stuff on the street, Phillips, specifically the looney tooney ologisty...good humor, other Ed...-e-

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 5:10:02 PM
Brilliant Ed!...and same the whole world over...lol Diana....

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 2:38:06 PM
ha, youre a humorologist, comediologist, laughologist, harpo-ologist!

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 10:45:45 AM
Oh, my!!! I'm laughing too much!!! Love ya! Jane

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 10:17:03 AM
Wicked, uproarious humor. I reckon 10 outta 10 on the yuks meter.

From the Institute of Word-ology (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 8:53:30 AM
Okay. You had me smiling before the hard-to-suppress laughter erupted.

Democracy at Work (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 7:13:38 AM
Where's Pat Paulsen when we need him. Loved the humor and sarcasm in this brilliant write. Michael D.

Democracy at Work (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 6:29:40 AM
After I stopped laughing, I have to commend you on your insight. Probably the reason everything is so laughable is because, as my sister pointed out, we have a "Republic," and not a democracy… Whatever the hell that means. Contention seems to be the name of the game and the more mudslinging the better. I seem to recall the Lincoln, Douglas debates. And then there was that guy, Benedict Arnold. And scandals galore from Teapot Dome to Tippecanoe. Politics will never change and be the source of great humor like yours forever, I guess. Ron

Democracy at Work (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 2:28:02 PM
I find it anoymusing that if we change the names and country it is pretty much the same in all democracies... Great poem!

Democracy at Work (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 2:02:50 PM
My dog Rufuz ran for president the first time Obama got in and I truly think he would do a better job then and this time, though he is dead, but what the hell, so are most politicians dead from the neck up, anyway...-e-

Democracy at Work (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 1:02:41 PM
Spare me another circus!!! Love ya! Jane

Democracy at Work (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 10:19:31 AM
Although you were way to nice to Hillary (even with the missing "l"), but you pretty much kicked ass with everything else. Me too, rolling my eyes at the prospect of yet another darn presidential election . . .

Democracy at Work (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 9:52:18 AM
Vote for the Rhino party or pencil your own name in.

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/15/2015 12:19:38 PM
For me, only God's handiwork impresses me and are memorable :) beautifully penned, Edward ...

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/15/2015 12:32:19 AM
Awareness of life. All else feels empty when compared to living each day awake. Beautifully expressed epiphany.

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 11:58:02 AM
Gracious - these things are certainly way above the common expectations of the daily grind, Edward, and are moments, I'm sure to be treasured. But such wisdom to accept hubris for what it is and to take stock of and pleasure in the real stars of this world and universe of which we are privileged to be a part. Very well articulated. xx

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 8:41:52 AM
So well said, and for me like you said , I too feel at ease only when I am close to nature in the place near to home and that is where all my senses peak... as.... like they say.. I am in my element! What a beautiful write Ed,,,Roseline

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 7:19:12 AM
I have traveled some of the same path, and like you, prefer the simpler, more natural life. While Thoreau may not have had access to the venues in your poem, you have matched him in quality and sincerity. Ron

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 6:58:22 AM
indeed, you can hear the voice of god through nature ... which also means through our selves ...

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 6:16:53 AM
Beautiful... G'd should be honored.

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 4:14:03 PM
So eloquently stated, Edward; I agree with you. Love and peace, Regis

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 3:22:06 PM
You have a beautiful way of praising the natural abundance of existence and of being perfectly free! Blessings, Christine

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 12:55:29 PM
...it is only during the "good times" living that you appreciate....a simple life with nature as a great way of living...keeping in touch with spiritual-self adds a meaning to it...well done.

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 12:40:15 PM
Though I have not had near those kinds of experiences, I ech your sentiments. I stand I awe of the God who made us all. Thanks for stopping by my den. The poem you commented on, "In the Bottom of Your Ocean", stemmed from feelings I was having from a miraculous event that occurred in my family...made me a-gape at His mighty works -- not only of nature (which was part of it), but of great compassion and comfort. May those loving waves wash over you too. --Charlie

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 10:11:43 AM
Seems you have had quite a life, Ed. Add your talent and abilities to that (and of course your stunning good looks), and call yourself blessed.

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 8:54:47 AM
Oh, how I loved this write! So beautifully penned. Love ya! Jane

Inner Sanctums (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 8:12:20 AM
Although I don't give God credit for nature's bountiful and beautiful landscape, I will admit there is a certain awesomeness about it.

Push On (Poetry) - 5/8/2015 9:32:43 PM
Ah, determination...Hope springs eternal from our God! Great message in an unforgettable narrative, Edward. ~ zbm

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/8/2015 6:33:44 PM
It's the chase. Michael D.

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/8/2015 2:48:12 PM
...finely written...exquisitely intense words ask an honest question about the meaning of "happiness"...does it have to be chase or just chosen?...to climb or not up to the top of "the Kunlun mountain" to view the sacred landscape of life...remain heavenly questions and an inspiration carrying a message...we are immortal spirits...achieving "happiness" is just a matter of an earthly perception and therefore...as the song goes..."be careful what you wish for cause you just might get it..." Thank you Edward, for sharing this mind-bending poem.

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/8/2015 7:26:56 AM
I love the way you use your poem to ask questions about what you consider to be "elusive" happiness. When I look at happiness, I think about contentment. Just the thought of it being wonderful to be alive and to experience, allowing many things to make us happy just because they are. Not a elusive at all, but right there in front of us like sunlight and rain. Ron

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/8/2015 5:56:00 AM
ah, the mystery of the never ending chase keeps us going as well as wondering ...

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/8/2015 12:39:15 AM
Hey, hon! I'm chasing getting a good lavendar bed going on. When it's full, come sniff my blossoms when they are ripe............you will relax and forget all about the "chase"!!! Love ya! Jane

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 6:43:35 PM
You got it so right and who else could ? GREAT!The glory, the wonder of the thing! Roseline

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 4:22:23 PM
a very insightful inward exploration ~ Blessings, Christine

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 3:57:12 PM
The second paragraph describes it all, what we strive for is right there...Good write, Other Ed...-e-

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 2:24:58 PM
Seems I'm always chasing after something. Striving to be successful, a good mother and wife. Though I'm no where near perfect the pursuit of happiness keeps me going no matter what future holds. This is a lovely poem. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Kathy

The Pursuit of Happiness (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 12:49:53 PM
Happiness, to me is when I am content with my life and life allows me to understand that.

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 8:45:57 AM
Beautifully wrought to its conclusion and your strong metre and rhyme push your premise forward wonderfully. Oh to be caught up in such love! You end so wisely on the point at which so many potential relationships just manage to fail at that final hurdle, resisting that all-important merger... and we're back where you started: no pain, no gain! Excellent, Edward; truly enjoyed. xx

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 5/2/2015 8:07:02 AM
But you’ll always regret Refusing a merging of wills. I believe this to be true, Edward. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 5/1/2015 1:05:10 AM
Such an important consideration for successful relationships...the merging of wills... Compromise and co-operation...vital ingredients...and the rest all the tastier when this is given... Diana...

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 4/30/2015 1:17:36 PM
a good merging here and there does a soul good ..

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 4/28/2015 1:51:18 AM
A perfect write! Loved it! Kathy

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 4/27/2015 7:36:32 AM
Wonderfully done. Michael D.

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 4/27/2015 7:35:17 AM
The last line changes the meaning quite a bit. As though all didn't end well. Ron

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 4/26/2015 6:19:33 PM
This is really good. How easy it is to go through life and never understand the importance of real connection with a loved one.

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 4/26/2015 4:01:33 PM
So true My Friend and wonderfully penned.

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 4/26/2015 3:45:53 PM
Beautifully put!! Oh.........my! Love ya! Jane

A Merging of Wills (Poetry) - 4/26/2015 2:03:46 PM
Yeah, you're right Edward, go with the flow . . .

The Art of Living (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 9:23:38 AM
This feels like a cozy fireside chat and holds much happiness and peace :) Blessings, Christine

The Art of Living (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 7:50:06 AM
A wise estimation. We only have this life to live, why live it simply to please others. And isn't working toward good always better than working toward bad? Of course. Your poem shows the easy way to a meaningful life. Ron

The Art of Living (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 7:34:25 AM
Why not choose good over evil Is a question that can not be answered because some people only have evil in them. Michael D.

The Art of Living (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 3:32:11 AM
In the end it’s all about Being true to yourself. It truly is.

The Art of Living (Poetry) - 4/24/2015 9:46:07 PM
Better love people instead. Why not indeed.

The Art of Living (Poetry) - 4/24/2015 5:08:14 PM
True to the self is very true...-e-

The Art of Living (Poetry) - 4/24/2015 12:55:01 PM
True to oneself is an old adage that never seems to wane.

Wishful Thinking (Poetry) - 4/24/2015 11:58:40 AM
Nice poem, I'll bet you worked at it too!

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/24/2015 11:55:56 AM
Nice, I've been to that wall as well, several times and still see it coming at me occasionally. I'm still thinking of quitting and then moving over it.

The Art of Living (Poetry) - 4/24/2015 10:52:09 AM
I don't know what to say. Love ya! Jane

The Art of Living (Poetry) - 4/24/2015 9:48:09 AM
Ahhh . . . The existentialists. I delved into the Sarte, Genet, et all, back in the day. On the whole I think you are correct in explaining the basic concept of the existentialists thought process. But the more I studied it I realized the concept of existentialistism did not leave room for the heart to come into play. Or love. I surmised that the existentialists believe that one man was definitely an island with no room for anything, or anybody else.

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/23/2015 7:44:16 AM
No matter what no matter where, this was a wonderful poem to share. Michael D.

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/23/2015 7:19:25 AM
A very personal and poignant writing of what it takes to face life's ups and downs and taste the bitter with the sweet. Ron

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 8:09:41 PM
vERY MEANINGFUL WORDS , you matter and i like this poem very much.

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 2:28:44 PM
Such is life; thank you for sharing your experiences and their meaning, Edward. Love and peace to you, Regis

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 1:42:02 PM
I absolutely love this! Kathy

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 11:59:35 AM
This should be a grade school lesson or put to music for an early anthem - much better than fairy tales and magical thinking exercises. Well done!

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 11:47:54 AM
Original and meaningful and oh, so right.

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 11:10:10 AM
You have lived before! Love ya! Jane

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 10:50:38 AM
And the wise old owl will greet you

No Matter What No Matter Where (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 10:47:59 AM
GREAT writing, Edward, this is something to read again and again. Impressive!

It's the Law (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 6:05:38 AM
Once again, your great knowledge shows. It's so interesting how politicians are continually trying to shape human behavior by laws… All the while making sure that they are fleecing us while making the laws, carrying them out, and adjudicating them. There is money to be had in them thar hills! Ron

It's the Law (Poetry) - 4/21/2015 3:19:10 PM
Michael nailed it with his comment. Another winner, Ed.

It's the Law (Poetry) - 4/21/2015 11:43:59 AM
Lady Justice holds her scales, and knows too many unjust tales. Michael D.

It's the Law (Poetry) - 4/21/2015 11:41:06 AM
Yep, you pretty much took the law on and riddled it.

It's the Law (Poetry) - 4/21/2015 11:12:16 AM
Can't be perfect in this world

The Examined Life (Poetry) - 4/20/2015 3:50:21 AM
Great one, Edward- interesting attitude.

Wishful Thinking (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 6:33:12 PM
Man is doomed to struggle, and carry a heavy load. Even when you're going downhill, life is still an uphill road. Michael D.

Wishful Thinking (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 12:04:58 PM
Well no birthday candles for you then!!!! I do get your point though ;)

Wishful Thinking (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 9:35:34 AM
Songs oft times make us think as do words of deep thinking people.

Wishful Thinking (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 9:13:32 AM
A philosophy that I find very refreshing and easy to adhere to. Why do so many take the hard route, when you lay out the easy path so easily. Ron

Wishful Thinking (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 8:32:39 AM
Sometimes it is better for all concerned to let things just take its natural course.

Wishful Thinking (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 8:17:49 AM
I appreciate the philosophical perspective that you have shared through your verses here, Edward. Love and peace to you, Regis

Wishful Thinking (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 8:15:54 AM
I really got into this. I've been told that pain spurs growth. You have rounded out the meaning of this. Thank you. Love ya! Jane

Wishful Thinking (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 8:03:12 AM
This shows your usual deep thinking and I love it. The drawing is also good.

The Examined Life (Poetry) - 4/18/2015 12:59:45 PM
It's hard to know who to trust. It's hard to know what is true. But I can trust people to a fault, because I haven't a clue. So never stop learning. Never stop yearning, and I believe in you. Michael D.

The Examined Life (Poetry) - 4/18/2015 11:21:40 AM
For me this is great timing, as I am trying again (and again) to examine some thoughts and shoo them off. I think discovering 'this thing called life' in the current moment, not looking back or forward more than needed, is peace.

The Examined Life (Poetry) - 4/18/2015 9:30:49 AM
'Right up there with Thoureau! Love ya! Jane

The Examined Life (Poetry) - 4/18/2015 9:15:42 AM
You touched on the process of private inspection, and that is something everyone should adhere to in one for or another. Oh, I have examined my life, you betcha, and I am examining it even this day April, 18, 2015. I don't actually have to have facts as you brought out to believe in reincarnation. I have no facts to support it, it is just a strong belief that I feel.

The Examined Life (Poetry) - 4/18/2015 9:04:40 AM
Examining oneself is a very positive process. One cannot gain much by examining another's motives too deeply when not in their skin. Ron

The Examined Life (Poetry) - 4/18/2015 8:19:52 AM
Once again you challenge your reader to aspire to greater wisdom and to pursue a worthy path in that cause. Rx

The Examined Life (Poetry) - 4/18/2015 8:15:55 AM
We are most fortunate when we can find a person we can trust.

Trees (Poetry) - 4/16/2015 10:30:15 PM
How nice! J k roseline,

Life on Earth (Poetry) - 4/16/2015 7:39:33 AM
This is a keeper with a message that all should heed. We are but like ants in the cosmos. But we have knowledge of that cosmos and that gives us power to determine our fate and the fate of all in our purview. There is a strange mixture of comets and meteors, though. Ron

Life on Earth (Poetry) - 4/16/2015 1:28:22 AM
Living in paradise and what do we do? This is a terrific write which puts it all so well.I fear for my grandchildren's future, the wilful destruction that's taken place, and looks like we've never made progress. The savage beast still thrives amongst us. Thanks for this.

Life on Earth (Poetry) - 4/15/2015 7:28:41 PM
Quite a comet's tale. I especially liked the 4th, 5th and 6th stanzas. Excellent excellent write. Michael D.

Life on Earth (Poetry) - 4/15/2015 11:58:34 AM
This would make a fine soliloquy on stage! Love ya! Jane

Life on Earth (Poetry) - 4/15/2015 10:29:22 AM
Splendid. Really like that line, "In dreary lies that flapped unfurled."

Life on Earth (Poetry) - 4/15/2015 9:25:13 AM
Nice write , I too like to read and write about comets like you do. JKRoseline

Life on Earth (Poetry) - 4/15/2015 8:23:28 AM
Eh . . . A lot of intelligent words and lines within the confines of this little gem. The comet will hit us, or it won't, don't think God had anything to do with it, either making the comet, or stopping it, and I doubt we would change our ways either. Would like to think we would, but I doubt it.

Life on Earth (Poetry) - 4/15/2015 7:39:12 AM


Trees (Poetry) - 4/14/2015 1:54:58 AM
Loved your words intuitive words Ed... I tried years ago to hug a tree, and found it very comforting... I had a favourite tree on a field nearby, and hugged it regularly... It is going to be removed soon, and I shall miss it greatly...it has become a friend... I feel trees hold much wisdom that we can tap into...living wonders of our Planet...I think you sense this too... Diana....

Trees (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 9:56:28 AM
VERY NICE!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE TREES!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Theatre of the Mind (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 9:52:03 AM
Great read!

Trees (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 7:56:54 AM
I don't talk to trees, but I certainly admire them. The redwood trees of California were an awesome reminder to me that some species on this planet are priceless and should never be destroyed for our vanity. Your poem gives us kinship with these magnificent plants. It points out there importance for our very survival. Our liberty. I do recall that the reason that the people of New Hampshire wanted to rebel against King George was because he required that all of the best wood harvested be sent to England and not allowed to be used in the colonies. Ron

Trees (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 1:50:42 AM
Trees are wondrous gifts, and it's time for me to head to the glorious woods and walk amongst them.

Trees (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 9:58:20 PM
Trees are great, I got a few or so behind my apartment and I love to watch them change through the seasons, as now they are just starting to bud for the upcoming "green" season...they alert me to the outside wind, they carry the snow in winter and let me hear the birds in the rest of he seasons...good thoughtful write, "other" Ed...made me think which is a rare occurence...-e-

Trees (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 8:34:14 PM
Trees outstrip most people in the extent and depth of their work for the public good. ~Sara Ebenreck

Trees (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 4:06:22 PM
They were here before us.

Trees (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 11:58:17 AM
When I see trees I always marvel them. Most of them will outlive us and that makes even the strongest of humans take this sobering truth and awaken the conscious thinking it requires. I don't mind that these majestic sun-seekers will live on without me. They are a very necessary part of our environment, though we cut them down because of our "needs" and think they have no feeling or pain. I believe plants and their sisters the trees do have a connection to us all and can feel love and empathy, so perhaps death too. That's hard to think about, though, especially as a vegetarian. But I'm on a tangent, sorry. I liked this piece. Thanks for sharing.

Trees (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 10:10:20 AM
When I was younger, I couldn't walk in the woods without pulling up a sapling, bringing it home and replanting it somewhere. All these years later, we can take a drive, Pass by a tree, and I can say I planted that tree. This poem is something to bark about, and having said that, I'll take my leaves. Michael D.

Trees (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 7:45:37 AM
You are so right! I do feel a very personal relationship with trees. I listen as they carry messages rustling their leaves with the breeze spreading the word. Love ya! Jane

Trees (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 6:25:03 AM
This poem is one which causes the reader (moi) to actively dwell on the subject, not merely just glance at the words. This is a good one . . .

The Review (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 4:14:48 AM
Food for Thought, indeed.

The Review (Poetry) - 4/9/2015 4:29:16 PM
Everyone has their own beliefs about life everlasting. Some will return again to live there life's purpose when they didn't get it right the first time. This poem is beautiful and I totally understand it's message. Well done Mr. Phillips! Kathy

The Review (Poetry) - 4/9/2015 2:18:08 PM
You have a knack for writing things that make us think. I enjoyed reading this, and I enjoyed your reply to Jerry equally as much. The golden rule is the only real thing to live by. It's not always easy, and sometimes it's impossible, but still that's the one to live by. Michael D.

The Review (Poetry) - 4/9/2015 10:39:58 AM
Puts me in mind of the movie about Ebeneezer Scrooge, how he turned his life around and changed his eternal life, hopefully...Good thoughts here, Ed, I enjoyed this one, thank you for posting it...-e-

The Review (Poetry) - 4/9/2015 10:23:10 AM
That's going to be the "Mama of all Reviews"!! Love ya! Jane

The Review (Poetry) - 4/9/2015 9:47:27 AM
Amen, my friend. No truer words have been spoken. Turmoil of the imprisoned, karma has a Valspar shine to it today in this den, varnished with good intentions. Shine on! For the sake of literary preservation, dear Edward. Spirit Kin, Sage

Embracing Excellence (Poetry) - 4/8/2015 11:13:26 AM
Expecting nothing for it but To find the best that is within us. It does not live for accolades It is its own reward It is how we can truly examine life How we search for meaning Align our paths with truth. It is how we give back for This gift we know as life. I really like this excellent summation, Edward. Excellence is as excellence does. Wonderfully composed. Kate xx

Embracing Excellence (Poetry) - 4/8/2015 7:02:07 AM
A wonderful tribute to the best in us. Whether it be innate talent or hard work and determination, both are to be commended for their contribution to all of us. And you are to be commended for reminding us. Ron

Embracing Excellence (Poetry) - 4/8/2015 6:21:40 AM
Excellent! Michael D.

Embracing Excellence (Poetry) - 4/7/2015 3:37:17 PM
You have found the real passion behind the pursuit of what we love more than anything else . . . wonderment of the wonder . . .

Embracing Excellence (Poetry) - 4/7/2015 2:40:42 PM
To some a gift, to some its a horror...-e-

Embracing Excellence (Poetry) - 4/7/2015 2:28:32 PM
It's a level of perfection every soul seeks, driven to find. Our purpose in this life. Your words tell a story to every soul who reads. You speak for all of us who give this life everything we have to give. Thank you for this. It's message is understood completely. Wonderful write! Kathy

Embracing Excellence (Poetry) - 4/7/2015 11:03:52 AM
That's what it's all about! Love ya! Jane

Embracing Excellence (Poetry) - 4/7/2015 9:53:12 AM
So true lovely writing.. I know in my job I try to do the best I can to help the ill.. And watching them suffer is the worst pain you could ever IMAGINE!!

Theatre of the Mind (Poetry) - 4/6/2015 4:27:21 AM
Marvelous!

Theatre of the Mind (Poetry) - 4/6/2015 3:43:40 AM
Whoah! Deep stuff. 'Love it! Love ya, Jane

Theatre of the Mind (Poetry) - 4/5/2015 10:36:54 PM
that's how it is! the ethereal world at our fingertips.

Theatre of the Mind (Poetry) - 4/5/2015 10:10:43 AM
Supremely relaxing. Everyone needs to go beyond your poem and view the video. Ron

Theatre of the Mind (Poetry) - 4/5/2015 8:05:29 AM
I expected images upon images like you portrayed above your poem, not just scenes of earth, while they were nice and all, but a bit of a disappointing to me. False advertising? Heh.Heh

To Jackie: With Love (Poetry) - 4/2/2015 5:22:20 AM
A wonderful tribute to a great talent. The video reminded me of the first time I saw her on America's Got Talent and she stunned the audience with that adult voice coming from a young girl. YouTube and these talent shows are presenting us with a whole new generation of wonderful talent. Ron

To Jackie: With Love (Poetry) - 4/1/2015 8:25:00 PM
wonderful to sing like an angel and describe her crescendo ...

To Jackie: With Love (Poetry) - 4/1/2015 2:48:03 PM
I agree with everything you say. She's just about the most angelic singer I have ever seen. She is well-dressed too like an angel and sings like one. Her voice is so rich it is AMAZING!!!!! Sandie

To Jackie: With Love (Poetry) - 4/1/2015 1:40:27 PM
Such talent on so many levels! Love ya! Jane

To Jackie: With Love (Poetry) - 4/1/2015 1:30:04 PM
very beautiful...

To Jackie: With Love (Poetry) - 4/1/2015 12:41:10 PM
I went online and listened to her sing that song and then I read your poem again. This is beyond beautiful! A wonderful tribute to this angel who sang this. Love can last forever. I'm married 30 years to my forever love. This song and your poem reminded me of how lucky I am. Thank you Kathy J Parenteau

To Jackie: With Love (Poetry) - 4/1/2015 12:10:31 PM
Beautifully composed, Ed, very much so . . .

The Right Side of History (Poetry) - 4/1/2015 9:35:01 AM
Very thought provoking and moving poetry! Peace, love and light, Amber

The Right Side of History (Poetry) - 3/31/2015 6:22:10 PM
history is a misconception of lost facts ... your poem does not go into that direction because it is truly his story

The Right Side of History (Poetry) - 3/30/2015 7:21:23 PM
It would be a very sad day if you quit being a problem for the selfish and dogmatic people of the world.

The Right Side of History (Poetry) - 3/30/2015 7:31:30 AM
Fine positive words that need to be heard in all the rancor. And, I would add fear to your list of "greed, selfishness or hate…" Ron

The Right Side of History (Poetry) - 3/30/2015 4:01:22 AM
interesting indeed...

The Right Side of History (Poetry) - 3/29/2015 12:55:54 PM
Hi Edward, When I was doing a family history going back a thousand years, I was soon to discover that history consists of ninety per cent imagination and less than ten per cent fact. Otherwise, it makes for very dull reading.

The Right Side of History (Poetry) - 3/29/2015 8:28:37 AM
How beautiful your thoughts JK roseline

The Right Side of History (Poetry) - 3/29/2015 8:22:32 AM
Fairness, kindness, love ... a fine legacy at any time ... can any sword match such a pen?

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.