AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Stephen Lodge, iJennifer Miller, iSusan Rempel, iKH LeMoyne, iJohn DeDakis, iGary Caplan, iWilliam Wright, i
 
Home > Edward Phillips
 

Recent Reviews for Edward Phillips


The Flaming Fondue (Short Story) - 2/26/2015 7:49:20 AM
That was cute. I'm glad it wasn't you. I'm still trying to figure out why you couldn't grab a pair of pants and skip the shorts. It looks like you have some stories to tell that are well worth reading. A memoir wouldn't be bad either. About that time, I was riding with Nick in his beat up 60 Sprite that had lost its top in New York State coming back from Expo 67 on our way back to California. In St. Louis, it had lost part of the clutch, making shifting difficult. Nick had to make a side trip to see his sister in Kansas City. She lived in a seedy part of town, in an old ramshackle house, and worse, in the basement. Nick made me stay in the car for about a half hour while he went to see her. Then, we were back on the road. Strange, that I didn't run into you, then… Isn't it? About 11 o'clock in Colorado or Nevada, I can't remember. Nick wanted to go into a country bar to "check out the local scene." I had no desire to lose any teeth and my paralyzed hands couldn't make a fist if I wanted to. So I declined while Nick went in and had a beer or two with the local cowboys. I guess he got bored and came back about a half hour later. We were on our way again. Ron

The Flaming Fondue (Short Story) - 2/25/2015 5:51:06 PM
You need not write a memoir, all that we need to do is put all this together.Now I can understand when people say, "I have lived different lives and my present cannot connect with my past. I always look forward to your stories, please keep writing." roseline

The Flaming Fondue (Short Story) - 2/25/2015 4:18:35 PM
Funny story. Plenty of grit and wise-assedness. Some of those bars sound like they belong in a Bukowski story and I love his works. I have had problems with blackouts but now I know my limits. Also, it took me 13 years and 4 colleges/universities to complete my bachelor degree. I totally want to visit that bar! Hehe. Nice naked ending. I suspected they were after someone else. Great imagery throughout. Thanks for sharing. Best, Danae

The Salute (Short Story) - 1/24/2015 7:12:45 AM
Yes... indeed inspirational. One and a half hours, for a young boy, is quite a vigil. "When the tide crept in he refused to retreat a single step" Very moving. Thank you for sharing this. rlc

The Salute (Short Story) - 1/22/2015 9:17:22 AM
I reposted this on Facebook. It is too wonderful to imagine.

The Salute (Short Story) - 1/22/2015 8:51:27 AM
The cynical say that television never reports stories like this, but I saw it first on television and have also viewed this video before. The cynical also say that young people, today, don't understand our history and what it took to keep our country safe during World War II. I was alive during World War II, but only two years old when D-Day occurred and by the time I was 11, the war was far behind us, only experienced on Memorial Day when my uncle, a veteran of the 101st Airborne, fired a volley that scared us at the cemetery where our family was buried. Or when my father played Taps on his bugle and my grandmother told him not to, sadly remembering both world wars. I'm not sure what the history of this boy's family is, but it's hard for me to believe that a young boy would be so interested in dressing up as a soldier and humming a World War II soldier's song that I don't even know, without a lot of instruction or coaxing from his elders. If he did it on his own, being interested in World War II like some children might be, I commend him. If he didn't, I'm quite concerned if adults did this for publicity or political gain. It certainly touched the people that were there, especially the veterans. Ron

Thoughts about that War in Vietnam: 50 Years Later (Short Story) - 1/5/2015 1:35:05 PM
You are an amazing writer and your "stories" are so well done. Will we all ever learn that no one really wins a war. It goes on and on all over the world. hug Kathy

Thoughts about that War in Vietnam: 50 Years Later (Short Story) - 12/13/2014 11:24:04 AM
We aren't supposed to understand, Edward. USMC MGen Smedley Butler probably said it best in a 1936 speech (which I'll paraphrase)- "War is a racket. Only a select few know what it is about. It is conducted for the benefit of the very few at the expense of the very many ..." He earned his two Medals of Honor in different jungles, but eventually saw the lesson clearly. His speeches were widely applauded but the world was already at war in China, Spain and Ethiopia, and it hasn't stopped yet. And perhaps those philosophers have the only answer warriors can call a legacy ... that in the hopelessly complex rhythm of living, it is intentions which win the high ground. Thanks for your thoughts.

Thoughts about that War in Vietnam: 50 Years Later (Short Story) - 12/10/2014 11:06:25 PM
Oh! my goodness, Edward, I'm so sorry for what you and others went through and glad you are able to journal...you are a beautiful writer...I imagine it is very therapeutic and healing..to share your story. Thank you for letting us into your life and looking forward to reading more of your writing.

Thoughts about that War in Vietnam: 50 Years Later (Short Story) - 12/10/2014 10:24:52 AM
Thank you for a part of your story that you haven't written before. I especially liked your closing paragraph where you outlined your thoughts on why we were in Vietnam in the first place and stayed so long. The military-industrial complex, built up so heavily during World War II, needed to be fed. What more fitting way to keep it going than to beat up on people related to the Japanese who were becoming communist? I also have not heard of your brother with all of his commendations. To think that people like John McCain and your brother would not have all of their military glory if we had not engaged in that war. I don't see that kind of hero, except perhaps, Pat Tillman, deceased, coming out of the Iraqi war and Afghanistan. Airman in those ventures seem too far removed from actual battle. I was in Bangkok for 20 days and visited Pattaya for one in 1978, three years after the US pulled out of Southeast Asia. My Thai host took me to many Buddhist temples and monuments, but kept me from any sin. Ron

A Sign of the Times (Short Story) - 11/22/2014 8:58:54 AM
I thought you were writing an article in the Stories section, my pet peeve. But after reading with a chuckle or two, I realize that this is fine satire of the state of affairs we are in. Ron

A Sign of the Times (Short Story) - 11/21/2014 1:59:51 PM
...believe in equality...liberty and love...and the knowledge is a power...As you've pointed out in your story...something has to be done...When you country's in trouble...the world is watching...both...the "fat cat" and the "public-spirited" philanthropist... Just "a sigh of the times"... Thank you, Edward for sharing your thoughts provoking writing.

Quiet Please: Introverts at Work (Short Story) - 11/21/2014 1:32:27 PM
...typically...for the intreverted folk..."reticent"...Edward you've managed to spill the beans about the rest of us ...the secrets that we've been trying to hide for so long became known to the entire world.... Ah! How I love thoughts provoking deep end look at the big picture never come out of my own shell..."old soul"... How I love chitchat that doesn't come in a form of a soliloquy... How I love time alone with good book good tea with a lemon seating at the back of life theatre floor... About all...I love to be quite in an increasingly noisy world. Contemplating!

Quiet Please: Introverts at Work (Short Story) - 11/21/2014 3:44:50 AM
A very nice story Edward. You have made me realise that am an introvert. Enjoyed this big time. Thanks. Mary

Quiet Please: Introverts at Work (Short Story) - 11/20/2014 7:36:04 AM
You have a way of turning a story into an article. A good article, I might add. From time to time, I have enjoyed being the life of the party. But otherwise, an introvert I am, based on your description. Becoming paralyzed, caused me to really examine my life and where it was going, a very introverted thing to do. Also, unless I get very aggressive and interrupt others, at parties I find that the noise level is very high while I am not. Ron

Quiet Please: Introverts at Work (Short Story) - 11/20/2014 12:48:48 AM
Wow Edward, This was something I did not want you to stop at, you could have gone and gone on and I would have still read it all up...since everyone of us fell into one category or the other I am sure each person reading this will be trying to fit in here or there. sure I am with you ....you know that .. except when I am chatting up or writing to you....I find my noise level rising up... enjoyed much..jk

Quiet Please: Introverts at Work (Short Story) - 11/19/2014 6:12:01 PM
Great article!

Quiet Please: Introverts at Work (Short Story) - 11/19/2014 4:26:41 PM
I am an introvert and I have friends that arent. lol. I like quiet and I enjoy quiet things compared to noisey gatherings. Hugs Kathy

Autumn in the Hills of West Virginia (Short Story) - 11/17/2014 8:21:19 AM
I have been through West Virginia and it is beautiful in the fall. I am not one for mountains. I kind of favor the flat states but the view is magnificent when the seasons change. The only thing I got nervous about when in the virginia's was Fancy gap. Boy! going through that part in heavy fog cured me of traveling in winter through those states. I was petrified when the big trucks passed me and you couldnt see a foot in front of the car. But I love the fall.

Excuse Me: Do You Fix Car Windows? (Short Story) - 11/3/2014 4:54:11 PM
Yeah, that sounds like something that happened to me a time or three. I have come to realize that getting the job done by someone who knows what he's doing is, in the long run cheaper financially and emotionally (!!!) than trying to do it myself. I have cultivated the mechanic across the alley from my apartment. He's good and not too rapacious... ChipB.

Excuse Me: Do You Fix Car Windows? (Short Story) - 10/21/2014 10:19:35 PM
Beautifully written, so well detailed in your typical style, Go on Ed , you sure should make a collection of the stories you write! Jk

The Tame Tigers of Thailand (Short Story) - 10/15/2014 4:24:22 AM
Considering that most of the poor are either born to it and kept there by various 'debt-traps' or pushed into it by ignorance, illness or accident, it is more than vile for those born to and protected by various political advantages, to further defame and slander them. And it is suicide for the rich to keep stealing from the poor because eventually they will figure out how to recreate the pitchfork and torch.

Autumn in the Hills of West Virginia (Short Story) - 10/1/2014 5:56:49 AM
Sounds like you had a wonderful trip. Your story reminds me of my wonderful experience with West Virginia. That hillbilly view is there and can be experienced. However, Don Knotts, everybody's view of a West Virginia hillbilly, was the son of a drugstore owner in Morgantown, and I believe, college-educated. Some of those, "back in the hollers," characters were extremely intelligent college professors I knew. On my entry into the state at Wheeling, having to go through Pennsylvania first before reaching my destination for seven years, I heard Bob Denver singing his latest hit on the car radio, Country Roads. Shortly after, Denver abandoned West Virginia for Colorado. While I think Northern Wisconsin colors are more spectacular (dark green white pine contrasted with white paper birch, the colors of maple oak and many other hard and soft wood foliage reflected off 8000 lakes that West Virginia doesn't have many of), I spent every weekend in the fall just driving West Virginia for the adventure and color. From the road, you don't see the destruction that a flyover offers. West Virginia has been raped many times for its fabulous resources, especially its trees. Ron

Autumn in the Hills of West Virginia (Short Story) - 10/1/2014 4:07:20 AM
...falling for a spectacularly beautiful Autumn hottest destination...at the Hills....and oak shaded driveways that "sound" like an oil painting master piece...trees in their full splendour...explosion of the ripe golden yellow leaves ....ablaze with burnt amber and salmon red foliage....against the backdrop of every hue of blue skyline...and gaze down on the river ...observed from the vintage point.... Thank you for sharing your interesting and enjoyable holiday story........Ach du liebe Herbstferienzeit!

Review: The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (Short Story) - 8/22/2014 10:46:30 AM
Fine review - I will look for it - Some of the most gripping true stories have come out of that horror - I wish someone would make a movie of "For Those I Loved" but maybe it wouldn't live up to the reality.

Spock: Live Long and Prosper (Article) - 2/27/2015 2:35:23 PM
I was truly saddened to hear of his death on this planet. I say, "Live long and prosper!" to his atoms wherever they may be. Love ya! Jane

Spock: Live Long and Prosper (Article) - 2/27/2015 11:54:51 AM
Thanks for this Ed. It is truly shocking. Almost as if we never thought he would die. And perhaps he's rematerialized in some other dimension. I like that idea. He's a loss to us, but a gain to another world.

Spock: Live Long and Prosper (Article) - 2/27/2015 11:22:36 AM
I'd sure like to think he would be 'still out there.' What a wonderful tribute to a great man.

Best Video Ever Made (Article) - 2/24/2015 5:45:53 AM
It certainly is. I saw this video a couple of years ago. And hope to see it many more times. Sure wish I had the money that he had to travel to all those places. We are all more alike than different… Ron

Best Video Ever Made (Article) - 2/23/2015 12:13:56 PM
You are correct. The best video ever made. Loved it lots!

Best Video Ever Made (Article) - 2/23/2015 11:30:21 AM
That was wonderful

America: Change it or Lose it, Part II (Article) - 2/22/2015 3:47:32 PM
Good one. May that PPP will arise and take hold. Danae

America: Change it or Lose it, Part II (Article) - 2/21/2015 9:09:13 AM
I'm flattered, Lark, but feel as powerless as Ed to run such an organization. Besides, while I might donate to an organization like PPP, I'm not fond of joining organizations anymore because I find that their leaders often have motives related to what most CEOs are currently doing, and Warren Buffingtons are a bit hard to find. I still think that our buying power can make a difference by refusing to support the monopolies out there that are rapidly taking over internationally. Everyone should be informed on alternate ways to spend our money in the right direction. It's all we have in the losing battle of fairness for the average citizen. Ron

America: Change it or Lose it, Part II (Article) - 2/21/2015 6:15:50 AM
Okay, Idea Guy - May I say Bright Idea Guy - pare your notion down to a few short paragraphs and send us a petition. We'll find the millions of signatures and leaders will emerge.

America: Change it or Lose it, Part II (Article) - 2/20/2015 4:32:25 PM
So...if I can't nominate you to head the PPP, then I vote for Ron Hull. One question: in paragraph 7, I don't understand the second sentence "give up a little more of their employees."

America: Change it or Lose it (Article) - 2/20/2015 9:07:27 AM
Good one. I think those who watch the news unbiased such as BBC America know all these things even if they don't care that the rich take everything. We know the wealth gap by now, but don't know what to do about it other than raising taxes on the upper 1% to fund projects like rebuilding our schools, infrastructure, and programs for the poor who can't get ahead. The middle class can't get ahead either despite how hard they work. We need free college and trade skills to rise above and can only get it through billionaires paying their fare share in taxes and enforcing those taxes even if they've hidden away money in the Caymans and Switzerland, for example. I could go on, but you already know this. Thanks for sharing, Danae.

America: Change it or Lose it (Article) - 2/19/2015 4:08:17 PM
Have you seen...on YouTube...program called: Illuminati 2015: Predictions! We must reach mass awareness. 1:01:11 long, with Clinton starting the "talk". Could help to set the statistics...right.

America: Change it or Lose it (Article) - 2/19/2015 11:19:31 AM
Ron and Lark: I sent a copy of this article to about 75 others including 20 PhD staff members of the Federal Reserve. My best hope is that one or two others will see how "brilliant" this solution is, and they will then present it to the world as their idea. That's OK by my. Nobody pays any attention to me under any circumstances. If I keep feeding solutions into the stream of ideas, sooner or later someone will grab it and run with it. Oh yes, billionaire George Soros is on my mailing list. I did get a message from his chief financial advisor that he thought one of my ideas was somewhere between brilliant and a genius mind at work, or words to that effect.

America: Change it or Lose it (Article) - 2/19/2015 10:27:22 AM
Well, I agree totally with Ron. For one thing, how many people do you think will read this excellent article. Your idea is great, and if I knew how to organize a PPP, and knew a few people who didn't act like sheep, I'd gladly do it. But once again, I am not optimistic that more than a few would even pay attention.

America: Change it or Lose it (Article) - 2/19/2015 7:09:08 AM
Another good idea. You seem to have a wealth of ways that we, the people, can improve our lives through our action. The problem is… And you have given an indication in this article… That the average American is simply ingrained in a system that goes along with the status quo, is ignorant in spite of education (the result of grade inflation) and fearful of doing anything that would anger friends and relatives. The proof that we are a country of backsliders is evident in the experience of immigrants who come to this country, many times, with nothing, and, in one generation, become wealthy. No, we are not intelligent enough to do what you ask. We are not intelligent enough to work our way out of this dilemma of wealthy control. I think, rather, that we will follow your earlier prediction. That is, we will become so disheartened and disillusioned that, like the rabble in France in the 18th century, we will rise up and take back the wealth of the rich in a class war that nobody will win. Ron

Déjà vu (Article) - 2/7/2015 9:00:12 AM
Your job in this life is never over until it's over (like Yogi Berra said). I read what you wrote and thought about the subjects you raised and don't entirely agree. As thinking beings, we can discern what is right and what is wrong by critically viewing the actions of others and the outcome of those actions. Eventually, each of us can come to a conclusion about what is "godly" behavior and what is not. As far as I know, having "voices" guiding is a sign of mental illness and also a sign of being swept up into one kind of cult or another. The yearning for "something after this life" is strong. In your case, it's reincarnation. To a point, I agree. The essential elements of our bodies, after death, are either eaten (in the grave in the ground) by other living creatures or, in the case of cremation, become essential elements for other life to use… Eventually residing in other creatures, large and small. As for the "spirit," in spite of many stories, revelations and miracles, there is absolutely no evidence that the spirit of our consciousness goes anywhere else when its light is extinguished. As a man who lives by facts, I'm surprised that you would believe strongly in something with no factual basis. Ron

Déjà vu (Article) - 2/6/2015 4:27:15 PM
Well written. Again. What a brain you have, Mr. Phillips.

When Competing Evils Collide: c. 2040 (Article) - 2/3/2015 6:37:04 AM
I enjoyed your comparison of the rich of China and rich of the U.S., but they both have ideologies and this is of no consequence because ideologies are shaped by what they are going to do anyway, and that is: make as much money as they can, get as much power as they can. I only wish the rest of us, the 98%, would wake up and realize that we are the ones that keep this boat afloat by doing our jobs, even when they are senseless. We need to look at what's happening and tell it like it is. Act according to our own needs: our need for education, health care, our need for housing, safety etc. and make the government answer to our needs, not the desires of the rich. Most of all, we don't need the rich. They are parasites. The sooner we realize this the sooner we can work to reshape the economy.

When Competing Evils Collide: c. 2040 (Article) - 2/1/2015 8:39:18 AM
Ron: My preliminary comment about what is possible and potential is not the same as a prediction. It is a distinction I learned to make about 40 years ago. But moving on. Yes, there is also the looming conflict with Islamic extremists, the climate, energy, old Russian territorialists, and many other issues that likely will continue to intrude and compound themselves. I chose to limit the subject to a clashing of essentially dissimilar people and origins that nobody else is talking about.

When Competing Evils Collide: c. 2040 (Article) - 2/1/2015 8:02:03 AM
You are very brave to predict the future. On the other hand, you are right about not being around to worry about whether you're right or not. Left me wondering about India and what part it would play in your scenario. As I understand it, India has many religions, making money about the only one that makes any sense. I have found Indians to be very resourceful and bright, so they are a force to be reckoned with. So, it's all about religion… Isn't it? Or is it about money and greed (I can't believe that the Chinese party heads accepting huge bribes are not greedy)? Food for thought… Ron

When Competing Evils Collide: c. 2040 (Article) - 1/31/2015 5:30:36 PM
You are preaching to the choir, my friend. The only people who pay attention to what is happening are of small number. That is interesting about China. As usual, brilliant article.

Review of the President's State of the Union Address: Jan. 20, 2015 (Article) - 1/23/2015 6:58:37 AM
At first I thought I was going to see another rehash of all the issues he brought up. But, as usual, you came through with a fresh, well thought out and researched, approach. I too, noticed that he seemed much more relaxed and did not hesitate so much like he always does trying to think before he speaks on controversial subjects. It is clear that he has nothing to lose by offering great things for the people and not for the rich overlords. I heard this morning that it is the "oldest" Senate in a very long time. Incumbents with huge campaign money chests have always had a lock on the Senate. Perhaps we should push for term limits for both the Supreme Court and the Senate. After all, even presidents like Obama, that some have claimed wants to become a dictator of a socialist state, will be stepping down with grace soon. And, I believe his legacy of public service after the presidency will exceed that of Jimmy Carter's. Ron

Review of the President's State of the Union Address: Jan. 20, 2015 (Article) - 1/23/2015 3:03:02 AM
Interesting write up Edward. The snouts are embedded in the trough and they know how to protect their interests unfortunately for the rest of us.We're also suffering from the nepotism of the politicians worldwide. Over here in the UK,the sons of Tony Blair, Kinnock etc, are setting out into the world of governance with no discernible skills for the job other than a sense of entitlement. Will there be a Bush/Clinton presidency over there?.

Review of the President's State of the Union Address: Jan. 20, 2015 (Article) - 1/22/2015 4:08:21 PM
I totally agree with you. Let's see if anyone else on AD does! I still think the money guys will control for many years to come.

Solving the Issues of the Day (Article) - 1/21/2015 10:11:09 AM
At the end of the day, all out Socialism will not work, nor will Communism. Capitalism is the best overall system (or so we're told), but left unbridled it enslaves and does indeed capitalize upon the poor and needy, increasing the wealth of the rich. However, I submit that it is wrong to seek to rid the world of the rich, for there is no wrong, in and of itself, in being rich. Only when the rich make themselves rich and richer in feeding off of , and depriving, the poor is it indeed wrong and in dire need of rectification—that time may well be at hand. Pulling a randomly hybrid conceptual term out of the thin air, perhaps, we need an ideology or political system that constitutes the best of those available, perhaps a—Socially Sensitive Community Minded Capitalistic Democracy. Ain't that a mouth full …! Since I am a wordy person, I shall share the rest of my thoughts with you via message ...

Illusions (Poetry) - 2/27/2015 4:25:49 PM
Reality lives and is defined by every soul in their own way. Your description is brilliant! Kathy

Illusions (Poetry) - 2/27/2015 2:06:16 PM
...implicitly assuming that the dreams are...external reality cues....according to my cookery-book...that mystifies even the cupboard...

Illusions (Poetry) - 2/27/2015 9:49:58 AM
I love the take on other dimensions. Sometimes I wonder if the life we are living is merely an illusion or a dream we are having in another dimension. Oh, sanity?????? What is it????? Love ya! Jane

Illusions (Poetry) - 2/27/2015 9:23:53 AM
I just want to make sure I don't trip over something.

Illusions (Poetry) - 2/27/2015 9:08:21 AM
I really liked this one. I'm a big fan of science and Hawking's BHoT. It made perfect sense to me, even though a more elegant theory may arise in the future. I'm fascinated by other dimensions and if we are the play toys of sophisticated extra-terrestrial life because we live within a tiny universe surrounded and dwelling within the scopes of a much larger universe we cannot yet detect. Dark matter and energy: I'm a big fan. As for whether there is enough mass with these realities to make the acceleration stop and gravity draw it all back to the infinitesimally tiny point prior to a next big bang. Better than the universe cooling and dying via entropy. Multiple dimensions, I wish I could study that, but my brain finds reading anything over a couple of pages very difficult. I think there were about 9-13 dimensions after the BB and we only got 4. I want to experience the others because I'm curious as to if my brain would be able to process the changes. I think all that we sense everyday is an overlapping of other disparate universes and we will learn to travel between them at some point in the future. Dwell on all of the branching timelines that happened with each choice and you have eternity. Like if I died or didn't die on a crucial moment one or billions of me take a new branch off the main course where I am always alive in many branches and my consciousness only allows me to go on without even noticing it. Anyways, your musings reminded me of all these thoughts and our senses that may eventually bring us to the truth. You are awesome! Best, Danae

Illusions (Poetry) - 2/27/2015 8:48:07 AM
Your poem makes quite a revelation of our limited niche in the universe. But it also reveals that as thinking beings, we have begun to peel back the layers of limitation (ignorance) that have blocked our vision, and still block many, with the power of mathematics, science, and engineering to reveal new worlds as part of our universe of ever-growing knowledge. It is a much firmer place we stand as a result, than that fearful, violent place leaving Eden. Ron

Illusions (Poetry) - 2/27/2015 8:29:40 AM
One of mans effectiveness' is being able to invent what allows the invisible to become tangible. I remember as a boy having a most wide-eyed relationship with radio waves and a little transistor radio. Today its Wi-Fi and a Kindle Fire. Haha. In only thirty seconds I downloaded the entire Jules Verne oeuvre. Erroneous mental representations, I think, plague us all. And being deceived by those who create illusory ideas is pandemic on this planet. Enjoyed your cerebrations. Peace...

Never Walk in Fear (Poetry) - 2/25/2015 4:17:18 AM
Beautifully done!

It all comes down to this (Poetry) - 2/22/2015 4:23:04 PM
the joys of aging so aptly penned. stay young My Friend, no matter what the dr tells you, you will find a way. Enjoyed.

It all comes down to this (Poetry) - 2/21/2015 9:35:21 PM
as long as you remain hard at it the easy part follows covering the entire broad i mean board ...

It all comes down to this (Poetry) - 2/21/2015 10:33:26 AM
Now, that's what you are skilled at! I'd like to add one to your list that I think you can handle… 3 to 5 cups of coffee a day keeps the heart doctor away and that old nemesis, diabetes, at sway. Think I'll run out and buy some Folgers right away. Can't run?… Never mind. Ron

It all comes down to this (Poetry) - 2/20/2015 2:54:22 PM
Fascinating writing and...yes! music's definitely a component of healthy "aging-adolescence"...singing in the shower can reorganize and form a new connections...according to the brain science-neuroplasticity-junkies... Edward, your "plastic brain" that creates...a lot...doesn't need any additional "brain-gym" activity...but what about a brisk walk that capture the wonders out there...with child-like ability to smell...to feel and listen...a symphony for human senses and... enough time to analyze...which helps to retain the analytical-constructive powers of brain...or/and keeping a flower garden for beauty...or beehives would keep you buzzing for life...but above all...keeping forever young - at heart...doesn't require taking a pill...

It all comes down to this (Poetry) - 2/20/2015 12:00:07 PM
You forgot acupuncture. I just tried it. But music therapy "sounds" best.

It all comes down to this (Poetry) - 2/20/2015 9:27:13 AM
What an entertaining write,,,Bingo Bingo...la la la la tut tut ta JK

It all comes down to this (Poetry) - 2/20/2015 9:23:26 AM
I'm thinking we need a good sweat tent cleansing.

It all comes down to this (Poetry) - 2/20/2015 8:54:26 AM
A sad comment on the state of one who took pills that cause memory loss and dementia. Even if he stopped taking them, the effects are irreversible. So the man tries to make use of the time he has left, lowering the bar to what he can do, such as listen to music, read and write poetry if he can focus despite the lack of skills, it will at least distract him from the losses, and in the end he can play bingo and other mind games. For his body is full of aches and pains that doesn't allow jogging, yoga, and other physical activities. He is hopeful that he can do something, even though he knows his life is basically over. Sad, but realistic. My medications cause the same thing and I've lowered the bar a bit, knowing that I will gradually deteriorate as I grow older. My short term memory is already shot. Thank you for sharing. Danae

It all comes down to this (Poetry) - 2/20/2015 8:20:28 AM
Maybe you should try knitting. Michael D.

Room with a View (Poetry) - 2/20/2015 7:50:34 AM
If you need a dream team player, to get the job done, skip the queue, for the room with a view, because I'm one. Michael D.

Room with a View (Poetry) - 2/20/2015 7:27:31 AM
I can fully relate to this. And I know that it is the story of your life. When I think back on it, after so many bosses who fed off my ideas and definitely rejected the really good ones as being too risky… Sticking to the politically safe for climbing the ladder of success (on my back as the right-hand man). The only time I had an office with a view, it was in a house and my office was the kitchen with the cabinets still in place. Nice windows all around. The rest of the time I only saw the sun when I went down the hall to the restroom or outside for a break. Ron

Room with a View (Poetry) - 2/20/2015 7:09:45 AM
Love to have a setting like that when I went to work.

Room with a View (Poetry) - 2/20/2015 6:03:40 AM
So...? Did you get that corner office or did the upstart take away your dreamed for space...? Or is this just a bit of fiction interspersed with your dreams of that office...personally I worked on the road most of my later life and would find any office way too confining for my taste...if you need it, good luck, if you don't pass it on to someone else...-e-

Uncommon Courage (Poetry) - 2/19/2015 6:05:09 PM
Ed , this comes out when you are you serious self..and I like the style you write here, just going with the flow of thoughts, not pausing for anything. almost like an inspiring song on a life worth learning from .Jk

Uncommon Courage (Poetry) - 2/17/2015 12:10:48 PM
Wow. I enjoyed the piece a lot. The man who tries to be strong for her and bear her loneliness instead of her. He loves her but finds that she has almost infinite courage that he can only dream about. She has seen and experienced it all, she has burdens and wounds, and strength through it all. A beautiful, unafraid, and innocent woman in the world that likes to crush those qualities. She has remained. From his strength to relying on hers. Good work. Ponderings: Maybe if you made the whole poem free verse without periods, or added all punctuation including commas, it would read better. Also "If more had half the courage" could be missing words like "If I had more than half.." Over all good. Danae

Uncommon Courage (Poetry) - 2/16/2015 5:24:42 PM
You are right, Edward. Thanks to this moral courage to dare...one can grow up...in tune with one-self...think own thoughts...aloud...move forward with a grace when there is no strength to go on...becoming a proud citizen...of own universe...when the world tries to break one down...and survive with luck...of one-self own making......an uncommon courage, indeed....

Uncommon Courage (Poetry) - 2/16/2015 4:05:57 PM
EXCELLENT, especially the fourth paragraph...I get it, "other Ed"...stop being so good at the write, you put me to shame...LOL, -e-

Uncommon Courage (Poetry) - 2/16/2015 3:36:29 PM
What else can I say, that hasn't already been said. Excellent! I think we're all stronger than we think. Michael D.

Uncommon Courage (Poetry) - 2/16/2015 2:37:03 PM
What a beautiful tribute to courage and overcoming human suffering! Blessings, Christine xx

Uncommon Courage (Poetry) - 2/16/2015 1:44:57 PM
No finer tribute to courage have I ever read. Outstanding! Ron

Uncommon Courage (Poetry) - 2/16/2015 11:48:37 AM
Although there is a tendency to associate the words to the picture (true for most of us that post with pictures) this piece of wordsmithing transcends the obvious, asking the reader to address any and all life, be it mammal, animal, foul, et al, and never lose sight of the respect that is expected of us, we, the so called sentient beings, toward all of life, especially those forces most prone to suffering. Lovely write.

Uncommon Courage (Poetry) - 2/16/2015 11:43:48 AM
I don't know if it was your intention, but my thoughts went immediately to soldiers "whether far away or near" and certainly is a tribute to the brave either way.

Uncommon Courage (Poetry) - 2/16/2015 11:39:41 AM
Inspirational, heartfelt and universal. My favs.

Uncommon Courage (Poetry) - 2/16/2015 11:30:01 AM
Very uplifting... some just seem to be able to face life with strength of mind, body and soul.... and help the rest of us along..... Diana...

Uncommon Courage (Poetry) - 2/16/2015 10:41:50 AM
Compelling poetry with much food for thought throughout the poem . . .

Uncommon Courage (Poetry) - 2/16/2015 9:18:10 AM
Your thoughts compliment well the wonderful image you chose. Speaks volumes. Enjoyed...

Uncommon Courage (Poetry) - 2/16/2015 8:10:18 AM
The picture and poem blend as one. Excellent

A Confusing Weekend (Poetry) - 2/16/2015 3:47:47 AM
..yes...when Murphy's Law prevails..."a strange weekend indeed"...taking a leap of faith...seems the only way to survive...and celebrate the magic of romantic joy...

A Confusing Weekend (Poetry) - 2/15/2015 4:06:01 PM
Yes, makes you think.... My friend visited me on Friday 13th...we were talking about it and laughing but on the way home she had a car accident and ended up in an ambulance...she was OK...but very shocked...coincidence? Synchronicity? Hope she got a big bunch of Roses on Valentines Day....

A Confusing Weekend (Poetry) - 2/15/2015 12:11:09 PM
So funny, "other" Ed, I wish I would have noticed this combination, it is probably why we are having blizzards in the norhteast & hurricane force winds all throughout where I live making it cold enough to freeze solid a witches tit...enjoyed this one immensely...-e-

A Confusing Weekend (Poetry) - 2/15/2015 11:56:06 AM
J is so right. You have a keen mind.

A Confusing Weekend (Poetry) - 2/15/2015 10:49:39 AM
Now, that was downright creative and insightful… Especially the last three lines. On the other hand, that line about being forlorn in the corn was a bit corny, to say the least! How in the hell did Friday the 13th escape me? It was nice not to have to deal with it though. Ron

A Confusing Weekend (Poetry) - 2/15/2015 9:27:41 AM
What a connect, the different kinds... coming to mind.. you need to be a genius... and like lark asks how do you keep it up?? J K

A Confusing Weekend (Poetry) - 2/15/2015 8:35:48 AM
How do you keep up with that mind of yours? Fun write, but with the truths of the last three lines.

A Confusing Weekend (Poetry) - 2/15/2015 7:52:02 AM
From a day of bad luck, to winning a lover's heart. Then we honor presidents, by the sales, stores start. And this here poem, Is a true work of art. Michael D.

A Confusing Weekend (Poetry) - 2/15/2015 7:39:05 AM
All I can say, from my perspective of where I live, valentines day, blizzard and on a Saturday is trifecta enough. If I was a gynecologist, I would not be scheduling any vacation time in November.

The Patient (Poetry) - 2/14/2015 11:36:06 AM
Must be a cardiologist thing, that study, as mine asked the same thing...I was going to do it then they said I had to come into the office three times a week at an early morning time & that changed my mind, I don't have the gas to do it nor do I like getting up in the morning and out into the cold...other than that I enjoyed reading this as I do with all ur poems...-e-

The Patient (Poetry) - 2/14/2015 8:41:06 AM
To have only "an anomaly in an artery" is something actually to be desired… To be different and still healthy. I think the nurse wants follow-ups on your compliments. As for being both at the same time, I think that can be accomplished without the use of stimulants… And you know what I mean… The kind that sell for millions and probably disappoint as many. Anyway, if that artery doesn't collapse in four hours, call your doctor. ;-) Ron

The Patient (Poetry) - 2/14/2015 7:47:49 AM
Who cares if the Dr. is shoddy, When his assistant is nurse Goodbody. Michael D.

The Patient (Poetry) - 2/13/2015 5:49:07 PM
And dont you think , they love their job and the characters too who come to them as a free package in their jobs and as far as your wandering eye is concerned , she will consider it as her perks! happy valentine's day JK

The Patient (Poetry) - 2/13/2015 3:28:27 PM
..many great punch lines...yet, the experience of putting oneself in the capable hands of the Health Care Staff...no a joke! Specialised in a tiny parts of human body...rarely get the whole picture...at once... What matter's...get out of an exam room...get better and get on with a life...Many Blessings!

The Patient (Poetry) - 2/13/2015 1:39:48 PM
The line that stands out for me is "I am my own placebo".. Our mind is the most powerful part of our body.... A lot of wisdom here...I like your thinking... Diana....

The Patient (Poetry) - 2/13/2015 12:27:01 PM
Good thinking, and good sorting out those thoughts. I hope those last 2 sentences are true. I don't have that many years left to enjoy that receiving so I would like to get started.

The Patient (Poetry) - 2/13/2015 9:33:37 AM
We both are story tellers.

The Hokey Pokey (Poetry) - 2/11/2015 4:58:40 PM
you never know about a person "until you walk in their shoes"

The Hokey Pokey (Poetry) - 2/10/2015 6:55:09 AM
I'd say you're foot loose and fancy free. All skate-All skate. Michael D.

The Hokey Pokey (Poetry) - 2/10/2015 6:51:55 AM
A Dr. Scholes's delight! As for myself I wouldn't touch that test with a 10 foot pole. Ron

The Hokey Pokey (Poetry) - 2/9/2015 1:47:18 PM
I almost wrote a poem about a glass slipper and completely scrapped it. I was not in a Cinderella mood and lately all I can wear are snow boots laced up to my knees and that still won't help against the snow....to answer your question what's in a shoe is mostly snow lately! ;)

Finish the Thought (Poetry) - 2/8/2015 6:52:32 PM
If everybody takes this test, I hope the teacher grades on a curve. Michael D.

Finish the Thought (Poetry) - 2/8/2015 6:17:23 PM
Your writings speak so much about you and it is so wonderful and hope you are too...The questions are so wonderful and like Ron said the answers each to his own... and everybody seemed to enjoy I,ll show you mine if..... At times we all wish to be kids.. J K Roseline

Finish the Thought (Poetry) - 2/8/2015 4:12:25 PM
14. I’ll show you mine if… Hi Helen. I haven’t seen you since we were 5 years old. Your poem is so meaningful to me; I feel I am living it. Change the name to Doris; she was five as well and I got to meet with her again (all platonic even if I wish for more). Thank you for sharing this, Edward. It is very meaningful and real. Love and peace to you, Regis

Finish the Thought (Poetry) - 2/8/2015 1:10:27 PM
Very clever and thought-provoking. I'm glad my answers aren't your answers because then we would be closer than I am to my twin brother, and I wouldn't want that to come between us. That is, between me and my brother, Roger. ;-) Ron

Finish the Thought (Poetry) - 2/8/2015 11:43:10 AM
Lets play 20 questions...how about, lets not...I'd rather have the answers, so instead, lets cheat...-e-

Finish the Thought (Poetry) - 2/8/2015 10:48:40 AM
Good questions, needing answers, and love will come your way and I think I can answer all 20 for myself also.

Finish the Thought (Poetry) - 2/8/2015 10:48:10 AM
Oh how I love that mind of yours! So darn unique it makes me want to cover you with slobbery kisses.

Superstitions (Poetry) - 2/5/2015 11:57:24 AM
'Poppycock'... what a great word. Your humor shines here. Fun stuff. Peace...

Superstitions (Poetry) - 2/4/2015 6:11:21 PM
I may be superstitious & I may not be, depends on the situation & about flying, I only do it when my wings are stiff and the breeze is stiffer...-e-

Superstitions (Poetry) - 2/4/2015 2:11:45 PM
...not idiosyncrasy' quirk...touch wood...appreciate the ridiculous mannerism and peculiar behaviour of your humorous and a very well written poem....and "still pray"....Back from Australian Open can say...the emotional-physical-mental tension of tennis court side's is trully breeding ground of quirks...tics...strange rituals...

Superstitions (Poetry) - 2/4/2015 1:11:15 PM
You can go on the internet, and find superstitious links, but I wouldn't do it, because you're jinxed. Another gut buster, Michael D.

Superstitions (Poetry) - 2/4/2015 10:45:36 AM
Convenient little lies and old wives tales. Making for some great literature in its time. Who hasn't said, "Now I lay me down to sleep,…" All to indoctrinate children and make them, "believe," instead of thinking. Your poem gets right to the point of the problem. Superstitious minds hold back human progress and keep us locked in to old, long proven false, attitudes. May your poetry cut through the crap and set these superstitions free! Ron

Superstitions (Poetry) - 2/4/2015 10:14:01 AM
I love black cats and they cross me several times a day. I was....

Superstitions (Poetry) - 2/4/2015 9:32:32 AM
Ha ha ha!!! I needed a laugh! Got me: "Can’t a guy enjoy something Fuzzy once in a while?" So... you don't keep the rabbit's foot for luck; more for... reminiscence. Now we know... :-)

Superstitions (Poetry) - 2/4/2015 9:23:50 AM
I do not believe in superstitions as it is the same as believing in luck...and I do not believe in luck because everything that happens is a result of something else and what we do or what others do. That would be the same as gambling where the mathematical odds combined with so knowledge and skill come into play. But as a believer in God, I still do not pray before boarding a plane but if we were in mid-flight and entered a bad storm I might be found praying real hard. Great write, Edward.

Superstitions (Poetry) - 2/4/2015 7:19:39 AM
last time a black cat crossed my path, I kicked him in the ass and got bitten by a "Pitbull" escorting him....... Peace be with you Ed kool write William

Superstitions (Poetry) - 2/4/2015 7:18:54 AM
Hilarious! Absolutely love the funny ones. Very original.

Superstitions (Poetry) - 2/4/2015 7:10:54 AM
I'm pretty much with you on the silly superstitions . . . as I knock on wood . . .

Verisimilitude (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 8:44:38 AM
The truth shall set you free. Excellent work, Edward. But not all that is good is bad.

Verisimilitude (Poetry) - 2/2/2015 1:37:16 PM
No doubt there was a rich soil where this one grew, and I agree with Andy, ingeniously penned ~ Blessings, Christine

Verisimilitude (Poetry) - 2/2/2015 10:41:01 AM
Ingeniously written.

Verisimilitude (Poetry) - 2/1/2015 8:25:56 AM
Okay, here's laying it on… Thick… To you! "… shovel the scheisser." Now that's unique… Ron

Verisimilitude (Poetry) - 2/1/2015 6:12:51 AM
Wow!!!!What a poem, Edward!!! Is this a message for someone?? Some poops don't taste bad...if you would kiss their asses; and also the farts would actually smell good too!! LOL!!! Sandie

Verisimilitude (Poetry) - 2/1/2015 5:37:28 AM
Really enjoyed this - thanks.

Verisimilitude (Poetry) - 1/31/2015 8:29:00 PM
exceptionally clever (and fun) who will you be when you remember who you were once to before

Verisimilitude (Poetry) - 1/31/2015 2:53:18 PM
Cleverly concocted, Edward; thank you for sharing your wit and humor through your verses. Love and peace, Regis

Verisimilitude (Poetry) - 1/31/2015 2:28:29 PM
I think this poem is brilliant. Kathy

Verisimilitude (Poetry) - 1/31/2015 2:01:22 PM
If I yank your chain, will it flush your brain? This fun poem, Is hard to explain. Michael D.

Verisimilitude (Poetry) - 1/31/2015 12:45:00 PM
this whatyoumacallit makes interesting reading rather kool thanks for sharing..... Peace be with you William

Earthrise (Poetry) - 1/31/2015 8:10:34 AM
It still boggles the mind.

Earthrise (Poetry) - 1/30/2015 8:22:47 AM
It was a pivotal moment in our existence, seeing the earth from the moon, literally, on another planet. Perhaps, the greatest milestone in the history of man. Easily forgotten in the earthly turmoils since. We seem to have lost our resolve to explore as a country. We'd much rather reduce NASA's budget so that entrepreneurs with plundering mentalities can see who "gets there first" so that they can start cashing in on the next "Bonanza." But looking backward and that "blue marble," can't we see its fragility? It seems that most can't. What a shame. Ron

Earthrise (Poetry) - 1/30/2015 7:53:27 AM
How does moonlight up the snow? it should be a wondrous sight Nice thoughts Ed. roseline

Earthrise (Poetry) - 1/30/2015 7:13:21 AM
Apollo 8 was the 1st spaceflight to leave Earth's orbit, and reach the moon. Our lives were truly changed forever. Nice write. Michael D.

Jacuzzi's R Us (Poetry) - 1/29/2015 12:17:10 PM
I think I'll turn in my android lady for one of those! A lot wetter at half the price! Ron

Jacuzzi's R Us (Poetry) - 1/29/2015 8:10:04 AM
Don't forget the chlorine. Michael D.

Jacuzzi's R Us (Poetry) - 1/29/2015 7:10:40 AM
what a wet dream!

Jacuzzi's R Us (Poetry) - 1/28/2015 4:54:00 PM
I'm glad this was a dream, splish, splash and ha ha ha

Jacuzzi's R Us (Poetry) - 1/28/2015 3:33:01 PM
Okay, I'm afraid to say I like this, but I do!

It's All About Timing (Poetry) - 1/28/2015 8:11:53 AM
Edward: I laughed out loudly towards the end of this poem. Thanks for the chuckle!!!!... But oh, I think people DO care!! Sandie

It's All About Timing (Poetry) - 1/28/2015 8:03:56 AM
Laughed my ass off! Great one. I went streaking at the home and garden show, and took 1st place in dried arrangements. Michael D.

It's All About Timing (Poetry) - 1/28/2015 7:43:10 AM
The picture is part of the humor, Ron, something you would do well to bone up on. This guy looks like a dufus, but he at least fills up a jock strap--about the only thing he and I have in common.

It's All About Timing (Poetry) - 1/28/2015 7:18:39 AM
I like your jockstrap. it's a whitey tighty…Why are you wearing socks? It's the beach! Ron One of your best so far…

It's All About Timing (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 8:36:01 PM
" And nobody cared " Who told you that? You know how we love you and your humor! The world is sure richer because of your presence in many ways than one JK

No Half Numbers (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 7:53:33 PM
Ed I think it's good to remember where we came from, the half numbers or the farm, so we appreciate where we are. Well penned and enjoyed.

It's All About Timing (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 7:51:03 PM
I love your sense of humor Ed. Priceless

It's All About Timing (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 5:18:49 PM
I think this is fabulous and the most original thing I have ever read. It is GREAT!!!

It's All About Timing (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 2:38:09 PM
Hah! Sounds like the story of my life . . . Heh.Heh

No Half Numbers (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 8:54:52 AM
Today, one half numbers have been replaced by apartment numbers. I would rather live in a shack, outback… a basement… or garage than in an apartment after trying over 20 of them out for size during my college and younger years. I like the way you walked down history in your neighborhood. Ron

No Half Numbers (Poetry) - 1/26/2015 3:56:21 PM
Each of our experiences that we are born to endure gets embedded with us .it makes us what we are, That is what I call the different colors of life.I was especially touched by the statement of a child labor when the kid of may be ten years was asked Would he like to attend school. He answered " I don't know if going to school is better than going to work, all I know is poor children work and rich kids go to school"

Dare to Dream (Poetry) - 1/26/2015 12:02:16 PM
I AGREE. IT IS THOSE 'THINGS' THAT BROUGHT US THROUGH WHICH WE REMEMBER...DEARLY...AND NEVER WANT TO FORGET. FOR, THEY SO FOSTER THE DETERMINATION AND THE FIGHT TO 'DREAM' AND COMFORT US ALONG THE WAY. YOURS IS BEANS...MINE IS GOD. THUS, OF THE 'BRIGHTER DAYS...I DREAM'. THANKS FOR SHARING, EDWARD, I ENJOY 'YOU'. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

No Half Numbers (Poetry) - 1/26/2015 11:52:51 AM
I JUST MENTIONED TO MY DAUGHTER A FEW DAYS AGO HOW, AS A YOUNGSTER, I WAS UNAWARE THAT I WAS POOR...TO ME IT WAS JUST LIVING. I DO REMEMBER HALF NUMBER ADDRESSES BUT I NEVER ASSOCIATED IT WITH ANYTHING DEMEANING AND I GUESS THAT WAS BECAUSE TO ME IT WAS JUST...LIVING. I THINK THAT FRAME OF MIND HAS STUCK WITH ME, SO WHEN I WAS HOMELESS A FEW YEARS AGO? IT WAS JUST LIVING. WHAT AM I SAYING? I WOULDN'T CARE IF THE SHELTER I RESIDED IN, OR THE BUILDING I NOW LIVE IN, WERE HALF NUMBER ADDRESSES, OR NOT...TO ME, IT'S STILL...JUST LIVING. THE REMARKABLE DIFFERENCES IN PEOPLE ARE WHAT MAKES THIS TEMPORARY DWELLING CALLED EARTH THE VERY UNIQUE PLACE THAT IT IS. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

No Half Numbers (Poetry) - 1/26/2015 7:43:36 AM
That is darned interesting. Would be nice to be able to buy the place where you were born and preserve it. "A great writer was born here"

Dare to Dream (Poetry) - 1/26/2015 6:12:10 AM
Thanks for reminding me about my love for beans, whether they be string, pinto, baked, red, lima, or soy, eating them in all varieties, gives me joy. From my personal experience, the idea that beans produce gas is highly overrated, and probably just a downright lie. When I count the things that give me gas, beans are not on the list. Being poor is not being deprived when one can eat some of the finest food on the planet seven days in a row without being hungry. But don't forget the pea, and goober peas, the lowly peanut. All sources of good protein, fiber, and carbohydrate, without the need for meat and potatoes. Yum Yum. Ron

Dare to Dream (Poetry) - 1/26/2015 6:03:54 AM
A great write about one of my favorite foods. I am a firm believer that beans are one of the most complete foods there is and in my culture, beans are enjoyed :de la hoya (from the pot) and refried with cheese and bacon.

Dare to Dream (Poetry) - 1/26/2015 4:36:31 AM
I love beans too...especially as I am a non meat eater...I remember a famous American author saying she was visiting her ill Mother to have her special 'Refried Beans' probably for the very last time...I always meant to look up what this recipe was... Here in UK Baked Beans on toast is one of the most popular meals/snacks...and a tin of them added to a home made soup transforms it to 'Bean Heaven' for me... What an interesting and homely poem... Diana....

Dare to Dream (Poetry) - 1/25/2015 4:11:08 PM
I love all soups. But when in Germany during the war, a town we captured was very friendly to us GI's. A German woman I met made some bean soup for me and I thought I died and went to bean heaven. It was delicious.

Dare to Dream (Poetry) - 1/25/2015 1:18:14 PM
Beans are a good source of protein vitamin. Next time slice up a hot dog to mix it in with the beans, it may actually tastes better. Much heartfelt write, Edward! Sandie

Dare to Dream (Poetry) - 1/25/2015 12:21:24 PM
An epic effort! Trying a gut wrenching right, to be backed away from if an explosion occurs. My hat off to you sir. Loved it.

Dare to Dream (Poetry) - 1/25/2015 12:10:01 PM
So true what you say! And in India we have a substitute lentil soup called moong dal soup.And we can swear by this humble protein. The fact is stranger than fiction. But today we have the American President as chief guest for our republic day celebrations which will begin in a few hours time !!! Regards J K roseline

Metaphors (Poetry) - 1/23/2015 8:01:18 AM
Love your feel good, heart hugging and joy soaring poem. Thank you.

Metaphors (Poetry) - 1/22/2015 4:24:00 AM
I kind of got a laugh out of this one this morning and for that I thank you, Ed...-e-

Metaphors (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 4:03:27 PM
This is my favorite! You are an incredible writer! You inspire me. This one poem says more than a thousand words spoken. To write is such an amazing gift and you my friend have it. Love love loved it! Kathy J Parenteau

Metaphors (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 2:08:32 PM
That's saying a mouthful.

Metaphors (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 2:02:47 PM
That's putting it literally. Michael D.

Metaphors (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 11:32:41 AM
Thanks.

Metaphors (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 11:22:17 AM
Metaphorically speaking, that's one hell of a poem. However, I'm curious as to why the poem shifted from praising metaphor to praising her. I think she got the best of you in the middle of your reverie. As for the photo, one can't get any closer to words than that! Ron

Metaphors (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 10:38:52 AM
Ingenious and clever.

Metaphors (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 9:02:00 AM
So different and I love it!

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/20/2015 7:36:28 AM
A beautiful flowing song of true emotions. hug Kathy

Never Walk in Fear (Poetry) - 1/20/2015 7:35:00 AM
Recently I watched a 6 hour program on the downfall of the Nazi government and it truly broke my heart to see the devastation that one man made happen to so many innocent people. I just can't understand how so many people were taken in by this man and his insanity and inhumanity to others. Now, we have "religion" used as the means to mame and kill innocent people for no reason other than they are not of their religion. Your write brings so much to think about and it saddens my heart that so many join these religious fanatics every day. hug Kathy

Mental Acuity (Poetry) - 1/20/2015 7:27:54 AM
This is an excellent example of how it feels to lose short term memory. I have a lovely girl that I counsel that had a father that constantly abused her by hitting her on the back of her head and now that she is older has lost most of her short term memory. It is so very sad that one human being can hurt someone made from love like he did. She is a total angel and when she realizes that she has forgotten something told to her a minute ago, she crys. They had meds that can help slow down the process but not to correct it and make it go away. All to often abuse will come back to haunt someone as they age. A wonderful description in your work of how one would feel. hugs Kathi

Mental Acuity (Poetry) - 1/17/2015 10:49:47 AM
You are painting a rather serene situation that may come in time, but I think that the onset of dementia is not carefree, but very frustrating. On the other hand, it is a nice thought to be able to be carefree and forget any misdeeds each day. Ron

Mental Acuity (Poetry) - 1/17/2015 7:11:08 AM
The format is great, as George stated as well. I've seen dementia in action as well and it's heartbreaking for everybody involved.

Mental Acuity (Poetry) - 1/17/2015 4:31:13 AM
My father suffered dementia for years prior to his death. He finally reached the place where we were all strangers to him. Now, my.brother is living the fear he had of becoming like our father. And so, I lie in wait for my turn, and I think I hear fate knocking at the door. I love this poem, but it frightens me to death. David

Mental Acuity (Poetry) - 1/16/2015 5:18:25 PM
I hear ya, Ed...I've had parents of friends that have had to go that route & it was not pretty...sometimes I think that maybe I might have a small amount of it already, but after all my health problems over the past few years, it seems a small price to pay to stay relatively healthy now...I also used to find that things I wrote about in jest, seemed to come around in real life, eventually...So what was I saying & who the hell are u again...Find Peace, my friend...-?- who am I again...?

Mental Acuity (Poetry) - 1/16/2015 10:20:38 AM
Dementia is one of the most scary things as I get older. My mom developed dementia after my dad passed away. My wife And I tried to be caregivers for awhile, but it was taking a tollon us. She reached the point where I had to place her in a nursing home. with a special unit for demntia. It remains the most painful and hardest thing I've ever done. It's been said dementia is like someone going from room to room and turning the lights out one by one. A very accurate description. If I knew dementia was in my future, I'd just as soon end it now. A very powerful write. Michael D.

Mental Acuity (Poetry) - 1/16/2015 10:19:30 AM
Great poetry. Love the the format which is not easy to do. The rhyming was perfect.

Never Walk in Fear (Poetry) - 1/15/2015 2:08:42 PM
Yes, where are the voices of reason among the clerics? There's enough religion in the world to make us hate, and not enough to make us love. Michael D.

Never Walk in Fear (Poetry) - 1/14/2015 2:05:11 PM
Once again a wonderful write! Bravo Mr. Phillips Kathy J Parenteau

Never Walk in Fear (Poetry) - 1/14/2015 10:26:49 AM
Speaks a lot about how one should face life. Ron

Never Walk in Fear (Poetry) - 1/14/2015 9:58:48 AM
Very clever write, Edward. I like the last line "Keep Your Powder Dry". Mary

Never Walk in Fear (Poetry) - 1/14/2015 8:24:26 AM
I really like this poem, Edward.

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/13/2015 4:15:25 PM
Flows beautifully, and the words are perfect... Do you have a tune in mind? Diana...

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/12/2015 8:58:09 AM
Would love to hear it with music, Ed ... Beautiful!

Push On (Poetry) - 1/12/2015 6:45:32 AM
A wonderful and very inspiring slice of life poem.

Biocentrism (Poetry) - 1/12/2015 6:44:32 AM
Believe it or not, some men think this way. I think you are describing a fantasy, digital world for I can't imagine you being such an Ahole, Edward!

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/12/2015 6:42:01 AM
Sweetly romantic with a wonderful flow.

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/9/2015 6:09:08 PM
This is a musical sensation! Well done.

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/9/2015 11:43:35 AM
I love this song. Romance such as is expressed via your lyrics here is "right up my alley." Thank you for sharing, Edward. Keep on writing and singing. Love and peace, Regis

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 11:23:10 PM
It's an old fashioned love song. Don't get me wrong. The world needs more like this one. I can listen to these songs all day long. I LIKE and so does the wife. Two thumbs up!

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 2:09:45 PM
Excellent and it does make a great song

Push On (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 1:29:58 PM
Wonderful write, very much wisdom in it and it stands to be good advice too.

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 1:28:50 PM
What a great outlook to love, it is so comforting to me to know love exists like this. I'll find it someday, somewhere, when time is right too. This is a good poem for a song. too.

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 11:50:36 AM
Ron: I added the word "My" to the title after I found out that Mariah Carey has a song out called "Vision of Love." I don't like getting into fights with people unless I would love getting whipped by them.

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 11:16:13 AM
The girls like it and that's what counts. I was thinking that perhaps you should move the "My" from the title, but it probably wouldn't make much difference. You set the mood, now all it needs is a melody. Ron

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 8:40:35 AM
Vision of love will make a nice song... Tender and everlasting love JK

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 8:30:42 AM
Can't say you are timid in expressing your forever and ever love, you are right there, standing on that soapbox on the corner of love and forever shouting it to the world. Yessss!

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 8:00:11 AM
Dim the lights, a vision of lovce appears. Set it to music, I'll give it 3 cheers. Michael D.

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 6:38:59 AM
This should definitely be put to music. It is so beautiful. Kathy J Parenteau

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 6:03:21 AM
Do you know anyone who can put music to this? It's a beautiful love song, even though I am a cynic when it comes to love. Now I have to go write a murder story to get myself back in balance. Slobbery, wet kisses to you for this one!

Snowballs! (Poetry) - 1/5/2015 10:02:55 AM
I love snow!!! Building snowmen and snowball fights are great. hug Kathy

The Intruder (Poetry) - 1/5/2015 10:01:44 AM
I really enjoyed this work. hug Kathy

Push On (Poetry) - 1/5/2015 9:59:54 AM
I try to get people to "push on" every day. One day at a time. Can't ask for more than that or it overwhelms them and they won't win. hug Kathy

Biocentrism (Poetry) - 1/5/2015 9:57:31 AM
There is no woman that would follow these orders lol. hug Kathy

The Aura of Love (Poetry) - 1/5/2015 9:55:13 AM
What a loving romantic write. Each of us sees things in others that no one else sees. Things that draw us together. hug Kathy

Biocentrism (Poetry) - 1/4/2015 5:47:41 PM
a real molecule-bender of a poem ...

Biocentrism (Poetry) - 1/4/2015 9:02:39 AM
My mind lives in the gutter.

Biocentrism (Poetry) - 1/3/2015 2:13:33 PM
Great! You really must stop writing about me. People will talk.

Biocentrism (Poetry) - 1/3/2015 1:38:27 PM
Interesting what our minds conjure up. I like the feel of cold hard reality, myself. Your poem turned into a surprising horror story. Ron

Biocentrism (Poetry) - 1/3/2015 11:25:54 AM
HAHAHAHA. Maybe the egg should be scrambled. It feels like a parody of Zen and the Art of Motorcycle maintenance.

If Talent Were Contagious (Poetry) - 1/2/2015 1:44:06 PM
great poem and a dedication to great poets!

Push On (Poetry) - 1/2/2015 8:43:32 AM
Autobiography in a poem. So many do not have that "inner voice" to guide them out of whatever they are in. You are one of the survivors. Your autobiography should be written and made available to guide others. I look forward to reading it. Ron

Push On (Poetry) - 1/1/2015 8:52:22 AM
I once drank to excess & stopped on my own without external assistance, and yes it was not easy, I just stopped one day saying I know that I got too sarcastic and obnoxious when I drank and remembered the fact that I had lost a very good friend from my drinking...Find peace my friend, and Happy New Year...-e-

Push On (Poetry) - 1/1/2015 7:26:16 AM
Your thoughts here are lucid and easy to relate to. Speaking for myself, I've been through seasons similar to this in my life. They humble you, and then strengthen you. Happy New Year.

Push On (Poetry) - 12/31/2014 11:49:13 AM
A powerfully meaningful poem, Edward. Thank you for sharing it. Love, peace, and best wishes to you for the new year and always, Regis

Push On (Poetry) - 12/31/2014 11:43:08 AM
This is outstanding! Kathy J Parenteau

Push On (Poetry) - 12/31/2014 11:01:21 AM
True words of wisdom. Michael D.

Push On (Poetry) - 12/31/2014 10:28:13 AM
Excellent, and I am sending this to my son, a recovering drug addict. Thank you.

The Intruder (Poetry) - 12/26/2014 9:51:26 AM
Nice write. It ended just when it was getting good. Is there a sequel here? Michael D.

The Intruder (Poetry) - 12/26/2014 8:59:49 AM
Quite amusing and so true to life. Ron

The Intruder (Poetry) - 12/25/2014 6:43:12 PM
Wow! I can relate to this poem, Ed! Wonderfully written!

The Intruder (Poetry) - 12/25/2014 4:46:01 PM
boy, this brought back memories ...

The Intruder (Poetry) - 12/25/2014 12:06:54 PM
Yes, yes, yes! Your very best.

The Intruder (Poetry) - 12/25/2014 11:56:17 AM
I get this. I get you. What a wonderful write! "Do not disturb" says it all.

Snowballs! (Poetry) - 12/25/2014 9:42:28 AM
Snowballs are certainly fun fare, but smash your friend in the face with a ice ball, and beware! Assault with a missing weapon? Ron

Snowballs! (Poetry) - 12/25/2014 8:36:07 AM
Snow? What's that?

Snowballs! (Poetry) - 12/24/2014 7:04:49 PM
especially if you packed a rock in the snowball ...

Snowballs! (Poetry) - 12/24/2014 9:51:11 AM
There's nothing like, a good snowball fight. Ready, aim, fire, and the snowballs take flight It's all fun and games till somebody throws a slushball. Michael D.

Snowballs! (Poetry) - 12/24/2014 9:17:49 AM
Oh it's on now, Eddie! lol Looks like fun and you're so lucky I'm not there ;) Merry Christmas sweetie! (((honi honi)))

The Aura of Love (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 1:53:49 PM
the aura of love is precisely what the hearts eye sees and the soul of an artist paints with expressionistic strokes

Reincarnation (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 8:13:09 AM
Interesting poem. Man was first taught the false doctrine of reincarnation by our common Adversary about four thousand years ago. The Lord said we'd only live once, to be followed by an eternal judgment. Jesus Christ came to rescue us from sin and death, to give us a genuine and certain hope. Satan still opposes the truth, but God is the victor, game over. As this poem states though, many false religions prey on those still help captive by our common Enemy in ignorance and unbelief. I like this poem because it is well written and is very thought-provoking. Thanks for sharing!

Follow Me! (Poetry) - 12/20/2014 4:45:44 PM
Cleverly created and meaningful too at the same time; I love the way this "rides." Love and peace to you, Edward. Regis

Follow Me! (Poetry) - 12/19/2014 7:30:13 PM
Life sucks, but sometimes its a pretty cool thing to be a part of...-e-

Follow Me! (Poetry) - 12/19/2014 11:32:29 AM
I really like the way it lyrically bounces along coming to a fine finish with you in charge. Ron

Follow Me! (Poetry) - 12/19/2014 10:41:25 AM
Yep, that is life in a nutshell.

Follow Me! (Poetry) - 12/18/2014 8:15:23 PM
they can reset the bar anytime, just don't get rid of the spirits ...

Follow Me! (Poetry) - 12/18/2014 1:28:54 PM
Another thought provoking write. Very well done. Michael D.

Follow Me! (Poetry) - 12/18/2014 12:16:04 PM
haha I loved this write, I read it out loud and enjoyed it immensely! Lead on my friend, I'm hanging on to your coat tail now so don't go slip sliding away! ;) MISS YOU!

Reincarnation (Poetry) - 12/16/2014 4:16:27 AM
A fine summation with a biting tho not bitter twist. It slips very neatly into my Author's Den library. Thanks - somehow it makes me feel optimistic. Maybe I won't be so gullible next time.

Reincarnation (Poetry) - 12/15/2014 9:35:22 PM
Very thought provoking write. Man claims to have conquered the world. However, the more we think we know the less we truly know. I know nothing except what I see, feel, hear, smell, taste and read. You could hate me but you truly don't even know me. Reincarnation is a very real possibility. Truth is stranger than fiction. Amen

Reincarnation (Poetry) - 12/15/2014 2:58:23 PM
I'm pretty certain I have lived before as memories of certain events seem to stay in my head, I just hope that this is the last life and that I have found my enlightenment to move on to another kind of life...-e-

Reincarnation (Poetry) - 12/15/2014 2:31:53 PM
I surely hope not. Once is enough for me. A very thouht provoking write. Have you ever read the poem, Reincarnation by cowboy poet Wallace McRae? If you haven't, I can send you a copy. It's a true classic. Michael D.

By the Dawn's Early Light (Poetry) - 12/13/2014 10:49:40 PM
lots of evolving left to do ...

That Ghoulish Game called Golf (Poetry) - 12/9/2014 6:11:37 PM
Pleasantly delightful read ... I recently had a retired high school principle tell me that golf saved him from his temper in dealing with disorderly and rebellious students. He would just smile at them and discipline them according to the rules, waiting for that moment on the golf course when he could put their faces upon that ball, and knock the living hell out of it ...

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.