AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Burton Pines, iandrea coltman, iPamela Taeuffer, iJoan Huffman, iRalph Cates, iMichael Csizmadia, iFrank Whyte, i
 
Home > Edward Phillips
 

Recent Reviews for Edward Phillips


The Salute (Short Story) - 1/24/2015 7:12:45 AM
Yes... inspirational indeed. One and a half hours, for a young boy, is quite a vigil. "When the tide crept in he refused to retreat a single step" Very moving. Thank you for sharing this. rlc

The Salute (Short Story) - 1/22/2015 9:17:22 AM
I reposted this on Facebook. It is too wonderful to imagine.

The Salute (Short Story) - 1/22/2015 8:51:27 AM
The cynical say that television never reports stories like this, but I saw it first on television and have also viewed this video before. The cynical also say that young people, today, don't understand our history and what it took to keep our country safe during World War II. I was alive during World War II, but only two years old when D-Day occurred and by the time I was 11, the war was far behind us, only experienced on Memorial Day when my uncle, a veteran of the 101st Airborne, fired a volley that scared us at the cemetery where our family was buried. Or when my father played Taps on his bugle and my grandmother told him not to, sadly remembering both world wars. I'm not sure what the history of this boy's family is, but it's hard for me to believe that a young boy would be so interested in dressing up as a soldier and humming a World War II soldier's song that I don't even know, without a lot of instruction or coaxing from his elders. If he did it on his own, being interested in World War II like some children might be, I commend him. If he didn't, I'm quite concerned if adults did this for publicity or political gain. It certainly touched the people that were there, especially the veterans. Ron

Thoughts about that War in Vietnam: 50 Years Later (Short Story) - 1/5/2015 1:35:05 PM
You are an amazing writer and your "stories" are so well done. Will we all ever learn that no one really wins a war. It goes on and on all over the world. hug Kathy

Thoughts about that War in Vietnam: 50 Years Later (Short Story) - 12/13/2014 11:24:04 AM
We aren't supposed to understand, Edward. USMC MGen Smedley Butler probably said it best in a 1936 speech (which I'll paraphrase)- "War is a racket. Only a select few know what it is about. It is conducted for the benefit of the very few at the expense of the very many ..." He earned his two Medals of Honor in different jungles, but eventually saw the lesson clearly. His speeches were widely applauded but the world was already at war in China, Spain and Ethiopia, and it hasn't stopped yet. And perhaps those philosophers have the only answer warriors can call a legacy ... that in the hopelessly complex rhythm of living, it is intentions which win the high ground. Thanks for your thoughts.

Thoughts about that War in Vietnam: 50 Years Later (Short Story) - 12/10/2014 11:06:25 PM
Oh! my goodness, Edward, I'm so sorry for what you and others went through and glad you are able to journal...you are a beautiful writer...I imagine it is very therapeutic and healing..to share your story. Thank you for letting us into your life and looking forward to reading more of your writing.

Thoughts about that War in Vietnam: 50 Years Later (Short Story) - 12/10/2014 10:24:52 AM
Thank you for a part of your story that you haven't written before. I especially liked your closing paragraph where you outlined your thoughts on why we were in Vietnam in the first place and stayed so long. The military-industrial complex, built up so heavily during World War II, needed to be fed. What more fitting way to keep it going than to beat up on people related to the Japanese who were becoming communist? I also have not heard of your brother with all of his commendations. To think that people like John McCain and your brother would not have all of their military glory if we had not engaged in that war. I don't see that kind of hero, except perhaps, Pat Tillman, deceased, coming out of the Iraqi war and Afghanistan. Airman in those ventures seem too far removed from actual battle. I was in Bangkok for 20 days and visited Pattaya for one in 1978, three years after the US pulled out of Southeast Asia. My Thai host took me to many Buddhist temples and monuments, but kept me from any sin. Ron

A Sign of the Times (Short Story) - 11/22/2014 8:58:54 AM
I thought you were writing an article in the Stories section, my pet peeve. But after reading with a chuckle or two, I realize that this is fine satire of the state of affairs we are in. Ron

A Sign of the Times (Short Story) - 11/21/2014 1:59:51 PM
...believe in equality...liberty and love...and the knowledge is a power...As you've pointed out in your story...something has to be done...When you country's in trouble...the world is watching...both...the "fat cat" and the "public-spirited" philanthropist... Just "a sigh of the times"... Thank you, Edward for sharing your thoughts provoking writing.

Quiet Please: Introverts at Work (Short Story) - 11/21/2014 1:32:27 PM
...typically...for the intreverted folk..."reticent"...Edward you've managed to spill the beans about the rest of us ...the secrets that we've been trying to hide for so long became known to the entire world.... Ah! How I love thoughts provoking deep end look at the big picture never come out of my own shell..."old soul"... How I love chitchat that doesn't come in a form of a soliloquy... How I love time alone with good book good tea with a lemon seating at the back of life theatre floor... About all...I love to be quite in an increasingly noisy world. Contemplating!

Quiet Please: Introverts at Work (Short Story) - 11/21/2014 3:44:50 AM
A very nice story Edward. You have made me realise that am an introvert. Enjoyed this big time. Thanks. Mary

Quiet Please: Introverts at Work (Short Story) - 11/20/2014 7:36:04 AM
You have a way of turning a story into an article. A good article, I might add. From time to time, I have enjoyed being the life of the party. But otherwise, an introvert I am, based on your description. Becoming paralyzed, caused me to really examine my life and where it was going, a very introverted thing to do. Also, unless I get very aggressive and interrupt others, at parties I find that the noise level is very high while I am not. Ron

Quiet Please: Introverts at Work (Short Story) - 11/20/2014 12:48:48 AM
Wow Edward, This was something I did not want you to stop at, you could have gone and gone on and I would have still read it all up...since everyone of us fell into one category or the other I am sure each person reading this will be trying to fit in here or there. sure I am with you ....you know that .. except when I am chatting up or writing to you....I find my noise level rising up... enjoyed much..jk

Quiet Please: Introverts at Work (Short Story) - 11/19/2014 6:12:01 PM
Great article!

Quiet Please: Introverts at Work (Short Story) - 11/19/2014 4:26:41 PM
I am an introvert and I have friends that arent. lol. I like quiet and I enjoy quiet things compared to noisey gatherings. Hugs Kathy

Autumn in the Hills of West Virginia (Short Story) - 11/17/2014 8:21:19 AM
I have been through West Virginia and it is beautiful in the fall. I am not one for mountains. I kind of favor the flat states but the view is magnificent when the seasons change. The only thing I got nervous about when in the virginia's was Fancy gap. Boy! going through that part in heavy fog cured me of traveling in winter through those states. I was petrified when the big trucks passed me and you couldnt see a foot in front of the car. But I love the fall.

Excuse Me: Do You Fix Car Windows? (Short Story) - 11/3/2014 4:54:11 PM
Yeah, that sounds like something that happened to me a time or three. I have come to realize that getting the job done by someone who knows what he's doing is, in the long run cheaper financially and emotionally (!!!) than trying to do it myself. I have cultivated the mechanic across the alley from my apartment. He's good and not too rapacious... ChipB.

Excuse Me: Do You Fix Car Windows? (Short Story) - 10/21/2014 10:19:35 PM
Beautifully written, so well detailed in your typical style, Go on Ed , you sure should make a collection of the stories you write! Jk

The Tame Tigers of Thailand (Short Story) - 10/15/2014 4:24:22 AM
Considering that most of the poor are either born to it and kept there by various 'debt-traps' or pushed into it by ignorance, illness or accident, it is more than vile for those born to and protected by various political advantages, to further defame and slander them. And it is suicide for the rich to keep stealing from the poor because eventually they will figure out how to recreate the pitchfork and torch.

Autumn in the Hills of West Virginia (Short Story) - 10/1/2014 5:56:49 AM
Sounds like you had a wonderful trip. Your story reminds me of my wonderful experience with West Virginia. That hillbilly view is there and can be experienced. However, Don Knotts, everybody's view of a West Virginia hillbilly, was the son of a drugstore owner in Morgantown, and I believe, college-educated. Some of those, "back in the hollers," characters were extremely intelligent college professors I knew. On my entry into the state at Wheeling, having to go through Pennsylvania first before reaching my destination for seven years, I heard Bob Denver singing his latest hit on the car radio, Country Roads. Shortly after, Denver abandoned West Virginia for Colorado. While I think Northern Wisconsin colors are more spectacular (dark green white pine contrasted with white paper birch, the colors of maple oak and many other hard and soft wood foliage reflected off 8000 lakes that West Virginia doesn't have many of), I spent every weekend in the fall just driving West Virginia for the adventure and color. From the road, you don't see the destruction that a flyover offers. West Virginia has been raped many times for its fabulous resources, especially its trees. Ron

Autumn in the Hills of West Virginia (Short Story) - 10/1/2014 4:07:20 AM
...falling for a spectacularly beautiful Autumn hottest destination...at the Hills....and oak shaded driveways that "sound" like an oil painting master piece...trees in their full splendour...explosion of the ripe golden yellow leaves ....ablaze with burnt amber and salmon red foliage....against the backdrop of every hue of blue skyline...and gaze down on the river ...observed from the vintage point.... Thank you for sharing your interesting and enjoyable holiday story........Ach du liebe Herbstferienzeit!

Review: The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (Short Story) - 8/22/2014 10:46:30 AM
Fine review - I will look for it - Some of the most gripping true stories have come out of that horror - I wish someone would make a movie of "For Those I Loved" but maybe it wouldn't live up to the reality.

Review: The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (Short Story) - 8/22/2014 6:25:12 AM
A fine review. Thank you for filling out the story. It makes it easier to understand what the movie is about. Unfortunately, it is fiction. I think true stories, and there are many, are better, like The Diary of Anne Frank and the movie, The Kite. But then, there is the consummate fictional American story, Huckleberry Finn. Alex Haley told me he was writing another book called Henning about his childhood in that Tennessee town where his best friend was a white boy, but I've found no mention of the book other than another unfinished novel, Queen, about his ancestry that was finished after his death. Ron

How to See Easter Island in 24 Hours or Less (Short Story) - 8/19/2014 6:20:34 AM
I'm surprised that the young pilot wasn't reprimanded for his hijinks showing off to the Chilean Chief of Staff. But then, it probably wasn't reported to command. I know that you didn't. I'm not sure about the atomic clock. Did you deliver it, or was it just a tool you used as part of your military assignment? Got me thinking about several hairy landings that I experienced during my brief time flying. Thankfully, none of those were because of a pilot showing off. They were pilots doing a great job under trying circumstances. In the summer of 1979 I had an opportunity to join an educational group on a cheap tour to South America and Easter Island. For some reason I passed it up. Based on your description of the island, I probably would've been disappointed. Ron

The World of Aposiopesis (Short Story) - 8/12/2014 1:54:08 PM
Interesting! Perhaps we all need to think of what to fill where the dots lead us to. Sandie

Review of the President's State of the Union Address: Jan. 20, 2015 (Article) - 1/23/2015 6:58:37 AM
At first I thought I was going to see another rehash of all the issues he brought up. But, as usual, you came through with a fresh, well thought out and researched, approach. I too, noticed that he seemed much more relaxed and did not hesitate so much like he always does trying to think before he speaks on controversial subjects. It is clear that he has nothing to lose by offering great things for the people and not for the rich overlords. I heard this morning that it is the "oldest" Senate in a very long time. Incumbents with huge campaign money chests have always had a lock on the Senate. Perhaps we should push for term limits for both the Supreme Court and the Senate. After all, even presidents like Obama, that some have claimed wants to become a dictator of a socialist state, will be stepping down with grace soon. And, I believe his legacy of public service after the presidency will exceed that of Jimmy Carter's. Ron

Review of the President's State of the Union Address: Jan. 20, 2015 (Article) - 1/23/2015 3:03:02 AM
Interesting write up Edward. The snouts are embedded in the trough and they know how to protect their interests unfortunately for the rest of us.We're also suffering from the nepotism of the politicians worldwide. Over here in the UK,the sons of Tony Blair, Kinnock etc, are setting out into the world of governance with no discernible skills for the job other than a sense of entitlement. Will there be a Bush/Clinton presidency over there?.

Review of the President's State of the Union Address: Jan. 20, 2015 (Article) - 1/22/2015 4:08:21 PM
I totally agree with you. Let's see if anyone else on AD does! I still think the money guys will control for many years to come.

Solving the Issues of the Day (Article) - 1/21/2015 10:11:09 AM
At the end of the day, all out Socialism will not work, nor will Communism. Capitalism is the best overall system (or so we're told), but left unbridled it enslaves and does indeed capitalize upon the poor and needy, increasing the wealth of the rich. However, I submit that it is wrong to seek to rid the world of the rich, for there is no wrong, in and of itself, in being rich. Only when the rich make themselves rich and richer in feeding off of , and depriving, the poor is it indeed wrong and in dire need of rectification—that time may well be at hand. Pulling a randomly hybrid conceptual term out of the thin air, perhaps, we need an ideology or political system that constitutes the best of those available, perhaps a—Socially Sensitive Community Minded Capitalistic Democracy. Ain't that a mouth full …! Since I am a wordy person, I shall share the rest of my thoughts with you via message ...

Solving the Issues of the Day (Article) - 1/20/2015 10:26:58 AM
" Knowledge is power, that knowledge is safety, that knowledge is happiness", a quote by Thomas Jefferson. There are so many people that do not want to know anything about what is happening in the world or in this country. They simply live from day to day complaining about their state in life and will not lift their voices to be heard by those that could do something about it. People have to start working together to change things and realize that by being together they can change things. No one can do this alone. hug Kathy

Solving the Issues of the Day (Article) - 1/19/2015 3:33:22 PM
Soup lines. You are right, but I am a pessimist about this being resolved in any 'right' way. I am passing this on, and hoping someone, somewhere, knows of a solution.

Solving the Issues of the Day (Article) - 1/19/2015 5:56:09 AM
I'd shoot the bastards! I'm being facetious here, and I wouldn't want to shoot anyone, but with the continued arming of the citizenry and ignorance about who or what is to blame, will certainly lead to more shootouts of all kinds. Perhaps, in the worst case, as you alluded to in the earlier article, the increasing pressure caused by the wealthy becoming wealthier and the poor becoming poorer will lead to another civil war based on class. All you have to do is look at history and see that this is the inevitable result of what is happening worldwide, right now. For example, while the royalty in England stepped down as early as 1066, while still maintaining their power over the people, the royalty in France became so rich and arrogant, they were brought down in a bloody revolution in 1789. This is only one example… there are many. The unregulated wealth of the robber barons at the turn of the 20th century eventually resulted in the stock market crash of 1929, plunging the world into depression, along with the United States. Government regulations put in place as a result, allowed prosperity to return for those that survived World War II. We went to the moon and the sky was the limit. That is no longer the case. Getting a college education only guarantees that you can flip burgers or wait tables. Going into business, the claim of the wealthy to success, is very risky and costly if you don't have the right skills or luck. If I were to propose solutions, I would suggest that the "wars on everything" be greatly reduced because the threat of invasion or risk from nonviolent "crimes" is so low that it can be virtually ignored. The money from all the "defense" budgets be put into a complete overhaul of the North American (not just US) infrastructure providing high-speed, low cost transportation, clean water, and pollution free solutions of all kinds. Space exploration should be ramped up point where it drives humankind to altruistic levels of viewing our earth as a sacred cradle of life to be cherished and preserved. Ron

Causation (Article) - 1/16/2015 6:57:31 AM
This article gives much to think about! Most people view the world through a religious or political persuasion obtained from their parents or community. Some of us break away from what we were taught and try new but fully formed perspectives. Sometimes people gather a variety of "beliefs" and meld them into some illogical but personally satisfying conclusions that justify what they see in the world or justiy what they are going to do anyway, based on their conditions and needs at the moment. While thinking can be useful, we often play tricks on ourselves but our intent is always to stay alive and stay comfortable.

Causation (Article) - 1/9/2015 11:01:36 AM
I recently saw a cartoon showing what "freedom" means to various sectors of society. While hilarious, it also was very telling like your article, about how preconceived perception colors the way we look at any issue, including what freedom means. For example, for a nudist (I'm not sure what religion that is) walking around nude in public is the ultimate freedom. To much of society, freedom would be to be able to walk in public and never see any nudity at all. Most of us would like to take a peek, but never admit it… We'd rather lock up the perpetrator for "indecent exposure." Unfortunately, as clear as your article is, the self-righteous will not get it. You stated it, yourself, in the second to last paragraph. Ron

Causation (Article) - 1/9/2015 5:39:20 AM
Clear, cogent and rife with chaos. The Universe lives!

Let's Save Ourselves (Article) - 1/6/2015 6:36:17 AM
A very clear and concise description of the problem. We must not be complacent and let others do it. Each of us must make choices that help save the environment from all the ravages that our lifestyles are causing. By making small changes in the right direction, taking charge of our own actions, we can do a great deal. Much of what is happening is driven by corporations that are doing it to make money on our desires. When we stop buying products that pollute, the corporations stop the processes that produce that polluting product. The next time you carelessly throw something away, like the clippings from your lawn in those plastic bags, consider what you are doing… Removing nutrients from your lawn that will require fertilizer to replace… And, adding more plastic to landfills. Like Ed's article says, let's all get together and do what's right. Our very future depends on it. Ron

U.S. Inheritance Laws and Wealth Accumulation (Article) - 1/5/2015 7:49:59 AM
An excellent write. The poor suffer because of the greed of the wealthy. No one can live on minimun wage. People with trades are finding it hard to find jobs that pay well enough to support themselves and their families. hug Kathy

Did you ever notice that… (Article) - 1/5/2015 7:44:12 AM
Another enjoyeable work. I agree with it all. I know that a smile goes along way in making someone elses day. hug Kathy

My Resolutions for 2015 (Article) - 1/5/2015 7:41:48 AM
I had to smile as I read some of this wonderful work. You are truly an honest man. I enjoyed it very much. hug Kathy

Let's Save Ourselves (Article) - 1/5/2015 7:37:52 AM
Thankfully more and more people are becoming aware and are caring. hug Kathy

My Resolutions for 2015 (Article) - 12/31/2014 2:45:56 PM
Have a Happy New Year! Write on! I had to laugh at some of your comments. I may take up drinking more wine and writing less but better, as you suggest. Were we foolish to think that writing would change the world. Maybe we change some people's thinking but we will never know if that is so. Keep hope alive and let's see what we do with another year of living.

My Resolutions for 2015 (Article) - 12/30/2014 7:53:56 AM
A finer list I have not seen. A list that is easy to hold on to… I think? Especially the one about drinking more wine… I'll drink to that! And humor? Every once in a while while reading, I cracked a forced smile. Especially about golf… A subject that is always funny. Ron

My Resolutions for 2015 (Article) - 12/29/2014 5:00:07 PM
Brilliant and hilarious! One of the best things you have written.

My Resolutions for 2015 (Article) - 12/29/2014 9:36:41 AM
Good luck with all your endeavors for 2015. They sound all very good and also very reasonable to me. Thank you for all your contributions to Authorsden which I faithfully read. Have a great New Year and stay well… Wie immer, Ingeborg

Did you ever notice that… (Article) - 12/18/2014 2:16:58 PM
Now that's a great New Year's resolution list. I only object to one… "Ice cream is child obesity." Ron

Did you ever notice that… (Article) - 12/18/2014 9:58:25 AM
Hmmm...I wanted to add to that list. It is a good start. Maybe it should get passed around and see what else ends up on it!

U.S. Inheritance Laws and Wealth Accumulation (Article) - 12/7/2014 1:27:57 PM
Very interesting to read about the money system in the US. I think that the revolution to come will be European. The political classes neither think or live like their electorate, and don't understand their concerns. They are detached and cocooned from ordinary people. The system in the EU is going to collapse because the Germans are unwilling to jeopardise their security in fear of inflation. The whole edifice is a racket from beginning to end, with unelected unaccountable bureaucrats calling the shots,all in the name of democracy. It's all just another form of communism and a corrupt one too.What will our grandchildren inherit but chaos.Thanks for your article Edward, informative as always.

U.S. Inheritance Laws and Wealth Accumulation (Article) - 12/7/2014 10:02:12 AM
Intuitively, I've always known this. However, your article very clearly shows how being rich perpetuates wealth. It also points very clearly to an earlier article of yours about the coming revolution. Wealth in America has brought us to a stalemate in Congress and a lack of realistic measures taking us to a better future (infrastructure repair and expansion, hydrogen economy, accelerated space exploration, equality for the masses, etc.) Activism is on the rise in several fronts and has erupted from the black community with regard to unequal treatment when it comes to policing. At some point, perhaps very soon, even though economic indicators show that jobs (poor paying jobs) have returned and that the market is up and some areas of real estate have come back, the handwriting is on the wall and it is only a matter of time when the poor masses will be in the streets and revolting. Ron

Being poor in America is hard work (Article) - 12/3/2014 9:27:04 AM
This is a good one, and so true. I have not done your research, but I have observed mediocre flunkies who are very good at brown nosing move-up rapidly to levels they can't handle. They are often fired for their incompetence (usually dipping into the budget incorrectly for their own benefit) only to pop up in a similar, or even better job in a few months. Their good old boy network working positively in their benefit. Why most seem to believe that getting a good education or training and achieving will make them rich and famous is probably a result of indoctrination rather than reality. And, you are very accurate about going it alone in business. Most people don't have the skills to run their own business unless they are partnered with startup and operating money and people who do. That's why the Shark Tank is so active. Another insightful one… A keeper! Ron

Being poor in America is hard work (Article) - 12/3/2014 5:50:57 AM
Excellent. The writing has a dynamic and focused quality to it with is awesome. Great sleep great write!

Jacuzzi's R Us (Poetry) - 1/28/2015 4:54:00 PM
I'm glad this was a dream, splish, splash and ha ha ha

Jacuzzi's R Us (Poetry) - 1/28/2015 3:33:01 PM
Okay, I'm afraid to say I like this, but I do!

It's All About Timing (Poetry) - 1/28/2015 8:11:53 AM
Edward: I laughed out loudly towards the end of this poem. Thanks for the chuckle!!!!... But oh, I think people DO care!! Sandie

It's All About Timing (Poetry) - 1/28/2015 8:03:56 AM
Laughed my ass off! Great one. I went streaking at the home and garden show, and took 1st place in dried arrangements. Michael D.

It's All About Timing (Poetry) - 1/28/2015 7:43:10 AM
The picture is part of the humor, Ron, something you would do well to bone up on. This guy looks like a dufus, but he at least fills up a jock strap--about the only thing he and I have in common.

It's All About Timing (Poetry) - 1/28/2015 7:18:39 AM
I like your jockstrap. it's a whitey tighty…Why are you wearing socks? It's the beach! Ron One of your best so far…

It's All About Timing (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 8:36:01 PM
" And nobody cared " Who told you that? You know how we love you and your humor! The world is sure richer because of your presence in many ways than one JK

No Half Numbers (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 7:53:33 PM
Ed I think it's good to remember where we came from, the half numbers or the farm, so we appreciate where we are. Well penned and enjoyed.

It's All About Timing (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 7:51:03 PM
I love your sense of humor Ed. Priceless

It's All About Timing (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 5:18:49 PM
I think this is fabulous and the most original thing I have ever read. It is GREAT!!!

It's All About Timing (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 2:38:09 PM
Hah! Sounds like the story of my life . . . Heh.Heh

No Half Numbers (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 8:54:52 AM
Today, one half numbers have been replaced by apartment numbers. I would rather live in a shack, outback… a basement… or garage than in an apartment after trying over 20 of them out for size during my college and younger years. I like the way you walked down history in your neighborhood. Ron

No Half Numbers (Poetry) - 1/26/2015 3:56:21 PM
Each of our experiences that we are born to endure gets embedded with us .it makes us what we are, That is what I call the different colors of life.I was especially touched by the statement of a child labor when the kid of may be ten years was asked Would he like to attend school. He answered " I don't know if going to school is better than going to work, all I know is poor children work and rich kids go to school"

Dare to Dream (Poetry) - 1/26/2015 12:02:16 PM
I AGREE. IT IS THOSE 'THINGS' THAT BROUGHT US THROUGH WHICH WE REMEMBER...DEARLY...AND NEVER WANT TO FORGET. FOR, THEY SO FOSTER THE DETERMINATION AND THE FIGHT TO 'DREAM' AND COMFORT US ALONG THE WAY. YOURS IS BEANS...MINE IS GOD. THUS, OF THE 'BRIGHTER DAYS...I DREAM'. THANKS FOR SHARING, EDWARD, I ENJOY 'YOU'. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

No Half Numbers (Poetry) - 1/26/2015 11:52:51 AM
I JUST MENTIONED TO MY DAUGHTER A FEW DAYS AGO HOW, AS A YOUNGSTER, I WAS UNAWARE THAT I WAS POOR...TO ME IT WAS JUST LIVING. I DO REMEMBER HALF NUMBER ADDRESSES BUT I NEVER ASSOCIATED IT WITH ANYTHING DEMEANING AND I GUESS THAT WAS BECAUSE TO ME IT WAS JUST...LIVING. I THINK THAT FRAME OF MIND HAS STUCK WITH ME, SO WHEN I WAS HOMELESS A FEW YEARS AGO? IT WAS JUST LIVING. WHAT AM I SAYING? I WOULDN'T CARE IF THE SHELTER I RESIDED IN, OR THE BUILDING I NOW LIVE IN, WERE HALF NUMBER ADDRESSES, OR NOT...TO ME, IT'S STILL...JUST LIVING. THE REMARKABLE DIFFERENCES IN PEOPLE ARE WHAT MAKES THIS TEMPORARY DWELLING CALLED EARTH THE VERY UNIQUE PLACE THAT IT IS. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

No Half Numbers (Poetry) - 1/26/2015 7:43:36 AM
That is darned interesting. Would be nice to be able to buy the place where you were born and preserve it. "A great writer was born here"

Dare to Dream (Poetry) - 1/26/2015 6:12:10 AM
Thanks for reminding me about my love for beans, whether they be string, pinto, baked, red, lima, or soy, eating them in all varieties, gives me joy. From my personal experience, the idea that beans produce gas is highly overrated, and probably just a downright lie. When I count the things that give me gas, beans are not on the list. Being poor is not being deprived when one can eat some of the finest food on the planet seven days in a row without being hungry. But don't forget the pea, and goober peas, the lowly peanut. All sources of good protein, fiber, and carbohydrate, without the need for meat and potatoes. Yum Yum. Ron

Dare to Dream (Poetry) - 1/26/2015 6:03:54 AM
A great write about one of my favorite foods. I am a firm believer that beans are one of the most complete foods there is and in my culture, beans are enjoyed :de la hoya (from the pot) and refried with cheese and bacon.

Dare to Dream (Poetry) - 1/26/2015 4:36:31 AM
I love beans too...especially as I am a non meat eater...I remember a famous American author saying she was visiting her ill Mother to have her special 'Refried Beans' probably for the very last time...I always meant to look up what this recipe was... Here in UK Baked Beans on toast is one of the most popular meals/snacks...and a tin of them added to a home made soup transforms it to 'Bean Heaven' for me... What an interesting and homely poem... Diana....

Dare to Dream (Poetry) - 1/25/2015 4:11:08 PM
I love all soups. But when in Germany during the war, a town we captured was very friendly to us GI's. A German woman I met made some bean soup for me and I thought I died and went to bean heaven. It was delicious.

Dare to Dream (Poetry) - 1/25/2015 1:18:14 PM
Beans are a good source of protein vitamin. Next time slice up a hot dog to mix it in with the beans, it may actually tastes better. Much heartfelt write, Edward! Sandie

Dare to Dream (Poetry) - 1/25/2015 12:21:24 PM
An epic effort! Trying a gut wrenching right, to be backed away from if an explosion occurs. My hat off to you sir. Loved it.

Dare to Dream (Poetry) - 1/25/2015 12:10:01 PM
So true what you say! And in India we have a substitute lentil soup called moong dal soup.And we can swear by this humble protein. The fact is stranger than fiction. But today we have the American President as chief guest for our republic day celebrations which will begin in a few hours time !!! Regards J K roseline

Metaphors (Poetry) - 1/23/2015 8:01:18 AM
Love your feel good, heart hugging and joy soaring poem. Thank you.

Metaphors (Poetry) - 1/22/2015 4:24:00 AM
I kind of got a laugh out of this one this morning and for that I thank you, Ed...-e-

Metaphors (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 4:03:27 PM
This is my favorite! You are an incredible writer! You inspire me. This one poem says more than a thousand words spoken. To write is such an amazing gift and you my friend have it. Love love loved it! Kathy J Parenteau

Metaphors (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 2:08:32 PM
That's saying a mouthful.

Metaphors (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 2:02:47 PM
That's putting it literally. Michael D.

Metaphors (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 11:32:41 AM
Thanks.

Metaphors (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 11:22:17 AM
Metaphorically speaking, that's one hell of a poem. However, I'm curious as to why the poem shifted from praising metaphor to praising her. I think she got the best of you in the middle of your reverie. As for the photo, one can't get any closer to words than that! Ron

Metaphors (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 10:38:52 AM
Ingenious and clever.

Metaphors (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 9:02:00 AM
So different and I love it!

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/20/2015 7:36:28 AM
A beautiful flowing song of true emotions. hug Kathy

Never Walk in Fear (Poetry) - 1/20/2015 7:35:00 AM
Recently I watched a 6 hour program on the downfall of the Nazi government and it truly broke my heart to see the devastation that one man made happen to so many innocent people. I just can't understand how so many people were taken in by this man and his insanity and inhumanity to others. Now, we have "religion" used as the means to mame and kill innocent people for no reason other than they are not of their religion. Your write brings so much to think about and it saddens my heart that so many join these religious fanatics every day. hug Kathy

Mental Acuity (Poetry) - 1/20/2015 7:27:54 AM
This is an excellent example of how it feels to lose short term memory. I have a lovely girl that I counsel that had a father that constantly abused her by hitting her on the back of her head and now that she is older has lost most of her short term memory. It is so very sad that one human being can hurt someone made from love like he did. She is a total angel and when she realizes that she has forgotten something told to her a minute ago, she crys. They had meds that can help slow down the process but not to correct it and make it go away. All to often abuse will come back to haunt someone as they age. A wonderful description in your work of how one would feel. hugs Kathi

Mental Acuity (Poetry) - 1/17/2015 10:49:47 AM
You are painting a rather serene situation that may come in time, but I think that the onset of dementia is not carefree, but very frustrating. On the other hand, it is a nice thought to be able to be carefree and forget any misdeeds each day. Ron

Mental Acuity (Poetry) - 1/17/2015 7:11:08 AM
The format is great, as George stated as well. I've seen dementia in action as well and it's heartbreaking for everybody involved.

Mental Acuity (Poetry) - 1/17/2015 4:31:13 AM
My father suffered dementia for years prior to his death. He finally reached the place where we were all strangers to him. Now, my.brother is living the fear he had of becoming like our father. And so, I lie in wait for my turn, and I think I hear fate knocking at the door. I love this poem, but it frightens me to death. David

Mental Acuity (Poetry) - 1/16/2015 5:18:25 PM
I hear ya, Ed...I've had parents of friends that have had to go that route & it was not pretty...sometimes I think that maybe I might have a small amount of it already, but after all my health problems over the past few years, it seems a small price to pay to stay relatively healthy now...I also used to find that things I wrote about in jest, seemed to come around in real life, eventually...So what was I saying & who the hell are u again...Find Peace, my friend...-?- who am I again...?

Mental Acuity (Poetry) - 1/16/2015 10:20:38 AM
Dementia is one of the most scary things as I get older. My mom developed dementia after my dad passed away. My wife And I tried to be caregivers for awhile, but it was taking a tollon us. She reached the point where I had to place her in a nursing home. with a special unit for demntia. It remains the most painful and hardest thing I've ever done. It's been said dementia is like someone going from room to room and turning the lights out one by one. A very accurate description. If I knew dementia was in my future, I'd just as soon end it now. A very powerful write. Michael D.

Mental Acuity (Poetry) - 1/16/2015 10:19:30 AM
Great poetry. Love the the format which is not easy to do. The rhyming was perfect.

Never Walk in Fear (Poetry) - 1/15/2015 2:08:42 PM
Yes, where are the voices of reason among the clerics? There's enough religion in the world to make us hate, and not enough to make us love. Michael D.

Never Walk in Fear (Poetry) - 1/14/2015 2:05:11 PM
Once again a wonderful write! Bravo Mr. Phillips Kathy J Parenteau

Never Walk in Fear (Poetry) - 1/14/2015 10:26:49 AM
Speaks a lot about how one should face life. Ron

Never Walk in Fear (Poetry) - 1/14/2015 9:58:48 AM
Very clever write, Edward. I like the last line "Keep Your Powder Dry". Mary

Never Walk in Fear (Poetry) - 1/14/2015 8:24:26 AM
I really like this poem, Edward.

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/13/2015 4:15:25 PM
Flows beautifully, and the words are perfect... Do you have a tune in mind? Diana...

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/12/2015 8:58:09 AM
Would love to hear it with music, Ed ... Beautiful!

Push On (Poetry) - 1/12/2015 6:45:32 AM
A wonderful and very inspiring slice of life poem.

Biocentrism (Poetry) - 1/12/2015 6:44:32 AM
Believe it or not, some men think this way. I think you are describing a fantasy, digital world for I can't imagine you being such an Ahole, Edward!

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/12/2015 6:42:01 AM
Sweetly romantic with a wonderful flow.

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/9/2015 6:09:08 PM
This is a musical sensation! Well done.

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/9/2015 11:43:35 AM
I love this song. Romance such as is expressed via your lyrics here is "right up my alley." Thank you for sharing, Edward. Keep on writing and singing. Love and peace, Regis

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 11:23:10 PM
It's an old fashioned love song. Don't get me wrong. The world needs more like this one. I can listen to these songs all day long. I LIKE and so does the wife. Two thumbs up!

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 2:09:45 PM
Excellent and it does make a great song

Push On (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 1:29:58 PM
Wonderful write, very much wisdom in it and it stands to be good advice too.

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 1:28:50 PM
What a great outlook to love, it is so comforting to me to know love exists like this. I'll find it someday, somewhere, when time is right too. This is a good poem for a song. too.

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 11:50:36 AM
Ron: I added the word "My" to the title after I found out that Mariah Carey has a song out called "Vision of Love." I don't like getting into fights with people unless I would love getting whipped by them.

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 11:16:13 AM
The girls like it and that's what counts. I was thinking that perhaps you should move the "My" from the title, but it probably wouldn't make much difference. You set the mood, now all it needs is a melody. Ron

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 8:40:35 AM
Vision of love will make a nice song... Tender and everlasting love JK

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 8:30:42 AM
Can't say you are timid in expressing your forever and ever love, you are right there, standing on that soapbox on the corner of love and forever shouting it to the world. Yessss!

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 8:00:11 AM
Dim the lights, a vision of lovce appears. Set it to music, I'll give it 3 cheers. Michael D.

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 6:38:59 AM
This should definitely be put to music. It is so beautiful. Kathy J Parenteau

My Vision of Love (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 6:03:21 AM
Do you know anyone who can put music to this? It's a beautiful love song, even though I am a cynic when it comes to love. Now I have to go write a murder story to get myself back in balance. Slobbery, wet kisses to you for this one!

Snowballs! (Poetry) - 1/5/2015 10:02:55 AM
I love snow!!! Building snowmen and snowball fights are great. hug Kathy

The Intruder (Poetry) - 1/5/2015 10:01:44 AM
I really enjoyed this work. hug Kathy

Push On (Poetry) - 1/5/2015 9:59:54 AM
I try to get people to "push on" every day. One day at a time. Can't ask for more than that or it overwhelms them and they won't win. hug Kathy

Biocentrism (Poetry) - 1/5/2015 9:57:31 AM
There is no woman that would follow these orders lol. hug Kathy

The Aura of Love (Poetry) - 1/5/2015 9:55:13 AM
What a loving romantic write. Each of us sees things in others that no one else sees. Things that draw us together. hug Kathy

Biocentrism (Poetry) - 1/4/2015 5:47:41 PM
a real molecule-bender of a poem ...

Biocentrism (Poetry) - 1/4/2015 9:02:39 AM
My mind lives in the gutter.

Biocentrism (Poetry) - 1/3/2015 2:13:33 PM
Great! You really must stop writing about me. People will talk.

Biocentrism (Poetry) - 1/3/2015 1:38:27 PM
Interesting what our minds conjure up. I like the feel of cold hard reality, myself. Your poem turned into a surprising horror story. Ron

Biocentrism (Poetry) - 1/3/2015 11:25:54 AM
HAHAHAHA. Maybe the egg should be scrambled. It feels like a parody of Zen and the Art of Motorcycle maintenance.

If Talent Were Contagious (Poetry) - 1/2/2015 1:44:06 PM
great poem and a dedication to great poets!

Push On (Poetry) - 1/2/2015 8:43:32 AM
Autobiography in a poem. So many do not have that "inner voice" to guide them out of whatever they are in. You are one of the survivors. Your autobiography should be written and made available to guide others. I look forward to reading it. Ron

Push On (Poetry) - 1/1/2015 8:52:22 AM
I once drank to excess & stopped on my own without external assistance, and yes it was not easy, I just stopped one day saying I know that I got too sarcastic and obnoxious when I drank and remembered the fact that I had lost a very good friend from my drinking...Find peace my friend, and Happy New Year...-e-

Push On (Poetry) - 1/1/2015 7:26:16 AM
Your thoughts here are lucid and easy to relate to. Speaking for myself, I've been through seasons similar to this in my life. They humble you, and then strengthen you. Happy New Year.

Push On (Poetry) - 12/31/2014 11:49:13 AM
A powerfully meaningful poem, Edward. Thank you for sharing it. Love, peace, and best wishes to you for the new year and always, Regis

Push On (Poetry) - 12/31/2014 11:43:08 AM
This is outstanding! Kathy J Parenteau

Push On (Poetry) - 12/31/2014 11:01:21 AM
True words of wisdom. Michael D.

Push On (Poetry) - 12/31/2014 10:28:13 AM
Excellent, and I am sending this to my son, a recovering drug addict. Thank you.

The Intruder (Poetry) - 12/26/2014 9:51:26 AM
Nice write. It ended just when it was getting good. Is there a sequel here? Michael D.

The Intruder (Poetry) - 12/26/2014 8:59:49 AM
Quite amusing and so true to life. Ron

The Intruder (Poetry) - 12/25/2014 6:43:12 PM
Wow! I can relate to this poem, Ed! Wonderfully written!

The Intruder (Poetry) - 12/25/2014 4:46:01 PM
boy, this brought back memories ...

The Intruder (Poetry) - 12/25/2014 12:06:54 PM
Yes, yes, yes! Your very best.

The Intruder (Poetry) - 12/25/2014 11:56:17 AM
I get this. I get you. What a wonderful write! "Do not disturb" says it all.

Snowballs! (Poetry) - 12/25/2014 9:42:28 AM
Snowballs are certainly fun fare, but smash your friend in the face with a ice ball, and beware! Assault with a missing weapon? Ron

Snowballs! (Poetry) - 12/25/2014 8:36:07 AM
Snow? What's that?

Snowballs! (Poetry) - 12/24/2014 7:04:49 PM
especially if you packed a rock in the snowball ...

Snowballs! (Poetry) - 12/24/2014 9:51:11 AM
There's nothing like, a good snowball fight. Ready, aim, fire, and the snowballs take flight It's all fun and games till somebody throws a slushball. Michael D.

Snowballs! (Poetry) - 12/24/2014 9:17:49 AM
Oh it's on now, Eddie! lol Looks like fun and you're so lucky I'm not there ;) Merry Christmas sweetie! (((honi honi)))

The Aura of Love (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 1:53:49 PM
the aura of love is precisely what the hearts eye sees and the soul of an artist paints with expressionistic strokes

Reincarnation (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 8:13:09 AM
Interesting poem. Man was first taught the false doctrine of reincarnation by our common Adversary about four thousand years ago. The Lord said we'd only live once, to be followed by an eternal judgment. Jesus Christ came to rescue us from sin and death, to give us a genuine and certain hope. Satan still opposes the truth, but God is the victor, game over. As this poem states though, many false religions prey on those still help captive by our common Enemy in ignorance and unbelief. I like this poem because it is well written and is very thought-provoking. Thanks for sharing!

Follow Me! (Poetry) - 12/20/2014 4:45:44 PM
Cleverly created and meaningful too at the same time; I love the way this "rides." Love and peace to you, Edward. Regis

Follow Me! (Poetry) - 12/19/2014 7:30:13 PM
Life sucks, but sometimes its a pretty cool thing to be a part of...-e-

Follow Me! (Poetry) - 12/19/2014 11:32:29 AM
I really like the way it lyrically bounces along coming to a fine finish with you in charge. Ron

Follow Me! (Poetry) - 12/19/2014 10:41:25 AM
Yep, that is life in a nutshell.

Follow Me! (Poetry) - 12/18/2014 8:15:23 PM
they can reset the bar anytime, just don't get rid of the spirits ...

Follow Me! (Poetry) - 12/18/2014 1:28:54 PM
Another thought provoking write. Very well done. Michael D.

Follow Me! (Poetry) - 12/18/2014 12:16:04 PM
haha I loved this write, I read it out loud and enjoyed it immensely! Lead on my friend, I'm hanging on to your coat tail now so don't go slip sliding away! ;) MISS YOU!

Reincarnation (Poetry) - 12/16/2014 4:16:27 AM
A fine summation with a biting tho not bitter twist. It slips very neatly into my Author's Den library. Thanks - somehow it makes me feel optimistic. Maybe I won't be so gullible next time.

Reincarnation (Poetry) - 12/15/2014 9:35:22 PM
Very thought provoking write. Man claims to have conquered the world. However, the more we think we know the less we truly know. I know nothing except what I see, feel, hear, smell, taste and read. You could hate me but you truly don't even know me. Reincarnation is a very real possibility. Truth is stranger than fiction. Amen

Reincarnation (Poetry) - 12/15/2014 2:58:23 PM
I'm pretty certain I have lived before as memories of certain events seem to stay in my head, I just hope that this is the last life and that I have found my enlightenment to move on to another kind of life...-e-

Reincarnation (Poetry) - 12/15/2014 2:31:53 PM
I surely hope not. Once is enough for me. A very thouht provoking write. Have you ever read the poem, Reincarnation by cowboy poet Wallace McRae? If you haven't, I can send you a copy. It's a true classic. Michael D.

By the Dawn's Early Light (Poetry) - 12/13/2014 10:49:40 PM
lots of evolving left to do ...

That Ghoulish Game called Golf (Poetry) - 12/9/2014 6:11:37 PM
Pleasantly delightful read ... I recently had a retired high school principle tell me that golf saved him from his temper in dealing with disorderly and rebellious students. He would just smile at them and discipline them according to the rules, waiting for that moment on the golf course when he could put their faces upon that ball, and knock the living hell out of it ...

By the Dawn's Early Light (Poetry) - 12/7/2014 10:36:13 AM
Excellent write!

By the Dawn's Early Light (Poetry) - 12/5/2014 10:00:06 AM
Brilliant and inspiring. I often wonder if mankind can rise above our stll primitive minds. A timely write. Michael D.

By the Dawn's Early Light (Poetry) - 12/5/2014 5:45:16 AM
Admiral Yamamoto couldn't have said it better, Edward, or for a more important reason. Will this crime be the catalyst for the drugged and drowsy to finally shake off their lethargy? Well done!

By the Dawn's Early Light (Poetry) - 12/4/2014 7:28:43 PM
Edward, you poem of moral courage hopes for the best...in improving the fairness in street-level policing and braves your disapproval of the "wrongs" in contemporary society...a cop chocked a black human being to death...in a dispute over a cigarette...Your poem questions the sense of civic justice...wondering...what to tell kids...when a free speech leads to a fist in the nose...and an aggressive policing singles out a young-black-man for an extra "hassle"...before knowing...whether or not he's doing anything wrong...Are we powerless telling them: "Right is right, even if everyone is against it, and wrong is wrong, even if everyone is for it"... Given the current political trend...your poem's wondering...what it takes to re-invent citizen confidence?... "Justice will not be served until those who are unaffected are as outraged as those who are"... Thank you for sharing your inspiring writing.

The Aura of Love (Poetry) - 12/4/2014 3:19:19 PM
...arguably the most romantic-sensual-intense poem which celebrates the physical features of romantic attraction...from the first prick of Cupid's arrow...Poem, that resonates with anyone who's desperately trying to articulate the one of most important of human feelings... Its hauntingly beautiful words and simply imagery of the woman's charm and elegance make this poem both...accessible and timeless... Thank you, Edward for sharing your verse.

By the Dawn's Early Light (Poetry) - 12/4/2014 11:26:27 AM
Amen! This is an amazing write! Kathy J Parenteau

The Aura of Love (Poetry) - 12/3/2014 8:37:53 AM
As always, love is in the eye of the beholder. Michael D.

The Aura of Love (Poetry) - 12/2/2014 8:29:06 AM
A clear picture of lust taking over. Only in this case, something made it more than lust in the long run. From what I can tell, she did not change… you did. In any case, I hope she takes your poem as a compliment of her superior intelligence and personality. Ron

A Recurring Dream (Poetry) - 12/2/2014 3:56:10 AM
A few lines definitely worked, but most of were was so stretched that they verily lost their rhythm. Never mind, not all of us can exert total control over the syllable, that it's music is primarily evident, on the plus side you do have a nice tan, albeit a little bit forced, King of like your rhyme scheme. As for 'captivating phrase' mentioned below, it wasn't exactly yours was it. Simply face. Wink. Wink.

The Aura of Love (Poetry) - 12/2/2014 3:13:24 AM
Lovely picture, nice pose, nice aura .. JK

That Ghoulish Game called Golf (Poetry) - 11/30/2014 3:51:57 PM
Nice testimony about the goofy game of golf. I love the landscape, I love the beautiful well manicured grounds. So why would I want to mess up such perfect scenery by looking down and killing that innocent little white ball??? Nah, I rather be kayaking...

That Ghoulish Game called Golf (Poetry) - 11/30/2014 7:22:31 AM
I sensed an air of "Mudville" in this mighty tome. As you try to write a golf classic with mighty stroke and drive it home. Except for some twisted rhymes, for the most part you caught a golfer's times. There seems to be more frustration in hitting that little ball, than all the tea in China, but who am I, a non-golfer, to call. Ron

That Ghoulish Game called Golf (Poetry) - 11/29/2014 7:25:54 PM
To hit that little ball, I need to carry a big stick, Like that used for hockey, If the stick doesn't work, You'd probably find me using a brick, Crush that little ball...

That Ghoulish Game called Golf (Poetry) - 11/29/2014 4:38:55 PM
...timely poem and well executed...eureka moment in golfing...when a little shot is...so pure...so impossibly high and far...a whole new world of possibility opens up....your hunger for more...your golfing appetite more ravenous... Today...many golfers are waiting here...in the green...at the Royal Rose Bay Golf Club...Sydney's final day of the Autralian Open Golf 2014...to putt...tee it up...swinging...planing to hit that sweet spot...win... It's great fun! For all...the players and the crowd. Happy Golfing!

That Ghoulish Game called Golf (Poetry) - 11/29/2014 12:18:52 PM
Well divot me this, and divot me that. Keep your clubs, I need a baseball bat. Michael D.

Thanksgiving 2014 (Poetry) - 11/27/2014 12:31:02 PM
No Thanksgiving without the Native Americans Indian or (Indians)America, let not our ingratitude condemn us such as was done by the Roman empire! Thank you brother and analyzing poet, for your keen scrutiny and wondrous use of verse. Peace!!!

Thanksgiving 2014 (Poetry) - 11/25/2014 5:39:18 PM
Sadly, you have said volumes that no one wishes to hear ... After all, who wishes to hear the truth that while we feign a day of thanksgiving (we are an ungrateful, self indulgent lot) it never enters our minds that Native Americans have given up all they had to be thankful for, the heritage of their ancestors and any heritage they might have left for their children in the future, except gambling casinos and alcoholics wards ...The white man says the Indian can't hold his liquor ... Who can hold their liquor when they have been stripped of all pride and dignity, left with nothing but empty dreams of what was, and nightmares of what will never be again ... We feast on the fatted Turkey with consciences as seared as the meat we eat, our minds breaded with the money we stuff in our pockets just like the stuffing crammed up that poor birds back side ... And to top it all, we're proud of who we are, and what we are ... Dumbfounding is what it is ... Well said ... Well done ...

Thanksgiving 2014 (Poetry) - 11/23/2014 12:28:06 PM
This poem is no turkey. Well done. Michael D.

Thanksgiving 2014 (Poetry) - 11/22/2014 7:54:40 AM
A very apt poem for the times. I just finished a novel of apocalyptic proportions with the sharing way of Indians and their councils winning out. I also learned recently that Iron Eyes Cody in the picture was born to Sicilian immigrants in Louisiana. He changed his name twice, moved to Texas, and then to Hollywood where he played in numerous movies and TV programs. Native Americans accepted him as a brother. Wouldn't it be nice if Congress did that? Ron

Thanksgiving 2014 (Poetry) - 11/21/2014 7:12:35 PM
...on the day of thanksgiving myths and legends...history in progress...on the day when a president pardons white turkey ....your great and heartfelt poem, Edward, pops the question: What's the point? What's the crime a white turkey committed? or...iIs it just an act of kindness?...or White-turkey-meet-free-diet? advertisement....or An act of killing that needs a symbolic "let it off the hook"...An excuse for gluttony or bump-off?.... See...a turkey is a bird...native to the North...that aligned the colonial roots...here used to find a value in above pardon..."live and let live"...Indigenous folks on our Earth are diverse....marginalised...white man casting them...culturally inferior.........You poem's words sound like a defence of the indigenous...a line in the sand....saying "Let we forget".... Thank you for sharing your message.

Thanksgiving 2014 (Poetry) - 11/21/2014 1:05:16 PM
A most apt and timely write, Edward. I hope you have a fine Thanksgiving; you and all of your country. Love and peace, Regis

Thanksgiving 2014 (Poetry) - 11/21/2014 10:00:14 AM
The following reviews were saved before reposting my poem in order to remove a mysterious glitch that appeared on the page. Reviewed by Amber Moonstone 11/21/2014 Edward, You have taken the words right out of my mouth!!! As you know I am writing a Native American (Karena) I have serious problems with Thanksgiving...I celebrate what I am thankful for, and that is my health, my family and my friends. If we stop to think about how this holiday came about, and see where we are today, I shall say no more.................... Eye opening and truthful poetry! Peace, love and light, Amber Reviewed by Kathy Parenteau 11/21/2014 This poem is perfect in every way. A wake up call to all Americans. Kathy J Parenteau Reviewed by Ed Matlack 11/21/2014 Yes, Ed, the question still burns in those of us who care; WILL WE...-e-

A Salute to Veterans (Poetry) - 11/20/2014 12:25:13 PM
We should all honor our veterans and those that are serving now. Wonderful work hug kATHY

Becoming (Poetry) - 11/20/2014 10:21:20 AM
Life is a work in progress, you are right. Great work hug Kathy

Rosetta Mission (Poetry) - 11/20/2014 9:53:28 AM
A very thought provoking work hug Kathy

Rosetta Mission (Poetry) - 11/18/2014 3:18:21 PM
I'm not convinced we have proved ourselves worthy of a new beginning. We have to free ourselves of the greed that is sanctioned by those in power first... Might never happen. Rx

Rosetta Mission (Poetry) - 11/18/2014 12:00:08 PM
Yes, besides scientific understanding, the promise of comets and asteroids is that they are a great source of material for building our future without having to spend great sums of earthly energy to overcome earthly gravity. It is also encouraging that the European consortium undertook the task and it wasn't a game of superpower one-upmanship. Ron

Rosetta Mission (Poetry) - 11/18/2014 10:51:43 AM
...had been a capable...human being...but of late had fallen into crevice...on evil days.......errare humanum est....perseverate autem diabolicum...et tertia non datur.... Thank you Edward for sharing your thoughts provoking writing.

Rosetta Mission (Poetry) - 11/18/2014 7:01:36 AM
Chip beat me to what I was going to say, But well done none the less. Michael D.

Rosetta Mission (Poetry) - 11/17/2014 6:07:57 PM
To boldly go...cue the music.... ChipB

Rosetta Mission (Poetry) - 11/17/2014 5:43:18 PM
Kool like something out of science fiction Peace be with you William

Rosetta Mission (Poetry) - 11/17/2014 2:28:33 PM
I had to read it twice to understand why you wrote this. I get it and BRAVO Mr. Phillips! Kathy J Parenteau

Rosetta Mission (Poetry) - 11/17/2014 1:01:18 PM
I would love to be out there in space for that 4 million miles, so far away from our humanity, maybe I could meet an alien on another planet, though I would be the alien on his planet then, wouldn't I...? -e-

Becoming (Poetry) - 11/17/2014 12:32:03 PM
All I can say is just Wow! Truly touched by this poem Edward. Kudos! Mary

Becoming (Poetry) - 11/16/2014 2:49:57 PM
...really brilliant...emotive...incredible poem Edward ...remarkable how a human coming liberates opens up to the common humanity truly becoming a human the truest expression of mind that's only human a state of being enfolded in mistakes in weakness in greed in hope in many things at the same time in many reasons for being only human That's it! a man...an animal in this world to fear himself! An evolution time to take the next step from human to kind not to be afraid of being human only employ rational thoughts for humankind ...becoming... Ditto....if you're looking into living in harmony with the Nature! with the Worm!

Becoming (Poetry) - 11/16/2014 10:11:07 AM
I think we all battle our own personal demons, but that is neccesary to find our own inner beauty. there's a lot truth in this write. Michael D.

Becoming (Poetry) - 11/16/2014 8:35:06 AM
'Learning to love' ... absolutely. The heart and soul of living is loving; especially another. One of your best insights. Peace to you...

Becoming (Poetry) - 11/16/2014 7:00:51 AM
"We develop our Own inner beauty" quintessential .... indeed, "learning to love" and remembering how to die ...

Becoming (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 4:42:46 PM
Are you saying I am a baboon...? But I will forgive you as you say it builds character, wait a minute, now you are saying I am a character...maybe I should just leave all this alone and go back to my picking of bugs out of my fur & keep swinging through the trees...-e-

Becoming (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 3:28:50 PM
Sometimes the journey is rough but when all is said and done it's always worth the trip! Wonderful poem Mr. Phillips. Kathy J Parenteau

Becoming (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 2:33:41 PM
I surely do hope that, in the end, it will have been all worthwhile, Edward. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace, Regis

Becoming (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 11:26:36 AM
Thank you, Ed...I am going through my own personal kind of fire at the moment, and this is domething I needed to read. Take care, ChipB.

Becoming (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 10:56:56 AM
I think I'll skip that "walking through fire" part. It can severely damage your skin and burn the only hair you've got right off your bod. As for the rest of the advice in this poem, it's almost evangelical. Ron

What I live for... (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 9:32:34 AM
Humanity can be at it's best =- but we each find love through different ways, and when we arrive at the mountain's top, then we've seen and done it all.......

Becoming (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 9:31:03 AM
Words all so true, been through it exactly like you say. it was all worthwhile too, and I became more compassionate. I really love this poem, Ed,

Becoming (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 9:21:10 AM
Beautiful words, beautiful thoughts. It is catharsis to the soul. JK

A Salute to Veterans (Poetry) - 11/12/2014 8:31:52 PM
Your respect and honor for the veterans and your appreciation of having served is commendable. I thank you for your service, which sounds dry and common, but I mean sincerely. I was married to a marine for a good while and I have an inkling of what it means to serve. God bless you. I very much enjoyed this poem. Be well, Kathy

What I live for... (Poetry) - 11/11/2014 3:12:28 AM
That's what I call having a mind of your own Edward. Only people with such a mind make a remarkable difference in this world. To the mountain top you shall soar! Hopefully see you there! Mary

The Lord's Prayer (Poetry) - 11/11/2014 3:07:21 AM
Lol! Edward, a good write. I believe that we shouldn't always wine to God. We should praise Him more and do the best we can in every situation. Well, if it's beyond our power, then we can cry to Him for help and He won't let us down! Mary

A Salute to Veterans (Poetry) - 11/10/2014 9:55:33 PM
good work, Phillips

A Salute to Veterans (Poetry) - 11/10/2014 1:12:31 PM
...poem words that help to understand why.... today, November 11, at 11:00 am, our whole nation stops to observe one minute's silence and together with you, Edward...with your verse....celebrate and honour every soldier...present and past...for their service in the military... In silence...we express gratitude and love for all immeasurable sacrifices made by you all...brave men...We take a moment to...place a fresh scarlet red poppy flower next to the name denoted on the wall...a potent symbol of a lasting remembrance for generations to come...to reap the benefits of freedom....even if it's definition changes all the time....Thank you. Your verse...will live on...forever...

A Salute to Veterans (Poetry) - 11/10/2014 11:46:47 AM
Edward, Thank you for serving and thank you for this wonderful poem. Love and blessings, ~Linda

A Salute to Veterans (Poetry) - 11/10/2014 8:00:26 AM
I'll salute you then, for your service. Still, I hate to see any more die or come home unable to live in civilian society after the horror they've been through. Ron

A Salute to Veterans (Poetry) - 11/10/2014 6:40:46 AM
Steadfast, talented, devoted, I have nothing but respect for our troops. I, too, am a veteran. 249th Engineer Battalion; we constructed tank-pads, and roads and helped with cleanup and body removal during Hurricane Camille in 1969. Enjoyed your thoughts.

A Salute to Veterans (Poetry) - 11/10/2014 5:13:18 AM
I remember when this date was Armistice Day and commemorated the end of the War to End All Wars (WWI/the Great War)... it lauded peace. My mother's mother remembered when Mother's Day commemorated peace as well, after The War of the Rebellion (the un-Civil War). I despise the profiteering industries and their never-ending wars. Nonetheless, Edward, a fine poem and I stand with conflicting emotions in the ranks with you. Best, Jan

A Salute to Veterans (Poetry) - 11/10/2014 4:54:28 AM
A fine Salute to our Vets - who are the very best.

A Salute to Veterans (Poetry) - 11/9/2014 9:05:08 PM
I am moved. "Where we love for ourselves, we live for others, Madam and it is so true...we learn more from them.. And we are proud of them for their character...they be from any country...there is so much in common among them...even when they have to fight...the irony of life JK

A Salute to Veterans (Poetry) - 11/9/2014 12:55:34 PM
Edward: What a great tribute!I like the way you broke your poem up into shport lines. It reminds me of a column of infantry on the march. ChipB.

A Salute to Veterans (Poetry) - 11/9/2014 11:57:06 AM
Bravo Mr. Phillips! This is brilliant! A wonderful tribute to our service men and woman. Thank you for sharing. Kathy J Parenteau

The Lord's Prayer (Poetry) - 11/9/2014 8:38:10 AM
Brother Edward, I love this poem and great write! Jeez couldn't have said it any better! The joy of life is the journey and our job is to travel and complete it: and what we can not do along the way God can!! But help truly is legitimate when we have done all we can!

What I live for... (Poetry) - 11/5/2014 9:06:33 AM
The race goes not to the swift, but to the persistent. Keep climbing! ChipB.

Grav-i-tas (Poetry) - 11/4/2014 6:23:04 PM
Part of the problem IS gravitas. As a woman (or anyone) getsnolder, gravitas takes over,and causes things to sag. That ruins th whole picture. Just funnin' with nya'! ChipB.

The Masterpiece (Poetry) - 11/3/2014 5:11:17 PM
I like this poem very much....one of the things we tend to do with the Almighty is trivialize Him by using cliches to describe Him. You avoided that temptation. ChipB

The Lord's Prayer (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 4:29:58 PM
excellent write Ed great reading, I like to think he listens to me daily Peace be with you William

The Lord's Prayer (Poetry) - 10/31/2014 10:24:21 PM
Very good message within this poem, Ed. Yes, even God needs His rest too...sometimes. Sandie

The Lord's Prayer (Poetry) - 10/31/2014 3:06:27 PM
....contemporary dilemma...spend or pass it on...and Lord's Prayer to the parents on earth...cease the feeling...the sense of obligation and instinct of "generous love"...choose to spend your accumulated wealth on your well deserved comfort...good health....and fun...age gracefully to your own pace...in your own space... Kudos to both! The poet....and parents!

What I live for... (Poetry) - 10/31/2014 2:55:42 PM
...beyond the boundaries...seemingly still within the world's reality!...only few daring and insolent truly climb to kiss the peak of mountain...so great...yet...sooo subtle....holding feet on a ground....enjoying a time on earth...before saying adieu to all its traps...fears...misgivings...and if possible when one doesn't afraid of........heights...humility.........own death! Oh! Dear Life!....in absence of choice...culminating...at last! Thank you, Edward for sharing your poem........ of the vast tomorrows...with many...many mountains you haven't yet climbed!

The Lord's Prayer (Poetry) - 10/28/2014 1:50:51 PM
Well....I basically agree, but when you have triuble walking on your own, there's no shame to using a cane. God gives us all this btainpower: t wierd thing is how often wemfail to usemit! Chip Bergeron

The Lord's Prayer (Poetry) - 10/28/2014 6:00:27 AM
To Jansen: Thanks for the name change. It is done. To Ruan: I love to win the approval from one of the best writers on AD.

The Lord's Prayer (Poetry) - 10/28/2014 3:28:32 AM
Shouldn't this be called the "Lord's Prayer"?

The Lord's Prayer (Poetry) - 10/28/2014 12:31:22 AM
Brilliant! Someone else who thinks as I do! The whole business of religion has gone way over the top. We are not helpless, or hapless, or even unsure. We know right from wrong and we know how to be strong, independent people without resorting to bullying tactics. It's our choices that let us down. A fabulous write ...and got to love that PS :-)

The Lord's Prayer (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 7:48:26 PM
How correct and true , I too belong to your kind of thinking...allow them to learn on their own... make mistakes may be...We had to sort out things by ourselves... Now let 'em be... And I go on my way.. counting stars, watching the Sun and the moon or whatever suits my whims...JK

The Lord's Prayer (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 6:04:50 PM
You know what they say: Parenting. The 1st 40 years are the hardest. Michael D.

What I live for... (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 5:07:02 PM
An excellent write to the heights of inspiration. Why is the climb such a challenge at times? Enjoyed!

The Lord's Prayer (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 2:53:33 PM
It seems more and more young people depend on parents instead of doing things by themselves. I agree with this poem. hug Kathy

The Lord's Prayer (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 2:04:52 PM
Amen amen amen infinity!!!!!!!!!! This is one of the BEST writes I have ever read on Authors Den! Kathy J Parenteau

What I live for... (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 10:11:43 AM
An inspiration for all of us. hug Kathy

Grav-i-tas (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 9:58:26 AM
Well, this will cure the world's ills!

What I live for... (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 9:54:54 AM
Very nice. It recognizes that we can have different paths to the same truth and goal of human accomplishment and enlightenment.

What I live for... (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 6:36:09 AM
I really enjoyed reading this one. Michael D.

What I live for... (Poetry) - 10/26/2014 5:09:33 PM
Love that photo. Love the poetry. This seems a big step up in your poetry and I am loving it. It has hope and majesty and that is good stuff.

What I live for... (Poetry) - 10/26/2014 10:12:07 AM
Edward, Here I am having read your heart penned to page in the brilliantly majestic black and white stark honesty of this is who I am, this is how it should be for me, and this is my example to set for others to follow in making a difference in living their lives for others, rather than simply for self ... A magnificent code for giving ones existence purpose, reason, and fulfillment while living out our lives upon this earth ... I find no boredom, no deception, no false promises, in your lines penned word by meticulous word ... Only hope for those who dare to shoulder up the challenge of, What I Live For ... Bravo ... You have made my day, and have left me with some very contemplative and thought provoking things to ponder upon ...

What I live for... (Poetry) - 10/26/2014 9:32:01 AM
There is much to consider in this confluence of honest, focused, hopeful cerebrations. Enjoyed. Peace to you... rlc

What I live for... (Poetry) - 10/26/2014 8:43:17 AM
Amen! What an amazing poem! I believe all who read this can definitely relate. You inspire poets like myself with your words. Kathy J Parenteau

Grav-i-tas (Poetry) - 10/24/2014 11:24:54 PM
...feeling not particularly suave to give a view...on something of a certain je ne sais quoi...focusing on...an euphemistic derriere...downright amusing...

The Masterpiece (Poetry) - 10/24/2014 5:05:15 AM
I know what you mean. It's like everyone (in America anyway) does a standing ovation. All. The. Time. It doesn't mean anything anymore. Loved this write.

Time Together (Poetry) - 10/23/2014 3:07:30 PM
A very nicely done work of romance. hug Kathy

Grav-i-tas (Poetry) - 10/23/2014 10:09:59 AM
Thanks for the advice… And I'll have Perrier with that derrière, if you don't mind. Remind me to wear my Jay Say Penn'yea plain pockets genes next time I'm out in pubic. Ron

Grav-i-tas (Poetry) - 10/23/2014 8:28:07 AM
This write made me smile. hug Kathy

The Masterpiece (Poetry) - 10/23/2014 8:26:40 AM
A very enlightening work hug Kathy

Time Together (Poetry) - 10/22/2014 9:53:45 AM
Time and tide waits for no man but when you are able to bring out such beauty in expressions, you have captured time smart friend and not everyone is lucky.....there may be many who envy you!! jk

Grav-i-tas (Poetry) - 10/22/2014 7:50:31 AM
Now that's an ass with class. Michael D.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.