AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Richard Orey, iGracie McKeever, iJames Becher, iAaron Cole, iGisele Vincent-Page, iMichael Thal, iJoe Bueno, i
 
Home > Iolanthe Woulff
 

Recent Reviews for Iolanthe Woulff


She's My Dad (Book) - 11/16/2012 6:38:45 PM
Intriguing! Honest! Refreshing! My first thought when I saw the high ratings for “She’s My Dad” was the author must have a lot of friends--the book cannot be that good. And, even though I do review books I am happy to report that all the reviews are accurate. There’s no fudging on this one. “She’s My Dad” is not what I expected it to be. It is not a journey of mismatched sour romances; nor it is a book of soul searching, familiar movies, or transsexuals. Even though the book does have a transsexual person in it, it is not about the process or the whys and whatnots. It is a modern day allegory that shows the inside truth of people set in a northern Virginia college town. The college openly accepts everyone through their doors who wants an education; but, there are some people who were bred in Southern tradition and are set about what they feel should be right and proper—and, they are not happy about Windfield College. And, they plan to do something about it. This book is as fun as it is smart. It is not written in the typical fifth-grade English that most novels today are. Actually, there are interesting words that pique one’s curiosity of how the characters interact with each other; however, not so many as to bog down the flow of the storyline. In addition to the intelligence of the book, it is witty, clever, and engaging—full of suspense and mystery. Ms. Woulff has an amazing ability to paint the character portraits with incredible sharpness and clarity so you don’t lose sight of who is doing what. What further surprised me was the interesting storyline. I certainly was not expecting sub-plots that involved big ugly brutes and wealthy crime bosses who were involved in home-grown terrorism. There are many interesting side stories that puzzle into the main characters’ lives and plot of the book. Every one of them is clearly defined and is woven ever so carefully into the climax of the novel. Normally, this type of literature (crime, guns, things that go boom, etc.) does not interest me; but, this was so well written I could not put it down. The more I read, the hungrier I got. Be forewarned that there are a few characters that use foul language occasionally; and, there are some scenes that are briefly sexual. That being aside, considering the sensitive nature of some of the material, I felt, it was handled with great care. Overall, I absolutely loved the book! Loved it! The message it brings us is so important—so necessary, that I wish it were in every library, college, and bookstore in America. Better than that—it really needs to be a movie. Note: I'd like to thank both Iolanthe Woulff for this lovely copy of "She's My Dad" and Review the Book.com for this opportunity.

She's My Dad (Book) - 6/17/2010 11:54:16 AM
Suspense-filled "She's My Dad" is a book you don't want to put down! From the opening paragraph the reader is sucked in as the story unfolds from the perspectives of the well-developed characters as they each deal with life in different ways. The battle between good and evil is centered around the main character in the book who is a transsexual person. Those who are closed-minded tend to be judgmental and hateful. Others struggle to change attitudes and perceptions. Iolanthe Woulff knows how to weave intrigue throughout a plot that deals with homophobia and transphobia in a conservative culture. I had to read the book in one sitting! A really good read! Dayvid Graybill, M.Div. Transitional Minister Mountain States Mennonite Conference Mennonite Church USA

She's My Dad (Book) - 6/9/2010 8:07:20 AM
Hi! Congrats for finalist section for your book! She’s My Dad By Iolanthe Woulff Outskirts Press, Inc. ISBN: 9781432743772 457 Pages "Reverend Shorr sipped a glass of water. 'Sometimes I think that the scientific community has taken us all much too far, much too fast. Life was complicated enough before...But we mustn’t second-guess our Lord...'" What a powerful suspense drama! She’s My Dad by Iolanthe Woulff is a provocative hold-no-bars book that successfully illustrates the power of both love and hate. Woulff does this through characters that are so alive with their emotions that readers are immediately caught within the honest reality portrayed. Fascinating! By nature of the material covered, readers should be aware that some content might be offensive. Personally, I didn’t find it so because the characters that were offensive were those I enjoyed hating! Then, too, as Reverend Shorr admitted in the book, there is too little written and taught about today’s sexuality and our technological world. I believe this type of fiction is one of the ways by which it can be shown how love can triumph over hate. The novel is somewhat based upon the true experience of the author. She has my admiration for her courage. Nickie Farrell graduated from Windfield College and then came back many years later to apply for a temporary position replacing an English professor. During her college years, she had participated in an affair with a local resident and a child had come from that relationship. Nickie was the father of that child. During her absence, Nickie had undergone a medically monitored sex change and was now a beautiful woman. At least Alex Steward thought so since upon their first meeting, Nickie and Alex had been immediately attracted to each other. Beautiful love story? Not! There was an excessive amount of town-gown tension between Windfield students and local residents. There was sufficient history that was still remembered by residents, especially, Ambassador Eamon Douglass, of how the free-thinking liberal college had been started and the students who arrived in town were either ignored, hated or worse. As Nickie became involved in teaching, one particularly zealous journalism major started noticing and wondering about Nickie’s background and started to investigate. In many ways, her news article set off much that occurred, but it was hate and fear that fed the major events, which finally culminated in a terrorist plan to bomb the College! This book is about hope. Hope for a time when those who are different in some way are not automatically hated. There will always be evil people, but they cannot be stereotyped. They could be your neighbors or your supposed friends. As proclaimed several times in the book, “Hate destroys everything. Don’t let it destroy you.” Thank you Iolanthe Woulff for She’s My Dad—a highly recommended, truly remarkable book! G. A. Bixler

She's My Dad (Book) - 6/4/2010 5:32:40 AM
I just finished reading "She's my Dad" and have to say that for a first time novelist, Iolanthe Woulff has hit a home run. Everything you would want in a novel is spun out in 456 pages of suspense, romance, intrigue and the revealing truth about the human condition. The story centers around Nickie Farrell, who has returned to the college she graduated from twenty five years earlier, as a male. In the telling of this story we find characters that are created and made real, through meeting these individuals we love some, we hate others, and we understand the unique experience of traveling from one gender to another, all through this well crafted book. I recommend buying and reading "She's my Dad" you will love the journey, and something tells me that Lannie Woulff has many more stories for us in the future. Dan Johnson Author of "Lester Briggs Died Today"

She's My Dad (Book) - 5/22/2010 7:50:12 AM
For those who might be interested in reading a sample from my novel, please feel free to e-mail me (ladywoulff.aol.com) and I'll be happy to send you the first three chapters (35 pages) as a pdf. ~Lannie Woulff~

Broken Beauty (Poetry) - 12/4/2014 6:32:59 AM
A brilliantly composed poem love & peace be with you William

The Bug (Poetry) - 7/31/2013 9:01:02 AM
I like the way you were inspired by this event, and how you shared it with the reader. After reading La Vieja Loca, then this one, I found the same kind of empathy and identification with your "character" and, once again, I was able to empathize with the narrator. Axilea

La Vieja Loca (Poetry) - 7/31/2013 8:55:16 AM
I'm glad I discovered this lovely piece of writing and an intriguing character. Such an enjoyable and effective description. And, of course, I love the final line, because, guess what, "la Vieja Loca" could also be me. Axilea

Organized Religion (Poetry) - 3/17/2013 5:39:21 AM
Religion, as you so powerfully write, has always been a violent 'release' for society. We humans, as a species, seem to need that. Human condition, I think it is called. Thank you for framing it this way. With a new Pope expected to 'fix' everything, we need to be reminded of religion's history.

Lament for Eden (Poetry) - 7/29/2011 8:18:33 AM
You SHOULD have human pride. You ARE human and your poetry is quite interesting. This poem is very well said. rege schilken

A British Petroleum Afternoon (Poetry) - 7/30/2010 3:45:08 PM
Fine work, Lannie, this well-crafted contempt for greed, greed at the expense of all that's natural and innocent. Yes! John

A British Petroleum Afternoon (Poetry) - 7/29/2010 4:09:13 PM
What else can be said as you've said it all...ed

A British Petroleum Afternoon (Poetry) - 7/29/2010 4:01:35 PM
Lannie, right on! Cheers, Dan

A British Petroleum Afternoon (Poetry) - 7/29/2010 9:27:55 AM
You're so right Lannie! Nothing more to say! Well written piece. Peace, Dayvid

Mom-in-Law (Poetry) - 7/18/2010 6:15:42 AM
Lovely writing indeed..Hugss

Mom-in-Law (Poetry) - 7/17/2010 11:36:02 AM
I have a wonderful relationship with my daughter-in-law, and fair-to -terrific with the sons-in-law. That said, I LOVE this! It is very witty and has the possibility of being absolutely true in some cases. (pity them) It doesn't have to be an in-law, though; there are crabs in every state of life, very willing to be your example. And hey, you sure "got rhythm!" Connie

Organized Religion (Poetry) - 7/15/2010 10:41:49 AM
an awesome expression "Organized Religion" is truth...truth... and more truths...boogiepriest!! I Love That! in so many ways releasing oneself from anothers bar hold which is what religion is in sorts (aka: my way is the only way) makes waves in the family & generation(s) to rise above the confinement & permanence of it... Voodoo however gets a bad wrap if you ask me when actually it holds more core truth than any religion...Traditional Voodoo is healing elements & not meant to harm like its stigma quo in movies and horror flicks Religion can lead a positive direction too though as it did for myself but also the deeper voodoo spirit of my soul removed the prison bars that religion(s) curses upon the free will to explore another alter. Your words give such depths to ponder...as I do... Casting Spells With Sacred Wood & Stones... Vickie

Slough of Despond (Poetry) - 7/14/2010 6:41:06 AM
'and....' where else could you go, and what would you look for? Nice write. Cheers, Dan

Malibu Majesty (Poetry) - 7/14/2010 6:33:56 AM
I agree, just wait til nature tells her that it's time to go gray. Cheers, Dan

So Long, Mr. Hot Pants (Poetry) - 7/14/2010 6:10:58 AM
I smile...must be my eye for an eye attitude on nthis topic and my belief in Street Justice! Now if only we can beat his a**...with bare hands? surely...break some knee caps... oh...the wicked thoughts...but ultimately it would be nice...you know really nice to take any rapist especially child molesters & slice thier ---- off place it in thier mouth & then grab the all handy reliable duct tape... Oh...I like your poetic release Street Justice Never Sleeps... Vickie

Slough of Despond (Poetry) - 7/14/2010 5:56:25 AM
very interesting read with a groovin rhyme... Crick Ponds and Streaming Ravines Vickie

The Trophy Room (Poetry) - 7/14/2010 5:43:50 AM
It turns me that any man or woman thrive to kill life to show such a trophy. I myself love wild game stock from Mother Nature over store bought slaughter houses & I firmly believe if you won't eat it Don't Shoot It... of course I was raised if you kill it you better eat it... This expression dances with wonderful rhyming I am actually visualizing the SOB gettin trampled in an African Stampead from the circle of life... Through Visual Scopes... Vickie

Malibu Majesty (Poetry) - 7/12/2010 8:05:35 PM
...and we have a few of them here in Singapore, too, Lannie, totally boring, empty people...but worth a poem. Well said! John

Malibu Majesty (Poetry) - 7/12/2010 12:11:24 PM
Oh, yes! It does happen to all of us and then, in time, the surgery the Malibu Queen and those of her ilk have through the years will find the tautly stretched flesh of face does not quite match the wrinkles that cannot be removed about her throat, or the flesh that drops beneath her arms, or, in time, the thickning of the waist and the widening of the buttocks. Too bad, oh, Malibu Queen. Hearts bleeding for you? Nah, I think not. Mark

Malibu Majesty (Poetry) - 7/12/2010 11:28:51 AM
Oh, I've taught a few of these. . . it's the plain truth, Iolanthe.

Malibu Majesty (Poetry) - 7/12/2010 10:00:15 AM
So true, lolanthe; no one can escape life's inevitable conclusion; not even your "Royal Highness." Love and best wishes, Regis

Malibu Majesty (Poetry) - 7/12/2010 7:46:51 AM
They should blind men at birth, a nice place and poem though Malibu, been there once, I know. Blessings! Jasmin Horst

Lament for Eden (Poetry) - 7/11/2010 3:38:14 PM
Let it all go to hell, God will eventually take care of it, is one side of the argument, it's that perverse thinking that's going to do us all in, as it has already as you describe it almost all other precious creations of Mother Earth. In the end she is the only one that will take us all back, the only woman I ever really truly loved, I do and try of what our Sage is saying, but it seems other immoral things are always more pressing than this one, sadly we are fighting a fire with spit only, and only if we get enough of intelligent caring people supporting your view, might we hopefully win. All I could do is to instill the love of Gaia and the one who made her, into my children, and showing as much of an example as I could, soon they'll have to take charge, let me say I am glad they will find friends as you in that effort. I shall save your beautiful tribute to Life, all life, Love and blessings! Jasmin Horst

Lament for Eden (Poetry) - 7/11/2010 1:05:42 PM
YOUR ARGUEMENT IS VERY WELL TAKEN AND I UNDERSTAND AND I GUESS, 'IF' I DIDN'T KNOW THAT GOD IS STILL VERY MUCH IN CHARGE AND THAT ONE DAY EVERY THING WILL BE RENEWED, I'D FEEL THE SAME WAY. THANKS FOR SHARING AND GOD BLESS, LOVE, JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Lament for Eden (Poetry) - 7/11/2010 11:15:41 AM
The Chronicles of Imperil. How long Gaia's endangered species has depends on the courage of the people who protect them and the environment. The goodwill of the world, Lament for Eden is a cry for the world to help and the willingness of the rebel militia and greedy politicians to leave it all alone...getting through it is like descending from what was once earthly paradise and now into the outer gates of hell...a powerful preservation message, Lannie. Love, Sage

Lament for Eden (Poetry) - 7/11/2010 8:51:02 AM
Another extremely good write. Cheers, Dan

The Faithbug (Poetry) - 7/11/2010 5:52:46 AM
Very well penned, Iolanthe

The Faithbug (Poetry) - 7/10/2010 9:37:45 AM
Christianese as Dayvid puts it, is the farthest from Christianity I can think of, don't go preaching, but teaching by doing Christs work, they were not just words but example, theirs is only words, cheap at that. Right on! Jasmin Horst

The Faithbug (Poetry) - 7/10/2010 9:01:54 AM
YES! You really did capture the sentiments of those from the Faithbug Show! I too, tire of the religiosity of some folks. And the Christianese they speak. Peace, Dayvid

Rain of Toxic Terror (Poetry) - 7/9/2010 8:55:09 AM
Truly we seem determined to "do it to ourselves," lolanthe. A most apt and timely write from you. Thank you. Love and best wishes, Regis

Rain of Toxic Terror (Poetry) - 7/9/2010 8:11:36 AM
Yeah...pretty absurd! Thought provoking. We are all mutated in one way or another. Life as we used to know it doesn't exist anymore. Peace, Dayvid

Infertility's Child (Poetry) - 7/8/2010 9:15:06 AM
What a beautiful poem! Out of the struggle comes hope and hope brings love. Peace, Dayvid

Infertility's Child (Poetry) - 7/8/2010 8:18:45 AM
Love this!!!! Flowing, entertaining poem ~ Thanks to adoption I too have a little boy ~ Blessings, Christine

Infertility's Child (Poetry) - 7/8/2010 8:18:23 AM
A wonderful, wonderful accounting. Cheers, Dan

Chemical Appeal (Poetry) - 7/7/2010 5:38:35 AM
Who says we are not ruining this planet. If we can't take care of this one, how could we ever expect to take care of someplace in a far off galaxy? Cheers, Dan

ICUR12B Shallow (Poetry) - 7/6/2010 5:49:59 AM
Getting 10 free hours from AOL is like bragging that your Yugo is indistructable... Cheers from the side that got tired of people asking if the glass was 1/2 full or 1/2 empty...so to settle the argument, I made sure it was empty... I really am in a good mood 'cause I'm going to the casino in a little while. Dan

Pity Party (Poetry) - 7/4/2010 7:50:48 PM
And blame it on Rio, the thong's stuck in the crack giving it face value! Dr. Phil has a pair of cure-all tweezers to pluck the sand rim...Parody of today's what is reality TV blame it on Jeopardy, Pity Party the Daily Double...if there was a category for Iolanthe Woulff, I would run the board, I have studied well... Love, Sage

Pity Party (Poetry) - 7/4/2010 3:54:18 PM
well done

Pity Party (Poetry) - 7/4/2010 6:28:05 AM
And here all along I was thinking that I was doing good to have a few friends on FB, and btw, do people still watch daytime tv? Really a cute little write, right? Cheers and have a happy fourth, Dan

ICUR12B Shallow (Poetry) - 7/3/2010 8:27:04 PM
Identity theft I think not! This puts me in a thinker's pose, my elbow on my lap, my finger on my temple pointing to the sky...designer labels and plastic caviar American Express...pass me the drag queen's feather boa and I would be much happier...I drink my cold duck champagne from a dixie cup and recycle the plastic cork like a lesbian! And you won, Lannie! It's good...how are you on the blackjack tables? Love, Sage

ICUR12B Shallow (Poetry) - 7/3/2010 11:35:58 AM
I can see how you won. It's a great poem!

ICUR12B Shallow (Poetry) - 7/3/2010 10:47:01 AM
Damn! Only 10 free hours! That's worth at least a year! I remember AOL and DOS. I was mad when they went to a Windows format. Good poem Lannie. Peace, Dayvid

ICUR12B Shallow (Poetry) - 7/3/2010 10:21:56 AM
I DON'T KNOW WHY YOU CHANGED THE TENSE OF THE PERSON WITH YOUR LAST LINE BECAUSE...'I' NEVER DO THOSE THINGS YOU'RE TALKING ABOUT, I AM NOT HOLLOW, I AM NOT LIGHTWEIGHT, I AM NOT PUERILE, I AM NOT MENTAL TALLOW...I AM NOT SHALLOW, 'I'...'I'...''I...OH, MMMMMMM...I GUESS 'WE' ARE ALL GUILTY OF NOT STOPPING TO 'THINK'(SMILE). AN EXCELLENT WORK, LOLANTHE, AND THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING. LOVE AND BLESSINGS, JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Queer (Poetry) - 7/2/2010 3:42:59 PM
So true! The music in your poetry sings through your words. Loved it :)

The Insecticide Boogie (Poetry) - 7/1/2010 12:04:10 PM
I surely would not want to eat from that garden harvest If there was one... Mother has great insecticide with toads crickets Grasshoppers spiders & birds ect... A great offering to bring awareness further along Happy Sowing Vickiw

The Insecticide Boogie (Poetry) - 7/1/2010 7:29:58 AM
Somehow we just want to kill anything we don't like. Bugs, weeds, prisoners, enemies...and the list goes on. Let's just kill 'em! Good write Lannie Peace, Dayvid

Purple Pickles (Poetry) - 6/30/2010 6:44:12 PM
I love your creativity and your mastery of words, Lannie. Love and best wishes, Regis

Purple Pickles (Poetry) - 6/30/2010 8:10:39 AM
Innocence to sadness in three verses. . . wow.

Purple Pickles (Poetry) - 6/30/2010 6:26:16 AM
This reads like something from a Tim Burton movie... I like it! Cheers, Dan

Purple Pickles (Poetry) - 6/30/2010 6:01:18 AM
darrrrk...darrrk...sad and dark...food for thought while i wait for my 10:30 appointment with the guy buying up acreage on the south side of town...patmedlin

Small Town Visitor (Poetry) - 6/30/2010 5:54:37 AM
HAH!...GEEEZLOISE...HIZZZZZZTERICAL! as co director of the planning/development department ...(small town suburb of atlanta)...would love to see this published in the county's newspaper...marietta daily jpurnal (MDJ).... thanks for this delightful read...AM PRINTING IT OUT...FRAMING... MOUNTING ON MY DOOR!...'Warning!... Required Reading For All Visiting Developers' which makes me wonder....were/are you involved with planning/development of some municipality?

Nitwits (Poetry) - 6/29/2010 11:05:51 AM
Nitwits are everywhere and for that I am grateful. Free amusement and fodder for thoughts and writings. Patrick

Nitwits (Poetry) - 6/29/2010 8:33:45 AM
Isn't it the truth? The English spoken on the news is appalling and the scroll along the bottom has some "beauts" when it comes to spelling. I have to laugh or I'll have a breakdown.

Nitwits (Poetry) - 6/29/2010 8:02:58 AM
I read this twice, after the first reading I put it away for a while to let it settle in. After the second reading, I think the last verse struck me as saying, "Call 1-888- right now, or go online at 'am i crazy.com,'? to take our free test." Just rambling here while I wait for the meds to kick in. Cheers, Dan

The Trophy Room (Poetry) - 6/28/2010 12:59:37 PM
You have such a gift for rhyming environmental topics, Lannie...your poetry leaves a mark for conservation and preservation. I appreciate it. Be well. Love, Sage

The Trophy Room (Poetry) - 6/28/2010 10:50:27 AM
oh m' gosh! you and patrick granfors need to throw your stuff together....would be the most wonderfully entertaining book of reads....patmedlin....more more

The Trophy Room (Poetry) - 6/28/2010 10:01:32 AM
"Bang" on, Iolanthe. I could not agree more. I am often ashamed of being a human because of the manner in which we have treated the Earth and its creatures and natural resources etc. Thank you. Love and best wishes, Regis

The Pompous Political Pundit Show (Poetry) - 6/28/2010 3:25:40 AM
bulls-eye!

The Pompous Political Pundit Show (Poetry) - 6/27/2010 11:57:33 AM
i'm with eileen...your verses need to be put in every small town local newspaper...does every majpr city have bobble-head blondes paired with black babbling empty headed men...guess i'll get a racial discrimination whomp for this...but hey! i'm in atlanta

The Pompous Political Pundit Show (Poetry) - 6/27/2010 9:38:08 AM
I agree with Dan. Turn the bums OFF. Never buy a product that sponsors them. But you skewer them so well. . .I'd miss your verses if you gave them up cold turkey!

The Pompous Political Pundit Show (Poetry) - 6/27/2010 6:22:51 AM
Lannie, I would look forward to Sunday morning; my coffee, the talking heads on TV and me. After a while I would be so angry...I quit cold turkey, and now I feel fine. I know the world is still full of problems, big problems, but at least now I do not have to be told a bunch of crap. Whew, now I feel better...got to get back to the cartoons, at least I can make sense of that. Cheers, Dan

My American Dream (Poetry) - 6/27/2010 5:11:45 AM
yikes! great creatve visuals of truth....a good one thanks patmedlin

My American Dream (Poetry) - 6/26/2010 11:36:14 AM
This American Dream is really just props on a set. Behind the props (or the curtain) is the darkness of Corporation Greed. The dream is fast becoming This American Nightmare! Good words; Pointed and true. Peace, Dayvid

My American Dream (Poetry) - 6/26/2010 7:43:07 AM
it a shame that all of are killing the earth slowly and affecting peoples lives and livelihood's This is so well written and hit the proverbeial "nail on the head" Mary

My American Dream (Poetry) - 6/26/2010 6:49:49 AM
Imagion your angst if you lived in California and learned that many sub-divisions were built on or near land fills...really puts a new meaning to 'ticky-tacky houses.' Nice write. Cheers, Dan

Triumph of Platitude (Poetry) - 6/25/2010 12:00:02 PM
another great one!...i love your brain...patmedlin

Triumph of Platitude (Poetry) - 6/25/2010 8:41:06 AM
Oh so true. They commentate to the lowest common denominator. Thank heavens for authorsden!

Triumph of Platitude (Poetry) - 6/25/2010 6:51:21 AM
My sentiments exactly. Expressed very well. Peace, Dayvid

TV Anchors (Poetry) - 6/24/2010 9:02:30 PM
Lannie, the little bimbos, male and female, on our screens are just pawns...they read the soundbytes they've been given...yes, your poem makes a real and valid point, but look at the masters who own and run the tv stations, they're the ones calling the shots and misleading the lot of us for their own agendas. John

Pedanticus (Poetry) - 6/24/2010 9:13:10 AM
Thank you for sharing this meaningful wit, lolanthe. Love and peace to you, Regis

Pedanticus (Poetry) - 6/24/2010 8:15:13 AM
I love it too. I'm glad it's not about anyone I know (I think). Funny parody of those who feel the need to pontificate, a ghastly bloat indeed.

TV Anchors (Poetry) - 6/23/2010 10:44:55 AM
Ha! And they can't even pronounce transsexual! You're the one with the pretty smile, Lannie... Sage

TV Anchors (Poetry) - 6/23/2010 10:03:49 AM
Lannie, you need a verse for the 'foul weather freddie' the weather guy, and Bunkus McSnort who does sports. Great write. Cheers, Dan

TV Anchors (Poetry) - 6/23/2010 10:03:34 AM
I love this. It's too true. I go with PBS!

TV Anchors (Poetry) - 6/23/2010 8:33:44 AM
This is just adorable! It sends me back to being a girl watching The Mary Tyler Moore Show, is that bonkers? Namaste, Christine

TV Anchors (Poetry) - 6/23/2010 8:14:04 AM
Damn write! ...er...right! News isn't news anymore. It is only a "news show." Bring back the Cronkites! ...O well, I guess since I don't own a tv, I can't really complain. Peace, Dayvid

TV Anchors (Poetry) - 6/23/2010 8:02:42 AM
hizzzterical....my kinda poem....a keeper fosur iloveit!...patmedlin

Watch Where Y'Shoot (Poetry) - 6/23/2010 7:03:34 AM
This is a really fun piece Lannie! Vivid word pictures. Peace, Dayvid

Let's Cat Serious (Poetry) - 6/22/2010 5:54:54 PM
Delightfully clever, thank you for sharing your gifts, lolanthe. Love and peace, Regis

The Industrial Sludge Waltz (Poetry) - 6/22/2010 5:53:05 PM
A most apt, timely, and meaningful ranting waltz, lolanthe. I hear you loudly and clearly. Love and best wishes, Regis

Watch Where Y'Shoot (Poetry) - 6/22/2010 5:50:57 PM
Thank you for sharing your witty and humorous verses, lolanthe. Love and best wishes, Regis

Watch Where Y'Shoot (Poetry) - 6/22/2010 7:59:18 AM
thanks for a good chuckle lolanthe

The Industrial Sludge Waltz (Poetry) - 6/21/2010 5:07:30 PM
Quite a waltz, Lannie, but I'm not sure we need Strauss...more of a Ravel waltz to match your strength and vision. Fine work. John

The Industrial Sludge Waltz (Poetry) - 6/21/2010 3:43:40 PM
I get the rhythim and the message, but I heard a Delbert McClintock twang going on...at any rate message is the same it's damn shame we even have the problem. Cheers, Dan

Let's Cat Serious (Poetry) - 6/21/2010 6:37:32 AM
Quite funny...I have never thought of a cat as pragmatic, perhaps self-centered, ornery, single minded, contrarian at best, arrogant at worst, and I know I' m leaving something out, but for now, your poem has proven to be 'purrrfect.' Cheers, Dan

Let's Cat Serious (Poetry) - 6/20/2010 7:55:06 PM
That is just delightful Lannie! I don't really like cats (although I have to admit I've lived with quite a few) and this was a very fun piece! Peace, Dayvid

Let's Cat Serious (Poetry) - 6/20/2010 7:05:33 PM
Just like Basil, my cat. Laurel

Let's Cat Serious (Poetry) - 6/20/2010 10:00:08 AM
Fantastic writing! Not being familiar with THE AKOND OF SWAT, I can only gape, open-mouthed, at the style and complexity of this amazing poem. Connie

The Old Cat (Poetry) - 6/20/2010 9:57:29 AM
What? Old cats don't watch game shows and soaps? Well, I don't either! A very thoughtful poem; wisely, the old cat doesn't obsess over her stage of life. Welcome to Authors' Den! Connie

Egomaniatrix (Poetry) - 6/19/2010 8:12:06 PM
good one

Egomaniatrix (Poetry) - 6/19/2010 3:54:59 PM
...there's a lot of all of us in this, Lannie. Like your style here...and the honesty. John

Lust (Poetry) - 6/19/2010 3:09:12 PM
I lust. It's a part of my everyday routine...lusting libido is crucial to my personal inspiration to write...but, as you say, "don't throw your life away for Lust." Good poetry on one of the Seven Deadly Sins, Lannie. Warmly, Sage

Egomaniatrix (Poetry) - 6/19/2010 3:03:42 PM
Ego, if managed well can bring such positive outcomes...when one can manage alongside one's own creative endeavors also their peers interests and artistic talents, it's beneficial to everyone...It takes a healthy ego to survive in this writing business, and it is a business. It's survival of the fittest out here on the wild plains of the Serengeti! Jackal bites the hyena! Warmly, Sage

Song of the Multi-Nationalist (Poetry) - 6/19/2010 2:56:38 PM
Packed with global environmental knowledge and the extreme intelligence of one who knows the condition of our Mother Earth. You give back to our community in the way of wisdom, Lannie... Warmly, Sage

The Lady Upstairs (Poetry) - 6/19/2010 2:52:00 PM
A cut above, Lannie! The delivery in this piece is undeniably profound. Warmly, Sage

Egomaniatrix (Poetry) - 6/19/2010 8:45:33 AM
indeed the epitome of a jud mental ...

Egomaniatrix (Poetry) - 6/19/2010 7:08:22 AM
Me thinks there is a bit of all of us in that poem...nice write. Cheers, Dan

Song of the Multi-Nationalist (Poetry) - 6/18/2010 6:14:20 AM
You pretty much hit the nail on the head with this true life explanation on how we are killing ourselves and everything around us. Cheers, Dan

Lust (Poetry) - 6/18/2010 12:48:26 AM
Very good work, Iolanthe ! Age is no barrier....

The Lady Upstairs (Poetry) - 6/17/2010 12:00:03 PM
Nicely done, Lannie, nicely done. Cheers, Dan

The Lady Upstairs (Poetry) - 6/17/2010 11:12:42 AM
Good story Lannie. Sounds pretty much like MY God. And you sound a lot like ME. I pray I have enough love to go around for ALL those I don't like. Peace, Dayvid

Rat-Bit (Poetry) - 6/16/2010 4:35:52 PM
Rats! I've been bitten and barely survived a few times! Nice write! Peace, Dayvid

Rat-Bit (Poetry) - 6/16/2010 8:49:47 AM
Rats are phoebic of marriage and do bite, particularly two legged rats. It is however, currently illegal in all 50 states to break and skin one. Legislation is in pending on the discarding of tattered remains provided there are no witnesses:-) Patrick

Lust (Poetry) - 6/16/2010 8:29:05 AM
Understood. Very wise advice. I will pass that on to my peri-manopausal muse. Blessings, Christine

Lust (Poetry) - 6/15/2010 4:55:23 PM
Yeah, I hear ya! But I do so enjoy good lusting! Peace, Dayvid

Lust (Poetry) - 6/15/2010 7:48:33 AM
Lust can be all consuming and powerful, can I keep a smidge???lol Great advice and a poem worth keeping.. Much peace, love and light, Amber "V"

Lust (Poetry) - 6/15/2010 7:37:01 AM
Good advice... Cheers, Dan

Vanity Reflections (Poetry) - 6/14/2010 6:29:44 PM
So many (too many) parents living vicariously through their children. This poem makes me think of that poor 16-year old lost in the middle of the Indian Ocean; her father was planning on a TV reality show about her adventure. He should be charged with child neglect, she isn't of legal age or mature enough to make a decision to take on such a venture. Okay, off my soap box. Well written piect Iolanthe.

Lady of Perpetual Guilt (Poetry) - 6/14/2010 8:27:58 AM
From personal experience, I know you hit this one 'on the head.' Yet, I loved your ending, it is what makes us able to laugh and overcome that guilt we heap upon ourselves. Why do we do it? Who knows - perhaps it is a learned behavior. Yuck! A kindly word of advise - consider the source and look inside yourself to discover your true worth. God bless you, Kathy

Vanity Reflections (Poetry) - 6/14/2010 8:22:46 AM
Your words gripped and tugged at my heart. Daddy's Princess - a slave to his vanity. How sad. She should be remembering him with love not distaste. God bless you, Kathy

Vanity Reflections (Poetry) - 6/14/2010 7:43:41 AM
Wonderful writing and very well done ..nice to read you..stay safe and well..Hugsss

Vanity Reflections (Poetry) - 6/14/2010 7:05:23 AM
heartfelt and sad, it happens too often. Warmth, carin

Vanity Reflections (Poetry) - 6/14/2010 7:05:23 AM
That my dear is why we humans are allowed a wide learning curve, 'cause sure as hell we won't get it right the first time. Wonderful poem. Cheers, Dan

Lady of Perpetual Guilt (Poetry) - 6/12/2010 4:36:52 PM
I agree with Christine on this one, hoping you are through those tough thoughts. Cheers and peace, Dan

Lady of Perpetual Guilt (Poetry) - 6/12/2010 1:03:17 PM
Compelling! Poetry is a great release, and this was an energetic ride~ Blessings, Christine

Calming Waters (Poetry) - 6/12/2010 8:58:32 AM
A ha! Relative insignificance is an intimate friend, yet I have to keep re-opening the door as well. This is a wonderful poem of such wisdom~ Blessings, Christine

Calming Waters (Poetry) - 6/12/2010 1:44:25 AM
VERY NICE!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Dust Catcher (Poetry) - 6/11/2010 12:26:39 PM
I love the emotions here, loss of any kind, can be overwhelming. I treasure everyone of my keepsakes and can't bare to let them go. I broke one of my porcelain figurines, and use the pieces as drainage in my favorite plant. Warmth and Love to you, Carin'

Calming Waters (Poetry) - 6/10/2010 4:54:35 PM
"...to rediscover the serenity of relative insignificance"...yes, that's the ticket...and the mantra of the Stoic, and the core of thoughtful retreat and contemplation, Lannie. John

Calming Waters (Poetry) - 6/10/2010 9:39:11 AM
Beautiful word choice from beginning to end. Cheers, Dan

Lunar Eclipse (Poetry) - 6/9/2010 6:02:53 AM
It is mind boggling to try to comprehend these things, the mechanics, but it is fun to try... Cheers, Dan

The Boy In The Old Photo (Poetry) - 6/8/2010 10:49:21 PM
Sad. A tragic story with a touching end. My all th elittle children who have died too soon put in a good word for us.

The Boy In The Old Photo (Poetry) - 6/8/2010 2:57:53 PM
Lannie, this is such a sad story, thank you for sharing that most intimate part of your life. Cheers, Dan

The Boy In The Old Photo (Poetry) - 6/8/2010 2:27:09 PM
Beautifully written....I hate to hear of your loss....I have lost many friends at en early age so I can relate....They say time heals all wounds and I sure hope it heals yours Love and Solidarity Brook

Lunar Eclipse (Poetry) - 6/8/2010 10:53:53 AM
Nice write! I like your reference to "celestial mechanics." Machines don't last forever, so why would this one? I like this a lot! Peace, Dayvid

Lunar Eclipse (Poetry) - 6/8/2010 12:58:59 AM
You have captured the feeling of awe

Lunar Eclipse (Poetry) - 6/7/2010 10:26:12 PM
thought provoking read

Bulldozer, Bulldozer (Poetry) - 6/7/2010 6:07:35 PM
Wonderful poem! It's so ironically light and clever, mocking, and beneath the words there is such a haunting of sorrow. Christine

The Web (Poetry) - 6/7/2010 6:32:33 AM
Iolanthe, You have written a delicately descriptive poem. This is absolutely stunning to read and imagine in my mind. Lovely work! Much peace, love and light, Amber "V"

Bulldozer, Bulldozer (Poetry) - 6/7/2010 6:05:18 AM
Now this is funny, while reading your poem, listening to my music, the next song on the list was..."Shake Your Money Maker" Okay, just thought it was funny. Cheers, Dan

Dragon Iconoclast (Poetry) - 6/7/2010 2:00:39 AM
Powerfully written !

Dragon Iconoclast (Poetry) - 6/6/2010 3:21:41 PM
Ye-es! Great writing! I love the metaphors! Peace, Dayvid

The Callous Sophisticate (Poetry) - 6/5/2010 12:15:33 AM
Very well written, Iolanthe

The Bug (Poetry) - 6/3/2010 8:07:15 PM
I can surely relate... Be always safe, Karen

The Bug (Poetry) - 6/3/2010 10:17:50 AM
A wonderful life lesson for your daughter...lucky you. Cheers, Dan

The Bug (Poetry) - 6/3/2010 7:48:20 AM
Well done!

La Vieja Loca (Poetry) - 6/2/2010 1:54:55 PM
Lannie, I think many people in todays culture would just as soon not want to meet La Vieja Loca, because they, like you, may see the same reflection. Damn good writing. Cheers, Dan

La Vieja Loca (Poetry) - 6/1/2010 7:45:37 PM
Very nice! Reminds me of a house in my neighborhood as I was growing up. Welcome to the Author's Den! Peace, Dayvid

Queer (Poetry) - 5/31/2010 4:14:50 PM
Right on the nail... John

Lost Days Of Summer (Poetry) - 5/30/2010 4:32:07 PM
I know, if only time could shift back and forth, allowing us to appreciate more and more the fragile dreams of today. Very beautiful, sensual poem. Blessings, Christine

Lost Days Of Summer (Poetry) - 5/30/2010 9:39:37 AM
Lannie, what we have here is a poignant piece of writing. Cheers, Dan

Queer (Poetry) - 5/29/2010 2:21:20 PM
Poetry spiked with Flavor! Sage

Queer (Poetry) - 5/29/2010 11:59:29 AM
Perfect, perfect piece! I absolutely love it!!! <3

Queer (Poetry) - 5/29/2010 7:00:22 AM
For a country that says all men & women are equal, yes your subject matter is very queer...ah for the hopefully not so distant future when living in a closet is NOT a good thing...ed

Queer (Poetry) - 5/29/2010 6:57:51 AM
Well I would love to have tea with you! I think judgment is just awful. I have felt it aimed at me all my life, just for having a very open personality. People are so cruel. Your poem is wonderful. Christine

Queer (Poetry) - 5/29/2010 6:54:53 AM
Yes, pour me a little tea. And yes, there is something a little "queer" going on. Good write. Peace, Dayvid

Queer (Poetry) - 5/29/2010 6:51:25 AM
And your writing is vividly clear. Cheers, Dan

The Old Cat (Poetry) - 5/28/2010 9:08:06 AM
Lannie, this is a great metaphor for all of our lives...Well done! Cheers, Dan

The Old Cat (Poetry) - 5/28/2010 8:02:08 AM
Gorgeous poem! (Although I don't believe we can ever be old cats to those that love us. My father is in heart surgery at this moment, and I await a call. Although 87, in my heart he is a most playful kitten. Blessings, Christine

The Old Cat (Poetry) - 5/28/2010 6:59:15 AM
We all eventually become "old cats", what else can we do, its the way of life & death...e

On the Waterfront... Redux (Poetry) - 5/27/2010 6:05:41 PM
Okay, you're amazing. The last stanza is my favorite, I love that about setting sail in a sieve. Fabulous editorial to boot! Blessings, Christine

Broken Beauty (Poetry) - 5/27/2010 4:00:15 PM
This is painted with moving detail and conviction of feeling and spirit, Iolanthe...and with true compassion. John

Broken Beauty (Poetry) - 5/27/2010 9:00:37 AM
I am one complacent, motile fool...this is so beautifully written. What a wonderful check-in with gratitude, Christine

Broken Beauty (Poetry) - 5/27/2010 8:06:14 AM
Taking that step was a huge moment, for the both of you. You've walked it in your mind all of these years, it had quite an impact and lasting impression on you...I know you've taken many brave steps so the rest of us can be who we are free of shame, Lannie...have a great weekend! Love, Sage

Broken Beauty (Poetry) - 5/27/2010 8:00:37 AM
LW, This is a stunning poem! Each word felt deeply within my caring soul..So richly full of imagery and well thought out verses. I am so glad I found your page..I welcome you to the den and hope to read more of your beautiful works. Much peace, love and light, Amber "V"

Broken Beauty (Poetry) - 5/27/2010 7:11:52 AM
When we think the world has crashed at our feet, we look up and someone is rising like a phoenix, from the ashes. Your poem is well said. Cheers, Dan

Poetic License (Poetry) - 5/25/2010 10:36:08 AM
Exactly! Let's explore Poetic License, Lannie, shan't we? Why Shakespeare is still popular, bards and bardesses, expel Satan, he who curdles milk and sours beer! tossing my ale hither, an affirmation of Truth made upon untarnished purity, "By My Trowth" to swear by one's honesty, stitching together attributes of my victim and my perpetrator, one in the same, Elizabethan insult, an ale-soused apple john, By My Trowth, Thy vile canker-blossom'd countenance curdles milk and sours beer, By My Trowth, I place a pox upon thee, thou dost make the millstone seem as a feather what widst thy lard-bloated footfall, Here's the company, the slavey, the drayer, the brewer, the daughter, the barrel, the half barrel, gallon, the half gallon, quart pot, pint pot, half a pint, gill pot, half a gill, quarter gill, nipperkin, and the brown bowl, give me the punchladle, I'll fathom the bowl, some say that the firebrand knows the use of her cucumber. I raise my silver tankard and down it goes, brew a bold cathartic batch, I roasted brown barley, no ale is its match two weeks to ferment, two more in the kegs! Copyright Ms. Sage Sweetwater, firebrand lesbian novelist

Poetic License (Poetry) - 5/25/2010 7:14:42 AM
anja did a damn gud jb o' exotatating... (my version of phonetic fusion rap.) Cheers, Dan

Seafood Futures (Poetry) - 5/24/2010 3:28:23 PM
You have the touch, Iolanthe! Can I try 'Filet of Flounder Fluorine'...not too keen on the mussels but very keen on the poem. John

Seafood Futures (Poetry) - 5/24/2010 3:14:51 PM
Love It!

Seafood Futures (Poetry) - 5/24/2010 12:30:15 PM
Interesting pereption... Be always safe, Karen

Seafood Futures (Poetry) - 5/24/2010 10:03:16 AM
Poetic Insurance Premium glows in the dark, Lannie! Good one... Sage

Seafood Futures (Poetry) - 5/24/2010 9:31:40 AM
Quite catchy, enjoyed. Cheers, Dan

On the Waterfront... Redux (Poetry) - 5/23/2010 9:11:01 PM
Love it! My kind of humor infused with musical and poetic classics. Ultimate fools we are. Patrick

On the Waterfront... Redux (Poetry) - 5/23/2010 2:48:46 PM
Smart and funny and sad, Iolanthe, and unfortunately very apt. John

On the Waterfront... Redux (Poetry) - 5/23/2010 12:06:43 PM
Quite timely, and sadly, very true. Clever little you. Cheers, Dan

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.