AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Denise Nowakowski, iJohn Herlihy, iLinda Alexander, iSafi aifas32@gmail.com, iWilliam Bonilla, iGerald Grantham, iVaughn Aiken, i
 
Home > Mr. Ed
 

Recent Reviews for Mr. Ed


My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 6/15/2014 5:38:46 PM
Congratulations on your book. Dogs are wonderful. No other animal has descended so unscathed from the world's first falling.

Curious Creatures - Wondrous Waifs, My Life with Animals (Book) - 10/22/2012 1:05:29 PM
Hello Ed, From one fellow animal lover to another, I was wondering if you had a website set up to establish a network of animal lovers? As well as having reviews for your works, it might be useful to get a network of helpers to 'adopt', 'sponsor' and 'help' any of the abused and neglected animals that you become aware of. May I step forward first for Manchester area in the U.K. I have two pet cockatiels and am particularly open to helping any birds that need a helping hand. I love dogs enormously, but cannot currently be fair in taking one in due to personal circumstances and a cat is out of the question due to my birds. Warmest Regards and best wishes on the success of your book, Lisa Worrall

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/25/2012 8:52:41 PM
I can't wait to read this! I lost my sweet angel about two years ago and miss him terribly...hugs

Where The Redwing Sings (Book) - 5/23/2011 8:18:54 AM
Oh Ed, you are right! They are gorgeous!! I could watch birds all day, they entertain better than anything man has made. Thank you for pointing me to this. Just awesome. Is there a picture in there that shows them looking down on the wings? I would love to have the use of it with your permission of course and a literary kudos for letting me use it. I am soooo happy you showed me this beautiful bird. Thank you!!!

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 5/12/2011 4:45:18 AM
The book was awesome. I don't have a dog but I am sure I will get one after reading the book. I like the fact that individuals have presented their experiences because that means its all real. A must for all dog lovers!!! Ravi Prakash

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/22/2010 10:55:14 AM
sounds a compelling read!!

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/17/2010 9:57:29 PM
Good for you sir! Patrick

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/17/2010 5:40:29 AM
Amen PEEWEE - Amen! Good Luck with your new book! tom.

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/13/2010 3:12:31 PM
Love this cover Ed and will have to get this book!

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/13/2010 5:51:16 AM
Gee, why am I not surprised that it would be about a dog. All kidding aside. Contratulations. God bless, Lew

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/13/2010 3:46:44 AM
Ed, Congradulations

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/12/2010 9:55:54 AM
sounds awesome-congrats

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/12/2010 8:48:18 AM
Ed, This book sounds dog-gone good. Cheers, Dan

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/12/2010 8:17:19 AM
CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU, MR. ED! IT SOUNDS LIKE A BEST SELLER TO ME! Hugs & Blessings, Granny :)

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/12/2010 8:06:10 AM
I am SO looking forward to reading this, as I have been for all your books, Ed...I hope this one becomes the best seller it is deserved to be...ed

Where The Redwing Sings (Book) - 1/26/2010 8:21:06 PM
Ed- Your book sounds IMPORTANT!, As all of GOD'S CREATURES are! This is Exciting News and I am sure that it will bring happiness, Wisdom and inspiration to those that read it! CONGRATULATIONS!!! AGAIN! I Thought I read this but, I almost missed it! Thank you for sharing your BIG Knowing Heart! Blessings of PEACE and HARMONY, SOULFUL_PurplePassionsSHEEoxxo

Mystery of Madera Canyon (Book) - 10/9/2009 8:25:07 PM
I received a copy of " Mystery of Madera Canyon." As I began to read, I noticed in the authors writing, a passion for nature and history. My eight year old son loved the character Bony and the mystery of the story. The design of the book is very attractive and welcomes the reader. My wife took the time to read the book and loved it, she did not put it down until complete. As a published author of three books, it is my opinion that "Mystery of Madera Canyon" is a wonderful book for any age. A very good work.

Gold River Canyon (Book) - 9/21/2009 10:00:10 PM
I was a State Law Enforcement Officer for Twenty years before becoming a writer. Jacob Golden "20 years as a lawman; I must read this book:-) It seems a great work!!!

Where The Redwing Sings (Book) - 6/16/2008 8:06:05 AM
I've been planning to buy this one for my summer reading since I belatedly discovered it a month ago. Now I have to await until I get to my sisiter's in Vermont where I will order it for my summer porch reading. I once read "A Sand Country Almanac" back in the 1970's by Aldo Leopold. I think you live in Wisconsin or go there a lot and this may be the 21st century poetic update to that book. (it's poetry isn't it?) Whatever though there may be some painful realities, I'm hoping to re-connect with my ecological roots as a naturalist... We'll see. And yes I too blame "greedy" cooperations for much. But who's mirror is that we're looking into? That of greedy American citizens who until gas peaked at $4 a gallon thought SUVs were just dandy. Now we must trim our boat when we should've done it voluntarily to save all life. Luckily, I've always driven economy cars (read: Honda civic) But Looking forward to it... later, michael guy

Where The Redwing Sings (Book) - 4/3/2008 3:16:38 AM
Where the Redwing Sings is a spiritual hike through the great American nature scene, its struggling remainders, the ghosts of its former glory, and the fading promise of its dubious future. A nature lover can’t read this book without both feeling a lump in the throat and rejoicing in its splendid prose and poetry. These scintillating literary snippets and cuttings are either collected from nature loving giants of the past or are convincingly invented by Ed Kostro. He also gathers an impressive array of data facts, and then artistically narrates this wondrous perambulation through the fascinating world of earth’s pressured non-human denizens. The back cover copy reads: “A book of nature inspired poems and essays, written from the heart and soul of a life-long nature, animal, and wilderness lover, and dedicated to today’s children. The words and thoughts expressed in this book reflect both an ardent love of our natural world, and a profound sadness at its modern day demise.” … Ed Kostro has been featured in Catholic Digest, Chicken Soup for the Dog Lover’s Soul, Cats Do It Better Than People, The Almanac for Farmers & City Folk, Pets: Part of the Family, and Pet’s Life. He has now published six books, including Curious Creatures-Wondrous Waifs, My Life With Animals (awarded a Certificate of Excellence in the 2004 International Cat Writer’s Association Communications Contest), and Through Katrina’s Eyes, Poems From an Animal Rescuer’s Soul (2006 Merial Corporation Human-Animal Bond Award). Along with Ed, I cry at the wanton losses occurring at every turn in the natural world. This book in many ways encapsulates the conscience of naturalists and naturalism. But as wonderful an impression as this little book made on me, I do have one critical complaint — the same that I have with many, if not most, of my fellow nature enthusiasts. I’m not sure I would entirely blame “greedy corporations” for the decline of the natural world. I think we have to look to the sources of their business to find the real culprits. But that is the subject for a different article. With this critique stated, let me urge the reader to acquire Where the Redwing SIngs and enjoy its haunting beauty for a nature guided emotional experience. I give it four and a half stars. © 2008 R. Leland Waldrip

Where The Redwing Sings (Book) - 3/4/2008 7:24:38 PM
Our wonderful wilderness is brought to life in Ed's latest book: WHERE THE REDWING SINGS With his poetry and prose graciously melded into each chapter, Ed Kostro is able to transport us to the various and beautiful locales of blissful peace: our wetlands, forests, lakes, mountains, and wilderness. His Introduction alone will, hopefully, startle the reader's mind with awakening. At a time when the world seems more intent on desecrating our Earth than on saving its creation, this author brings forth sound reasoning of duty by all mankind to preserve our gracious gifts. From the beginning "Where the Redwing Sings", attending "The Cathedral in the Pines", through "Thoughts of Hiawatha I and II, and "Cries in the Night", you will be mesmerized by the author's understanding of our natural habitats, the creatures large and small, and our winged wonders. A conscience-awakening book that is a must to be owned, read, and shared with children and grandchildren. What're you waiting for?

Where The Redwing Sings (Book) - 3/2/2008 7:27:11 AM
your dedication is perfect as it will be today's children who will become responsible for these creatures as well as the planet in general--may your book help them to care

Where The Redwing Sings (Book) - 3/2/2008 5:16:50 AM
I am excited to read your book,, It is a blessing to have your words of wisdom and inspirations of Nature and all Creatures passed on to your readers..and I am a big fan. Congrats!!! :)Christine

Where The Redwing Sings (Book) - 3/1/2008 10:26:09 AM
Best we sing about Natures wonders when we still have a few left. Congratulations with your new book, and like Jersey said, "wannareadit" Georg

Where The Redwing Sings (Book) - 3/1/2008 9:37:15 AM
Wanna read it, wanna read it...ed

Pigs, Turtles, and Bugs! (Short Story) - 5/12/2015 6:01:58 AM
Enjoyed being at camp with you Mr Ed thanks for taking us along!

Pigs, Turtles, and Bugs! (Short Story) - 5/8/2015 3:45:14 AM
Fine stories-Our Boys (and now Girls) Club was important to me, too. I got to see Ted Williams' back in a Spring Training game as I hung on the fence 'til my hands were numb, it was my introduction to civilization-but yeh, its the bugs, isn't it?

Fishing With A Friend (Short Story) - 4/29/2015 3:43:02 AM
Made me want to go fishing Ed I enjoyed it!

The Easter Skunk (Short Story) - 3/30/2015 8:18:55 AM
PeeWee... as usual ... Mother Nature does a better job at caring & protection!

The Dog At The Drive-Thru Window (Short Story) - 2/4/2015 8:22:00 AM
I'm amazed at what you have to go through to save a single dog… Hours of waiting and struggle once you have captured one. Border collies are very intelligent so she will probably become someone's special helper. Ron

Home For The Holidays (Short Story) - 12/5/2014 9:04:48 AM
You certainly did surprise me at the end. And I think the way that you usually write, a dog would come to mind before a cat. I was wondering when you wrote why Oliver didn't mention his coat in the snow and whether he was thirsty or hungry or not. A good story for young people everywhere, especially at Christmas. Ron

Home For The Holidays (Short Story) - 12/5/2014 7:33:51 AM
At first I though Oliver was a dog, but as the story progressed I thought it to be a little boy, then to come to find out what it really was, I wasn't shocked and enjoyed the rest of the story...by the way that yellow eyed beast in the woods was probably the Jersey Devil, I, er uh, HE certainly does get around...-e-

A Survivor's Tale (Short Story) - 9/13/2014 5:38:45 PM
lovely read of determination and grit

A Survivor's Tale (Short Story) - 8/28/2014 9:09:49 AM
Happy for Junior, unhappy for his mom & dad, as they are hit with a tremendous vet bill, I'm sure...take good care of him, he sounds like a great guy, unlike his daddy who is such a pain in the a.. -e-

A Survivor's Tale (Short Story) - 8/28/2014 5:22:44 AM
Are you sure that Junior isn't a cat? He sure seems to be well on his way through his nine lives. What a wonderful story of survival. Of course none of it would've been possible without the intervention you provided every time to save his life. In the wild, he would have died, and perhaps be eaten by other carnivores. Survival of the fittest has created impressive natural survivors and kept their populations under control. Our intervention by saving those that would normally not survive and allowing them to breed certainly weakens the gene pool of the canine population. The fact that so many of those pets could not survive, like humans, in a post-Katrina New Orleans, teaches us something about what we are doing to our survival chances in a real disaster that may come any time in the future. Are we prepared to eat our dogs like the Native Americans did to survive long winter? If not, wolves, coyotes and foxes will probably outlive us. Ron

Pigs, Turtles, and Bugs! (Short Story) - 6/26/2014 7:05:33 AM
Your memory, even of conversation, is quite good. City kid becomes naturalist… It's a bit uncommon these days. Although I spent my first six years in the country and my grandfather, nearby grew up in a log cabin and had to ford the river to get to town, I didn't go to camp until we were in the city when I was about eight years old. It was a day camp. I don't remember much except the sour milk, swimming in a cold, small swimming hole on a creek, and slamming my thumb in the car door on the last day of camp. Much better camping experiences were with the Boy Scouts at their northern camp near Tomahawk and later at Camp Chicagami near Amherst. My brother and I could only go one week a year. But we always found plenty of wildlife to learn about and go back to the World Book Encyclopedia to look up after finding something. The highlights of my scouting career was a week I spent at the Explorer base on the Flambeau River near Phillips, and a year later, when I was 16, a weeklong wilderness canoe trip of 100 miles in the Boundary Waters, where I learned survival skills. Ron

Pigs, Turtles, and Bugs! (Short Story) - 6/26/2014 5:50:24 AM
lovely read, enjoyed your interesting tale

Pigs, Turtles, and Bugs! (Short Story) - 6/26/2014 4:33:06 AM
A fascinating and enchanting read that is truly a children's adventure all rolled up in one! I usually speed-read but this one I slowly savored and much enjoyed. I recall as a young boy in living in NYC I who would go to the Catskill mountains every summer. Now I live in Florida and I miss the lightning bugs and the Japanese beetles. Crazy! Yes, I visited the camp with second largest pool in NY state (at the time) all over again and my it did not look so big anymore! After I joined the Air Force we would occasionally go on trips and sleep in tents. For those trips I was the first to volunteer! Some of my friends would complain about the conditions as I would relish at the clear blue sky and the chirping of the crickets. Recently my wife and I just came back from our first RV trip ever! I was tempted to take a tent and sleep outside just to recall those times but my wife would not have it. Perhaps if I snore loud enough I will be thrown to the wilderness of the wolves once again. HA! Maybe next year! Thank you Ed for a GREAT write! John Michael

Pigs, Turtles, and Bugs! (Short Story) - 6/26/2014 3:07:41 AM
That was so wonderful , i enjoyed it so much, almost saw it thru my eyes.I like outdoors and my husband is just the opposite . He is a bookworm but we stay near the seashore so i get enough of the sea and its ramblings, but for camping I would like to go only if I know how to roll on to mother nature. I love swimming like an animal, my kids tease me but that's how I like to swim Thank you for this Ed JK

Gentle Cemetery Dog Finally Safe (Short Story) - 6/1/2014 6:31:17 AM
Persistence pays off! Sure glad that she was saved. Looks like she was in danger from the cold and from cars all the time. Ron

Gentle Cemetery Dog Finally Safe (Short Story) - 5/30/2014 4:41:09 PM
Sweet dog! I'm glad she was rescued! Sandie

Gentle Cemetery Dog Finally Safe (Short Story) - 5/30/2014 12:13:13 PM
Wonderful news!!

Freezing, Starving, and Scared (Short Story) - 2/18/2014 2:09:12 AM
Another heart-wrenching story that once again leaves me at a total loss and doubt, as to how I can possibly be of the same species as the people who let these things happen. This week, I found two dogs huddled together in an old abandoned cowshed. They were soaked to skin and terribly thin. Neither had any ID - It makes me so angry. Rx

Freezing, Starving, and Scared (Short Story) - 2/17/2014 7:26:59 AM
another fine write you have given us budd

Freezing, Starving, and Scared (Short Story) - 2/17/2014 6:51:12 AM
I read this before. Ron

A Home For The Holidays (Short Story) - 12/28/2013 10:19:12 AM
Read this story before, but it still a great compassionate Christmas gift that you give these dogs abandoned, starving, and cold. Ron

A Home For The Holidays (Short Story) - 12/28/2013 6:05:54 AM
you are such an angel of mercy to so very many budd

A Home For The Holidays (Short Story) - 12/28/2013 4:22:12 AM
So much sadness and too many tragic waifs and strays - How can our race function when so many are so ugly,cruel and/or downright selfish. There are simply not enough like you, Ed... but Thank God there are a few.

The Dog Who Rescued Other Dogs (Short Story) - 10/13/2013 1:30:28 AM
critters often show more compassion for one another than we do for critters or humans m

Scruffy's Resurrection (Short Story) - 10/13/2013 1:28:34 AM
shelter, rescue, critters always become such great additions to the household. enjoyed the read

June is 'Adopt A Cat Month' (Article) - 6/7/2015 2:33:06 PM
Already have three saved cats... Always, Deborah

June is 'Adopt A Cat Month' (Article) - 6/3/2015 7:28:45 AM
My next-door neighbors' love for cats is enough for me. I see them all the time in my backyard stalking birds. If there is an Armageddon or if society breaks down, I believe the common house cat will survive because they have very good inmate hunting capabilities and seem to be able to adapt to many environments quite well. In those dystopian scenarios, mice, rats, cockroaches, and small birds… All cat food, abound. that is, unless humans eat them first. Ron

June is 'Adopt A Cat Month' (Article) - 6/2/2015 5:53:11 AM
Living here in a "no pets allowed" complex, there have been two stray cats Danae and I befriended, quasi adopted, and gave food to outside our apartment. Unfortunately, one day they just disappeared, vanished after a landlord became disgruntled that they were disturbing his disposition...he claimed he hated cats and didn't want them encouraged to haunt his property. That was, of course, until a lady friend of his moved in with a gray Siamese, who now enjoys the comforts of a duplicitous landlord whose double standard will probably cause even more unsuspecting pets to disappear. Adopting here is not going to happen, so I will have to be supportive in "spirit."

I Am a Dog, Not a Thing (Article) - 4/27/2015 5:00:11 AM
A very fine representation of what a dog might think about its human companions. Ron

Ghost Dog Rescued From Hot Dog Stand (Article) - 2/25/2015 6:52:39 AM
Another great rescue story that I read earlier from the website. She knew where the meat was! Unfortunately, she probably would have died eating that kind of meat very long. ;-) Ron

February is 'National Spay/Neuter Awareness' Month (Article) - 2/3/2015 11:57:00 AM
A another great article with very important advice. Others should be commenting from their perspective. We humans seem to treat our own population similar to our pets. We are very happy with unbridled procreation, and then don't take care of ourselves very well… Often kicking the unwanted to the side… Letting "charity" take care of them… Warehousing them in prison… Or worse, letting them die in the street. Ron

The 2014 Home 4 The Holidays Campaign (Article) - 11/20/2014 7:42:17 AM
Everyone thinks that they are the perfect pet raiser when they spot that "doggie in the window." But that puppy becomes old when it starts chewing everything in sight and is not properly trained to poop and pee outdoors. Before long, that cute little puppy is rejected and dropped somewhere somewhere in the streets. Home for the Holidays is a much better solution for everyone involved. Thanks for sharing with us another way of approaching holiday giving that is more than just giving… It's about saving the life of a poor homeless dog or cat. Ron

The 2014 Home 4 The Holidays Campaign (Article) - 11/19/2014 8:45:14 AM
another fine article by you, thank you

Saving Our Canine Vets, This Veterans Day (Article) - 11/10/2014 7:46:56 AM
A truly worthwhile and good cause. Thanks for telling the world about it. Hopefully, the need for these dogs in warfare will end with warfare and we will be able to use these dogs and other endeavors, like rescue and recovery. Ron

November is 'Adopt-A-Senior-Pet' Month (Article) - 11/2/2014 4:11:40 PM
Thanks for highlighting the joy of having a pet who is already experience in sharing love with its owner. This is very informative about the availability of pets in this category. I am glad to know that there is a Adopt-a-Senior Pet Month and can share with people in my circle. Good article.

November is 'Adopt-A-Senior-Pet' Month (Article) - 11/1/2014 12:18:15 PM
From babies to pets, most people think that by getting an infant that they will be able to train it "in their own image." It's a kind of self-serving attitude that usually doesn't work, knowing what I know about adopted children and people who find their cute little puppies and kittens turn into an incorrigible nightmares… All because they are very bad parents. I was the recipient of one of those incorrigible little devils, who quickly found out that I was the kind of buddy that he could count on. I gave him the kind of freedom that he needed (running free both in the house and in the yard and food and water ready for him anytime he wanted to eat or drink, like at 2 am when I was asleep). That suited him fine and he was loyal and helpful to the end. Ron

November is 'Adopt-A-Senior-Pet' Month (Article) - 11/1/2014 3:07:55 AM
excellent reminder, timely and needed. our abandoned, rescues, taken in, came for supper and stayed for the duration have been all ages when they arrive from barely weaned to elderly, all have provided us with much enjoyment and I weep as each becomes elderly, or more so in some cases, and finally we say goodbye. Georgina was born here in the storehouse years ago, to a wandering needs a home, and per the cat age calculator measured 97 years when she trekked the rainbow bridge late on Thursday. Georgie's mom, Lulu soldiers on, she has 2 more of her little girls, also 97 per the calculator, to care for before her work is done apparently.

National Pit Bull Awareness Day (Article) - 10/30/2014 5:33:48 AM
Wonderful dogs and like children, a product of teaching. I've had several out here in the boonies. Thank you for speaking up for them.

National Pit Bull Awareness Day (Article) - 10/24/2014 7:02:41 AM
One weekend while teaching at a local college I returned to my parents' home and helped my younger twin brothers build a doghouse for their dog. He was a medium-sized brown, shorthaired guy with intelligence from his mother who was a stray that my mother took in to keep from freezing in 20 below zero midwinter. Anyway, when we finished the doghouse, Tom wrote his name on a little piece of wood and nailed it over the doorway. The handsome dog house matched the garage and house perfectly with the same siding and shingles on the roof. Tom wrote, "Pete," on the sign. That was the first time I saw the dog's name, but didn't ask why they picked such a name for their dog. I thought it was strange, but didn't question their choice of a name. Sometime later, after watching reruns of my favorite afternoon show during my teenage years, Our Gang, I suddenly realized that the pit bull in those serials with the ring around his eye was also named Pete--where my brothers got the name! One of Pete's interesting activities was to run out to the corner on the county road in front of the house and greet the cat coming back from a hunting trip. After touching noses, he would escort the cat back along the road, home. Pete recovered from being hit by cars couple of times and that doghouse. Finally, one day he came home shot. He crawled into that doghouse and, in spite of my brothers' best efforts, he died there. Ron

Keep Your Pets Safe This Halloween (Article) - 10/22/2014 10:25:54 AM
Great tips, many of which I did not know. I would also caution that black cats seem to be targets of teenage abuse during Halloween. I would advise anyone with a black cat to keep it indoors and out of harms way until after the holiday is over. Ron

October is 'Adopt-A-Dog' Month (Article) - 10/17/2014 4:45:52 PM
Bless you for spreading the word. We have one more trip and then 2 months at home which should allow us to bring home another dog to love and be a part of our loving family. Big or little--we will want them all, but we should add only 1.

October is 'Adopt-A-Dog' Month (Article) - 10/1/2014 2:54:02 PM
I pray to be alive to see the day when people are waiting ON LINE to have the privilege to adapt a pet. Wouldn't that be wonderful! Amen

Pet Theft Is On The Rise (Article) - 9/14/2014 8:35:35 AM
excellent, and sadly necessary information

Pet Theft Is On The Rise (Article) - 9/13/2014 8:49:36 AM
Great information and advice. Pedigree owners beware. I adopt a mutt and rest easy. Ron

Pet Theft Is On The Rise (Article) - 9/13/2014 3:01:27 AM
This is one of the main reasons I live in the middle of nowhere - If I am difficult to find, so are my boys. Rx

The Humane Society of Louisiana (Article) - 9/1/2014 2:36:15 PM
Contemplating this article, I couldn't help but wonder what happens to all the displaced animals embroiled in the various sectors of the Middle East unrest.

The Humane Society of Louisiana (Article) - 8/30/2014 10:23:33 AM
A well-written plea for the Humane Society Louisiana. I certainly hope they get the funds they need to finish the facility because it is sorely needed. Just today, Animal Control discovered nearly 50 emaciated and flea bitten collies that the owner was supposedly breeding here in Houston. They were rescued from certain death, but there are many more out there with so many people hoarding animals they can't take care of. Ron

The Story of Chuck (Article) - 7/9/2014 6:57:50 AM
Heartwarming story. Reminds me of the time and the Martin farm. They had 15 children and the youngest, Loretta was about 7 with down syndrome. I was visiting the farm on one of my walks after being paralyzed, particularly to talk to Tom, who had 18 and taken over running the farm because his father was bent over at the waist from arthritis (and making too many kids?). Anyway, the farm yard was filled with chickens, ducks, dogs, and cats so you had to watch where you stepped. There was one small, skinny mutt that had pups, quite remarkable because her hind legs were paralyzed (probably from being run over by a car) and dragged behind her. Anyway, for some reason, I had walked up to the house where all the kids were and I had passed the dog by and was talking to Tom's mother, when, suddenly one of my legs was pulled out from under me, leaving me standing on one leg with the other being pulled out behind me. I looked to see what was happening, and that little dog had me by the Achilles tendon and was pulling on me as hard as she could. She let loose and I checked, only to have a little broken skin and no bleeding. Tom told me that I had gotten too close to Loretta and the little dog had only been trying to protect her. Ron

What Pet Abandonment In America Looks Like (Article) - 6/27/2014 7:28:25 AM
Little dog lost and found again. Wonderful video. My next-door neighbor had a small dog like that, only he looked much worse and was probably infested with fleas and had heart worms. They are Asian and only able to talk to Beh. The dog is long gone and the husband died last year. Ron

What Pet Abandonment In America Looks Like (Article) - 6/27/2014 4:19:18 AM
powerful!!

Their Abysmal Fourth of July (Poetry) - 7/4/2015 12:16:17 PM
Last night as we were going to bed, I heard a barrage of gunshots. Looking out the window, they were aerial bombs going off. Fortunately, it only happened once, and we were able to get some sleep. I'm often reminded of the scene from Apocalypse Now, where they had gone up river and reached what appeared to be a bridge or a dam that was under attack by the VC. It looked exactly like a fireworks show. I can see why veterans would find neighborhood fireworks disconcerting. As for dogs and cats. They can hear better than us, in ranges we can't hear. Maybe those that set off illegal fireworks for fun and irritating their neighbors could be given dog's hearing and see how they would take that. Ron

It's Pet Appreciation Week (Poetry) - 7/4/2015 5:50:39 AM
I leave fire works to the experts , found out in my childhood not to lay with fire When I fire cracker went off in my hand leaving it numb for hours scared the crap out of me, as for. My pet I try to keep indoors as much as possible Peace to all veterans, pets and pet loves William

Their Abysmal Fourth of July (Poetry) - 7/2/2015 2:56:31 PM
Well said. The 4th of July is just another American tradition that has gone way overboard. Any excuse to party. Our lastr dog was terrified of the booms, and so We came to hate That holiday as well. And i might add, I've been guilty of this myself. Your poem is an excellent message for everyone. Michael D.

Their Abysmal Fourth of July (Poetry) - 7/2/2015 10:40:26 AM
Yes Ed, Its true, 99% of people have no consideration of anything but there own selves fun & excitement...I don't see a way to get it changed at least for this year...or ever...-e-

Their Abysmal Fourth of July (Poetry) - 7/2/2015 4:46:35 AM
spot on re combat vets & pets, timely, needed, ignored in our area where the bop pow has been firing up for several days to the distress of the old Nam vet who shares my life, and the critters who do the same m

Their Abysmal Fourth of July (Poetry) - 7/2/2015 4:03:27 AM
Amen to your important piece offered here Specially about modern society for we are now Reliving the days of Sodom & Gomorrah whereno one Gave a rat's ass about anyone else. May piece be with you William

Their Abysmal Fourth of July (Poetry) - 7/2/2015 2:03:01 AM
Human nature has become incredibly selfish and sociopathic. So few care anymore for others, animal or human, so long as they are having a good time. At times like this I can't afford to think too much. There are too many poor, frightened animals that I can't do anything to help. It makes me so sad!

A Horrified Hound's Hellish Howloween (Poetry) - 6/28/2015 3:08:21 AM
Poor Old Barney and you Mr Ed wanted me to take your Brother Jersey camping! I think I will pass my friend... :)

A Homeless 'Vet' This Veterans Day (Poetry) - 6/27/2015 4:38:35 AM
has vet found his forever home?

Rainy Day Walkabout (Poetry) - 6/16/2015 11:03:09 AM
~Mr. Ed~ Beauty of calm in a Spring rain. Delightful. Lady Mary Ann

Rainy Day Walkabout (Poetry) - 6/16/2015 6:53:11 AM
As long as it's a warm rain, I too enjoy walking in the rain. Many times my dog and I would come home soaked. Michael D.

Rainy Day Walkabout (Poetry) - 6/15/2015 12:41:43 PM
A walkaround in the rain, the closest thing to a bath you ever get...did you bring soap, as I can send you this bar on a rope you sent to me last Christmas...you know it was hardly used...-e-

Rainy Day Walkabout (Poetry) - 6/15/2015 10:23:52 AM
Rains revive everything... Always, Deborah

Rainy Day Walkabout (Poetry) - 6/15/2015 9:30:35 AM
Yes, the rain casts a different perspective on the landscape. And all the critters out there deal with it in different ways. I often wonder how butterflies survive pounding downpours and hail. Perhaps they don't. And how birds can fly through pouring rain with so feathers and large raindrops hitting them in the eyes. Remarkable. Ron

Rainy Day Walkabout (Poetry) - 6/15/2015 7:04:53 AM
Sweet is the first word that comes to mind. What a glorious walk you had! You are so fortunate to live in the area you do, and you shared the experience in a way that gave me the sensation of seeing the sights of Spring with you. Thanks for the walk! Connie

Rainy Day Walkabout (Poetry) - 6/15/2015 5:57:05 AM
I can always count on you providing a pleasant and encouraging way to start the day. For that, I am very grateful. Keep them coming.

Rainy Day Walkabout (Poetry) - 6/15/2015 5:26:51 AM
I knowed ewe wuz a Ornery Cuss ... but not an Ornitholigist ...

Just Nature (Poetry) - 6/13/2015 4:54:50 AM
Wonderful contemplation of the richer rewards all around us that in this hectic technological world, little time is left to find such free joy and potential cures for what ails us. Enjoyed your imaging and relaxed way to remind us. Thank you.

My Buddy (Poetry) - 6/13/2015 4:50:45 AM
Having spent many an hour searching among the kennels and cages of the local pet rescue depot for two cats (at different times) that disappeared, I can attest to both the loosing and the adopting of what "friendship" is about. Too bad most humans never get that far, satisfying themselves with acquaintances as the safe bet.

My Buddy (Poetry) - 6/12/2015 4:15:01 PM
Sometimes, a wag and a bark, a nudge and a purr are better than a hug... Buddy sounds like a great "best friend"

My Buddy (Poetry) - 6/12/2015 7:39:05 AM
~Mr. Ed~ The whimisical whiskered kitties are true companions to lift our hearts. Beautiful poem in remembrance of "Buddy" Lady Mary Ann

My Buddy (Poetry) - 6/11/2015 9:13:33 AM
Have to agree with Ron, 20 years is like a hundred plus for humans...what a lucky cat and lucky owners...the only way I can have a pet is to pet every dog I see...let them bark, I still try...good write, Ed..............-e-

My Buddy (Poetry) - 6/11/2015 8:38:48 AM
Now I know you're good for animals… 20 years for a feline, sounds like a record. Ron

My Buddy (Poetry) - 6/11/2015 7:01:48 AM
Yes, You hit it right on and I know animals become depressed when one of their buddies dies as my one cat did when I had to put my dog down...she slept in the closet for over a year and only came out for food and the cat box. Always, Deborah

My Buddy (Poetry) - 6/11/2015 6:30:19 AM
When the time is right, Michael I really hope you do. And again, so very sorry for your loss - I've gone through it so many times, but the next dog or cat always manages to cheer me up once more.

A Chicken Followed Me Home (Poetry) - 6/11/2015 6:21:19 AM
LOL thanks for posting Ed I enjoyed it very much my friend! :)

My Buddy (Poetry) - 6/11/2015 6:09:59 AM
After losing our dog last Sunday, I believe our cat is just as lonely and heartbroken as we are. Our cat and dog were like best friends. They played together, and even slept together. Our dog Mercy was the best dog we ever had. She will be hard to replace. So for now, we are trying to heal before we actually start to think about getting another dog. If and when that day comes, we well adopt. Maybe a senior dog. Michael D.

It's Pet Appreciation Week (Poetry) - 6/10/2015 3:21:03 PM
A grand way to reboot love for ones pets. Indeed, they do alleviate life's burdens, cheep up folk in care homes.... Upon your return, dogs act like Dino, after you've been out for more than a few seconds.

It's Pet Appreciation Week (Poetry) - 6/8/2015 3:47:08 PM
~Mr. Ed~ What a wonderful week....a whole week....to celebrate our pets characters of delight. Hugs!!!! Lady Mary Ann

It's Pet Appreciation Week (Poetry) - 6/7/2015 7:11:09 AM
I really do hate all the "special" days, weeks, and months that we are supposed to suddenly pay attention to some cause or another. It's as though we go around mindless of these kinds of things until it is brought to our attention by a special designation… Usually followed with a request for donation. I love animals and love them most of all when they are free to be animals. I find having a pet to be a huge responsibility and that's why I don't have one. While I did it when I was young and didn't know any better, I no longer believe that torturing some critters for our own edification is right. I do agree that dogs and cats have been bred and domesticated for so long, that we must keep them and must protect them rather than let them run wild. But I'd much rather get a glimpse of a red fox in its prime than have the finest show dog that I have to take to the beauty parlor regularly to keep it looking the way everyone expects. Ron

It's Pet Appreciation Week (Poetry) - 6/7/2015 5:48:34 AM
So very sorry for your loss, Michael.

It's Pet Appreciation Week (Poetry) - 6/7/2015 5:39:38 AM
A bittersweet read for me today. Our dog just died unexpectedly this morning. Michael D.

Another Lesson From A Dog (Poetry) - 6/3/2015 3:05:41 AM
I thought it was hard to teach an old man new tricks!:) Enjoyed the write keep them coming Mr Ed!

Another Lesson From A Dog (Poetry) - 6/2/2015 7:22:54 AM
Those who do not appreciate animals or never owned one...don't know the simpler things of life! Always, Deborah

Another Lesson From A Dog (Poetry) - 5/31/2015 10:55:29 PM
I love this wonderful image of Tater drinking the rain - My dogs teach me something new every day and never cease to leave me amazed. Rx

Another Lesson From A Dog (Poetry) - 5/31/2015 4:18:13 PM
..and this playful-caring-making connection furry friend lends a helping paw...purely for a dogs reason...to a vision impaired person...relying on dogs attentive' n an uncanny ability...to hear the approaching danger...to sniff out the olfactory of pray...to predict and sense human emotion...to guide in safe'' n well behaved way accessing a public place...becoming good at living together "another lesson from a dog"...trying to understand human unhealthy manners and dogs...when it shakes its fur...in attempt to shake off all the intense-human-emotions-attached...back to more dog-like! High-five-paw for sharing your meaningful poem.

Another Lesson From A Dog (Poetry) - 5/31/2015 10:01:10 AM
Wow, Ed, I loved reading this and remembering walking with Rufuz in the snow...and I think that Michael has a really good idea with his bar of soap suggestion...I got to say that I learned so much from Rufuz, especially that I circle my bed three times before I lay down...fun write...-e-

Another Lesson From A Dog (Poetry) - 5/31/2015 7:58:42 AM
There's nothing like a walk in the rain with an old friend who teaches you a new way of drinking. I hear that the floodwaters are headed up to your neck of the woods. I certainly hope you don't have to rescue any dogs from high water. But I never knew a dog that wasn't a good swimmer using the dog paddle. Ron

Another Lesson From A Dog (Poetry) - 5/31/2015 7:10:24 AM
I LOVE this! ..... some of my very best days out were with our dog Quinn...he taught me so much...and about being in the present moment... I learned unconditional love from our Netherlands Dwarf Rabbit Mickey... And a sense of fun and mischief from our much loved black cat Jesamine... Diana....

Another Lesson From A Dog (Poetry) - 5/31/2015 7:09:05 AM
Great write. You should've taken a bar of soap with you. That way you'd be happy and clean. Michael D.

Another Lesson From A Dog (Poetry) - 5/31/2015 6:14:51 AM
A lesson too few people take the opportunity to learn. Wonderful bit of relaxed and uplifting wordsmithing for a Sunday morning. Thanks for sharing this gem of an experience.

Another Lesson From A Dog (Poetry) - 5/31/2015 4:08:08 AM
You bet, dogs (and other animals) can teach we humans much if we will only allow them the freedom to do it.

Another Lesson From A Dog (Poetry) - 5/31/2015 3:40:51 AM
Another GREAT poem with a teachable moment! I love these poems the most. We were planning to picnic one day but we got rained out. We all huddled for shelter in the canopy of a small boat and we shared some of our BEST stories as if we were by a campfire. We now recall that time as if it were planned that way to be EXTRA special. It was..

Just Nature (Poetry) - 5/29/2015 4:21:00 PM
This poem gladdened my heart...I enjoyed every word... Your Nature treks sound wonderful! Diana....

Just Nature (Poetry) - 5/29/2015 2:05:26 PM
...the sauntering theme of your poem, Mr. Ed...sets a pattern of your walk...promotes conversation that's well grounded in your perpetual quest for soul to thrive...looking outside yourself...in one with Mother Nature...blessed by the God of Walkers... Thanks your sharing your thoughts.

Just Nature (Poetry) - 5/28/2015 10:30:34 AM
Our friends in nature have one thing up on us: they are not encumbered by all this technology taking so much time and doing so little. If more people walked your walk there would be much less talk and the world would be a far better place. From

Just Nature (Poetry) - 5/27/2015 6:32:30 AM
Beautifully written. There's nothing more relaxing than a walk in the woods, and being one with nature. Michael D.

Just Nature (Poetry) - 5/26/2015 9:00:34 AM
Nature takes us to another realm and adds a calming to our weary soul...giving our spirit a positive uplifting. Always, Deborah

Just Nature (Poetry) - 5/26/2015 4:42:17 AM
Well said. Not enough gets recorded about the health and spiritual benefits of our remaining places of quiet and being.

Just Nature (Poetry) - 5/26/2015 3:26:56 AM
I love nature, too. I was just saying that I have that urge to spend a month in a cabin in the mountains right now, to get away from it all, get back in touch with nature and write. Thanks for the images!

Just Nature (Poetry) - 5/26/2015 2:26:19 AM
Yes on nature walks we are among many friends. Excellent write and great positive insight.

It's Poppy Time Once More (Poetry) - 5/23/2015 3:26:02 AM
We buy Poppies over here in UK every November...and wear them for remembrance...driving through these areas where the Poppies grew...you can still sense the enormity of the past... Diana...

It's Poppy Time Once More (Poetry) - 5/23/2015 3:13:14 AM
LOVELY, timely, informative; sad that so many today have no inkling regarding poppies and the significance. i have have used Flander's Field, and poppy wreaths, as part of our Nov 11 tribute to the vets for years in the classroom this old nam vet's widow, nam vet's wife AND niece of fallen hero, DSC, sleeping so many years beneath one of the many white crosses in France says THANK YOU! m

It's Poppy Time Once More (Poetry) - 5/22/2015 2:02:04 PM
I did not know this! Thank you for posting this. Poppies are my favorite flowers, after the Bearded Iris. Blessings, Christine

It's Poppy Time Once More (Poetry) - 5/22/2015 8:47:15 AM
A wonderful sentiment and perhaps, a good way to raise money for the VFW and veterans everywhere. But I beg to differ a bit. When I was placed in the state university hospital for five weeks of observation (and rehabilitation?) they steered me toward crafts and occupational therapy. They wanted me to make potholders by weaving yarn around nails on a board, something my paralyzed hands found very difficult to do. I told them that I wanted to go back to college. Making artificial poppies once or twice a year for a good cause is noble, but veterans who want nothing more than to be accepted in the workplace, in spite of their physical, and more importantly, mental disabilities are not helped by being relegated to doing craftwork when they want real work and a meaningful life beyond hospitals and VA homes. The March of Dimes for polio no longer serves its purpose. I understand that the Labor Day telethon for muscular dystrophy is over. Perhaps we need to support our veterans more positively than artificial poppies once a year for Memorial Day. Ron

It's Poppy Time Once More (Poetry) - 5/22/2015 2:42:37 AM
I can't buy food let alone a poppy anymore, maybe next year if by then I can get a job again...but I give veterans my respect, more than some give them...-e-

Please Don't Worry So Much, H.P. (Poetry) - 5/20/2015 5:43:21 AM
Wonderful poem, Ed! Your compassion speak volumes and there isn't much guys like you around ... You truly are a blessing, Ed ...

Meatloaf Matlack (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 6:22:17 AM
Dear Cuz Mr. Ed Peewee ... It is such a shame that like poor ole Charlie Brown, "why is everybody always pickin on me?" ... everybody is always pickin on poor ole Fat-Ass "Meatloaf" Matlack. In his defense, I just posted a comment on his recent "bitch" about "Life After Life". You might want to check it out ? Luv ... Cuz Sir Cur ... The One-Eth ...

Please Don't Worry So Much, H.P. (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 10:23:05 AM
If Matlack did not exist, someone would have to invent him.

Meatloaf Matlack (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 7:32:39 AM
Sometimes in life, no matter what we do, we are not appreciated. Gotta love that photo!!! Rx

Please Don't Worry So Much, H.P. (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 5:52:22 AM
Don't worry, HP, I heard that your former boss is running for president. If she wins, all kinds of goodies will trickle down to the old cool and you'll come out clean as a whistle. Ron

Please Don't Worry So Much, H.P. (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 3:49:07 AM
Thanks very much John and Ray - I try to look out for all of the 'Underdogs' whoever they may be - human, animal, or H.P.!

Please Don't Worry So Much, H.P. (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 3:46:24 AM
Poor HP it has to be hard on him with that Whiny Old Coot sleeping on his keyboard all the time. LOL It's a good thing HP has you to look out for him Mr. Ed :)

Please Don't Worry So Much, H.P. (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 3:39:52 AM
Dear Mr. Ed, I agree with your poem and I try to de-stress all I can and be worry free throughout the day But I must share that my pet Sammy-boy teaches me to de-stress in so many ways! He teaches me to be still, be in the moment, relax and listen to a breath of air. After taking a few breaths with my Sammy-boy I don't worry about anything and I don't have a care. So if anyone wants to de-stress you got the cure my friend, you are the right person to call We all need a pet to relax, enjoy life with God's animals, for they are made with His pure love after all. Now, I have to post this poem for others. Thank You again my dear friend. John-Bouy

Meatloaf Matlack (Poetry) - 5/16/2015 6:05:28 AM
Well done...enjoyed this.. reminds me of someone I used to know..Hugss

Meatloaf Matlack (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 2:02:56 PM
Hmmm, come see me. For a small fee I can set you free. Here in the Mendip's we can assist many dark friendships. MAHUHWAHWAHWAH!

Meatloaf Matlack (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 10:53:51 AM
For staters, BITE ME, Hull... Enjoyed this fantastical story of the real us, Told you all he was a blowhard & liar, And he was always taking the short bus, Hell, I even taught my "dear" brother how to cuss, And to be honest I don't see why we are experiencing all this fuss, And dear old Ma told me to never of this discuss, But his name is not really Ed or even Pee Wee, His name is actually Gus...-e-

Meatloaf Matlack (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 8:04:10 AM
The only thing missing is your companion, Pete, by your side with that circle around his eye that made him so attractive. Yes, old Ed Matlack has become a bore and childish with his attacks on little old you. I guess it was time for you to do what you do. When I read about it, I went, "Whoopty do! Ron

Meatloaf Matlack (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 3:56:07 AM
Thanks, Buzzard - the truth often hurts!

Meatloaf Matlack (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 3:49:53 AM
Poor Meatloaf I mean Matlack LOL I assume you may pay dearly for this write Mr Ed, but I did enjoy reading it :)

A Walk With Dogs (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 5:37:01 AM
Being out in mother nature, there's nothing like it!

A Walk With Dogs (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 8:49:39 AM
They are man's one true helpmate and healer, Ed. Gotta get me a dog again... I'm the jealous one! :) xx

A Walk With Dogs (Poetry) - 4/29/2015 4:07:17 PM
Such a truism, I write this with my wee doggie lying at my feet and shadowing my every move, oftentimes unbeknown until... WOOOOF.

A Walk With Dogs (Poetry) - 4/26/2015 8:35:23 AM
Truer words were never spoken. A walk in the woods is good for the soul. A walk in the woods with dogs is ever better for our befuddled psyches.

A Walk With Dogs (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 9:44:38 PM
My favorite dogs are mutts. They are not high strung, just down to earth. Not a care in the world, just alive with a sense of wonder. Just like we were when we were kids. Living in the moment and loving it. Dogs can bring us down to earth and back to the reality of nature and the Creator. All we need to do is follow Snoopy and his keep sense of smell. Soon we will be in Paradise and that's a far cry from living in ......... Amen

A Walk With Dogs (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 11:31:51 AM
Ed, This brought tears. It reminded me of walks with my furangel. I miss him so much. Weekends are hard because he passed on a Sunday.

A Walk With Dogs (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 9:07:49 AM
It sure is… Ron

A Walk With Dogs (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 7:07:00 AM
Our dog hates the rain. Good luck getting her to go out. And when my wife isn't home, She lays around and pouts. Our dog is more human than mutt, and if she sees another dog, she can't keep her mouth shut. Michael D.

A Walk With Dogs (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 5:30:04 AM
Dogs are then very Zen, Living in the moment, Rufuz used to love the beach, Or maybe he just loved being with me, then...-e-

Earth Day Blues (Poetry) - 4/23/2015 3:44:50 PM
so sad and so true..great write....Hugss

Earth Day Blues (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 7:55:02 PM
The truth is here about our Earth and what it is becoming, a very disruptive earth caused by man.

Earth Day Blues (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 5:23:48 AM
We lost the battle when we were separated from the land, when we no longer grew our own food and shared/traded it with our neighbors - when we bought into the fantasy of unlimited 'progress' - nice lament, Mr. Ed. We are, after all, a communal beast - caged.

Earth Day Blues (Poetry) - 4/21/2015 8:53:30 AM
I've committed my entire life to conservation and elimination of dangerous chemicals touted as miracle solutions to non-problems. You're right, at some point, idealistic thoughts about nature, fostered a few times during our country's history of genocide of species, plants, and clean water, seem to be much stronger back then, then now. Succeeding generations, pressed to go to college, not to learn, but to earn to pay back their college loans, have succumbed to the "American Dream" of the ever larger suburban mansion and worship of the discount store. Advertising and deceptive "bargains" and given corporations all they need to take over the entire world for their purposes. If we don't take Earth Day seriously, Earth's days are numbered, and so are ours. Ron

Earth Day Blues (Poetry) - 4/21/2015 6:22:12 AM
Unfortunately until we get lobbyists and money out of politics, It will be business as usual in the world of corporate greed. The cartoon along with your words speaks volumes. Michael D.

Earth Day Blues (Poetry) - 4/21/2015 5:52:22 AM
I don't know what to say, is there anything anybody CAN say...its all so sad...so just keep pluggin away, what else is there to do...? -e-

What Have We Become (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 6:38:42 PM
It has happened on our own street. People are fucking assholes, and that's putting it mildly. Michael D.

What Have We Become (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 4:16:16 PM
Well my dear friend your timing could not be more perfect! I just watched a Travel Channel series about India and how they love, respect and revere their animals. They will starve to death before they slaughter a cow. Elephants are treated like kings. Dogs and cats are treated very kindly as well. So how about our culture in America? Their are some sane folks in the back roads of our nation but the majority of us are sinking deep into the clutches of Hell. Amen!

What Have We Become (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 9:49:44 AM
this is so horrible people make me sick..i'm glad there good in your heart..Hugss

What Have We Become (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 9:03:02 AM
I watched the documentary, The Corporation, last night. The overriding conclusion was that the corporation is a citizen with no morality other than profit. Corporations have, through their propaganda called advertising have convinced everyone that throwaway consumption is good and are plundering the planet and all the creatures in it without regard for the consequences. You are to be applauded for your continued raising of concern. Gradually, everyone will regard plunder as an endgame that will be very bad for us. Ron

What Have We Become (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 9:02:44 AM
Yes with regards our humans on this planet...we are all becoming more worthless everyday...& yes you see these dogs first hand, but I got to say it must be a mid western America thing, cause I have NEVER seen a dog running free or foraging in trash for food as if I had I would have fed it & tried to help it...and yes I know that you will say they only come out at night, but of late I have been riding my bike in the nightand still no dogs...still if they ARE out there, I wish them well...-e-

What Have We Become (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 7:51:18 AM
Another cry into the void, for we have indeed lost our way perpetrating these kind of life-tragedies, embracing ignorance and callous solipsism. Ironically, the picture of the dog is a perfect metaphor for the moral decay of the species, and I'm not talking about the supernatural disguise of religion, for that carries on in all its brutality and rivalry to claim one is the holier than thou of another. How about the just plain moral decay of a species that is suppose to honor thinking, love and respect of other life, as you suggest? Where the hell did that go?

What Have We Become (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 7:18:32 AM
Yes, as a society, we are cold, uncaring, callous bastards. But thank God for people like you. Keep up your good work!

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 2:51:28 PM
Everybody else did say what I could say too, except I want Scruffy...-e-

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 7:01:03 AM
a message that can never be expressed enough ... a tale that stirs one's heart ...

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 4:10:44 AM
Sad the way some treat these dogs, but these three have a happy ending thanks to you Mr. Ed! Thanks for your service to these loving animals, it puts a smile on my face... Your feathered friend The Buzzard

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 5:56:56 PM
I remember back about our troubles, but I just cannot let this post go by without saying something. To me, a human being who treats a defenseless animal with such cruelty does not deserve to be called a human. I have had many dogs during my lifetime, and my love for them is only surpassed by their love for me.

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 10:59:12 AM
Let us hope that your pleas will travel out through the Internet beyond this poetry page to all those who own and abuse their pets. And that some will change as a result. Ron

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 10:29:12 AM
You are truly a special person. Someone we should all try to be like. Michael D.

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 7:10:57 AM
~Mr. Ed~ Their beautiful faces tell the story of the unconditional love they have to share. Lady Mary Ann

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 6:31:55 AM
The overused cliche today, especially by politicians, is "the devil's in the details." But the details here may, for believers, have had the devil's input, but the details "you" provide are compassionate pleas for kindness, consideration, and especially, a warning that self-loathing comes in all sizes, shapes and regrets. Thank you for sharing these empowering stories.

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 6:27:56 AM
The cruelty of some is pathetic. The love of the few like you is heart warming. Thanks.

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 4:29:48 AM
Some of these so called HUMAN BEINGS make me sick the way they treat these beautiful animals....your a good man MR ED. tysm much for these updates I certainly will pass this on...xo

The Shredding Machine (Poetry) - 4/8/2015 11:31:51 AM
Adorable! My old retriever used to go mad for stockings; she'd worry and toss them about as if they were red-hot potatoes. That'll learn you to hide the Easter Eggs from him! :) xx

The Shredding Machine (Poetry) - 4/7/2015 5:21:22 AM
That is tragic. But, with shredding machines around, to be expected. If you have them, they will be used. My brother boarded his 13-year-old Golden retriever with his stepdaughter and her two dogs while taking a weeklong stay in Arizona a month ago. When he returned home to Indiana and brought Rocky back to the house, he discovered (I saw the evidence, a picture) that Rocky had got in the trash of the mail he looked at the night before, and shredded it all over the floor. In all his life, Rocky had never done anything like that before. Who says you can't teach old dogs new tricks… Ron

A Woodland Chat (Poetry) - 4/7/2015 4:54:38 AM
I enjoyed the poem Mr. Ed.... From a fellow nature lover! The Buzzard

The Shredding Machine (Poetry) - 4/6/2015 3:44:50 PM
Boyz will be Boyz !

The Shredding Machine (Poetry) - 4/6/2015 8:02:41 AM
What would we do without pets to make real communications with.

The Shredding Machine (Poetry) - 4/6/2015 8:00:30 AM
~Mr. Ed~ This beat goes well with the shredding machine!! Cute poem. Oh, a new hat for Valentino and one for Shadow, too!! Lady Mary Ann

The Shredding Machine (Poetry) - 4/6/2015 7:25:02 AM
The hat wasnt all that great anyway, especially if you bought it, guys just have no fashion sense...-e-

The Shredding Machine (Poetry) - 4/6/2015 6:38:21 AM
Since his old hat, was shredded and destroyed, I hope the new hat, leaves Valentino overjoyed. I think Shadow needs some chew toys. Michael D.

Happy Easter From Valentino (Poetry) - 4/5/2015 10:57:12 PM
from rags to riches, or is it? thought provoking.

Happy Easter From Valentino (Poetry) - 4/5/2015 5:55:39 AM
awe so sweet...Happy Easter to all..Hugss

Happy Easter From Valentino (Poetry) - 4/4/2015 4:34:35 PM
Happy Easter Valentino! Tell your humble assistant I said "Hello". Well done once again my friend!

Happy Easter From Valentino (Poetry) - 4/4/2015 10:31:07 AM
~Mr. Ed and Valentino~ Happy Easter...cutest chick hat! Very stylish!! Lady Mary Ann

Happy Easter From Valentino (Poetry) - 4/4/2015 9:21:49 AM
Now, isn't that special….! Ron

Happy Easter From Valentino (Poetry) - 4/4/2015 8:09:52 AM
NICE HAT !

Happy Easter From Valentino (Poetry) - 4/4/2015 7:24:44 AM
So, when will we be seeing Valentino on the fashion runway! Happy Easter to all of you. Michael D.

Scruffy's Resurrection (Poetry) - 4/3/2015 3:33:49 AM
Wonderful story Ed, I don't know how I missed this two years ago! There are good people and bad in this world of ours so Mr. Ed, please stand and be counted as one of the good ones my friend !

A Woodland Chat (Poetry) - 4/1/2015 9:38:23 AM
You are such a nature boy! Another fine telling, loved it! Peace love and light, Amber

A Woodland Chat (Poetry) - 4/1/2015 4:05:32 AM
If he was searching for a mate, maybe he was choosing you, you could do worse and he a hell of alot better...-e-

A Woodland Chat (Poetry) - 3/31/2015 8:47:21 AM
It requires a strong affinity with Nature to see, to say nothing of writing, a poem like this. Beautiful.

A Woodland Chat (Poetry) - 3/31/2015 7:21:52 AM
What a wonderful story poem! I'm glad you told us what that bird is, otherwise I would have to look it up myself. I just learned yesterday that the English robin, probably the one that Robin Hood takes his name from, is not at all like our ubiquitous robin, but are different color both in body and breast. Coincidentally, she just called me from Lowe's and asked what suet was? She was buying birdseed and saw it. I tried to explain what it was, but she couldn't understand why birds would like fat, saying, "They'll get fat … No!" I told her to buy some and try it. Maybe we'll get more birds than the sparrows and a couple of doves the birdseed brings. Ron

A Woodland Chat (Poetry) - 3/31/2015 6:33:12 AM
Your words are as beautiful as nature itself. Michael D.

A Woodland Chat (Poetry) - 3/31/2015 5:19:27 AM
beautiful.....I love nature and it's beauty...

A Woodland Chat (Poetry) - 3/31/2015 4:43:19 AM
~Mr. Ed~ Charming this poem and a delight to listen to natures chatter. The music is a beautiful melody for a spring encounter. To a cup of tea quarter till three! Lady Mary Ann

Happy First Day of Spring! (Poetry) - 3/25/2015 10:00:16 PM
An appropriate poem for a most welcomed time of the year. Amen!

Happy First Day of Spring! (Poetry) - 3/22/2015 2:50:11 PM
My yard bushes are completely destroyed from the weight of the snow we had. There will be plenty of gardening this spring!!! Looking forward to spring.

Happy First Day of Spring! (Poetry) - 3/21/2015 11:00:23 PM
Wonderfully penned, Ed ... Happy Spring and enjoy :)

Happy First Day of Spring! (Poetry) - 3/20/2015 9:20:53 PM
I'd like to tell you whee you can put ur HAPPY first day of spring, but I too much of gentleman to express myself in that kind of language here...maybe privately but...-e-

Happy First Day of Spring! (Poetry) - 3/20/2015 12:35:40 PM
...musically speaking Mr. Ed...your joyfully happy poems words of the first day of Spring in Northern Hemisphere...are barking loud...while your faithful dog find pleasure on the meadow...in a sweet sleep...under leafy tree... Happy Renewal...Rebirth...and Regrowth Springtime!

Happy First Day of Spring! (Poetry) - 3/20/2015 7:33:49 AM
First day of spring, and I woke up up fresh snow on the ground. Old man winter is still around. Michael D.

Happy First Day of Spring! (Poetry) - 3/20/2015 7:20:12 AM
~Mr. Ed~ Happy 1st day of Spring. Lovely music to welcome the most wonderful day. Love the quote. "I love Spring anywhere, but if I could I would always greet it in a garden" ~ Ruth Stout Lady Mary Ann Lady Mary Ann

Happy First Day of Spring! (Poetry) - 3/20/2015 7:18:46 AM
To Ron Hull: The mutt in the picture is how you are supposed to look after spending a wonderful Spring Day gardening, romping, and Nature Watching - Dog-Tired!

Happy First Day of Spring! (Poetry) - 3/20/2015 6:08:14 AM
On the contrary, the mutt in that picture doesn't seem at all enthused. Looks as though spring is another boring day's snooze. I really miss getting my hands dirty in the hot mud of Houston. But I don't miss it turning to concrete in the heat of summer. I'll spring plants can make it through each year, I don't know. Ron

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/19/2015 8:01:27 AM
lol. Made me happy. Liz

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/18/2015 12:27:47 PM
You brought back so many great memories of my 4 wheeling days in the mud. I liked playing in mud too lol ... My dog enjoyed it as much as I did ... wonderfully written as always, Ed ... (Love Tim McGraw :))

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/16/2015 5:53:03 PM
~Mr. Ed~ Tapping my foot. Your delightful Spring verses are exilerating to heart. Razzing good time those pups!! Lady Mary Ann

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/16/2015 12:13:39 PM
We've areas of very sucky mud mixed with soft sand on the harbour beaches around here and can't say I'm as taken as you are to sinking knee-deep in the stuff, Ed. Still, have to believe it's good for the skin the amount beauty parlours charge for wrapping you in such elixirs. Trust you look and feel ten years younger for it! :) xx

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/15/2015 4:46:31 PM
...a heart opening sense of positive energy that flows from the beginning of Spring season...and when your inner-child is restored to its joyful being...and true laughter's coming from your soul...and your poems words feel so authentic...Thank you Mr.Ed.

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/15/2015 2:10:48 PM
What a delightful spring romp in the mud. It's really run to read this free and easy celebration of spring,in the Mud Pup manner. Connie

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/15/2015 2:06:01 PM
enjoyed this adventurous read ... a vicarious delight ...

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/15/2015 1:22:29 PM
I don't believe you....! I want to see a REAL picture of you and the mutts galavanting around in the mud & I am willing to bet everybody who reads your site does too...-e-

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/15/2015 11:19:14 AM
Great write! Cannot say that I have experienced the delight. But I remember my youth and getting full of sand and dirt. I loved it being so close to the earth. Today the closest thing is being in the garden after the rain. Am I getting old? What a pain! LOL!!

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/15/2015 7:14:51 AM
Did your wife say your name was "Mud"? Michael D.

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/15/2015 6:32:09 AM
You made me recall fishing the sucker run in the spring and trying to find a place along the slippery, muddy riverbank to sit down without getting a wet muddy butt in the process. I'm sure she is delighted when the five of you all come through the door dragging all that mud into the house. That's one thing about living in mud town (Houston used to be called that before Howard Hughes paved the streets), I don't have to deal with that anymore because the whole damn place is either paved over or covered with Astroturf-like St. Augustine grass. Ron

Our Self-Centered Society (Poetry) - 3/12/2015 9:55:58 PM
Great thoughts here! It's a "Selfie World" out there. My wife and I love the song! Yes, I agree with Odin but we don't need to go to Holly-weird to experience this attention seeking trend. Just go to Wal-Mart and see purple haired, butt exposing, loud colored florescent tattooed bodies all over the place. Conservative people are weird to these attention seekers! So they speak loudly about "Look at Me, Me Me Me" without saying a word! Funny thing is they are so common that most folks don't give them a second look anymore. My cat, just "Meows more" with more voice inflection when he wants extra attention. It's an sincere honest "Meow" so how can we resist? As for Valentino, he has already gone viral and I can hear those wanna-be barks of jealousy from California to NY! LOL!

Our Self-Centered Society (Poetry) - 3/11/2015 4:33:49 PM
As your poem suggests, we better get used to narcissism as the order of the day, BECAUSE IT IS. Not just US, but the world is rapidly becoming so self centered as to be armored against any outside reality. I've been there. 50 years in Hollywierd, if it doesn't teach one anything other than self-adulation is a quick trip to self-mutilation (psychologically or physically) it is a strange reality that presents that such a lifestyle is indulging in more than delusion...try insanity. Yes, all the wanna be "selfies" are merely prime candidates for a frustrated life of ignoring who they really are, and taking photos of themselves in the hope that somebody will see them as they're not, you know, like in the MOVIES. Yeah...truth hurts sometimes. Great arresting of some consciousness willing to be arrested...hopefully for some consciousness.

Our Self-Centered Society (Poetry) - 3/11/2015 2:28:37 PM
maybe he was trying to Phone a Bone

Our Self-Centered Society (Poetry) - 3/11/2015 11:28:48 AM
~Mr. Ed~ "Valentino" your the heart of cute. Lady Mary Ann

Our Self-Centered Society (Poetry) - 3/10/2015 9:54:16 AM
Nooooooooooo... let him have his selfie... he's handsome enough! :) We can't deny that dogs have become waaaaaaaaay too humanised, no?! xx

Our Self-Centered Society (Poetry) - 3/10/2015 9:08:17 AM
Personally, though I don't know how others think, that picture is actually you...the better half told me u have big brown eyes and a cute pug nose, though in that pic one can't think your nose is anything but huge...You and Jimmy Durante ought to start a club of your own...and as to "selfies" I have no opinion either way as I have yet to do them as my phone is the very basic plan and while it has a camera, it doesnt seem to be able to send them anywhere, or I don't seem to be able to...and frankly I don't care, so is that self-centered enough for you...-e-

Our Self-Centered Society (Poetry) - 3/10/2015 7:17:26 AM
Started out as a rant, and ended up cute. From being self -centered, to Valentino's "selfie" photo-shoot. Michael D.

Our Self-Centered Society (Poetry) - 3/10/2015 6:19:10 AM
Valentino was just trying to get in the action. I agree totally with you on this one. While it's important to have pictures of us throughout all the stages of our lives for others to see how we've grown and changed, it's really not necessary to constantly post our picture like a poem or tweet of our daily moods. I have been guilty of having my picture taken with famous other people to mark the occasion. I think what's happening may be just a fad, created by the convenience of photo taking with smart phones. People, particularly young people, have found they do not have to be technically competent to take pictures and videos. When I could no longer take pictures, I have had to ask others to take pictures and videos with my cameras. Almost invariably, I get, "I don't know how to run this thing."--And mostly, they don't. I hear the same thing about computers. We live in a very technical world, and people tend to do what is easy, because they don't focus on what is more difficult… Hence, they fall into fads from doing the simple things others are doing, rather than learning how to use equipment like Ansell Adams did to create original work that you and I admire. Ron

Indian Summer Sojourn (Poetry) - 3/7/2015 8:03:00 AM
Ed I think Indian Summer is the most beautiful little season of the year and your poem does it justice. Lovely work.

Nature's Free Gifts (Poetry) - 3/1/2015 6:19:20 AM
a walk in the woods is good for the soul, it refreshes our being ... your poem helps to capture nature's essence ...

Nature's Free Gifts (Poetry) - 2/27/2015 2:17:26 PM
~Mr. Ed~ The piano forte...the things of nature in your poem to see and behold the experience. Lady Mary Ann

Nature's Free Gifts (Poetry) - 2/27/2015 8:22:57 AM
I've never seen those ice caves, but fortunately, a couple of days ago, the evening news got to some to show me what they are like. When the wind is right, in Wisconsin on Lake Winnebago, I'm told that the ice piles up as high as two stories. I've also never seen that. But I've spent my mobile life seeking out all the free wonders that nature has to offer (and I can get into national parks, monuments, and reserves, free with my lifetime disabled pass) for only the cost of gasoline and lodging to get me where I can walk/roll among wonder. It must be special with dogs because they are so generally happy to be outdoors and so inquisitive about everything that moves and some that don't (the smells). Ron

Nature's Free Gifts (Poetry) - 2/27/2015 7:22:02 AM
You've got that right. Michael D.

Nature's Free Gifts (Poetry) - 2/27/2015 7:19:27 AM
Like I said before on the Book of Face, I want to accompany you & the boys to one of those days one day...have to add that to my bucket list...-e-

Nature's Free Gifts (Poetry) - 2/27/2015 6:50:36 AM
For someone like myself, it's easy to relate. I've been fortunate in my urban career pursuits to always be near nature, even if it required some short travel. In New York...believe it or not, Central Park is a melting pot of nature's tolerance (after all, it is Manhattan). And then there was Boston, the White Mountains a mere 2 hrs away. Salt Lake City, mountains and lakes 30 minutes away, LA, San Bernardino mtns, and now, my small town mecca of Ashland where the woods (10 minutes away) mountains (30 minutes away) beaches (3 hrs away) hey...like your piece here proffers, nothing beats nature.

On Frozen Pond (Poetry) - 2/25/2015 10:10:58 AM
Yes, nothing more desolatory than seeing geese skiing and crash-landing on frozen water. But, as you say, their resilience is inspiring and uplifting. Quite the opposite over here this winter. Barely more than two nights with sub-zero temperatures. Our stock seems pretty fat and could do with a post-Christmas exercise programme! :) xx

On Frozen Pond (Poetry) - 2/25/2015 7:11:16 AM
the main migratory route in the US believe it ore not passes through The Bronx ... always a joy to witness the variety of birds passing through in the spring and fall ... but i have to say those damn Canadian geese are a pain in the ass and have brought down a few jets around here ...

On Frozen Pond (Poetry) - 2/25/2015 6:02:40 AM
The frozen pond protests loudest! Hope spring will arrive soon. Sandie

On Frozen Pond (Poetry) - 2/24/2015 8:10:40 AM
The pond's frozen over, for the honking geese, who seem to be asking, will this winter ever cease. Michael D.

On Frozen Pond (Poetry) - 2/24/2015 7:45:51 AM
Whatever happened to the birds flying south for the winter...? -e-

On Frozen Pond (Poetry) - 2/24/2015 7:25:34 AM
~Mr. Ed~ The piano music flows so lovely as the first new blossoms of spring. To life's wondering seasons to bring moments endearing of your beautiful poem. To my Mother's visits...a voice of the seasons! Lady Mary Ann

On Frozen Pond (Poetry) - 2/24/2015 7:24:37 AM
It's amazing that geese will stay in northern climes when they can migrate further south. I wonder if all those geese are sticking around my brother's home on the St. Joseph River in Bristol Indiana while he's in Arizona getting a little sun during this recent winter blast. In 1971 I had to go to the Mayo Clinic for a workup on my spinal injury to see if something could be done. It was a clear, 20° below zero when I arrived at Rochester. To my surprise, I saw a flock of geese fly over and couldn't believe it. Later, I learned that the residents of Rochester routinely put out corn all winter long so many geese stay there even though there isn't any open water for miles. I've also learned that that flock was the one that was saved back in the early part of the 20th century when Canada Geese were threatened by overhunting and Ducks Unlimited was started to prevent overhunting and bring all of the duck species back. Ron

We Are Their Voice (Poetry) - 2/22/2015 7:18:37 AM
keep the dialogue (as well as action) going

We Are Their Voice (Poetry) - 2/19/2015 10:32:47 AM
My next-door neighbor's cats are not chained, in fact, they're in my yard all the time stalking birds, marking their territory, and leaving deposits that they carefully cover over. Right now they are basking in about 55°. While it gets down to about 30° overnight, they don't seem to be at least worried about the cold. But then they don't live in Chicago… Ron

We Are Their Voice (Poetry) - 2/19/2015 8:25:51 AM
~Mr. Ed~ Compelling and heartfelt of the dogs voice...there is a Beagle named Macy near us...no one pays any attention..I give her treats when I walk my dog. She is out there in the -temps. Can't reason with them. They have another dog that lives in their house with them. Working to get her inside. Lady Mary Ann

We Are Their Voice (Poetry) - 2/19/2015 7:57:17 AM
To many people that have pets, should not be pet owners. I could never understand why someone would get a dog, and then keep the poor animal chained up outside. People seem to think that a pet will make them happy, not realizing the amount of time, work, and expense of having a pet can be. And so they're forgotten or abandoned. It's criminal. Michael D.

We Are Their Voice (Poetry) - 2/19/2015 5:22:45 AM
Have not seen any dogs as of yet, though while driving yesterday I could hear them...way out in the woods, howling...-e-

Happy Paczki Day! (Poetry) - 2/17/2015 7:07:36 PM
A very Creative and FUN poem! Save dough - eat less all the time - Go on a liquid fast - drink wine! LOL

Happy Paczki Day! (Poetry) - 2/17/2015 12:16:49 PM
Deliciously indulgent in anybody's language. Ed, your poem brought back....many sweet memories. Thank you. Happy Paczki Day!

Happy Paczki Day! (Poetry) - 2/17/2015 11:58:48 AM
I love doughnuts but Lent for me is as much in my mind as in my tum.

Happy Paczki Day! (Poetry) - 2/17/2015 10:11:45 AM
So brother, u gonna share some of them...? Yeah I know fat chance & after I said all those nice things about you in my recent post...seriously though they do look damn good...but maybe you can split one or two up for the boys and the kitties...tell your wife they are not good for her figure, that should dissuade her...~ed~

Happy Paczki Day! (Poetry) - 2/17/2015 7:28:56 AM
Paczkis are great, a sweet treat to eat. Get enough o share, because they can't be beat. Michael D.

Happy Paczki Day! (Poetry) - 2/17/2015 7:16:10 AM
Thanks for the education. You make Mardi Gras and the sights and sounds of New Orleans enticing. But you've also given me reasons to stay away 'lest I regain all that weight I've been shedding. Delightful write.

Happy Paczki Day! (Poetry) - 2/17/2015 6:56:30 AM
I grew up in a town that was about 75% Polish, but I don't recall anyone there celebrating ‘Paczki Day.’ But then I wasn't into Roman Catholic rituals except fish (or cheese) on Fridays. So it may very well have been a big thing in our town. I always thought that Ash Wednesday was really strange and that the Lutherans seemed to be really weird with all that fasting during Lent. Sure glad I was a non-practicing Protestant and didn't have to go through all that bull. On the other hand, from a very young age, my mother made donuts, of either the solid kind, or raised. She didn't stuff them with berries, but they were scrumptious, nonetheless. And we didn't have to have some religious holiday to enjoy them. We ate them whenever she made them. Now that's a tradition to remember! And it doesn't require going down to some shop and engaging in conspicuous consumption. Ron

Happy Paczki Day! (Poetry) - 2/17/2015 6:42:53 AM
~Mr. Ed~ Donuts are too good! Crafty cats and Beasty Boy's...line up dad's bringing in the donuts...cute!!

Another Innocent Soul Out In The Cold And Snow (Poetry) - 2/16/2015 2:09:27 PM
Write on Ed, your poems are fortified with such passion and devotion! Blessings, Christine xo

Another Innocent Soul Out In The Cold And Snow (Poetry) - 2/13/2015 4:37:58 PM
You want to catch these animals, u got to keep that ugly mug out far away from he who u are trying to catch...its scaring me just thinking of seeing u in the cold of the night & in the snow...-e-

Another Innocent Soul Out In The Cold And Snow (Poetry) - 2/13/2015 9:09:58 AM
Thank you for loving the lost and mistreated. Too many of us are all talk and no action. Standing ovation, Mr. Ed, for your humanity and reminder to help against the odds.

Another Innocent Soul Out In The Cold And Snow (Poetry) - 2/13/2015 8:34:52 AM
~Mr. Ed~ So much compassion you share with these beautiful souls. Lady Mary Ann

Another Innocent Soul Out In The Cold And Snow (Poetry) - 2/13/2015 7:25:24 AM
You are one special person. Michael D.

Another Innocent Soul Out In The Cold And Snow (Poetry) - 2/13/2015 7:19:34 AM
Another great rescue… Thanks. Ron

Feeding My Feathered Friends (Poetry) - 2/11/2015 11:35:17 AM
How vivid cardinals are against the white of winter! You can never forget to support them. We get very excited about our over-wintering species over here but mercifully for them we've hardly had a 'winter' to speak of so natural foods are still plentiful and readily available. I'm increasingly aware and fond of the wonder that is our world's beautiful birds. xx

Feeding My Feathered Friends (Poetry) - 2/9/2015 6:20:28 PM
I love birds; I love your poem, Ed. Love and peace, Regis

Feeding My Feathered Friends (Poetry) - 2/9/2015 3:24:09 PM
I read somewhere that cardinal visits are said to be visits from someone who passed coming down from heaven; maybe your grandmother that you speak so fondly of...-e-

Feeding My Feathered Friends (Poetry) - 2/9/2015 9:43:27 AM
~Mr. Ed~ Beautiful the song of Cardinals...Beautifully penned with music to sooth the heart. Love feeding the birds and listen for their canter. Lady Mary Ann

Feeding My Feathered Friends (Poetry) - 2/9/2015 8:59:41 AM
We have a pair of resident mockingbirds, cardinals, bluejays, and mourning doves. When she puts the birdseed out every morning, about forty sparrows arrive and attack the seed until it's gone about two hours later. One dove has come by to drive away the sparrows occasionally and always drive away another dove because they seem to be rivals. The cardinals occasionally come by a bit after the sparrows are gone, picking out leftovers. The mockingbirds and bluejays don't seem to be interested in the birdseed at all. A squirrel is… But we fixed that with a hanging bird feeder that it can't get at. Ron

Feeding My Feathered Friends (Poetry) - 2/9/2015 7:20:06 AM
I feed the birds. I feed the squirrels. I watch them eat, and joy unfurls. Michael D.

Feeding My Feathered Friends (Poetry) - 2/9/2015 6:31:15 AM
" BIRDS OF A FEATHER FLOCK TOGETHER " ...

Day Dreaming In The Snow (Poetry) - 2/7/2015 9:11:48 AM
Wonderful. Seeing the rough and tumble nature of dog and wolf as natural, as giving you a gift, an experience transforming you into the mountain settings, well...that my friend, is magic.

Day Dreaming In The Snow (Poetry) - 2/6/2015 2:37:09 PM
Mr. Ed The Yukon territory to day dream. Peace. Carrie and Highway and the pack, hilarious!! Lady Mary Ann

Day Dreaming In The Snow (Poetry) - 2/6/2015 2:11:59 PM
Clever Mr. Ed! Compromise :) Blessings, Christine

Day Dreaming In The Snow (Poetry) - 2/6/2015 9:02:35 AM
A daydream drama carried out in your backyard! Reading this brought back memories of the old movie I saw, Call of the Wild, by Jack London where a fighting dog that appeared to be a St. Bernard broke free and joined a wolf pack. It was a very sad movie for what that dog went through. Nice wishful thinking though. Kind of like your pipe dream of living in the Yukon that your wife will not cotton to. I know the feeling… Ron

Day Dreaming In The Snow (Poetry) - 2/6/2015 6:50:03 AM
Pack up the pack, and head for the hills. Tell your wife it could be Green Acres, that should give her the chills. Michael D.

Day Dreaming In The Snow (Poetry) - 2/6/2015 4:34:59 AM
A vivid scene, quite a pair, that misunderstood part of your pack. And I like that you remembered Robert Service.

About Twenty Inches of Snow (Poetry) - 2/4/2015 11:14:56 AM
~Mr. Ed~ Sixteen tons ~ great music to console my husbands aches!!! Great poem!! Lady Mary Ann

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.