AuthorsDen.com  Join | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Eileen Granfors, iSage Sweetwater, iGisele Vincent-Page, iDave Cole, iAmy Sellers, iT.W. Fendley, iWalt Hardester, i
 
Home > Mr. Ed
 

Recent Reviews for Mr. Ed


My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 6/15/2014 5:38:46 PM
Congratulations on your book. Dogs are wonderful. No other animal has descended so unscathed from the world's first falling.

Curious Creatures - Wondrous Waifs, My Life with Animals (Book) - 10/22/2012 1:05:29 PM
Hello Ed, From one fellow animal lover to another, I was wondering if you had a website set up to establish a network of animal lovers? As well as having reviews for your works, it might be useful to get a network of helpers to 'adopt', 'sponsor' and 'help' any of the abused and neglected animals that you become aware of. May I step forward first for Manchester area in the U.K. I have two pet cockatiels and am particularly open to helping any birds that need a helping hand. I love dogs enormously, but cannot currently be fair in taking one in due to personal circumstances and a cat is out of the question due to my birds. Warmest Regards and best wishes on the success of your book, Lisa Worrall

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/25/2012 8:52:41 PM
I can't wait to read this! I lost my sweet angel about two years ago and miss him terribly...hugs

Where The Redwing Sings (Book) - 5/23/2011 8:18:54 AM
Oh Ed, you are right! They are gorgeous!! I could watch birds all day, they entertain better than anything man has made. Thank you for pointing me to this. Just awesome. Is there a picture in there that shows them looking down on the wings? I would love to have the use of it with your permission of course and a literary kudos for letting me use it. I am soooo happy you showed me this beautiful bird. Thank you!!!

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 5/12/2011 4:45:18 AM
The book was awesome. I don't have a dog but I am sure I will get one after reading the book. I like the fact that individuals have presented their experiences because that means its all real. A must for all dog lovers!!! Ravi Prakash

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/22/2010 10:55:14 AM
sounds a compelling read!!

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/17/2010 9:57:29 PM
Good for you sir! Patrick

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/17/2010 5:40:29 AM
Amen PEEWEE - Amen! Good Luck with your new book! tom.

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/13/2010 3:12:31 PM
Love this cover Ed and will have to get this book!

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/13/2010 5:51:16 AM
Gee, why am I not surprised that it would be about a dog. All kidding aside. Contratulations. God bless, Lew

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/13/2010 3:46:44 AM
Ed, Congradulations

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/12/2010 9:55:54 AM
sounds awesome-congrats

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/12/2010 8:48:18 AM
Ed, This book sounds dog-gone good. Cheers, Dan

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/12/2010 8:17:19 AM
CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU, MR. ED! IT SOUNDS LIKE A BEST SELLER TO ME! Hugs & Blessings, Granny :)

My Dog Is My Hero (Book) - 8/12/2010 8:06:10 AM
I am SO looking forward to reading this, as I have been for all your books, Ed...I hope this one becomes the best seller it is deserved to be...ed

Where The Redwing Sings (Book) - 1/26/2010 8:21:06 PM
Ed- Your book sounds IMPORTANT!, As all of GOD'S CREATURES are! This is Exciting News and I am sure that it will bring happiness, Wisdom and inspiration to those that read it! CONGRATULATIONS!!! AGAIN! I Thought I read this but, I almost missed it! Thank you for sharing your BIG Knowing Heart! Blessings of PEACE and HARMONY, SOULFUL_PurplePassionsSHEEoxxo

Mystery of Madera Canyon (Book) - 10/9/2009 8:25:07 PM
I received a copy of " Mystery of Madera Canyon." As I began to read, I noticed in the authors writing, a passion for nature and history. My eight year old son loved the character Bony and the mystery of the story. The design of the book is very attractive and welcomes the reader. My wife took the time to read the book and loved it, she did not put it down until complete. As a published author of three books, it is my opinion that "Mystery of Madera Canyon" is a wonderful book for any age. A very good work.

Gold River Canyon (Book) - 9/21/2009 10:00:10 PM
I was a State Law Enforcement Officer for Twenty years before becoming a writer. Jacob Golden "20 years as a lawman; I must read this book:-) It seems a great work!!!

Where The Redwing Sings (Book) - 6/16/2008 8:06:05 AM
I've been planning to buy this one for my summer reading since I belatedly discovered it a month ago. Now I have to await until I get to my sisiter's in Vermont where I will order it for my summer porch reading. I once read "A Sand Country Almanac" back in the 1970's by Aldo Leopold. I think you live in Wisconsin or go there a lot and this may be the 21st century poetic update to that book. (it's poetry isn't it?) Whatever though there may be some painful realities, I'm hoping to re-connect with my ecological roots as a naturalist... We'll see. And yes I too blame "greedy" cooperations for much. But who's mirror is that we're looking into? That of greedy American citizens who until gas peaked at $4 a gallon thought SUVs were just dandy. Now we must trim our boat when we should've done it voluntarily to save all life. Luckily, I've always driven economy cars (read: Honda civic) But Looking forward to it... later, michael guy

Where The Redwing Sings (Book) - 4/3/2008 3:16:38 AM
Where the Redwing Sings is a spiritual hike through the great American nature scene, its struggling remainders, the ghosts of its former glory, and the fading promise of its dubious future. A nature lover can’t read this book without both feeling a lump in the throat and rejoicing in its splendid prose and poetry. These scintillating literary snippets and cuttings are either collected from nature loving giants of the past or are convincingly invented by Ed Kostro. He also gathers an impressive array of data facts, and then artistically narrates this wondrous perambulation through the fascinating world of earth’s pressured non-human denizens. The back cover copy reads: “A book of nature inspired poems and essays, written from the heart and soul of a life-long nature, animal, and wilderness lover, and dedicated to today’s children. The words and thoughts expressed in this book reflect both an ardent love of our natural world, and a profound sadness at its modern day demise.” … Ed Kostro has been featured in Catholic Digest, Chicken Soup for the Dog Lover’s Soul, Cats Do It Better Than People, The Almanac for Farmers & City Folk, Pets: Part of the Family, and Pet’s Life. He has now published six books, including Curious Creatures-Wondrous Waifs, My Life With Animals (awarded a Certificate of Excellence in the 2004 International Cat Writer’s Association Communications Contest), and Through Katrina’s Eyes, Poems From an Animal Rescuer’s Soul (2006 Merial Corporation Human-Animal Bond Award). Along with Ed, I cry at the wanton losses occurring at every turn in the natural world. This book in many ways encapsulates the conscience of naturalists and naturalism. But as wonderful an impression as this little book made on me, I do have one critical complaint — the same that I have with many, if not most, of my fellow nature enthusiasts. I’m not sure I would entirely blame “greedy corporations” for the decline of the natural world. I think we have to look to the sources of their business to find the real culprits. But that is the subject for a different article. With this critique stated, let me urge the reader to acquire Where the Redwing SIngs and enjoy its haunting beauty for a nature guided emotional experience. I give it four and a half stars. © 2008 R. Leland Waldrip

Where The Redwing Sings (Book) - 3/4/2008 7:24:38 PM
Our wonderful wilderness is brought to life in Ed's latest book: WHERE THE REDWING SINGS With his poetry and prose graciously melded into each chapter, Ed Kostro is able to transport us to the various and beautiful locales of blissful peace: our wetlands, forests, lakes, mountains, and wilderness. His Introduction alone will, hopefully, startle the reader's mind with awakening. At a time when the world seems more intent on desecrating our Earth than on saving its creation, this author brings forth sound reasoning of duty by all mankind to preserve our gracious gifts. From the beginning "Where the Redwing Sings", attending "The Cathedral in the Pines", through "Thoughts of Hiawatha I and II, and "Cries in the Night", you will be mesmerized by the author's understanding of our natural habitats, the creatures large and small, and our winged wonders. A conscience-awakening book that is a must to be owned, read, and shared with children and grandchildren. What're you waiting for?

Where The Redwing Sings (Book) - 3/2/2008 7:27:11 AM
your dedication is perfect as it will be today's children who will become responsible for these creatures as well as the planet in general--may your book help them to care

Where The Redwing Sings (Book) - 3/2/2008 5:16:50 AM
I am excited to read your book,, It is a blessing to have your words of wisdom and inspirations of Nature and all Creatures passed on to your readers..and I am a big fan. Congrats!!! :)Christine

Where The Redwing Sings (Book) - 3/1/2008 10:26:09 AM
Best we sing about Natures wonders when we still have a few left. Congratulations with your new book, and like Jersey said, "wannareadit" Georg

Where The Redwing Sings (Book) - 3/1/2008 9:37:15 AM
Wanna read it, wanna read it...ed

Pigs, Turtles, and Bugs! (Short Story) - 5/12/2015 6:01:58 AM
Enjoyed being at camp with you Mr Ed thanks for taking us along!

Pigs, Turtles, and Bugs! (Short Story) - 5/8/2015 3:45:14 AM
Fine stories-Our Boys (and now Girls) Club was important to me, too. I got to see Ted Williams' back in a Spring Training game as I hung on the fence 'til my hands were numb, it was my introduction to civilization-but yeh, its the bugs, isn't it?

Fishing With A Friend (Short Story) - 4/29/2015 3:43:02 AM
Made me want to go fishing Ed I enjoyed it!

The Easter Skunk (Short Story) - 3/30/2015 8:18:55 AM
PeeWee... as usual ... Mother Nature does a better job at caring & protection!

The Dog At The Drive-Thru Window (Short Story) - 2/4/2015 8:22:00 AM
I'm amazed at what you have to go through to save a single dog… Hours of waiting and struggle once you have captured one. Border collies are very intelligent so she will probably become someone's special helper. Ron

Home For The Holidays (Short Story) - 12/5/2014 9:04:48 AM
You certainly did surprise me at the end. And I think the way that you usually write, a dog would come to mind before a cat. I was wondering when you wrote why Oliver didn't mention his coat in the snow and whether he was thirsty or hungry or not. A good story for young people everywhere, especially at Christmas. Ron

Home For The Holidays (Short Story) - 12/5/2014 7:33:51 AM
At first I though Oliver was a dog, but as the story progressed I thought it to be a little boy, then to come to find out what it really was, I wasn't shocked and enjoyed the rest of the story...by the way that yellow eyed beast in the woods was probably the Jersey Devil, I, er uh, HE certainly does get around...-e-

A Survivor's Tale (Short Story) - 9/13/2014 5:38:45 PM
lovely read of determination and grit

A Survivor's Tale (Short Story) - 8/28/2014 9:09:49 AM
Happy for Junior, unhappy for his mom & dad, as they are hit with a tremendous vet bill, I'm sure...take good care of him, he sounds like a great guy, unlike his daddy who is such a pain in the a.. -e-

A Survivor's Tale (Short Story) - 8/28/2014 5:22:44 AM
Are you sure that Junior isn't a cat? He sure seems to be well on his way through his nine lives. What a wonderful story of survival. Of course none of it would've been possible without the intervention you provided every time to save his life. In the wild, he would have died, and perhaps be eaten by other carnivores. Survival of the fittest has created impressive natural survivors and kept their populations under control. Our intervention by saving those that would normally not survive and allowing them to breed certainly weakens the gene pool of the canine population. The fact that so many of those pets could not survive, like humans, in a post-Katrina New Orleans, teaches us something about what we are doing to our survival chances in a real disaster that may come any time in the future. Are we prepared to eat our dogs like the Native Americans did to survive long winter? If not, wolves, coyotes and foxes will probably outlive us. Ron

Pigs, Turtles, and Bugs! (Short Story) - 6/26/2014 7:05:33 AM
Your memory, even of conversation, is quite good. City kid becomes naturalist… It's a bit uncommon these days. Although I spent my first six years in the country and my grandfather, nearby grew up in a log cabin and had to ford the river to get to town, I didn't go to camp until we were in the city when I was about eight years old. It was a day camp. I don't remember much except the sour milk, swimming in a cold, small swimming hole on a creek, and slamming my thumb in the car door on the last day of camp. Much better camping experiences were with the Boy Scouts at their northern camp near Tomahawk and later at Camp Chicagami near Amherst. My brother and I could only go one week a year. But we always found plenty of wildlife to learn about and go back to the World Book Encyclopedia to look up after finding something. The highlights of my scouting career was a week I spent at the Explorer base on the Flambeau River near Phillips, and a year later, when I was 16, a weeklong wilderness canoe trip of 100 miles in the Boundary Waters, where I learned survival skills. Ron

Pigs, Turtles, and Bugs! (Short Story) - 6/26/2014 5:50:24 AM
lovely read, enjoyed your interesting tale

Pigs, Turtles, and Bugs! (Short Story) - 6/26/2014 4:33:06 AM
A fascinating and enchanting read that is truly a children's adventure all rolled up in one! I usually speed-read but this one I slowly savored and much enjoyed. I recall as a young boy in living in NYC I who would go to the Catskill mountains every summer. Now I live in Florida and I miss the lightning bugs and the Japanese beetles. Crazy! Yes, I visited the camp with second largest pool in NY state (at the time) all over again and my it did not look so big anymore! After I joined the Air Force we would occasionally go on trips and sleep in tents. For those trips I was the first to volunteer! Some of my friends would complain about the conditions as I would relish at the clear blue sky and the chirping of the crickets. Recently my wife and I just came back from our first RV trip ever! I was tempted to take a tent and sleep outside just to recall those times but my wife would not have it. Perhaps if I snore loud enough I will be thrown to the wilderness of the wolves once again. HA! Maybe next year! Thank you Ed for a GREAT write! John Michael

Pigs, Turtles, and Bugs! (Short Story) - 6/26/2014 3:07:41 AM
That was so wonderful , i enjoyed it so much, almost saw it thru my eyes.I like outdoors and my husband is just the opposite . He is a bookworm but we stay near the seashore so i get enough of the sea and its ramblings, but for camping I would like to go only if I know how to roll on to mother nature. I love swimming like an animal, my kids tease me but that's how I like to swim Thank you for this Ed JK

Gentle Cemetery Dog Finally Safe (Short Story) - 6/1/2014 6:31:17 AM
Persistence pays off! Sure glad that she was saved. Looks like she was in danger from the cold and from cars all the time. Ron

Gentle Cemetery Dog Finally Safe (Short Story) - 5/30/2014 4:41:09 PM
Sweet dog! I'm glad she was rescued! Sandie

Gentle Cemetery Dog Finally Safe (Short Story) - 5/30/2014 12:13:13 PM
Wonderful news!!

Freezing, Starving, and Scared (Short Story) - 2/18/2014 2:09:12 AM
Another heart-wrenching story that once again leaves me at a total loss and doubt, as to how I can possibly be of the same species as the people who let these things happen. This week, I found two dogs huddled together in an old abandoned cowshed. They were soaked to skin and terribly thin. Neither had any ID - It makes me so angry. Rx

Freezing, Starving, and Scared (Short Story) - 2/17/2014 7:26:59 AM
another fine write you have given us budd

Freezing, Starving, and Scared (Short Story) - 2/17/2014 6:51:12 AM
I read this before. Ron

A Home For The Holidays (Short Story) - 12/28/2013 10:19:12 AM
Read this story before, but it still a great compassionate Christmas gift that you give these dogs abandoned, starving, and cold. Ron

A Home For The Holidays (Short Story) - 12/28/2013 6:05:54 AM
you are such an angel of mercy to so very many budd

A Home For The Holidays (Short Story) - 12/28/2013 4:22:12 AM
So much sadness and too many tragic waifs and strays - How can our race function when so many are so ugly,cruel and/or downright selfish. There are simply not enough like you, Ed... but Thank God there are a few.

The Dog Who Rescued Other Dogs (Short Story) - 10/13/2013 1:30:28 AM
critters often show more compassion for one another than we do for critters or humans m

Scruffy's Resurrection (Short Story) - 10/13/2013 1:28:34 AM
shelter, rescue, critters always become such great additions to the household. enjoyed the read

I Am a Dog, Not a Thing (Article) - 4/27/2015 5:00:11 AM
A very fine representation of what a dog might think about its human companions. Ron

Ghost Dog Rescued From Hot Dog Stand (Article) - 2/25/2015 6:52:39 AM
Another great rescue story that I read earlier from the website. She knew where the meat was! Unfortunately, she probably would have died eating that kind of meat very long. ;-) Ron

February is 'National Spay/Neuter Awareness' Month (Article) - 2/3/2015 11:57:00 AM
A another great article with very important advice. Others should be commenting from their perspective. We humans seem to treat our own population similar to our pets. We are very happy with unbridled procreation, and then don't take care of ourselves very well… Often kicking the unwanted to the side… Letting "charity" take care of them… Warehousing them in prison… Or worse, letting them die in the street. Ron

The 2014 Home 4 The Holidays Campaign (Article) - 11/20/2014 7:42:17 AM
Everyone thinks that they are the perfect pet raiser when they spot that "doggie in the window." But that puppy becomes old when it starts chewing everything in sight and is not properly trained to poop and pee outdoors. Before long, that cute little puppy is rejected and dropped somewhere somewhere in the streets. Home for the Holidays is a much better solution for everyone involved. Thanks for sharing with us another way of approaching holiday giving that is more than just giving… It's about saving the life of a poor homeless dog or cat. Ron

The 2014 Home 4 The Holidays Campaign (Article) - 11/19/2014 8:45:14 AM
another fine article by you, thank you

Saving Our Canine Vets, This Veterans Day (Article) - 11/10/2014 7:46:56 AM
A truly worthwhile and good cause. Thanks for telling the world about it. Hopefully, the need for these dogs in warfare will end with warfare and we will be able to use these dogs and other endeavors, like rescue and recovery. Ron

November is 'Adopt-A-Senior-Pet' Month (Article) - 11/2/2014 4:11:40 PM
Thanks for highlighting the joy of having a pet who is already experience in sharing love with its owner. This is very informative about the availability of pets in this category. I am glad to know that there is a Adopt-a-Senior Pet Month and can share with people in my circle. Good article.

November is 'Adopt-A-Senior-Pet' Month (Article) - 11/1/2014 12:18:15 PM
From babies to pets, most people think that by getting an infant that they will be able to train it "in their own image." It's a kind of self-serving attitude that usually doesn't work, knowing what I know about adopted children and people who find their cute little puppies and kittens turn into an incorrigible nightmares… All because they are very bad parents. I was the recipient of one of those incorrigible little devils, who quickly found out that I was the kind of buddy that he could count on. I gave him the kind of freedom that he needed (running free both in the house and in the yard and food and water ready for him anytime he wanted to eat or drink, like at 2 am when I was asleep). That suited him fine and he was loyal and helpful to the end. Ron

November is 'Adopt-A-Senior-Pet' Month (Article) - 11/1/2014 3:07:55 AM
excellent reminder, timely and needed. our abandoned, rescues, taken in, came for supper and stayed for the duration have been all ages when they arrive from barely weaned to elderly, all have provided us with much enjoyment and I weep as each becomes elderly, or more so in some cases, and finally we say goodbye. Georgina was born here in the storehouse years ago, to a wandering needs a home, and per the cat age calculator measured 97 years when she trekked the rainbow bridge late on Thursday. Georgie's mom, Lulu soldiers on, she has 2 more of her little girls, also 97 per the calculator, to care for before her work is done apparently.

National Pit Bull Awareness Day (Article) - 10/30/2014 5:33:48 AM
Wonderful dogs and like children, a product of teaching. I've had several out here in the boonies. Thank you for speaking up for them.

National Pit Bull Awareness Day (Article) - 10/24/2014 7:02:41 AM
One weekend while teaching at a local college I returned to my parents' home and helped my younger twin brothers build a doghouse for their dog. He was a medium-sized brown, shorthaired guy with intelligence from his mother who was a stray that my mother took in to keep from freezing in 20 below zero midwinter. Anyway, when we finished the doghouse, Tom wrote his name on a little piece of wood and nailed it over the doorway. The handsome dog house matched the garage and house perfectly with the same siding and shingles on the roof. Tom wrote, "Pete," on the sign. That was the first time I saw the dog's name, but didn't ask why they picked such a name for their dog. I thought it was strange, but didn't question their choice of a name. Sometime later, after watching reruns of my favorite afternoon show during my teenage years, Our Gang, I suddenly realized that the pit bull in those serials with the ring around his eye was also named Pete--where my brothers got the name! One of Pete's interesting activities was to run out to the corner on the county road in front of the house and greet the cat coming back from a hunting trip. After touching noses, he would escort the cat back along the road, home. Pete recovered from being hit by cars couple of times and that doghouse. Finally, one day he came home shot. He crawled into that doghouse and, in spite of my brothers' best efforts, he died there. Ron

Keep Your Pets Safe This Halloween (Article) - 10/22/2014 10:25:54 AM
Great tips, many of which I did not know. I would also caution that black cats seem to be targets of teenage abuse during Halloween. I would advise anyone with a black cat to keep it indoors and out of harms way until after the holiday is over. Ron

October is 'Adopt-A-Dog' Month (Article) - 10/17/2014 4:45:52 PM
Bless you for spreading the word. We have one more trip and then 2 months at home which should allow us to bring home another dog to love and be a part of our loving family. Big or little--we will want them all, but we should add only 1.

October is 'Adopt-A-Dog' Month (Article) - 10/1/2014 2:54:02 PM
I pray to be alive to see the day when people are waiting ON LINE to have the privilege to adapt a pet. Wouldn't that be wonderful! Amen

Pet Theft Is On The Rise (Article) - 9/14/2014 8:35:35 AM
excellent, and sadly necessary information

Pet Theft Is On The Rise (Article) - 9/13/2014 8:49:36 AM
Great information and advice. Pedigree owners beware. I adopt a mutt and rest easy. Ron

Pet Theft Is On The Rise (Article) - 9/13/2014 3:01:27 AM
This is one of the main reasons I live in the middle of nowhere - If I am difficult to find, so are my boys. Rx

The Humane Society of Louisiana (Article) - 9/1/2014 2:36:15 PM
Contemplating this article, I couldn't help but wonder what happens to all the displaced animals embroiled in the various sectors of the Middle East unrest.

The Humane Society of Louisiana (Article) - 8/30/2014 10:23:33 AM
A well-written plea for the Humane Society Louisiana. I certainly hope they get the funds they need to finish the facility because it is sorely needed. Just today, Animal Control discovered nearly 50 emaciated and flea bitten collies that the owner was supposedly breeding here in Houston. They were rescued from certain death, but there are many more out there with so many people hoarding animals they can't take care of. Ron

The Story of Chuck (Article) - 7/9/2014 6:57:50 AM
Heartwarming story. Reminds me of the time and the Martin farm. They had 15 children and the youngest, Loretta was about 7 with down syndrome. I was visiting the farm on one of my walks after being paralyzed, particularly to talk to Tom, who had 18 and taken over running the farm because his father was bent over at the waist from arthritis (and making too many kids?). Anyway, the farm yard was filled with chickens, ducks, dogs, and cats so you had to watch where you stepped. There was one small, skinny mutt that had pups, quite remarkable because her hind legs were paralyzed (probably from being run over by a car) and dragged behind her. Anyway, for some reason, I had walked up to the house where all the kids were and I had passed the dog by and was talking to Tom's mother, when, suddenly one of my legs was pulled out from under me, leaving me standing on one leg with the other being pulled out behind me. I looked to see what was happening, and that little dog had me by the Achilles tendon and was pulling on me as hard as she could. She let loose and I checked, only to have a little broken skin and no bleeding. Tom told me that I had gotten too close to Loretta and the little dog had only been trying to protect her. Ron

What Pet Abandonment In America Looks Like (Article) - 6/27/2014 7:28:25 AM
Little dog lost and found again. Wonderful video. My next-door neighbor had a small dog like that, only he looked much worse and was probably infested with fleas and had heart worms. They are Asian and only able to talk to Beh. The dog is long gone and the husband died last year. Ron

What Pet Abandonment In America Looks Like (Article) - 6/27/2014 4:19:18 AM
powerful!!

June is 'Adopt-A-Cat' Month (Article) - 5/31/2014 6:36:24 AM
Nice thoughts about our feline friends. We have two adopted strays that are completely different. The boy is my lap cat and the girl acts like Liz's shadow. The boy is very friendly to both of us but hides when strangers come in. The girl is very shy with us but hangs around like a statue when guest show up. Go figure? We encourage others to adopt a cat and find out who your best friends are at the end of a stressful day. Amen!

June is 'Adopt-A-Cat' Month (Article) - 5/31/2014 4:30:53 AM
timely, excellent, well done, and most folks believe the old myth that cats are solitary beings. I found after 20+ years of cat rescue that cats are groupies, if you can adopt 2, or mama and kids for years of wonderful companionship for you and the cats, and the cats with the cats. even my little singles who come soon make friends and can be seen in little groups of contented purr m

The 2013 Home 4 The Holidays Campaign (Article) - 5/24/2014 5:36:34 PM
timely, needed, excellent article

Just Nature (Poetry) - 5/26/2015 9:00:34 AM
Nature takes us to another realm and adds a calming to our weary soul...giving our spirit a positive uplifting. Always, Deborah

Just Nature (Poetry) - 5/26/2015 4:42:17 AM
Well said. Not enough gets recorded about the health and spiritual benefits of our remaining places of quiet and being.

Just Nature (Poetry) - 5/26/2015 3:26:56 AM
I love nature, too. I was just saying that I have that urge to spend a month in a cabin in the mountains right now, to get away from it all, get back in touch with nature and write. Thanks for the images!

Just Nature (Poetry) - 5/26/2015 2:26:19 AM
Yes on nature walks we are among many friends. Excellent write and great positive insight.

It's Poppy Time Once More (Poetry) - 5/23/2015 3:26:02 AM
We buy Poppies over here in UK every November...and wear them for remembrance...driving through these areas where the Poppies grew...you can still sense the enormity of the past... Diana...

It's Poppy Time Once More (Poetry) - 5/23/2015 3:13:14 AM
LOVELY, timely, informative; sad that so many today have no inkling regarding poppies and the significance. i have have used Flander's Field, and poppy wreaths, as part of our Nov 11 tribute to the vets for years in the classroom this old nam vet's widow, nam vet's wife AND niece of fallen hero, DSC, sleeping so many years beneath one of the many white crosses in France says THANK YOU! m

It's Poppy Time Once More (Poetry) - 5/22/2015 2:02:04 PM
I did not know this! Thank you for posting this. Poppies are my favorite flowers, after the Bearded Iris. Blessings, Christine

It's Poppy Time Once More (Poetry) - 5/22/2015 8:47:15 AM
A wonderful sentiment and perhaps, a good way to raise money for the VFW and veterans everywhere. But I beg to differ a bit. When I was placed in the state university hospital for five weeks of observation (and rehabilitation?) they steered me toward crafts and occupational therapy. They wanted me to make potholders by weaving yarn around nails on a board, something my paralyzed hands found very difficult to do. I told them that I wanted to go back to college. Making artificial poppies once or twice a year for a good cause is noble, but veterans who want nothing more than to be accepted in the workplace, in spite of their physical, and more importantly, mental disabilities are not helped by being relegated to doing craftwork when they want real work and a meaningful life beyond hospitals and VA homes. The March of Dimes for polio no longer serves its purpose. I understand that the Labor Day telethon for muscular dystrophy is over. Perhaps we need to support our veterans more positively than artificial poppies once a year for Memorial Day. Ron

It's Poppy Time Once More (Poetry) - 5/22/2015 2:42:37 AM
I can't buy food let alone a poppy anymore, maybe next year if by then I can get a job again...but I give veterans my respect, more than some give them...-e-

Please Don't Worry So Much, H.P. (Poetry) - 5/20/2015 5:43:21 AM
Wonderful poem, Ed! Your compassion speak volumes and there isn't much guys like you around ... You truly are a blessing, Ed ...

Meatloaf Matlack (Poetry) - 5/19/2015 6:22:17 AM
Dear Cuz Mr. Ed Peewee ... It is such a shame that like poor ole Charlie Brown, "why is everybody always pickin on me?" ... everybody is always pickin on poor ole Fat-Ass "Meatloaf" Matlack. In his defense, I just posted a comment on his recent "bitch" about "Life After Life". You might want to check it out ? Luv ... Cuz Sir Cur ... The One-Eth ...

Please Don't Worry So Much, H.P. (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 10:23:05 AM
If Matlack did not exist, someone would have to invent him.

Meatloaf Matlack (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 7:32:39 AM
Sometimes in life, no matter what we do, we are not appreciated. Gotta love that photo!!! Rx

Please Don't Worry So Much, H.P. (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 5:52:22 AM
Don't worry, HP, I heard that your former boss is running for president. If she wins, all kinds of goodies will trickle down to the old cool and you'll come out clean as a whistle. Ron

Please Don't Worry So Much, H.P. (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 3:49:07 AM
Thanks very much John and Ray - I try to look out for all of the 'Underdogs' whoever they may be - human, animal, or H.P.!

Please Don't Worry So Much, H.P. (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 3:46:24 AM
Poor HP it has to be hard on him with that Whiny Old Coot sleeping on his keyboard all the time. LOL It's a good thing HP has you to look out for him Mr. Ed :)

Please Don't Worry So Much, H.P. (Poetry) - 5/18/2015 3:39:52 AM
Dear Mr. Ed, I agree with your poem and I try to de-stress all I can and be worry free throughout the day But I must share that my pet Sammy-boy teaches me to de-stress in so many ways! He teaches me to be still, be in the moment, relax and listen to a breath of air. After taking a few breaths with my Sammy-boy I don't worry about anything and I don't have a care. So if anyone wants to de-stress you got the cure my friend, you are the right person to call We all need a pet to relax, enjoy life with God's animals, for they are made with His pure love after all. Now, I have to post this poem for others. Thank You again my dear friend. John-Bouy

Meatloaf Matlack (Poetry) - 5/16/2015 6:05:28 AM
Well done...enjoyed this.. reminds me of someone I used to know..Hugss

Meatloaf Matlack (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 2:02:56 PM
Hmmm, come see me. For a small fee I can set you free. Here in the Mendip's we can assist many dark friendships. MAHUHWAHWAHWAH!

Meatloaf Matlack (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 10:53:51 AM
For staters, BITE ME, Hull... Enjoyed this fantastical story of the real us, Told you all he was a blowhard & liar, And he was always taking the short bus, Hell, I even taught my "dear" brother how to cuss, And to be honest I don't see why we are experiencing all this fuss, And dear old Ma told me to never of this discuss, But his name is not really Ed or even Pee Wee, His name is actually Gus...-e-

Meatloaf Matlack (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 8:04:10 AM
The only thing missing is your companion, Pete, by your side with that circle around his eye that made him so attractive. Yes, old Ed Matlack has become a bore and childish with his attacks on little old you. I guess it was time for you to do what you do. When I read about it, I went, "Whoopty do! Ron

Meatloaf Matlack (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 3:56:07 AM
Thanks, Buzzard - the truth often hurts!

Meatloaf Matlack (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 3:49:53 AM
Poor Meatloaf I mean Matlack LOL I assume you may pay dearly for this write Mr Ed, but I did enjoy reading it :)

A Walk With Dogs (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 5:37:01 AM
Being out in mother nature, there's nothing like it!

A Walk With Dogs (Poetry) - 5/7/2015 8:49:39 AM
They are man's one true helpmate and healer, Ed. Gotta get me a dog again... I'm the jealous one! :) xx

A Walk With Dogs (Poetry) - 4/29/2015 4:07:17 PM
Such a truism, I write this with my wee doggie lying at my feet and shadowing my every move, oftentimes unbeknown until... WOOOOF.

A Walk With Dogs (Poetry) - 4/26/2015 8:35:23 AM
Truer words were never spoken. A walk in the woods is good for the soul. A walk in the woods with dogs is ever better for our befuddled psyches.

A Walk With Dogs (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 9:44:38 PM
My favorite dogs are mutts. They are not high strung, just down to earth. Not a care in the world, just alive with a sense of wonder. Just like we were when we were kids. Living in the moment and loving it. Dogs can bring us down to earth and back to the reality of nature and the Creator. All we need to do is follow Snoopy and his keep sense of smell. Soon we will be in Paradise and that's a far cry from living in ......... Amen

A Walk With Dogs (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 11:31:51 AM
Ed, This brought tears. It reminded me of walks with my furangel. I miss him so much. Weekends are hard because he passed on a Sunday.

A Walk With Dogs (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 9:07:49 AM
It sure is… Ron

A Walk With Dogs (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 7:07:00 AM
Our dog hates the rain. Good luck getting her to go out. And when my wife isn't home, She lays around and pouts. Our dog is more human than mutt, and if she sees another dog, she can't keep her mouth shut. Michael D.

A Walk With Dogs (Poetry) - 4/25/2015 5:30:04 AM
Dogs are then very Zen, Living in the moment, Rufuz used to love the beach, Or maybe he just loved being with me, then...-e-

Earth Day Blues (Poetry) - 4/23/2015 3:44:50 PM
so sad and so true..great write....Hugss

Earth Day Blues (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 7:55:02 PM
The truth is here about our Earth and what it is becoming, a very disruptive earth caused by man.

Earth Day Blues (Poetry) - 4/22/2015 5:23:48 AM
We lost the battle when we were separated from the land, when we no longer grew our own food and shared/traded it with our neighbors - when we bought into the fantasy of unlimited 'progress' - nice lament, Mr. Ed. We are, after all, a communal beast - caged.

Earth Day Blues (Poetry) - 4/21/2015 8:53:30 AM
I've committed my entire life to conservation and elimination of dangerous chemicals touted as miracle solutions to non-problems. You're right, at some point, idealistic thoughts about nature, fostered a few times during our country's history of genocide of species, plants, and clean water, seem to be much stronger back then, then now. Succeeding generations, pressed to go to college, not to learn, but to earn to pay back their college loans, have succumbed to the "American Dream" of the ever larger suburban mansion and worship of the discount store. Advertising and deceptive "bargains" and given corporations all they need to take over the entire world for their purposes. If we don't take Earth Day seriously, Earth's days are numbered, and so are ours. Ron

Earth Day Blues (Poetry) - 4/21/2015 6:22:12 AM
Unfortunately until we get lobbyists and money out of politics, It will be business as usual in the world of corporate greed. The cartoon along with your words speaks volumes. Michael D.

Earth Day Blues (Poetry) - 4/21/2015 5:52:22 AM
I don't know what to say, is there anything anybody CAN say...its all so sad...so just keep pluggin away, what else is there to do...? -e-

What Have We Become (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 6:38:42 PM
It has happened on our own street. People are fucking assholes, and that's putting it mildly. Michael D.

What Have We Become (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 4:16:16 PM
Well my dear friend your timing could not be more perfect! I just watched a Travel Channel series about India and how they love, respect and revere their animals. They will starve to death before they slaughter a cow. Elephants are treated like kings. Dogs and cats are treated very kindly as well. So how about our culture in America? Their are some sane folks in the back roads of our nation but the majority of us are sinking deep into the clutches of Hell. Amen!

What Have We Become (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 9:49:44 AM
this is so horrible people make me sick..i'm glad there good in your heart..Hugss

What Have We Become (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 9:03:02 AM
I watched the documentary, The Corporation, last night. The overriding conclusion was that the corporation is a citizen with no morality other than profit. Corporations have, through their propaganda called advertising have convinced everyone that throwaway consumption is good and are plundering the planet and all the creatures in it without regard for the consequences. You are to be applauded for your continued raising of concern. Gradually, everyone will regard plunder as an endgame that will be very bad for us. Ron

What Have We Become (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 9:02:44 AM
Yes with regards our humans on this planet...we are all becoming more worthless everyday...& yes you see these dogs first hand, but I got to say it must be a mid western America thing, cause I have NEVER seen a dog running free or foraging in trash for food as if I had I would have fed it & tried to help it...and yes I know that you will say they only come out at night, but of late I have been riding my bike in the nightand still no dogs...still if they ARE out there, I wish them well...-e-

What Have We Become (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 7:51:18 AM
Another cry into the void, for we have indeed lost our way perpetrating these kind of life-tragedies, embracing ignorance and callous solipsism. Ironically, the picture of the dog is a perfect metaphor for the moral decay of the species, and I'm not talking about the supernatural disguise of religion, for that carries on in all its brutality and rivalry to claim one is the holier than thou of another. How about the just plain moral decay of a species that is suppose to honor thinking, love and respect of other life, as you suggest? Where the hell did that go?

What Have We Become (Poetry) - 4/19/2015 7:18:32 AM
Yes, as a society, we are cold, uncaring, callous bastards. But thank God for people like you. Keep up your good work!

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 2:51:28 PM
Everybody else did say what I could say too, except I want Scruffy...-e-

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 7:01:03 AM
a message that can never be expressed enough ... a tale that stirs one's heart ...

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 4:10:44 AM
Sad the way some treat these dogs, but these three have a happy ending thanks to you Mr. Ed! Thanks for your service to these loving animals, it puts a smile on my face... Your feathered friend The Buzzard

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 5:56:56 PM
I remember back about our troubles, but I just cannot let this post go by without saying something. To me, a human being who treats a defenseless animal with such cruelty does not deserve to be called a human. I have had many dogs during my lifetime, and my love for them is only surpassed by their love for me.

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 10:59:12 AM
Let us hope that your pleas will travel out through the Internet beyond this poetry page to all those who own and abuse their pets. And that some will change as a result. Ron

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 10:29:12 AM
You are truly a special person. Someone we should all try to be like. Michael D.

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 7:10:57 AM
~Mr. Ed~ Their beautiful faces tell the story of the unconditional love they have to share. Lady Mary Ann

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 6:31:55 AM
The overused cliche today, especially by politicians, is "the devil's in the details." But the details here may, for believers, have had the devil's input, but the details "you" provide are compassionate pleas for kindness, consideration, and especially, a warning that self-loathing comes in all sizes, shapes and regrets. Thank you for sharing these empowering stories.

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 6:27:56 AM
The cruelty of some is pathetic. The love of the few like you is heart warming. Thanks.

The Victims of Our Cruelty (Poetry) - 4/11/2015 4:29:48 AM
Some of these so called HUMAN BEINGS make me sick the way they treat these beautiful animals....your a good man MR ED. tysm much for these updates I certainly will pass this on...xo

The Shredding Machine (Poetry) - 4/8/2015 11:31:51 AM
Adorable! My old retriever used to go mad for stockings; she'd worry and toss them about as if they were red-hot potatoes. That'll learn you to hide the Easter Eggs from him! :) xx

The Shredding Machine (Poetry) - 4/7/2015 5:21:22 AM
That is tragic. But, with shredding machines around, to be expected. If you have them, they will be used. My brother boarded his 13-year-old Golden retriever with his stepdaughter and her two dogs while taking a weeklong stay in Arizona a month ago. When he returned home to Indiana and brought Rocky back to the house, he discovered (I saw the evidence, a picture) that Rocky had got in the trash of the mail he looked at the night before, and shredded it all over the floor. In all his life, Rocky had never done anything like that before. Who says you can't teach old dogs new tricks… Ron

A Woodland Chat (Poetry) - 4/7/2015 4:54:38 AM
I enjoyed the poem Mr. Ed.... From a fellow nature lover! The Buzzard

The Shredding Machine (Poetry) - 4/6/2015 3:44:50 PM
Boyz will be Boyz !

The Shredding Machine (Poetry) - 4/6/2015 8:02:41 AM
What would we do without pets to make real communications with.

The Shredding Machine (Poetry) - 4/6/2015 8:00:30 AM
~Mr. Ed~ This beat goes well with the shredding machine!! Cute poem. Oh, a new hat for Valentino and one for Shadow, too!! Lady Mary Ann

The Shredding Machine (Poetry) - 4/6/2015 7:25:02 AM
The hat wasnt all that great anyway, especially if you bought it, guys just have no fashion sense...-e-

The Shredding Machine (Poetry) - 4/6/2015 6:38:21 AM
Since his old hat, was shredded and destroyed, I hope the new hat, leaves Valentino overjoyed. I think Shadow needs some chew toys. Michael D.

Happy Easter From Valentino (Poetry) - 4/5/2015 10:57:12 PM
from rags to riches, or is it? thought provoking.

Happy Easter From Valentino (Poetry) - 4/5/2015 5:55:39 AM
awe so sweet...Happy Easter to all..Hugss

Happy Easter From Valentino (Poetry) - 4/4/2015 4:34:35 PM
Happy Easter Valentino! Tell your humble assistant I said "Hello". Well done once again my friend!

Happy Easter From Valentino (Poetry) - 4/4/2015 10:31:07 AM
~Mr. Ed and Valentino~ Happy Easter...cutest chick hat! Very stylish!! Lady Mary Ann

Happy Easter From Valentino (Poetry) - 4/4/2015 9:21:49 AM
Now, isn't that special….! Ron

Happy Easter From Valentino (Poetry) - 4/4/2015 8:09:52 AM
NICE HAT !

Happy Easter From Valentino (Poetry) - 4/4/2015 7:24:44 AM
So, when will we be seeing Valentino on the fashion runway! Happy Easter to all of you. Michael D.

Scruffy's Resurrection (Poetry) - 4/3/2015 3:33:49 AM
Wonderful story Ed, I don't know how I missed this two years ago! There are good people and bad in this world of ours so Mr. Ed, please stand and be counted as one of the good ones my friend !

A Woodland Chat (Poetry) - 4/1/2015 9:38:23 AM
You are such a nature boy! Another fine telling, loved it! Peace love and light, Amber

A Woodland Chat (Poetry) - 4/1/2015 4:05:32 AM
If he was searching for a mate, maybe he was choosing you, you could do worse and he a hell of alot better...-e-

A Woodland Chat (Poetry) - 3/31/2015 8:47:21 AM
It requires a strong affinity with Nature to see, to say nothing of writing, a poem like this. Beautiful.

A Woodland Chat (Poetry) - 3/31/2015 7:21:52 AM
What a wonderful story poem! I'm glad you told us what that bird is, otherwise I would have to look it up myself. I just learned yesterday that the English robin, probably the one that Robin Hood takes his name from, is not at all like our ubiquitous robin, but are different color both in body and breast. Coincidentally, she just called me from Lowe's and asked what suet was? She was buying birdseed and saw it. I tried to explain what it was, but she couldn't understand why birds would like fat, saying, "They'll get fat … No!" I told her to buy some and try it. Maybe we'll get more birds than the sparrows and a couple of doves the birdseed brings. Ron

A Woodland Chat (Poetry) - 3/31/2015 6:33:12 AM
Your words are as beautiful as nature itself. Michael D.

A Woodland Chat (Poetry) - 3/31/2015 5:19:27 AM
beautiful.....I love nature and it's beauty...

A Woodland Chat (Poetry) - 3/31/2015 4:43:19 AM
~Mr. Ed~ Charming this poem and a delight to listen to natures chatter. The music is a beautiful melody for a spring encounter. To a cup of tea quarter till three! Lady Mary Ann

Happy First Day of Spring! (Poetry) - 3/25/2015 10:00:16 PM
An appropriate poem for a most welcomed time of the year. Amen!

Happy First Day of Spring! (Poetry) - 3/22/2015 2:50:11 PM
My yard bushes are completely destroyed from the weight of the snow we had. There will be plenty of gardening this spring!!! Looking forward to spring.

Happy First Day of Spring! (Poetry) - 3/21/2015 11:00:23 PM
Wonderfully penned, Ed ... Happy Spring and enjoy :)

Happy First Day of Spring! (Poetry) - 3/20/2015 9:20:53 PM
I'd like to tell you whee you can put ur HAPPY first day of spring, but I too much of gentleman to express myself in that kind of language here...maybe privately but...-e-

Happy First Day of Spring! (Poetry) - 3/20/2015 12:35:40 PM
...musically speaking Mr. Ed...your joyfully happy poems words of the first day of Spring in Northern Hemisphere...are barking loud...while your faithful dog find pleasure on the meadow...in a sweet sleep...under leafy tree... Happy Renewal...Rebirth...and Regrowth Springtime!

Happy First Day of Spring! (Poetry) - 3/20/2015 7:33:49 AM
First day of spring, and I woke up up fresh snow on the ground. Old man winter is still around. Michael D.

Happy First Day of Spring! (Poetry) - 3/20/2015 7:20:12 AM
~Mr. Ed~ Happy 1st day of Spring. Lovely music to welcome the most wonderful day. Love the quote. "I love Spring anywhere, but if I could I would always greet it in a garden" ~ Ruth Stout Lady Mary Ann Lady Mary Ann

Happy First Day of Spring! (Poetry) - 3/20/2015 7:18:46 AM
To Ron Hull: The mutt in the picture is how you are supposed to look after spending a wonderful Spring Day gardening, romping, and Nature Watching - Dog-Tired!

Happy First Day of Spring! (Poetry) - 3/20/2015 6:08:14 AM
On the contrary, the mutt in that picture doesn't seem at all enthused. Looks as though spring is another boring day's snooze. I really miss getting my hands dirty in the hot mud of Houston. But I don't miss it turning to concrete in the heat of summer. I'll spring plants can make it through each year, I don't know. Ron

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/19/2015 8:01:27 AM
lol. Made me happy. Liz

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/18/2015 12:27:47 PM
You brought back so many great memories of my 4 wheeling days in the mud. I liked playing in mud too lol ... My dog enjoyed it as much as I did ... wonderfully written as always, Ed ... (Love Tim McGraw :))

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/16/2015 5:53:03 PM
~Mr. Ed~ Tapping my foot. Your delightful Spring verses are exilerating to heart. Razzing good time those pups!! Lady Mary Ann

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/16/2015 12:13:39 PM
We've areas of very sucky mud mixed with soft sand on the harbour beaches around here and can't say I'm as taken as you are to sinking knee-deep in the stuff, Ed. Still, have to believe it's good for the skin the amount beauty parlours charge for wrapping you in such elixirs. Trust you look and feel ten years younger for it! :) xx

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/15/2015 4:46:31 PM
...a heart opening sense of positive energy that flows from the beginning of Spring season...and when your inner-child is restored to its joyful being...and true laughter's coming from your soul...and your poems words feel so authentic...Thank you Mr.Ed.

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/15/2015 2:10:48 PM
What a delightful spring romp in the mud. It's really run to read this free and easy celebration of spring,in the Mud Pup manner. Connie

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/15/2015 2:06:01 PM
enjoyed this adventurous read ... a vicarious delight ...

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/15/2015 1:22:29 PM
I don't believe you....! I want to see a REAL picture of you and the mutts galavanting around in the mud & I am willing to bet everybody who reads your site does too...-e-

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/15/2015 11:19:14 AM
Great write! Cannot say that I have experienced the delight. But I remember my youth and getting full of sand and dirt. I loved it being so close to the earth. Today the closest thing is being in the garden after the rain. Am I getting old? What a pain! LOL!!

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/15/2015 7:14:51 AM
Did your wife say your name was "Mud"? Michael D.

Mud Pups (Poetry) - 3/15/2015 6:32:09 AM
You made me recall fishing the sucker run in the spring and trying to find a place along the slippery, muddy riverbank to sit down without getting a wet muddy butt in the process. I'm sure she is delighted when the five of you all come through the door dragging all that mud into the house. That's one thing about living in mud town (Houston used to be called that before Howard Hughes paved the streets), I don't have to deal with that anymore because the whole damn place is either paved over or covered with Astroturf-like St. Augustine grass. Ron

Our Self-Centered Society (Poetry) - 3/12/2015 9:55:58 PM
Great thoughts here! It's a "Selfie World" out there. My wife and I love the song! Yes, I agree with Odin but we don't need to go to Holly-weird to experience this attention seeking trend. Just go to Wal-Mart and see purple haired, butt exposing, loud colored florescent tattooed bodies all over the place. Conservative people are weird to these attention seekers! So they speak loudly about "Look at Me, Me Me Me" without saying a word! Funny thing is they are so common that most folks don't give them a second look anymore. My cat, just "Meows more" with more voice inflection when he wants extra attention. It's an sincere honest "Meow" so how can we resist? As for Valentino, he has already gone viral and I can hear those wanna-be barks of jealousy from California to NY! LOL!

Our Self-Centered Society (Poetry) - 3/11/2015 4:33:49 PM
As your poem suggests, we better get used to narcissism as the order of the day, BECAUSE IT IS. Not just US, but the world is rapidly becoming so self centered as to be armored against any outside reality. I've been there. 50 years in Hollywierd, if it doesn't teach one anything other than self-adulation is a quick trip to self-mutilation (psychologically or physically) it is a strange reality that presents that such a lifestyle is indulging in more than delusion...try insanity. Yes, all the wanna be "selfies" are merely prime candidates for a frustrated life of ignoring who they really are, and taking photos of themselves in the hope that somebody will see them as they're not, you know, like in the MOVIES. Yeah...truth hurts sometimes. Great arresting of some consciousness willing to be arrested...hopefully for some consciousness.

Our Self-Centered Society (Poetry) - 3/11/2015 2:28:37 PM
maybe he was trying to Phone a Bone

Our Self-Centered Society (Poetry) - 3/11/2015 11:28:48 AM
~Mr. Ed~ "Valentino" your the heart of cute. Lady Mary Ann

Our Self-Centered Society (Poetry) - 3/10/2015 9:54:16 AM
Nooooooooooo... let him have his selfie... he's handsome enough! :) We can't deny that dogs have become waaaaaaaaay too humanised, no?! xx

Our Self-Centered Society (Poetry) - 3/10/2015 9:08:17 AM
Personally, though I don't know how others think, that picture is actually you...the better half told me u have big brown eyes and a cute pug nose, though in that pic one can't think your nose is anything but huge...You and Jimmy Durante ought to start a club of your own...and as to "selfies" I have no opinion either way as I have yet to do them as my phone is the very basic plan and while it has a camera, it doesnt seem to be able to send them anywhere, or I don't seem to be able to...and frankly I don't care, so is that self-centered enough for you...-e-

Our Self-Centered Society (Poetry) - 3/10/2015 7:17:26 AM
Started out as a rant, and ended up cute. From being self -centered, to Valentino's "selfie" photo-shoot. Michael D.

Our Self-Centered Society (Poetry) - 3/10/2015 6:19:10 AM
Valentino was just trying to get in the action. I agree totally with you on this one. While it's important to have pictures of us throughout all the stages of our lives for others to see how we've grown and changed, it's really not necessary to constantly post our picture like a poem or tweet of our daily moods. I have been guilty of having my picture taken with famous other people to mark the occasion. I think what's happening may be just a fad, created by the convenience of photo taking with smart phones. People, particularly young people, have found they do not have to be technically competent to take pictures and videos. When I could no longer take pictures, I have had to ask others to take pictures and videos with my cameras. Almost invariably, I get, "I don't know how to run this thing."--And mostly, they don't. I hear the same thing about computers. We live in a very technical world, and people tend to do what is easy, because they don't focus on what is more difficult… Hence, they fall into fads from doing the simple things others are doing, rather than learning how to use equipment like Ansell Adams did to create original work that you and I admire. Ron

Indian Summer Sojourn (Poetry) - 3/7/2015 8:03:00 AM
Ed I think Indian Summer is the most beautiful little season of the year and your poem does it justice. Lovely work.

Nature's Free Gifts (Poetry) - 3/1/2015 6:19:20 AM
a walk in the woods is good for the soul, it refreshes our being ... your poem helps to capture nature's essence ...

Nature's Free Gifts (Poetry) - 2/27/2015 2:17:26 PM
~Mr. Ed~ The piano forte...the things of nature in your poem to see and behold the experience. Lady Mary Ann

Nature's Free Gifts (Poetry) - 2/27/2015 8:22:57 AM
I've never seen those ice caves, but fortunately, a couple of days ago, the evening news got to some to show me what they are like. When the wind is right, in Wisconsin on Lake Winnebago, I'm told that the ice piles up as high as two stories. I've also never seen that. But I've spent my mobile life seeking out all the free wonders that nature has to offer (and I can get into national parks, monuments, and reserves, free with my lifetime disabled pass) for only the cost of gasoline and lodging to get me where I can walk/roll among wonder. It must be special with dogs because they are so generally happy to be outdoors and so inquisitive about everything that moves and some that don't (the smells). Ron

Nature's Free Gifts (Poetry) - 2/27/2015 7:22:02 AM
You've got that right. Michael D.

Nature's Free Gifts (Poetry) - 2/27/2015 7:19:27 AM
Like I said before on the Book of Face, I want to accompany you & the boys to one of those days one day...have to add that to my bucket list...-e-

Nature's Free Gifts (Poetry) - 2/27/2015 6:50:36 AM
For someone like myself, it's easy to relate. I've been fortunate in my urban career pursuits to always be near nature, even if it required some short travel. In New York...believe it or not, Central Park is a melting pot of nature's tolerance (after all, it is Manhattan). And then there was Boston, the White Mountains a mere 2 hrs away. Salt Lake City, mountains and lakes 30 minutes away, LA, San Bernardino mtns, and now, my small town mecca of Ashland where the woods (10 minutes away) mountains (30 minutes away) beaches (3 hrs away) hey...like your piece here proffers, nothing beats nature.

On Frozen Pond (Poetry) - 2/25/2015 10:10:58 AM
Yes, nothing more desolatory than seeing geese skiing and crash-landing on frozen water. But, as you say, their resilience is inspiring and uplifting. Quite the opposite over here this winter. Barely more than two nights with sub-zero temperatures. Our stock seems pretty fat and could do with a post-Christmas exercise programme! :) xx

On Frozen Pond (Poetry) - 2/25/2015 7:11:16 AM
the main migratory route in the US believe it ore not passes through The Bronx ... always a joy to witness the variety of birds passing through in the spring and fall ... but i have to say those damn Canadian geese are a pain in the ass and have brought down a few jets around here ...

On Frozen Pond (Poetry) - 2/25/2015 6:02:40 AM
The frozen pond protests loudest! Hope spring will arrive soon. Sandie

On Frozen Pond (Poetry) - 2/24/2015 8:10:40 AM
The pond's frozen over, for the honking geese, who seem to be asking, will this winter ever cease. Michael D.

On Frozen Pond (Poetry) - 2/24/2015 7:45:51 AM
Whatever happened to the birds flying south for the winter...? -e-

On Frozen Pond (Poetry) - 2/24/2015 7:25:34 AM
~Mr. Ed~ The piano music flows so lovely as the first new blossoms of spring. To life's wondering seasons to bring moments endearing of your beautiful poem. To my Mother's visits...a voice of the seasons! Lady Mary Ann

On Frozen Pond (Poetry) - 2/24/2015 7:24:37 AM
It's amazing that geese will stay in northern climes when they can migrate further south. I wonder if all those geese are sticking around my brother's home on the St. Joseph River in Bristol Indiana while he's in Arizona getting a little sun during this recent winter blast. In 1971 I had to go to the Mayo Clinic for a workup on my spinal injury to see if something could be done. It was a clear, 20° below zero when I arrived at Rochester. To my surprise, I saw a flock of geese fly over and couldn't believe it. Later, I learned that the residents of Rochester routinely put out corn all winter long so many geese stay there even though there isn't any open water for miles. I've also learned that that flock was the one that was saved back in the early part of the 20th century when Canada Geese were threatened by overhunting and Ducks Unlimited was started to prevent overhunting and bring all of the duck species back. Ron

We Are Their Voice (Poetry) - 2/22/2015 7:18:37 AM
keep the dialogue (as well as action) going

We Are Their Voice (Poetry) - 2/19/2015 10:32:47 AM
My next-door neighbor's cats are not chained, in fact, they're in my yard all the time stalking birds, marking their territory, and leaving deposits that they carefully cover over. Right now they are basking in about 55°. While it gets down to about 30° overnight, they don't seem to be at least worried about the cold. But then they don't live in Chicago… Ron

We Are Their Voice (Poetry) - 2/19/2015 8:25:51 AM
~Mr. Ed~ Compelling and heartfelt of the dogs voice...there is a Beagle named Macy near us...no one pays any attention..I give her treats when I walk my dog. She is out there in the -temps. Can't reason with them. They have another dog that lives in their house with them. Working to get her inside. Lady Mary Ann

We Are Their Voice (Poetry) - 2/19/2015 7:57:17 AM
To many people that have pets, should not be pet owners. I could never understand why someone would get a dog, and then keep the poor animal chained up outside. People seem to think that a pet will make them happy, not realizing the amount of time, work, and expense of having a pet can be. And so they're forgotten or abandoned. It's criminal. Michael D.

We Are Their Voice (Poetry) - 2/19/2015 5:22:45 AM
Have not seen any dogs as of yet, though while driving yesterday I could hear them...way out in the woods, howling...-e-

Happy Paczki Day! (Poetry) - 2/17/2015 7:07:36 PM
A very Creative and FUN poem! Save dough - eat less all the time - Go on a liquid fast - drink wine! LOL

Happy Paczki Day! (Poetry) - 2/17/2015 12:16:49 PM
Deliciously indulgent in anybody's language. Ed, your poem brought back....many sweet memories. Thank you. Happy Paczki Day!

Happy Paczki Day! (Poetry) - 2/17/2015 11:58:48 AM
I love doughnuts but Lent for me is as much in my mind as in my tum.

Happy Paczki Day! (Poetry) - 2/17/2015 10:11:45 AM
So brother, u gonna share some of them...? Yeah I know fat chance & after I said all those nice things about you in my recent post...seriously though they do look damn good...but maybe you can split one or two up for the boys and the kitties...tell your wife they are not good for her figure, that should dissuade her...~ed~

Happy Paczki Day! (Poetry) - 2/17/2015 7:28:56 AM
Paczkis are great, a sweet treat to eat. Get enough o share, because they can't be beat. Michael D.

Happy Paczki Day! (Poetry) - 2/17/2015 7:16:10 AM
Thanks for the education. You make Mardi Gras and the sights and sounds of New Orleans enticing. But you've also given me reasons to stay away 'lest I regain all that weight I've been shedding. Delightful write.

Happy Paczki Day! (Poetry) - 2/17/2015 6:56:30 AM
I grew up in a town that was about 75% Polish, but I don't recall anyone there celebrating ‘Paczki Day.’ But then I wasn't into Roman Catholic rituals except fish (or cheese) on Fridays. So it may very well have been a big thing in our town. I always thought that Ash Wednesday was really strange and that the Lutherans seemed to be really weird with all that fasting during Lent. Sure glad I was a non-practicing Protestant and didn't have to go through all that bull. On the other hand, from a very young age, my mother made donuts, of either the solid kind, or raised. She didn't stuff them with berries, but they were scrumptious, nonetheless. And we didn't have to have some religious holiday to enjoy them. We ate them whenever she made them. Now that's a tradition to remember! And it doesn't require going down to some shop and engaging in conspicuous consumption. Ron

Happy Paczki Day! (Poetry) - 2/17/2015 6:42:53 AM
~Mr. Ed~ Donuts are too good! Crafty cats and Beasty Boy's...line up dad's bringing in the donuts...cute!!

Another Innocent Soul Out In The Cold And Snow (Poetry) - 2/16/2015 2:09:27 PM
Write on Ed, your poems are fortified with such passion and devotion! Blessings, Christine xo

Another Innocent Soul Out In The Cold And Snow (Poetry) - 2/13/2015 4:37:58 PM
You want to catch these animals, u got to keep that ugly mug out far away from he who u are trying to catch...its scaring me just thinking of seeing u in the cold of the night & in the snow...-e-

Another Innocent Soul Out In The Cold And Snow (Poetry) - 2/13/2015 9:09:58 AM
Thank you for loving the lost and mistreated. Too many of us are all talk and no action. Standing ovation, Mr. Ed, for your humanity and reminder to help against the odds.

Another Innocent Soul Out In The Cold And Snow (Poetry) - 2/13/2015 8:34:52 AM
~Mr. Ed~ So much compassion you share with these beautiful souls. Lady Mary Ann

Another Innocent Soul Out In The Cold And Snow (Poetry) - 2/13/2015 7:25:24 AM
You are one special person. Michael D.

Another Innocent Soul Out In The Cold And Snow (Poetry) - 2/13/2015 7:19:34 AM
Another great rescue… Thanks. Ron

Feeding My Feathered Friends (Poetry) - 2/11/2015 11:35:17 AM
How vivid cardinals are against the white of winter! You can never forget to support them. We get very excited about our over-wintering species over here but mercifully for them we've hardly had a 'winter' to speak of so natural foods are still plentiful and readily available. I'm increasingly aware and fond of the wonder that is our world's beautiful birds. xx

Feeding My Feathered Friends (Poetry) - 2/9/2015 6:20:28 PM
I love birds; I love your poem, Ed. Love and peace, Regis

Feeding My Feathered Friends (Poetry) - 2/9/2015 3:24:09 PM
I read somewhere that cardinal visits are said to be visits from someone who passed coming down from heaven; maybe your grandmother that you speak so fondly of...-e-

Feeding My Feathered Friends (Poetry) - 2/9/2015 9:43:27 AM
~Mr. Ed~ Beautiful the song of Cardinals...Beautifully penned with music to sooth the heart. Love feeding the birds and listen for their canter. Lady Mary Ann

Feeding My Feathered Friends (Poetry) - 2/9/2015 8:59:41 AM
We have a pair of resident mockingbirds, cardinals, bluejays, and mourning doves. When she puts the birdseed out every morning, about forty sparrows arrive and attack the seed until it's gone about two hours later. One dove has come by to drive away the sparrows occasionally and always drive away another dove because they seem to be rivals. The cardinals occasionally come by a bit after the sparrows are gone, picking out leftovers. The mockingbirds and bluejays don't seem to be interested in the birdseed at all. A squirrel is… But we fixed that with a hanging bird feeder that it can't get at. Ron

Feeding My Feathered Friends (Poetry) - 2/9/2015 7:20:06 AM
I feed the birds. I feed the squirrels. I watch them eat, and joy unfurls. Michael D.

Feeding My Feathered Friends (Poetry) - 2/9/2015 6:31:15 AM
" BIRDS OF A FEATHER FLOCK TOGETHER " ...

Day Dreaming In The Snow (Poetry) - 2/7/2015 9:11:48 AM
Wonderful. Seeing the rough and tumble nature of dog and wolf as natural, as giving you a gift, an experience transforming you into the mountain settings, well...that my friend, is magic.

Day Dreaming In The Snow (Poetry) - 2/6/2015 2:37:09 PM
Mr. Ed The Yukon territory to day dream. Peace. Carrie and Highway and the pack, hilarious!! Lady Mary Ann

Day Dreaming In The Snow (Poetry) - 2/6/2015 2:11:59 PM
Clever Mr. Ed! Compromise :) Blessings, Christine

Day Dreaming In The Snow (Poetry) - 2/6/2015 9:02:35 AM
A daydream drama carried out in your backyard! Reading this brought back memories of the old movie I saw, Call of the Wild, by Jack London where a fighting dog that appeared to be a St. Bernard broke free and joined a wolf pack. It was a very sad movie for what that dog went through. Nice wishful thinking though. Kind of like your pipe dream of living in the Yukon that your wife will not cotton to. I know the feeling… Ron

Day Dreaming In The Snow (Poetry) - 2/6/2015 6:50:03 AM
Pack up the pack, and head for the hills. Tell your wife it could be Green Acres, that should give her the chills. Michael D.

Day Dreaming In The Snow (Poetry) - 2/6/2015 4:34:59 AM
A vivid scene, quite a pair, that misunderstood part of your pack. And I like that you remembered Robert Service.

About Twenty Inches of Snow (Poetry) - 2/4/2015 11:14:56 AM
~Mr. Ed~ Sixteen tons ~ great music to console my husbands aches!!! Great poem!! Lady Mary Ann

About Twenty Inches of Snow (Poetry) - 2/4/2015 8:10:13 AM
That's why I moved to the sub tropics of the south while chi town can resume it winter wonderland coming from the Northeast I know what shoveling snow is all about It spells back pains cold hands and frozen feet..... those chores are all still there...only I'm not Peace be with you William

About Twenty Inches of Snow (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 1:00:49 PM
A great tribute to Chicago grit and Tennessee Ernie Ford. So glad my snow shoveling days are over. After your dog days are over, you may just die shoveling like so many before. Ron

About Twenty Inches of Snow (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 9:04:36 AM
Really brilliant work on this piece and variation on the song chosen. But, I am certainly glad to live in California

About Twenty Inches of Snow (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 6:39:16 AM
...so far we've gotten about an inch, Sooner or later we will get a larger amount thats a cinch, More next time that I can make a snowball with as all we've had so far is only enough to pinch...-e-

About Twenty Inches of Snow (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 6:35:46 AM
Great parody! Weird Al has nothing on you. Michael D.

About Twenty Inches of Snow (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 6:30:52 AM
Another day older and deeper in debt... shovel 16 tons of snow... and whadda ya get... another foot deeper... and you ain't done yet. I also like playing with fitting different words to existing themes. Nicely done.

About Twenty Inches of Snow (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 6:08:08 AM
Twenty inches...well that's probably about 16 tons. At least it must feel like it. cuz patrick

About Twenty Inches of Snow (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 5:31:47 AM
LOL nice tune Ed I enjoyed it! I have to go out and blow the neighbors drive, now I won't be able to get this damn tune out of my head, thanks Mr.Ed

About Twenty Inches of Snow (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 4:26:47 AM
Great tune Ed! Humans go out shovel snow get in their cars and then go inside. What are pets made of? How do they survive? Just think if we could train Fido to shovel snow or betty the cat to paw it from our driveway. Thin about that. If someone could train them everyone would want one but...for the wrong reasons. Until then shovel on... God bless you! Big John

If Only Man Was Dog's Best Friend (Poetry) - 2/1/2015 4:09:49 AM
Sad write Ed, I agree with Mr. Matlack that people should be held accountable!

If Only Man Was Dog's Best Friend (Poetry) - 1/31/2015 12:36:29 PM
A sad write Ed Our Cruelty is beyond their innocent comprehension and still look up to us to have compassion for them Peace be with you William

If Only Man Was Dog's Best Friend (Poetry) - 1/31/2015 8:00:15 AM
~Mr. Ed~ The time it takes to write this note could save so many of our animal friends! God Bless. Lady Mary Ann

If Only Man Was Dog's Best Friend (Poetry) - 1/31/2015 4:51:34 AM
powerful and informative poem, sad and unfortunate theme ... power to those who reveal and fight against animal abuse

If Only Man Was Dog's Best Friend (Poetry) - 1/31/2015 4:19:17 AM
Your words have a way of cutting right through me. I try to show people that animals are living things with every right to be treated fairly and kindly. It is my experience that, for every person who will listen, there are several more who will sneer at and argue with me. Are there two opposing species of human on this planet? I think there must be. Rx

If Only Man Was Dog's Best Friend (Poetry) - 1/30/2015 11:26:50 AM
what a peculiar race we are. Mixed with gentle and caring folk right up to the extremely brutal blighters.

If Only Man Was Dog's Best Friend (Poetry) - 1/30/2015 8:15:25 AM
Education is the key. If we can instill in children the proper stewardship of animals, especially pets, through the television they watch so much and in the classroom, we can begin to overcome parental and peer misbehavior. Your articles and YouTube can go a long way in pointing out the problems and their solutions. I do recall that the ASPCA was created around the turn-of-the-century 20th because of the abuse of draft animals in commerce. Motorized vehicles have done away with much of that in this country, but lately, the carriage trade, thriving in touristy places has come under scrutiny again. Those in the know like you and I have to keep up the good fight, we can't let ignorance rule anymore. Ron

If Only Man Was Dog's Best Friend (Poetry) - 1/30/2015 7:19:09 AM
May you live forever! The entire animal kingdom would love it.

If Only Man Was Dog's Best Friend (Poetry) - 1/30/2015 7:17:27 AM
If only....... Michael D.

If Only Man Was Dog's Best Friend (Poetry) - 1/30/2015 6:27:13 AM
To Ed Matlack: Unfortunately, most cities, towns, and counties in America do not require that one's pets be micro-chipped; nor do they require that people spay and neuter their pets. And the vast majority of pet abusers, do neither. And our so called 'leaders' refuse to shut down America's puppy mills and dog-fighting rings by imposing much tougher animal cruelty laws. In a nutshell - far too few, even care.

If Only Man Was Dog's Best Friend (Poetry) - 1/30/2015 6:19:11 AM
I think we should somehow put a microchip into a dog that says who he belongs to and when we find that dog in the horrendous condition of the above puppy, we should prosecute their owner to the fullest extent that the law allows, or at least put them in a prison cell and let them starve and lose weight till their ribs show too...but I know, as do you, that will never happen...dogs deserve better...-e-

If Only Man Was Dog's Best Friend (Poetry) - 1/30/2015 5:02:03 AM
You are indeed a champion of humanity's best friend ... our pets, especially dogs, are part of our species' wealth, spiritual as much as historic and practical. To see so many animals in the condition of the one above is to reveal the depths of our poverty, depravity and despair. Thank you for being their (and our) friend.

Canis Latrans (Poetry) - 1/29/2015 8:20:27 AM
lately, in nyc suburbs there has been an insurgence of black beers as well as coyotes ... they know where the food lurks, alive as well as dead ...

A Little Walk In The Snow (Poetry) - 1/28/2015 1:11:22 AM
Hey! I'm coming over! Love ya! Jane

Canis Latrans (Poetry) - 1/24/2015 8:49:28 AM
~Mr. Ed~ Beautiful the wild animals in their nature's realm. There was a stunning white coyotee at our cabin. Well now it's mounted on the cabin wall. That is sad. Lady Mary Ann

Canis Latrans (Poetry) - 1/24/2015 5:30:42 AM
I saw that news report, and I thought again of how man encroaches more and more so that nature's creatures are pushed to find life where they can. The coyote is one of the survivors, who adapts to circumstances. Most animals don't have a chance against the ravages man has wrought on environment. Thanks for your thoughts, Ed.

Canis Latrans (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 3:00:58 PM
I've seen even over on the island that I was raised on, either a fox or coyote, running in the dark on the beach near a rock jetty, possibly its home...wouldn't know the difference if it walked up and kissed me...but they are there and wonder how they get there, they must swim across the open waterways between the island and the mainland...-e- (I saw that TV show as well last evening)

Canis Latrans (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 2:05:45 PM
We have coyotes here, and very few rabbits. They were plentiful until coyotes showed up. Michael D.

Canis Latrans (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 11:03:49 AM
When I was young, for some strange reason, many, considered inedible, predators from foxes to eagles did not have a hunting season, and many had bounties that hunters collected. As a result, the Wisconsin countryside harbored few of the feared critters except in very remote areas where they still survived. Those who survived being captured in either caged or tied were generally tortured by their captors. I'm certainly grateful for the turn of events that has all wild life flourishing because predators are so essential for the strength of other species. Unfortunately, many of those neglected pets are being picked off by those city dwelling coyotes. Recently I heard of coyotes living along the bayou [concrete ditch] in a densely populated suburb here in Houston. I'm not surprised, but there was some concern and animal control was called in (to project little children?). Ron

Canis Latrans (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 8:22:08 AM
ED ... GOD BLESS THE "RAT PATROL " !!!

Canis Latrans (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 7:31:21 AM
The obsession to make sterile and pristine man's surroundings, especially in areas where conforming to the model of success, i.e., surroundings that make it easier to play conqueror and ruler (a malady of principals gaining momentum exponentially)is what seems to be the rule of the day. Of course, our other obsession, meat eating, makes the presence of wild animals who are apt to play and historical game of natural "survival of fittest" a danger to one's spiraling cardio-suicide with flesh consumption. Yeah, I'm a vegetarian, one of those wild animals a portion of society would like to pop off like a coyote. But...envy has been around as long as bad habits, so I think I too will survive their disdain. Anyway, I got off on a tangent, but your piece is needing to be read by many. Keep writin'.

Over Five Thousand A Day Are Dying (Poetry) - 1/20/2015 7:27:35 AM
A sad but true commentary. Our dog was adopted, And our cat was abanded kitten. There are so many peoplke getting pets, that should not be pet owners. They don't realize the amount of work and expense of owning a pet is until it's to late for the pet. Michael D.

Over Five Thousand A Day Are Dying (Poetry) - 1/19/2015 11:10:37 AM
What have we done to out four legged friends! Rx

Over Five Thousand A Day Are Dying (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 1:34:31 PM
The music itself makes me cry, let alone the story you've put forth...-e-

Over Five Thousand A Day Are Dying (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 11:56:53 AM
In nature, animals tend to have large litters in order to survive the onslaught of murders as the young are under attack constantly by predators. It is a natural way of culling the population to keep it under control and strong. For sheltered pets, the opposite is true. Puppy mills turn out puppies that have been inbred and are subject to many ailments requiring expensive veterinary services if the pets are to survive at all. There is no natural population control. Puppies are very attractive (like the song, "How Much Is That Doggie in the Window") but quickly grow into dogs with bad habits unforeseen by ignorant puppy buyers. Neutering and splaying is a great solution, but like taking your inoculations, "freedom" allows people to opt out easily. The only solution to this overpopulation is euthanasia. Sad, but it's true. In time, in order to stop the waste (and I'm not being facetious) we may end up eating them like we do all other domestic animals. Not too long ago, Native Americans did just that. But then, they weren't civilized like us, were they. Why we tried to annihilate them. Ron

Over Five Thousand A Day Are Dying (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 6:45:28 AM
~Mr. Ed~ Saddness fills my heart to know of these tragic losses. Please give of your heart. Lady Mary Ann

Ode To An Underdog (Poetry) - 1/17/2015 7:26:55 AM
~Mr. Ed~ To the wandering onto the ballfield "Hank" has warmed our hearts. Thank you for sharing. Lady Mary Ann

Ode To An Underdog (Poetry) - 1/17/2015 2:29:05 AM
Warmed my heart... Diana....

Ode To An Underdog (Poetry) - 1/16/2015 9:41:32 AM
Nice story and a happy ending. Michael D.

Ode To An Underdog (Poetry) - 1/16/2015 9:27:56 AM
Cute puppy...-e-

Ode To An Underdog (Poetry) - 1/16/2015 8:13:48 AM
I believe that name comes in honor of Henry (Hank) Aaron, who came to Milwaukee as a stray dog so many years ago and endeared himself to my father and so many other Milwaukee Braves fans. He still resides in Atlanta, his second city, and still has a hand in the Atlanta team. As for your Hank, he sure looks like a crowdpleaser! Ron

Ode To An Underdog (Poetry) - 1/16/2015 6:47:47 AM
Thanks for sharing this. It's often these kinds of moments when we have a chance to look at ourselves and consider how humane we are.

Snowy Morning Walk (Poetry) - 1/15/2015 4:39:49 AM
Enjoyed the write Ed thanks for posting it! :)

Snowy Morning Walk (Poetry) - 1/14/2015 5:28:15 AM
I haven't seen snow in a a very long time, but your lovely poem reminds me of how beautiful it can be. And I'm glad I don't have the 'Arctic blast' most folks have. Love the music.

Snowy Morning Walk (Poetry) - 1/13/2015 1:34:30 PM
Personally I love to drive in the snow, especially at night with the headlights on and making the wind driven snow look like a spacial tunnel to drive through...-e-

Snowy Morning Walk (Poetry) - 1/13/2015 11:28:08 AM
Snow certainly changes the view in a startling way, often covering litter and making it more picturesque. And snow always makes it seem warmer. On my brief honeymoon in northern Wisconsin, it snowed every day, but not enough to make the roads impassable. When we got to Bayfield, a stark contrast between the very deep white snow and brilliant blue of Lake Superior with the Apostle Islands like white mushrooms in the blue background, was a sight to behold, worth the long drive that was so pleasant because of all the Currier and Ives scenes along the way. It's been some time since we've had snow here in Southwest Houston. She's looking so forward to it like an inpatient child. Speaking of dogs and snow. Big dogs like to romp in it, while little dogs struggle to do their poopies and hurry to get back inside where it's warm. Ron

Snowy Morning Walk (Poetry) - 1/13/2015 11:21:52 AM
Delightful write. Imagery full. I've not seen snow for a few years.

Snowy Morning Walk (Poetry) - 1/13/2015 9:07:11 AM
My Dear Wolfman ... thought you lived "out in the Boonies" ? so why are all those cars there in the pic? as always a very fine tribute to Poesy... bet Ole Tater had a very White Nosey! Ah... White... the symbol of Innocence... but people like me stay inside... warmed by the fire... 'cause we got more Sense !!! We had about 4-6 inches in my neck of the woods... but the road crews did a great job clearing... mostly Black-top as Honda n I delivered our Scripts! Just enough to make it Pretty for a short while... that's how I like it .... Yesterday Rain all day... washed away most of the Snow n Ice... Today ... lovely Sunshine... Down here in Bawlmer they say: "If you dont like the weather... wait Five Minutes... it will Change!"

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.