AuthorsDen.com  Join | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Robert Campbell, iTygo Lee, iBettye Johnson, iErnie Heavin, iMary Adair, iNeeta Blair, iKen Brosky, i
 
Home > Ian Irvine (Hobson)
 

Recent Reviews for Ian Irvine (Hobson)


The Phantom Library (Short Story) - 12/13/2013 7:02:07 AM
I found the story had an intriguing concept that would fit Friday the 13th. I can't say that I liked the story though. Perhaps it is just me. I assume the article has received critical acclaim. It may be an Australian spelling, but Americans use the word "aisle" rather than "isle." Ron

Trevor Franklin Refuses to Allow me to Impress my Teacher (Short Story) - 8/22/2010 11:09:19 AM
holds reader interest

New Science Perspectives on Ghosts and Other Paranormal Phenomena (Article) - 4/8/2015 6:59:02 AM
I have read your article and must commend you on the breadth of your study. Immediately I noticed that many of the cable channels… History, Discovery, PBS… etc. are producing TV series covering topics devoted to paranormal and new science. While traditional scientific methods have debunked many mythical and magical revelations of the past, the new science of quantum mechanics with its strange, often unproven theoretical "weirdness", has given imaginative people all kinds of leverage to help them reintroduce old myth and create new ones. The Internet helps create cults or groups of "believers" who reinforce each other with anecdotes and additional creativity that seems nearly unstoppable, even if debunked by reputable review. In the case of the several series on cable TV claiming this or that, the search always takes place with "talking heads" of some authority describing what the actors are doing, using the latest scientific techniques. There is a lot of use of very dramatic music and when they get close to a dramatic "find" they cut to a commercial. I've watched a number of these soap operas. The heroes always get close to making a discovery but never seem to, and in the season with the promise that they will "find the truth" in the next season. At least the dramas are presented as all-out fantasy and don't claim to have any scientific basis like the wildly improbable time travel in 12 Monkeys. Ron

Sara Douglass, Speculative Fiction & Medieval History (Article) - 4/7/2015 5:12:23 AM
Unfortunately, many people who read fiction and fantasy have a distorted view of history and think that real history is boring… A dead subject. Medieval history is one of those areas that is so misunderstood. I love history and find that real history is far more enlightening than romanticized history based on soap opera-ish plots imposed on grossly misunderstood historical backgrounds. Kudos to Sara Douglass for writing fiction based on as much historical fact as possible. Ron

Transmedia Story-Telling (in a Holographic Multiverse) (Article) - 10/22/2014 10:51:32 AM
Some interesting concepts presented. While the quill pen and ink pot were a bit before my time, I started out with pencil and lined paper, and hardcover books as the source of knowledge. There were very interesting dramas and real life episodes on radio, but that was about it. By high school, I was using ballpoint pens (soon to be followed by felt pens) for all of my writing… often typed on a manual 1916 Royal typewriter my mother picked up used. And often illustrated after discovering the power of a flip chart or slide presentation. I always embraced new technology and have tried to mix media in both classroom teaching in my creative endeavors. Sometimes, it was only new technology that allowed me to continue. For me, there would be no writing without Transmedia writing…. It's the way we are quickly embarking into a brave new world of communication. Ron

Zoetics: New Perspectives on Fundamental Creativity (Article) - 8/5/2014 10:48:17 AM
I have read your entire philosophical statement and find that it is quite creative and enlightening. Like Odin [Kent] Roark has written to me, "everyone's creative." There is much fear of the future in many lives who feel trapped by their circumstances and unable to find creative ways of moving forward. This century will need great creativity to work on the many problems created by the hyper economic paradigm we are in. Your suggested de-structuring step in the right direction. Thank you. And to your coauthor, Dr. Sue King-Smith, I grant you both congratulations on a job well started. Ron

Hermesian Epidemics: Depression, Anxiety, Derealisation, Narcissism , (Article) - 1/2/2012 6:17:37 AM
Well written and interesting Ian (particularly as it follows a recent read of Jung's WOTAN...). The article illuminates understanding of present day 'archetypes' or 'gods' - how beings become their 'puppets'... enslaved to desire, losing happiness and freedom. What is the solution to this phenomena of "Ergriffenheit" - a state of being possessed?

Jung, Alchemy and Active Imagination (Article) - 9/21/2010 4:32:03 AM
interesting read

Ian's List of Foundation Books for Contemporary Poets (Article) - 9/18/2010 3:27:07 PM
interesting read

Saturnine Melancholy: Chronic Ennui in the Modern World (Article) - 8/22/2010 3:08:20 AM
enjoyed reading your article

Alchemy and the Imagination Part 2: The Role of Hermes (Article) - 8/1/2010 3:58:44 AM
interesting read

Neo-Liberalism and Oppression (Article) - 7/29/2010 12:29:11 AM
Indeed, capitalist America, the land of oppression. Makes ya wonder why so many people come here out of desperation to get oppressed. Then again, that explains why so many Americans fled to the Old Soviet Union for some of that real “social justice.” Alas… North Korea, Cuba now that’s where you can enjoy the wonderful fruits of socialism. Indeed, universal poverty for all (except the ones running the show) ….now that’s real governmment social justice.

Neo-Liberalism and Oppression (Article) - 7/28/2010 7:52:07 AM
interesting read

Alchemy and the Imagination - Part 1 (Ian Irvine) (Article) - 7/26/2010 7:42:10 AM
interesting read

The Music of Goya's Child - Online Info Site (Article) - 7/24/2010 4:19:56 AM
interesting read

Hiroshima Dance (Poetry) - 10/17/2014 7:41:59 PM
Fantastic write! I have been to Hiroshima and strolled along Peace Park. On the bomb, most people blame Emperor Hirohito for lying that he was a God. But Hiroshima gets even better late when it is dark. The folks like to sing in karaoke Bars and dance like it's an art. But what impressed me the most was who they were imitating. They were imitating their old adversary, America! So now I know there is a real God in heaven and the peace and hope HE brings. Thank you Ian!

Spirits in Triples (Poetry) - 9/27/2014 7:33:28 AM
I'm wary of spiritualism of all kinds because they tend to corrupt logical thinking with their half-truths and other deceptions. Ron

Tending the Grove - from the Taliesin-Ceridwen Sequence (Poetry) - 9/20/2014 7:33:59 PM
Gaining knowledge and wisdom, he still needs to attain love. Without love all strivings are meaningless. I'm very impressed with this series Ian. Bob

The Chase Across time (part 2) (Poetry) - 9/20/2014 7:29:18 PM
The rest is for him to learn. She has taught him to comprehend things at their core. Still unlearned in many ways he is set to the course of full understanding. He has the tools now if he uses them wisely. Great series here Ian. Enjoying. Bob

The Chase Across Time (Part 1) (Poetry) - 9/20/2014 7:24:50 PM
Clever as the trees and mistress of all mindfucks, she uses natural magic and shrewd judgement as a weapon against all tyrants. A woman to be feared. Great treatment of the mythology Ian. Well presented and dramatic. Bob

The World Rushed in (The Awen) (Poetry) - 9/20/2014 7:15:48 PM
Her cryptic reply may imply that the girl is her daughter. Or is that something not quite truth? He is at the doorway to mysteries now. Things will never be the same now. Better and better. Bob

Three Drops From the Cauldron (Poetry) - 9/20/2014 7:10:07 PM
Skin absorption of an already heavily hallucinagenic compound. Visions are the fuel for the visionary. Most traditions of magic have their hallucinatory compounds. Magic is found in many cultures and magic goes along with visions. This gets better and better Ian. Bob

Before the Influx of Visions (Poetry) - 9/20/2014 6:46:13 PM
I would imagine the songs in ogham. Or maybe they were more like poems? I can remember the reading of challenges called Gla'm disenn

Ceridwen Initiates (Poetry) - 9/20/2014 6:37:42 PM
Leaving him to his imaginings the witch gathers her tools and ingredients and probably his dreams and secret thoughts together. Who would trust her when she is so secretive and silent? But he is ultimately there for the knowledge. You spin a great retelling Ian. I remain impressed. Bob

Gwion Bach (Poetry) - 9/20/2014 6:31:36 PM
Magical cauldrons being one of the chief magical tools in ancient welsh mythology, the training of a wizard would be appropriate. I am somewhat familiar with Taliesin in the mythology, but not with this particular tale. I look forward to a great retelling here Ian. Bob

Three Drops From the Cauldron (Poetry) - 9/13/2014 5:49:10 PM
well done

Three Drops From the Cauldron (Poetry) - 9/13/2014 9:56:31 AM
An incident that portends much greater calamity than spilt potion. Ron

Rhiannon and Cian (Poetry) - 9/1/2014 1:16:39 PM
I think she had no worldliness about her. No experience to teach her how to handle the amorous male. At least that's how the mythology would have her protrayed I believe. I recently delved into my books on celtic lore and got the same impression that you got I'm sure. I have Stones book also. All he wanted was to be with her I think. Strange that there's no other reference to this. While writing this review I thought to look up Macha, but there's no reference to her having such an encounter. Often the stories are mixed up though. But none of this detracts from this poem. I do enjoy your whole epic story. Bob

The Ghost Narrates (Poetry) - 9/1/2014 12:52:48 PM
I much enjoyed this Ian. Masking the recollections of your youth in the heroics of myth adds an interesting depth to the whole thing. Most of us don't think heoically like that, but we are all different in our approaches. As usual your work is first rate. Bob

The Ghost Narrates (Poetry) - 8/31/2014 8:18:23 AM
I find the parallels in your analogy of the journey of the Cricketeers to the Odyssey quite interesting. I often think of major sports these days as a substitute for battle, although the Olympics began in those days as a way of young men letting off steam from all that testosterone and allowing battles to take place on the playing field rather than the battleground. To think that little New Zealand had a heroic cricket team in those days, reminds me of that film I saw, Chariots of Fire, about the rivalry between two British runners in the 1924 Olympics. Your poem is a fine tribute to the lasting heroics of that generation of Cricketeers in New Zealand. Ron

The Ghost Narrates (Poetry) - 8/31/2014 7:33:00 AM
interesting read!!

Before the Influx of Visions (Poetry) - 8/30/2014 11:01:45 AM
An interesting period poem of perhaps, some historical significance. While I didn't understand it all, some of the phrases were quite revealing. Ron

Gwion Bach (Poetry) - 8/26/2014 9:37:53 AM
An eerie tale and one that I lack understanding enough to interpret. Left me wondering about a boy left for a year and a day to fend for himself in the wilderness. But it may be more symbolic than real. Ron

Saddled With Care and Compassion (Poetry) - 8/6/2014 6:11:46 PM
well done

Saddled With Care and Compassion (Poetry) - 8/6/2014 1:52:43 PM
Interesting! Sandie

Rhiannon Invents 'Badger in a Bag' (Poetry) - 8/5/2014 3:07:25 PM
Another very interesting poem in your extremely well written story. Although I don't remember Rhiannon changing to Vivianne in the Arthurian cycle, it's believable in that many Celtic mythological archetypes have similar attributes. I have really enjoyed reading your work Ian. Bob

Rhiannon Invents 'Badger in a Bag' (Poetry) - 8/5/2014 11:27:15 AM
Not having been well read in the original, I find it difficult to follow in your, apparently, epic poem describing the mythical story. I have heard of the sorcerer, Merlin, but have read little of the original work of the likes of Chaucer. Ron

Rhiannon Invents 'Badger in a Bag' (Poetry) - 8/5/2014 2:36:25 AM
enjoyed the read, well said

The Birds of Rhiannon (Poetry) - 8/3/2014 3:21:29 PM
I much enjoyed this rendition of the birds and your impressions of their significance. Although the end seems mysterious, it is all a part of the mythology, subject to the sensibilities of a modern interpretation. Well done sir. Bob

The White Mare (Poetry) - 8/3/2014 3:15:11 PM
Another great poem for this series Ian. The world gone silent as the mare approaches. You have a great sense of the dramatic. I have one possibly odd question. The reference to sheet music seems a bit incongruent. I'm not sure why those lines are in there. Bob

Rhiannon-Epona (Poetry) - 8/3/2014 3:06:04 PM
I really enjoyed and was deeply interested in your "Rhiannon-Epona poem Ian. I enjoy mythology and especially Celtic mythology. I have even written a poem about Rhiannon years ago. Yours exhibits the kind of epic language I have sought in my work also. Great reading. Bob

After he Stumbled into Annwn (Poetry) - 8/3/2014 2:54:00 PM
A most impressive poem Ian. Done well and holding my interest throughout. The only complaint I have is in the first few lines. I'm afraid that queen-sized bed were totally nonexistent in the age you are trying to portray. Even the wealthy in that age would sleep on beds where the linens were stuffed with soft hay and fragrant herbs. That was if you were rich. Most roofs at best were thatched and there were always many small insects and animals living in them. That's why those beds with covers on top of them evolved. The tops were meant to shelter the occupants from the droppings and other trash generated by the things living in the roof. A great poem and I hope this information helps you improve it. Bob

Rhiannon and Cian (Poetry) - 8/2/2014 10:59:11 AM
After reading this poem, I believe I would have to read the original work to get the story correct in my mind. Ron

Rhiannon and Cian (Poetry) - 8/2/2014 2:16:52 AM
well done

The White Mare (Poetry) - 8/1/2014 9:37:30 AM
While I'm not familiar with the myth of the riderless white mare, I am quite familiar with the Rime of the Ancient Mariner. Paralysis is the albatross around my neck. Ron

The Birds of Rhiannon (Poetry) - 7/31/2014 4:52:50 PM
well done

The Birds of Rhiannon (Poetry) - 7/30/2014 8:10:36 AM
I found it to be quite mythical, like its origin. With some miraculous outcome that I didn't quite understand. Ron

The Birds of Rhiannon (Poetry) - 7/30/2014 4:28:00 AM
Lovely goddess!!! Sandie

Medicine Man - a song sample by Interstitium (Poetry) - 12/13/2013 1:00:01 PM
While I couldn't understand most of the words--a copy of the lyrics would have helped--I did like the beat and the Dylanesk style of the presentation. I don't think Sophie got down on her knees to pray. ;-) Ron

Infusoria (a poem) (Poetry) - 8/15/2013 11:46:43 AM
The great attempt at a monumental description of the monumental voyage of the Beagle. I tried this method of having readers click on the link to my site for a while and found that I lost readers as a result. I now post both to my site and here so that I get maximum readership. Ron

New Songs by INTERSTITIUM - various song samples (Poetry) - 3/17/2013 7:59:22 AM
I really like your Gothic balladeer sound. Unfortunately, my hearing isn't too good, and I did not get all of the words. A display of the lyrics while the song is being played would help me with that. Enjoyed. Ron

See How Still She Sleeps (song) - Ian Irvine (Hobson) (Poetry) - 2/16/2013 11:38:16 AM
I really liked both the words and the melody. It does have a rather dark, dirge like sound that probably puts it into the alternative category, but I like that tonality about it. I hope others get to listen to it and comment as well. Ron

The Gift of Pace (song) (Poetry) - 1/26/2013 1:24:21 PM
I'm not a fan of Cricket (or most team sports, for that matter), however I really like your song, especially the melody. I hope that others here will take the time to go to the links and review your work. Ron

Vera Imaginatio (Poem by Ian Irvine [Hobson]) (Poetry) - 1/19/2013 1:33:33 PM
I lost many readers a few years ago when I required them to click on a link to my website in order to read my poems. Perhaps you should post the text of the poem here and then ask the reader to click on the link if they want to hear you read it. I clicked on the link and was pleasantly surprised to see how you turned a sighting of a rare and wonderful creature into a transcendental flight of fantasy reminiscence akin to dragons. Delightful and original. Kudos. Ron

Where Have You Buried the Poets? (Poetry) - 5/4/2012 7:20:05 AM
Now that is truly sad, with such beauty and expression in poetry and that it be struck from our new youth? Are all the great minds to be buried as you said? I do not know one soul who does not or has not been inspired by their beauty in words. Has telly taken over? Do they not want young minds to expand? Do they not want to teach self-expression? What will become of imagination? Love and Light, Lily

Facing the Demon of Noontide (Poetry) - 3/29/2011 2:49:34 PM
Awesome writing sweet man...stay safe and well..Hugsssss

Facing the Demon of Noontide (Poetry) - 3/28/2011 6:29:31 PM
Remarkable poetry you have collected here, Ian. -gene.

Facing the Demon of Noontide (Poetry) - 3/28/2011 5:41:38 PM
Brilliantly stark and beautifully crafted poetry! Christine

Where Have You Buried the Poets? (Poetry) - 11/18/2010 2:58:19 AM
Very good, Ian

Where Have You Buried the Poets? (Poetry) - 11/17/2010 10:07:47 PM
Ha! Loved it, Ian! Wish I was there. Where poets are buried. Erin Elizabeth Kelly-Moen

Where Have You Buried the Poets? (Poetry) - 11/14/2010 2:38:06 PM
Good question, Ian. But fortunately, for some of us, the poets live on in their dusty words. This I like. -gene.

Where Have You Buried the Poets? (Poetry) - 11/14/2010 9:26:17 AM
poets have been buried in the corrals of outlaw poetry ... provocative ...

Where Have You Buried the Poets? (Poetry) - 11/12/2010 4:07:57 PM
Ian, This stirs me, makes me sit up, provokes in the best possible way. John

Where Have You Buried the Poets? (Poetry) - 11/12/2010 2:40:05 PM
There are so many answers about the essence of poetry in your question/poem. The multifaceted nature of poetry is artfully revealed. A poem that I'm keeping! Axilea

Where Have You Buried the Poets? (Poetry) - 11/12/2010 10:59:15 AM
I have a few skeletons in my closet; but no poets sorry to say. Wonderful piece and provocative questions. Fabulous writing.

Where Have You Buried the Poets? (Poetry) - 11/12/2010 5:10:18 AM
Breath-taking, love this! The truth emerges in your fine poem. Christine

The Cemetery by the Coast - by Ian Irvine (Hobson) (Poetry) - 11/6/2010 5:03:47 PM
Evocative beauty. I have similar thoughts in a place like this one. Axilea

Various Poems by Ian Irvine (Hobson) (Poetry) - 10/30/2010 2:47:18 PM
Thank you for sharing this fine poetic offering, Ian. Much enjoyed. Love and peace to you, Regis

Various Poems by Ian Irvine (Hobson) (Poetry) - 10/28/2010 7:56:21 AM
Reading your poetry is a fantastic experience for me Ian. I'll be back to read them later, more slowly. Solar Fruit captivated me at once. Best Wishes, Christine

Various Poems by Ian Irvine (Hobson) (Poetry) - 10/28/2010 7:41:08 AM
Masterfully done. All of them. Especially liked the Vietnam piece. Truth to power through the power of poetry. Very nice!!

Europe After the Rain - Ian Irvine (Poetry) - 10/26/2010 1:36:59 AM
A new member.. a new reader.. a new follower of course.. substance depicting life n beyond ! brilliant Cheers

Words from a 22nd Century Poetry Machine - by Ian Irvine (Poetry) - 10/6/2010 2:12:46 PM
Fascinating interpretation, reassuringly ironic (for me). Inspiring in a strange way. Axilea

Europe After the Rain - Ian Irvine (Poetry) - 9/10/2010 8:39:11 PM
Quintessential poetry. I see the thousand-year cycle mix of mythology and archaeology, the more things change, the more things stay the same, Ian...a pleasure to be in your den tonight...Be well. Blessed Be. Love, Sage

The Pale Moon Left us Here - a poem by Ian Irvine (Hobson) (Poetry) - 9/7/2010 7:43:24 AM
Descriptions that stir emotions, reminding the reader of paintings, art, history and inner landscapes. I'm impressed with the coherence and the way language, sounds and impressions accompany the reader to the inevitable end(ing). Axilea

Three Poems - by Ian Irvine (published by Chaos Theory) (Poetry) - 8/31/2010 2:32:16 PM
Interesting indeed dear man..enjoyed..Hugss

Four Poems on Desacralisation and Disenchantment (Poetry) - 8/31/2010 7:59:48 AM
These are truly amazing. I often lament about the progress mankind is taking, the transhumanist assault on the soul as the science and technology we have come to adore and depend upon are actually the building blocks of our own spiritual prison. It is difficult to watch the world drown under the heavy hand of the power-elite superclass and high-tech repression grid where full-spectrum dominance of corporations and military translates into every aspect of your life, first introduced as convenience or necessity, slowly becoming weaponized. You want to scream; but realize that we're under water too. Beautiful work.

Europe After the Rain - Ian Irvine (Poetry) - 8/30/2010 8:31:02 AM
An old world, not quite dead, but almost... Where has the soul gone? Intriguing traces of Life and History. Axilea

Four Poems on Desacralisation and Disenchantment (Poetry) - 8/29/2010 5:17:47 AM
Love the depth and wisdom here.

The Circular Houe (Poetry) - 8/29/2010 1:02:50 AM
Well compose poem, Ian

The Indonesian Sequence - by ian Irvine (Hobson) (Poetry) - 8/18/2010 5:44:07 AM
Good stuff. Brings back memories of my own time in Central Java and Bali. Peace, Dayvid

The Indonesian Sequence - by ian Irvine (Hobson) (Poetry) - 8/18/2010 4:44:00 AM
interesting read

The Paper Icon and the Genie - by Ian Irvine (Poetry) - 7/25/2010 12:07:08 PM
well done

Europe After the Rain - Ian Irvine (Poetry) - 7/20/2010 1:23:54 AM
A fine poem, Ian

Europe After the Rain - Ian Irvine (Poetry) - 7/19/2010 5:58:21 AM
This was haunting and beautiful ~ Blessings, Christine

Solar Fruit (Poetry) - 7/18/2010 5:38:25 AM
Very beautiful writing indeed..enjoyed very much..stay safe and well.Hugss

Solar Fruit (Poetry) - 5/12/2008 10:40:31 PM
Interesting, well organized and beautifully written... Be always safe, Karen

Solar Fruit (Poetry) - 5/12/2008 6:18:55 AM
So imaginative. Great write

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.