AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Albert Russo, iGary Rodriguez, iGraham whittaker, iChynna Laird, iTom Hyland, iShervin Hojat, Ph.D., iBlak Rayne, i
 
Home > Walt Hardester
 

Recent Reviews for Walt Hardester


She Told Me To Do It (Short Story) - 8/2/2015 11:59:42 PM
I don't know if I would have been as daring to pull off such a stunt and I'm not one to hesitate behind the wheel. I'm glad everyone's sense of humor prevailed and you got a free ticket to ride, so to speak.

Almost Busted (Short Story) - 7/4/2015 6:57:18 AM
You provide a real and different look at the Vietnam War. It makes me think about how many other stories are "out there." Thank you for sharing, Walt. Love and peace to you, Regis

Papa There's A Big Fish (Short Story) - 6/21/2015 10:53:53 AM
well done

Papa There's A Big Fish (Short Story) - 6/16/2015 4:39:27 AM
Sounds like one of those wonderful places where one can enjoy what nature has to offer. For some reason, I wasn't like Scott, on the edge of my seat. But you did illustrate human nature very well. Small children have huge imaginations and can conjure up a "big fish" from a floating leaf with no problem at all. And, grandfathers, when they hear a child say, "big fish," can conjure up an alligator, as well. ;-) I recall our family stopped one time in northern Wisconsin and inquired about a cabin that wouldn't accommodate us all. The owner of the rental cabin was telling us about not leaving any garbage out because bears had been around when I suddenly heard a retching sound and my six-year-old younger brother was throwing up in the bushes. He was already scared of the bearsoi even though it was just talk. I slept in the car (I was 22 at the time) and got up at dawn. I went down to the pristine stream and watched a river otter play while the sun came up. We saw no bears. Ron

Papa There's A Big Fish (Short Story) - 6/15/2015 12:01:05 PM
You had me on the edge of my chair reading your story after seeing the accompanying picture. Then your granddaughter saying "Papa Walt, there's a big fish" gave me a rush. Reminded me of the time my girlfriend, Mary, and I went fishing at Kingfisher Lake in Arkansas. We saw what initially looked like a log...until it swished its tail. The caretaker of the park stopped by and said, "Oh yeah, we brought them in to get the beaver population under control. The beavers were damming up all the drainage from the lake causing it to stagnate. There are aligators in several of the lakes around here, including Spring Lake." Spring Lake! On the previous weekend, I had Mary drop me off at the boat ramp on Spring Lake. I told her to pick me up on the other side about a mile away. What an ideal swim that was: the surface of the lake was like glass. As the park ranger talked, I thought about the fact that I was the only thing moving on Spring lake. What a nice lure I had made of myself. Thanks for stirring up that spine-chilling moment of realization. I didn't swim in Spring Lake anymore, either. Scott

Papa There's A Big Fish (Short Story) - 6/15/2015 9:34:45 AM
I don't blame you!!!! Love ya! Jane

A Steamboat Springs Nightmare (Short Story) - 4/3/2015 5:21:52 AM
Good one, Walt. Reminds me of the time I was caught in a speed trap in Morellton, Arkansas about midnight as I tried to get back to my base. The lone city cop had me follow him to the 'Jail' (a bench in an alley by the 'City Hall') where he called the Justice of the Peace. After waiting on the bench (fortunately it was summertime) for an hour, the JP fined me $16. I only had $9 but he agreed he let me call my mother who promised to send him the whole amount on Monday by Western Union. Guess he was sleepy and forgot to tell her the town did not have a WU - anyway, I made it back just in time to muster. I was angry/outraged/putupon, etc., for many years, and I shudder to think of my fate had I been a minority or 'vagrant' ... but you are right. Sixty years later it makes for a funny yarn, one in the string of them that constitutes a life.

She Told Me To Do It (Short Story) - 2/4/2015 10:49:40 AM
I LOVE IT as a former CHP officer (California Highway Patrol), heard a lot of them but I have never heard a wife tell me she told him to do it. Needless to say, I would have laughed it off and let the guy go with just a warning. Here in California, our motor vehicle laws are stricter and we do not have those kinds of trucks and that cargo is by law not allowed to leak not even a drop. Loved this write, although I thought it was going one place and it instead went another.

She Told Me To Do It (Short Story) - 1/26/2015 4:56:13 AM
Now, that's the lamest excuse I ever heard. But it's true, and that's what got everybody laughing. It's a good thing that state trooper had such a good sense of humor. I wouldn't need anyone to tell me to do as you did. In fact, I think I've done that very thing. Speaking of hog trucks. I've never experienced what you have, and only once have I experienced a hog truck. This one left a trail so long, that I could smell it for a few miles before I ever got to it! Like you, I couldn't get around the damn thing. If the chicken guts truck smelled worse, the only thing I ever smelled worse than the hog truck, was skunk. Ron

She Told Me To Do It (Short Story) - 1/25/2015 4:20:39 PM
We often ask the rhetorical question, why did the chicken cross the road but I can't ever recall asking why did the driver pass the chicken waste truck!

She Told Me To Do It (Short Story) - 1/25/2015 11:08:56 AM
Why don't you listen to me all the time?

I Just wanted To Watch the Movie (Short Story) - 7/26/2014 3:50:07 AM
WALT ... saw it many times myself. The remake many years later could not compare! that shower scene & the JAWS scene were both quite unsettling! thanks for sharing ... tom.

Stained Glass Window (Short Story) - 7/26/2014 3:27:18 AM
WALT ... Splendid story! It is said that God works in mysterious ways that we cannot comprehend, but ... sometimes the Evidence is quite powerful! God Bless ... Tom.

A Steamboat Springs Nightmare (Short Story) - 8/27/2013 6:27:19 AM
That was quite a story. Country law men sometimes seem to take the law into their own hands. Never want to mess with a Sheriff because a politician first and a peace officer second. The closest I ever came to that was when I drove into Mexicali Mexico with little cash in my pocket, missed my turn at the border and made an “illegal” left turn at a stoplight––turned on green instead of a left arrow. Anyway, an older cop on foot with a basketball whistle pulled me over and told me to, “Go police station… Pay fine,” in broken English. A younger cop came along who seemed to understand English better. I explained to him that I had missed my turn and just trying to find the highway south to San Felipe. The younger cop seemed to understand and signaled for me to go. I could see the two cops arguing in my rearview mirror as I slowly pulled away. I could only imagine being thrown in a Mexican jail for not having enough money to pay the fine and having my two-year-old Oldsmobile Toronado impounded. Ron

A Steamboat Springs Nightmare (Short Story) - 8/27/2013 5:35:47 AM
very funny story bud

A Steamboat Springs Nightmare (Short Story) - 8/27/2013 2:37:05 AM
Enjoyed your story Walt. Had a similar experience back in 65 when I was in the army. Fortunately, like you, it worked out...no penalties...and no apologies from the army either.

It Began (Short Story) - 9/25/2012 12:18:36 PM
Oh my what an adventure and actually one I can relate to when I was a teen. My Aunt and Uncle and myself took a pontoon houseboat upon Lake Shasta and in the midst of the lake (don't know what hit) but we were in quite a storm! Frightening, good thing I am a good swimmer and half fish! Rude awakening eh! Love and Light Lily

I Wonder If He Even Realized (Short Story) - 9/15/2012 5:19:57 PM
political correctness is a direct spin-off of political spin - a term created by politicians as a means to tell lies to the public by restating any circumstance so as to not offend and thus gain their trust so the lies could continue unabated - "it all depends on your definition of, is" I know you remember that infamous line -- good short story Walt - good to see you writing again - I wish you love and peace my friend - Jon Michael

I Wonder If He Even Realized (Short Story) - 9/11/2012 8:12:37 AM
I, for one, am fed up with the term "politically correct." What was wrong with the way we used to talk? Just another way to change the old standards. I enjoyed your blowing off steam, we all need to do that once in awhile. Sometimes laughing at the ridiculous is good medicine! I laughed with you. Joy L. Hale

I Have Been A Lucky Man (Short Story) - 9/11/2012 6:20:54 AM
i loved this upbeat write walt...found myself smiling out loud...p

I Wonder If He Even Realized (Short Story) - 9/11/2012 6:12:42 AM
and you did! make me laugh...maybe he WAS a redneck gay admiring the view of your deriere...(THEY meaning gays)(oops) come in all sizes shapes and colors you know there's a line in one of my writes 'we'll tickle the lashes of gay giggling children'... i had several suggestions to change the 'gay' to something more appropriate. can't remember if i did...but my inclination toward political INcorrectness probably kept me from ding that. you know all this doofiness has gotten a whole lot ridiculous hasn't it

I Wonder If He Even Realized (Short Story) - 9/11/2012 4:41:13 AM
Those two in the pick-up were ignorant, and shit like that often backfires...giggle...I am not in any way biased so I don't consider old songs, cartoons, etc. politically incorrect...they just are what they are....and were never intended to insult anyone...society needs to lighten up... Anna

It Began (Short Story) - 4/9/2012 11:10:46 AM
oh my! argggh and ohhh me

Five Minutes Of Fame (Short Story) - 12/12/2011 5:13:11 PM
I liked this, Walt. Am looking forward to your next five minutes.

The First One (Short Story) - 12/9/2011 8:01:30 AM
what did you say you had just lit up Walt? -- seriously, there are such an infinite number of things we do not know about or come close to understanding -- next time, use the camera, take the picture -- it sounds like you experienced one of those moments that night -- the Georgia mountains , home to Bigfoot and ufo's? -- I bid you joy, peace and love my dear friend -- Jon Michael

Fog From A Sailor's Perspective (Article) - 12/18/2014 4:32:39 AM
One of the many things government does well for us sometimes keeps us off the rocks. Although running aground creates an adventure story, too. Nicely told.

Each Day (Article) - 11/29/2014 11:24:51 AM
You are so right. Trying new things and experiencing the little things put a spark and joy to life. I'm always experimenting with new things, and try to take the time every day, just to smell the air and listen for the little things out there that make life worth living. The helm of a sailboat sounds like a wonderful perspective. I was there once or twice in my memory, a joy that was long-lasting. Ron

Each Day (Article) - 11/29/2014 4:33:23 AM
Very Wise, and nice to see you posting again, my friend.

The Clinic (Article) - 7/26/2014 3:19:06 AM
WALT ... Well stated, direct, to the point ... sometimes HOPE is all that is left ... LOVE certainly helps ... FAITH can either increase, or dwindle ... Only TIME will eventually out ... Best Wishes ... Tom.

The Clinic (Article) - 5/26/2014 8:04:24 AM
Nice, Walt. Very insightful. Hang in there, my friend.

The Clinic (Article) - 5/22/2014 7:27:28 AM
poignant read

The Clinic (Article) - 5/17/2014 9:36:12 AM
Yes, hope in the best that science and technology can provide to try to kill the insidious cell growth known as cancer. I certainly hope that you make it through it and that the cancer is killed, or as polite society wrongly calls it, in remission. There is no need for false pretense when your life is on the line. I have known people, an 11-year-old young man, in particular, who did not survive the treatment even though his father, a medical doctor, was closely monitoring the situation. Ron

The Clinic (Article) - 5/17/2014 2:52:56 AM
wonderful portrayal and sad at the same time.

Fog From A Sailor's Perspective (Article) - 2/21/2013 11:39:08 AM
An experience well shared, Walt. I imagine being there, in the fog and all. Sometimes (quite often) the river and mountains vanish here... ...in the fog. It is quite a different perspective. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

Enough Already (Article) - 2/14/2013 5:55:21 AM
I don't see what the problem is. The United States Navy had no problem getting rid of the Barbary Coast pirates. They didn't even have a single aircraft carrier or submarine...just a couple of ships with sails and cannon. Sink pirate ships and hang pirates...history has proven it works.

Fog From A Sailor's Perspective (Article) - 1/22/2013 6:42:37 AM
moments we all savor Walt, being right - there are periods for most of us when that is the exception rather than the rule. The cormorant was a very special species, one of a very few, the I can't believe I'm doing this species. Yo ho ho and a bottle of rum? I wish you love and peace my dear friend. Jon Michael

What Was I Thinking? (Article) - 10/8/2012 11:30:16 PM
I think many of us have those times when we have accidents that should not happen.. Good luck ...m

I Was Appalled (Article) - 5/31/2012 9:02:05 AM
he probably knew he'd 'get offed' by friendly fire at some point. you can't hide 'dangerously egotistically stupid' for long...am with terry...too bad it wasn't his head. thanks for this post walt...pat

I Was Appalled (Article) - 5/31/2012 8:20:43 AM
Well! That certainly was in bad taste on Mr. Allman's part! Unfortunately its stuff like this that sells books, magazines and spots on the radio....gotta wonder! Anna

I Was Appalled (Article) - 5/31/2012 7:05:33 AM
Actually, I could have stomached the story better had Allman shot himself in the head.

I Was Appalled (Article) - 5/31/2012 2:55:58 AM
Sadly, this doesn't surprise me at all. There was a time in our nation when most of our leaders had proudly donned a military uniform. Today, hardly any of them have, and neither have their children. We have become a nation of war, but far too many in this country now believe that fighting these wars is someone else's responsibility, not theirs.

I Was Appalled (Article) - 5/30/2012 6:09:40 PM
Walt, no veteran could ever understand or accept what you heard - no patriot could ever understand or accept what you heard - entertainers, not all, but a substantial number of them are takers and maligners who never contribute anything worth while to society - they do not deserve the freedom they have - but without the men and women of our military they would not have anything - certainly not all of their money and personal fame - I wish you love and peace my dear friend - Jon Michael

What Else Do They Put In It? (Article) - 10/26/2011 10:17:40 AM
Walt, the only thing I know is that nicotine is supposedly more addictive than heroin! As a former smoking dummy it was very hard for me stop that nasty habit. I did it cold turkey. No patches no nicotine laced chewing gum no hypnosis. It was a formidable challenge. I am glad it is long behind me. As for what goes into some of he packaged for you eat, you don't want to know that either. I bid you love and peace my dear friend. Jon Michael

What Else Do They Put In It? (Article) - 10/26/2011 7:06:43 AM
I remember in 1963 when a tobacco rep came to talk to an auditorium full of us high school students about smoking addiction. I asked him if the industry could be putting something in the cigarette paper that caused addiction. He got a funny look on his face, said no real quick and then moved onto the next question. I've always wondered about that answer.

Full Circle (Article) - 4/8/2011 4:07:30 AM
Giggle....the world is moving way too fast, Walt....I liked the good ole days better! Nowadays you can't even sit down to chat with someone without their checking messages, or answering their cell phone... Anna

Full Circle (Article) - 4/3/2011 5:52:59 PM
Too often we are more fascinated with the technology than its pragmatic virtues. There is no romance in an iphone. But Alexander Graham Bell's marvelous first invention of telephone technology is still fascinating. The same is true for fine, manually wound Swiss watches. I have an electronic stopwatch that is accurate to within a millisecond. Unless the battery is low or worse, dead. So when I need to use a stopwatch function I can rely on, I use my manually wound, Swiss stopwatch that is more than 45 years old. Besides electronic stopwatches don't go tick tick tick audibly. I bid you love and peace my dear friend. Jon Michael

Full Circle (Article) - 4/3/2011 3:14:14 PM
And when you do get a real voice u can't understand a dang word their saying......(o:

Full Circle (Article) - 4/3/2011 1:05:44 PM
Yes, and when you did call someone there was a real voice on the other end not a recording. fee

Full Circle (Article) - 4/3/2011 11:48:38 AM
It would seem that of all our advancements, common sense has been left out of the mix.

Enough Already (Article) - 2/23/2011 5:08:12 PM
Walt, surely you recognize that the U.N. is very little more than a brothel of politicos and monitary waste. The global poster child for corruption. List one postive thing they have accomplished for humanity. Just one. Piracy on the high seas should be dealt with just as it was in the past. Justice should be administered by any person/group capturing a pirate on the high seas. Instant justice with major negative consequences for the pirate. Hang them from the yard arm. Jon Michael

Edwina The Red (Poetry) - 8/28/2015 7:57:35 AM
Thank you for sharing your wit and humor, Walt. And thank you for commenting on my latest limericks. It was not a challenge; I guess it is just coincidence that Belle posted one (I have not seen it yet). Love and peace, Regis

The Marsh (Poetry) - 8/11/2015 11:48:19 AM
This is pure bliss, Walt! How I envy your seafarer's way of life and the heartfelt appreciation it engenders. May the wind continue to fill your sails with wonder and contentment. Bon voyage! :) xx

The Guitar And The Pawn Shop (Poetry) - 7/27/2015 1:46:15 PM
Very touching and pleasant, written with the talent of a narrative that feels really natural. It's an "old" post, but I love it!

The Marsh (Poetry) - 7/19/2015 1:57:25 PM
Lovely work Walt. Descriptions made me feel I was there.

You Don’t Know Me (Poetry) - 7/19/2015 1:56:42 PM
Makes me wonder Walt, how well do any of us really know each other. Well penned and thought provoking.

The Marsh (Poetry) - 7/17/2015 11:27:43 PM
I used to go out anf fish & hang in the marshes when I was a kid all the time & now I pass through them and always smell them never forgetting their value to the ocean too...GREAT write...-e-

The Marsh (Poetry) - 7/14/2015 6:01:28 AM
Poetry getting the word out. It is a shame that developers seem hell-bent on draining marshes and putting up developments. Here in Houston, the many bayous that used to provide countless nurseries for the sea so nearby, have become concrete ditches to faster propel pollutants and plastic into the sea with nothing of any redeeming value except to destroy life. Ron

The Marsh (Poetry) - 7/14/2015 4:01:41 AM
Krill, prawn, and shrimp seem to look the same to me. I would not have known the difference if I didn't look it up on the net. Thank you for your poem, it made me learned something that I'm not aware of. Sandie

The Marsh (Poetry) - 7/13/2015 5:15:14 PM
The seafood platter says it all. Thanks Chris

The Marsh (Poetry) - 7/13/2015 12:05:25 PM
I used to work in a seafood restaurant. I can really appreciate all the perch and walleye we put out now!! Love ya. Jane

The Marsh (Poetry) - 7/13/2015 7:58:11 AM
A good explanation of the natural processes, Walt. The sea and the life within it and around it are fascinating. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Marsh (Poetry) - 7/13/2015 7:05:33 AM
Okay, had to look up Krill. Now that I have that explained I understand the poem to its fullest, even up to that "seafood platter."

The Guitar And The Pawn Shop (Poetry) - 7/3/2015 5:43:56 AM
That's the saddest when this happened. That last stanza tells it all. Sandie

As Poets (Poetry) - 6/27/2015 8:52:46 PM
Well, one day they will listen. That is the they of - one. Good point - well done!

As Poets (Poetry) - 6/27/2015 12:34:44 PM
So much truth in this poem. Love ya! Jane

As Poets (Poetry) - 6/27/2015 10:46:32 AM
What else can I say Walt makes me feel unappreciated An excellent write

As Poets (Poetry) - 6/27/2015 10:28:21 AM
Yep . . . "Fuggid aboud it."

As Poets (Poetry) - 6/27/2015 9:49:49 AM
I would tend to agree that 99.99% of poems are quickly forgotten, even by the writer. But every once in a while, great poetry, like that of Bob Dylan and the Beatles, strikes home and changes the world. Ron

As Poets (Poetry) - 6/27/2015 7:44:56 AM
I hear ya...-e-

A Daddy's Fear (Poetry) - 6/25/2015 11:52:31 AM
Coincidentally, my first born daughter's birth was complicated as well. Thankfully, it turned out fine and in January, she brought my first grandchild into this world. She's a sweetie and your verses are intimate with me and how I feel about her. Thank you for sharing this gift, Walt. Love and peace to you, Regis

You Don’t Know Me (Poetry) - 6/13/2015 2:49:32 AM
Well understood. Most would never last a day or night in our minds. Hugs and Happy for what brings you joy in life now.

Never Trust A Leprechaun (Poetry) - 6/7/2015 6:20:53 AM
This one sure buttered me up! if you can't have gold, make sure you know what side your bread is buttered on. Wait a little while for that golden cheese to age just right. Creative and cute. Ron

Never Trust A Leprechaun (Poetry) - 6/7/2015 6:00:29 AM
When you landed in that golden pie, you can kiss your Lucky Charms goodbye. Michael D.

Never Trust A Leprechaun (Poetry) - 6/7/2015 4:15:10 AM
Better to wipe off the cow milk, than the cow pie!

Never Trust A Leprechaun (Poetry) - 6/7/2015 1:51:24 AM
...and you have met a leprechaun have you...it may be time for the men in the white suits with a net to visit you, but don't worry about that reverse jacket, they say they make you look 50 pounds lighter...-e-

Never Trust A Leprechaun (Poetry) - 6/6/2015 1:23:40 PM
Hey, if you are stranded in a cow pasture on a cold night those dry round things are gold. They burn for hours.......keep ya warm! Love ya! Jane

Never Trust A Leprechaun (Poetry) - 6/6/2015 1:10:21 PM
Lessons learned the hard way are lessons you never forget. I'm in the process of learning something the hard way . . .

Meditation (Poetry) - 5/30/2015 9:25:22 AM
To go where no man has gone before. I enjoyed this one. Michael D.

Meditation (Poetry) - 5/30/2015 9:22:16 AM
I thank you for your colourful movie in which some of us have already been a century ago... sweet memoirs indeed... so, don't you think to upgrade yourself to the 'black-and-white' and start to do your journey for yourself, not for others?. . Cheers, alex

Meditation (Poetry) - 5/30/2015 7:24:06 AM
I would consider this more humorous than spiritual. Whatever it is that gets you into this meditative state, I'd like a piece of it. My meditation often involves just relaxing, generally while watching nature, and letting my mind wander. Your meditation is on a whole different plane. You are out there wandering between galaxies without a spaceship… Wow! Ron

Meditation (Poetry) - 5/29/2015 7:40:13 PM
Sounds as if you are getting better & better each day, good on you, glad to hear it...thanks for ur comment on my recent post, it is most appreciated...-e-

Meditation (Poetry) - 5/29/2015 11:33:03 AM
Hey, the bliss was enchanting, I'm sure. Yup! Places to go and people to meet! Love ya! Jane

Meditation (Poetry) - 5/29/2015 11:32:47 AM
Hear you loud and clear, Walt. I don't have to make that living, and I can't say it bothers me. I spend much time within my own galaxies, and am fortunate to not have time restraints as I do. That's a good thing. So is this poem.

Cheese (Poetry) - 5/24/2015 9:17:16 AM
Quite the tribute to cheese, Walt. I appreciate your wit and humor. Love and peace, Regis

Traveler's Lament (Poetry) - 5/23/2015 12:23:19 PM
Walt, never stop looking you are bound to find it. In Morocco with a fez I can picture you, perhaps seated atop a camel! May love and peace be always with you. Jon Michael

Traveler's Lament (Poetry) - 5/17/2015 4:56:42 PM
...fascinating rhythm and rhyme lingering sensation of life-sail-ride on the big waves of life and...oceans of options...a bone of contention...though...that ticks all major boxes on your previous-experience list...when you decide to go further afield...your purse strings are not keeping you close to home and...nippy winds willing to turn your boat to tropical-spiritual idylls...Down Under blue skies...gem of Uluru...gentle people...Hello to your dog!...that are welcoming...trust me I've been greeted here!...and the spectacular gently Sydney Harbour air-feel against your and...your significant other...skin... Thank you Walt for sharing your remarkable verse.

I'm Just Me....Don't You See? (Poetry) - 5/16/2015 2:04:55 PM
A deeply personal and meaningful sharing through your verses, Walt. I agree with the theme that you express. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Traveler's Lament (Poetry) - 5/16/2015 6:07:00 AM
Lovely writing...enjoyed very much...Hugss

She Sits (Poetry) - 5/14/2015 11:44:08 AM
I experience this every time I'm out in nature. As I read this, I felt like I was her! Love ya! Jane

Traveler's Lament (Poetry) - 5/12/2015 6:55:27 AM
Your poem transported me back to that great poet, Woody Guthrie, with This Land Is My Land. We can travel all around the world and see glorious things, but when it gets right down to it, especially in California, a car will get you far. Especially in San Diego. Ron PS. I wrote that before I saw your comment below, so I'm sticking to it. ;-)

Traveler's Lament (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 4:08:11 PM
Love the flow... ...the rhyme and the rhythm; and of course, the theme. Nicely done, Walt. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

Traveler's Lament (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 12:15:23 PM
Oooo you got me wanderlust stirring, Walt - even if it is to go round in circles. Guess it's inevitable, the planet being what it is. Glad you caught up with your heart in the end! :) xx

Traveler's Lament (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 9:35:41 AM
You have given us a whirlwind tour of places renown with that winning thought "there's no place like home." San Diego is special. Many thanks.

Traveler's Lament (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 9:02:45 AM
Hey, pick me up on one of these trips. I'll be the the hitchhiker with the red stripped shirt on! LOL!! Seriously, I really love this write! Love ya! Jane

Traveler's Lament (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 7:15:14 AM
If only I could afford to live there, I would.

Traveler's Lament (Poetry) - 5/11/2015 7:07:35 AM
Ahhh . . . Eternal Spring, as in a weather related coup? If so, i think San Diego is probably as good as it is going to get. I heard that the mean temperature there was somewhere in the seventies.

Hold On Just A Second (Poetry) - 5/9/2015 5:45:11 AM
The bonds are extensive and ever expansive Walt. Menial tasks sometimes provide instant gratification if one is able to rise above the ache and pains. May peace and love be always with you. Jon Michael

Hold On Just A Second (Poetry) - 5/3/2015 6:32:09 PM
A good flogging always works!

Hold On Just A Second (Poetry) - 4/8/2015 11:47:39 AM
... sounds like the best of both worlds, Walt! You're suck-sinked and succinct! :) xx

Hold On Just A Second (Poetry) - 4/2/2015 6:46:58 AM
This brought a smile to my face this morning.Maybe, just maybe, husbands do get it although it may talk a while

Hold On Just A Second (Poetry) - 4/2/2015 4:14:03 AM
A good tongue lashing is . . . er . . . I fergot . . .

Hold On Just A Second (Poetry) - 4/2/2015 12:12:17 AM
Those impromptu tongue lashings seem to pay off! Love ya! Jane

Hold On Just A Second (Poetry) - 4/1/2015 9:35:04 PM
been reading my mail, you have good write john+

Hold On Just A Second (Poetry) - 4/1/2015 5:35:05 PM
lovely poem...

She Packs A Gun (Poetry) - 2/13/2015 10:06:50 PM
How does the old Cher song go, " bang bang my baby shot me down "? Does she live on Woverton Mountain Walt? Creative piece of work Walt. May peace and love be always with you. Jon Michael

She Packs A Gun (Poetry) - 2/7/2015 5:39:01 PM
I love that kind of woman. I know one or two who fit that description. They're a treasure. Love and peace to you, Regis

She Packs A Gun (Poetry) - 2/7/2015 4:59:29 AM
There's nothing like being shot down by a woman with a pistol and a whip...but am glad she has a good heart. Sandie

She Packs A Gun (Poetry) - 2/4/2015 10:13:55 AM
This sounds like my sister-in-law. I always feel safe when she's around. She's from them thar hills and she is beautiful inside and out. I'll show this to her. I'm sure she'll love it. Love ya! Jane

She Packs A Gun (Poetry) - 2/4/2015 7:24:58 AM
Interesting lady. How about expanding to a short story or novel? More, more, more about this!

She Packs A Gun (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 2:55:16 PM
What a jasmine scented, life warrior! Smiles galore, Carol Phelan Aebby

She Packs A Gun (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 12:25:22 PM
And most likely she's butt ugly… Not anything like that beautiful creature in the photo. ;-) Ron

She Packs A Gun (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 8:25:57 AM
oh but a pistol packin' mama can protect you for sure from any varmint that comes around. Great write,

She Packs A Gun (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 8:04:20 AM
I would feel better if she just had a sling shot.

She Packs A Gun (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 6:41:52 AM
She must be packing heat, 'cause she's hot. Michael D.

She Packs A Gun (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 6:38:01 AM
And I'm sure it's... loaded. Nicely done, Walt. Sometimes... you just gotta risk it; you might get shot [down], but... hey, it might be worth it!

She Packs A Gun (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 4:16:31 AM
Sounds like quite a woman - but be careful, you just might get shot.

She Packs A Gun (Poetry) - 2/2/2015 8:00:07 PM
My girl, packa a few guns too, a shot gun and a muzzle loader & various other weapons that I don't approve of, but its her life so I don't make my disapproval known...good to see you writing again...lets some more from you...-e-

She Packs A Gun (Poetry) - 2/2/2015 7:12:39 PM
You know I love this one, my friend. <3 -Te

?What Is It? (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 1:16:21 PM
A sweet expression of love; nicely done, Walt. Love and peace to you, Regis

Green Fruit (Poetry) - 12/23/2014 2:39:51 PM
there are many farmer's markets surrounding the city ... that's the best i can find besides my growing some vegetables on my terrace and that's only in the spring to autumn ... nice work ...

Green Fruit (Poetry) - 12/23/2014 1:45:24 PM
I'm thankful we live in farm country, and farmer's markets. I just have to get through the winter for fresh produce again. Michael D.

Green Fruit (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 10:17:59 PM
Points well made, Walt... ...sad, isn't it? We were poor when I was a child and we grew our own even in northern Alberta. Love and peace to you, Regis

Green Fruit (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 3:59:47 PM
I don't much eat fruit, never had a taste for them and most veggies are green so I can't eat them because of being on blood thinner...so howsoever it is all kept, gassed or frozen, I really don't much care...(did you notice that Ron's grandparents had a farm that raised trucks...do they start from seeds or do they grow on trees or a vine...?)

Green Fruit (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 11:19:49 AM
Not only freezing, but gases. Sometimes, they are inert gases that slow the decomposition process, and sometimes there are gases to enhance the look. For example, the navel oranges from my tree are green and yellow and ugly looking, but taste very sweet. You won't find them in the store, because they don't look appetizing enough. Gassing them gives them that bright orange, beautiful look. On the contrary, here in Houston Texas, I marvel at the variety of produce and fruit, often quite tasty and much better than I remember from the field that is available year-round in any season. Frozen vegetables, for example, are usually picked at the peak of season, and therefore are available year-round with very little deterioration in taste and nutrition. Much better than canned with all that salt and sugar. I caution you again to remember that those good old days that I remember in the 50s meant that there was a very short season for fruit or vegetables and the rest of the year, we were stuck with canned. My grandparents had a truck farm and grew all kinds of fruit and vegetables for sale by the road. A lot of those didn't turn out very well and became pig food. "What we have here," a former boss of mine used to say, "is rising expectations." Ron

Green Fruit (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 9:38:23 AM
I guess you missed the news story a few months back about our so called 'Fresh Fruit.' Some of it has been frozen for a year, and most of it isn't even grown here anymore. (Think China.) I always wondered what those huge Cold Storage buildings were for all across America - and now I know. If you want fresh fruit, you gotta grow yer own these sad days.

The Best Gift Of All (Poetry) - 12/4/2014 10:07:29 AM
Love has a way of doing that, Walt. Wonderful way to be and to live. Love and peace to you, Regis

She Sits (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 2:56:14 PM
I can completely relate to what "she" is letting happen around her; probably inhaling the serenity and hopefully allowing it to wash away hurt and negativity. Nicely done, Walt. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Best Gift Of All (Poetry) - 10/11/2014 10:52:12 PM
Hey, Walt, good to see and hear you sounding pretty darn upbeat...take care of that girl, u r a lucky man...-e-

The Best Gift Of All (Poetry) - 10/11/2014 9:18:41 AM
an excellent write Walt love IS a two way street love and let love Peace be with you both William

The Best Gift Of All (Poetry) - 10/8/2014 9:55:23 AM
Walt, I pray the two of you will have long lasting love. I'm happy for you. Love and blessings, ~Linda

The Best Gift Of All (Poetry) - 10/6/2014 3:23:16 PM
She is a very lucky lady. Such a beautiful romantic declaration of love in this write! Kathy J Parenteau

The Best Gift Of All (Poetry) - 10/6/2014 8:07:21 AM
THE BLESSINGS OF 'TRUE LOVE' SHINES FORTH FROM THIS WRITE...SO BEAUTIFULLY! THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

The Best Gift Of All (Poetry) - 10/6/2014 7:14:39 AM
It's wonderful to have a companion who believes in you. Makes all the difference. I know she loves this one! Ron

At The Gym (Poetry) - 4/11/2014 9:57:56 AM
Ah! Now this one describes a catching trend of gyms being hot dating spots these days

The Guitar And The Pawn Shop (Poetry) - 4/11/2014 9:56:03 AM
Very Crisp and beautiful

If The Good Die Young (Poetry) - 10/29/2013 8:42:15 PM
I'm happy to hear that you cared enough to save lives instead of not giving a damn and doing nothing. Good die young as well as good die old.

How You Define a Moment (Poetry) - 10/21/2013 12:10:10 PM
oh yes! David Letterman is within my old stompping grounds my Patrol sector in the theater district, that brings me back some memories, some good and some bad. Thanks for sharing this treat Walt Peace be with you William

How We Ride (Poetry) - 10/14/2013 3:32:41 AM
nice one walt

How We Ride (Poetry) - 10/13/2013 10:29:26 AM
Really good Walt...really good. Nice work

How We Ride (Poetry) - 10/13/2013 10:24:35 AM
Beautifully and lovingly expressed, Walt. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

How We Ride (Poetry) - 10/13/2013 3:25:02 AM
Walt this is beautiful, some lucky knws this is written for them. Rose

How We Ride (Poetry) - 10/13/2013 1:23:50 AM
well said

How We Ride (Poetry) - 10/12/2013 12:25:43 PM
I think you should label this Part 1, and then write Part 2 and maybe even Part 3. Methinks you've just scratched the surface, Walt.

How We Ride (Poetry) - 10/11/2013 3:46:56 PM
Excellent, Walt, wish I had written it...

Jasmine (Poetry) - 10/3/2013 11:50:45 AM
So wise and beautifully penned Walt.

Unbroken Code (Poetry) - 9/2/2013 6:23:02 AM
I believe that this was your best work. Being part of the Indian nation I enjoy reading about the courage and honor these warriors possessed. Their spirits survive due to your honoring them in a wonderful way. I thank you.

At The Gym (Poetry) - 8/31/2013 7:26:43 AM
Passionately engaging, Walt; thank you for sharing. You probably mean "angels" in your last verse? Mind you, with poetic license, "angles" probably works too. ☻ Love and peace, Regis

A Time To Live (Poetry) - 8/28/2013 11:52:23 AM
Walt, well said. The challenge is to do what we believe is right for ourselves and yet does not adversely affect others. A delicate balance that sometimes creates a little agro in our lives. May peace and love be always with my dear friend. Jon Michael

Apparition (Poetry) - 8/23/2013 1:49:58 PM
There is an angel on your shoulder so keep listening. Love, Susan

A Time To Live (Poetry) - 8/23/2013 1:42:32 PM
EXCELLENT FLOW! Wonderful thinking and it gets me to thinking. Thank you Walt. I needed this today. Love Susan

At The Gym (Poetry) - 8/22/2013 9:48:25 AM
What a lusty write! I could almost feel the tension. Unfortunately, my partner, who works out in the gym regularly, is really turned off by guys who hang around and ogle her in hopes of making a connection. Was that, “angle worms,” that smiled? ;-) Ron

At The Gym (Poetry) - 8/21/2013 3:54:44 PM
romantic and outstanding write Budd most enjoyable reading Peace be with you William

Jasmine (Poetry) - 8/21/2013 6:21:28 AM
A woman's greatest wish. The calm of going to a place of nothing. Nicely put. Ron

Jasmine (Poetry) - 8/20/2013 12:53:00 PM
That's nice, Walt. Makes me want to plant jasmine by the hot tub.

Jasmine (Poetry) - 8/20/2013 11:47:11 AM
We all need such times of solitude.

Jasmine (Poetry) - 8/20/2013 10:38:34 AM
Peacefully engaging are your verses, Walt. Thank you for sharing them. Love and peace to you, Regis

Jasmine (Poetry) - 8/20/2013 10:24:02 AM
a soft wistful scene you're showing us walt...soft words edged in sadness...such a nice piece leaving us to fill in the blanks of the conflicted emotions you're suggesting to us here

Apparition (Poetry) - 8/18/2013 5:00:02 AM
this took us on a most compelling look around vulnerable chinks in the armor we sometime build around our heart...a difficult thing to do and you've expressed it so well here...neat ending, walt

Apparition (Poetry) - 8/18/2013 3:59:23 AM
Not always safer from hurt even in some of my dreams. Glad to be back reading for a while.

Apparition (Poetry) - 8/17/2013 4:34:19 PM
Walt, you have summed these situations, which have happened to most of us in reality, with just the right degree of starkness. The line between reality and imagination is a blended line, taunting our sensibilities. I wish you love and peace my dear friend. Jon Michael

Apparition (Poetry) - 8/17/2013 2:19:42 PM
Very nice, Walt. I might remove "almost" where it appears before "ethereal", but of course, you might not. It's very evocative. -Teresa

Apparition (Poetry) - 8/17/2013 10:36:48 AM
I like the story within the poem. The hope expressed and the realization. On the humorous side, it was either a smokornado, mistornado or a fogornado that eluded him. ;-) Ron

A Time To Live (Poetry) - 8/15/2013 10:09:06 AM
...did you spend your life or get it spent on, which is better or worse for that matter...I tend to think no matter how we have spent life, then thats how we spent life, can't change it, so why worry about the past or future, just deal with life today...(now if only I could take my own advice...) e

A Time To Live (Poetry) - 8/14/2013 9:51:35 AM
Well penned Walt, we wake up too late sometimes, to have a life of joy because we've been trying to take care of everyone else.

A Time To Live (Poetry) - 8/14/2013 9:30:47 AM
a very well posed question budd

A Time To Live (Poetry) - 8/14/2013 8:17:20 AM
We have only one life to spend. And it is not wasted only on our youth. We have a choice how we spend it. I would suggest, like your poem, that we spend it well. Ron

A Time To Live (Poetry) - 8/14/2013 6:36:58 AM
Very nice poem Walt. I am glad to see you writing again. I feel those words could of been my own.

The Guitar And The Pawn Shop (Poetry) - 8/1/2013 4:19:34 AM
Outstanding write Walt love these lines "I'm glad you not in my shoes But 'till a guitar's been in a pawn shop It can't really play the Blues" went to a pawn shop once when I wore a younger man's clothes been paying its interest ever since. Peace be with you William

On Riding Into The Sunset (Poetry) - 6/22/2013 8:15:27 AM
Sunrise to sunset but annular eclipse. peace and light Fakhre

?What Is It? (Poetry) - 6/18/2013 5:01:48 AM
love the one you with Peace be with you William

On Riding Into The Sunset (Poetry) - 6/14/2013 1:55:31 PM
Well Walt, I am not certain if you are referring to the big sunset, that final one we all face, or just the daily kind. But if we adjust and consider the impact of our actions we should avoid the tar and feather treatment. The rest is unknown. May love and peace be always with you my dear friend. Jon Michael

On Riding Into The Sunset (Poetry) - 6/10/2013 7:34:31 AM
Very nicely done, Walt! Anna

On Riding Into The Sunset (Poetry) - 6/8/2013 7:46:13 AM
I'll keep your advice in consideration as the sunset nears. Reminds me of the old joke. The Hollywood director is giving directions to Tex, the cowboy lead in his epic movie. “Now, Tex, in this last scene, I would like you to ride into the sunset as the credits roll and keep on riding…” Ron

On Riding Into The Sunset (Poetry) - 6/7/2013 5:11:10 PM
I love the atmosphere that cones with your poetry. I can taste the horses gate and hear his footsteps heading into the sunset. Wonderful for the boy in men. Love, Susan

On Riding Into The Sunset (Poetry) - 6/7/2013 3:34:00 PM
Rode there myself a few times, Liked in this one the rhyme, Thrown in there for good measure was Nero, Personally though I'd say he was a zero... great write, walt..........e

On Riding Into The Sunset (Poetry) - 6/7/2013 10:44:25 AM
great opening walt...the word weaving and rythmn to this was exceptional

On Riding Into The Sunset (Poetry) - 6/7/2013 9:36:16 AM
What a lovely read. Loved the cadence of the poem. I really loved the reference to Nero. Very clever

?What Is It? (Poetry) - 5/24/2013 10:53:54 AM
Love is great!! Love Tinky

?What Is It? (Poetry) - 5/21/2013 5:17:41 AM
And that's the way true love is supposed to be...nicely said Walt! Anna

?What Is It? (Poetry) - 5/20/2013 10:29:57 AM
Love conquers all… Even our faults. Ron

?What Is It? (Poetry) - 5/20/2013 8:01:25 AM
short...sweet...to the point description of love utopia...nice one walt

?What Is It? (Poetry) - 5/20/2013 4:24:14 AM
"ignores my peccadillos" are those like love-bites? For Your Valerie: Everyday Is Love Vickie

?What Is It? (Poetry) - 5/19/2013 5:46:15 PM
Love is a many splendid thing, wish I said that. G

?What Is It? (Poetry) - 5/19/2013 5:15:52 PM
A poem of love if ever I heard of one...e

You Don’t Know Me (Poetry) - 3/7/2013 10:37:58 PM
Poetic expression of the unknown by someone who is unknown. The words are well crafted in a way to that makes one want to explore more of the unknown. Peace, love and blessings to you, John Michael Domino

You Don’t Know Me (Poetry) - 2/28/2013 5:53:50 PM
This is stated so great - I loved it!

You Don’t Know Me (Poetry) - 2/24/2013 4:06:17 PM
Wonderful poem. It sent chills up my spine.

Just One More Bend, Lord (Poetry) - 2/19/2013 7:11:52 PM
I imagine the music and sing along, Walt. Thank you for sharing this gift. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Dance (Poetry) - 2/15/2013 6:46:41 PM
Lovely sentiments well-shared via your verses, Walt. Love is all1 Thank you. Regis

You Don’t Know Me (Poetry) - 2/9/2013 4:12:52 AM
Oh, this is really a great poem! It made me think positively about myself. Yes, that should be my motto:'I am happy with what I am.' Thank you, dear Poet! -Portia

Fog (Poetry) - 1/23/2013 2:45:43 PM
Love how the old Fog Monster creeps, blinds and even enters us, Walt. How subtly you have painted his progress and the need to be clear-sighted in penetrating and countering his ill effects. xx

Fog (Poetry) - 1/20/2013 9:04:07 AM
nice take on this universal theme ...

Fog (Poetry) - 1/19/2013 12:52:34 PM
fog is a chilling blanket of myriad perceptions and deceptions - each of us electing which it will be for us; mood sensative from electrifying to forboading - I always view it as a giant sponge absorbing emotions - I wish you love and peace my dear friend - Jon Michael

Fog (Poetry) - 1/19/2013 10:39:27 AM
interesting write Walt peace William

Fog (Poetry) - 1/14/2013 6:56:34 AM
I walk around in a fog a lot of the time...and it's perfectly clear outside...giggle....enjoyed! Anna

Fog (Poetry) - 1/13/2013 3:43:34 PM
Metaphorically and naturally lovely Walt. Happy new year.

Fog (Poetry) - 1/13/2013 10:43:06 AM
ahhh...the fog monster...great analogy of how he can creep into all of our heads or hearts at some point. nice start to 2013 writing walt.

Fairies I Suppose (Poetry) - 1/13/2013 10:29:25 AM
I believe in angels and fairies too. Love this write, Walt. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace, Regis

Fog (Poetry) - 1/13/2013 10:28:02 AM
A symbolic and engaging write, Walt. Living up on the mountain here, the fog often forms over the river and it is so thick that I feel I could walk out my window and cross over the river to the mountains on the other side. Thank you, Walt. Love and peace to you, Regis

Fog (Poetry) - 1/12/2013 4:34:55 PM
Fog over the ocean is so cool, except when you are in a boat and unable to find your way...too scary then...e

Fog (Poetry) - 1/12/2013 10:42:08 AM
Both informative and mysterious. I remember those fogs creeping over the hills in late afternoon like a white wall as I drove towards San Francisco. Fortunately, once in the fog, it turned out to be not as dense as expected, just cold and overcast. Gloomy and grave like. Ron

Fog (Poetry) - 1/12/2013 7:36:42 AM
I'm not sure if this will make you feel better, this morning we woke to freezing fog, it's 30d at 8am in Portland, Oregon...nice writing. Cheers, Dan

Fog (Poetry) - 1/12/2013 4:30:23 AM
Yes, wonderful analogy. The dark sadness of fog creeps into all of our lives. How to deal with it? Charlene Iverson

Fog (Poetry) - 1/12/2013 3:36:43 AM
fog oh the clouds touching earth budd

Fog (Poetry) - 1/11/2013 5:48:32 PM
My first poem of the new year...... A think piece like all the others.

Just One More Bend, Lord (Poetry) - 1/1/2013 6:41:11 AM
Outstanding write Walt sounds like me praying for just one more day Thanks for sharing Peace be with you Happy New Year William

Fairies I Suppose (Poetry) - 12/28/2012 5:12:42 AM
In an other world, time travel with your mind, to earlier more wistful thinking and feelings, I could almost see them myself, so picture perfect you set the scene, bless ya.

Fairies I Suppose (Poetry) - 12/28/2012 3:58:20 AM
Walt, this is one of your best and their have been a lot of them in the past...God love the Fairies. Cheers, Dan

Fairies I Suppose (Poetry) - 12/27/2012 4:01:36 PM
how beautiful i think it was your time to be allowed the vision budd

Fairies I Suppose (Poetry) - 12/27/2012 3:20:27 PM
I enjoyed this lovely reading of "Fairies I suppose" Nymph Blossoms & Pixie Jewels Vickie

Take A Number (Poetry) - 12/18/2012 7:33:21 PM
words of a poetic sailor most enjoyable read Peace be with you William

Take A Number (Poetry) - 12/14/2012 11:28:47 AM
I cycle a lot around this hill and I love the "wind at my back." I know you mean a lot more than that in your verses here, Walt. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Guitar And The Pawn Shop (Poetry) - 12/13/2012 7:46:30 AM
Wow! I love this...especially that last line...well done. Cheers, Dan

Take A Number (Poetry) - 12/12/2012 9:46:30 AM
yep, guess we'll all be holding our breath and waiting for The Big Surprise - whether 21st December or whenever the Big Red Balloon eventually Goes Up... One thing's for sure, we'll all be goin about our day to day business same as ever when it happens! Hoping to see you still here next year, Walt! :)) xx

Take A Number (Poetry) - 12/1/2012 8:02:18 AM
just luv the mystery of it all ...

Take A Number (Poetry) - 11/20/2012 4:50:56 AM
My immediate reaction is a bit strange - a life without surprises can only be imagined after death!

Take A Number (Poetry) - 11/18/2012 3:46:19 PM
Walt, enjoyed your perspective, for me each day is a new adventure, sometimes I'm surprised, other times, not so much. Thanks for writing. Cheers, Dan

Take A Number (Poetry) - 11/18/2012 12:00:26 PM
The Mayan calendar, ring a ding ding. A time and space compendium, I do not believe it exists. Our numbers have already been selected. Don't take a number or a seat, grab a libation and tell interesting stories. Yes, I believe that is what I will do. Join me Walt and we will be out front of the throngs. Have a Happy Thanksgiving my dear friend. I wish you love and peace. Jon Michael

Take A Number (Poetry) - 11/18/2012 8:06:22 AM
After having a birthday toast that evening, I will go to bed, sleep peacefully, and rise to another day of trying to figure out what I'm going to do for Christmas. ;-) That last stanza doesn't ring true, because a life without surprises is pretty darn boring. Ron

My Heart (Poetry) - 11/18/2012 1:58:13 AM
Neither!

Take A Number (Poetry) - 11/17/2012 7:15:10 PM
How wise you are! Love this!! xOx Pea xOx

Take A Number (Poetry) - 11/17/2012 4:03:47 PM
Walt.....The fact I've already taken a number....I'll be at a wedding, High Noon on December 21, 2012. I'll report back to you 12/22/12. God Bless You, Deb

The Clown (Poetry) - 10/28/2012 5:54:06 AM
:( sorrow's well can run really deep but too reveals itself in beautiful poetry Smile Therapy & Secret Whopping Cushions Vickie

The Clown (Poetry) - 10/16/2012 6:08:13 PM
This is sad. Emmit Kelly acted sAd and that was his character. He would troll for you, smile and reen win your heart. He is my favoritw. Love, Susan

The Clown (Poetry) - 10/16/2012 8:50:20 AM
Those who make others smile are often weeping inside. Great poem Walt.

The Guitar And The Pawn Shop (Poetry) - 10/16/2012 8:48:39 AM
So true and so well penned Walt.

The Clown (Poetry) - 10/12/2012 7:26:56 PM
excellent piece Walt enjoyed reading Peace be with you

The Clown (Poetry) - 10/9/2012 6:42:53 PM
Walt, your poem mirrors what has been written about the sad lives Red Skelton and Emmett Kelley Jr. led. Skelton was divorced a couple of times and devastated by the loss of his nine year old son Richard from leukemia. Emmett Kelley endured similar tragedies in his lifetime also. Certainly among clowns, those two were America's preeminent. A good message regarding the tragic figures that live behind smiling faces. I wish you peace and love my dear friend. Jon Michael

The Clown (Poetry) - 10/9/2012 4:24:00 AM
They have the power to make people smile....they are "treasures"....nice poem ,Walt....love the pic! Anna

The Guitar And The Pawn Shop (Poetry) - 10/9/2012 12:35:14 AM
"The Guitar And The Pawn Shop" sings and cries, and is heard by seraphic that play in the skies... An alert that abounds in wisdom, and paints sentiments of pain and sorrow... "The Guitar And The Pawn Shop" glows on constellation Blues. In respect and apprciation, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

The Clown (Poetry) - 10/7/2012 7:30:32 AM
I think clowns special..because they have the power to make us "BIGGER" clowns realise that it's ok to hide your feelings when needed most!! Love Tinka

The Clown (Poetry) - 10/6/2012 11:35:16 AM
It may be wrong to think that all clowns are unhappy. I have been amazed by the long marriages and lives of some of our funniest people like George Burns, Buddy Epson, Ernest Borgnine, Groucho Marx, and Bob Hope, to name a few. Most of these people started work on the vaudeville circuit, much like the circus. I know that circus clowns, like all circus people, led a hard life, but that doesn't mean they were unhappy. Ron

The Clown (Poetry) - 10/6/2012 2:59:09 AM


The Clown (Poetry) - 10/5/2012 3:12:10 PM
I once talked to a "carney" person who said the only way to succeed in marriage was to have your wife/partner on the road with you. Your poem reminded me of many carnivals and circus's I attended throughout my life and brought a wonderful smile of happy thoughts and memories to my mind. Love this! Joy L. Hale

My Heart (Poetry) - 9/12/2012 10:17:28 AM
Keir Hardie replied to his scoffers in parliament that politics was of the heart. Work that one out.

You Don’t Know Me (Poetry) - 9/6/2012 5:14:23 PM
I don't know you, have never been to your site till this evening, but... I know this; you are a man who stands for his beliefs/ideas, is comfortable in his own skin, who cares for other people but does not care whether he impresses them! You are your own man! I respect that in a man. Joy L. Hale

My Heart (Poetry) - 9/6/2012 5:49:39 AM
What in the very end, speaks more truthful to you? The heart, it has no ego to defend.

My Heart (Poetry) - 9/5/2012 9:21:34 AM
All the poets are going to say, “the heart.” Just to be cantankerous, I'll go with the mind. Ron

My Heart (Poetry) - 9/5/2012 7:23:35 AM
Please my dear Walt listen to your heart. The mind can be cloudy and confused. V

My Heart (Poetry) - 9/5/2012 5:50:12 AM
my 'gut' is the first to speak and usually most dependable so it's first and then the heart 2nd......forget the mind...it usually confuses things with too many rational thoughts not a lot of help here, huh? glad i got to use my nogin a little bit here this morning....thanks walt...always like what comes out of your writes...pat

My Heart (Poetry) - 9/5/2012 5:21:13 AM
Always listen to your heart; for it will never lead you wrong; And listen to 'Listen To Your Heart' one of my favorite songs.

My Heart (Poetry) - 9/5/2012 4:45:05 AM
Quite a dilema....sometimes the heart makes more sense than the head...and of course vice versa! Powerful impact in so few words...nicely done, Walt! Anna

My Heart (Poetry) - 9/4/2012 1:20:44 PM
Your heart often speaks louder and clearer when your mind goes foggy Walt. Listen to your heart. Rose

The Eyes Have It (Poetry) - 8/28/2012 4:14:44 PM
Walt, you offer a formidable list - eye was taken aback by the number of adjectives we utilize with 'eyes' - I can only add, "pretty little angel eyes" from the old R&R song and red eyes - I wish you love and peace my dear friend - Jon Michael

The Eyes Have It (Poetry) - 8/28/2012 5:08:04 AM
Eye like it! Smoldering, Alluring, Commanding, Compelling Empty, Wounded, Innocent....thanks for the challenge. It could become a lengthy list. Connie

The Eyes Have It (Poetry) - 8/28/2012 3:59:39 AM
enjoyed this one walt and the interaction you invited in...neat! omar shariff to me, had 'liquid' eyes in dr.zhivago...will always remember them. my son mentioned to me that one of the most difficult aspects of becoming 'a blindy' was not being able to watch a persons eyes during conversations especially serious ones...not being able to gauge the true emotions or reactions that show through them. truth comes through the eyes when words are deceitful or insincere.

The Eyes Have It (Poetry) - 8/28/2012 3:59:22 AM
Kind, loving, searching, etc....this was kool, Walt! Anna

The Eyes Have It (Poetry) - 8/27/2012 6:31:55 PM
ahh yes, and then there's: menacing provocative pensive quixotic reticent sentient tawdry unctuous vapid wily xenophobic youthful zany to name but a few... Nice little poem, Walt.

The Eyes Have It (Poetry) - 8/27/2012 5:17:15 PM
Accusing, weeping, dreamy, tearful, droopy.

You Don’t Know Me (Poetry) - 8/24/2012 3:53:03 PM
This speaks to and for me on many levels,Walt,and I thank you for saying it so well. Continued success~ Barbara J Henry

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.